Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Holiday Inn Sunspree reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree  

230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"Many things excellent, too many not so excellent"
Posted by: Ed  on Jul 25, 2013
see all reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews
Holiday Inn Sunspree Pictures and Information
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba Aruba

#1
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 3.8

Based on 22 reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Information


Renovated in 2004 - 3 restaurants - Unique shaped swimming pool

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Holiday Inn Sunspree Reviews

Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.8 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
11 - 20 of 22

"If you are looking for Lobster you won't find it there"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly/Trevor06  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
260 people found this review helpful

That wouldn't stop us from going back again though, We'd go back in a minute. Oh and I'd recommend getting a massage on the Resort it's well worth it, they really get in there and use all their strength.

My review:
This was our first trip to Aruba and we went to the Holiday Inn Sunspree April 2 - 9, 2006 with another couple and we all just loved it there. The Hotel was very very clean and trust me I do not like bugs or dirty Rooms but these ones were kept very clean every day with fresh towels.

We've been to other countries and I tell you my friend and I went into Town 3 times by the local bus which was $2.00 for a two way trip and I felt totally safe doing so. The Arubians are very nice people and are always willing to help with any help you need.

Boy if you like jewellry go to Aruba every other store in Aruba had jewellry available and always willing to make a deal.

The Stores were very reasonable priced and everyone bargains, the stores were even cheaper then the markets along the Ocean for the Cruise Ships, I guess because they can't be bothered walking a block over.

The food was great on the Resort especially the Chicken Tortellini!! We found the buffet better for Breakfast then Dinner there seemed to be more variety for Breakfast and the lady flipping those eggs is awesom, she never broke one egg.

If you are looking for Lobster you won't find it there that was my husbands only disappointment, not much Seafood so he just compensated it for Beer and lots of it.

I don't know why people are complaining about the problems they had with their blue ribbons for all-inclusive but we had no problems at all getting drinks or food anywhere. The Full Day Jeep Tour was excellent and well worth the $75.00 but make sure you have sunscreen I got a little burnt. The snorkling was just beautiful and James and shorty were great tour guides. Great sense of humour. Aruba isn't kidding when they say "One Happy Island" they really are and I'd go back in a minute, I actually hope to take my daughter there on our next trip, she'd love it for sure. Oh and trust me when I say the WATER is very SAFE to drink right from the tap in the hotel rooms mind you it isn't very cold but it is safe, just put some in a glass then in the fridge it'll be perfect, They have the 2nd largest Water Filtration in the World. None of us got sick from anything we ate or drank there. We even went to Hooters up the street and that was great too. If you get a chance to buy some ALOE water it's good to very tasty but don't drink to much it supposed to cleanse the body. It might work different on you then it did on me but I drank a few bottles in the week and loved it. I even brought some home. My husband and his friend went Parasailing and loved it at $50.00 per person and $10.00 for me to take pictures of them and go for the ride but it was great. Watch out for George on the Beach we got a group together and paid him $400.00 for a day trip well it didn't turn out the way we expected, we got into a bit of a rut when his van breaks gave out and his boat motor gave out so we only made it to his cottage to look for shells and missed out on snorkling and fishing that was included, when he promised the guys he'd come back the next day to take them fishing, they gave him the benefit of the doubt but then George didn't show up and it was our 2nd last day so we knew we wouldn't see him before we left so that was a bit disappointing but hey I guess he needed the money more then us obviously.

That wouldn't stop us from going back again though, We'd go back in a minute. Oh and I'd recommend getting a massage on the Resort it's well worth it, they really get in there and use all their strength.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You’ll have so much more to choose from, wow, wow"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter/Vance06  on Feb 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2006
122 people found this review helpful

The location of Holiday Inn Sunspree was excellent. At Palm Beach, it was right onto the beach, and plenty of beach area to walk around. There was a bus stop just in front of the hotel, for easy access to the city. Round trip cost $2/pp. Not bad.

My Review:
We traveled to Aruba via Continental Airlines, booking the airline tickets and hotel with Continental. Our attempt to secure an upper level floor with a king size bed via the Continental reservations staff - became a disappointment when we arrived. Upon check-in, Holiday Inn staff attempted to “deal” a first floor room, where we know would be lots of noise and foot traffic, and most likely little chance of a good night sleep. For this, we were shocked, and threatened to move to another hotel. All of a sudden, they found a room on the upper floors, with twin beds. Good enough.

Our next encounter was with the night staff, which should NOT have been hired to answer questions. They gave out bad information about where is the nearest self-service laundry. “You need to take a cab to the city.” Not true. We were later told there was a self-service laundry in the next tower of Holiday Inn. We did not needed it, though.

As to the all inclusive meal plan offered at the hotel, it was all expensive. If we took the plan, at about $85/day per person; that would have wiped us out. Our solution: just walk across the street; there were plenty of restaurants and coffee shops with reasonable prices. So we did not have to stuff ourselves every night – in order to feel we got the $85 worth. On some days, we would get just a salad, and pay just for a salad. That was really nice. Most often, Tony Roma’s and Tango had the best “catch of the day” dinners. Great fish.

The facilities of the Holiday Inn Sunspree were good for a family of four. But we traveled as a couple. So, the pools were too small, the hot tubs not hot enough, and the lounge chairs barely adequate. We came to this conclusion after exploring other hotels in walking distance. Ok, enough with the bad stuff. The price at Sunpree was nice.

The location of Holiday Inn Sunspree was excellent. At Palm Beach, it was right onto the beach, and plenty of beach area to walk around. There was a bus stop just in front of the hotel, for easy access to the city. Round trip cost $2/pp. Not bad.

Next to a near by McDonald’s was the Setar Telephone stands, where a prepaid card saved us $15/call to the USA. The hotel charges about $16/call, while the prepaid card cost us $1/call. What a no brainer. Also, on the same road as Setar and McDonalds, there is a MiniMart (across a two lane road) which has Mango, Pineapple, Orange, Strawberry, Cranberry juices. They were so much cheaper than the hotel prices. We just needed to bring a carry bag, and we did. Hotel provided a fridge and coffee maker.

Please note, if you go now, be prepared for lots of construction in the adjacent Occidental Hotel, Marriott Hotel, and across the street. Aruba at Palm Beach seems to be “hell bent” on new construction. There were cranes, jack hammers, pounding nails, cutting ceramic tile, and truck motors going on during the day. This noise was irritating to us who want to hear the ocean waves. But … it was not constant, so we were ok. But, mixed into this were various activity noises. The daily pool exercise club brought additional un-welcomed noises with music from cheap woofers and speakers in the peace of mid-afternoon. If you go next year, you’ll have so much more to choose from, wow, wow.

Photos: http://www.pvr-travels.com/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I thank the Holiday Inn Sunspree"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy05  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005
105 people found this review helpful

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Aruba for our third time this year for the week of April 11-15, 2005 and really, really like/love this island! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree for the first time and went all-inclusive.

My Review:
My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Aruba for our third time this year for the week of April 11-15, 2005 and really, really like/love this island! We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree for the first time and went all-inclusive. I can't complain overall about the resort but checking in was not a pleasant experience. We arrived at the hotel and were given a wrist band as soon as we got there but then told we'd have to be back at the reception at 4 pm to actually get our room. We had packed anticipating a delay so we spent the afternoon at the beach and in the pool area. We also were told by hotel staff that the buffet lunch was available to us - a nice treat after a long plane trip. At 4 pm we got to reception and had to wait until amost 5 pm to be assigned a room. We took our luggage to the room assigned and found out someone was already assigned to that room! Back we went to reception and were given an apology and a "superior" room overlooking the pool area. When we got into this room, it smelled strongly of cigarettes = it was a smoking floor/room! We no sooner got into the room when someone knocked on our door and a man was standing there asking us to please check if he'd left his cell phone in the room. He had (along with other personal items) and when he came in to get the phone, he told us he'd been without a shower for two days and the room needed cleaning. We once again called reception and sat and waited almost another hour for someone to come and clean the room before we went back to the reception desk and after throwing a mini tantrum, were given a lovely room overlooking the gardens and beach. It smelled wonderfully like oranges and was super clean and was kept that way all week (cudos to the housekeeping staff in building 6!). We never had any problems with the room as the bed was made every day, the towels changed (and plenty of them), the rugs cleaned, furniture dusted etc - we left her a tip which was well deserved. As to the rest of the hotel, it was worth what we paid and more. We never had any problems all week. I am an early riser so I'd go and secure two chairs under a tree for me and my husband. Personally, I thinks its silly when people get up to secure chairs by 6 am but heck, its up to them. Staff would not give out chairs until 6:30 am so people tied towels around the huts they wanted!!! Again, kind of childish to me. The buffets always had lots of choices and food ranged from good to fair to better than fair but often was cold. Mind you, every day they had fresh omelets and waffles and lots and lots of fruit - yummy. Again, staff in the buffet restaurants were wonderful and very attentive. We did not enjoy the pizzas on the beach but other people did. We also found them a bit disorganized. The alacarte restaurants we tried were all extremely good. The Seabreeze one though, was ridiculously slow for dinner. Two hours to wait for a dinner, no matter how good it was, is just too long - sorry. Other people complained as well. The food at lunch was much quicker and very good. I did not have any time with my "blue band" and getting drinks - the entire time we were there the wait staff served us as quickly as anyone else plus if you asked for a drink they didn't know how to make, they'd at least try and make it for you. The choice of pools was nice but I wish more hotels had an "adult only" swim time each day - say from 8 - 9 pm or something where kids are not allowed in the pools

Shopping and more:
The stores in the hotel had a great choice and offered something to do if you wanted to cool off for a while. Loved the casino - had lots of fun in there with penny and nickel machines plus watching the big time poker players. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting an all-inclusive vacation - just remember all inclusives are very much the same no matter where you are. As to the island itself, well, it is HOT and WINDY and no matter what you do, your hair will be a disaster so keep it in a pony tail or keep it short! Tipping was optional and although we tipped here and there, we never got better or wose service for tipping or not tipping. We tip according to the service we get and if its lousy; they won't get a tip; if the service is excellent we do leave a tip and many of the staff our week there deserved it. We rented a car right at the hotel this time for three days and had no problem touring the entire island on our own. We really enjoyed this and car rental rates were reasonable. The car was a bit of a clunker but it had air conditioning and was cheap on gas. We've done all the tours in our previous visits so didn't do any this time but we did go all over the island and snorkelled at Baby Beach and Malmok Beach which was fun. We had lunch one day at Charley's Bar in San Nicholas and found it expensive but hey, we were on vacation so just paid the price! The staff there are absolutely a blast - what great, great guys. The island doesn't have great road way signs so you might get a bit lost but people are friendly and very helpful and heck, you cant go far on an island thats 20 miles long by 5 miles wide. We went to the Black Hog Saloon for the Harley BBQ Bash - what fun this was if you like motocycles and are an adult. Don't think I'd take a kid to this one! The motorcycles were unreal and the guys who owned them extremely friendly, even letting me sit on one for pictures! Not many custom Harley owners would do that. We also went to the mini golf course there and the lady running it was great - she was so nice to talk to. We shopped in Oranjestaad but it was so hot that it was not a really enjoyable experience - next time I'll go early in the morning or late in the day. The little shops along the harbour are fun to go through. I also took the bus from and back to the hotel one day and had no problems at all and I'm terrible with directions! The restaurants on the island are varied and good - well worth trying one or two out. There were also a couple of large flea markets but I didn't get to them as I didn't see them until too late! As I said at the beginning, I love Aruba - it is really my favourite island but I find it is getting more touristy with many new hotels popping up all the time. I thank the Holiday Inn Sunspree for making my vacation a memorable one - we had a great time!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach as always is the best on the island."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine05  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005
108 people found this review helpful

We have vacationed here before, although an older hotel, we were so pleased with our room, location, view, and cleanliness. The beach as always is the best on the island. However, grateful we did not do the all inclusive as did not hear one good word regarding the food, most were disappointed and saw many at the restaurants we visited. The many complaints regarding people "reserving" huts bright and early was true... not sure WHAT time they get up to do it...

Our major complaint was the bar service. We found the bartenders slow, not accomodating with long waits at the beach bar and disgustingly long wait in the lobby bar. A big change from two years ago and wondering if the "not tipping all inclusive guests" have made them not work so hard. A big slow down is the all inclusive people also have to "sign slips" which was time consuming, just as the people that were just charging to the room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They have probably the nicest beach, they don't have sufficient palapas"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry05  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2005
92 people found this review helpful

Aruba itself is very nice. Modern, safe, many restaurants of any price range that you prefer. Transportation by taxi is always available. Transportation by the bus system is only a 10 or 15 minute wait. On the public transportation, there were about an even number of locals and tourists. You are completely safe.

My Review:
Just got back from Aruba; stayed at the Holiday Inn.

Here are my personal observations and evaluations of both the HI and Aruba in general. Maybe I can help someone out.

Holiday Inn is older building. Our room was in need of a few minor repairs, but very, very clean. Housekeeping is "spot-on" and they do a great job.

Holiday Inn restaurants were OK, that is to say, they were sufficient. But one can do better at many of the other close local eateries by walking just a couple of hundred yards down the street or the beach.

We DID NOT go all-inclusive. We heard many comments that once the wait staff saw the blue All inclusive wrist band, they lost interest in providing service.

Generally, the wait staff was slow, seemingly understaffed, and not exceptionally motivated. Sorry if this seems a bit hard, but it was our experience.

The shops in the Holiday Inn actually had some reasonable prices for the typical souveneirs. This, according to my wife, who is the ultimate souveneir shopper!

The room, although basic, was quite comfortable. Again, excellently clean. There was air leakage around the patio door which caused it to rattle in the wind. I just pushed a washrag into the crack to stop the rattling and let it leak. They are paying for the lost air conditioning, so the heck with it!

More:
The Holiday Inn's #1 problem is that although they have probably the nicest beach, they don't have sufficient palapas. We were told repeatedly that to "reserve" a palapa, you needed to go down to the beach at 5:00 AM. Personally, I didn't pay $2500 and travel $2500 miles to wake up at 5:00 AM! So, we made do sitting under the shade of the palm trees. (Only slight difficulty with this is that you need to move your chair a few inches every 20 minutes as the shade moves with the sun. Not a big problem.) Also, they had plenty of broken chairs to sort through to get a couple of good ones.

Aruba itself is very nice. Modern, safe, many restaurants of any price range that you prefer. Transportation by taxi is always available. Transportation by the bus system is only a 10 or 15 minute wait. On the public transportation, there were about an even number of locals and tourists. You are completely safe.

One thing that needs to be said is that the Aruban people that you share the public transportation with are a good, honest, clean people. In some U.S. cities, you will be with a lower class of citizenry when riding the bus system. Not so with Aruba. The Aruban people are a clean, polite people. Most are simply riding to or from work.

There are also "private buses"... for lack of the correct word. These are privately owned vans with many seats. They charge $1 for one-way to Oranjestad. They will drop you off at any hotel or restaurant along the way. Don't be afraid of these, they are perfectly clean and safe. Just stand at a bus stop and they pull in at times between the arrivals of the full-sized buses. The drivers will answer a question if you have one. Everybody speaks English.

Actually, everyone speaks English, and Dutch, and Spanish, and Papiamento! Communication is NO problem whatsoever in Aruba.

The restaurants are phenomenal. Anything you want, at any price range. Personally, we liked the Azzurro, which is the Italian eatery at the Playa Linda, on the beach the best. Also the Old Canucu House for some of the atmosphere and the foods of traditional Aruba. Driftwood in downtown Oranjestad was an excellent "catch of the day" seafood restaurant. Comments on the Aruban eateries could fill a book!

Watersports. Anything and everything that anyone could want.

Land tours. Numerous. The hotels all have desks with folks to advise you. We went on the DePalm Jeep Safari/Snorkeling tour... fantastic!

All in all, my summary of Aruba would be that it is a Carribean destination where the people realize that tourism is their primary "bread-and-butter". They have structured their services to provide a quality, safe tourist destination. You talk with people who are there for the 10th, 12th, even 20th time. That says a lot!

The only negatives, and I'm not sure that you can properly even call them negatives, are...
1) It's in the high 80's every day. The sun will cook you in 10 minutes if you don't use sunscreen. Use all the sunscreen you can. Don't miss even a small part of your body or you WILL burn! (Wife burned INSIDE of her ears. I burned through my hair on top of my head!!)
2) Wind ALWAYS blows. Ladies, get a short hair cut. Don't even think about doing your hair!
3) Things are a little expensive, but then again, isn't everywhere in the Carribean?
4) Since communication is absolutely NO problem, it might be said that Aruba lacks a little of the exotic flair of traveling in a truly "foreign" land? My wife thinks I'm nuts for even mentioning this point.
5) Shucks, that's all the possible negatives that I can think of, and now that I've reread them, they're not really negatives at all... just things to be aware of

If anyone has any specific questions that I could help out with, feel free to email me

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great trip and will go back to Aruba any time"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John/Kim05  on Mar 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2005
98 people found this review helpful

As you can tell, we had a great trip and will go back to Aruba any time. We have been to Barbados twice, Antigua, Turks and Caicos, St. Maarten, Varadero and Aruba. This island is still by far our favorite.

Arrival:
February 18 to February 25/05 at the Aruba Holiday Inn Sunspree All Inclusive Resort

We just returned from one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. My husband (40) and I (35, no children) would like to recommend the Holiday Inn Sunspree to everyone.

We flew Skyservice/Sunquest from Toronto on February 18th. As usual, the Skyservice crew was professional and the flight was smooth. Our arrival and trip through the airport in Aruba was friendly and seamless. The airport has been completely updated since our last trip to Aruba 5 years ago. We were on the bus to the hotel within 45 minutes of landing.

We arrived at the hotel at 4:00pm, and our luggage was right behind us. Check in was a breeze. Our room was ready, and the front desk staff was happy and friendly. Our room on the 4th floor of the Aruba tower, on the lobby end facing the parking lot, was clean, well stocked with towels and quiet. The television had satellite stations and there was a new in-room safe (a big plus). The maid service throughout the stay was perfect, and the housekeeping staff went out of their way to help (even repaired the stitching of my bathing suit for free and smiled while doing it). Overall, great accommodations. And we were not charged to use the phone from the room.

Food & beverage:
My husband and I wandered around the grounds and found all the bars and restaurants quickly and sat down to a freshly made cheeseburger and fries in the lounge (a snack before dinner). Everyone found it strange that at every meal and every time you ordered a drink, you had to sign a bill. We never had this at an all inclusive before. It was explained that this was for inventory control and to stop the all-inclusive guests from giving stuff to the non all-inclusive guests. Guess it makes sense. Breakfast was a treat for us. You could go to the lobby bar for a quick breakfast of danishes, muffins, coffee tea and juice if you were in a hurry or wanted a quick breakfast, or you could go to the buffet inside near the casino for one of the best all-inclusive breakfasts we have had. They had tons of fresh fruit, well cooked bacon and sausages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, a chef to prepare an egg any way you want it, pancakes, freshly made waffles, cereal, cold cuts, cheeses, muffins…….and on and on. Get there early to avoid the line up, but even late, there is lots of food. You are on vacation, so if you wait in line, just relax. The lunch buffet was held in the same place and was just as wonderful. From fresh soups and salads to hot meals, fresh breads and deserts, the selection changed daily and the quality was excellent. You could also have lunch at the Seabreeze restaurant from a menu, which was quite good. You also had the option of getting your meals from the Seabreeze and the buffet to go if you wished to eat on the beach. Our dinners at the various restaurants ranged from good to great. The dinner buffet was usually outside by the pool (inside during rain). There was a different theme every night, but there was not a huge selection of food to choose from, however it was good. The next dinner choice was the Seabreeze (near the pool). You could go there any night without a reservation, and the meals were off of a menu, ranging from soup and salad to shrimp and steak. Some items on the menu cost an additional $2.00, but it was worth it. You could also get a pretty good glass of red or white wine with your meal, and the service was very good. The third restaurant, the Miramar, required that you reserve at the front desk the same day that you wanted to go. Even though they accepted reservations from 8:30am to 3:00pm, all the reservations were taken up within the first hour, so be down there early! You can go there every night if you wish. The food here was great, as was the service. There was also a surcharge for a few items here, but they never charged me for it. We dined there twice and were just as happy both nights.

To do:
Most of our time was spent worshipping the sun by the beach. There are lots of chairs to go around, but it is still best to find a spot early in the day. Towels are provided and there was always a good supply. The pool and hot tub area were recently updated and were very nice, but we did not use them much as they were quite busy with families and children. No matter where you choose to sit, there is a bar close by, and there were always jugs of cold drinking water available. The water on the island is delicious and safe to drink. Drink LOTS of it if you plan on being in the sun.

One day we rented a car out of the hotel from Hertz, and it was a good experience. We ordered a compact but got a midsize for the same price of $35.00, no tax of course. The roads are pretty safe to drive, and we had a great time driving around the island to different areas. One day we jumped on the local bus to downtown shopping. It only costs $1.00 each way and it is right outside the hotel. There were no problems anywhere we went, day or night, and we always felt safe. We did not go on any packages, but heard they were also good.

The weather was really good. Almost every morning around 7:30 there were clouds and maybe some rain, but by 9:00 it was all sun and blazing hot. There was only one day that it rained until about 2:00, and that was the perfect time to go shopping. Make sure to bring your sunscreen and a hat. That sun can really sneak up on you. Also be sure to walk the boardwalk between all the hotels and don’t be afraid to walk through the lobbies and grounds of the other properties. There is lots to see.

Resume:
As you can tell, we had a great trip and will go back to Aruba any time. We have been to Barbados twice, Antigua, Turks and Caicos, St. Maarten, Varadero and Aruba. This island is still by far our favorite.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As for the food it was good and plentiful."

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy04  on Dec 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2004
86 people found this review helpful

Would I go back? I would have to think long and hard about that and I would never fly Skyservice again. Their Customer Service was none existant.

Arrival:
Skyservice flight was 18 hours delayed out of Toronto. One whole day lost. Our flight left Toronto at 1:30 am Monday morning and arrived in Aruba at 6:30 am. We opted to take a cab to avoid the bus confusion. When we arrived at the Holiday Inn thank God our room was ready. We took our luggage and started over to our building. Little did we know that they were doing construction on the pool area and had also closed the only outdoor restaurant. We got to our room and could smell a terrible odour. They were painting the hallways. Not good if you have allergies.

My review:
We decided to head down to the beach and relax. Oh did I tell you it rained 5 of our only 6 days left. Some very brief sun in between the showers and I mean showers. The sewage drains in the parking lots backed up from all of the water. What a smell.

The Holiday Inn closes up shop on the beach at 4:00 pm if your ready to leave or not. They come and take the chairs away. The outdoor bar closes at 5:00 pm. But didnt we go down South to spend as much time as possible outside. Hummmm. Even when others complained to management it fell on deaf ears.

As for the food it was good and plentiful. The Holiday Inn should provide another location to obtain food when you are on the beach. Once they closed the only outdoor restaurant it meant you had to put shorts and shirt etc on from the beach in order to go into one of the restaurants. The waiters inside where not prepared for the problems of take out. Many frustrated beach goers.

We had a rental car and took advantage of the islands few tourist areas. Baby Beach is amazing for snorkling. Shopping is great and well worth a look. Going to the smaller jewellry stores turned out to be a great find. Thanks to Donna for the tip. Check out Pauls Jewellers. Duty free in the Aruba Airport is amazing. A must see.

The trip home was uneventful, thank the lord.

Would I go back? I would have to think long and hard about that and I would never fly Skyservice again. Their Customer Service was none existant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There were lots of side trips to take"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon04  on Dec 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2004
90 people found this review helpful

Like I said we had a great time in Aruba and no problem staying at the Holiday Inn so if anyone is thinking about going there just go and have fun

My review:
We just got back from Aruba and stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree and have to say we had a great time. I had read some reports about the Holiday Inn that weren't very good but have to say that we didn't find anything wrong with the place. Sure it may not be as fancy as some of the other hotels there but it was clean, the food was good, never went hungry that's for sure, the people that work there are very nice and we can't wait to go back and would stay at the Holiday Inn with no problem. We took the jeep trip and sure glad we did, it was lots of fun and seeing the other side of the island was interesting. There were lots of side trips to take but this was the only one we took. A couple that we meet took the sunset cruise and said they had a great time on that. The sunsets in Aruba were beautiful and we got some great pictures of them. Aruba is a very clean, safe island and the people are great and most of them speak english very well. I just fell in love with Aruba and pray I can go back many more times. I will say that Aruba is kinda expensive if you don't go all-inclusive, most people that I talked to that weren't all-inclusive would go out to dinner and it would cost them $100.00 or more for a good meal. The only money we spent extra on a meal was for a small pizza with 3 topping for $15.00, good pizza. We always go all-inclusive that way we don't have to worry about having to take a bunch of money with us and we like the all-inclusive package. We also found that there are alot of people from the US and Canada that go to Aruba which was really nice to be able to talk to most people that were at the hotel. I also would like to say that we ran into people that would be up early so they'd go and put their towels on chairs which is fine that happens everywhere we have been but then someone else would come and want those chairs so they would just take the towels off that the people that were up early had put on and then when the first person there would come back, the people that took over would lie and say they were there first. I saw this happen more than once and really wanted to say something but thought it best to stay out of it. Why do people do this?? How would they feel if someone did that to them? This one couple that had taken the towels off even had teenage daughters with them so they were teaching them that this is a ok thing to lie and take towels off that someone else is saving, I just had to shake my head and wonder what is wrong with parents that would do this. I know it takes all kinds to make the world go around but this to me just isn't right so please think twice before you do anything like this. Like I said we had a great time in Aruba and no problem staying at the Holiday Inn so if anyone is thinking about going there just go and have fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"With the all inclusive it was a real savings"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve/Linda04  on Jul 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2004
76 people found this review helpful

This was our best vacation ever. July 2003 Everything worked. Here is our summary.

Flight:
Sky Service from Toronto...Seating was cramped....but no delays

Weather:
beautiful, sunny with a lot of tropical winds.

Resort:
very nice...overall 4*'s.

Beach:
Fantastic. Powdery sand, calm waves, nice views.

Room:
has been renovated...I would give it 3 -3 1/2 *'s. However no real complaints except it is a 70's style facility. Could use a little paint in places. Rooms have in room safes and an ironing board which is a bonus.

View:
we had a superior room (the extra $100 upgrade gives a side ocean view.) Tip....Before going obtain a 6 Continents Priority Club Card. This gives a little preferential service when staying at Holiday Inns. For example we asked and received a king size bed, received delivered daily newspapers and early room maid service.

Dining:
we ate at the resort for all of our meals. With the all inclusive it was a real savings as meal costs in Aruba are high. One thing to note is that the resort adds a surcharge to the higher priced meals...so if you want a steak for dinner you would pay an additional $4.00 (2 *'s) But the beef is from Argentina...and worth the surcharge. Each evening is a theme night with entertainment with meals surved in an outside buffet...however we don't care for buffet and chose a more formal evening meal.... We ate our lunches at the beach bar. Food was grill style and very tasty. Drinks on the all inclusive are all provided for domestic brands only. Premier whisky and beer is at a surcharge....but who really cares when you can drink all the beer you want all day and night for no added costs. It was great.

Friendly service:
this was on and off however it may have been due to the language barriers. Downtown...is a $1.00 by bus and worth the day spent shopping and browsing.

Activities:
.lots....snorkling, parasailing, 4-wheeling etc etc. My wife and I have visited a number of Caribbean islands and have found this to be the safest, cleanest and nicest of the ones we have visited. There were no street venders on the beach and no elements of severe poverty or crime. Excellent. Excellent. Our only disappointment was not booking for 2 weeks instead of one....

Overall:
Good value, not expensive, good food, reasonable service, great beach, good shopping, lots of activities. Would we go back..? Definately.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food at all of the restaurants was great"

Holiday Inn Sunspree
User Rating:  Holiday Inn Sunspree Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melinda04  on Jun 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2004
84 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Aruba and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The weather was great and the people are quite welcoming. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree from May 30th to June 7th and we were both impressed with all of the amenities at this property. The rooms were comfortable and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The food at all of the restaurants was great. Our favorite restaurant was the SeaBreeze Grill. The restaurant overlooks the beach and the menu offers a good selection of various dishes. Miramar was excellent as well, and because the property wasn't as busy as it is in the winter we were able to make reservations numerous times during our stay. Inside the hotel there is a casino and numerous stores for shopping. The pool was okay, although it could be a little larger. Service at the bar between the beach and pool was at times a little slow, however every drink that we sampled was good. For an extra $19 a day, visitors can upgrade their all inclusive package to include premium name liquor and beer. We didn't do this because were happy with the liquor and beer being served already. We would definitely return to Aruba and the Holiday Inn Sunspree again. It was a great trip and overall we were happy with the service that we received. The only complaint that I have pertains to the flight which was a charter through SkyService. We have traveled with SkyService in the past and are always unhappy with the service. The seats are too close together and it is always an uncomfortable journey. Our return flight left at 1:30am from Aruba and we couldn't sleep comfortably because of the seating. I was constantly disturbed by the person in front of me and behind trying to make themselves comfortable because of the seating. Also the staff ran out of blankets for half of the plane and now pop and juice costs $1.00, whereas before it was free. SkyService should look into providing better service for their passengers in the future because there were many unhappy people on board this flight.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube