Jolly Beach Resort Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 1, 2006

St. James Club

3.5 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2012

Royal Antiguan Beach And Tennis Resort

3.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2006

Jolly Beach Resort  

Bolans Village, Bolans, Antigua
(Map of Resort)

"Don't expect more than a 3 stars"
Posted by: Luc  on Mar 10, 2012
see all reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews
Jolly Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#3
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 3.9

Based on 18 reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Information


For your convenience each of our 462 air-conditioned rooms is equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, a hair dryer and in-room safe to store your valuables.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"Don't expect more than a 3 stars"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luc  on Mar 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
204 people found this review helpful

I think this is a fair review as we've been to at least a dozen vacation in Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic and Jamaica. This is our first trip to Antigua. Don't expect more than a 3 stars or you will be disapointed. This is an old resort, but very clean.

Rooms:
Rooms are small, old but very clean, we had a king size bed, no fridge... didn't see any bugs in our room all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
I'll be generous and give the Buffet restaurant a 3 stars, needs a overall upgrade. We went to the buffet every breakfast (we had no other altenative), pretty much the same every morning, but enough choices to make everybody happy. We went twice for supper, and had enough, the rest of the week we went to the a la carte restaurants. The 3 a la carte restaurants were great, food was great, every body enjoyed every meal we had, I recommend all 3 of them. The snack bar at the main pool was also great, cheeseburgers were the best, jerk chicken was great, plus they had hot dogs, fried chicken and french fries. We brought some wine from Canada, but we were not allowed to bring it in the a la carte restaurants. We always bring wine from the duty free in Canada as the wine is usually pretty bad in the south, but we were surprised, as the red wine was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great, lots of space, lots of chairs, no need to rush in the morning. The sea is wonderful, but you can't see more than one foot deep, as the water is cloudy, so no snorkling. Lots of seashells here and there, so I brought my rubber shoes to take walks, but wore them only once or twice as it wasn't so bad, most of the beach doesn't have any seashell. I'm not a pool person on vacation, I have a pool at home so I spend most of my time at the beach, but we went to the main pool 2 times and it was ok, the grounds around the pool are beautiful, water falls from the wedding area, looks great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we took the catamaran ride around the island, everybody enjoyed it. we also went to St-John, it was ok, after one hour we had pretty much went around the shopping area, duty free shops can be expensive. Beside the duty free area, there are some local gift shop, pretty much the best place to buy your souvenirs, if you wait for the duty free shops at the airport you will be disapointed.

Other Comments:
overall a good vacation, we are very glad that we went, but will not go back to Jolly Beach Resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome Vacation, Awesome Place!"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Feb 16, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful

What a welcome surprise! Jolly Beach is fantastic. Absolutely NO complaints. Having traveled all over the Caribbean I can honestly say that Jolly Beach is the best bang for your buck and has the most welcoming staff, best food, best location, most beautiful surroundings, and it's on the best island in the Caribbean. We had stayed at Grand Pineapple the year before and it was very nice but possibly a bit too small and remote. With the harbor a few steps away and the long, glorious beach, you can't fault Jolly Beach for anything. Yes, the hotel is older, yes the rooms are smaller and dated, but I'm not sure that's what's important. When it comes to a vacation, in my mind, it all revolves around the beach, the staff, the food, and the location. 5* for all of those points. The night life and activities were very laid back and that's a good thing. No Congo lines, salsa lessons,loud speaker announcements, or pounding music - just the perfect amount of interesting things to enjoy, day and night. It was so great we are headed back in April 2012. This is a casual resort, not 5* on paper, but 5* to me. We have found our place! No more Aruba, Jamaica, Bahamas, DR, etc. Antigua, and Jolly Beach is where it's at. See you soon Jolly Beach! Until then you will be in my dreams :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An experience I would never repeat"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roslyn  on Aug 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
370 people found this review helpful

Wouldn't stay there again even if it was the last resort! Definitely not a good hotel to take family and friends if it's their first trip to the country because it will be a bad 1st impression for them.

Arrival:
They totally screwed up all of the reservations made for the entire wedding party and despite the fact there was so much business brought to them during a slow period from this one occasion, they neglected to do anything to add to our comfort.

Rooms:
Stayed at this hotel for a wedding and the rooms were disgusting. There were ants all over my stuff in the morning, the rooms were overall very cheap looking and poorly maintained. Linens looked like they had been there since decades ago.

Restaurants and Bars:
On the up side, food wasn't bad

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
located next to a beautiful beach.

Other Comments:
No manager was ever on site to air my views to and staff was not pleasant, always had an attitude and could not resolve any issue, and didn't even try for that matter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A 3.5* hotel worth every penny"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Mar 1, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
379 people found this review helpful

Left feb 21 -28 2010 with wife. For those who want a luxury hotel and wants to pay for it, well it ain't here. Its a simple 3.5* hotel, clean and accomodating. Price quality is what you get. We came for the beach and weather, and we got both. Its quite hot and the beach was real fun. If you are a big shot, dont come to Antigua ( too many reviews critizied this hotel, go and pay the full dollar to quench your desires). If you are looking to relax and reconnect with nature, no stress environnement, this is it.
Good for young families as well.

Your Arrival:
Wow! After reading many reviews on the headaches regarding the arrival at the airport, well for us, no problem. Check in was rapid. The return however was surely an "Antiguan Experience". The security people check luggages individually ( open up and look throughout suitcase). You cannot bring back any opened bottles of liquor. Duty free shop, not worth it, buy your gifts either at hotel or at a local grocery store ( good prices).

Rooms:
As expected, I was prepared to get a small room ( booked a standard room). No real shock, cozy and simple, it does the job. Clean, no problem with room all week. Anyways, even if small, we basically just slept in the room (ok maybe just a bit more than sleep;).We passed our days outside most of the time...:)

Restaurants and Bars:
Book your restaurants early on. Loved the Indian restaurant. Buffet good, but tends to wear out on you given the choices are relatively the same every night. Great soups! We enjoyed the grill out on the beach, man, we miss the jerk chicken ! yummy! :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: Great beach, clean with white sand. First time that we noticed lots of sea shells on shore. Out of 7 days, 4 had sea shells coming up to shore with the waves, the rest of the days, no problem. In the end, the shells were not really a big problem, got used to walking around it or on it.
Pool: Great pools. One quite pool and a second with action ( music, BBQ,activities). We loved the quite pool.
Grounds: very clean, nothing negative to say.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activity is ok at the hotel. Dont come for the night life here, you will regret it. Its more of a relaxing place. Good for young families. Lots of Brits and Italians. We visited St.Johns. Very nice place and clean. Good shopping. Try the bus from the hotel ( number 20),its much cheaper than taxi or shuttle. As well, you will enjoy this experience on how the bus driver picks up, drops off and collects the fare ( it was real fun!)
The people from Antigua have to be one of the most polite, respectful people we have met in the Carribean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My New favorite carribean resort"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bekka  on Feb 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
358 people found this review helpful

This is truly the most memorable vacation I have ever had. The staff were indeed outstanding & friendly, the food was excellent, the ambience just abundantly "there". So what if our rooms were small and simple, we turn off the light anticipating our wonderful mornings on a resort big on 5 star beaches, food, and staff. This is what dreams are made of. Get out there and take walks. There are hidden coves and sunsets, just what poetry is made of. Awe inspiring natural sights in nature. Go to St. John's and check out all the vendors goods. You can pick up some nice deals. We loved it, absolutely loved it at JBR. We had the best vacation we have ever had at any carribean island.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival at the airport in Antigua was without any mishaps; went very smooth. The line moved surprising quick, without the commotion we have experienced at other carribean destinations or more money for this and that. I would say it took us roughly a half hour to get from point A off the plane to point B into our transfer vehicle. When we arrived at JBR the line in the lobby for check-in was long, we knew we would have a wait. A nice staff member was serving a mixed rum drink to sip while we waited. At the desk the staff were accomodating and very pleasant despite the numbers of people in line. They gave us our room and let us know if the room wasn't acceptable to us to come back and they would change our room if we desired. The room was fine, simple but very clean. Also we had internet service. The balcony overlooked the carribean to the left, and to the right the beautiful grounds with a wedding chapel. We caught our first meal at the Hemispheres all you can eat buffet; and eat we did. We saw our first beautiful sunset in Antigua and knew we were in heaven.

Rooms:
The room? I was expecting the worse after reading reviews. Instead we were both pleasantly surprised, we've experienced far worse in 4 & 5 star resorts on other islands. The room was clean and bright, the balcony... equipped with a chaise lounge, two chairs and a small table. But the view, the view was incredibly beautiful from that balcony. To the left we had glimpses of the carribean, to the right a beautiful view of the wedding chapel & the well groomed grounds of the resort. We even had free internet reception from our room. Best of all we were in a central location and our room had wifi service ; ) So what if our rooms were small and simple, we turn off the light anticipating our wonderful mornings on a resort big on 5 star beaches, food, and staff.

Restaurants and Bars:
The staff were indeed outstanding & friendly, the food was excellent, the ambience just abundantly "there". We enjoyed all available fares in food. My favorite was Ustav's & Bocciolo [Hi Elizabeth, and Carlos, the man...]. My hubby's favorite was Lydia's for seafood but he admitted Lydia's kinda tied with Ustavs. At lunch time we most often hit the beach grill, Coconut grill, for a great cheeseburger & fries, or mango dipped fried chicken, yum. For breakfast, lunch and dinner the all you can eat Hemispheres buffet is always open and really very good. Let me tell you, your wine glass is never half full or half empty, it was brimmed frequently LOL. The bartenders at Hemispheres, sing and dance, and make the evenings so much more fun. Hi Neil. Get to know the staff, they are warm and friendly people.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The resort grounds were well groomed, brimming with flora and fauna. Very lush and you could find paths for tranquility. There are two pools. My favorite is known as the quiet one. It sits off close to the terrace and is a good place for adults who want quiet and to read or just fall asleep. The larger pool has fountains and kind of winds around to a pool bar. Its the place to go to socialize in the daytime. The coconut grill is between the beach and the larger pool. The beach, well that beach is 5 star. Beautiful amidst the background of islands, Monserrat on the horizon, just gorgeous and what poetry is made of.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment in the evening is more fun due to the friendliness of the Hemispheres bar tenders. They also sing and dance; they are good at that. Each evening was different types of entertainment. And you can choose to be part of the crowd or on the stage for that matter. You can take a van into St. Johns from JBR. Do some shopping, check out the cruise boats, take in the native culture. Or go to Shirley Heights right from the resort and enjoy a great barbeque and steel bands overlooking the harbor. There are plenty of excursions to indulge in. Dinner cruises, trips to Barbuda or Monserrat, scuba diving excursions, zip-lining, etc. We stayed pretty much at the resort because we met some nice new friends and found plenty to do right there.

Other Comments:
We had a great time and can't wait to go back ; )

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/slideshow/576746528rcHKoj

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All the kids seems to play together and it was lovely to see."

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Simon04  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
330 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at Jolly Beach for two weeks, but to be honest one week would have been enough. As we checked in (on 29th December) we were told that all the main restaurants except the main buffet were booked up for the next three days. So we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet which after three days became very dull. We were also told that the charm of this resort is that everything is "easy" and that life moves that little bit slower. Well, the 'charm' wears off very quickly when you have to ask four times for anything... and even when you do, you sometimes feel as though you've asked them to do you a huge favour. The majority of the staff except for the 'entertainment' people and one barman were just plain surly.

Jolly Beach Resort:
My girlfriend and I stayed at Jolly Beach for two weeks, but to be honest one week would have been enough. As we checked in (on 29th December) we were told that all the main restaurants except the main buffet were booked up for the next three days. So we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet which after three days became very dull. We were also told that the charm of this resort is that everything is "easy" and that life moves that little bit slower. Well, the 'charm' wears off very quickly when you have to ask four times for anything... and even when you do, you sometimes feel as though you've asked them to do you a huge favour. The majority of the staff except for the 'entertainment' people and one barman were just plain surly. We found the food pretty sub-standard. The seafood restaurant was OK as was the curry place, but the Italian was dreadful. I would be embarrassed to serve up what they did. Anything to do with seafood has a supplement (ie. costs extra) and the biggest joke was when we decided to share a shrimp starter in the curry restaurant. $9 US for three small shrimp! Hemispheres is the main buffet area. The breakfasts and lunches were pretty good it has to be said, but by dinner you were begging for some inspiration. There is also a snack bar / grill by one of the pools. The burgers and fries are good but you have to wait; one day we waited 45 minutes to get ours. The house wine tasted like sherry (the red and the white!). We ended up going to the supermarket in the nearby marina to buy wine (which was cheap) and taking it to dinner with us. The bar was well stocked except for bar staff, so we frequently saw a lot of frustrated people waiting for service. Hemispheres is the main buffet area. The breakfasts and lunches were pretty good it has to be said, but by dinner you were begging for some inspiration. The rooms are basic... but then you don't want to be in your room with beautiful weather outside. However the plus points are... an GREAT beach. We hired a car for a couple of days to escape the cabin fever you get at all-inclusives and aside from Half Moon Bay Jolly beach has the best beach. We also realised that it is perfect if you have children. They all seemed to be having a ball and the parents looked very relaxed and happy. The buffet is great for the kids as they can have bits of this and that and experiment with different foods. All the kids seems to play together and it was lovely to see. Basically if you are food snobs (like us) or good cooks at home... you will be disappointed by the food especially if you've paid a lot of money for an all-inclusive. If you like basic food you'll be fine. If get offended by staff who clearly would rather be somewhere else... you'll get annoyed. It has ben pointed out to me that the majority of the staff there work long hours and probably on minimum wage. I know that sucks if tourism is pretty much the only industry on the Island... but it also sucks if you are a paying customer at the receiving end of their attitude. It is always nice to tip people... but then you tip for good service not to bribe them to break a smile.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If we decide not to it will be because of the noise"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valerie05  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
341 people found this review helpful

During the first week we were there the hotel was fully booked up. Many of the guests were from a Canadian company. We were told by allot of those guests (this was their first time at JBR) that they were very disappointed with the small rooms and the noise, and said that they would not return again.

Rooms:
We visited Jolly Beach Resort for two weeks Jan. 24 thru Feb. 11, 2005 and here is my personal review of JBR.

Rooms: The room that we had to spend the first night in had no ceiling fan but it did have an air-conditioner. Also there was a cockroach in the corner of the room. This was the very first time I had discovered cockroaches in any room. Others have written about bugs in the room at JBR but on our other trips to JBR we had never seen any bugs.

- The second room provided for us was just what we had expected and it was lovely. We only book a Standard room as there is only the two of us and a Standard room is fine for us as we only use our room to sleep in. I did kill a 1” spider in the bathroom and it was four days before the housekeeping cleaned it away.

Food:
JBR is only a 3 star resort. But the food is wonderful. There is such a variety to meet everyone’s tastes. If one wants a “Nouveau Cuisine” meal placed before them then all of the ingredients are available for that type of meal in the buffet – assemble your own plate.

For breakfast the buffet had available hot omelettes, boiled eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, fried potatoes, cereal, fruits of all types, cheese, yoghurt, breads, croissants, buns, and cakes. (We disliked the fried potatoes as they were all soft and soggy.)

For lunch there was a different soup each day (love their soups!), BBQ’ed meat and fish, hot food dishes, cold meat slices, tuna and egg salads, salads of very variety, a pasta hot plate with sauce, desserts of all types, buns. At dinner there was a different type of meat – turkey, ham, steaks, lamb, etc. and all types of salads, rice, potatoes, lasagne, stew, desserts, veggies. I think I ate so many varieties of fish: tuna, mahi, red snapper, swordfish, sole, grouper, salmon – and the list goes on and on. They were all fabulous. I cannot understand why anyone would ever complain about the food at any meal.

Restaurants:
There are three additional restaurants in addition to the buffet. An Italian; an Indian (Uvsak); and a Seafood (Lydia’s). Suggested clothing at these restaurants is long pants and shirts for men and appropriate dressing for women. We always eat at the buffet as it is more laid-back and easy. At the buffet you can wear shorts and t-shirts or cut-offs.

Beach:
Ahh.. the beach at JBR is so wonderful. At the north end of the beach is Jolly Harbour and the Marina and at the south end is Coco’s. The beach faces the Caribbean and the water was rough this year. Watershoes were needed in the Ocean as the shells are very sharp on bare feet. (There are lots of nice shells to collect on the beach).

Pool:
Very noisy: We never use pools but the visiting young children enjoyed it. The pool is where the very noisy “Entertainment” group is. Music blasts out and loud speakers yell all day long – there is no peace and quiet in this area – and unfortunately it is so loud that the noise covers all of the JBR beach area. Allot of people lay on the beach either to the far left or far right of the pool. I assume that like ourselves, they are trying to get away from the noise without leaving the JBR grounds. Only a small percentage of guests hang around the noisy pool/splash bar area. But the Splash Bar and Grill are very crowded with guests getting their drinks and burgers/fries. There is another pool and that is the old pool. But it is still noisy.

Library:
There used to be a very convenient free Library (situated in a small closet next to the Cyber-room). People would just leave books and pick up new books to read. We always take extra books to stock the Library with. Now the Entertainment group were told to keep the books in their office and that office is always locked so access to the books is now very hard. The sign over the old Library was painted over but people still left books there. What a shame to lose the Library

Staff:
It is because of the staff at JBR and in all of the resorts in Antigua that make Antigua so special. It is the Antiguan people. They are always smiling and so very happy and friendly. They will help you with any request. So many special people at JBR: Vellie, Sylvie, Chefs, Cooks, Housecleaning, Bar Staff, Security, and Watersport staff.

Beach Hawkers:
We love ‘em! They are proud Antiguans and we are their guests. Treat them with respect as they will always be respectful to you. Talk with them, get to know them – buy a bracelet or t-shirt. We have met so many nice locals this way.

Weather:
As others have mentioned the weather this January and early February 2005 in Antigua had more rain than normal. Usually the higher winds come on the Atlantic east and north sides of the Island. But this time the high winds came from the Caribbean west side of the Island which is what JBR faces. Many days it rained and was dark and cloudy but always warm. Only one evening was it really cold. My husband sails most days but on this trip he couldn’t sail on many days as the waves and winds were too high.

Security:
There is a room safe in each room and the rental fee for the lock is $15US each week. Security personnel patrol the grounds on a 24 hour basis. We feel very safe at JBR and we have not heard of any problems.

Summation:
Will we return again to JBR? If we decide not to it will be because of the noise.

The staff work so hard to please the guests and in talking to many other guests it is peace and quiet that is wanted. The image of the Caribbean is one of sunshine, palm trees and sand – i.e. peace and tranquility. This resort lacks that peace now. We will miss our friends who work at JBR that we have made over these years. Again – this is no reflection on the Restaurant/Kitchen/Bar/Housekeeping/Watersports/Groundskeepers/Security staff – they are doing what they are instructed to do.

During the first week we were there the hotel was fully booked up. Many of the guests were from a Canadian company. We were told by allot of those guests (this was their first time at JBR) that they were very disappointed with the small rooms and the noise, and said that they would not return again.

Photos: http://www.nt.net/valerieb/files05antigua/index.htm

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The drinks were wonderful and tasty at all the bars"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  M&M  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

Just returned from one weeks vacations at the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua, stayed there from Janl.4th to 11th 2009. One of the best all inclusive vacations we have ever had!

The process at immigration was very slow, as the previous people wrote, but coming from Canada we had not travelled as long as coming from England, and we did not travel with children, so it was not as big of a deal, although I agree they could open more wickets to pass through. The Jolly Beach Resort is located on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of the whole island, a little piece of paradise to look at everyday.

Our review:
We had just booked a standard room, and were a bit shocked at first at how tiny the room and bathroom were, but the private balcony with the fanatasic view made more than up for it, and after two days we had gotten quite comfortable and it did not bother us at all, after all your a basically only in your room to shower change and sleep and as long as it was clean,which is it was, who really cares :)

The resort was barely half full for the week that we spent there, so there were never any line ups anywhere, lots and lots of beach lounges were always available.

Not too much variety in the food, the buffet was basic but always good, it was all good for a week, I'm not sure if I would want to eat it for two weeks, it might get abit much.

Three specialty restaurants to book, Indian (very good) Italian(exellent) and seafood( good also), you could book these as often as you wanted, but always just two days ahead. We enjoyed them all:)

Beach and water absolutely out of this world, just great for beach and ocean lovers. There were also two pools, one large and more geared for the families, and a smaller one with mostly adults.

The pool grill and bar were great for lunches, we chose to eat our lunch there every day as opposed to going to the the buffet resautant.

Tea was served everyday at 4:30 pm, which included open faced sandwiches, a variety of teas and coffee, we enjoyed this every afternoon after a hard day at the beach.

Lots of different excursions offered, we found them very expensive and therefore did not go on any. We took the chuttle bus into ST.Johns one morning, the cost is $12.00 us per person, they pick you up at 9 am in front of the hotel, and pick you up in town at noon again. We found St.Johns extremely dirty, with raw sewage running through the gutters and all into the bay, abit smelly and obviously not very sanitary, the markets were fun to visit and we did some duty free shopping, but three hours were more then enough to spend there.

On the whole we had a great, relaxing vacation, met some nice people, and the staff at the resort were always friendly and serving with a smile. Most evenings there was nothing going on after 11 pm when the shows or music ended so if you are looking for nightlife and partying this place is not for you, the last bar closes at 12:30 am, the drinks were wonderful and tasty at all the bars, personally I loved the Hummingbirds and BBC's but most other drinks were really good too. My husband is a scotch and water guy, and he said he had no problem with what they served him. There are bugs around during the day and in the evenings, so bring bugs spray and use it all day long, and you won't have a problem. Antigua is a beautiful island and we hope to return one day:)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The apartments were extremely comfortable"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  IrisAlbert08  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a vacation at the Jolly Beach Vacation. The apartments were extremely comfortable, clean, well stocked, with pristine appliances, right on the lovely beach.
What is atrocious is the immigration on arrival: Imagine hundreds of passengers from several planes arriving at the same time lined up to pass through 3 windows with extremely slow employees (slow in every sense). It took well over two crawling hours, with children, and this after spending practically the whole day traveling since there are no direct flights from New York or other major US cities. I definitely will not go through this experience again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The only downside is the water is to cloudy to snorkel"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roland05  on Jun 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
344 people found this review helpful

My wife and I visited the Jolly Beach Resort in May. Let me start with the bad. The AC in our room hardly worked. Had we complained I'm sure they would of changed us. A few people we met had the same problem. But, we do not vacation to stay in a room.
The island was having a heat wave while we were there. I was coming from Maine. Even the locals were sweating. It was great. Spent all our time on the beach in the shade with a nice breeze.
The hotel staff was great. From reception to restaurants to laborers, they all get an A+. The food was excellent, great deserts. The Italian restaurant does enforce the dress code. A+ The bars were great, they even had pre-mixed frozen drinks and if it was not strong enough for you they had liquor bottle there for you to add as much as you want. The bartenders also made got mixed drinks. A+
The beer got warmer as the day went on. B-
The beach was large, clean and full of nice seashells. The water was warm, had a very clean bottom, you could walk out a ways before the water was over your head. I was concerned at first when I saw vendors set up on the beach. They were polite and when you said no they politely left. They would return the next day, not to sell but to chat. Very nice people. The only downside is the water is to cloudy to snorkel. A
At night we visited the nearby casino, the front desk would call the casino and they would pick us up in a golf cart, they returned us to the hotel when we were ready to return. Very nice casino.A+
I will definitely return there and I do highly recommend the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube