Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Reviews

Home page > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua and Barbuda Hotel Index > Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Verandah Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 2, 2013

Blue Waters

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2004

Galley Bay Resort

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 5, 2011

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa

2.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 15, 2012

Coconut Beach Resort

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental  

Long Bay | (formerly Allegro/Occidental Resort Pineapple Beach), 33442, Antigua

"Not worth the money"
Posted by: Michelle  on Jun 24, 2013
see all reviews

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Reviews
Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Pictures and Information
Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#1
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 3.4

Based on 23 reviews

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Information


All-inclusive - 180 rooms in one, two, and three story buildings

Occidental Grand Pineapple Beach formerly known as Allegro Resort Pineapple Beach, is located on a beautiful stretch of secluded white sand beach, overlooking the turquoise waters of Long Bay on Antigua's northeastern coast.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Reviews

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 3.4 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  5
Average
  3
Poor
  5
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (22)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 23

"Not worth the money"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jun 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
107 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Antigua. We spent 7 nights at the Grand Pineapple Resort beginning on September 29, 2012. Our experience at the Grand Pineapple however left us extremely disappointed. My husband and I have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean and stayed at other all-inclusive resorts. We purposely chose this resort as it is presented as the “budget friendly resort” of the Sandals family. Because of Sandals worldwide reputation as being the best of the best for all-inclusive resorts, we assumed, while not a Sandals itself, that it would still be held to certain standards. What we actually experienced during our vacation was the exact opposite of these expectations.

The service we experienced at the hotel was extremely disappointing. While we have listed specific issues below, overall, the service at the resort permeates with indifferent behavior. At any resort, we expect to run across a few bad apples as happens in all walks of life. But at this resort, the people who have excellent customer service are the exception rather than the rule.

We felt so disappointed and uncomfortable with our stay at the resort. Perhaps we should have complained to the front desk staff but to be completely honest, they were not approachable or overly friendly. When we did go in to ask questions, we felt we were a disturbance to them and an annoyance.
We chose this resort as it is the “budget-friendly” resort of the Sandals family who represent themselves as a step above other all-inclusive resorts. We have been to other, less expensive, all-inclusive resorts, and had the service, cleanliness and experiences we would expect from a several thousand dollar vacation. We hoped to experience equal to or even more from the Grand Pineapple and their staff. This was our first holiday together in four years. For the price of this holiday, we could have gone to Cuba twice! At least there, we know we would have received better service and had a more pleasant experience.

Arrival:
Upon checking in to the resort on the 29th of September, we were not asked for a credit card imprint or advised of the “cashless” policy at the resort shop or tour desk. It was not until I went to purchase sunscreen the next day that I was advised of this. This is definitely something that we should have been told upon check-in.

We were led to believe that there was no tipping at this resort as it comes under the Sandals family. When our porter carried our bags to our room, he waited until my husband gave him a tip. Again, we believed this was a non-tipping resort.

Rooms:
Issues with Room
Our room was dingy and in poor condition. The dresser drawers got stuck regularly and it was a fight to both open and close these drawers. The bedspread was faded and had tears in it. The bathroom was disgusting to put it mildly. The lighting, or lack thereof, at the top of the stairs to go to our room was non-existent and made it hazardous for us to come back at the end of our evening.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Topaz Restaurant had bird droppings on the vast majority of the chairs and birds constantly picked at unattended food in the restaurant The birds even made their way to the actual buffet and would pick at the spoons. These spoons went in and out of the servers!!
Water glasses were rarely filled once emptied most of the time and the staff was very inattentive. Overall, the attitude most of the restaurant staff displayed made it very apparent they were not working for tips. On that note, there was a young man named Tony who was absolutely excellent! He was by far the best server at the resort. Unfortunately, he seemed to only work the evening shift. My husband is still waiting for his morning coffee from October 6, 2012.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Within 60 minutes of arriving at the resort, my husband was approached on the beach, near the pool area, by a beach “vendor” to purchase marihuana or “whatever else he may want”. This was done with the “Sandals Security” person standing by us. My husband said thanks but no thanks and the “vendor” continued for about 15 minutes. The harassment on the beach continued multiple times throughout our stay. To the point actually where we could not enjoy the beach front and chose to stay by the pool. It was not always controlled substances but tours, cigars, products, etc. In all of our visits, we have never been harassed like this. It was thoroughly un-enjoyable.
The security staff all had the “Sandals Security” logo on their uniforms. This obviously was just for show. People were constantly being harassed on the beach and security just turned a cheek. The first “vendor” that approached us on the 29th said not to worry about the security or the room attendants because “if you slip them a couple of bucks you can do what you want”. Really??? That is not very comforting.
While we were there, four people cut their feet in the “loud” pool. After hearing and witnessing this, we stayed at the adults’ only pool – when seats were available. As a result of this and the constant harassment on the beach, we spent far too much time in a dingy room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Security staff on the beach harrassing me"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  G  on Jan 16, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
131 people found this review helpful

Not happy with the security staff on the beach harrassing me when I walked down the beach and back. I was told several times that the beach is public bu the Grand Pineapple is not. I am sure they thought I was not staying on the property or something and they were rude. Perhaps they could be trained to first be nice and then rude because perhaps the person is actually a paying guest on the property. Will not return!

Arrival:
2/1/13

Rooms:
Just Ok

Restaurants and Bars:
Just Ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Adjacent to public beach, crowded during certain times.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Vacation Ever"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tony  on Mar 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from a great vacation at this all-inclusive hotel. We enjoyed it so much that we booked for next year while we were there. We have travelled to England, France, Hawaii, Mexico & Sweden, to name a few places, and never been treated this well. We read some other reviews before we left and were a little concerned with comments about the rooms, staff and service. Our room was beachfront, spotless, well maintained and a pleasure to be in. The view from the room was fabulous. The food at the beachside restaurant was very, very good and lots of it with a great buffet selection. The staff were all very friendly from reception to room maintenance, to dining room staff, they were all wonderful. Too good to be true? Try it yourself. Can't wait till 2013 to return.

Room Number:
228

Arrival:
Very efficient and friendly. Included a guided tour of the resort.

Rooms:
Our room was beachfront on the second floor. Perfect, clean and a pleasure to be in, with agreat view of the beach & ocean.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints. The buffets were fabulous, service at the bars was quick and efficient

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was the best we have visited. Never used the pools as we enjoyed the beach so much. Ground were very well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Spent all our time on the beach and in the ocean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Nice Quiet Week "

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Jan 30, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
190 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
123

Arrival:
Arrival was handled very quickly both at the airport by the Air Canada Rep.
Also the hotel reception was very efficient.

Rooms:
The room was not fancy but was very clean, house keeping was good always spotless and never had to request anything that was missed. Was great having a coffee maker in the room able to sit back in the early morning and enjoy the calm.
Our room was on approx fifteen steps from the front door to the sand beach.

Restaurants and Bars:
Resturants were excellent the buffet was not big but the food was tasty.
The two Ala Cartes were fantastic excellent food excellent service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Don't know about the pools stayed on the beach nice soft sand and plenty of lounge chairs.

Other Comments:
We were here three years ago, and enjoyed it then, ther has been a lot of work done since we were last here the rooms have had updating, buildings have been painted and now look fresh and clean. There is a whole new attitude with the staff, not only do you see the change but you can really sense it.
If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place it is a 3 or 3.5.
Also forgot to mention the property is now owned by Sandals and not Occidental.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An unpleasant experience overall!"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
383 people found this review helpful

We travelled with another couple with whom we travel annually to various Caribbean islands. The hotel is now part of Sandals "Luxury" Resorts. The hotel is located on a calm bay, blue sea and fine sand beach. The hotel needs a total upgrade! The pictures & commentary on their website do not match the actual resort. Standard rooms are former staff quarters, oceanview rooms are on the hillside & beachfront rooms are remodeled & an upcharge. The food is varied and tasty. The restaurant for breakfast, lunch & dinner is open air without any ventilation (fans) and is full of stray cats & sea gulls squaking.Service is very poor. Most times we had to get our own water & remove our plates for the next course. The oceanview rooms are outdated! Loud entertainment at night. Every other evening without notice (usually 6:30 pm), they "fog" for mosquitos throughout the resort. Many guests were bitten from mosquitos & sand fleas.Definitely not worthy as a Sandals Resort. Will not return!

Arrival:
Flew Delta to Antigua. Old plane. V.C. Bird Airport is antiquated & primitive.

Rooms:
Do not take a standard room. Beachfront rooms are best choice at a cost.

Restaurants and Bars:
Full of stray cats & sea gulls. Lacks ventilation. Pineapple Grill restaurant by reservation & air-conditioned.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools need repair. Lounge chairs are uncomfortable & need to be replaced.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Fair snorkeling in Long Bay. Avoid St. John's, the capital. Cathedral closed, museum limited exhibits, poor shopping, aggressive sale people at vendor's market.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Irene  on Jan 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
303 people found this review helpful

Vacationed at the Grand Pineapple Beach Resort in Antigua from January 8-15, 2011.
Absolutely nothing to complain about.
The weather for the week was great. Warm sunny days and balmy evenings.
The beach was superb. Lots of palm trees and palpas for shade. Soft white sand, gorgeous water. Never a problem finding shade or a lounge chair, even though the resort was at capacity.
Stayed in a Garden View Room. Again no complaints. Everything worked. Lots of hot water anytime of the day or evening. No mould. No bugs. Coffee maker in the room is always a nice touch. Large walk in closet. Gorgeous views of the garden and the ocean from the balcony. 40 steps to the sand of the beach. All good.
We enjoyed the Adult Pool late afternoons. Not a large pool and not a lot of seating capacity, but we always managed to find a lounge. We did not use the main pool at all during our stay.
The buffet breakfasts were great with lots of choices. Lunch's at the Grill were tasty. Dinner's were ordered from a menu, with great presentation and were delicious. We enjoyed them all. The dining room staff were quick to please and worked hard to make sure all of their guests were satisfied.
The dining room is open air and the seating allows for beach side dinner. Very nice!
Lunch's at Mary's Outhouse were tasty, the beer cold, and the views spectacular.
Evening entertainment was varied. A nice mix from Karaoke to a Steel Band to various song groups.
All in all, we had a terrific week!
Glad we had the opportunity to experience the Grand Pineapple.
Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Intimate and cozy - just perfect"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Nov 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

Just loved the Pineapple from start to finish. My husband and I are avid travelers having been to several islands - Aruba, Bahama's, Jamaica, Cuba, Dominican just to name a few (and several times each), and this was, by far, the most beautiful, friendly, awe-inspiring island we have been to yet - booked and ready to head back this winter!

Arrival:
Not going to get into the flight and airport jazz as that is part and parcel with traveling and everyone has a different experience. I will say though that ours was fine. We were pleasantly greeted with rum punch in the gracious "Tommy Bahama" plantation style lobby and were checked in within 20 minutes after a swift airport transfer. The wait was a nice pause to get into island life. The staff and surroundings were marvelous. Palm trees and flora abounded and breezes of salt air and heat were a welcome treat. We were at the beach within a 1/2 hour of arrival.

Rooms:
We had booked the lowest-class room possible (just wanted to be in Antigua :)) and it was just fine. It was situated between the lobby and the Mexican restaurant and not a stone's throw away from anything. We did get a chance to see inside one of the oceanfront suites that have been renovated and they were very nice. The gardenview rooms were lovely as well and the oceanview rooms were up a few flights of stairs on the hillside but very easy to get to. I will mention that I have a very slight walking impediment so this resort was a clear choice due to it's smaller size - definitely NOT a mega resort which I was quite happy with.

Restaurants and Bars:
Now, having said that, there is a restaurant on the cliffside - Mary's Outhouse that serves the most scrumptious ribs, chicken, salad, rolls, cold beer and pop, and I had heard people complaining about the "walk up there". Trust me, it is a 2 minute trek up a walkway with views of the ocean that are unrivaled anywhere. In a nutshell, you will want to walk up there every day just to use your eyes. The open air buffet is a lovely compliment to the hotel's true plantation style, complete with shutters and terra cotta tile floor. Yes, small (beautiful) birds will want to join you for breakfast but you are outside, what else would be expected? I am not a "foodie" when on vacation but I understand that food can make or break a trip so you should know that the selection of food and quality were just perfect. Eggs - every way possible, bacon, pancakes, waffles (with whipped cream and fruit), sausage, toast, french toast, rice pudding, cereal, milk, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Can't complain. Lunches were equally bountiful and dinners were on par with other 4* resorts. There was a Mexican restaurant that was nice as well s an Italian (I think - but we didn't go). Most importantly, the food was fresh and I had not heard of anyone, ever, getting sick. Oh yeah, did I mention, the tap water is drinkable - right from the tap. I have a very sensitive stomach and if there was anything wrong I would have known it. Coffee was great as well, Latte's and Cappuccino's readily available. No food issues at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ahhhhhhhhhh, the beach. What to say about the beach. Pure beauty. A cove-like beach, not huge, just perfect. Quiet and peaceful, white powder sand and crystal clear blue water, and palm trees. Very few distractions on the beach and vendors are respectful, not pushy.

The pool is smaller, but cozy. The entertainment area is there as well so music is played around that area but it is not intrusive and it is generally appropriate music.

The grounds are lush, meandering, and peaceful. No huge corridors or pathways and no tram's. You will find yourself just walking around the resort because it is so pretty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The watersports (catamaran, sunfish sailing)are all included and you can borrow snorkeling gear and head to the right to a great snorkeling area. Take some bread with you and just watch. You don't even have to snorkel. I went straight out from the "communal" beach area and I was about up to my waist and crumbled some bread and tons of white angel fish and spearheaded fish were flurry-ing about, even jumping out of the water for it. I could feel them whisking between my legs. Totally harmless and amazing. Off of the resort nearby is the Verandah, a very nice resort to walk through and to the right was another boutique-style hotel that shared our beach. It seemed VERY quiet. A little farther down the road is Devil's Bridge. Don't miss it. It was awesome. Lots of legends about that. Then of course there is Shirley Heights - Just amazing, Half Moon Bay, Jolly Harbor, St. John's for shopping, the Rainforest, Barbuda, Catamaran tours that go around the island, helicopter rides over Montserrat, etc. Do yourself the favor of renting a car for the day and tour the island on your own. It is safe, and you will be amazed by what you can see on a regular afternoon on the island.

Other Comments:
If you are looking for a true island experience and are not expecting "butler service and turned down sheets" you will not regret going to the Pineapple. It is very comfortable and welcoming place. We are trying the Jolly Beach this year but only because we don't go to the same hotel twice - yet! Happy travels!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Jul 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
309 people found this review helpful

My wife and I visited Antigua finally, after waiting for a number of years. We have travelled to many islands in the Caribbean and were looking forward to this trip. We had too many low points and I decided to write this review. There were some high points as well, so read on.

Arrival:
Arrival was as normal as any other island, received baggage and got through customs in a reasonable time. Vans were organized out front for the different resorts. Get on the right one and off you go.

Rooms:
Ours was a garden view. We should have upgraded, but we're not the type to worry too much about the room, as we spend little time there anyway. It's about the country itself, the beach, the food. So not so much emphasis on the room. This being said, the room was very dated, definitely nothing special in anyway, and actually made me not want to spend any time there. So, there you go. It actually worked in our favour.

Restaurants and Bars:
Here comes the first major complaint. The bars were understaffed. Many times I walked up to the bar near the beach, only to find no one there. It was open, but not manned. So being Canadian, I patiently waited for someone to show up to their job and make me a drink at this all inclusive resort. After 20 min's, (like I said I'm patient)I finally had enough and walked behind the bar to pour myself a drink. I'm only there for a week and I'm not about to spend it waiting for anything. While I'm there doing my Tom Cruise imitation from the movie "Cocktail" more resort guests showed up for drinks and asked it I worked there. I said, "I do now, what would you like" and made them the best drinks they've ever had. Finally the bar tender showed up and was quickly trying to take over the show (probably scared to death of getting in trouble). Other bars weren't too bad as long as there was no one else waiting for drinks, other wise the understaffing ticks the clock away.
Food is very important on these trips, and the food here was ok at best, and I mean that. (Best food to date...Grand Lido Braco in Jamaica..hands down)
Mary's BBQ up on the hill was awesome. Great chicken and Ribs and cold beer, finger lickin good, and real messy, yummmmm. The view is great and well worth the hike. Mary is a sweet heart, make sure to give her a hug for me. The rest of the staff down below could take some hospitality lessons from her.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I'm not a pool guy and my wife doesn't even swim. But alot of you probably are so here you go. The pool is nice as far as pools go, (has a waterfall on one side) but was full of kids all the time and noisy, again kids. The snack bar was always busy beside the pool, again kids. So if you've got kids, then great otherwise if your like me (leave em at home) I didn't want to see kids (which explains why we go to alot of adults only resorts). Don't get me wrong, kids are great and I love mine. But I see them 24/7 so our vacation is about relaxing by ourselves.
The beach was ok as far as beaches go. Long enough to walk on but attached to a public beach. Nothing to look at if your a snorkler. Some gift shops to barter at. Water sport staff would rather have seen me drop off the face of the planet then ask to take out a sailboat. There was a strong on shore breeze making it difficult to get the boat going. Instead of helping me out, the staff kicked me off the boat and pulled it back on to the beach. Sorry guys for taking so much of your time, chillin out at work.
The grounds are ok, but nothing special.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I think I remember some volleyball being played with about 50 people. I'm not exaggerating. Other than that not much going on. I saw some kids chasing one of the activity guys around on the beach, and a couple kids flying some kites, one of which hit me while I was relaxing in my chair. No big, just take them somewhere else.
Off the resort, the island is beautiful. It is safe and theres plenty to see. We strongly suggest hiring a cab driver to take you for the day. Its around $30.00 per person and worth every cent. We got off the beatin path a few times and saw some beautiful sights.
Nelsons Dockyard is a must, and half moon bay.
IF you want a magnificent snorkel tour and beach lobster or chicken lunch. Then forget everyone else they offer at the resort and call Creole cruises. These guys were amazing and cheaper than anyone else on the island by a landslide.($125 per person vs $200) The lobster and salads were incredible and so was the homemade rum punch. Plus the best hospitality I experienced on the entire island. I can honestly say it was the best excursion I've ever been on anywhere. and I've been almost everwhere. (military life)Check out their website, jot down the number, and take it with you on your vacation. Then call from one of the phones at the resort, you won't regret it.
Mary's heights is a big drunk fest and the food is expensive. Not a place for kids. But the view at sunset and at night is great.
Cabs are rediculusly expensive to get anywhere on the island.
Stay away from the crooks on the beach, my buddy and I got absolutely raped on a half day fishing trip $500.00 which didn't go to where they said we were going, and we caught nothing. Complete waste of time and money. Always confirm that your return taxi is included in where ever you go, ALWAYS... or you to will get ripped off.

Other Comments:
Hotel Staff:
I thought that other people on this site were being to picky about the attitudes of hotel staff. Well...their not. I found myself continually trying to be overly nice with the staff to get what I wanted. Isn't it supposed to be the other way around? At least the hotel manager did come up to us and asked what we thought. Well, we'er honest people so we told him exactly what we thought and he was very appreciative. In fact he was the nicest person we met on the whole resort.
So: Would I stay here again. NO
Would I recommend this resort. NO
Would I recommend Antigua to anybody. Sure,just stay at Jolly beach or Sandals.
Would I go back to Antigua. NO The "tour guides" on the beach, hotel staff, and the overpriced taxis ruined it for us. If I win the lottery though, I will go back just to go on another Creole Cruise! Definitley worth every cent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would never return"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gale  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
435 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Pineapple from Jan 30/10 to Feb 13/10. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!! WE paid $6000 to upgrade to an oceanview room. We had a view of the ocean but that is about all I can say good about the room. The food was disgusting. Having to line up every day to book the buffet restaurant was ridiculos. They ran out of booze more than once at the main bar. My husband had to pay $10 to watch the Super Bowl at the Disco. They served one plate of wings, one of meatballs and one of cookies??? We paid for an all inclusive. What a joke. Some staff were rude. We met a couple who thankfully told us about Mama Pasta's up the beach. We went there 4 times for dinner and of course had to pay for our drinks and dinner. Well worth it. At least we could eat. No less than 4 nights at the buffet we could not find anything that we would eat. Chicken cooked in prunes??? I had bread and fruit for dinner for those 4 nights. We certainly did not gain any weight. Between the food and the stairs. Many many stairs. We were supposed to get a day at the Sandals resort if we paid our own way there. We went to book that the 2nd week and were told they were all booked and we could not go. People who went said it was wonderful.

Antigua is beautiful and the beach was amazing. We should have paid the extra money and went to Sandals. I have written to Sandals to let them know what I think of their Grand Pineapple as they own it. What a major disappointment!!! I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Your Arrival:
First impressions. The water feature out front was filthy. The person checking us in could not have been less interested in what she was doing. The welcome coctail was fruit juice.

Rooms:
Dirty rooms. Dust up the walls. Old furniture. Bathroom walls were filthy.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was terrible. Bar was understaffed and ran out of booze frequently. The disco opened at 11 and you had to wake up the bartender.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were not very clean.. The grounds were ok. Many walkways need upgrading as they were uneven and not very well lit.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
None.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were pleased with what we saw"

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental
User Rating:  Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie03  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
288 people found this review helpful

We chose Antigua as our honeymoon destination as we wanted a place where we could explore the entire island and not be stuck in one spot. What convinced me were all of the positive reviews I have read about….and the pics of the great beaches! : )

Okay here we go…
We arrived in the afternoon at the resort only to be greeted by a man named Shaka who handed us a complimentary fruit punch cocktail. We waited a few minutes then were taken to our room.

ROOM:
We had room 405, which is a standard room. We had thought about asking for an upgrade but decided to see our room before we made any decisions. We were pleased with what we saw and decided that an upgrade was not needed. Quite frankly we didn’t plan on spending too much time in there anyway : ) For those who are interested, located in the room is a Queen sized bed, a dresser, two side tables with lamps, a TV, a phone and a safe. No radio or clock so if you want to know the time, best to bring your own.

STAFF:
Our experience at Pineapple Beach was a pleasant one. The staff was amazing!!! I have heard people complain a bit about the staff, but I found them to be overly attentive, kind, friendly and they always had a smile on their face. They always made an effort to say hello be it the head manager of the restaurant, the cook or the leaf blower! They were all very courteous and made an effort to make our stay there a memorable one. My one complaint: I needed an iron to iron some of my clothes. It took two phone calls and a visit to the reception to get it. I'm not sure why it took as long as it did (6 hours) as everything else was perfect....when I did go in person , they had it to me in a few minutes.

Oh our second to last day we got a nice surprise of two nicely bundled up t-shirts that said: "Pineapple Beach" on the front and "Don't disturb, I'm on my honeymoon" on the back... very cute!

FOOD:
Excellent!

We found the food VERY good at the Topaz restaurant. This is our first time at an all inclusive restaurant, so keep in mind we had nothing to compare it to. However, the food was tasty, it was hot when it was supposed to be, cold when it was supposed to be, and the presentation was wonderful as well. The chef, Peter, came out periodically to mingle with the guests and to make sure everything was okay.

Pineapple Grill – I thought the food was not bad. My husband liked it better than I did. My only complaint was that I couldn’t cut my steak as it was very tough. Other than that everything else was great particularly the atmosphere. While eating a man named Calypso Joe and his partner (sorry I forgot his name) played a few songs….they were very talented and very funny!! : )

The Outhouse – What can I tell you about this place….such a little gem. It’s a bit of a trek up a hill, but well worth it! A lady named Mary will serve you ribs and chicken (BBQ) along with any drink you want and salad etc. The view is spectacular and the chicken is AWESOME!!! And Mary….what a genuinely sweet sweet lady. Such a pleasure to have met her.

GROUNDS:
The grounds were beautiful, well kept with lots of greenery and flowers. There was always plenty of staff blowing leaves, cleaning the lamp shades, dusting etc. etc. Not one complaint in this department at all.

BEACH:
Not a huge beach, but a nice one. I was a bit reluctant to stay here based on the fact that it is on the Atlantic side and I thought the waves would be out of hand for my liking. This however could not be further from the truth. It is nestled in a cove and so the waves are very minimal if any. We tried our hand at snorkeling here but didn’t go past the barrier that is put up (too chicken!!) We heard that snorkeling is best at the end of the beach, but we never ventured out to try it.

The vendors are minimal. There are a few ‘stores’ set up toward the end of the beach, so if you want to peruse you may. We only had one gentleman come up to us on the beach asking us if we wanted to buy some jewellery. We said no and he left with a smile on his face. We never saw him again on the beach. We have heard that other beaches are notorious for vendors bothering you, but this should not be a worry at Pineapple Beach.

If you have any questions please feel free to email me at pbear8@yahoo.com!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube