Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"Many things excellent, too many not so excellent"
Posted by: Ed  on Jul 25, 2013
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba Aruba

#1
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 3.8

Based on 22 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


Renovated in 2004 - 3 restaurants - Unique shaped swimming pool

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.8 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 22

"Many things excellent, too many not so excellent"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ed  on Jul 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
82 people found this review helpful

After eleven days here checked out two days earlier than reservation. Couldnt tell you a single staff members name after eleven days. Nice just all too busy. Buffet C. Iguana Bar B+. Pool labeled Adults only F!! Always more kids splashing and screaming than adults. No one policing the rule either. Room A+ extremly clean every day. Spa? Run away fast!! 12 times in Aruba. Good beach,centrally located. Plenty to do. Sail sand sun snorkel. Casino VERY TIGHT!

Room Number:
7425

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Seriously consider another resort"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
313 people found this review helpful

Well…where to start.. The Pros..

This was my 4th trip to Aruba and the first time I stayed at one of the Hi rises. I chose this resort because of the all inclusive price. This was the first time my kids, ages 5-7, have been to Aruba and I wanted a “kid friendly” resort. The Sun Spree is as it says, “Kid Friendly” and that’s about it! The location is perfect and the beach was well maintained.
The food was not too bad.

READ THE CONS WELL…

Make sure you save every piece of correspondence between you and this resort, you will need it as proof. If you pay for and upgrade like “ocean view or garden view” beware. They will try to stiff you.

The staff is rude and will argue with you if you attempt to correct any issues you may be facing while at the resort.

Beware of the “room service charge” when you check out. This is a $30 DAILY fee for house keeping! They actually have the audacity to charge you extra to clean your room. In all my years of traveling I have never come across anything like this. On the subject of housekeeping, TAKE ALL VALUABLES WITH YOU EVERY DAY!! I spoke with 3 random guests who all complained that they had items stolen from their rooms. My wife had a CZ ring stolen out of here make-up bag.

You will need to wake up at 5am and stand in line until 7am when the towel pavilion opens if you want to reserve a “beach hut” The line is usually 45 people deep by 5:30.

They claim the Bonaire Tower was recently renovated. They simply put some perfume-on-a-pig. They changed some fixtures and painted the walls. That is the extent of the renovations. We moved 3 times during our stay in Bonaire tower. The first time we moved was because they didn’t book us in my upgraded room. The 2nd time was because the moldy musty smell was intolerable and the third time was because the room adjacent to us was leaking something from the ceiling. The other 2 towers look like a college dorm. .

At 12pm everyday the staff wheels out a giant loudspeaker and broadcasts to the entire island, family bingo. Then on the same loudspeaker its water aerobics from 1-2. Then it’s a bocce ball contest, then a tattoo contest and finally a beer drinking contest. Bring your ibuprofen. The speaker comes out for the fourth time for loud pulsating Latin club music from 7 to midnight at the pool. If your lucky enough to get a room facing the pool area or beach it will surly be regretted if your kids are trying to sleep. This club music can be heard all the way down to the Hyatt.

I could go on and on. I really know my kids had a ball here, but you should seriously consider paying a little extra next time to stay at a more reputable establishment. This Hi-rise was the best for years, however, it is slowly swirling down the toilet. Because of the low rates it does attract some unsavory clientele.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Holiday Inn Sunspree"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Terry Clark  on Apr 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
302 people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Aruba. We thought the check-in was a bit long but not to excessive. The beach is gorgous and very nice. The igauana bar is great and the bartenders are very attentive. The shopping down by the cruise ships is great and the vendor prices are very reasonable. It is very safe to take the transit bus. We took one over to charlie's bar in san nicholas and the bus ride was a bit long but we enjoyed ourselves. At the holiday inn I will say on the beach you can do everything from snorkeling to parasailing. I would recommend the octopus snorkeling tour. 30.00 per person open bar and light snacks included. The snorkeling trip was great. One thing they do not tell you at this hotel is that if you want coffee in your room you have to buy a bag at the lobby bar. That is like $1.00 per bag. The other thing they do not tell you is you have to get up around 5:00 am to book a beach hut. The restaurants are okay. The buffet is good in the morning and the seabreeze restaurant is great for lunch. dinners were not that great but you can always eat at the iguana bar also. The ocean is very warm and beautiful It is a nice place if you have children to go to. We saw a lot of people with young children and they were well behaved. Watch out for the people on the beach trying to show you timeshares. If you just tell them you are not interested they are kind and keep on walking. Overall a nice time and I would go back.

Room Number:
7604

Room Block:
Curaco tower

Arrival:
Very good. A lot of people checking in but they move the lines right along.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are comfortable Good value for the money.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet is good. Seabreeze good for lunch only. Dinners are so-so. I recommend eating at the iguana bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful and well kept up. Ocean is fantastic. Very nice. One downfall have to get up early to book beach hut at five am. was not very impressed with that though

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities are okay. Entertainment is not much but fun anyways. Casino is great Met a lot of people who won.

Other Comments:
Nice place and good value for the money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Travelling with family , unable to get promised rooms near each other"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  pbarry8@cox.net  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
339 people found this review helpful

Cannot depend upon the hotel to fulfull promised committment to keep family close together. Had to put some members in another building. This has happened every year. Maybe time to change hotels. Heard same complaint from other guests. Hotel overbooks. Staff is very nice and rooms clean.

Room Number:
6432

Arrival:
February 23rd

Rooms:
3

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and drinks expensive

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
games for kids ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Huge disappointed"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  issico  on Dec 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
369 people found this review helpful

This is our first visit to Aruba after been in many Caribbean Islands during the Christmas.
It took us over an hour to check in and to check out following huge lines up.
During my stay my room key card went from some reason out of order and it took me over 20 minutes in the line ups to set again my keys.
The food variety was extremely poor, even Christmas eve was a regular evening without any symbols of the holiday.
In the air transat brochure it was mention we shall have daily entertainments- nothing was exist.
The package value (1750 per person) was much less than I could get in another places, In another words I could have pay even less and to get much more in Mexico, Dominicans, Cuba, Bahamas and more.
Aruba is nice place to visit but if you are looking for the whole inclusive package do not go to Holliday Inn.
I have to admit the bad test I have will prevent me to use the holiday inn around the globe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will visit again but at a different resort"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alisha  on Oct 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stay for 6 nights @ the Holiday Inn Sunspree hotel. I was happy with the front desk staff, very friendly, The maids were not so friendly and some one waiter was very grumpy and pretended he couldn't hear me when I tried to get his attention. The food was good but then again, I am not such a picky eater. Not too many exotic fruits, just ones you would get in Canada except for papaya the one day for breakfast. The entertainment needs to be improved on. It started late and ended early. No dancing or clubs in our own resort. The beach was beautiful and that is why I would visit again. The service at the bar was poor, I don't want to make a false accusation but maybe because of my ethnicity, we stood at the bar for 20 minutes until someone was forced to serve us our drinks. We noticed they served others before us when we were clearly there first. We also got alot of stares from the other tourists which made us uncomfortable and we felt singled out. The entertainers in the evening didn't even cheer for us when we said we were from Canada they only cheered for other countires or they made crude jokes about canadians when my boyfriend took part in the limbo. The weather was great, the rooms were ok. Not much to do there besides the activities and tours. Shopping was a disappointment. Overall I give this resort a 3. We would visit Aruba again but will not at stay at the Holiday inn. Thanks David from Pelican tours! He made us feel welcomed, taught us alot about Aruba, very friendly and helpful. Glad to be home, 6 days was more then enough time.

Arrival:
When we arrived, it was nothing spectacular in comparison to Punta cana, dominican Rep. where you have pictures taken with the people, and live music.

Rooms:
Cleaned often, again, nothing special. You get what you pay for. We tipped the maids, no thank-you's or even a hint that they appreciated it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The al a carte restaurants were the best especially the Italian restaurant. Try the chocolate mousse dessert... yummy! The wait staff were wonderful at the Italian restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spectacular views, clean beaches, great views, great snorkling sites, clean water and beaches. Pool was okay, it was small and crowded. I don't recommend this resort if going as a couple. Too many children.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of activities and sites to see but got bored after a couple of days.

Other Comments:
Just wish some people were more friendlier and more diversified. If you don't like someone, don't make it obvious!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We fell in love with Aruba"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  WorldTravel3r  on Jan 6, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
404 people found this review helpful

This is the 10th island we have been down south, plus multiple trips to a selected few. We don't need luxury when we go away, but cleanliness and good servide are 'a must'. At the Holiday Inn Aruba, both were lacking.
Service: I live life respecting people and being kind, and expect the same back especially since we are on vacation, we wouldn't want to ruin the experience by not making the most of it. The buffet staff need to be a little more attentive. The table we sat at during breakfast one morning was dirty. I asked the waitress if she could kindly clean it before we get our food, and the waitress told me to just sit at the other end of the table. Now, I'm not sure about you, but regardless if it's a just a dried coffee ring on the table, I shouldn't have to sit at a dirty table that the visitors prior dirtied and the waitress didn't clean.
Experience: Ok - what's up with signing for everything? I paid for an all-inclusive and had to sign for drinks, food, etc. The bill had a cost on it, but we were reassured that we're not getting charged. That may be the case, but no one explains it properly why you need to do this, plus you get worried about your check out just to make sure you're not getting charged. Sorry - this is not relaxing.

Rooms:
There are 3 towers (Aruba and Bonaire have been renovated, but Curacao hasn't been which is where we stayed). Aside from the focet or light fixture that don't work (these could be dealt with), but there was mold everywhere. I am shocked how Holiday Inn would book rooms at the Curacao tower. We paid extra which I didn't mind, just to upgrade to the Aruba tower. Not the greatest, but at least it was clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 2 restaurants plus a buffet. The buffet has a long line up which moves fast just to get inside. If you plan on staying at this resort (sorry, hotel), then you may request for fresh eggs rather than get the scrambled eggs that's sitting there. Oh and the buffet does not have any stations. It really is just a buffet. Check your coffee and make sure it's hot before you take a sip. The other 2 restaurants need reservations for that day - not advance booking. The line up is loooongggg, but eventually you get a seat. To me, that is not practical. I would rather book 2 or 3 restaurants at a time, than line up daily. Although we did an All inclusive, couple of nights we went into town because Aruba's restaurants off the strip are great. Oh and room service is available but you have to pay even if you're all-inclusive. I'm not sure, but could some explain to me the meaning of 'all-inclusive'?

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Immaculate. We walked the entire strip of hotels, and unfortunately, Holiday Inn's grounds has the best part of the beach. Shallow water (gets partially deeper in sections), clear, turquoise, calm, no shell, no seaweed - flawless. The only issue, is that you had to line up at 5 am just to sign up for the huts at 7:30. What the F? You will need shade in that heat.

Other Comments:
Weather: We went in December which is considered Aruba's rainy season...It rained 10 seconds the entire 7 days, plus some overnight, but who cares because you're sleeping. WInd: it is windy but TRUST me, with that heat, you need wind, otherwise, you will not be able to last in Aruba. Use a high SPF because you WILL burn. Aruba is outside of the huricane belt and it is close to the equator. If it was not surrounded by the ocean, it would be considered a desert - it is a desert.

Overall: We fell in love with Aruba - already planning our next stay. But we would never stay at the Holiday Inn. As my husband said "it got us to go to Aruba, and just found a beautiful beach".

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely pools and the beach was dotted with shade huts"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia09  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
333 people found this review helpful

We had a good time. I think I enjoyed Curacao more as there is more to see and it is a far more historic island.

Arrival:
We travelled with Air transat and the flight was fine. The check in at the hotel was a disgrace.Three Hundred people lined up to check in - it took us 1.5 hours waiting. For those with young kids it was very bad.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine. We were in the Curacao tower which hasnot been renovated but it was quite acceptable.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and drinks were great. Lots of variety and well presented.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely pools and the beach was dotted with shade huts you have to sign up for which we did. Some epople did not which created problems and the hotel does not explain this well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We rented a car and went to a beach to snorkel. We found that to be a bit of a waste as it was very windy and not condusive to snorkeling.

Other Comments:
We had a good time. I think I enjoyed Curacao more as there is more to see and it is a far more historic island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a wonderful time at the resort"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah06  on Jun 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2006
315 people found this review helpful

We travelled to the Holiday Inn Sunspree in Aruba from June 04 - 11, 2006. We had a wonderful time. I had heard some negative feedback recently because the resort is at low occupancy right now and so the buffet is only open for breakfast... I've heard that this caused some problems with lineups for the restaurants. I did not notice any issues at all.

Flight:
Skyservice. Cramped seats but the flight crew was very friendly (as always) and the airplane food wasn't too bad! However, we hit a bad air pocket on the way down which scared some people on the flight and the whole ride home was extremely bumpy. I was glad to be off of the plane.

Check in at resort:
A very long lineup upon check in, because pretty much everyone from our plane was at the Holiday Inn. However, they had extra staff at the check in desk and gave out the wristbands while we were still in line. The front desk staff is excellent and very friendly, even when people complained that they could not get a room at 12 noon (had to wait until 4pm which is the standard in hotels all over the world).

Rooms:
We had room #5573 in the Aruba tower. We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a superior room. I'm convinced it was simply because I was polite and smiling at the front desk and said I would take any room at all, I was not picky. After all of the rude people before me, I'm sure that's why they upgraded us. The room was very nice and comfortable. King size bed, the air conditioning worked great, we had a very nice view of the ocean and beach, great amenities in the bathroom. Some info about the room: each room has an unstocked bar fridge which comes in handy, the bathroom has a shower only, there is plastic patio furniture on your balcony, there is a coffee maker (but my hubby wasn't too keen on the coffee they had), clock radio, lots of movie channels on the tv, iron and ironing board, in room safe (no charge but we did not use it). We were very happy with our room. Gladys was our room attendant and she was fantastic! So friendly and she kept us comfy all week long. I wish I could have brought her home with me!

Resort in General:
There are 3 towers: Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao. The Aruba tower is the Superior rooms and the standard rooms are in the other two towers. There is a kids club and a games room, it looked pretty decent. There are quite a few shops at the resort, and a mini mart for snacks. They have internet available for 30 cents a minute.

Buffet:
Open for breakfast only during low season, and also for theme dinners on Saturday and Sunday nights. We went to the prime rib night on Sunday (it was fine but nothing special) and we skipped the Mexican night on Saturday. The breakfasts were very good. There was plenty to choose from and even picky eaters should be satisfied there. A great spread of breads, bagels and croissants.... that was my favourite.

Sea Breeze Grill:
This is an a la carte on the beach which is open for lunch and dinner (but no dinner on weekends due to the buffet). The food is fine, nothing special but certainly edible. We had lunch here pretty much daily but only had dinner here one night, and that night we were lucky enough to get one of the tables overlooking the ocean, and we got to dine while watching a very beautiful sunset. This restaurant is very casual and bathing suits with a cover up are suitable for lunch.

Cafe Da Vinci:
This is the Italian a la carte restaurant. Reservations are required, and they start taking them at 3:30pm daily. In low season the line up is not very long at all, you may have to wait about 10 minutes at most. We were able to dine here 5 times. We really enjoyed the food here. The pork tenderloin and the cheese tortellini were two of the best I've ever had. The staff was top notch.

Iguanas Beach Bar:
very busy bar, and they had pizza and hot dogs available for lunch. I had the pizza and it was fine.

Palicoco's Lounge:
open in the evenings, they have a 7 item snack menu. There is sometimes karaoke and singers there. They were showing the World Cup games while we were there.

Lobby Bar:
our favourite bar. Continental breakfast available in the mornings (breads, coffee, and juice). The bartenders here are the best at the resort, and the bar is often not busy, especially during the day. The lobby bar is quite small but it's the best one. Domingo and Hodge are the two best bartenders around!

Pool:
There are two pools.... the family pool and the activity pool. They were fine but not the best I've seen, but that's because the beach is so incredible that fewer people use the pool. We had fun in them though. The family pool is great for little ones.

Beach:
White sand and turquoise water. Beautiful! They have a palapa reservation system and I can see how in high season this could cause problems. However, in low season it was fine. The lineup for them started at 7am but I went down between 8 and 8:30am every day and was able to get a palapa with no problem. If you like to sleep in though, forget about getting a palapa. The water is really shallow and calm, which made floating around in it really fun and peaceful.

Excursions:
We did no organized excursions. We wanted to simply relax and I found some of the excursions to be a bit pricey. Plus, I'm 7 months pregnant and a lot of the excursions were too active for me. We did take the bus into town twice. The cost is $2 USD round trip and it's really simple to get there and back. We had fun shopping for touristy knick knacks. We also went to the supermarket area outside of downtown at the recommendation of our room attendant. We had fun shopping for cheese, liquor, even just checking out the food prices for the locals.

Entertainment:
They had shows on several nights, but not every night. I did not see any of the shows because being pregnant, I wanted to get to sleep early. Two nights they had outdoor movies for families which was nice. They had karaoke a few times, a few times there was dancing in the Palicoco lounge. I think though for the most part, people go off of the resort for their entertainment. There is a casino that was quite popular.

To sum up, we had a wonderful time at the resort. It is rated anywhere from 3 to 4 stars, depending on the tour operator or website, and I think this is accurate. I consider it to be a four star. A lot of people may be disappointed if they have seen the other hotels surrounding this one. Places like the Hyatt and the Occidental are very beautiful and elaborate five star hotels (we did walk around the grounds) and if that's what you are expecting, please do not choose the Holiday Inn. However, if you know what to expect you will have a wonderful, laid back holiday. We would certainly go back but we have other islands that we need to see first!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had a great time, the weather is always perfect"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lesley06  on May 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2006
327 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from our 2nd trip to Aruba at the same hotel. I had a great time, the weather is always perfect – sunny with a nice breeze. We went All-Inclusive and it was absolutely fine, reading some of the previous reviews – I always wonder what are they expecting? If all you do is complain don’t travel – its that simple. The staff are wonderful and very helpful, yes they do move A LOT slower than we do – but were on vacation …..relax!! The beach is beautiful, white sand and calm warm waters – great for kids to swim. The beach huts were kind of annoying, in order to get one you had to line up at some ridiculous hour in the am and book your hut. Most people don’t use it anyways, they seem to put their stuff there and leave. We ended up using it till they came back and kicked us out – most were good about it. The one thing that I love about this island is the freedom to roam if you choose, its a $ 1.25 US for the bus into town or cab it for $10 and I feel comfortable and safe doing so. I would recommend Aruba to everyone and will return once again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube