Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Amsterdam Manor Beach resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Aruba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribbean Palm Village

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2013

Riu Palace Aruba

3.9 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 21, 2014

Tamarijn Aruba Beach resort

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 3, 2013

Westin Aruba Resort Spa & Casino

3.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Occidental Grand Aruba

3.3 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 24, 2013

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort  

252 JE Irausquin Blvd | PO Box 1302, Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"3 strikes your out!"
Posted by: Terry on Dec 22, 2011
see all reviews

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Reviews
Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Pictures and Information
Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Aruba Aruba

#7
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 3.0

Based on 3 reviews

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Information


Relax around the pool or on the beach with a cocktail in your hand

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Reviews

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Review: 3.0 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"3 strikes your out!"

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort
User Rating:  Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Terry  on Dec 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
210 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at The Amsterdam Manor 3 times. The first time was in '04, accommodations were great, the people that worked there were nice and fun. We liked Aruba and the Amsterdam Manor so much that we returned in '08 for our wedding; Unfortunately our third trip with another couple would not be so nice. Upon arrival our friends were welcomed with "we have bad news". (Apparently the remodeling project had left no available rooms for guests who confirmed (and paid) for accommodations MONTHS earlier). Our friends were shipped-off to another hotel miles away for the night. This really caused a problem as we were without a car. We, on the other hand got thrown into the dreaded "C" block that has a major air conditioning and wet room problem!! I was under the impression we would receive a room upgrade because of our loyalty, but the staff was quick to tell us "no, there are no rooms available, thatís for people who stay 5 times or more". Really? Thatís not true! Beware of the rooms in the "C" block. MAJOR air conditioning problems, don't stay there! All the rooms in that block are set for sub zero. We were told the air conditioners were new and pretty much were threatened not to touch the controllers. We got stuck in "C3". It was so cold and wet in there, the ceiling rained on us and all of the counter tops were soaking wet. The sheets were wet. The bathroom had one inch of water on the floor. I thought they had hosed it down. I even dried it up when we first came into the room only to have it wet again after just a few hours. The smell of mildew was disgusting. Water consistently dripped on you if you sat on the toilet. All the towels, toilet paper etc. were soaking wet. All of our clothing got wet from the moisture, we stuck to them. I slept in a sweatshirt and a robe, 2 blankets with a comforter on, and still froze. After spending the night in that dreaded room, I pretty much demanded a change, again I was told "no, nothing available". We ended up asking to speak to the manager, and the Ops manager met us at the room. We pointed out the mold on the lamps, she said she knew about it and they were replacing them. I guess they dont know that mold can be a health issue. I believe the entire staff is aware of the problems with that room, and the entire building as well. The ops manager was there to shut us up, and moving us to another sub-zero room was her solution. We were moved to "C8", but no upgrade. Again the room was set to sub-zero, and I couldn't get them to move us for anything. "C8" was drier than the other room but still unacceptable. By now I was sick, and had to spend the remainder of my vacation in that awful accommodation. Note: I sent a letter to the GM, who was to respond "shortly", its been almost a month. If you want to see more reviews, check out tripadvisor. I am not alone.

Room Number:
C3 & C8

Room Block:
C

Arrival:
Nov 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Peaceful Resort"

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort
User Rating:  Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elizabeth  on Sep 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
309 people found this review helpful

Resort was very clean and cozy. Check-in very easy and accomodating with delivery of your luggage to the room asap. Loved our 1 bedroom with kitchen apartment. It was on the main floor so no stairs and great view of the water. Beach was very beautiful with lots of chairs to relax on. No fighting for space or beach. Lovely restaurant on the beach at night - Passions. A must if you stay at the resort. All kinds of restarants within driving distance (we rented a car); mind you the buses go by reguarly also. Great grocery/liquor store within 10 mins. of the resort. We would definetly go back again. Running paths to use during the day also. If you are young though and love lots of night life...this is not the place for you.

Beth

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"loved every bit of it"

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort
User Rating:  Amsterdam Manor Beach resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathie and Anthony  on Feb 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
308 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in Aruba January 5 to 21. We stayed at the Amsterdam Manor Beach Hotel...loved every bit of it.The hotel room was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the 3 internet stations kept us connected to home the entire time. From our laptop inside our room, through wireless access, we had the convenience of viewing the days photos and editing what we liked and didn't like from the comfort of our cozy bed...One drawback to this hotel...there really was a horrible smell wafting past the pool area coming from the North end of the island, particularly in the afternoon. We finally figured out it was the sewage treatment plant conveniently camouflaged just a short distance away. With the extreme heat, the smell reminded me of being on a dairy farm...but, since there is so much to do in Aruba, the time we actually spent by the pool was minimal...the beaches were long, wide, quiet, and safe to swim in. It sure beat the high rise zone with it's noise and crowds...I would recommend the low rise district for hotels as it is calm and peaceful. The small kitchenette provided in the room was very convenient, as a quick trip into town to the supermarket to buy food for meals proved very economical as well as convenient. The hotel La Cabana right next door has a small mini market for those necessities for the midnight snacker! We studied Frommer's Aruba guide book before we left, and used it throughout the trip...a very accurate description of hotels, restaurants and things to do. Cathie and Anthony, Vancouver BC, Canada

Arrival:
Jan 18-25 We travelled with Air transat and the flight was fine. The check in at the hotel was a disgrace.Three Hundred people lined up to check in - it took us 1.5 hours waiting. For those with young kids it was very bad.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine. We were in the Curacao tower which hasnot been renovated but it was quite acceptable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and drinks were great. Lots of variety and well presented.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube