Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"Many things excellent, too many not so excellent"
Posted by: Ed  on Jul 25, 2013
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba Aruba

#1
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 3.8

Based on 22 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


Renovated in 2004 - 3 restaurants - Unique shaped swimming pool

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.8 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 22

"Huge disappointed"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  issico  on Dec 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
361 people found this review helpful

This is our first visit to Aruba after been in many Caribbean Islands during the Christmas.
It took us over an hour to check in and to check out following huge lines up.
During my stay my room key card went from some reason out of order and it took me over 20 minutes in the line ups to set again my keys.
The food variety was extremely poor, even Christmas eve was a regular evening without any symbols of the holiday.
In the air transat brochure it was mention we shall have daily entertainments- nothing was exist.
The package value (1750 per person) was much less than I could get in another places, In another words I could have pay even less and to get much more in Mexico, Dominicans, Cuba, Bahamas and more.
Aruba is nice place to visit but if you are looking for the whole inclusive package do not go to Holliday Inn.
I have to admit the bad test I have will prevent me to use the holiday inn around the globe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Seriously consider another resort"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  jason  on May 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
305 people found this review helpful

Well…where to start.. The Pros..

This was my 4th trip to Aruba and the first time I stayed at one of the Hi rises. I chose this resort because of the all inclusive price. This was the first time my kids, ages 5-7, have been to Aruba and I wanted a “kid friendly” resort. The Sun Spree is as it says, “Kid Friendly” and that’s about it! The location is perfect and the beach was well maintained.
The food was not too bad.

READ THE CONS WELL…

Make sure you save every piece of correspondence between you and this resort, you will need it as proof. If you pay for and upgrade like “ocean view or garden view” beware. They will try to stiff you.

The staff is rude and will argue with you if you attempt to correct any issues you may be facing while at the resort.

Beware of the “room service charge” when you check out. This is a $30 DAILY fee for house keeping! They actually have the audacity to charge you extra to clean your room. In all my years of traveling I have never come across anything like this. On the subject of housekeeping, TAKE ALL VALUABLES WITH YOU EVERY DAY!! I spoke with 3 random guests who all complained that they had items stolen from their rooms. My wife had a CZ ring stolen out of here make-up bag.

You will need to wake up at 5am and stand in line until 7am when the towel pavilion opens if you want to reserve a “beach hut” The line is usually 45 people deep by 5:30.

They claim the Bonaire Tower was recently renovated. They simply put some perfume-on-a-pig. They changed some fixtures and painted the walls. That is the extent of the renovations. We moved 3 times during our stay in Bonaire tower. The first time we moved was because they didn’t book us in my upgraded room. The 2nd time was because the moldy musty smell was intolerable and the third time was because the room adjacent to us was leaking something from the ceiling. The other 2 towers look like a college dorm. .

At 12pm everyday the staff wheels out a giant loudspeaker and broadcasts to the entire island, family bingo. Then on the same loudspeaker its water aerobics from 1-2. Then it’s a bocce ball contest, then a tattoo contest and finally a beer drinking contest. Bring your ibuprofen. The speaker comes out for the fourth time for loud pulsating Latin club music from 7 to midnight at the pool. If your lucky enough to get a room facing the pool area or beach it will surly be regretted if your kids are trying to sleep. This club music can be heard all the way down to the Hyatt.

I could go on and on. I really know my kids had a ball here, but you should seriously consider paying a little extra next time to stay at a more reputable establishment. This Hi-rise was the best for years, however, it is slowly swirling down the toilet. Because of the low rates it does attract some unsavory clientele.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Travelling with family , unable to get promised rooms near each other"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  pbarry8@cox.net  on Mar 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
330 people found this review helpful

Cannot depend upon the hotel to fulfull promised committment to keep family close together. Had to put some members in another building. This has happened every year. Maybe time to change hotels. Heard same complaint from other guests. Hotel overbooks. Staff is very nice and rooms clean.

Room Number:
6432

Arrival:
February 23rd

Rooms:
3

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and drinks expensive

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
games for kids ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will visit again but at a different resort"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alisha  on Oct 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
381 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stay for 6 nights @ the Holiday Inn Sunspree hotel. I was happy with the front desk staff, very friendly, The maids were not so friendly and some one waiter was very grumpy and pretended he couldn't hear me when I tried to get his attention. The food was good but then again, I am not such a picky eater. Not too many exotic fruits, just ones you would get in Canada except for papaya the one day for breakfast. The entertainment needs to be improved on. It started late and ended early. No dancing or clubs in our own resort. The beach was beautiful and that is why I would visit again. The service at the bar was poor, I don't want to make a false accusation but maybe because of my ethnicity, we stood at the bar for 20 minutes until someone was forced to serve us our drinks. We noticed they served others before us when we were clearly there first. We also got alot of stares from the other tourists which made us uncomfortable and we felt singled out. The entertainers in the evening didn't even cheer for us when we said we were from Canada they only cheered for other countires or they made crude jokes about canadians when my boyfriend took part in the limbo. The weather was great, the rooms were ok. Not much to do there besides the activities and tours. Shopping was a disappointment. Overall I give this resort a 3. We would visit Aruba again but will not at stay at the Holiday inn. Thanks David from Pelican tours! He made us feel welcomed, taught us alot about Aruba, very friendly and helpful. Glad to be home, 6 days was more then enough time.

Arrival:
When we arrived, it was nothing spectacular in comparison to Punta cana, dominican Rep. where you have pictures taken with the people, and live music.

Rooms:
Cleaned often, again, nothing special. You get what you pay for. We tipped the maids, no thank-you's or even a hint that they appreciated it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The al a carte restaurants were the best especially the Italian restaurant. Try the chocolate mousse dessert... yummy! The wait staff were wonderful at the Italian restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Spectacular views, clean beaches, great views, great snorkling sites, clean water and beaches. Pool was okay, it was small and crowded. I don't recommend this resort if going as a couple. Too many children.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of activities and sites to see but got bored after a couple of days.

Other Comments:
Just wish some people were more friendlier and more diversified. If you don't like someone, don't make it obvious!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As for the food it was good and plentiful."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy04  on Dec 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2004
86 people found this review helpful

Would I go back? I would have to think long and hard about that and I would never fly Skyservice again. Their Customer Service was none existant.

Arrival:
Skyservice flight was 18 hours delayed out of Toronto. One whole day lost. Our flight left Toronto at 1:30 am Monday morning and arrived in Aruba at 6:30 am. We opted to take a cab to avoid the bus confusion. When we arrived at the Holiday Inn thank God our room was ready. We took our luggage and started over to our building. Little did we know that they were doing construction on the pool area and had also closed the only outdoor restaurant. We got to our room and could smell a terrible odour. They were painting the hallways. Not good if you have allergies.

My review:
We decided to head down to the beach and relax. Oh did I tell you it rained 5 of our only 6 days left. Some very brief sun in between the showers and I mean showers. The sewage drains in the parking lots backed up from all of the water. What a smell.

The Holiday Inn closes up shop on the beach at 4:00 pm if your ready to leave or not. They come and take the chairs away. The outdoor bar closes at 5:00 pm. But didnt we go down South to spend as much time as possible outside. Hummmm. Even when others complained to management it fell on deaf ears.

As for the food it was good and plentiful. The Holiday Inn should provide another location to obtain food when you are on the beach. Once they closed the only outdoor restaurant it meant you had to put shorts and shirt etc on from the beach in order to go into one of the restaurants. The waiters inside where not prepared for the problems of take out. Many frustrated beach goers.

We had a rental car and took advantage of the islands few tourist areas. Baby Beach is amazing for snorkling. Shopping is great and well worth a look. Going to the smaller jewellry stores turned out to be a great find. Thanks to Donna for the tip. Check out Pauls Jewellers. Duty free in the Aruba Airport is amazing. A must see.

The trip home was uneventful, thank the lord.

Would I go back? I would have to think long and hard about that and I would never fly Skyservice again. Their Customer Service was none existant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach as always is the best on the island."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine05  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005
108 people found this review helpful

We have vacationed here before, although an older hotel, we were so pleased with our room, location, view, and cleanliness. The beach as always is the best on the island. However, grateful we did not do the all inclusive as did not hear one good word regarding the food, most were disappointed and saw many at the restaurants we visited. The many complaints regarding people "reserving" huts bright and early was true... not sure WHAT time they get up to do it...

Our major complaint was the bar service. We found the bartenders slow, not accomodating with long waits at the beach bar and disgustingly long wait in the lobby bar. A big change from two years ago and wondering if the "not tipping all inclusive guests" have made them not work so hard. A big slow down is the all inclusive people also have to "sign slips" which was time consuming, just as the people that were just charging to the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Many things excellent, too many not so excellent"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ed  on Jul 25, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
74 people found this review helpful

After eleven days here checked out two days earlier than reservation. Couldnt tell you a single staff members name after eleven days. Nice just all too busy. Buffet C. Iguana Bar B+. Pool labeled Adults only F!! Always more kids splashing and screaming than adults. No one policing the rule either. Room A+ extremly clean every day. Spa? Run away fast!! 12 times in Aruba. Good beach,centrally located. Plenty to do. Sail sand sun snorkel. Casino VERY TIGHT!

Room Number:
7425

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have probably the nicest beach, they don't have sufficient palapas"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry05  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2005
92 people found this review helpful

Aruba itself is very nice. Modern, safe, many restaurants of any price range that you prefer. Transportation by taxi is always available. Transportation by the bus system is only a 10 or 15 minute wait. On the public transportation, there were about an even number of locals and tourists. You are completely safe.

My Review:
Just got back from Aruba; stayed at the Holiday Inn.

Here are my personal observations and evaluations of both the HI and Aruba in general. Maybe I can help someone out.

Holiday Inn is older building. Our room was in need of a few minor repairs, but very, very clean. Housekeeping is "spot-on" and they do a great job.

Holiday Inn restaurants were OK, that is to say, they were sufficient. But one can do better at many of the other close local eateries by walking just a couple of hundred yards down the street or the beach.

We DID NOT go all-inclusive. We heard many comments that once the wait staff saw the blue All inclusive wrist band, they lost interest in providing service.

Generally, the wait staff was slow, seemingly understaffed, and not exceptionally motivated. Sorry if this seems a bit hard, but it was our experience.

The shops in the Holiday Inn actually had some reasonable prices for the typical souveneirs. This, according to my wife, who is the ultimate souveneir shopper!

The room, although basic, was quite comfortable. Again, excellently clean. There was air leakage around the patio door which caused it to rattle in the wind. I just pushed a washrag into the crack to stop the rattling and let it leak. They are paying for the lost air conditioning, so the heck with it!

More:
The Holiday Inn's #1 problem is that although they have probably the nicest beach, they don't have sufficient palapas. We were told repeatedly that to "reserve" a palapa, you needed to go down to the beach at 5:00 AM. Personally, I didn't pay $2500 and travel $2500 miles to wake up at 5:00 AM! So, we made do sitting under the shade of the palm trees. (Only slight difficulty with this is that you need to move your chair a few inches every 20 minutes as the shade moves with the sun. Not a big problem.) Also, they had plenty of broken chairs to sort through to get a couple of good ones.

Aruba itself is very nice. Modern, safe, many restaurants of any price range that you prefer. Transportation by taxi is always available. Transportation by the bus system is only a 10 or 15 minute wait. On the public transportation, there were about an even number of locals and tourists. You are completely safe.

One thing that needs to be said is that the Aruban people that you share the public transportation with are a good, honest, clean people. In some U.S. cities, you will be with a lower class of citizenry when riding the bus system. Not so with Aruba. The Aruban people are a clean, polite people. Most are simply riding to or from work.

There are also "private buses"... for lack of the correct word. These are privately owned vans with many seats. They charge $1 for one-way to Oranjestad. They will drop you off at any hotel or restaurant along the way. Don't be afraid of these, they are perfectly clean and safe. Just stand at a bus stop and they pull in at times between the arrivals of the full-sized buses. The drivers will answer a question if you have one. Everybody speaks English.

Actually, everyone speaks English, and Dutch, and Spanish, and Papiamento! Communication is NO problem whatsoever in Aruba.

The restaurants are phenomenal. Anything you want, at any price range. Personally, we liked the Azzurro, which is the Italian eatery at the Playa Linda, on the beach the best. Also the Old Canucu House for some of the atmosphere and the foods of traditional Aruba. Driftwood in downtown Oranjestad was an excellent "catch of the day" seafood restaurant. Comments on the Aruban eateries could fill a book!

Watersports. Anything and everything that anyone could want.

Land tours. Numerous. The hotels all have desks with folks to advise you. We went on the DePalm Jeep Safari/Snorkeling tour... fantastic!

All in all, my summary of Aruba would be that it is a Carribean destination where the people realize that tourism is their primary "bread-and-butter". They have structured their services to provide a quality, safe tourist destination. You talk with people who are there for the 10th, 12th, even 20th time. That says a lot!

The only negatives, and I'm not sure that you can properly even call them negatives, are...
1) It's in the high 80's every day. The sun will cook you in 10 minutes if you don't use sunscreen. Use all the sunscreen you can. Don't miss even a small part of your body or you WILL burn! (Wife burned INSIDE of her ears. I burned through my hair on top of my head!!)
2) Wind ALWAYS blows. Ladies, get a short hair cut. Don't even think about doing your hair!
3) Things are a little expensive, but then again, isn't everywhere in the Carribean?
4) Since communication is absolutely NO problem, it might be said that Aruba lacks a little of the exotic flair of traveling in a truly "foreign" land? My wife thinks I'm nuts for even mentioning this point.
5) Shucks, that's all the possible negatives that I can think of, and now that I've reread them, they're not really negatives at all... just things to be aware of

If anyone has any specific questions that I could help out with, feel free to email me

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I thank the Holiday Inn Sunspree"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy05  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
105 people found this review helpful

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Aruba for our third time this year for the week of April 11-15, 2005 and really, really like/love this island! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree for the first time and went all-inclusive.

My Review:
My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Aruba for our third time this year for the week of April 11-15, 2005 and really, really like/love this island! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree for the first time and went all-inclusive. I can't complain overall about the resort but checking in was not a pleasant experience. We arrived at the hotel and were given a wrist band as soon as we got there but then told we'd have to be back at the reception at 4 pm to actually get our room. We had packed anticipating a delay so we spent the afternoon at the beach and in the pool area. We also were told by hotel staff that the buffet lunch was available to us - a nice treat after a long plane trip. At 4 pm we got to reception and had to wait until amost 5 pm to be assigned a room. We took our luggage to the room assigned and found out someone was already assigned to that room! Back we went to reception and were given an apology and a "superior" room overlooking the pool area. When we got into this room, it smelled strongly of cigarettes = it was a smoking floor/room! We no sooner got into the room when someone knocked on our door and a man was standing there asking us to please check if he'd left his cell phone in the room. He had (along with other personal items) and when he came in to get the phone, he told us he'd been without a shower for two days and the room needed cleaning. We once again called reception and sat and waited almost another hour for someone to come and clean the room before we went back to the reception desk and after throwing a mini tantrum, were given a lovely room overlooking the gardens and beach. It smelled wonderfully like oranges and was super clean and was kept that way all week (cudos to the housekeeping staff in building 6!). We never had any problems with the room as the bed was made every day, the towels changed (and plenty of them), the rugs cleaned, furniture dusted etc - we left her a tip which was well deserved. As to the rest of the hotel, it was worth what we paid and more. We never had any problems all week. I am an early riser so I'd go and secure two chairs under a tree for me and my husband. Personally, I thinks its silly when people get up to secure chairs by 6 am but heck, its up to them. Staff would not give out chairs until 6:30 am so people tied towels around the huts they wanted!!! Again, kind of childish to me. The buffets always had lots of choices and food ranged from good to fair to better than fair but often was cold. Mind you, every day they had fresh omelets and waffles and lots and lots of fruit - yummy. Again, staff in the buffet restaurants were wonderful and very attentive. We did not enjoy the pizzas on the beach but other people did. We also found them a bit disorganized. The alacarte restaurants we tried were all extremely good. The Seabreeze one though, was ridiculously slow for dinner. Two hours to wait for a dinner, no matter how good it was, is just too long - sorry. Other people complained as well. The food at lunch was much quicker and very good. I did not have any time with my "blue band" and getting drinks - the entire time we were there the wait staff served us as quickly as anyone else plus if you asked for a drink they didn't know how to make, they'd at least try and make it for you. The choice of pools was nice but I wish more hotels had an "adult only" swim time each day - say from 8 - 9 pm or something where kids are not allowed in the pools

Shopping and more:
The stores in the hotel had a great choice and offered something to do if you wanted to cool off for a while. Loved the casino - had lots of fun in there with penny and nickel machines plus watching the big time poker players. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting an all-inclusive vacation - just remember all inclusives are very much the same no matter where you are. As to the island itself, well, it is HOT and WINDY and no matter what you do, your hair will be a disaster so keep it in a pony tail or keep it short! Tipping was optional and although we tipped here and there, we never got better or wose service for tipping or not tipping. We tip according to the service we get and if its lousy; they won't get a tip; if the service is excellent we do leave a tip and many of the staff our week there deserved it. We rented a car right at the hotel this time for three days and had no problem touring the entire island on our own. We really enjoyed this and car rental rates were reasonable. The car was a bit of a clunker but it had air conditioning and was cheap on gas. We've done all the tours in our previous visits so didn't do any this time but we did go all over the island and snorkelled at Baby Beach and Malmok Beach which was fun. We had lunch one day at Charley's Bar in San Nicholas and found it expensive but hey, we were on vacation so just paid the price! The staff there are absolutely a blast - what great, great guys. The island doesn't have great road way signs so you might get a bit lost but people are friendly and very helpful and heck, you cant go far on an island thats 20 miles long by 5 miles wide. We went to the Black Hog Saloon for the Harley BBQ Bash - what fun this was if you like motocycles and are an adult. Don't think I'd take a kid to this one! The motorcycles were unreal and the guys who owned them extremely friendly, even letting me sit on one for pictures! Not many custom Harley owners would do that. We also went to the mini golf course there and the lady running it was great - she was so nice to talk to. We shopped in Oranjestaad but it was so hot that it was not a really enjoyable experience - next time I'll go early in the morning or late in the day. The little shops along the harbour are fun to go through. I also took the bus from and back to the hotel one day and had no problems at all and I'm terrible with directions! The restaurants on the island are varied and good - well worth trying one or two out. There were also a couple of large flea markets but I didn't get to them as I didn't see them until too late! As I said at the beginning, I love Aruba - it is really my favourite island but I find it is getting more touristy with many new hotels popping up all the time. I thank the Holiday Inn Sunspree for making my vacation a memorable one - we had a great time!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You’ll have so much more to choose from, wow, wow"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter/Vance06  on Feb 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2006
122 people found this review helpful

The location of Holiday Inn Sunspree was excellent. At Palm Beach, it was right onto the beach, and plenty of beach area to walk around. There was a bus stop just in front of the hotel, for easy access to the city. Round trip cost $2/pp. Not bad.

My Review:
We traveled to Aruba via Continental Airlines, booking the airline tickets and hotel with Continental. Our attempt to secure an upper level floor with a king size bed via the Continental reservations staff - became a disappointment when we arrived. Upon check-in, Holiday Inn staff attempted to “deal” a first floor room, where we know would be lots of noise and foot traffic, and most likely little chance of a good night sleep. For this, we were shocked, and threatened to move to another hotel. All of a sudden, they found a room on the upper floors, with twin beds. Good enough.

Our next encounter was with the night staff, which should NOT have been hired to answer questions. They gave out bad information about where is the nearest self-service laundry. “You need to take a cab to the city.” Not true. We were later told there was a self-service laundry in the next tower of Holiday Inn. We did not needed it, though.

As to the all inclusive meal plan offered at the hotel, it was all expensive. If we took the plan, at about $85/day per person; that would have wiped us out. Our solution: just walk across the street; there were plenty of restaurants and coffee shops with reasonable prices. So we did not have to stuff ourselves every night – in order to feel we got the $85 worth. On some days, we would get just a salad, and pay just for a salad. That was really nice. Most often, Tony Roma’s and Tango had the best “catch of the day” dinners. Great fish.

The facilities of the Holiday Inn Sunspree were good for a family of four. But we traveled as a couple. So, the pools were too small, the hot tubs not hot enough, and the lounge chairs barely adequate. We came to this conclusion after exploring other hotels in walking distance. Ok, enough with the bad stuff. The price at Sunpree was nice.

The location of Holiday Inn Sunspree was excellent. At Palm Beach, it was right onto the beach, and plenty of beach area to walk around. There was a bus stop just in front of the hotel, for easy access to the city. Round trip cost $2/pp. Not bad.

Next to a near by McDonald’s was the Setar Telephone stands, where a prepaid card saved us $15/call to the USA. The hotel charges about $16/call, while the prepaid card cost us $1/call. What a no brainer. Also, on the same road as Setar and McDonalds, there is a MiniMart (across a two lane road) which has Mango, Pineapple, Orange, Strawberry, Cranberry juices. They were so much cheaper than the hotel prices. We just needed to bring a carry bag, and we did. Hotel provided a fridge and coffee maker.

Please note, if you go now, be prepared for lots of construction in the adjacent Occidental Hotel, Marriott Hotel, and across the street. Aruba at Palm Beach seems to be “hell bent” on new construction. There were cranes, jack hammers, pounding nails, cutting ceramic tile, and truck motors going on during the day. This noise was irritating to us who want to hear the ocean waves. But … it was not constant, so we were ok. But, mixed into this were various activity noises. The daily pool exercise club brought additional un-welcomed noises with music from cheap woofers and speakers in the peace of mid-afternoon. If you go next year, you’ll have so much more to choose from, wow, wow.

Photos: http://www.pvr-travels.com/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube