Jolly Beach Resort Reviews


loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

4.7 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 1, 2006

St. James Club

3.5 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2012

Royal Antiguan Beach And Tennis Resort

3.5 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 1, 2006

Jolly Beach Resort  

Bolans Village, Bolans, Antigua
(Map of Resort)

"Don't expect more than a 3 stars"
Posted by: Luc  on Mar 10, 2012
see all reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews
Jolly Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Jolly Beach Resort Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#3
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 3.9

Based on 18 reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Information


For your convenience each of our 462 air-conditioned rooms is equipped with satellite TV, direct dial telephones, a hair dryer and in-room safe to store your valuables.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Jolly Beach Resort Reviews

Jolly Beach Resort Review: 3.9 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Family and Kids
Solo
11 - 18 of 18

"You didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a good spot"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patti05  on Jan 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
296 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from 10 days at the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua. Just about everything was great.
Our room was a little smaller than were use to but if was just fine for the 2 of us. It was also very clean.
The pool area was very nice and the pool grill was good and had a good selection of food. Everyone there is very nice. This is one island you can feel very safe on.
The beach was great. You didn't have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a good spot. You could get there around 10:00 and still get a good spot. There were some really nice views on the beach as well. The water wasn't as clear as the other islands we have been on but it you go to another part of the island is was clear. I think because the beach is so long it never seemed to be to full. It was great.
The only problem I had with Jolly Beach was there buffet. It was a very small buffet. They did not have a lot the choose from. They really do need to add more of a selection there. My husband and I learned to fill up at the grill by the pool around 4:00 so we wouldn't be that hungry come dinner time.
Other than there buffet everything there was excellent. Antigua is a very beautiful island. Everyone at the resort was very nice and also the people outside the resort was nice. It is a very friendly island. I would go back to Antigua.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do upgrade to Superior Room"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  SueRich04  on Oct 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
289 people found this review helpful

I would definitely return to Jolly Beach. This resort is about 20 years old and is now owned by the Bank of Antigua. You can see how they are constantly working on the upkeep. It is very, very clean and well maintained. That said, in the Caribbean, all properties--unless at the highest $ and luxury level--are going to show some wear and tear. Seems to be a given. But at Jolly Beach, I feel with all the amenities, wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, beach, pool, and good foods make this resort a very reasonably priced vacation and great value. I didn't wish for anything while I was there and would return again--although we're off to Mexico in January.

Pleasant surprise:
Returned from a lovely stay at Jolly Beach. I was pleasantly surprised with almost all aspects of the resort. We upgraded to a Superior room and were about 10 feet from the beach, which was great. Room was 101 in the St. John building. Great Air, plenty of room to move around and plenty of storage. Room had coffee station, hair dryer, small refrigerator -- which was great to store cokes in. There was also an in-room safe that we never used and a iron and ironing board. The water pressure and heat is iffy at best---but we were out in the sun all day so a cooler shower was no problem. Very quiet at night. Sleeping was good. Patio to sit on if you choose. Yes, definitely bring some insect spray for dusk & night. I got about 5 bites during the week, but didn't hear a lot of complaints.

Food:
Above average for an all inclusive. Love the buffet dinners in the evening. The Coconut Grill for lunch had awesome burgers and fries, jerk chicken and other items to choose from. Self-serve soda, juice, coffee, and drink stations by restaurants. Wine offered with lunch and dinner. I'm not a wine snob, but enjoy wine and felt both red and white were good.

Breakfast - the buffet eggs were icky/runny, but could have made to order omelets, French toast and pancakes in addition to the buffet staples of bacon, sausage, juices, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit. Really all food offering were varied enough that could always find something to enjoy. Italian restaurant was very good. Indian was fairly good but bland. Didn't make it to the seafood. Men do need collared shirts and no sandals, jeans or athletic shoes in the restaurants that require reservations.

The store/boutique has a very good selection of items ranging from gifts to clothing to essentials to cold drinks and cold drinks. Beach vendors so/so, but pleasant and not pushy.

Dawn on the beach braided by hair--$1 a braid, which didn't seem too much to me. Turned out great. Had a heck of time getting them out when I got home. They definitely will last a couple of weeks.

Massage:
Alex on beach did a back massage (30 minute) for $30 which was to die for. He did a great job. I'd highly recommend Alex. He'll do reflexology, as well.

Shopping:
Shopping in St. John--Not the best I've been to for sure--but only spent a short time there, so didn't waste a lot of time.

Casino:
Princess Casino across the street--was fun to go to, but talk about dead. The night we were there I think there were about 10 other people there. It's nice to have the option to go and have it be so close. My hubby enjoys that, while I enjoy the hair braiding and massages.

Grounds:
Jolly Beach grounds are very nice. The sports hut has a lot of non-motorized things such as hobie cats, kayaks, etc. Had big blue foam floater mattresses, which I loved to use to float in the calm sea foam green ocean or in the pool. That was a favorite. Pool is huge and wonderful. Pool bar is really fun.

Staff:
Employees were just the best. Loved Janet, Charlie, Vance, Robin, Beverly (yes, all the bartenders). They were excellent, but so was everyone else. I never encountered any employee who was not friendly. Even the timeshare people were great and weren't high pressure. Almost purchased a week in the "Vacation Club" but our wits returned just in the nick of time. If you take a tour of the new area of the resort, which is part of the "Vacation Club" get a free weeks logging in a variety of places and a $25 certificate off a tour booked at the tour desk. The tour isn't high pressure. We went during a small rain shower, so it killed some time. They are very nice units.

Beach:
Beach was very beautiful and great for walking. Nice sand. Some shelling opportunities. The ocean water was beautiful, warm and calm. Views very peaceful.

Resumé:
Being from America and due to the War in Iraq, I didn't know what I'd think about the Brits or if they would be friendly or not. I met so many wonderful people. They were all very, very friendly and warm. That was a special treat.

I would definitely return to Jolly Beach. This resort is about 20 years old and is now owned by the Bank of Antigua. You can see how they are constantly working on the upkeep. It is very, very clean and well maintained. That said, in the Caribbean, all properties--unless at the highest $ and luxury level--are going to show some wear and tear. Seems to be a given. But at Jolly Beach, I feel with all the amenities, wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, beach, pool, and good foods make this resort a very reasonably priced vacation and great value. I didn't wish for anything while I was there and would return again--although we're off to Mexico in January.

Please, please do some tipping. Didn't see a lot of tipping going on. We tipped all throughout the week and the staff was very appreciative. You still get great service regardless--but the hotel employees definitely could use a little extra recognition.

Don't hesitate to book Jolly Beach---but do upgrade to Superior Room--if a tiny room is going to bother you during your stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cold champagne and flower petals on the bed"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel06  on May 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful

I just discovered this site as I'm planning a trip to the Dominican Republic in a few weeks but thought I'd share my experience at JBR.

We went to Antigua for our honeymoon in May 2004. We arrived the last day of a 10-day rain-fest. The place looked a little worse for wear since the island isn't used to much rain all at once. There were large puddles on the sidewalks, in the streets, in the grass, etc. But the JBR staff was working hard to clean up - pumps were draining the water and they were showing guests how to get around flooded areas. That evening the sun came out and shined brightly for the remainder of the trip.

Rooms:
we booked a standard room and we were a little taken aback by the concrete furniture. basically a concrete desk and some concrete shelves for clothes inside the closet. However the room was clean and the maid left fresh flowers, cold champagne and flower petals on the bed since it was our honeymoon. One night our air conditioner started leaking and maintenance came immediately to fix it. Also, the bathroom window is just a screen, and there are screens with plantation blinds on the doors, so if other guests are noisy returning to their rooms at night, you definitely hear it. That is the only part of the room that I really did not like - everything else was fine after the initial shock, but I didn't like being able to hear everything outside.

Grounds:
beautiful. The landscaping, flowers, trees, beach, pools, etc, everything was great. The beach was beautiful and clean, the pools were clean and cold and everything on this end was perfect.

Food:
the food was really good, but if you stayed longer than one week I think it would get tiresome. We did the Italian two nights (I had the shrimp encrusted snapper both nights and it was excellent). The antipasti bar was also great in our opinion. We also did the seafood restaurant two nights and I had the surf and turf both nights. The steak and lobster were outstanding, and I didn't mind paying the meal supplement for this meal. We also did the Indian restaurant one night. I'm not into Indian food so I didn't enjoy it but my husband thought it was good. We didn't eat breakfast except for the mornings we were going off property and it was fine - typical breakfast fare. And for lunch we did the poolside grill every day. Again, I was done with burgers and chicken patties at the end of the week but it was so convenient to climb out of the pool, eat in a wet bathing suit and hop back in. In addition, the bars were good and they made lots of fun frozen drinks to try!

The people of Antigua truly made our vacation so special. Many people on staff would ask how we were enjoying their country and ask what we had done so far. If we told them we booked a tour they'd give us tips and things to look for. And it seemed like they really cared that we had a good Antiguan experience, which was amazing to us.

Off-property:
we booked Eli's Eco Tour (adventure antigua) and the ferry trip to Montserrat. Both of these tours were absolutely amazing and worth every penny. Please feel free to e-mail me with any questions you might have at rachel thomas grinch @ yahoo.com (take out the spaces).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The pool was the best I have experienced"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alice04  on Apr 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
170 people found this review helpful

I felt I had to write this review after reading so many negative ones. We went to Jolly Beach last November and had a FANTASTIC time. I have been to brilliant All inclusives in the Dominican (Bavaro and Juan Dolio) and Cuba (Veradero) so I know what people are comparing this to.
OK, so the buffet is far smaller than most large all inclusives, but I never ate the same thing twice and thought the quality of the food was great. I enjoyed eating the local cuisine (when in Rome etc). The Italian and Seafood restaurants are lovely if you want a change from the buffet.
As for the service we thought it was wonderful and were treated very well by ALL members of staff - maybe if you treat them with a little respect and manners and have a laugh with them that makes the difference. We always had our wine refilled (several times!) at dinner and our drinks at the bar were poured before we even asked for them once they knew what we wanted. And no this was not because of tipping, we tipped in a lump sum on the last day.
The pool was the best I have experienced with a breathtaking beach and backdrop - how anyone can complain about being somewhere as Paradise-like as this I have no idea.
Your holiday is what YOU make of it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was excellent"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angela03  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
185 people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Jolly Beach resort. It was the best holiday we have ever had ,the food was excellent we stayed in the Barbuda block on the third floor and the view was amazing you only had to lift your head off your pillow in the morning and you could see the amazing turquoise sea view.We upgraded to the standard room and it was Fine.We had no complaints at all and would recommend this resort to anyone we saw a few of the other hotels whilst on some trips and have to say the Jolly Beach looked the best of all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mental Note: Don't travel to Antigua in April."

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  B&WBrockville  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

My husband & I decided in January of 2000 to invite our son and daughter-in-law as well as our daughter and our son-in law on a one week vacation to our favorite place in the world Jolly Beach Resort.
This was to be a trip of a life time and as we left Toronto International Airport we were all very excited about the week ahead of us. My husband and I were very anxious to show our children the island that we fell in love with 10 years before and why we loved to came back to this resort. This was our thrid trip to Antigua and Jolly Beach Resort.

Jolly Beach Resort Review:
My husband & I decided in January of 2000 to invite our son and daughter-in-law as well as our daughter and our son-in law on a one week vacation to our favorite place in the world Jolly Beach Resort.

This was to be a trip of a life time and as we left Toronto International Airport we were all very excited about the week ahead of us. My husband and I were very anxious to show our children the island that we fell in love with 10 years before and why we loved to came back to this resort. This was our thrid trip to Antigua and Jolly Beach Resort.

We love the island of Antigua and the people are genuine and very friendly. It's a very comfortable feeling to return to a resort and have people call you by name, how they remember who you are is beyond me, but makes you feel at home. We had never been to Antigua in April, our trips were always in February so this was going to be a little different for us. We hoped that the Warm Antigua Sun would be out and the resort and the Caribbean Sea would be as wonderful as we had remembered. We arrived in Antigua to sunshine but by the time we had checked through customs it had started to rain and rain hard. We decided to call it Liquid Sunshine as it rained the majority of the time we were there.

Mental Note: Don't travel to Antigua in April.

The resort was as beautiful as we had remembered, a few changes do to storms they had had, but the rest fo the resort was beautiful and I was thrilled to be back.

I know that you get a lot of reviews about Jolly Beach and as a return guest I'm not going to dwell on the food because it's always very good and there is a large variety to choose from. If you can't find food there, then your just not looking for it. We booked Super Saver Rooms which are small,but I don't go to the Caribbean to spend time in my room. We were on the second floor as were our children and we all had a wonderful view of the Caribbean. They had installed air conditioning, telephones and TV'S..,again the ceiling fan was always fine before..at night you could leave the balcony glass door open (screen closed) turn on the ceiling fan and you'd get a wonderful breeze all night and NO BUGS. Again I don't go on vacation to watch TV and since my work involves a lot of telephone calls the last thing I needed in my room was a telephone. I feel the prices that they are charging for a one week All Inclusive vacation from Toronto to Jolly Beach if far too High. Jolly Beach is not a Sandals or 5 star resort it is 3 stars. The price keeps going up and I don't feel the changes that they have made warrant the prices they are charging. Also while we were there the US Army was staying at the resort, they were on a manover of some sort. It was very annoying to have 3-4 helicopters flying over the beach area during the day while you were suppose to be relaxing. Also they took over the bars, restaurants the disco and the entertainment everyday and night. I do not know why the hotel or the travel group did not inform guest that the 300 army personnel were staying at this resort. It really took the enjoyment out of our 2 year long planning and saving for a once in a lifetime family vacation. I felt like I was in some sort of war zone.

Please don't get me wrong we do love the island of Antigua, the Antiguan people and Jolly Beach Resort. I would recommend the resort under normal circumstances to anyone. (perhaps not in April) Happy travelling

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Holiday Jolly Beach is definetly the place"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karly03  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
189 people found this review helpful

The Food and Drink was excellent, all types of food to suite eveyone and every type of drink u can imagine from 'sex on the beach' to a 'mud slide' ! ! ! The Beach was like paradise, the sea was just proper terquoise and you could see right to the bottom, and the sand was soft and white (from our room in the Bermuda Block, our room looked just like a picture postcard ! The Pool was very clean althought very cold, with lots of entertainment throughout the day which was excellent, but if you jus wanted to relax around the pool there was a smaller pool where you could do so. The Entertainment was Great there was always something tho do from water vollyball to pool cometitions. And at night there was always a steel band or some competitions to amuse you. There was loads to do for children aswell, Kids club run all through the day and a pool room with two pool tables, table tennis and a few computer games. The Entertainment Crew and the Bar Staff made the holiday for us all though. There were all soo luvley and friendly especially Alex, Terrence, Alburn, Ann-marie, Kelsey n all da rest.
I think if you looking for a Good Holiday Jolly Beach is definetly the place, you wont regret it... Trust me ! ! !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Out of this world !! Have fun"

Jolly Beach Resort
User Rating:  Jolly Beach Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
177 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and one other couple stayed at The Jolly Beach Resort last Feb and have a nice time. It wasn't quite as fancy as some other places we've stayed but still very nice, clean and there was good food.
Our favorite day was the day we hired a cab and traveled to a beautiful Italian restaurant called Harmony Hall. It's an outdoor restaurant and well worth the trip. WE were fortunate to have an interesting taxi cab driver who gave us lots of history of the island. He drove us through his neighborhood on the way and through the rain forest on the way back. We shared the trip's expense with our friends so it wasn't really expensive......maybe $30 or $40 a couple. If you arrive early at the restaurant, they provide you with a boat ride to a little island where you can snorkle or just lie on the beach. They set a time to pick you up, return you to the island for lunch.....and what a treat it was. A very wonderful meal with great wine and gracious staff. If you go, be sure to order the sampler appetizer...............out of this world !! Have fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube