Galley Bay Resort Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Verandah Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 2, 2013

Blue Waters

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2004

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental

3.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2013

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

2.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2012

Coconut Beach Resort

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Galley Bay Resort  

Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua

"Good food and great staff."
Posted by: Cheryl  on Sep 5, 2011
see all reviews

Galley Bay Resort Reviews
Galley Bay Resort Pictures and Information
Galley Bay Resort Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#4
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 4.4

Based on 8 reviews

Galley Bay Resort Information


Galley Bay, an intimate, Caribbean hideaway, delights guests with its refined, unpretentious atmosphere and its relaxing, all-inclusive pricing.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Galley Bay Resort Reviews

Galley Bay Resort Review: 4.4 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  1
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"We like many others prefer the smaller more intimate resorts"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ingrid/Joe03  on Feb 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to galley bay in feb 2003 and loved it. We like many others prefer the smaller more intimate resorts. What I was looking for was met here.

the rooms were very close to the water, and the beach had beautiful sand outside and inside the water. Great for swimming. The pool was very beautiful, but i am a beach lover so stayed there. We also had abit of trouble adjusting to sleeping with the sound of the waves so close to our room. We stayed in room 2 in the one story units. The people working at the resort are very friendly and accomodating.

there were alot of guests there from england, and most were older than us. We are 50, and 44yrs. It is a very quiet beach and not overly populated. because of the rock formations at each end of the beach there was only one respectful vendor on the beach. The island was not as lush or extravagant as Barbados...there are not many crops or farm land to look at. Mostly scrub land and goats loose, crossing the road. but overall we enjoyed this place very much. Our only beef was that we thought the food could be better. It is a great place to rest and enjoy the beach without being hassled. very beautiful place. Ingrid and Joe Masters Brantford Ontario

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food quality is good but not great"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy04  on Feb 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
364 people found this review helpful

Was a guest a Galley Bay late February. Staff very cordial and helpful. Older established repeat crowd. Mostly from the UK. Make sure to ask for the new section when making reservations. Lovely spot, the ocean can be a bit strong at times and not safe for swimming and you will have to use the pool. This is an all inclusive, the food quality is good but not great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Yes I would most definitely return to this resort"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin/Susie 03  on Apr 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
371 people found this review helpful

My husband and I will be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and our 50th birthday, in 2003 so decided for this eventful year we would take a wonderful vacation. After going through the travel books and researching on the internet we chose Galley Bay Resort in Antigua the week of April 27 to May 3, 2003.

Antigua:
Antigua, the island of 365 beaches, one for each day of the year, that's what we were told, and something I'll never forget. The island is very beautiful, not very lush though because it has very, very dry weather, not much rain. During our stay we had a light evening rain, which lasted about 5 minutes, and that was it. If you love, sun, sun & more sun, this is the island for you.

About Galley Bay Resort:
Galley Bay is an absolutely beautiful resort. We prefer the smaller more intimate resorts, where you get to know the people working at the resort and the vacationers. The grounds are beautifully kept, with meandering, lighted pathways. Great for after dinner walks. Galley Bay roughly has about 70 cottages. There are the Gaugin Cottages, Deluxe - Beach Front and the Superior - Beach Front. The Gaugin cottages are very cute with one cottage being your bedroom/sitting area a small breezeway in between and another small cottage for your bathroom/change room area. These are on the lagoon side. Yes, the resort has a beach on one side and a bird sanctuary/lagoon on the other side. The Gaugin cottages are great if you want a little more privacy, away from the waves crashing on the beach, people walking by and the fellas handling the kayaks, snorkelling equipment etc...The people staying in those cottages seemed quite happy with them. My husband and I stayed in the Deluxe Beachfront which was exactly what we wanted. About 10 giant steps and you fall into the sea. At times though it can be very, very noisy, the waves crashing on shore, kept me up the first night, after that I got used to it. Don't know much about the superior beach front rooms, but, can tell you they are very beautiful, I'm sure you can go on Galley Bay website and view them for yourself.

Restaurants:
Galley Bay has 2 restaurants, the Sea Grape Restaurant and the Gaugin Restaurant. The Sea Grape is where we had the majority of our meals. You have to make reservations for the Gaugin Restaurant as there is I think just 8 tables. Each table is set up under its own little tiki hut. Kevin & I dined here twice and chose table #5 as it is the furthest away and closest to the water. It is very romantic. The weddings are all held here. We made a point to come and see 2 couples wed and it was very beautifully done. The meals were very good, we especially enjoyed the chicken. Afternoon tea is also served, a favorite of mine. On Thursday they held the barbeque buffet, with of course your assortment of salads, vegetables, meat and pasta dishes, as well as a dessert table.

Entertainment:
Nightly entertainment was held, that started about 8:00 - 9:00 and played while we had our dinner. They stayed usually till about 11:00. After a big dinner we made sure we got up and stretched our legs, got our exercise dancing. Not very many got up to dance, but, we made sure we did, how could you not with that calypso beat.

To Do:
There are a lot of things to do, if you chose to. For example: snorkelling, windsurfing, sailing, Wadadli Cat (tour around the island), surf jets, shopping in St. Johns, 4 x 4 tour of the island, swimming with the dolphins, swimming with stingrays, tennis on the resort, spa and library at the resort, a track if you want to walk or run, a gym, and I'm sure lots more I'm not even aware of.. My husband and I did the 4 x 4 tour of the highest points of the island. The views were breathtaking and well worth it. Stopped for fresh pineapple & coconut as well as lunch (prepared by a local) and a swim. Do have to warn you though, the ride can be rough at times. As well we did the swim with the stingrays. I was a little nervous at first, but, the owner Andrew Moody-Stuart was very professional and explained things very carefully so that we both felt comfortable entering the water with the stingrays. This was really neat, loved the stingrays, found them very affectionate. You can take your own pictures if you want, but, they do have a professional photographer out with you as well that takes photos and they are great, but, can run you quite a bit of money. I will say this was a wonderful experience and glad we did it.

Resume:
I could go on and on about everything we did and saw, but, will have to let you all experience this beautiful island for yourselves.

Highly recommend Galley Bay Resort. The grounds are beautifully kept, the most amazing turquoise blue sea, lots of things to do, wonderful entertainment, the food is good and the staff are very personable and friendly and yes I would most definitely return to this resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved every moment"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John/Natalie03  on Oct 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
363 people found this review helpful

We honeymooned at Galley Bay from Sep. 27 to Oct. 4. While the 7-day stay was too short, we did make the most of it and loved every moment.

Our review:
While the resort was not a 5-star Hilton type resort (not what we were looking for anyway), I would give this resort an overall 4.75 out of 5. The resort effective combines some luxury elements with a true Caribbean experience. It was intimate (only 70 rooms on 40 acres) and beautiful with all the necessary amenities for a great honeymoon. The pool was very nice. The beach was great although the slope was a little on the steep side and the depth dropped off quickly once in the water, making for some pretty strong undertows (no problem at all for good swimmers). The staff were great and the service was exceptional. The selections on the menus were excellent and offered lots of variety. Because this time was off-peak, the resort did have some maintenance work being done on the lovely Gauguin Cottage, which resulted in very little interference to the guests.

The other guests were very nice as well. Because there were many other honeymooners, the average age was probably younger than during other times of the year. I would say at least 60% of the guests were Brits and probably 30% American, with the remaining 10% being of various other nationalities.

As for Antigua itself, we saw most by sea as we took two sea excursions. The first was Eli's Eco Tour (very informative, fun and good value) and the second was Wadadli Cat's Cades Reef cruise (a lot of fun with great snorkeling). As Eli knows, my snorkeling skills (especially the use of flippers) leave much to be desired, but they were much better on the 2nd attempt. The Cades Reef tour was provided free of charge by the tour package because of our honeymoon status. What we saw of the island's interior was limited to the trips to and from VC Bird and our taxi ride to Shirley's Heights. The views at Shirley's Heights were great and so was the atmosphere. It was definitely worth experiencing. The mountains are mainly on the southwest, south and south-eastern side of the island and they seemed to create their own micro-climates. The mountainous (using the word loosely) areas were much more lush in vegetation. The weather at Galley Bay and during our tours was very cooperative with only a few localized showers here and there. If anything, the rain was much needed.

I would recommend Galley Bay to anyone looking for a very relaxing experience. If you’re looking for something a little more active and exciting, Antigua does have a few of those places as well, but most resorts seemed to be more laid back. All in all it was a great honeymoon experience and by far the best sun-vacation we have ever had.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We enjoyed dancing most nights"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diane04  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
337 people found this review helpful

We visited Galley Bay with our two friends last October. When we arrived after the long flight from the Uk we were greeted at the gatehouse & allocated our rooms. My husband & I were upgraded to one of the beach front rooms on the 2nd floor & were very happy with the wonderful view & the sound of the ocean to send you to sleep.

The beach is beautiful & is nearly always empty with everyone sitting in front of their rooms or by the pool. The food is excellent & couldn't be faulted, even though i am gluten free they had a special menu made up with what I could eat!

There was some sort of entertainment every night , although mainly steel bands & singers , we enjoyed dancing most nights. The drinks are very good & all the bar staff & indeed any of the hotel staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our holiday.

We enjoyed it so much that we are going back there, with another couple of friends, as well as the friends that came last year 7 we will be off there again next spring 2005!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Apr 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
433 people found this review helpful

I am a travel agent visited many resorts. I came away from Galley Bay with full understanding of the 23rd Psalm. What a place of green pastures and setting to restore your soul. The staff compliments the setting. I thank God for leading me to Galley Bay. When I want to relax I think back to my stay at Galley Bay.

Room Number:
444

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded our expectations!!"

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pete & Terry  on Jul 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
281 people found this review helpful

Galley Bay was much more than we could've ever imagined. Our room was right on the beach. Just a few steps, and we were in the ocean. The water was warm & clear. Dinner, every night, was a treat. The food was outstanding at every meal. The staff was excellant and always helpful, especially, Kerriann at reception. The pool was only a few steps out our back door. At times, we were the only ones in the ocean or the pool, and the resort was soldout. We are going back next year.

Room Number:
6

Arrival:
We were brought to our room in a golf cart. The driver explained a lot about the resort.

Rooms:
Perfect!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Fabulous food. My wife had a chef greet her at every meal to explain the menu, since she is gluten-free intolerence.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spotless. The whole resort is immaculate.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Billiards, tennis, ping-pong, library, computers on the premises.
Take a tour to Shirley Heights.

Other Comments:
Galley Bay is the only resort we will visit again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good food and great staff."

Galley Bay Resort
User Rating:  Galley Bay Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Sep 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
261 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately my husband and I were at Galley Bay when Hurrican Irene hit eastern United States. We were unable to get a flight back to New Jersey and had to purchase tickets to the tune of $2,800. We flew to San Juan, Miami, overnight in Richmond Virginia and then onto Newark. The food and the staff are exceptional and the rooms are decorated nicely. However, we discovered bed bugs in our room and had to spray nightly. Bug spray was in our closet and we didn't realize that the insects were bed bugs until we got home and then we had to sanitize our clothing. We have bites all over our bodies including the scalp. This is something that we didn't expect. This occurred at the end of our vacation and we were trying to get back home and didn't complain to the staff( our mistake) because we thought that they were just ants and that the bug spray would cure the problem. I hope that the management takes care in checking the rooms for bed bugs. Again, beside the bed bug problem, we had a wonderful time at Galley Bay.

Room Number:
66

Room Block:
66-78

Arrival:
August 21, 2011

Rooms:
Bed bugs

Restaurants and Bars:
Exceptional

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice waterfall type pool,but too many insects in the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
none

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube