Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Occidental Grand Aruba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Aruba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribbean Palm Village

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2013

Riu Palace Aruba

3.9 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 21, 2014

Tamarijn Aruba Beach resort

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 3, 2013

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort

3.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 22, 2011

Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 26, 2011

Occidental Grand Aruba  

83 Je Irausquin Blvd | (formerly Allegro Aruba Grand Hotel), Palm/Eagle Beach, Aruba

"One happy island"
Posted by: Davis  on Apr 11, 2015
see all reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews
Occidental Grand Aruba Pictures and Information
Occidental Grand Aruba Aruba Aruba

#1
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 4.4

Based on 22 reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Information


Something Grand for Newlyweds!
Your honeymoon is a celebration of your new life together... Why not accent the occasion with Occidental Grand Aruba's Honeymoon Packages?

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Occidental Grand Aruba Reviews

Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 4.4 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  0
Average
  1
Poor
  4
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (12)
Party (2)
Wedding (3)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
11 - 20 of 22

"Occidental grand aruba is paradise"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nicola  on Jan 13, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
108 people found this review helpful

The island is an absolute joy. The staff where so friendly and warm, we felt very safe at the hotel and especially since we had our children on this vacation. After spending 7 days on the island I realized why everybody is happy. Will definitely recomend this hotel especially to people who have children

Room Number:
2425

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Christmas at the occidental was amazing"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Jan 10, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
92 people found this review helpful

We had a super great time this past holiday. We decided to have a Caribbean Christmas with nice warm sand instead of snow storms. We absolutly loved the hotel and will definitly try to do this every year. The staff beyond amazing, very accomodating and friendly.

Room Number:
1426

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy bueno la atencion al cliente"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jonathan  on Dec 20, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
124 people found this review helpful

Estuve alojado en el occidental grand por 3 dias y sinceramente fue uno de mis mejores vacaciones. Son super attento

Room Number:
1722

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Occidental Aruba 2014!!"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sean  on Nov 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
125 people found this review helpful

Absolutely love the hotel. The waiting staff was excellent, we loved spending time and the beach

Room Number:
1326

Room Block:
3th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A little disappointed"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Judy  on Oct 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Wedding | With Group
203 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the resort around 12 noon. A rep from the resort brought us into a meeting room & confirmed everyone was present, then informed us that we'd have to wait until 4 to check in. I asked the agent if the room I was assigned would have 2 separate beds, as I would be sharing a room with a friend, and not with a spouse, and he verified that, yes, we would have 2 separate beds, We stuck around the front desk and lobby area until we could finally check in. At 4, we walked to our room, & noticed a terribly outdated room with only one bed. I made my way to the front desk & informed the hostess of the issue. She told me that the hotel had been overbooked, & unfortunately they could not accommodate my requirement. I booked months ago - how could they not have a proper room for us? I would not accept that answer, & after about an hour more of scrambling around, they were able to find a room with 2 beds for myself and my friend. Basically my entire first day at this resort was wasted sitting around the lobby waiting. Disappointing.

The next morning, I made my way down to the beach. The resort gives you a towel card, which you exchange at a hut down by the beach, for a towel. At the end of the day, you bring your towel back, and they return your towel card. When I arrived at the beach, there were no towels. After waiting over an hour, I was able to get one. At night, my friends and I went out to a bar across the street. Upon return to the resort, we were hungry - but shocked to find that the resort didn't have a 24-hr snack bar. I thought most all-inclusives did? The latest restaurant closes daily at 11pm, so we were out of luck.

A few days later, I went to the beach again, & like before, there were no towels. I checked back to the towel hut 6 times in 5 hours that afternoon, and did not receive a towel at any point that day. My friend & I took a dip in the ocean, & decided to head back to the room to dry off and clean up for dinner. Unfortunately the key card to enter the room wasn't working, so we had to go to the lobby to get a new one. We were stopped on our way, by a security guard, who informed us that we are not allowed to enter the lobby with wet clothes. I informed her that there were no towels at the beach hut, & that our room key would not work - we just needed new room keys so we could go to our rooms to dry off. She insisted that we would not be allowed to enter the lobby, period. What were we supposed to do?! Surely this wasn't our fault. We waited for awhile, and finally were dry enough for her liking, to enter the lobby.

These were the main issues on my trip. The shows were sub-par, however the food was quite delicious. Bar staff was always friendly and courteous. Cleaning staff only restocked the fridge once, and seemed to come at strange hours. One day, my room wasn't cleaned until 5pm. Other days, the cleaners would be knocking on my door at 8am.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very poor services to hotel guests. Were promised things and never received them."

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Carolyn  on Nov 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
389 people found this review helpful

Hotel was beautiful and so was the beach area. As far as the all inclusive, it priced way to high for what you received. Have stayed at other all inclusives for less money and received much more for the money.
Promised champagne in room by 2 different staff members -never got it. Upon arrival they said they would check to see if we have a room upgrade. Were told they would call us after 6:00p.m.came when all were checked in and they NEVER called...So we stayed where we were but wasted a couple of hours to unpack waiting for them to call.
Room wasn't cleaned until at least 5:00p.m. and asked maid in the hallway for clean towels to take a shower-She said NO - you will get them when I do your room. Room service was terrible, if they had any. If you asked for it you usually waited for about 2 hours.
Had to buy our own beer for the small refrigerator as they only put 2 cans in the refrigerator every other day! This is all inclusive?
Had to make dinner reservations every night at the restaurants, could not just walk in and be seated, usually couldn't get dinner reservations until 8:30pm or later.
Definately would not recommend this place to anyone else. There are too many other places that I am sure have better accommodations and service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I just loved it."

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Desii Pattinson  on Mar 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Panama
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
446 people found this review helpful

Since i'm not much of a talker, I'm just gonna say I loved it. Unless I have something to say.

Your Arrival:
Arrived at 6:30 p.m. The view: stunning. It was beautiful. I didn't mind waiting in the lobby at all. I liked all the decoration, the fountain was a great detail. A guide gave us a tour arround the hotel, and led us to the buffet, which name I forgot. But I could see the little waterfall in the swimming pool, and it was beautiful with the dim lights.

Rooms:
Well, I stayed in one of those rooms for couples. I slept in the bed for once, and it's like sleeping in clouds. Even the couch. Well, not really. I absolutely loved the decoration and the bathtub.

Restaurants and Bars:
In all the restaurants the food was just delicious. And for the bars, I couldn't stop drinking piñas coladas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is absolutely gorgeous, the sand is cool, the water clistal-clear, the pool was very clean, but the jacuzzis were a little too hot for the weather. I liked the pool bar as well, but I didn't like their piñas coladas as much as in the lobby.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Since we didn't do a lot in the resort.. Well, we did go to a show, which was in English, and since we are a Spanish speaking family, we didn't understand a lot of things. I'm writing this in English because I have studied more. Besides that, we didn't do much more than swimming in the beach, the pool, and going to restaurants when necesary. Off the resort, since Aruba is a very beautiful and small island, everything is close to everything. We met the Natural Bridge, California Lighthouse and went shopping. Absolutely dazzling and colorful. Everything.

Other Comments:
I'd definitely go again. When I grow up and get a job.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nothing really to complain about"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jim09  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
395 people found this review helpful

If you want a quiet resort with no kids, stay away. The pool was flooded with kids and I heard complaints from some of the adults because of the noise. It was tough to sit and have a drink due to the excess of kids at the bar.

Arrival:
Arrival was smooth and quick from the airport to the resort. Hotel staff were very friendly. You received a quick briefing from the hotel staff and a short sales speech on attending their timeshare presentation. We stop them in their tracks and they did not push no further.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean (4th floor) but very humid even with the A/C on full. Very difficult to sleep in damp sheets. We talked to others on other floors and their room was fine. It was our loss for not complaining.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food and drink were good. Staff very friendly. Make sure you bring many $1.00 bills as tips are a must at this resort. They don't ask but service get better with tipping.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This was the only negative part of the resort. After visiting Turks and Caicos, Cozumel and Varadaro, we were very disappointed with the beach. Water wasn't as clear as we used to. Water activities were difficult to do with all the boat traffic. Lots of tubing and parasailing and jet skiing. It's a little Cancun. Chairs were tqaken by 7:00am and people didn't even show up until noon. It's too bad because, I am sure the beaches could be much better. We walked down the beach and it got better as there was less traffic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We toured with a local waiter from the resort. Good tour. As we will never return to Aruba, it was nice to see. Others were paying for the hotel tours. Most were happy with their tour. The purpose of our trip was for relaxation and we accomplished this.

Other Comments:
If you want a quiet resort with no kids, stay away. The pool was flooded with kids and I heard complaints from some of the adults because of the noise. It was tough to sit and have a drink due to the excess of kids at the bar.

All in all, nice place. We won't go back but that our preference. Nothing really to complain about. The few negatives I mentioned above should not deter other from going. We enjoyed Aruba but it just didn't excite us to go back as did other places we've been. If you have never been, it's worth a vacation. You won't be disappointed. Just remember the few minor points above. It's a 4+ hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We give it 4.5 stars"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike08  on Apr 1, 2008  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008
396 people found this review helpful

Things have obviously changed much at the Occidental Grand Aruba since the previous reviews were written, as we had a great stay at this hotel! We stayed with Royal Club and our room was on the 9th floor. This is our second stay at an Occidental Grand (in December 2007 we stayed at the Occidental Grand in Cozumel, Mexico) and we would gladly return to either one. It has the best beach-front in all of Palm Beach (we walked the whole beach, so speak first hand). The hotel staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Special thanks to Anne W. for helping us with some unique requests! Our room was clean, spacious, and had up-to-date décor. Room service was quick. The food in general was very good (for the Caribbean), but we especially liked the Italian restaurant (L’Olio). Nightly shows were excellent (the best we’ve experienced over the last 13 years) and included a full rendition of “Grease”. There was never a shortage of beach chairs - even though the hotel was at capacity - and it never felt overcrowded. There was a lot to do during the day: activities around the pool, water sports (equipment in good condition), and shopping in the hotel and right across the street.

We would definitely return to this hotel, and would highly recommend to anyone booking, to go for Royal Club. We give it 4.5 stars.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would we go to this hotel again? Unlikely"

Occidental Grand Aruba
User Rating:  Occidental Grand Aruba Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peggy/Donald06  on Jul 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2006
412 people found this review helpful

Dates Jun 18 to 25 2006 Sunquest

This hotel is work in progress. We're in our room and we're almost happy to hear nails being pounded in all day because we fought like tigers to get management to stop the operation of jackhammers next door to our room. This was so jarring the pounding in of nails, that started at 8:45 in the morning, was almost a relief .

Days of it...we complained. It was impossible to rest or watch T.V.

First we were told by front desk personnel to contact our travel agent when we got home if we were bothered by jackhammers. Then they offered to move us to another room to avoid the noise... by this time it was Saturday afternoon and we were scheduled to come home early on Sunday morning. After an acidic conversation the noise was halted. Some holiday! Some rest!.

Housekeeping in this hotel was unpredictable to say the least. Although the "make up the room" sign was duly posted it was not unusual to come home at 3 p.m. and find there were no fresh towels, washcloths, bathmat etc; however a call to housekeeping and a chat with a maid, if one were to be found, did bring results.

Our food servers in the beach clubs were very accommodating and polite. The food was varied and acceptable. Loved the Japanese restaurant... one server there should get an academy award for his acting ability; very entertaining.

This hotel has a travel desk... very polite personnel but not particularly well informed. If they had been they might not have recommended this particular company for a tour of the Island. Bus was not air conditioned as promised; tour guide seemed knowledgeable but mike system inadequate...almost impossible to hear much of the commentary...too bad because the terrain etc. was of interest.

Would we go to this hotel again? Unlikely . Put too much value on a restful holiday; however we enjoyed the Island ; met a plethora of people who have returned time after time and have discovered interesting places to stay. Appreciate that we are fortunate to have had this experience... hope to help others avoid this construction site.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube