Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Reviews

Home page > Aruba > Aruba Hotel Index > Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Aruba Hotels with Similar Ranking

Caribbean Palm Village

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Riu Palace Aruba

3.9 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 21, 2014

Tamarijn Aruba Beach resort

3.6 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 3, 2013

Westin Aruba Resort Spa & Casino

3.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 1, 2005

Occidental Grand Aruba

3.3 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 24, 2013

Amsterdam Manor Beach resort

3.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 22, 2011

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino  

L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba

"A great vacation."
Posted by: doug on May 22, 2013
see all reviews

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Reviews
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Pictures and Information
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Aruba Aruba

#5
of 37 Hotels in Aruba

User rating 4.3

Based on 3 reviews

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Information


Located in the heart of Aruba's capital, the Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino truly caters to all vacationers. The two distinct hotel choices offer both style and a tropical elegance.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Reviews

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Review: 4.3 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (2)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"A great vacation."

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
User Rating:  Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  doug  on May 22, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
108 people found this review helpful


We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Aruba . We went there last year with another couple and loved it so much that we returned again this year. Both times we stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino. I once read that happiness is a path or a journey, not a destination. This past week we experienced a fun relaxing seven days with wonderful weather every day in a beautiful country.
Our plans included seven days of R & R, refreshing drinks and delicious food. We were all-inclusive. We felt we received great value for the money.
The resort is ten minutes from the airport, we had a nice room with a view. The resort has a boat that comes into the resort to take visitors out to their own private Island , which has all the beach chairs, etc. plus a restaurant/bar with beach service.
Aruba has great weather, friendly people, easy to get around and to drive. We rented a car in the lobby and spent a day exploring the Island highlights.
I must say the main reason we returned for a second vacation to the Renaissance Aruba Resort was the food (especially love the L.G. Smith’s Steak & Chop House) and the courteous, friendly staff. A big thank you to Andrey who gave superb service. We would also like to give a bit shout out to Jennifer who was excellent at keeping us hydrated while at the pool. We met several vacationers who told us they came to the Renaissance many times because of the food and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved Aruba...."

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
User Rating:  Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie and Pat  on Feb 21, 2011  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
367 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1405

Room Block:
Tower

Arrival:
We stayed at Renaissance Aruba, Marina Tower, (adults only) from February 4 to 11, 2011. Travel was with Sunquest via Thomas Cook Airlines.

Aruba was beautiful, the trip there and back was not. The plane was delayed both ways. We were originally to leave Toronto at 4:15 p.m. and didn’t take off until 8:30 p.m. There was a mechanical problem with the plane, discovered as we were about to taxi to the runway, had to switch planes, and then another issue with a passenger which resulted in a further delay. The plane for the return flight had the same issues out of Toronto, and our return flight was delayed an hour or so.

We arrived at the Renaissance Aruba at 3 a.m. and were happy to see 3 clerks on duty to check us in.

Rooms:
Our room was quite nice. Small, only about 270 square feet, but more than adequate. There is a French balcony (about a foot wide), would have liked a full balcony. The room was carpeted, which seemed odd for a Caribbean destination. Actually the whole feel of the hotel was more like a downtown Toronto hotel. Nice, though. Comfy beds, maybe a little too soft, with nice duvets. Our room had two double beds, there were also rooms with king beds. Bathroom was a little dated, but clean. Usual amenities – hair dryer, coffee maker, alarm clock. Always lots of hot water and great water pressure. A mini-fridge in the room (not stocked). There’s a local grocery store around the corner if you want to buy snacks or drinks for your room. For Sunquest all-inclusive they give you two large bottles of water in the room, although you can drink the tap water.

Rooms are “smoke-free”, no smoking allowed in the rooms or balcony. Smoking is allowed in the hotel lobby (open-air).

While there are people there on an “all-inclusive”, the hotel is not generally all-inclusive. Because of its location in town and close to the airport, there were lots of business people and airline crews on layovers staying there.

They give you a sheet when you check in that tells you what is included in the all-inclusive and what isn’t. For instance, only their Balashi beer is included, if you want a different kind you have to pay for it.

There are no bracelets here, you use your room key for everything, ie. even if you get a bottle of water at the bar you have to sign for it. Kind of a pain, but we got used to it.

The hotel is connected to a high-end shopping mall and casino, and all the shops of Oranjestad are just steps away.

Take U.S. money, even coin, as it is accepted everywhere, in fact most stores price things in U.S. dollars. We took some cash and the rest in traveller’s cheques, which are readily cashed at the front desk for U.S. cash.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good. The Aquarius Restaurant was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner was a seafood buffet, and although they did have a couple of non-seafood items, we only ate dinner there once because we don’t eat seafood. At breakfast and lunch you could have the buffet or order off the menu.

The L.G. Smith Steakhouse was their other restaurant. There was a special menu for those on all-inclusive, but lots of options. We ate there twice and it was good.

There was also the Blue Bar, located in the lobby, where you could order snacks. We never did, but the food looked great. They would also serve you at the pool.

The Suites section also has an open-air restaurant, Captain’s Corner, where you can eat. We went there twice. One of the nights was a Caribbean Buffet.

And on our last night we felt like something different, so just walked over to the Marketplace and had dinner in an Italian restaurant there (not included). You’ll find all the food chains here – Taco Bell, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, etc. and if you’re a Starbucks fan, there was one in the lower lobby of the hotel.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
For the beach, your options are to go across the road to the Renaissance Suites which has its own small beach, or go to the lower lobby of the hotel and hop on a motor launch for an 8 minute trip to Renaissance Island. The island is split into two beach areas, one for families, and one adults only. There is a nice restaurant there where you can get lunch and drinks. The boats run every 15 minutes or so, so it was never a long wait to get to or from the island. Here you can rent floats ($5) or snorkel equipment.

If you prefer a pool, there is a nice pool right off the lobby. Great views of the marina and you can see the cruise ships that dock every day.

There was free wi-fi in the lobby of the hotel, a couple of days when it wasn’t working well, but you could go downstairs and pick up the Starbucks signal. Wired internet access was available in the rooms, but it cost $15 a day or $70 for the week.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a bus tour of the island, our driver was very informative. If we went again, we would rent a car for the day and stop at some of the beautiful beaches along the way.

Lots of iguanas everywhere! All sizes and colours.

Other Comments:
Weather was good, hot and sunny with some clouds every day, and only a couple of short periods of rain. Very breezy, but it would have been too hot without the breeze.

We loved Aruba, and would definitely return!


Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We stayed at the Renaissance in downtown Aruba Early June 2005."

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
User Rating:  Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fishertwins05  on Jul 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2005
377 people found this review helpful

We keep costs under control by eating breakfast in our room and doing some picnic lunches. Our family enjoyed Pinchers with its excellent Sunset, Moobaa Beach Bar with live music Sunday night, our 10 year old twin boys liked the pool table and foosball, and our kids ate more then we did at Texas de Brazil steak house.

Hotel:
The hotel is located in downtown Orangestad. The whole Island is accessible from this location. We stayed in the Ocean suites (versus the Marina Towers located directly on the main street), which have one private bedroom, a small bar area with 2 refrigerators, a bar sink, a micro wave and a stove top. Dishes and utensils are provided. A living area has a fold out sofa where our 2 ten year old sons slept and a table which seated four. Our garden view room over looked the Mall parking lot next door but the ocean was beyond the parking lot. The area was always quiet. The resort and room were always clean and we found the accommodations to be quiet, and very clean. The staff claims all rooms were recently remodeled. The Renaissance is a Marriott property.

Beach & Pool:
The hotel has a private Island which is a short 5 minutes boat ride away. The Island is at the end of the airport runway so you know when a plane lands or takes off, we found the island beach water too calm for us. We were at the pool almost every afternoon and it was quiet and enjoyable. Since June is off season there were plenty of chairs to go around. Our kids enjoyed the pool.

Why the Renaissance:
We landed up at the Renaissance since 60% of the hotel is a time share and we did it as an exchange (Interval International) . We would recommend Aruba to anyone in June, the weather was good and the crowds were small. We rented a car for the week (Under $200) and then traveled each day to a different beach and to the grocery ( Ling's was a fabulous upscale place to shop) We snorkeled at Malmuk and Baby Beach. We also rented a Jeep one day and went to the Natural Pool and the Natural Bridge) . The concierge was excellent in helping us get around and assisted with restaurants and the Jeep rental. There is no need to do any tours or snorkel trips, just jump in your car and go. (The jeep rental agency also rented snorkel gear)

Dining:
We keep costs under control by eating breakfast in our room and doing some picnic lunches. Our family enjoyed Pinchers with its excellent Sunset, Moobaa Beach Bar with live music Sunday night, our 10 year old twin boys liked the pool table and foosball, and our kids ate more then we did at Texas de Brazil steak house.

Our recommendations;:
If you choose the Renaissance you will need a car to access the beaches and restaurants. You can also walk to anywhere in town day or night, safety was not an issue. There is a large mall adjacent to the hotel with a variety of fast food restaurant's (Wendy's, Subway, Dunkin Donuts) the Island's Largest movie Theater and other restaurant's and shops. Tuesday night we walked to the Island Culture Festival 2 short blocks form the hotel, Addmission is $ 3.00 per person. The hotel is an excellent time share exchange since it is easier to get then others. I would not pay a premium to stay here due to the lack of beach at your door step however we visited the Marriott resorts and the beaches were packed. Where ever you stay in Aruba we recommend a car to explore and visit beaches, parking was never a problem however the lack of signs in remote areas meant asking lots of locals for directions

Kids club..:
This was great for us The resort offers half or full day care with lunch for $ 35.00 for 2 kids. Our boys had lunch the day they attended at the pool bar and played ping pong and swam at the pool. They also offer a Friday and Saturday night child care program which included dinner at Wendy's and a current movie at the movie theater also $ 35.00 for two kids. The resort is less then a minute away from both so the boys were safe and enjoyed themselves as did Mom and Dad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube