Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Atlantis Royal Towers reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Columbus Isle

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2007

Paradise Island Harbor Resort

3.1 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2013

Atlantis Royal Towers  

New Providence Island

"great!"
Posted by: Tara  on Apr 26, 2014
see all reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews
Atlantis Royal Towers Pictures and Information
Atlantis Royal Towers Bahamas Bahamas

#2
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 2.8

Based on 19 reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Information


Inspired by the splendor of ancient Atlantis, this striking beachfront Paradise Island resort allows travelers to dip into a fantasy world overflowing with opportunities for adventure, entertainment and relaxation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 2.8 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  3
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"great!"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Apr 26, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
93 people found this review helpful

Our stay at Atlantis was great! We stayed in the villas on the first floor which had a porch and our room was connected with a door [ you could lock of course! ] to our daughters room. We had a great view of the nursing sharks and stingrays. We also had cat friends! The cats were very friendly but shy the first couple of days. If you see a thin cat that comes up to you within the first couple of days, his name is trouble! He came in our room and acted like he owned the place! The service there was great! The staff was super friendly and very welcoming. They do room service everyday while your out, unless you put a sign that says " private please ". The beach is not that far away. From our room, you came out, turned left, and came to the pool. Past the on the far left was the staircase to the ocean! If you go stay at the villas and go to the beach, there will probably be a sweet elder lady named Angie, tell her hello! She was super sweet and on the last day of our visit she gave my daughter and her friend a free bracelet. Those bracelets are so so so pretty and very expensive! So make sure you tell her Hello! If you wake up early, go to the pools... they are HEATED!! It felt so good! Pools open at 9 o clock and the lazy river [ which is heated the WHOLE day, at least it was in my experience] opens at 10. The pool aren't heated the whole day, only in the mornings. The only thing about the pool closest to the villas is it as a lot of gross things in there... the aquarium is right beside it, which means we found bones and fish heads! Yuck! So please wash your hands after! Oh, and we only saw that stuff in the deep end, so hopefully your child or children wouldn't find one. Just to add this in, there is a lifeguard at the pools and ocean, but only til 9 am to 5 pm. While we were there, the waves were HUGE! If you are bringing small children, I do not recommend going to the beach and swimming in the ocean. There were a lot of big waves and after each one it would suck you in and it was very powerful! The flag for the beach was yellow red the whole time. Until the last day of our visit of course, it was yellow green and it was much calmer. I do advise you to wear A LOT of sunscreen! By the 3rd day [the first day was travel day and we didn't go to the beach until the sun set] EVERYONE was burnt! If you leave home without sunblock, its like your first of all, burning yourself, and second of all, burning a hole in your wallet! Everything there is crazy expensive! Hmm, I can't really think of anything else to say, but make sure you read a lot of reviews and get a lot of info! I hope this advice was helpful and I hope you have a very wonderful visit to Paradise island! It truly will be a very memorable time of your life!

Room Block:
villas

Arrival:
February 18th to February 23rd

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good, but very very expensive!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach- soft sand with pretty little shells and the water like a pool with fishes... but very strong and powerful
Pools- only went to a couple. The one next to our rooms was nice in the mornings [before 9] but we found bones, fish heads and dead shrimps in it. Very gross and needs cleaning.
Grounds- very busy! But pleasant.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
So many things to do and see; go and try!

Other Comments:
This was a very cool and fun experience and I really want to go back! This is truly a life time of fun! Recommend this to everyone and hope ou all have as much fun as we did!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sick, May 2013"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on May 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | Family and Kids
100 people found this review helpful

After our visit at the Atlantis I have been to a Dr. 3 times trying to get rid of an intestinal bug. I became sick the 2 day of our trip. Our suspicions are with the water system and some type of bug like cryptosporidium or c-diff. Also concerns about food preparation and possible contaminated food from poor serving conditions...eggs pooled on the omelet table at room temperature. Foods served at a private dinner not kept hot. Wouldn't go back for anything!

Room Number:
10523

Rooms:
? as to whether our room was clean when we arrived. Black sludge in toilet last day of stay...toilet would not flush.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food Safety Violations.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
May not be maintained properly and spreading infection

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Like a cruise - just on land!"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gloria  on May 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Our family of 6 (included our 13 yr old grandson & our 21month old Granddaughter) had a great 5 days/4 nights in the Royal Towers. We had booked this trip online direct w Atlantis.com. We liked our rooms, we had adjoining rooms. Beds were very comfy, on the soft side which felt so good after a busy day! We had to change rooms after 1st nite due to low pressure in shower & our carpet area around the entry door & bathroom was water soaked. They sent staff up to our room quickly to assess the matter & said there must b a leak in pipes somewhere so we should be moved to another room. We were on the 8th floor and got moved to the 15th floor, opposite view of outdoors, and really appreciated their help. They moved our stuff , including a crib & fridge that we needed for our toddler. All staff were very courteous & apologetic for the intrusion. You do have to be patient though, you usually have to go through various people til you get matters resolved. Also, their tv's are slow and we did lose 3 minutes of a movie we rented but I complained and they took it off our bill. Check your bill before you leave. Very important!!!
Pricey vacation yes, but don't go if you are going to complain about costs. Be buffet is "Marketplace". We tried the buffet called "SeaGrapes" and did would never go there again. The food stations outside were pretty good, nothing is reasonably priced, but quit complaining, you are not at home!

Room Number:
15-571

Arrival:
We had Dan Knowels Tour bus taking us to & from airport. Not a problem but we talked to some that did have complaints. I'm sure they ave a few undesirable employees that need to be reported. We lucked out!
We were taken to our rooms asa we got to the towers. Very courteous staff.

Rooms:
Could be roomier for the price but it was fine. Would ave been nice to receive a complimentary water bottle or two waiting for us in the room, but you do have to pay for everything.

Restaurants and Bars:
Really enjoyed Virgils Barbecue. Fantastic wings, they won't give the recipe for the sauce, but it s awesome!
Didn't do bars. Not into it.
Had great drinks at buffets and restaurants though. Wines are ridiculously expensive so dd mixed drinks more.
Read above for previous write-up.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were great! Clean.
Beaches had such nice soft sand. We just enjoyed the aqua adventure areas most.
Landscaping every here is just mind-boggling. Just so beautiful! Every photo s beautiful!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Some of our crew did the scuba diving. All went okay until a motorboat came right overhead and that never should have happened. Scared the leader and the divers. I'm sure it was reported.
Stayed on resort. Dd not ave any desire to go off resort. Plenty to do , or do nothing. Like a cruise ship but all on land.

Watch out for the lazy river rapids and power tower ramps. No one tells you what really goes on - gets a bit scary and definitely not for kids under 12. We saw a lot of kids get dumped from their tubes and many bruises. Some serious. if you want no rapids or plunges go over to the lazy river at Coral towers. Their guards don't seem t care too much what happens. Most of them are half asleep. There is a reason there are nets over those water chutes. Oh and kee p your butt up,

Other Comments:
Now that we have experienced this place , we want to come back! We travel a lot and realize you must give and take in every trip. Just relax!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Atlantis Harbor Towers - fantastic"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Feb 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
222 people found this review helpful

Our family vacation to Atlantis was fantastic. The property is truly amazing. The only thing keeping me from giving Atlantis Royal Towers 5 stars was that given the high cost of everything, I think internet and health club should be complimentary.

Room Number:
553

Room Block:
Imperial East

Arrival:
We arrived mid day on Saturday, checked in easily and headed straight to the water park. All I can say is incredible.

Rooms:
We stayed in the Harbor Towers and had a beautiful harbor view. Our room was clean with ample space for 2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 and 12. The beds were made and the room cleaned daily.

With so much to do on the property, we spent very little time in the room. We'd wake up and be be out for breakfast by 8 - 8:30. We'd be at the waterpark at 9:00 when it opened to get our bracelets, towels, and lounge chairs. We'd spend our time there or at the beach until 5:00, when the water park closes. We'd head back to the room for an hour only to shower and change for dinner.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are many options when it comes to dining, all of which are expensive. We didn't purchase the meal plan and I think we probably spent about the same as if we did. We didn't have a bad meal, which was so nice, considering what we paid for them.

We really liked Bimini Road, Virgil's, Murray's. Bimini Road's front porch was fun with a band playing while we ate.

We had lunch at a different water park pavilion every day.

The breakfast buffets at The Market Place and Seagrapes are top knotch. We also went small lobby restaurant one morning for fruit, cereal, muffins. We packed brakfast bars and had those one morning.

One night, the kids went to Crush - a place for kids ages 7? to 13 from 7? to 11:00 ($25 per child). My husband picked up a cigar and we went to the casino and casino bar. We also went to the bar at the Asian restaurant near the Atlantis Theater. If we had planned better, we would not have eaten dinner as a family that night. We'd have fed the kids then gone to Mesa Grill alone, while the kids were at Crush. We picked the kids up at crush at 9:30 and they would have liked to stay longer.

Our 1st night at Atlantis there was a free show in the Atlantis theater; Dayle K, the hypnotist. The show was hilarious.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pool and grounds were DELUXE! There is so much to do and everything is beautiful and top notch. The water park provides days of entertainment. The kids loved all the slides and pools. The entire family loved the rapids ride and rode it multiple times a day. The bathrooms were clean (all had staff cleaning up continuously). It was easy to get a drink, cocktail or snack. In fact, all you need is your room key to pay for anything on the property, including in the Marina. All charges will be due at checkout.

We went to Dolphin Cay and swam with the dolphins. The snorkle that is provided, is your to keep. The kids used their's at the beach later. I enjoyed watching the show and my kids have such a great time. The picture packages available after the show are expensive, but they are really done well.

Kids get 2 free rock climbs per day and the staff is great there, too.

We took the snuba/snorkle trip by boat. Another activity that was fun for all. The staff was engaging and helpful. The sea life was amazing to watch. The trip lasts for aver 2 hours, so bringing a snack and sweatshirt are a good idea. Water and towels are complimentary, a wetsuit is $10.

I used the health club a couple times. I was disappointed that to use the facility was an extra cost. At the health club, complimentary water, apples, and head phones are offered. The facility has all the machines you'd expect. This is the only place on the property that I encountered staff that didn't look like they enjoyed their job and made you feel as though you were bothering them.

The beach directly in front of the Royal Towers is an experience. The locals selling jet ski rides, para sailing and boat rides are particularly aggressive. They start calling to you the minute they see you coming - that's before you even step foot on the beach. I saw a couple locals get in a fist fight over a potential customer, which was scary and offensive. I later read in the hotel guide that Atlantis is not affiliated in any way with the beach vendors. Atlantis recommends not renting a jetski, boat or parasail because they do not carry proper insurance, if any at all. After witnessing their buiness practices, this information made sense.

The locals selling jewelry and hair braiding are less aggressive, but will call you over right away. My daughter wanted her hair braided and I was surprised at the initial price quote. Working out a price that everyone is happy with is the way to go.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was so much to do on property that during the 4 nights/5 days we were at Atlantis, we never left the property. If we had been there longer, I would have ventured out to downtown Nassau to shop and gone to the park where locals were selling fresh Bahamian food.

Other Comments:
Atlantis provides a spectacular vacation experience. If you are looking to build lasting family memories, this is the place. This vacation is very expensive, but we are so glad we went!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Run Down and dirty"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  William  on Feb 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
232 people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at the Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas hotel in July of 2011, what a huge mistake we made in going to this rundown, poorly maintained, filthy place. Everything seemed nice when we checked in [note: the time share people waste no time while your trapped on line trying to check into your room] we were early so our bags went some wear and we headed out to the beach for lunch. On the way we found the changing room in a cave area that smell like foot and vomit . we proceeded to eat and walk around to see the place [ we were in the beach tower area] the complex is impressive until my son 16 said “ they are really making the place look like the lost city of Atlantis from thousands of years ago “ I said “ what do you mean” he said there is metal rods sticking out of the rock and the place looks like it is falling down” and I looked at the built in game table in the rock and it was falling apart like many of the other parts of the hotel.
We got to our room and it was filthy but my wife always brings Lysol wipe so after a little cleaning we could unpack. During our stay we also found that if you stay at the beach tower you are treated differently for restaurant reservations and by the staff and that front desk in the tower does not provide any services you have to walk 10 minutes to the next towers lobby to get change or any thing. The maid berated me and my family for leaving the room too late when we came back at 3:30pm and found her sitting in our room reading our time magazine [ she never did clean the room that day] and another day she berated us when we returned to the room after breakfast, she got so mad she left her cleaning stuff in the room if you can call two wet filthy rags cleaning supplies. The room was rarely cleaned and always smelled.
During our stay we took advantage of the pools and water park area, the pool areas are also falling apart and have garbage floating in them that never seems to get removed and the life guards that sit in there chairs and sleep half the time, leaving you with the feeling its not safe to let my young children swim on there own in the pools [ so know rest for the parents while at the pools. The water park is nice but you have to wait in long lines because the hotel sells passes to people from outside the hotel [ cruise ships ]. Note use the cruise ship bathroom near the water park, they are better maintained and cleaner then to one the hotel provides for the hotel guest [which except for the newer hotels are dirty and smell. It appears to me that the beach, Coral and royal Towers are not being maintained and that all of the effort focuses the new building.

Rooms:
The restaurants we had two very bad experiences, we attempted to eat at Fathoms one night and the food was infested with little black flies [on anything that was cold]. When I said something to the wait person she smiled and walked away 3 times, until I just gave up. Then we ate at the buffet in the Royal towers , which look very nice, my wife and son had the stir-fry. That night and all of the next day [ that we were traveling home] my wife and son were sick so much so the my son ended up in the hospital after passing out from dehydration and hitting his head. I think it is how they handle the raw meats [pork, beef, chicken and shrimp] with the same utensils they serve the cooked food with on the cooking surface, they empty the raw food onto the cook top with the utensils, then move it around pressing down on it then they use the same tools to pickup the cooked food and put it on your plate [moving straight from the raw meat to the cooked food] . My son spent two nights in the hospital before he could go home [because he hit his head when he fell ]. One additional thing they advertized that children eat free and I asked the first meal the person said they will take it off at the end before I get the bill but they didn’t do that and with my wife and son vomiting in the hotel lobby bathroom I didn’t have time to deal with it at the hotel.
In closing we have been to this hotel three times it has gotten so bad I would never stay in this hotel again, the staff berates you and lies to you to your face, the hotel and grounds are so rundown that it is unsafe and uncomfortable, there is a cleanliness problem in the rooms ,building, ground and especially the restaurants. The pool staff sleeps on the job or is trying to meet girl/guys [ socializing ]so much so that you can’t even feel that the pools are safe. I am contacting a lawyer about the food poisoning that my wife and son had as well as the Bahamas health ministry. The hotel is rundown physically and the staff does not behave in a professional manner.
I contacted the hotel and wasted more time.

Restaurants and Bars:
filthy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
run down and filthy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
to many people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A brilliant, spectacular, and wonderful experience altogether."

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Caitlyn  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
308 people found this review helpful

I visited Atlantis actually in Oct 2009 and am going back this coming Oct. I personally feel insulted by the snobby, wealthy persons reviews about how "expensive the restaurants were, how the workers were uncaring and disrespectful, and how the hotel rooms smelled." I live in a resort community at home, and for anyone's information who is thinking about visiting Atlantis, or any other vacation resort, you need to know that resorts rip people off. That's just the way it is. That is how resorts make money, and they are allowed to do that because if it was cheap everyone could afford to go and they would be overswamped with vacationers. EVERY resort is expensive, so get used to it. The first time I visited Atlantis I felt so at home, walking down the sidewalk or the harbor or the marina village, and when I returned home after my trip I felt homesick to go BACK. Yes, the food is expensive, but it is a vacation. The food is expensive in Disney World, too. The dolphins in Dolphin Cay are some of the nicest animals I have ever had the opportunity to see. They are also rescued dolphins from Hurricane Katrina. I stayed at the Comfort Suites, a five minute walk to Atlantis, and it was a wonderful stay (especially considering it was the cheapest hotel). We had hotel maids come into the room everyday to clean, while we were out adventuring, so that they would not disturb us. The water pressure in the bathroom was great, and the TV had many channels. I am also a freelance writer, and when I had an article due over the stay of my vacation, the hotel accommodated me with their personal computer in their offices without charge so that I could send it in to my editor on time. They were overly and genuinely kind and I couldn't thank them enough. The activities are endless, and at the Harborside Suites they had a movie night for kids which I attended with my family. There is such a broad range of activities so that you will never get bored. Also on my stay, I had to take the SATs in order to stay caught up with my school at home. I had a very nice woman who drives taxis in the Bahamas (who is also a local), and she was my taxi driver from the airport to the resort, and vice versa, and also to the school and back to the resort. We also went out of Paradise Island and went shopping elsewhere in the Bahamas. She was a kind woman who DID NOT rip us off, she actually gave us very good deals, therefore leading us to tip her in the amount that she would have gotten had she "ripped us off." She drove me out of the resort to a local Bahamian high school where I then took the SATs with other students. There is so much more to be said about this resort, but sadly there is not enough time or character space to continue. Please take my word, this is an experience that you would NOT want to miss. Give it a shot, Atlantis is always having special offers so the trip doesn't have to be thousands. If you do not enjoy it, then at least you can say you tried it out.

Room Number:
n/a

Room Block:
n/a

Arrival:
Arrived in the afternoon, hotel was extremely accommodating with getting us set up in our room.

Rooms:
Tidy, clean, neat, decorated accordingly, felt at home, very safe, unbelievably kind and generous staff members.

Restaurants and Bars:
Many, many to choose from. Some expensive, some not, it's your choice what you want to eat. Loads of choices, from vegetarians to the meat lovers.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
So many pools and beaches! If one beach or pool is too crowded for your liking, there are plenty more to choose from, and you WILL find another spot that you will be comfortable at. There is always space.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Movie nights, concerts (Jordin Sparks was performing while I was there), music nights, casino, nightclubs, lounges, movie theatre, comedian theatre, so much more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of the poor service at Atlantis"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
354 people found this review helpful

Beware as this resort is four seasons prices but holiday inn service. we paid $22k for this vacation and could not believe how bad the service was. the staff is friendly but confused and cannot fix any issues, and they were many! we booked the transport for $60 each way. we waited over 1 hr for other families, and 1/2 way to the hotel the tured around to pick up other passangers! cabs are $40 and private. we asked for roll away beds but waited 2 days to get them. the pull out was dirty, stained, smelly (pee) and not useable. i dragged a manager to the room and asked him to sit on the bed. he would not from the smell. never fixed this but finally got the beds. this was a suite, but service was aweful as cleaning was at 9PM when we were putting the kids to bed so out of 7 days room was only clean 4x. the restuarants were worse. poorly managed, 3 hrs late from reservations, and service was so bad that the kids fell asleep at the table. we paid $300 for diner on the meal plan that we never got becuse we left before the food came.

Room Number:
coral towers

Room Block:
4th floor

Arrival:
check in was a disaster. no pre=packs, confused, and the hotel is not affiliated with the adventures that are onl open 10-4. unless you ask you dont get your dinner reservations. waited on line over 30 min.

Rooms:
smelly, pull out was a mess, not ready with 2 roll away beds. the manager came to the door with welcome nuts but we did not want nuts we wnated beds so the kids can go to bed!

Restaurants and Bars:
except for Bobby Flays the rest were expensive, poor serivce and mediocre food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, clean and well groomed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
expensive but nice.

Other Comments:
other options are better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"rude staff and management. not given what was promised"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
373 people found this review helpful

Our family has traveled extensively and we found that most of the hotel employees to be rude. There was an emergency and we needed a guest to be paged. They put us on hold for 45 min and never returned to the line after we repeated called the fron desk. They said they had other things to do. We specifically asked when booking the hotel that we had a child who was turning 18 in 1 week and another child who turned 18 2 weeks ago (bothe girls) and we wanted them both to go to the same club - crush for 13 to 17 year olds. They said not a problem. When we arrive they said the 18 year old had to go the alcoholic bar and the 17 yr old had to stay at the crush. We said they were not to be left alone because it was not safe and their words were "tough luck" REALLY!! A hotel saying something like that? We asked to speak to a manager and they said the managers do not speak to guests and we explained the situation, we were told someone would get back to us but nobody did. The hotel is pretty and their is things to do but it was very disappointing for the money and when arriving back home I found out from others that they had bad experiences there too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A honeymoon disaster"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Feb 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
358 people found this review helpful

We were very disappointed in our week long stay at the Royal Towers a year ago. We were excited to spend our honeymoon there, but we were greatly disappointed in our stay. The trip cost in excess of $8000.00. Three days were preoccupied by 3500 Asians from Herbal life which consumed most of the outdoor facilities that we wanted to use. You were kind of enough to offer us an upgrade to the imperial status, but then our room offered on the imperial level was overwhelmed by a terrible odor due to some harsh cleaning chemicals for three days making even our 'sanctuary' room unpleasant.
Most of the meals on the gourmet meal plan which we paid for in advance, were terrible and some were not even included though stated in your ads, which we found out only on the night of our arrival. Yes, you comped us for those meals, but it was again a shock and a disappointment we didn't need or want for our once in a lifetime excursion. We expected to be able to dance at one of your advertised clubs, but learned the only club offering dancing was for teens, a disco, but none for the adults! You spoke of live jazz bars where I could listen to live jazz music, again non existent! This was another disappointment for us/me. I feel we did not get our money's worth for what was promised and for all the hype for this resort. We have informed our friends not to come there as it is too commercialized, pricey and not the kind of quality we were / they are expecting.

Room Number:
17th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The main feeling we returned with was "rip-off""

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  KarenCNewJersey  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
398 people found this review helpful

My husband, 14-year old son and I recently returned from a one-week trip to the Atlantis. We were very excited about this trip, having extensively gone through their website. Unfortunately, the main feeling we returned with was "rip-off".
The ground are indeed spectacular, and I have never seen anything to compare with them. The walk-through aquariums are fascinating, as are the various lagoons with sharks, mantas and other large sea creatures. The pools are beautiful, and there are so many from which to choose. Each chaise lounge is equipped with a movable awning, so you can choose whether to sunbathe or stay in the shade. However, the beach is mediocre - it's relatively small, and there is neither shade nor any pretty palapas, etc., as you find in Punta Cana. The water was rough (the red flags were up most of the days we were there).

Arrival:
My husband, 14-year old son and I recently returned from a one-week trip to the Atlantis. We were very excited about this trip, having extensively gone through their website. Unfortunately, the main feeling we returned with was "rip-off".

The ground are indeed spectacular, and I have never seen anything to compare with them. The walk-through aquariums are fascinating, as are the various lagoons with sharks, mantas and other large sea creatures. The pools are beautiful, and there are so many from which to choose. Each chaise lounge is equipped with a movable awning, so you can choose whether to sunbathe or stay in the shade. However, the beach is mediocre - it's relatively small, and there is neither shade nor any pretty palapas, etc., as you find in Punta Cana. The water was rough (the red flags were up most of the days we were there).

The resort has several different buildings, which are all connected. We stayed in the Coral Towers, which is a step down from the Royal Towers, but an upgrade from the Beach Tower, which is pretty far from everything. There's also the Cove, which is the highest level, very, very expensive.

Check in was pretty efficient, although our room wasn't available when we got there around 3 PM. So, we went to Murray's Deli for some lunch. Our first glimpse of the high prices was here, where a modest lunch for the three of us ran about $75.

Room:
OK. So, we get to our room. Our room was $670/night (no kidding; it may have been higher than usual because it was Easter week). The room was not large, and it had two double beds (not queen size), 2 chairs, a small round table, an armoire/TV/room minibar frig and a nightstand. I have been in Holiday Inns that provided larger, more comfortable rooms. There was a small balcony with 2 chairs, and the view was beautiful in one direction. The closet did have a lot of nice wooden hangars. The bathroom was pretty standard; it had a blow dryer, but did not have a magnifying mirror. Overall, the room was disappointing.

Casino:
My husband gambled a lot, but he didn't get comped - you have to bet $50/hand on average to get comped. The casino was very clean, and though they allowed smoking, it didn't get smoky. One odd thing was that the high-bet tables ($500/hand) were out in the open (not that we were playing them!).

Food:
The food was, in general, astronomically priced, and I heard many, many people complaining/ commenting on it. I understand food prices are up and they have to import everything, but this was ridiculous. For example, the breakfast buffets cost $86 for the three of us. We often went to some little shops across the street for breakfast, and a few dinners too. (Anthony's and Gio something both had good food at more reasonable prices). We did have one fantastic meal at Carmines; we go to one of the New York City Carmines, and the one at the Atlantis was very similar to the original. A major disappointment was the Seafire Steakhouse. We have been in Ruths Chris, Mortons and Ben Benson's steakhouses, so we have a basis of comparison. The Seafire not only cost about $70 more, but the steak quality was comparable to Outback. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were made from instant powdered potatoes. (The ambience at least was beautiful).

Water Park:
The water park was good. They do have the Current, which is a mile-long lazy river, except it's not lazy. Picture a lazy river combined with a Roaring Rapids ride and a wave pool, and that's what you get - it was the best part of the whole hotel, and just so much fun! Although the place was mobbed, we never had a problem getting a tube, and the staff was wonderful and helpful. The slides are great if you don't mind waiting; it took about an hour to get on one of the slides at Power Tower. It really was a great slide, but not worth the wait.

Overall:
Overall, I would never go back to the Atlantis. You just don't get your money's worth. The best way to see it is to get a day pass from a cruise ship. I would much rather go back to the Sol Melina in Punta Cana, which has spacious rooms, good food, gorgeous beach and is all inclusive - a far better value for the money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube