Jolly Beach Resort Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 1, 2006

St. James Club

3.5 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2012

Royal Antiguan Beach And Tennis Resort

3.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2006

Jolly Beach Resort  

Bolans Village, Bolans, Antigua
(Map of Resort)

"Don't expect more than a 3 stars"
Posted by: Luc  on Mar 10, 2012
see all reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews
Jolly Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#3
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 3.9

Based on 18 reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Information


For your convenience each of our 462 air-conditioned rooms is equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, a hair dryer and in-room safe to store your valuables.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Family and Kids
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"The apartments were extremely comfortable"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  IrisAlbert08  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
596 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a vacation at the Jolly Beach Vacation. The apartments were extremely comfortable, clean, well stocked, with pristine appliances, right on the lovely beach.
What is atrocious is the immigration on arrival: Imagine hundreds of passengers from several planes arriving at the same time lined up to pass through 3 windows with extremely slow employees (slow in every sense). It took well over two crawling hours, with children, and this after spending practically the whole day traveling since there are no direct flights from New York or other major US cities. I definitely will not go through this experience again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An experience I would never repeat"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Roslyn  on Aug 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Wedding | With Group
623 people found this review helpful

Wouldn't stay there again even if it was the last resort! Definitely not a good hotel to take family and friends if it's their first trip to the country because it will be a bad 1st impression for them.

Arrival:
They totally screwed up all of the reservations made for the entire wedding party and despite the fact there was so much business brought to them during a slow period from this one occasion, they neglected to do anything to add to our comfort.

Rooms:
Stayed at this hotel for a wedding and the rooms were disgusting. There were ants all over my stuff in the morning, the rooms were overall very cheap looking and poorly maintained. Linens looked like they had been there since decades ago.

Restaurants and Bars:
On the up side, food wasn't bad

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
located next to a beautiful beach.

Other Comments:
No manager was ever on site to air my views to and staff was not pleasant, always had an attitude and could not resolve any issue, and didn't even try for that matter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't expect more than a 3 stars"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luc  on Mar 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
448 people found this review helpful

I think this is a fair review as we've been to at least a dozen vacation in Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic and Jamaica. This is our first trip to Antigua. Don't expect more than a 3 stars or you will be disapointed. This is an old resort, but very clean.

Rooms:
Rooms are small, old but very clean, we had a king size bed, no fridge... didn't see any bugs in our room all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
I'll be generous and give the Buffet restaurant a 3 stars, needs a overall upgrade. We went to the buffet every breakfast (we had no other altenative), pretty much the same every morning, but enough choices to make everybody happy. We went twice for supper, and had enough, the rest of the week we went to the a la carte restaurants. The 3 a la carte restaurants were great, food was great, every body enjoyed every meal we had, I recommend all 3 of them. The snack bar at the main pool was also great, cheeseburgers were the best, jerk chicken was great, plus they had hot dogs, fried chicken and french fries. We brought some wine from Canada, but we were not allowed to bring it in the a la carte restaurants. We always bring wine from the duty free in Canada as the wine is usually pretty bad in the south, but we were surprised, as the red wine was very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was great, lots of space, lots of chairs, no need to rush in the morning. The sea is wonderful, but you can't see more than one foot deep, as the water is cloudy, so no snorkling. Lots of seashells here and there, so I brought my rubber shoes to take walks, but wore them only once or twice as it wasn't so bad, most of the beach doesn't have any seashell. I'm not a pool person on vacation, I have a pool at home so I spend most of my time at the beach, but we went to the main pool 2 times and it was ok, the grounds around the pool are beautiful, water falls from the wedding area, looks great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we took the catamaran ride around the island, everybody enjoyed it. we also went to St-John, it was ok, after one hour we had pretty much went around the shopping area, duty free shops can be expensive. Beside the duty free area, there are some local gift shop, pretty much the best place to buy your souvenirs, if you wait for the duty free shops at the airport you will be disapointed.

Other Comments:
overall a good vacation, we are very glad that we went, but will not go back to Jolly Beach Resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A 3.5* hotel worth every penny"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Mar 1, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
626 people found this review helpful

Left feb 21 -28 2010 with wife. For those who want a luxury hotel and wants to pay for it, well it ain't here. Its a simple 3.5* hotel, clean and accomodating. Price quality is what you get. We came for the beach and weather, and we got both. Its quite hot and the beach was real fun. If you are a big shot, dont come to Antigua ( too many reviews critizied this hotel, go and pay the full dollar to quench your desires). If you are looking to relax and reconnect with nature, no stress environnement, this is it.
Good for young families as well.

Your Arrival:
Wow! After reading many reviews on the headaches regarding the arrival at the airport, well for us, no problem. Check in was rapid. The return however was surely an "Antiguan Experience". The security people check luggages individually ( open up and look throughout suitcase). You cannot bring back any opened bottles of liquor. Duty free shop, not worth it, buy your gifts either at hotel or at a local grocery store ( good prices).

Rooms:
As expected, I was prepared to get a small room ( booked a standard room). No real shock, cozy and simple, it does the job. Clean, no problem with room all week. Anyways, even if small, we basically just slept in the room (ok maybe just a bit more than sleep;).We passed our days outside most of the time...:)

Restaurants and Bars:
Book your restaurants early on. Loved the Indian restaurant. Buffet good, but tends to wear out on you given the choices are relatively the same every night. Great soups! We enjoyed the grill out on the beach, man, we miss the jerk chicken ! yummy! :)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: Great beach, clean with white sand. First time that we noticed lots of sea shells on shore. Out of 7 days, 4 had sea shells coming up to shore with the waves, the rest of the days, no problem. In the end, the shells were not really a big problem, got used to walking around it or on it.
Pool: Great pools. One quite pool and a second with action ( music, BBQ,activities). We loved the quite pool.
Grounds: very clean, nothing negative to say.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activity is ok at the hotel. Dont come for the night life here, you will regret it. Its more of a relaxing place. Good for young families. Lots of Brits and Italians. We visited St.Johns. Very nice place and clean. Good shopping. Try the bus from the hotel ( number 20),its much cheaper than taxi or shuttle. As well, you will enjoy this experience on how the bus driver picks up, drops off and collects the fare ( it was real fun!)
The people from Antigua have to be one of the most polite, respectful people we have met in the Carribean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All the kids seems to play together and it was lovely to see."

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Simon04  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
586 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at Jolly Beach for two weeks, but to be honest one week would have been enough. As we checked in (on 29th December) we were told that all the main restaurants except the main buffet were booked up for the next three days. So we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet which after three days became very dull. We were also told that the charm of this resort is that everything is "easy" and that life moves that little bit slower. Well, the 'charm' wears off very quickly when you have to ask four times for anything... and even when you do, you sometimes feel as though you've asked them to do you a huge favour. The majority of the staff except for the 'entertainment' people and one barman were just plain surly.

Jolly Beach Resort:
My girlfriend and I stayed at Jolly Beach for two weeks, but to be honest one week would have been enough. As we checked in (on 29th December) we were told that all the main restaurants except the main buffet were booked up for the next three days. So we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet which after three days became very dull. We were also told that the charm of this resort is that everything is "easy" and that life moves that little bit slower. Well, the 'charm' wears off very quickly when you have to ask four times for anything... and even when you do, you sometimes feel as though you've asked them to do you a huge favour. The majority of the staff except for the 'entertainment' people and one barman were just plain surly. We found the food pretty sub-standard. The seafood restaurant was OK as was the curry place, but the Italian was dreadful. I would be embarrassed to serve up what they did. Anything to do with seafood has a supplement (ie. costs extra) and the biggest joke was when we decided to share a shrimp starter in the curry restaurant. $9 US for three small shrimp! Hemispheres is the main buffet area. The breakfasts and lunches were pretty good it has to be said, but by dinner you were begging for some inspiration. There is also a snack bar / grill by one of the pools. The burgers and fries are good but you have to wait; one day we waited 45 minutes to get ours. The house wine tasted like sherry (the red and the white!). We ended up going to the supermarket in the nearby marina to buy wine (which was cheap) and taking it to dinner with us. The bar was well stocked except for bar staff, so we frequently saw a lot of frustrated people waiting for service. Hemispheres is the main buffet area. The breakfasts and lunches were pretty good it has to be said, but by dinner you were begging for some inspiration. The rooms are basic... but then you don't want to be in your room with beautiful weather outside. However the plus points are... an GREAT beach. We hired a car for a couple of days to escape the cabin fever you get at all-inclusives and aside from Half Moon Bay Jolly beach has the best beach. We also realised that it is perfect if you have children. They all seemed to be having a ball and the parents looked very relaxed and happy. The buffet is great for the kids as they can have bits of this and that and experiment with different foods. All the kids seems to play together and it was lovely to see. Basically if you are food snobs (like us) or good cooks at home... you will be disappointed by the food especially if you've paid a lot of money for an all-inclusive. If you like basic food you'll be fine. If get offended by staff who clearly would rather be somewhere else... you'll get annoyed. It has ben pointed out to me that the majority of the staff there work long hours and probably on minimum wage. I know that sucks if tourism is pretty much the only industry on the Island... but it also sucks if you are a paying customer at the receiving end of their attitude. It is always nice to tip people... but then you tip for good service not to bribe them to break a smile.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If we decide not to it will be because of the noise"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Valerie05  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
588 people found this review helpful

During the first week we were there the hotel was fully booked up. Many of the guests were from a Canadian company. We were told by allot of those guests (this was their first time at JBR) that they were very disappointed with the small rooms and the noise, and said that they would not return again.

Rooms:
We visited Jolly Beach Resort for two weeks Jan. 24 thru Feb. 11, 2005 and here is my personal review of JBR.

Rooms: The room that we had to spend the first night in had no ceiling fan but it did have an air-conditioner. Also there was a cockroach in the corner of the room. This was the very first time I had discovered cockroaches in any room. Others have written about bugs in the room at JBR but on our other trips to JBR we had never seen any bugs.

- The second room provided for us was just what we had expected and it was lovely. We only book a Standard room as there is only the two of us and a Standard room is fine for us as we only use our room to sleep in. I did kill a 1” spider in the bathroom and it was four days before the housekeeping cleaned it away.

Food:
JBR is only a 3 star resort. But the food is wonderful. There is such a variety to meet everyone’s tastes. If one wants a “Nouveau Cuisine” meal placed before them then all of the ingredients are available for that type of meal in the buffet – assemble your own plate.

For breakfast the buffet had available hot omelettes, boiled eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, fried potatoes, cereal, fruits of all types, cheese, yoghurt, breads, croissants, buns, and cakes. (We disliked the fried potatoes as they were all soft and soggy.)

For lunch there was a different soup each day (love their soups!), BBQ’ed meat and fish, hot food dishes, cold meat slices, tuna and egg salads, salads of very variety, a pasta hot plate with sauce, desserts of all types, buns. At dinner there was a different type of meat – turkey, ham, steaks, lamb, etc. and all types of salads, rice, potatoes, lasagne, stew, desserts, veggies. I think I ate so many varieties of fish: tuna, mahi, red snapper, swordfish, sole, grouper, salmon – and the list goes on and on. They were all fabulous. I cannot understand why anyone would ever complain about the food at any meal.

Restaurants:
There are three additional restaurants in addition to the buffet. An Italian; an Indian (Uvsak); and a Seafood (Lydia’s). Suggested clothing at these restaurants is long pants and shirts for men and appropriate dressing for women. We always eat at the buffet as it is more laid-back and easy. At the buffet you can wear shorts and t-shirts or cut-offs.

Beach:
Ahh.. the beach at JBR is so wonderful. At the north end of the beach is Jolly Harbour and the Marina and at the south end is Coco’s. The beach faces the Caribbean and the water was rough this year. Watershoes were needed in the Ocean as the shells are very sharp on bare feet. (There are lots of nice shells to collect on the beach).

Pool:
Very noisy: We never use pools but the visiting young children enjoyed it. The pool is where the very noisy “Entertainment” group is. Music blasts out and loud speakers yell all day long – there is no peace and quiet in this area – and unfortunately it is so loud that the noise covers all of the JBR beach area. Allot of people lay on the beach either to the far left or far right of the pool. I assume that like ourselves, they are trying to get away from the noise without leaving the JBR grounds. Only a small percentage of guests hang around the noisy pool/splash bar area. But the Splash Bar and Grill are very crowded with guests getting their drinks and burgers/fries. There is another pool and that is the old pool. But it is still noisy.

Library:
There used to be a very convenient free Library (situated in a small closet next to the Cyber-room). People would just leave books and pick up new books to read. We always take extra books to stock the Library with. Now the Entertainment group were told to keep the books in their office and that office is always locked so access to the books is now very hard. The sign over the old Library was painted over but people still left books there. What a shame to lose the Library

Staff:
It is because of the staff at JBR and in all of the resorts in Antigua that make Antigua so special. It is the Antiguan people. They are always smiling and so very happy and friendly. They will help you with any request. So many special people at JBR: Vellie, Sylvie, Chefs, Cooks, Housecleaning, Bar Staff, Security, and Watersport staff.

Beach Hawkers:
We love ‘em! They are proud Antiguans and we are their guests. Treat them with respect as they will always be respectful to you. Talk with them, get to know them – buy a bracelet or t-shirt. We have met so many nice locals this way.

Weather:
As others have mentioned the weather this January and early February 2005 in Antigua had more rain than normal. Usually the higher winds come on the Atlantic east and north sides of the Island. But this time the high winds came from the Caribbean west side of the Island which is what JBR faces. Many days it rained and was dark and cloudy but always warm. Only one evening was it really cold. My husband sails most days but on this trip he couldn’t sail on many days as the waves and winds were too high.

Security:
There is a room safe in each room and the rental fee for the lock is $15US each week. Security personnel patrol the grounds on a 24 hour basis. We feel very safe at JBR and we have not heard of any problems.

Summation:
Will we return again to JBR? If we decide not to it will be because of the noise.

The staff work so hard to please the guests and in talking to many other guests it is peace and quiet that is wanted. The image of the Caribbean is one of sunshine, palm trees and sand – i.e. peace and tranquility. This resort lacks that peace now. We will miss our friends who work at JBR that we have made over these years. Again – this is no reflection on the Restaurant/Kitchen/Bar/Housekeeping/Watersports/Groundskeepers/Security staff – they are doing what they are instructed to do.

During the first week we were there the hotel was fully booked up. Many of the guests were from a Canadian company. We were told by allot of those guests (this was their first time at JBR) that they were very disappointed with the small rooms and the noise, and said that they would not return again.

Photos: http://www.nt.net/valerieb/files05antigua/index.htm

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mental Note: Don't travel to Antigua in April."

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  B&WBrockville  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

My husband & I decided in January of 2000 to invite our son and daughter-in-law as well as our daughter and our son-in law on a one week vacation to our favorite place in the world Jolly Beach Resort.
This was to be a trip of a life time and as we left Toronto International Airport we were all very excited about the week ahead of us. My husband and I were very anxious to show our children the island that we fell in love with 10 years before and why we loved to came back to this resort. This was our thrid trip to Antigua and Jolly Beach Resort.

Jolly Beach Resort Review:
My husband & I decided in January of 2000 to invite our son and daughter-in-law as well as our daughter and our son-in law on a one week vacation to our favorite place in the world Jolly Beach Resort.

This was to be a trip of a life time and as we left Toronto International Airport we were all very excited about the week ahead of us. My husband and I were very anxious to show our children the island that we fell in love with 10 years before and why we loved to came back to this resort. This was our thrid trip to Antigua and Jolly Beach Resort.

We love the island of Antigua and the people are genuine and very friendly. It's a very comfortable feeling to return to a resort and have people call you by name, how they remember who you are is beyond me, but makes you feel at home. We had never been to Antigua in April, our trips were always in February so this was going to be a little different for us. We hoped that the Warm Antigua Sun would be out and the resort and the Caribbean Sea would be as wonderful as we had remembered. We arrived in Antigua to sunshine but by the time we had checked through customs it had started to rain and rain hard. We decided to call it Liquid Sunshine as it rained the majority of the time we were there.

Mental Note: Don't travel to Antigua in April.

The resort was as beautiful as we had remembered, a few changes do to storms they had had, but the rest fo the resort was beautiful and I was thrilled to be back.

I know that you get a lot of reviews about Jolly Beach and as a return guest I'm not going to dwell on the food because it's always very good and there is a large variety to choose from. If you can't find food there, then your just not looking for it. We booked Super Saver Rooms which are small,but I don't go to the Caribbean to spend time in my room. We were on the second floor as were our children and we all had a wonderful view of the Caribbean. They had installed air conditioning, telephones and TV'S..,again the ceiling fan was always fine before..at night you could leave the balcony glass door open (screen closed) turn on the ceiling fan and you'd get a wonderful breeze all night and NO BUGS. Again I don't go on vacation to watch TV and since my work involves a lot of telephone calls the last thing I needed in my room was a telephone. I feel the prices that they are charging for a one week All Inclusive vacation from Toronto to Jolly Beach if far too High. Jolly Beach is not a Sandals or 5 star resort it is 3 stars. The price keeps going up and I don't feel the changes that they have made warrant the prices they are charging. Also while we were there the US Army was staying at the resort, they were on a manover of some sort. It was very annoying to have 3-4 helicopters flying over the beach area during the day while you were suppose to be relaxing. Also they took over the bars, restaurants the disco and the entertainment everyday and night. I do not know why the hotel or the travel group did not inform guest that the 300 army personnel were staying at this resort. It really took the enjoyment out of our 2 year long planning and saving for a once in a lifetime family vacation. I felt like I was in some sort of war zone.

Please don't get me wrong we do love the island of Antigua, the Antiguan people and Jolly Beach Resort. I would recommend the resort under normal circumstances to anyone. (perhaps not in April) Happy travelling

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Holiday Jolly Beach is definetly the place"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karly03  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
189 people found this review helpful

The Food and Drink was excellent, all types of food to suite eveyone and every type of drink u can imagine from 'sex on the beach' to a 'mud slide' ! ! ! The Beach was like paradise, the sea was just proper terquoise and you could see right to the bottom, and the sand was soft and white (from our room in the Bermuda Block, our room looked just like a picture postcard ! The Pool was very clean althought very cold, with lots of entertainment throughout the day which was excellent, but if you jus wanted to relax around the pool there was a smaller pool where you could do so. The Entertainment was Great there was always something tho do from water vollyball to pool cometitions. And at night there was always a steel band or some competitions to amuse you. There was loads to do for children aswell, Kids club run all through the day and a pool room with two pool tables, table tennis and a few computer games. The Entertainment Crew and the Bar Staff made the holiday for us all though. There were all soo luvley and friendly especially Alex, Terrence, Alburn, Ann-marie, Kelsey n all da rest.
I think if you looking for a Good Holiday Jolly Beach is definetly the place, you wont regret it... Trust me ! ! !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Out of this world !! Have fun"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and one other couple stayed at The Jolly Beach Resort last Feb and have a nice time. It wasn't quite as fancy as some other places we've stayed but still very nice, clean and there was good food.
Our favorite day was the day we hired a cab and traveled to a beautiful Italian restaurant called Harmony Hall. It's an outdoor restaurant and well worth the trip. WE were fortunate to have an interesting taxi cab driver who gave us lots of history of the island. He drove us through his neighborhood on the way and through the rain forest on the way back. We shared the trip's expense with our friends so it wasn't really expensive......maybe $30 or $40 a couple. If you arrive early at the restaurant, they provide you with a boat ride to a little island where you can snorkle or just lie on the beach. They set a time to pick you up, return you to the island for lunch.....and what a treat it was. A very wonderful meal with great wine and gracious staff. If you go, be sure to order the sampler appetizer...............out of this world !! Have fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cold champagne and flower petals on the bed"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel06  on May 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful

I just discovered this site as I'm planning a trip to the Dominican Republic in a few weeks but thought I'd share my experience at JBR.

We went to Antigua for our honeymoon in May 2004. We arrived the last day of a 10-day rain-fest. The place looked a little worse for wear since the island isn't used to much rain all at once. There were large puddles on the sidewalks, in the streets, in the grass, etc. But the JBR staff was working hard to clean up - pumps were draining the water and they were showing guests how to get around flooded areas. That evening the sun came out and shined brightly for the remainder of the trip.

Rooms:
we booked a standard room and we were a little taken aback by the concrete furniture. basically a concrete desk and some concrete shelves for clothes inside the closet. However the room was clean and the maid left fresh flowers, cold champagne and flower petals on the bed since it was our honeymoon. One night our air conditioner started leaking and maintenance came immediately to fix it. Also, the bathroom window is just a screen, and there are screens with plantation blinds on the doors, so if other guests are noisy returning to their rooms at night, you definitely hear it. That is the only part of the room that I really did not like - everything else was fine after the initial shock, but I didn't like being able to hear everything outside.

Grounds:
beautiful. The landscaping, flowers, trees, beach, pools, etc, everything was great. The beach was beautiful and clean, the pools were clean and cold and everything on this end was perfect.

Food:
the food was really good, but if you stayed longer than one week I think it would get tiresome. We did the Italian two nights (I had the shrimp encrusted snapper both nights and it was excellent). The antipasti bar was also great in our opinion. We also did the seafood restaurant two nights and I had the surf and turf both nights. The steak and lobster were outstanding, and I didn't mind paying the meal supplement for this meal. We also did the Indian restaurant one night. I'm not into Indian food so I didn't enjoy it but my husband thought it was good. We didn't eat breakfast except for the mornings we were going off property and it was fine - typical breakfast fare. And for lunch we did the poolside grill every day. Again, I was done with burgers and chicken patties at the end of the week but it was so convenient to climb out of the pool, eat in a wet bathing suit and hop back in. In addition, the bars were good and they made lots of fun frozen drinks to try!

The people of Antigua truly made our vacation so special. Many people on staff would ask how we were enjoying their country and ask what we had done so far. If we told them we booked a tour they'd give us tips and things to look for. And it seemed like they really cared that we had a good Antiguan experience, which was amazing to us.

Off-property:
we booked Eli's Eco Tour (adventure antigua) and the ferry trip to Montserrat. Both of these tours were absolutely amazing and worth every penny. Please feel free to e-mail me with any questions you might have at rachel thomas grinch @ yahoo.com (take out the spaces).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube