Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Atlantis Royal Towers reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Columbus Isle

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2007

Paradise Island Harbor Resort

3.1 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2013

Atlantis Royal Towers  

New Providence Island

"great!"
Posted by: Tara  on Apr 26, 2014
see all reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews
Atlantis Royal Towers Pictures and Information
Atlantis Royal Towers Bahamas Bahamas

#2
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 2.8

Based on 19 reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Information


Inspired by the splendor of ancient Atlantis, this striking beachfront Paradise Island resort allows travelers to dip into a fantasy world overflowing with opportunities for adventure, entertainment and relaxation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 2.8 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  3
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"And after 2 days, I had had enough"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:   on Aug 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2005 | Leisure | With Group
322 people found this review helpful

Well, what can i say - if money is no object and you like thinking that you are one of the rich and famous, this resort is for you - but if like me, you want your moneys worth stay away!!!!! We travelled with our married son and grandchild, so we stayed at the Harborside (time share) part of the resort - which i highly recommend if you are with children - room for them to run around and there is transportation to the main resort. The place is beautiful and there is lots to see - however.... how many pools can you swim in at one time???? My advice - stay at the nearby comfort inn - they give you breakfast and you have priviledges at the atlantis, or stay at an even more reasonable resort and get a day pass for the atlantis. For the price of this vacation, we could have taken 2 at punta cana, or cancun
I agree that the ocean water in the bahamas is the most beautiful - better than bermuda, dominican republic and hawaii BUT the beach itself is not
No matter which pool/beach you went to, unless you were up at 6am and/or "schmoozed" the pool boys, you did not get a chair and of all the chairs, only about 1/4 of them have shaded tops. As for the people being friendly and helpful, PLEASE there is a 15% gratuity tacked on to everything so there is no reason for them to be nice, friendly etc. Not that they were rude - just that no one went out of their way to be helpful. We went for a week, and after 2 days, i had had enough. I know people will say that i could have gone off premises but with an infant and a pregnant daughter in law it wasnt that easy. Unless you are prepared for a lot of walking and shelling out of money - find another place to visit. I for one will never go back here UNLESS, i can get a spectacular deal - they did have one but i found it too late - $99/night in the beach tower - which i personally think is the best place to stay - the pool is right there along with the beach and the buffet restaurant. Hope this helps - feel free to contact me at trtl29@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Atlantis resort staff was rude"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  BMcCameron  on May 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2004 | Leisure | With Group
231 people found this review helpful

I went to the Atlantis with about 20 people for a wedding last July. This was by far the worst resort I have ever been to. I am not a world traveler but have been to Negril and Ocho Rios Jamaica several times. Upon arriving at the resort, 6 of the people we were with didn't have rooms (they were paid in full prior to us ever arriving). The Atlantis resort staff was rude and unwilling to accommodate the simplest of requests. We lost power in our rooms numerous times (at least 10), for extended periods. When we went I believe it was the off season and ½ of the resort was not accessible to us. If you would ask a staff member a question they looked at you like you were from Mars if they even acknowledged you at all. If I am writing this to give others a honest review of the resort... I would say that the outside structure of the hotel and some of the aquarium setups are very pretty and well designed. However, the total lack of respect for the guests by the staff totally counteracts the experience. We all work way too hard to be able to go on these vacations. Don't waste your vacation or your money on the Atlantis at Paradise Island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sick, May 2013"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on May 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | Family and Kids
355 people found this review helpful

After our visit at the Atlantis I have been to a Dr. 3 times trying to get rid of an intestinal bug. I became sick the 2 day of our trip. Our suspicions are with the water system and some type of bug like cryptosporidium or c-diff. Also concerns about food preparation and possible contaminated food from poor serving conditions...eggs pooled on the omelet table at room temperature. Foods served at a private dinner not kept hot. Wouldn't go back for anything!

Room Number:
10523

Rooms:
? as to whether our room was clean when we arrived. Black sludge in toilet last day of stay...toilet would not flush.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food Safety Violations.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
May not be maintained properly and spreading infection

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of the poor service at Atlantis"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  diane  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
606 people found this review helpful

Beware as this resort is four seasons prices but holiday inn service. we paid $22k for this vacation and could not believe how bad the service was. the staff is friendly but confused and cannot fix any issues, and they were many! we booked the transport for $60 each way. we waited over 1 hr for other families, and 1/2 way to the hotel the tured around to pick up other passangers! cabs are $40 and private. we asked for roll away beds but waited 2 days to get them. the pull out was dirty, stained, smelly (pee) and not useable. i dragged a manager to the room and asked him to sit on the bed. he would not from the smell. never fixed this but finally got the beds. this was a suite, but service was aweful as cleaning was at 9PM when we were putting the kids to bed so out of 7 days room was only clean 4x. the restuarants were worse. poorly managed, 3 hrs late from reservations, and service was so bad that the kids fell asleep at the table. we paid $300 for diner on the meal plan that we never got becuse we left before the food came.

Room Number:
coral towers

Room Block:
4th floor

Arrival:
check in was a disaster. no pre=packs, confused, and the hotel is not affiliated with the adventures that are onl open 10-4. unless you ask you dont get your dinner reservations. waited on line over 30 min.

Rooms:
smelly, pull out was a mess, not ready with 2 roll away beds. the manager came to the door with welcome nuts but we did not want nuts we wnated beds so the kids can go to bed!

Restaurants and Bars:
except for Bobby Flays the rest were expensive, poor serivce and mediocre food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very nice, clean and well groomed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
expensive but nice.

Other Comments:
other options are better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My father and husband got food poisoning"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  JaimeCanada  on Mar 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2004 | Leisure | With Group
232 people found this review helpful

I have been to Atlantis twice before and loved it! Yes, our rooms were never ready and you could never check out late, but we rolled with the punches. Until this time. Time #3. My father and husband got food poisoning from Murry's deli on our last night. We went to the resort Doctor, who diagnosed them with food poisoning and gave them prescriptions. We missed our flight and have a Dr note for insurance purposes. While they were at the DR and I was watching my 9 month old son, i received a phone call telling us they are over-booked and we need to check out. They had found us the last 2 rooms in Nassau at a 2 star hostel down the road. They wouldn't even let us stay in our rooms. We faught. We got our rooms back (after over-hearing they were going to give 4 over-booked villa's to the man beside me who was a high roller in the casino). Nobody called to check if we were well or even comfortable. We had to pay for our rooms FULL PRICE and any other expenses we had. We never recieved a cot we requested on day 1. BOTH our TV's were broken and had to be replaced, our shower didn't work and we were charged for stuff out of the mini bar and we didn't use it. The book said internet was $.05 a minute, we got a 3 minute charge of $6.00. We were told they upped our prices to $.50. They said they would refund us and never did! My baby threw up all over the crib one night, so I asked for an extra sheet...I saw it 2 days later. When we filed our security report for the food posoning, we asked for a copy...we had to go down 2 days later and fight for it. The service SUCKS!! I would much rather go elsewhere. The pools were FREEZING and half of the slot machines didn't work. Sounds fun huh? We are still in the process of fighting for our rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The main feeling we returned with was "rip-off""

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  KarenCNewJersey  on Apr 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
658 people found this review helpful

My husband, 14-year old son and I recently returned from a one-week trip to the Atlantis. We were very excited about this trip, having extensively gone through their website. Unfortunately, the main feeling we returned with was "rip-off".
The ground are indeed spectacular, and I have never seen anything to compare with them. The walk-through aquariums are fascinating, as are the various lagoons with sharks, mantas and other large sea creatures. The pools are beautiful, and there are so many from which to choose. Each chaise lounge is equipped with a movable awning, so you can choose whether to sunbathe or stay in the shade. However, the beach is mediocre - it's relatively small, and there is neither shade nor any pretty palapas, etc., as you find in Punta Cana. The water was rough (the red flags were up most of the days we were there).

Arrival:
My husband, 14-year old son and I recently returned from a one-week trip to the Atlantis. We were very excited about this trip, having extensively gone through their website. Unfortunately, the main feeling we returned with was "rip-off".

The ground are indeed spectacular, and I have never seen anything to compare with them. The walk-through aquariums are fascinating, as are the various lagoons with sharks, mantas and other large sea creatures. The pools are beautiful, and there are so many from which to choose. Each chaise lounge is equipped with a movable awning, so you can choose whether to sunbathe or stay in the shade. However, the beach is mediocre - it's relatively small, and there is neither shade nor any pretty palapas, etc., as you find in Punta Cana. The water was rough (the red flags were up most of the days we were there).

The resort has several different buildings, which are all connected. We stayed in the Coral Towers, which is a step down from the Royal Towers, but an upgrade from the Beach Tower, which is pretty far from everything. There's also the Cove, which is the highest level, very, very expensive.

Check in was pretty efficient, although our room wasn't available when we got there around 3 PM. So, we went to Murray's Deli for some lunch. Our first glimpse of the high prices was here, where a modest lunch for the three of us ran about $75.

Room:
OK. So, we get to our room. Our room was $670/night (no kidding; it may have been higher than usual because it was Easter week). The room was not large, and it had two double beds (not queen size), 2 chairs, a small round table, an armoire/TV/room minibar frig and a nightstand. I have been in Holiday Inns that provided larger, more comfortable rooms. There was a small balcony with 2 chairs, and the view was beautiful in one direction. The closet did have a lot of nice wooden hangars. The bathroom was pretty standard; it had a blow dryer, but did not have a magnifying mirror. Overall, the room was disappointing.

Casino:
My husband gambled a lot, but he didn't get comped - you have to bet $50/hand on average to get comped. The casino was very clean, and though they allowed smoking, it didn't get smoky. One odd thing was that the high-bet tables ($500/hand) were out in the open (not that we were playing them!).

Food:
The food was, in general, astronomically priced, and I heard many, many people complaining/ commenting on it. I understand food prices are up and they have to import everything, but this was ridiculous. For example, the breakfast buffets cost $86 for the three of us. We often went to some little shops across the street for breakfast, and a few dinners too. (Anthony's and Gio something both had good food at more reasonable prices). We did have one fantastic meal at Carmines; we go to one of the New York City Carmines, and the one at the Atlantis was very similar to the original. A major disappointment was the Seafire Steakhouse. We have been in Ruths Chris, Mortons and Ben Benson's steakhouses, so we have a basis of comparison. The Seafire not only cost about $70 more, but the steak quality was comparable to Outback. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were made from instant powdered potatoes. (The ambience at least was beautiful).

Water Park:
The water park was good. They do have the Current, which is a mile-long lazy river, except it's not lazy. Picture a lazy river combined with a Roaring Rapids ride and a wave pool, and that's what you get - it was the best part of the whole hotel, and just so much fun! Although the place was mobbed, we never had a problem getting a tube, and the staff was wonderful and helpful. The slides are great if you don't mind waiting; it took about an hour to get on one of the slides at Power Tower. It really was a great slide, but not worth the wait.

Overall:
Overall, I would never go back to the Atlantis. You just don't get your money's worth. The best way to see it is to get a day pass from a cruise ship. I would much rather go back to the Sol Melina in Punta Cana, which has spacious rooms, good food, gorgeous beach and is all inclusive - a far better value for the money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"rude staff and management. not given what was promised"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Feb 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
632 people found this review helpful

Our family has traveled extensively and we found that most of the hotel employees to be rude. There was an emergency and we needed a guest to be paged. They put us on hold for 45 min and never returned to the line after we repeated called the fron desk. They said they had other things to do. We specifically asked when booking the hotel that we had a child who was turning 18 in 1 week and another child who turned 18 2 weeks ago (bothe girls) and we wanted them both to go to the same club - crush for 13 to 17 year olds. They said not a problem. When we arrive they said the 18 year old had to go the alcoholic bar and the 17 yr old had to stay at the crush. We said they were not to be left alone because it was not safe and their words were "tough luck" REALLY!! A hotel saying something like that? We asked to speak to a manager and they said the managers do not speak to guests and we explained the situation, we were told someone would get back to us but nobody did. The hotel is pretty and their is things to do but it was very disappointing for the money and when arriving back home I found out from others that they had bad experiences there too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A honeymoon disaster"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Feb 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
606 people found this review helpful

We were very disappointed in our week long stay at the Royal Towers a year ago. We were excited to spend our honeymoon there, but we were greatly disappointed in our stay. The trip cost in excess of $8000.00. Three days were preoccupied by 3500 Asians from Herbal life which consumed most of the outdoor facilities that we wanted to use. You were kind of enough to offer us an upgrade to the imperial status, but then our room offered on the imperial level was overwhelmed by a terrible odor due to some harsh cleaning chemicals for three days making even our 'sanctuary' room unpleasant.
Most of the meals on the gourmet meal plan which we paid for in advance, were terrible and some were not even included though stated in your ads, which we found out only on the night of our arrival. Yes, you comped us for those meals, but it was again a shock and a disappointment we didn't need or want for our once in a lifetime excursion. We expected to be able to dance at one of your advertised clubs, but learned the only club offering dancing was for teens, a disco, but none for the adults! You spoke of live jazz bars where I could listen to live jazz music, again non existent! This was another disappointment for us/me. I feel we did not get our money's worth for what was promised and for all the hype for this resort. We have informed our friends not to come there as it is too commercialized, pricey and not the kind of quality we were / they are expecting.

Room Number:
17th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Run Down and dirty"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  William  on Feb 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
478 people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at the Atlantis Paradise Island Bahamas hotel in July of 2011, what a huge mistake we made in going to this rundown, poorly maintained, filthy place. Everything seemed nice when we checked in [note: the time share people waste no time while your trapped on line trying to check into your room] we were early so our bags went some wear and we headed out to the beach for lunch. On the way we found the changing room in a cave area that smell like foot and vomit . we proceeded to eat and walk around to see the place [ we were in the beach tower area] the complex is impressive until my son 16 said “ they are really making the place look like the lost city of Atlantis from thousands of years ago “ I said “ what do you mean” he said there is metal rods sticking out of the rock and the place looks like it is falling down” and I looked at the built in game table in the rock and it was falling apart like many of the other parts of the hotel.
We got to our room and it was filthy but my wife always brings Lysol wipe so after a little cleaning we could unpack. During our stay we also found that if you stay at the beach tower you are treated differently for restaurant reservations and by the staff and that front desk in the tower does not provide any services you have to walk 10 minutes to the next towers lobby to get change or any thing. The maid berated me and my family for leaving the room too late when we came back at 3:30pm and found her sitting in our room reading our time magazine [ she never did clean the room that day] and another day she berated us when we returned to the room after breakfast, she got so mad she left her cleaning stuff in the room if you can call two wet filthy rags cleaning supplies. The room was rarely cleaned and always smelled.
During our stay we took advantage of the pools and water park area, the pool areas are also falling apart and have garbage floating in them that never seems to get removed and the life guards that sit in there chairs and sleep half the time, leaving you with the feeling its not safe to let my young children swim on there own in the pools [ so know rest for the parents while at the pools. The water park is nice but you have to wait in long lines because the hotel sells passes to people from outside the hotel [ cruise ships ]. Note use the cruise ship bathroom near the water park, they are better maintained and cleaner then to one the hotel provides for the hotel guest [which except for the newer hotels are dirty and smell. It appears to me that the beach, Coral and royal Towers are not being maintained and that all of the effort focuses the new building.

Rooms:
The restaurants we had two very bad experiences, we attempted to eat at Fathoms one night and the food was infested with little black flies [on anything that was cold]. When I said something to the wait person she smiled and walked away 3 times, until I just gave up. Then we ate at the buffet in the Royal towers , which look very nice, my wife and son had the stir-fry. That night and all of the next day [ that we were traveling home] my wife and son were sick so much so the my son ended up in the hospital after passing out from dehydration and hitting his head. I think it is how they handle the raw meats [pork, beef, chicken and shrimp] with the same utensils they serve the cooked food with on the cooking surface, they empty the raw food onto the cook top with the utensils, then move it around pressing down on it then they use the same tools to pickup the cooked food and put it on your plate [moving straight from the raw meat to the cooked food] . My son spent two nights in the hospital before he could go home [because he hit his head when he fell ]. One additional thing they advertized that children eat free and I asked the first meal the person said they will take it off at the end before I get the bill but they didn’t do that and with my wife and son vomiting in the hotel lobby bathroom I didn’t have time to deal with it at the hotel.
In closing we have been to this hotel three times it has gotten so bad I would never stay in this hotel again, the staff berates you and lies to you to your face, the hotel and grounds are so rundown that it is unsafe and uncomfortable, there is a cleanliness problem in the rooms ,building, ground and especially the restaurants. The pool staff sleeps on the job or is trying to meet girl/guys [ socializing ]so much so that you can’t even feel that the pools are safe. I am contacting a lawyer about the food poisoning that my wife and son had as well as the Bahamas health ministry. The hotel is rundown physically and the staff does not behave in a professional manner.
I contacted the hotel and wasted more time.

Restaurants and Bars:
filthy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
run down and filthy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
to many people

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The grounds and pools look great at first glance."

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  ScottDiannaCanada  on Oct 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

First I would like say that I booked this trip at very reduced price of $479.
The flight from Toronto with Canjet was fine going down but 11/2 hours late on the return. These planes are putting more and more seats in their planes every year, and they don't offer first class seating.
Upon arriving at Atlantis we found that our rooms would be about 1 hour till ready(3:30pm). Once we got our room key we waited 1 hour for our luggage to get to our room.

Positives: The grounds and pools look great at first glance. The buffets were a good price and value. We went on the Island World Adventure and it was the best trip we have ever been on, worth every penny and then some. Beds were good and the rooms clean.

Negatives: The staff at the hotel are fall short of a 5 star rating. I think this is because there is a 15% gratuity included on all food and drinks (they don't have to work for their money) The staff do the bare minimum and smiles are rare. The grounds while nice were dirty and to large with a 20 minute walk from one side to the other. The pools only open from 9am to 7pm. as does the beach. This was a pain as we really enjoy morning and evening swims. The water slide closed at 7 pm as well. We arrived at 6:45pm one night and were told that we couldn't go on. When we questioned the life guard he said he needed tome to clean up. The beach was closed each day because the life guard said it was to rough to swim, but the next hotel was open to swim as was the public beach next door. After 3 days of this myself and a couple of other angry people just went swimming anyway. The lifeguard said he was going to call the authorities but when the manager came down to the beach we told him how we felt and he told the guards to let us go.( they don't own the beach). Over 1/2 of the restaurants were closed for the week, this was a problem as the ones that they close are the lowest priced ones.

We were also asked to go to a time share information session every time we passed in the lobby, they just won't leave you alone.

All in all it was nice to get away, but we will not go back to Atlantis again for any price!!! We take 2 trips per year all over but this one is off our list. Go to Cuba or Costa Rica and learn what good service is really like, these place truly value you as a customer and are very egger to please.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube