Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua and Barbuda Hotel Index > Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Antigua Hotels with Similar Ranking

Verandah Resort & Spa

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 2, 2013

Blue Waters

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2004

Galley Bay Resort

4.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 5, 2011

Grand Pineapple Beach by Occidental

3.4 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 24, 2013

Coconut Beach Resort

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa  

P O BOX 147, Dickenson Bay, St. John's, Antigua

"Just returned from my Honeymoon"
Posted by: Katy on Oct 15, 2012
see all reviews

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Reviews
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Antigua Antigua and Barbuda

#2
of 25 Hotels in Antigua

User rating 2.7

Based on 23 reviews

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Information


All-inclusive - 9 categories of accommodation - 193 rooms and suites

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Reviews

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Review: 2.7 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  4
Average
  2
Poor
  6
Terrible
  7
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (21)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (21)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
21 - 23 of 23

"Our honeymoon was a disaster"

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  NicoleUSA  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
70 people found this review helpful

Our honeymoon was a disaster. When we arrived at Sandals Antigua, they lost my luggage. My husband had his luggage. We could not do anything about it the first night we arrived because we got to the resort at 11pm. We asked the representative for the general hygiene supplies and he stated that he would coordinate it and have it sent to our room. Someone brought us room service and stated that we would have to talk to the front desk in the morning in order to get the personal hygiene products that we requested.
The next morning, my hubby had to go to the gift shop to purchase some clothes, underwear and other products for me. We then contacted customer relations to get some resolution on my lost luggage. We were basically given the run around and couldn't get a definitely answer all that day on where my luggage was. The manager found us late that afternoon to discuss the issue with us. His excuse was that the hotel could not be blamed for my lost luggage and that it happens all the time. He stated that it happens several times a week.
What kind of excuse is "it happens several times a week". I guess he felt that would justify their operations. As far as we are concerned, Sandals Antigua does not have it together and they always put the blame on other people. I made the reservations through their website for everything. Therefore in our eyes, they are responsible.
My husband and I decided to come back to the US and complete our honeymoon in Raleigh, NC. We had more fun in Raleigh than we did in Antigua. The hotel was a huge disappointment. We would not recommend Sandals Antigua to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DON’T GO THERE"

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  KevinCanada  on Feb 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
81 people found this review helpful

Sandals – DON’T GO THERE – MOST DISAPPOINTING
In Nov/04 we spent one week at Sandals Antigua for our 36th anniversary. Having heard much about Sandals being 5+ star resorts, (although in the last few years we have heard and read an increasing number of negative comments), we decided to try the Sandals experience.
We were most disappointed!! During the week, we talked to several other guests all of whom were also most disappointed.
Based on our other 14 trips to the Caribbean, the rooms, other facilities, service, food, booze, and many employees were, being generous, of about 3 star quality. The beach, although public, is very good although not the best in the Caribbean. This makes our generous overall rating 31/2 stars. The cost is 5+ stars.
On leaving we took the time to leave with the Manager an extensive comment card. Since then we sent to Sandals several e-mails with our comments and seeking responses. We telephoned and left messages asking for calls back. Our only purpose in doing this was to get from Sandals why the resort was so disappointing and what improvements are they making to deliver the advertised quality in the future. Almost 3 months later we still have had no response, other than acknowledgment of receipt, to any of our e-mails or calls. Obviously Sandals don’t care!! We continue to read and hear about the slipping Sandals quality.
Bottom line – Sandals do not deliver 5 star value, but charge 5+ star prices. If you are thinking of a trip to the Caribbean, there are many other resorts that deliver the promised value and then some. They are living off their past reputation.Of our 15 trips over several years to the Caribbean, this is the first time we have been disappointed in the overall quality relative to promised quality.
PS: Today Feb.7/05 just heard from a friend who was at Sandals in Cuba – He too was disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff basically didn't care"

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob03  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
90 people found this review helpful

I am an avid Sandals supporter, but I must advise that the property in Antigua leaves a lot to be desired. My wife & I visited Antigua 3/14-3/22/03. The property is beginning to show signs of wear. Had NO water pressure from Friday pm until they finally agreed to move us on Sunday afternoon (no shower for 1 1/2 days). GM, Franklin, was off property and the assistants just had NO CLUE. Food was just OK. Service was not the usual Sandals variety. The beach was unkept. The seaweed was raked into piles and left for the day. Water sports wrapped-up at 3pm. The snack bar never had half of its menu available and no effort to accomodate. All rooms that I saw (5) were run down and needed work badly. The sprinklers in the lawns were broken and all they did was flood the walkways and lawns. Glasses and dirty plates littered the beach and adjoining areas. The staff stepped over the mess rather than picking it up. The guests were hassled more by the security guards than were the beach vendors. Many were allowed to "hang" over the property rail and beg for drinks & food. The best meal was the returning guests dinner with the GM. Several staff members drank too much at the dinner and were acting very unprofessional. The staff basically didn't care about the guests or their jobs. It was a great disappointment. If you want a TOP resort...spend the $$$$$ and go see Mario (GM) at Beaches Royal Plantation. He will not disappoint you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube