Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Atlantis Royal Towers reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Columbus Isle

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2007

Paradise Island Harbor Resort

3.1 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2013

Atlantis Royal Towers  

New Providence Island

"great!"
Posted by: Tara  on Apr 26, 2014
see all reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews
Atlantis Royal Towers Pictures and Information
Atlantis Royal Towers Bahamas Bahamas

#2
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 2.8

Based on 19 reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Information


Inspired by the splendor of ancient Atlantis, this striking beachfront Paradise Island resort allows travelers to dip into a fantasy world overflowing with opportunities for adventure, entertainment and relaxation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Atlantis Royal Towers Reviews

Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 2.8 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  3
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"All I can say is we will not be back"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Apr 1, 2003  >  2 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
249 people found this review helpful

My wife and 10 year old daughter and I just returned from a week's stay at the Atlantis on Paradise Island in the Bahamas. We were there from 4/13/03 to 4/19/03. Where do I start without sounding like Jack Lemmon in "The Out of Towners"?

The hotel:
First, the hotel. Our only choice when we booked was the Beach tower. The other choices are the Coral tower and Royal tower. Our room was spacious and clean. The view of the ocean was nice except for the fact that our entire side of the tower overlooked an ugly rooftop and the service and pool area of the Sheraton next door. You see nothing of the place you are visiting. This building was originally built in 1967 and short of lobby renovations and hallways downstairs it looks as if not much has ever been done since then. Be careful of the balconies. There so small you can lose a child.

During our stay one of only three elevators worked for 3 of the 7 days we were there. The second finally was fixed and the third is still probably out of order. There didn't seem to be any great desire to fix the problem by staff. So plan on walking up stairs or make sure you get a low floor. When we were dropped off by the pre-arranged airport transfer company, Dan Knowles, we were deposited at the Coral tower lobby where we were told to check in. Then a five minute walk through crowds to our building the Beach tower. Apparently, the Beach tower doesn't even warrant it's own check in staff even though it must have in the past since the facility is set up for it. I got the feeling that the Beach tower is the poor stepchild of Atlantis. A clear example of this was that all convention facilities seemed located there to handle the groups that like to throw water balloons out the windows and such. There is only one restaurant in the tower and it only serves buffet. All of the other nicer restaurants are either in the Coral or Royal towers. Now lets talk about the meals.

My travel agent suggested that due to the typically expensive meals, it may make sense to buy the Gourmet food plan for my family. I was told that this permitted one to dine in any of the restaurants (although some had specific dollar limits which if exceeded we were responsible for the excess) for all the meals. The cost was $80 per person per day and $40 for a child. So we bought the Gourmet package for the week. ( you have to buy it for your entire stay, not just a few days). Don't do it.

First, unless you make reservations at least 2 to 3 weeks before your arrive, you will be shut out of every restaurant except the buffets. That happened to us. We paid $200 per day to eat at buffets and this does not include any alcohol. (A beer is $6.50, glass of wine is $11.00 A bottle of Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio sells retail for $18 in CT. Here it is $53.) Second, the Gourmet plan does not include lunch. That will run you an additional $45-55 per day for 2 adults and one 10 year old child. And for that we got to stand in lines for up to 15 minutes just for a hambuger, fries, and a water. And we chose to eat at the Cave Bar Grill out at the pool. If you decide to go to a sit down place for lunch, plan on a 45 minute wait and a $60 tab in a very noisy and crowded venue.

The buffets:
Third, the buffets. While these clearly provide value, they don't if you bought the goumet plan. Of the two we visited, the Water's Edge in the Coral Tower is better. Its bigger and the food is better. The Seagrape in Beach tower (naturally) is noisy and people lined up for food, kids dropping plates of pasta, and in general, only good when shut out of any other place to eat. One avenue that will be suggested to you by the hotel when you complain as we did about being shut out of all the restaurants before we even arrived, is to speak to the concierge. They will tell you to just show up at a particular restaurant and hope for a cancellation. We did that but it only seemed to work after 8:30 or so and who wants to wander around with a child with such uncertainty. And like I said, if youre in Beach tower you will definitely be wandering around. But the reality is that even this tactic was unsuccessful for us on three of the four nights we tried it. What I find interesting is that if you make a resevation and don't show up, the hotel told us that they bill the party $50 per person for failing to show. So now the hotel never loses. As a gourmet plan participant, I show up, lacking a reservation, since all the restaurants were booked before I've even arrived, and if willing, will take the place of the diner who failed to show (and was charged $50) and now I cover that person's dinner.

Oh and if you order a bottle of wine, you will get very large traditional wine glasses. If you go cheap and just order by the glass, they will remove the large wine glass and serve you your single drink in a much smaller wine glass. This way, you will drink the bottled (read more expensive) wine more quickly. It's kind of like any casino- the odds are always in there favor. Now let's talk about the attractions. Much effort was made to integrate many species of marine life throughout the resort and they did it very creatively. For children and adults it's very interesting. Now if you could just eliminate about half of the people that are there, it would be tolerable. It seems that by 9am at any pool , every damn beach chair is "taken" by guests. I know people that told us that they get up at 7am and go out to the pool bringing their dirty towel from the day before (since the towel booths don't open until 9:30am) and stake out their chairs. According to the Pool Etiquette chapter in the in-room guide book, the reseving of chairs is not permitted. Yet the practice is so pervasive, you're forced to either lay on the cement or try your luck out on the beach, where you will almost certainly encounter the same problem. My wife sat on the cement near a pool watching our daughter swim for an hour next to an unoccupied chair that had a towel on it. Finally she sat on it. No sooner did she sit down when the reserving occupant, a rude, loud-mouthed woman ("probably from New York"- J. Lithgow, Terms of Endearment) confronted my wife and yelled at her to get off "her chair" and repeated this several times to those around her. My wife got up, explained that no one had been there for over an hour to which the woman responded that because she had her towel there, my wife was to have known to keep off her chair. Since I was scuba diving that morning I missed this confrontation but was given the blow-by-blow by my wife when I arrived in the afternoon. I then went over to the woman's husband (she was not there , of course) and told him what had happened. He simply said that they had had the chairs all morning by simply reserving them. I explained what I understood to be hotel policy regarding the prohibition of such reserving and he said go complain to the hotel. I did and was told that the hotel policy, does in fact prohibit the holding of chairs and that those that do will have their property removed and stored until claimed by the guest. I tell you this because what should be a time and place to relax is any thing but at the pools.

Pool and souveniers:
To top off the pool experience, all but the Beach tower pools close at 5:30pm. So if you thought about a nice relaxing swim at 6pm without the crowds, forget it. To make sure of this all the food places and outdoor spots to get a drink also shut down at 5:30pm as well as the towel huts. About the towels, you need to show your room key to get towels as well as your ID bracelet for each day that you are in the pool areas. Yet the rules state that if you fail to return a towel, your room will be charged $25 per towel. Given all the towels I saw laying around the pool and beach near the end of the day, either they are not enforcing the rules or they're making a hell of a lot of money with the fines. One last grating thing about the Atlantis experience is that apparently the hotel offers tours to outsiders. So in order to properly control the pools, you will be asked to produce your room key/identity tag by employees standing at the entrance areas all over the complex. This forces you to have to walk down to the towel huts and stand in line to be given the bracelet of the day or be constanly asked to prove you belong there.

Whatever you do, don't buy any souveniers of a local nature at the hotel. They are usually triple the street price. And the women that prowl the beach selling shirts and beads an necklaces are way over priced. If you must return with any of this kind of stuff, take the $3 boat shuttle across the harbor and go to the straw market and negotiate there. And even there, don't pay what they say. You can usually get even those vendors to cut the price by half.

Other beefs:
The Sports workout facility is almost a mile from the Beach tower so just going there will probably give you the workout you desire. The property is so large it remined me of EPCOT in Orlando. You will walk forever. The ONLY ATM machine on the property is in the casino between the Coral and Royal towers. What a coincidence. Of course, don't rely on them since they were frequently not working the week I was there. (You can go to the casino cashier as an alternative but you will need a photo ID in order to get money from a debit or credit card.)

You will hear some noise about the kids club, Rush. Ages 7 to 13 from 4:30pm to 7:30pm. Older kids from 14 to 17 later. No parents allowed other than to drop off (and pay the admission fee, of course) Judging by the way the second age group is dressed,(girls like hookers and boys like "Abercrombie Zombies"), there is justification for the sign on the front door of the club prohibiting "PDA" or public disaplay of affection including" dirty dancing, kissing, groping. How come they didn't have these places when I was a teenager.

I'm still on a roll. About the drinks. They love pushing the local drinks. All of which contain a lot of sugar. Every drink is portion controlled so be warned. At least you won't get drunk. Broke, but not intoxicated.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My father and husband got food poisoning"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  JaimeCanada  on Mar 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2004 | Leisure | With Group
232 people found this review helpful

I have been to Atlantis twice before and loved it! Yes, our rooms were never ready and you could never check out late, but we rolled with the punches. Until this time. Time #3. My father and husband got food poisoning from Murry's deli on our last night. We went to the resort Doctor, who diagnosed them with food poisoning and gave them prescriptions. We missed our flight and have a Dr note for insurance purposes. While they were at the DR and I was watching my 9 month old son, i received a phone call telling us they are over-booked and we need to check out. They had found us the last 2 rooms in Nassau at a 2 star hostel down the road. They wouldn't even let us stay in our rooms. We faught. We got our rooms back (after over-hearing they were going to give 4 over-booked villa's to the man beside me who was a high roller in the casino). Nobody called to check if we were well or even comfortable. We had to pay for our rooms FULL PRICE and any other expenses we had. We never recieved a cot we requested on day 1. BOTH our TV's were broken and had to be replaced, our shower didn't work and we were charged for stuff out of the mini bar and we didn't use it. The book said internet was $.05 a minute, we got a 3 minute charge of $6.00. We were told they upped our prices to $.50. They said they would refund us and never did! My baby threw up all over the crib one night, so I asked for an extra sheet...I saw it 2 days later. When we filed our security report for the food posoning, we asked for a copy...we had to go down 2 days later and fight for it. The service SUCKS!! I would much rather go elsewhere. The pools were FREEZING and half of the slot machines didn't work. Sounds fun huh? We are still in the process of fighting for our rooms.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Atlantis resort staff was rude"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  BMcCameron  on May 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2004 | Leisure | With Group
231 people found this review helpful

I went to the Atlantis with about 20 people for a wedding last July. This was by far the worst resort I have ever been to. I am not a world traveler but have been to Negril and Ocho Rios Jamaica several times. Upon arriving at the resort, 6 of the people we were with didn't have rooms (they were paid in full prior to us ever arriving). The Atlantis resort staff was rude and unwilling to accommodate the simplest of requests. We lost power in our rooms numerous times (at least 10), for extended periods. When we went I believe it was the off season and ½ of the resort was not accessible to us. If you would ask a staff member a question they looked at you like you were from Mars if they even acknowledged you at all. If I am writing this to give others a honest review of the resort... I would say that the outside structure of the hotel and some of the aquarium setups are very pretty and well designed. However, the total lack of respect for the guests by the staff totally counteracts the experience. We all work way too hard to be able to go on these vacations. Don't waste your vacation or your money on the Atlantis at Paradise Island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I have been to Atlantis 4 times"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  JohnNewYork  on May 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
241 people found this review helpful

I was on your site looking at reviews posted about Boca Chica in the Dominican Republic. It was an interesting variety, so I thought I would check out the reviews of places I had stayed. I have been to Atlantis 4 times. The first time being before the Royal Towers were even built. The last time being in May 2004. I have travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean and the USA and always try and stay in the best resorts. Atlantis is without a doubt one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever been to. The positives: the pools are amazing, the grounds (though very large) are spectacular, the slides are fun, the beach is wonderful and the water always warm. Again I must say if you walk the grounds of Atlantis are absolutely amazing. Walking around and looking at the lagoons and all the species of tropical fish and sharks is wonderful. All the restaurants are good, not excellent but good and I have eaten in them all. The negatives: Yes, everytime I arrived our rooms were not ready. I found out right away that this was nothing that a $20.00 bill to the bellboy didn't fix in 20 minutes. Being from New York I knew this right away. Not to knock the Canadians that bashed this place but I think the staff knows where their bread will be buttered. If you don't reach in your pocket, you will wait. Next, book your room in the Royal Towers, it's a little more money but worth every penny. I have stayed at both the Coral and Beach towers, they are older, enough said. There are scammers all over the beach from the jet ski guys to the women braiding hair to the guys selling Cuban cigars and other illegal stuff. Ignore them and they will not bother you. They are only on the beach not on the resort grounds, so if you are a pool person you will never encounter them. I gamble and I was used to some of the comps I would normally receive in Vegas or Atlantic City. Forget it, there isn't even a casino host. They are giving away little to nothing, they don't have to, they know it and its not even worth bartering about when you check out. Keep this in mind if you are a player. I am also a golfer and the Ocean club golf course is breathtaking and I have played Pebble Beach and Bethpage Black. If you are a golfer this course is a must. Atlantis is not cheap. It is a 5 star resort in my book and worth it. Just remember if you go to a 5 star resort its's gonna cost you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"And after 2 days, I had had enough"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:   on Aug 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Aug, 2005 | Leisure | With Group
322 people found this review helpful

Well, what can i say - if money is no object and you like thinking that you are one of the rich and famous, this resort is for you - but if like me, you want your moneys worth stay away!!!!! We travelled with our married son and grandchild, so we stayed at the Harborside (time share) part of the resort - which i highly recommend if you are with children - room for them to run around and there is transportation to the main resort. The place is beautiful and there is lots to see - however.... how many pools can you swim in at one time???? My advice - stay at the nearby comfort inn - they give you breakfast and you have priviledges at the atlantis, or stay at an even more reasonable resort and get a day pass for the atlantis. For the price of this vacation, we could have taken 2 at punta cana, or cancun
I agree that the ocean water in the bahamas is the most beautiful - better than bermuda, dominican republic and hawaii BUT the beach itself is not
No matter which pool/beach you went to, unless you were up at 6am and/or "schmoozed" the pool boys, you did not get a chair and of all the chairs, only about 1/4 of them have shaded tops. As for the people being friendly and helpful, PLEASE there is a 15% gratuity tacked on to everything so there is no reason for them to be nice, friendly etc. Not that they were rude - just that no one went out of their way to be helpful. We went for a week, and after 2 days, i had had enough. I know people will say that i could have gone off premises but with an infant and a pregnant daughter in law it wasnt that easy. Unless you are prepared for a lot of walking and shelling out of money - find another place to visit. I for one will never go back here UNLESS, i can get a spectacular deal - they did have one but i found it too late - $99/night in the beach tower - which i personally think is the best place to stay - the pool is right there along with the beach and the buffet restaurant. Hope this helps - feel free to contact me at trtl29@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place never ceases to amaze me everytime I go"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  DeniseNewYork  on Aug 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
268 people found this review helpful

I have been to Atlantis three times in the last three years. We stayed in the villas twice at the Coral Towers and the Hotel once. If you can get a villa (it cannot be requested beforehand) it is absolutely fabulous. The villas are adjacent to the beach and covered with waterfalls, lagoons and tropical plants. Atlantis is by far the most absoutely gorgeous resort I have ever been to. Yes, it is expensive but worth every penny. My husband and I recently purcased a Time Share at Atlantis, guaranteeing us a vacation there every year. The water is the most beautiful I've seen anywhere and is warm and calm in the summer months. It is much better to go early summer than in the off season because the weather is calmer and warmer.

Take in all there is to see at the Royal Towers and the resort grounds. This place never ceases to amaze me everytime I go. You will be in awe from the moment you are dropped off until the time you leave. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful and the place is immaculate. This is the place to go for a vacation of a lifetime.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The grounds and pools look great at first glance."

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  ScottDiannaCanada  on Oct 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
299 people found this review helpful

First I would like say that I booked this trip at very reduced price of $479.
The flight from Toronto with Canjet was fine going down but 11/2 hours late on the return. These planes are putting more and more seats in their planes every year, and they don't offer first class seating.
Upon arriving at Atlantis we found that our rooms would be about 1 hour till ready(3:30pm). Once we got our room key we waited 1 hour for our luggage to get to our room.

Positives: The grounds and pools look great at first glance. The buffets were a good price and value. We went on the Island World Adventure and it was the best trip we have ever been on, worth every penny and then some. Beds were good and the rooms clean.

Negatives: The staff at the hotel are fall short of a 5 star rating. I think this is because there is a 15% gratuity included on all food and drinks (they don't have to work for their money) The staff do the bare minimum and smiles are rare. The grounds while nice were dirty and to large with a 20 minute walk from one side to the other. The pools only open from 9am to 7pm. as does the beach. This was a pain as we really enjoy morning and evening swims. The water slide closed at 7 pm as well. We arrived at 6:45pm one night and were told that we couldn't go on. When we questioned the life guard he said he needed tome to clean up. The beach was closed each day because the life guard said it was to rough to swim, but the next hotel was open to swim as was the public beach next door. After 3 days of this myself and a couple of other angry people just went swimming anyway. The lifeguard said he was going to call the authorities but when the manager came down to the beach we told him how we felt and he told the guards to let us go.( they don't own the beach). Over 1/2 of the restaurants were closed for the week, this was a problem as the ones that they close are the lowest priced ones.

We were also asked to go to a time share information session every time we passed in the lobby, they just won't leave you alone.

All in all it was nice to get away, but we will not go back to Atlantis again for any price!!! We take 2 trips per year all over but this one is off our list. Go to Cuba or Costa Rica and learn what good service is really like, these place truly value you as a customer and are very egger to please.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We purchased the American Food plan"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  DexterNancyArkansasUSA  on May 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

We recently returned from a stay at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas. We stayed 4 nights the first week of June at the Corral Tower section. We were offered at check in an option to upgrade to the Royal section. We turned this down, preferring an Ocean view at the Corral section to a Garden view at the Royal section. Believe me, we found out, at least judging from outside appearances, there is a vast difference between the Corral Tower building and the Royal Tower Building. I would advise you to take the Royal building if offered, it is amazing, awesome. The Corral Tower section is downright tacky in comparison.

Arrival:
We recently returned from a stay at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas. We stayed 4 nights the first week of June at the Corral Tower section. We were offered at check in an option to upgrade to the Royal section. We turned this down, preferring an Ocean view at the Corral section to a Garden view at the Royal section. Believe me, we found out, at least judging from outside appearances, there is a vast difference between the Corral Tower building and the Royal Tower Building. I would advise you to take the Royal building if offered, it is amazing, awesome. The Corral Tower section is downright tacky in comparison.

Room:
Our first room in the Corral Towers was awful, the “water view” required tunnel vision and a good imagination. We complained and Peggy at Guest services came thru like a champ and the next day we were offered a beautiful sixth floor room with a great view of the Ocean and the entire facility. On the second night, they has a totally awesome fireworks display at the new Cove section. This was indeed impressive and if we had taken the Royal room we would not have had the great view. I guess our bad judgment worked out OK in this instance. The room itself was fairly plain, but clean and pleasant. Nothing like the rooms at some 5 star resorts we have been to in Costa Rico or the Dominican Republic, but still overall there was no complaint. Service was good and the Hotel employees were friendly. This is unlike what I had read in some other reviews.

Food:
We purchased the American Food plan and probably did not come out on it. A dinner at one of the Buffet restaurants would have averaged over $100 for two adults and a 5 year old. The food was plentiful, which was mandatory, as finding something edible was a problem. I’m not sure if it was our spoiled American appetites or if the food was really bland and tasteless. The Breakfast buffets averaged about $60 and the Omelets were pretty good. Service at the restaurants was typical of the Caribbean resorts, slow and slower. You just have to adjust to a lower scale of service and you’ll do fine.

Beach:
The beach was great, beautiful sand and water. The beach was somewhat crowded and had a few beach vendors pedaling various items but not bad at all. The pools and water parks were very entertaining and our 5 year old pretty well lived in the water for 4 days. The 48” height required for some of the water parks was a bummer for baby as she was about 4 inches short of that height and they would not budge on letting her in. The lazy river she could do and we enjoyed this. When the lazy river ride got crowded, it wasn’t much fun, but with few people it was a favorite. The Lagoon and Snorkel beach was also a favorite place. We probably spend as much time there as anywhere. It’s not a real place to snorkel with not much to see but baby didn’t mind. Overall, this resort offered the most varied water entertainment of anyplace we have visited.

Tours:
We went on one tour, the Dolphin experience. We took a boat ride to an island and baby and momma got to touch and kiss a Dolphin. The Tour cost about $80 each to participate with $25 to observe. It was a fun trip and worth the money. The same basic Dolphin Experience at the Atlantis was about twice as expensive.

Resumé:
After years of going each year to Mexico or the Caribbean, we went last year to an island off the coast of Greece. I have to say I was no more impressed by last year’s trip than I was by the Atlantis resort. We spend hardly anytime exploring the Bahamas and probably going to the Atlantis is more like going to Disney World than to a foreign country. Regardless, It is simply a great feast for the eyes and a genuine place to do nothing but what you want to do. I always say that I never go to the same vacation place twice as life is to short and there are way too many places to see. But, if I ever change my mind, I will be back at the Atlantis and, next time when they offer the upgrade to the Royal Tower I will say yes and Thank you!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The sculptures and landscaping will take your breath away."

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  PetraNew JerseyUSA  on Jul 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
404 people found this review helpful

The airport in Nassau is getting better. I was there when they still used steps down to the tarmac.The shuttles to the hotels vary, some are rickety, some quite nice. Our room has never been ready when we get to the atlantis so I have taken to packing a bathing suit in my carry on. They have a place you can change so you may as well enjoy the pool or beach while waiting. Friendly staff is hit or miss. Some are some aren't. Slow, yes, things run on Bahamas time. Not good for someone from the Northeast.

Arrival:
The airport in Nassau is getting better. I was there when they still used steps down to the tarmac.The shuttles to the hotels vary, some are rickety, some quite nice. Our room has never been ready when we get to the atlantis so I have taken to packing a bathing suit in my carry on. They have a place you can change so you may as well enjoy the pool or beach while waiting. Friendly staff is hit or miss. Some are some aren't. Slow, yes, things run on Bahamas time. Not good for someone from the Northeast.

Rooms:
Our rooms have always been comfortable. We don't really care about the view because our rationale is that all we do in the room is shower and sleep. I am also a person who does not get bored easily so I can enjoy a view across the harbor toward Nassau, I don't need to see the ocean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is very expensive so we always went to the buffets, they give you the best bang for the buck. I have no complaints about the quality of the food and, at the buffet, if something is not to your liking you can try something else. I might mention that I am also not a picky eater. The buffet staff is friendle and since we have been there several times there are even some who remember us from one year to the next. My son was young when we first went there and he is now 17 and they remark how much taller he is. I would not attempt any of the restaurants requiring reservations. Getting all dressed up on vacation is not something I want to do either, to each his own. I'm not a drinker so I don't do the bars, I do have a few island type drinks occasionally and there was no problem with any of the lobby bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are amazing. The sculptures and landscaping will take your breath away. When we first started going to the Atlantis we stayed in the Royal Towers-just because. We a had watched the Atlantis being built from the balcony of a hotel we were staying in and many of the construction workers were staying in our hotel. One night, in the hot tub, I struck up a conversation with one of them and he explained what they were building. I filled my husband in and we said that as soon as it was finished we would stay there. And we did. When we go now we stay in the beach tower. Best price and closest to the beach. Royal Towers are nice but they are the farthest from the beach. The end of the hotel at the Royal Towers is also noisy, Beach towers has less traffic and is much more calm. I was in the Bahamas years ago when the Coral Towers was the Paradise Island Casino and I think the Beach Towers may have belonged to Merv Griffin. They linked these hotels so you have really loooooooong hallways connecting them hence you get alot of exercise going from one place to another in the hotel. The pools are beautiful but usually very crowded and it is difficult to find a seat. Because there are so many people there it pays to be careful. I had a watch stolen off of my beach chair and my son had his sunglasses stolen. Our things didn't amount to a large amount of money yet it was surprising that this happened. When I reported it the staff didn't seem too concerned. I filled out a report but they never got back to me.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is always something to do here. There are counless slides , pools, and activities. There are plenty of day trips off of the resort. We have been swimming with the dolphins and the stingrays. Both were great experiences. We have also been on the "Booze Cruise" not to drink but, it was the cheapest cruise at the time. If you go on that one beware of the trip home as some cannot hold their liquor. Be sure to take a tour of the island. If you don't want to go on an organized one you might be able to hire a cab driver for the night for a good price.

Other Comments:
I first went to the Bahamas 25 years ago. It was beautiful then and it is beautiful now. The problem I am beginning to have with Paradise Island is that it is being overdeveloped. A lot of the character has been taken away and it's beginning to resemble Dineyworld. I have been to Puerto Rico and Mexico and they seem to retain more of their culture. I plan on goung to Costa Rica next. I won't stop coming here but it will soon be just another resort, not a resort with Bahamian flavor. I'm afraid if their government doesn't start to preserve their islands it will soon be USA South or Europe west. That would be a shame.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a great trip!"

Atlantis Royal Towers
User Rating:  Atlantis Royal Towers Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  PatPennsylvania  on Dec 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2007 | Leisure | With Group
438 people found this review helpful

We just returned from 4 nights/5 days in the Royal Towers of Atlantis Resort. What a great trip! We had a family of four including a 19 yr old girl and 21 yr old boy. Lots of things to do for adults- I had been concerned that it was just a childrens waterpark- no way!
We did 2 excursions off site- The Powerboat Adventure and the Dolphin swim. A bit expenive, but worht it! The Powerboat Adventure was just that- an adventure! A one hour 40 mph boat ride, first visiting an island of all iguanas- then off to 'their island'. Open bar,snacks and an island lunch are all included. We did group snorkeling, hand feeding the sting rays and laying in the water with googles on while they dray the sharks in close! Amazaing!
Atlantis resort food is expensive, but I had read reviews and packed half a suitcase with water & snacks. We also ventured just off the property to the shopping center near the Marina walk and ate at the News Cafe & Anthonys.
Rooms - Our room was in the west end of the Royal Tower. We were upgraded to an oceanview and it was breathtaking! The ocean on one side, the harbour on the other and the dolphin lagoon and lazy river in between! Probably more of a walk than you would want with small children, though.
Restaurants - The only restaurants on Atlantis that we ate at were the pizzaria- (at $30 a pie) and Bimini Road on the Harbour walk. It was good food, drinks, music at a moderate price.
Beach and Pools - For a more quite area- we would lounge on the west side between the Royal and the Cove. You could catch the lazy river over to the 'more active' area if you didn't want to walk.
Conclusion - A really nice family vacation for us all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube