Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Aruba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Aruba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribbean Palm Village

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2013

Riu Palace Aruba

3.9 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 21, 2014

Tamarijn Aruba Beach resort

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 3, 2013

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort

3.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 22, 2011

Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 26, 2011

Occidental Grand Aruba  

83 Je Irausquin Blvd | (formerly Allegro Aruba Grand Hotel), Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"Second time @ the occidental"
Posted by: Henry  on Jan 27, 2015
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews
Occidental Grand Aruba Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Aruba Aruba Aruba

#2
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 4.2

Based on 17 reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Information


Something Grand for Newlyweds!
Your honeymoon is a celebration of your new life together... Why not accent the occasion with Occidental Grand Aruba's Honeymoon Packages?

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 4.2 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  4
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Party (1)
Wedding (2)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 17

"Second time @ the occidental"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Henry  on Jan 27, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
0 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to the occidental. The first time around it was not bad but they where renovation various parts of the hotel and we did not get to enjoy our stay as much as this time. The staff was absolutely wonderful. This was truly a relaxing vacation

Room Number:
2125

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding in aruba"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Darwinga  on Jan 21, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Wedding | With Group
0 people found this review helpful

Just came back from the most amzaing destination wedding ever. Niece just got married in Aruba and we all stayef at the occidental resort this was an absolut joy. Everthing was so perfectto the last detail. We only stayed for 3 days but had a blast

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Aruba 2015!!"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  manuel  on Jan 17, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Business | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

muy bien ubicado el hotel, las playas spectacular y el service fue de 5 estrellas.

Room Number:
1201

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
la llegada fue muy rapido y no tuvimos ningun inconvenitentes

Rooms:
la habitacion con vista a la pileta fue muy buena

Restaurants and Bars:
de todo los restaurantes nos gusto mas el italiano y el oriental el caribense no tanto

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
como comente espectaular la playa

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Holiday vacation in Aruba"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emmarino Felipe  on Jan 17, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Party | Family and Kids
4 people found this review helpful

First i need to say that traveling with kids on new years eve is not an easy task especially if you have a baby and a 5 year old. Upon arrival to the occidental we where immediately assisted i think it was the fastes check in ever, took them about 3 min. The staff was so nice they assisted us in everything especialy Alexander at the Guest Services this gentleman made our stay beyond faboulos. To bad our vacation was only 4 days. But we can't wait to go back

Room Number:
1212

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Caribbean New Year"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Erchard  on Jan 15, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
9 people found this review helpful

We dicided to spent the new year in the caribbean for a change and boy was this somthing. We stayed at the occidental and could not be happier with our choice. They had a big celebration on new years eve by the pool with an amazing set up. It the first time in year me and my husband partied till 4 am. At my age it was blast.

As for the island itself they had a ton of fireworks and music all over the island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Occidental grand aruba is paradise"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicola  on Jan 13, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
9 people found this review helpful

The island is an absolute joy. The staff where so friendly and warm, we felt very safe at the hotel and especially since we had our children on this vacation. After spending 7 days on the island I realized why everybody is happy. Will definitely recomend this hotel especially to people who have children

Room Number:
2425

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Christmas at the occidental was amazing"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Jan 10, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
8 people found this review helpful

We had a super great time this past holiday. We decided to have a Caribbean Christmas with nice warm sand instead of snow storms. We absolutly loved the hotel and will definitly try to do this every year. The staff beyond amazing, very accomodating and friendly.

Room Number:
1426

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy bueno la atencion al cliente"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jonathan  on Dec 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
5 people found this review helpful

Estuve alojado en el occidental grand por 3 dias y sinceramente fue uno de mis mejores vacaciones. Son super attento

Room Number:
1722

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Occidental Aruba 2014!!"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Nov 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
16 people found this review helpful

Absolutely love the hotel. The waiting staff was excellent, we loved spending time and the beach

Room Number:
1326

Room Block:
3th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little disappointed"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Oct 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
89 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the resort around 12 noon. A rep from the resort brought us into a meeting room & confirmed everyone was present, then informed us that we'd have to wait until 4 to check in. I asked the agent if the room I was assigned would have 2 separate beds, as I would be sharing a room with a friend, and not with a spouse, and he verified that, yes, we would have 2 separate beds, We stuck around the front desk and lobby area until we could finally check in. At 4, we walked to our room, & noticed a terribly outdated room with only one bed. I made my way to the front desk & informed the hostess of the issue. She told me that the hotel had been overbooked, & unfortunately they could not accommodate my requirement. I booked months ago - how could they not have a proper room for us? I would not accept that answer, & after about an hour more of scrambling around, they were able to find a room with 2 beds for myself and my friend. Basically my entire first day at this resort was wasted sitting around the lobby waiting. Disappointing.

The next morning, I made my way down to the beach. The resort gives you a towel card, which you exchange at a hut down by the beach, for a towel. At the end of the day, you bring your towel back, and they return your towel card. When I arrived at the beach, there were no towels. After waiting over an hour, I was able to get one. At night, my friends and I went out to a bar across the street. Upon return to the resort, we were hungry - but shocked to find that the resort didn't have a 24-hr snack bar. I thought most all-inclusives did? The latest restaurant closes daily at 11pm, so we were out of luck.

A few days later, I went to the beach again, & like before, there were no towels. I checked back to the towel hut 6 times in 5 hours that afternoon, and did not receive a towel at any point that day. My friend & I took a dip in the ocean, & decided to head back to the room to dry off and clean up for dinner. Unfortunately the key card to enter the room wasn't working, so we had to go to the lobby to get a new one. We were stopped on our way, by a security guard, who informed us that we are not allowed to enter the lobby with wet clothes. I informed her that there were no towels at the beach hut, & that our room key would not work - we just needed new room keys so we could go to our rooms to dry off. She insisted that we would not be allowed to enter the lobby, period. What were we supposed to do?! Surely this wasn't our fault. We waited for awhile, and finally were dry enough for her liking, to enter the lobby.

These were the main issues on my trip. The shows were sub-par, however the food was quite delicious. Bar staff was always friendly and courteous. Cleaning staff only restocked the fridge once, and seemed to come at strange hours. One day, my room wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Other days, the cleaners would be knocking on my door at 8am.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube