Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Breezes Bahamas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Nassau Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 2, 2013

Wyndham Nassau Resort

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Breezes Bahamas  

West Bay Street | PO Box C, Nassau 13049, New Providence Island

"Review and feedback of Breezes Bahamas"
Posted by: Priscilla  on Jun 15, 2014
see all reviews

Breezes Bahamas Reviews
Breezes Bahamas Pictures and Information
Breezes Bahamas Nassau Bahamas

#1
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Breezes Bahamas Information


Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served buffet-style at our air-conditioned main dining room. Dinner is also served in casual elegance at Pastafari, our air-conditioned Italian 'RASTAurant' and Garden of Eden, where you'll experience a five course meal set in a tropical garden and seating for two.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Breezes Bahamas Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  8
Average
  1
Poor
  7
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (37)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (31)
Solo
1 - 10 of 37

"The food is lousy"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  JerryOhio  on Sep 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
191 people found this review helpful

I would like to add my review of the Superclubs Breezes Resort in Bahamas. My family (my wife, two sons, and me) visited this "Resort" in September of 2003. We knew we were taking a slight chance going in September with that being hurricane season but thought we would be OK. Wrong! weather was lousy, rain every day for most of the afternoon, cloudy and overcast much of the other times. The weather would have been tolerable if the resort would have been better in other aspects. The service is horrible and the rooms are on par with a cheap motel. The food is lousy and lacks only one thing, flavor!

As one of your other reviewers noted, the check-in time is three o'clock and the staff will not even try to get anyone in before that time. They had two people working the check-in desk on our arrival and both were surly and approaching rudeness. All other staff obviously has not had any training regarding customer service because they all displayed an attitude reflective of disdain and dislike for the patrons. I was disappointed and would highly recommend NOT choosing this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"will not be back"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Julie  on Sep 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
594 people found this review helpful

after arriving at the hotel, you get in a line up- and wait.
after checking in you go to your room and go back down and get in a line up- and wait. change rooms 3 times. paid for the ocean view room and all we could see was the logo pool under renovation. the balconies were not balconies- they were grills in front of the windows. the rooms were damp but clean enough. the staff did not acknowledge your presense.you go to the bar and get in a line up- and wait. you go to the beach grill and get in a line up- and wait. you go to the restaurant and can not find a clean table because the staff do not clean them and re set them without being told to.the beach is beautiful but there is not enough shade but there are lots of chairs. fighting over the little bit of shade must have been part of the entertainment as it happened on a regular basis.if you swim in the ocean you take a chance of getting stung by jellyfish. or a grouper, that happened while we were there. the trapeze was not operational while we were there. nor was there any sumo wrestlng or trampoline either. senor frogs was the place to go in town, the buses run every 10 minutes and are only 1.25. atlantis extremely overpriced and starting to show signs of neglect. garbage in the water around the resort and the casino was empty while we were visiting. if i had the chance to go back i would decline. the food at breezes was less than mediocre but the drinks were plentiful. there is no fridge in the rooms which seems to be available at every other resort i have gone to. the wait was too long for everything but it improved slightly by the weekend. the price does not justify the vacation.live and learn!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Review and feedback of Breezes Bahamas"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Priscilla  on Jun 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
260 people found this review helpful

In short...the worse resort I have ever been at...and I have been at many many many...including 2 stars in Cuba! Cleaning maid missed 2 days of cleaning our room, buffet food at best was warm (mostly cold), wine very acid. I am severely allergic to shell fish...chewed on a shrimp in my mash potatoes (thankfully I had my meds with me) but it did cost me day spend in bed versus enjoying myself. Hotel took NO responsibility nor did they offer any kind of compensation. Best I got was "are you ok"! Hotel is under lots of reno (banging, drills, paint) none of which was told to us or else we would have gone somewhere else! Just noise! Very run down, walls are leaking with rain etc...had another guest assault me AND witness by a bellboy...once again, the hotel didn't do anything about it! She was DRUNK out of her mind, was going around the lobby screaming and cursing at the construction crew (which was annoying mind you) telling them to shut up (while cursing etc)...she drank herself into a diabetic coma! Way to go Breezes!!! This hotel passes itself off as a luxurious resort...what a joke!!!

Room Number:
305

Arrival:
Good - about the only good experience

Rooms:
dirty, old, no water or fridge...maid missed cleaning our room 2 days in a row!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
only 2 a la carte open...Martino' is good. Eden' garden was simply aweful! If you want rubber chicken, cold and olivery salmon...thats your place.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We rented a cabana for 20$ for the day. This comes with towels and full beach server ......... we never saw him once! from 9 - 1145...he never once came by. We had to evacuate the beach at 1154 due to severe thunderstorm etc for the remainer of the day. Hotel refused to give us our money back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Superclubs Breezes was AWFUL"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  RosemaryCanada  on May 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
169 people found this review helpful

If you're 18 years old, want to drink all day, and compete in the "best fake orgasm" talent competition at night... then Superclubs Breezes in the Bahamas is the place for you. All others should avoid it like the plague.

To start with:
If you're 18 years old, want to drink all day, and compete in the "best fake orgasm" talent competition at night... then Superclubs Breezes in the Bahamas is the place for you. All others should avoid it like the plague.

Travel:
The best part of the whole trip! The flight down with Sky Service was fine. The plane took off on time, and the staff were very friendly. Typical charter flight with no leg room. However, the plane was clean, and the boxed snack they gave us was better than having to buy Pringles on Air Canada Tango flights.

Arrival:
Arrived on time. No difficulties with customs people. Got in a little bus with a really nice, funny driver who took us to the hotel. He also doubles as a real estate agent, and tried to sell us a vacation property on the way into town.
Check in was TERRIBLE. One person was working at the desk, and it took an hour to get our key. The lobby was extremely noisy, and when we arrived there was a "Best Fake Orgasm" competition going on in the main area just beyond the reception desk. No, I'm NOT joking!! A whole room full of "When Harry Met Sally" wannabes kept us colourfully entertained for a whole hour. After that, I really needed a drink.

Room:
We went up to our room, and it was damp and moldy. No kidding... MOLDY. Picture the kind of room you expect people to rent by the hour. Also, no mini-bar. No fridge. And a "balcony" that was literally 6 inches wide. Picture patio doors that slide open, and a waist-high railing to keep you from falling out of your room. We were eventually moved to a ground-floor room with a tile floor (not carpet) and nice high ceilings. Better, but the curtains wouldn't close all the way, and the sliding patio doors didn't lock reliably.

Decor:
The whole place was tile and vinyl. Literally, furniture you can throw up on. Tried in vain to find a nice quiet corner to have a drink. No such luck. Had to go down the road to the Ramada, which has a great, cozy lobby bar. We saw a fantastic local band there, and enjoyed the dance floor. I am not a quiet person, but the Breezes was just harsh, slick, and LOUD.

Grounds:
The pools were very nice, and the beach was clean. No troubles getting deck chairs. Service at the outdoor bars was mediocre at best. Fast if you wanted the blender drink the bartender had in his hand. Slow and sulky if they had to make you what you really wanted.

Food:
No real complaints. Typical buffet food. Nothing special. However, it looked like the hotel had sold meal plans to it's administrative staff. There were tons of people eating there who were clearly not staying at the resort.

Customer Relations:
A few days into our stay, I was called home for a family emergency. I tried to call home, and there were NO PAYPHONES in the hotel lobby (note: Bell Mobility does not have any cel phone coverage in Nassau). The less than friendly hotel staff directed me to the closest payphone... located outside on the median strip in between four lanes of traffic. I couldn't hear a thing, and made my way to the next closest payphones... in the lobby of the Ramada.

I returned to Breezes, and asked the staff at the front desk to help me contact the Sunquest Rep to see if I could get an earlier flight home. They didn't have a phone number for the Sunquest rep, and the Sunquest phone number I found in the phone book was out of service. Eventually, I made my way to the airport, and flew home to Toronto on American Airlines. Thanked my lucky starts for travel insurance that day.

Attractions:
The best thing about Breezes was the fact that it is only 15 minutes away from Atlantis, a truly spectacular resort with an incredible aquarium that must have been put together by a Hollywood set designer. Well worth the trip. You can take a boat over from the downtown waterfront for about @ $5 American per person. Fun, but the boat runs on Island time. We had to wait @ 1/2 an hour for the boat to fill up, while the skipper had a drink ashore. Still, lots of fun.

Overall:
Superclubs Breezes was AWFUL -- and I'm trying to be positive. If you've been to other Breezes resorts (like the one in Cuba which is wonderful) this is nowhere close to the same thing in terms of quality, style and hospitality. If you have the money, save yourself some grief and book at a better resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"don't go"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Nov 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
465 people found this review helpful

Where should I begin.....we checked in and the safe in our room was broken. It took 5 phone calls and trips to the front desk to finally get them to change our room after the repair man was there 3 times. The beds are old, lumpy and uncomfortable. The sheets do not fit the beds. Oh yea, the toilet was running all day long. I just couldnt be bothered again to waste my time asking them to fix something else. The food at the buffet is hit or miss every day. It is either cold or way over cooked or very spicy. The two restaurants have the same menus every day. Martinos is aweful and should not be able to be called italian. Garden of eden was actually not bad. The bars do not serve Mojitos which was dissapointing to my fiance. Our room was actually clean. The last day we had water coming through the ceiling from the room above. This place is in need of repair and upgrades. They said it was just revovated? They need to do more. I would never go to breezes again. I've stayed at many resorts and this was the worst one ever.

Room Number:
712 and 414

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not recommend, not as advertised, not suitable for the 14-18 age group"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Catriona Fraser  on Jan 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
437 people found this review helpful

No water skiing, no sign of a tennis pro, slow service, noisy all the time, shabby and in need of a massive upgrade

Your Arrival:
Could not go to rooms for another 2 hours, although changing rooms and showers were available

Rooms:
Shabby furnishings, scratched furniture, carpets coming off floor, inadequately soundproofed

Restaurants and Bars:
Cafeteria college style, also noisy, food OK. 2 restaurants with weird booking arrangements

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Water too cold to swim in pools, hot tub OK, grounds OK, they (and the hotel)all look much better in photos than in reality!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Advertised activities not all available, other activities on timed schedule, would have preferred to enjoy activities when we wanted, not when they wanted

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a shame"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on May 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
556 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have been to this resort twice before (1998-2001'ish.) Our best friend was getting married and we recommended Breezes Bahamas. Ooops! We did say that we hadn't been here in over a decade but also said that it was a very nice place. Upon entering the resort, we immediatley noted that NOTHING has changed! No updates and no up-keep. The only thing that they did update was the bathrooms in the room and that was nice. The ceilings were dirty, the roof tiles missing, "swim up bar" not a true swim up bar as the section facing the pool was not manned. They ran out of towels on a regular basis even though the place was not busy and I was told that towels would be available in 5 minutes when the reality was 1 1/2 hours. The soft drink areas never had ice and the room television remote control barely worked and the phone went out. Will not be returning to Breezes Bahamas. We have stayed at the RIU in Aruba and will be giving RIU our business no matter what country we are in.

Room Number:
715

Arrival:
Service was very slow and too few people working the front desk. The woman that checked us in wasn't very friendly, but I was not upset yet.

Rooms:
Bathroom was nice but television remote did not always work. Also, we had to make the phone work again by 'jiggling' the jack. We shouldn't have to do this.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was ok. We went to Marinos and the food and service was outstanding.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They ran out of towels a few times even though the place was not crowded. The line to get drinks was very long and the 'swim up bar' was not a true bar as the bar facing the pool was never used. We had to yell our orders to a bartender and cross our fingers that we got a drink. Bartenders were ok, but not overly friendly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on 2 excursions. We swam with dolphins and did the sub excursion. Both were awesome! The woman that booked the trips was very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't expect to be pampered"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  JenCanada  on May 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

The arrival at the airport was quick and painless. A jump on the shuttle and off we went! The driver, Ken, shared lots of tips with us about things to do and interesting facts about the Bahamas. Upon arrival, the bellman took care of our luggage, we checked in effortlessly and off to the room we went. Seemed like we were off to a good start!

Rooms:
The room was fine. Nothing spectacular. The bathroom was very large, but the water pressure was lacking big time. Clean and comfortable, but nothing more than that. On our second day, we were not left any towels so had to go get some from the desk, and the third day she left her bathroom cleaning supplies in the bathroom. Most places I have stayed have made little things with the towels every day, so not getting any towels was a bit of a shock....ah well, in the grans scheme of thiings no big deal.

Arrival:
The arrival at the airport was quick and painless. A jump on the shuttle and off we went! The driver, Ken, shared lots of tips with us about things to do and interesting facts about the Bahamas. Upon arrival, the bellman took care of our luggage, we checked in effortlessly and off to the room we went. Seemed like we were off to a good start!

Rooms:
The room was fine. Nothing spectacular. The bathroom was very large, but the water pressure was lacking big time. Clean and comfortable, but nothing more than that. On our second day, we were not left any towels so had to go get some from the desk, and the third day she left her bathroom cleaning supplies in the bathroom. Most places I have stayed have made little things with the towels every day, so not getting any towels was a bit of a shock....ah well, in the grans scheme of thiings no big deal.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went for the day life, and found the food at the buffet to be very good - better than most of the resorts I have stayed on. There was something for almost everybody and we found it to be very tasty. They had a great salad bar. The drinks were terrible. The soda machines were often empty, forget about getting ice from the machine and the water was absolutely terrible - we tried, but we just could not drink it. We spent the majority of our money at the gift shop buying bottled water. I'm not a big alcohol drinker, so can't comment much on the variety, but the few drinks I did have were not very tasty. The coffee was awful. Getting a reservation at one of the 2 restaurants was quite a hastle. We were told that they start taking reservations at 11:00 for the next night. My friend was celebrating her 30th birthday so we tried to make reservations for a birthday dinner only to be told that because only one restaurant was open, they started at 10 that day and the restaurant is full. (You need reservations for both.) We went to MASO restaurant at the Wyndham up the street (delicious water, wine and food!) We did manage to get a reservation at the Italian estaurant for our last night, and it was very good. That's where they hide the drinkable wine and water BTW. The food and service was great. And that is about the only place that the service was great. The dinner hall is set up buffet style, and while the majority of the tables were empty a lot of the time, they had not been cleared and cleaned, and finding cutlery was a nightmare! Many staff members simply walked by the dirty tables and left them uncleared. Many times we sat for our entire meal, including dessert surrounded by dirty tables that were never cleared. Amazing. We would offer our unused cutlery and condiments to people walking by who had asked for knives and forks and didn't recieve them. My friend ordered a glass of wine at dinner, 25 min later she still didn't have it. Another staff member walked by the table and she asked her for a glass of red. There was no "yes", "no" - no acknowledgement whatsoever. About 10 min later, after she had all but given up on having a glass of wine, the lady returned to our area and put the glass of red down on the dirty table next to us - NOBODY WAS SITTING THERE! You think I'm kidding, but I am not! The beach grill was pretty good, but the soda machines were empty 90% of the times that we went there. We let them know, nicely that the diet pepsi was empty, and returned an hour later - Still empty. Unbelievable!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach area was large and quite beautiful. This was the best thing about the place. There are very few Tiki huts on the beach, and there was always a mad dash in the morning to get one of them, lest you would be frying in the unforgiving sun all day. Luckily, we were part of the early to bed; early to rise crew, so we got one most days. We spent the vast majority of our time on the beach, partly because we wanted to and partly because the pool area was crowded and small. One pool?? Really? I must have missed that! Everything was clean though, so can't really complain about it. What I will complain about is the constant harrassing of the salespeople on the beach. This is the first time I have stayed at a place where they allow multiple salespeole on the beach, constantly harrassing the people laying there. They started with the jet ski yelling at 8am and continued all day. Singling out people all day and asking them if they want to jet ski. I didn't 5 minutes ago, and still don't, thanks anyway. There were up to 4 women at a time walking back and forth selling jewelery, t shirts and offering hair braiding. They had a little table set up, so we could clearly go to them at any time, but all 4 of them individually approached us a min of 4 times each per day asking if we wanted to look at the ankle bracelets or get our hair braided. I'm going to tell you the same thing I told the jet ski guy - I wasn't interested 5 minutes ago, and remain not interested. The final huge complaint is that they allow people from a time share company to come to the resort, suck you into going to a time share presentation (by assuring you that it is not a time share presentation) where the sales people are rude, aggressive and seem to not understand the word "NO". Unless you are interested in investing on the spot, or are able to tolerate an inhuman amount of frustration for some tickets to Atlantis or something, just insist that you don't want to go. We regret going to it big time. I've also written a letter to that company. (Who would have though I'd start my letter writing campaigns in my early thirties??)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a Dolphin Cay Adventure at Atlantis which was awesome. Dolphins are so smart and amazing.....Atlantis was quite beautiful but Holy Mother it is HUGE! I may think twice about staying there for the time it takes to get anythere! It was really nice though. We did a Snorkel and Booze Cruise, which was a nice little getaway. They take you from Cable Beach to pick up more passengers downtown and on Paradise Island and take you to a snorkeling place. The water was pretty rough that day, so most of us only stayed in for about 15-20 min. Then, they take us to a private beach for an hour where the only people on the beach are the people on the boat - and the Jet Ski guys.....at this point I was convinced that they were actually stalkers. They saw the boat coming in and circled the boat like sharks waiting to attack! Once the boat stopped and we got off the feeding frenzy began! Jet Skis - hey lady do you want to jet ski....never ending for the whole hour on a tiny beach where the only escape was to throw yourself into the water. All in all, it was 60 bucks, including drinks, a good BBQ lunch and an hour of snorkeling and on a beach, and dancing and singing the whole way back. I'd recommend doing this. Because apparently we are masochists, we walked to the straw market, where we were continually approached by what I can only assume were the Ying to the Yang on the beach - a lot of very pushy sales people....if you stop breathing down my neck and let me look, I may buy something.....they didn't, so neither did we. Walked away shaking our heads at ourselves - what were we thinking? There didn't seem to be a lot of activity on the resort. Nothing on the beach. They called it "beach games" but really is was next to the pool area. They played a game called ringtones a few times (think name that tune), had a few beach games here and there and an off with your head game - essentially a gladiator pit only on a wooden stage. Any other time I had been away, you were hard pressed to find an area where there weren't activities, and the staff were very lively and encouraging everyone to get involved. Here, the staff were more relaxed than the vacationers, and you really had to go out of your way to find out what was going on and where. Had the best massage of my life there courtesy of Shelley.

Other Comments:
When I go away, even though it is an all inclusive for R&R, I don't expect to be pampered. I'm very easygoing and self sufficient. I do, however, expect the same level of service as at a Wendy's for example. The staff in general did not seem motivated, and while nobody was rude at all, little things like "hello how is everything going", making sure a guest has a place to eat the meal they just put together from the buffet, bringing the glass of wine to a table with the people sitting at it and filling the soda machines when it is brought to your attention is important to me. I don't expect that the soda machines are checked - but when a guest lets you know that it is empty, change it! It was amazing how many staff members would walk past you without so much as a word. The maintenance guys were the friendliest and most outgoing people on the whole resort! I will not be going back there, and I would not recommend it. The Bahamas is a beautiful country, and I will return there, but I will be searching for somewhere else to stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Did not meet expectations"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lee  on May 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
568 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd Caribbean trip to an all-inclusive resort. We arrived 4/27/2011 and departed 5/2/2011.

Looking back, the message began at our arrival at the airport resort table. Fill out a form and wait for the bus. OK, your bus is here...get on and wait...while your luggage sits outside. Once the people are on the bus, the luggage is loaded on with you. The ride was brief, beautiful and winding. In the Bahamas, the cars drive on the left side.

This was the first time in 3 all-inclusive resorts we experienced the need to be on an elevator to get to our room, wear a wristband, make reservations for dinner, and not be able to get non-draft beer.

The first 2-3 hours we had to kick ourselves out of the rut of disappointment we were in to begin vacation. Rather than the resort providing the ambiance for a great, relaxing vacation, we forced ourselves to make it fun.

Being at a resort near town, made for a different day time experience. Many guests left property to go shopping or participate in excursions, so the pool and pool side was quiet and not crowded until early afternoon.

We also fell for the comments on the site that stated no kids until after May 1st. This clearly is part of the lower end accomodations and the experience. Many young guests were there just to party. Some returned from booze cruises and were insulting to other guests in the pool. We will no longer invest in a resort that is not Adults Only or Couples Only.

Room Number:
603

Arrival:
Arrival at Breezes - open air lobby with colorful tile and lines to get in and wait. Observed a guest return twice with key problems, and did not see an urgency from the front desk about it. We had some concern now. A tray of tropical drinks were brought to the new arrivals. Just fruit juice though.
We were finally & pleasantly checked-in, had our wristbands slapped on, and headed to the elevator to get to the 6th floor.

Rooms:
After adjusting to the mildew & musty smell of the room, we saw in the entry hallway two dark, wooden, louvered, bi-fold doors on one side and the bathroom on the other side. The doors opened to the closet, the safe (which did not work) and an ironing board. After the entry hallway, the room opened to a dresser, desk with chair, and king size bed with two end tables. All in large, old, cracked, dark wood with glass tops. Old bedding and drapes. Another ironing board, an iron, and flat panel TV were attached to wall. The TV had a sticker on it that a previous guest peeled off their Gilette deodorant. The remote was on the bedside table with tape wrapped around to hold the battery door on. The sliding glass doors opened to view the pool, but you only had about 10-12" to walk out. No screen to feel the evening breeze. Also in view was the rooftops of the main building with shingles missing and a view down to the support beams. So, no fridge or snacks in room as we've come to expect. No tub either, much less a spa tub. I will say the shower was nice. I think the bathrooms have been recently upgraded as they do not match the rest of the decor. Only 1 sink, with the sink on top of the granite. The caulking under the sink was a mess though. The mirror shows the shoddy work. While we laid in bed, I saw the ceiling had been repaired. A large circle bigger than the bed appeared to have a leak repaired. The return air vent in the room was covered in dirt or mildew or something filthy. There was clearly more cleanliness to be had in the room and more space that additional pieces of furniture could be added: fridge, table, small sofa, or table & chairs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Since you cannot check in until 3 PM, and reservations are required for the restaurants that must be made between 9:30 & 11:30 am, you default to the Main Dining Room buffet on the first night. The food is adequate and selection diverse, but the service here is very inconsistent. You never know if you'll get a clean table, silverware, or a server that will pay attention. One day, we sat here for our breakfast and asked for coffee. We finished our breakfast and a second request for coffee before getting it delivered. Don't look up in the Main Dining Room. You'll see half of the ceiling is patched with drywall screwed in, not mudded in or taped, not painted. And watch out for the birds that fly in and over your tables.

The specialty restaurants: Martino's and Garden of Eden were nice. The beef was fantastic. Appetizers OK. Salad average. Dessert at Martino's was OK. Cheesecake too dry, but the banana tirimisu was excellent.

By the pool, there was the Beach Grill. Normal grill foods: burger, hot dogs, but then more. Salads: Crab, Jerk Chicken Caesar, and Greek. Nice! Conch fritters, fish and chips, and crab salad sandwiches. Nicely done! Keep close to your food until you finish it though. One moment away and the food is swooped away by seagulls.

Bars: The pool and lobby bars are where we ordered. If you are a beer drinker and cannot/choose not to drink draft, then this is not the place for you. That is the only choice. Local beer is one thing, but only offering draft stinks. There are soda, cofee, tea, and frozen ice machines near most bars and then you can ask for added liquor. All drinks are served in cheap 8 oz cups. Nothing else unless you just arrived at check in, go to the disco bar for a drink before dinner, or at the dinner table. I read on this site from another review to bring cups, which I did and that really helped. Tervis tumblers with lids are great to keep the bugs out & cold in.

Service: At the restaurants and bars, there were only about 3-4 employees that made service special. Considering the number of staff to keep a property like this running, that is a very small percent of the staff going above and beyond.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach seems to be what you are paying for here. The sand is soft and clean. The water is what you expect and want when headed to the Bahamas. Comfortable, clear, blue water. Plenty of seats and huts for shade.

The pool is small compared to other resorts we've visited. Only 1 pool area. No floats. No wandering waiters to get your drink orders. There were several areas with shade to sit if you needed it. The jacuzzi hot tub was large and very comfortable. Bringing your own towels would be a tip I'd add to anyone that choose to go here. You have to sign out towels at the pool. Only 1 per guest. And they must be signed in by 7 pm to avoid $15 charge per towel. Our last day we did not make dinner reservations and a volleyball game started in the pool about 6 pm. I went to the room to get a bathroom towel to prepare for checking in the pool towels and still be able to dry off and get warm without a fee.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
When we travel and invest in an all-inclusive resort, our intention is to not leave the resort or invest in additional costs for activities. We did however leave to walk 10 minutes down the road to go to the Wyndam Resort and play in the casino. The Wyndam also had associates on the beach at Breezes trying to get customers engaged for a sales pitch on the Wyndam resort about their rewards/value program.

Other Comments:
We made the best of it. It wasn't miserable, but there are better resorts. If you want or have had luxury, this is not going to compare. There are opportunities to note: no competition for pool chairs, beautifl beach & water with easy access, relazed dress code, and convenient town access.

We spoke to other guests at Breezes where it was there 1st all-inclusive and encourage them to try other resorts before giving up on all-inclusive because of their Breezes experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never again"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  mike murphy  on Jul 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
541 people found this review helpful

Our family has been to numerous all inclusive hotels for our vacation. i would not recommend this resort for anything except for the beach. it was exceptional except for the women & men hounding u all of the time to buy their jewerly[which u can find cheaper in the gift shop] or going jet sking/ cruises etc. incidently, bargin w/ them. 1 couple got a jet ski for $50.00.the water sports people were a joke. u r at the beach & u have to pay to snorkle. wats that all about. people go to the bahamas to snorkel. we did finally go w/ capt paul for $40.00. it was great, but snorkling equip should be provided. no mini bar or fridge in room which was odd. if u go back to your room to relax after sunning/ u had to make numerous trips to the bar or soda fountain [which was freq empty] to keep hydrated. i found this to be very annoying since it was all inclusive. the food @ the beach hut was great. my husband lived on hamburgers all week. the food was very hot. watch out for the seagulls tho. we always took it inside to eat. the buffet was lousy. it was the same food every day. same salads/ desserts/ veg. the main meat would change occasionally. entertainment was ok. this resort is for 20 year olds who want to get drunk & get laid everynight. the noise was unbelieivable. we ask to be moved/ which they did/ to the managers floor. it would be more "quiet" there. well unless the manager was away/ the noise was just as bad. all hours of the night. talking/ yelling/ running. u would have thought these kids were on their class trip or something. we c/o but nothing was or ever could of been done. check in was terrible. we got there @ 130 pm & couldn't get into the room until 430 pm. musty smelling but that goes along w/ the carribean. most travelers have been up since 3 am & we just want to take off our shoes & rest for a bit. nothing special/ just relax. but the rooms were still being cleaned. for several hours? i may go back to the bahamas , but not here. for as much as we paid, it was a big dissapointment. that's the chance u have to take.

Room Number:
458

Room Block:
west wing

Arrival:
to long to get a room. they were in no hurry to get one for us. we asked for king/ but finally took 2 doubles because of the long wait

Rooms:
dark/ outdated furniture/ musty. safe on the floor. wats thats all about/ way to noisy

Restaurants and Bars:
garden of eden was good. waiter looked as tho he was bored out of his mind/ 2nd time we ate there much better. arthur was great as was the food/ marcellos was great/ lots of food/ great salads

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool was small, but didnt have to search very long for chair/ pretty empty for the middle of july. beach was great/ not enough tiki huts. out of towels some days

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didn't participate much. again for the 20 year olds.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube