Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Breezes Bahamas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Nassau Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 2, 2013

Wyndham Nassau Resort

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Breezes Bahamas  

West Bay Street | PO Box C, Nassau 13049, New Providence Island

"Review and feedback of Breezes Bahamas"
Posted by: Priscilla  on Jun 15, 2014
see all reviews

Breezes Bahamas Reviews
Breezes Bahamas Pictures and Information
Breezes Bahamas Nassau Bahamas

#1
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Breezes Bahamas Information


Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served buffet-style at our air-conditioned main dining room. Dinner is also served in casual elegance at Pastafari, our air-conditioned Italian 'RASTAurant' and Garden of Eden, where you'll experience a five course meal set in a tropical garden and seating for two.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Breezes Bahamas Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  8
Average
  1
Poor
  7
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (37)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (31)
Solo
1 - 10 of 37

"Thanks guys!!"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CatherineOrilliaOntario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
389 people found this review helpful

Just came back from our 3rd visit to Breezes this year. There is a very good reason why we keep going back again and again to this hotel - it is the fantastic and fantabulous staff who always make our vacations special. Thanks guys!!
We had a room in the west wing. We found it to be very clean and with a comfortable mattress that I think was new because we had the same room earlier this year and I slept much better this time than I usually do. Did not hear noise at night at all.
The food at the buffet has definitely changed over the last while, and now has a variety of new items that are I would call "healthy living" foods. Of course that did not stop us from having roast turkey twice during the week. The Pastafari and Garden of Eden still had our favourite choices on their menus, plus some new items at Pastafari.
The weather was very hot and humid because of rain, though we also had some sunny periods as well. We spent our time having fun and meeting both old and new friends.
When you want a relaxing vacation that that does not cost a fortune, but does have decent food and drink, plus lots of fun, you can't beat Breezes. Go with an open mind and enjoy yourselves.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a ball !!!!"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  HelenTorontoCanada  on Jan 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
287 people found this review helpful

Myself and two friends flew from Toronto on Jan 22, 2004 to Nassau and we had a ball !!!!
Flight
The flight (Skyservice) going and coming were OK. On our way there we had a 40 min delays because there were a back long of planes waiting to de-ice. But once in the air, we made up the time arriving only about 15 mins later than scheduled.
Front Desk
Check in was a "Breeze", we had no trouble, you have to give a credit card in case there are charges to the room (telephone), but this is ripped up in front of you when leaving. Also one night my friends who had the room keys ditched me, needless to say I had no key and the front desk were very nice, they sent someone to my door with a spare key to open it for me at 4:20 AM....that right in the morning!!!

Arrival:
Myself and two friends flew from Toronto on Jan 22, 2004 to Nassau and we had a ball !!!!

Flight
The flight (Skyservice) going and coming were OK. On our way there we had a 40 min delays because there were a back long of planes waiting to de-ice. But once in the air, we made up the time arriving only about 15 mins later than scheduled.

Front Desk
Check in was a "Breeze", we had no trouble, you have to give a credit card in case there are charges to the room (telephone), but this is ripped up in front of you when leaving. Also one night my friends who had the room keys ditched me, needless to say I had no key and the front desk were very nice, they sent someone to my door with a spare key to open it for me at 4:20 AM....that right in the morning!!!

Staff:
All of the staff wish you "good morning", most were friendly and helpful, especially if you ask something from the food servers.

Room:
It was standard, nothing fancy, the balcony door was stuck, someone came up to try and fix it but we didn't have enough muscle to move it, plus the balcony was really just a few inches in length. The toilet in our room did stop going, but we got used to that, if you jiggle it a bit it stopped. The room isn't to die for but then who goes to Nassau to stay in the room right!!! But it was clean and there were fresh towels each morning and the room was always made up nicely when we came back to the room to crash!!!

Food:
The food was amazing. The buffet was really good for all meals. There is lots of variety and something for everyone. They even have an ice-cream machine in the buffet. There is a snack bar between the beach and the pool. Be sure to try the fish fingers they are really tasty. We tried both restaurants Eden and Pastafari both were excellent, friendly and fast service, and are both had four course dinners. Be sure to book them ahead of time. The food at Breezes definitely made the vacation for us!!! The drinks are good and strong!!!

Beach/Pool:
The beach had some seaweed by the waters' edge but it was nice and clean on the beach, lots of beach chairs. There is a towel service during the whole day. HOWEVER, just be warned that now is their winter, and the water is cold for both the beach and pool...only the jacuzzi next to the pool was nice and warm. We spent most of the time out of the water....but it was ok because we tanned and went to Atlantis

Weather:
This was the only draw back in Nassau, in the evenings a sweater is needed right now. Apparently March/April are their best months.

Entertainment:
The entertainers keep guest busy with games and activities during the day and shows every night. The are friendly, fun and interact well with the guests. The on-site disco is hopping from 12 AM to 5 AM and the drinks are good and free there too.

Side Trips:
Make sure to take a Trip to Atlantis Hotel and pay the $25 for the tour, it is amazing, you see sharks, sting rays, schools of fish etc etc it was fantastic. We took the number 10 bus from in front of the hotel, the fare cost $1.00 US (bring exact change) which drops you downtown. You can either walk to the Ferry dock and pay $3.00 each way, to go over to Paradise Island with is where Atlantis is or pay a taxi $4.00 to drive over the bridge. We did both we went by Taxi and came back by Ferry both were enjoyable.
I also talked one of the guys on the beach to take out a wave runner for 10 mins which cost me $20 US...normal prices are about $120 US per hour!!! This was a really memorable experience and will definitely try it again.

I would definitely go back to Nassau (but when the weather is a little warmer) and definitely stay at the Breezes again. It was a fun and terrific experience!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great oceanfront room with a view"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Jul 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jul, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

Just came back from a week at Breezes where we had a terrific time relaxing and having fun. On check in we found we had a great oceanfront room with a view of the many colours of the ocean which was actually more green than blue.
As we vacation at Breezes several times a year we were greeted by staff everywhere we went (this happened even at the airport). The staff at Breezes are the secret to enjoying a holiday here as they are all so attentive and fun.
As we were there primarily for rest and relaxation we participated in lots of non-energetic beach games and even did aqua aerobics a couple of times. We sat in the sun, we swam in the pool, and ate and drank well - the food was excellent everwhere from the beach grill to Pastafari (didn't make it to the Garden of Eden).
The weather was very good. It did rain the day before we left, so we sat inside and chatted with other people, etc.. While it was raining I noticed that pool staff took an extra opportunity to clean the pools - that's good time management. All in all it was a great relaxing holiday - with the exception of the actual travelling - and we look forward to returning in the Fall.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
357 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a 10 day vacation at Breezes Bahamas. We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can. As regular guests it means we know more or less the whole staff and without exception they are all pleasant, friendly and helpful.
We arrived midweek and on Wednesdays there is usually a party for returning guests - when we went to the party we found many people we had met on our previous vacations. It was really nice to catch up with them all. In addition, the day before we left some old friends arrived and we had a lot of laughs and a super dinner together in the Garden of Eden.

Arrival:
Just returned from a 10 day vacation at Breezes Bahamas. We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can. As regular guests it means we know more or less the whole staff and without exception they are all pleasant, friendly and helpful.

We arrived midweek and on Wednesdays there is usually a party for returning guests - when we went to the party we found many people we had met on our previous vacations. It was really nice to catch up with them all. In addition, the day before we left some old friends arrived and we had a lot of laughs and a super dinner together in the Garden of Eden. In sharp contrast to our last vacation in September, when it was very hot and humid, November was quite a bit cooler especially in the early morning, but it became more comfortable as the day progressed. It did prevent us from going in the pool. However we had a lot of fun just hanging around, meeting yet more new and old friends, relaxing and participating in the daily entertainment with the crazy entertainment team.

I did remember to bring home daily activity sheets so if anyone wants to know what is on each day, just ask and I will list it. I hope to scan them and post them in the forum or our personal website about the Bahamas at http://www.geocities.com/regkit/

We did not take any excursions, though one day we went downtown and noticed there was definitely less people around, both on the streets and in the stores, the looming recession being the cause !

Rooms:
The renovations to the east wing rooms are nearly complete and we took a peek and they look very nice with tiled floors, new walk in showers, flat screen tv’s. My husband was really really impressed with them.

We had a room on the 2nd floor in the west wing, with a great bathroom, close enough to facilities but not too close, and we did not hear any noise at night from the entertainment. Talking about entertainment Funky D and the Summer Breeze Band are still serenading everyone. We had a fantastic time and even my husband - who can’t dance - danced a couple of times but in his stead I found a very tall handsome man who I borrowed from someone and he was very good and made me look like I knew what I was doing.

Food:
The three meals a day that we ate was much more than we eat at home but I somehow managed to limit my weight gain to only 2 lbs. Here is a little selection of what is available in the buffet and a la carte restaurants - I am actually taking it from my previous review from May 2008, but brought up to date.

Breakfast has excellent omelettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, breakfast potatoes, waffles and syrup, a variety of breads, cereals, fruits, yoghourt, etc. plus some traditional local delicacies. Coffee is available at self serve machines, or served at your table, plus a variety of juices. I personally found the coffee tastier than it was in September. Lunch and dinner in the buffet offers a very large selection of salads, meat, vegetables, pasta, a variety of seafood and desserts. There is also a carvery, roast beef, roast turkey, roast pork, ham, etc. During a typical week there are theme nights, such as Bahamian, Oriental, Caribbean, Italian (Pizza, Lasagna, etc) and International.

The desserts are many. They range from ice cream from a machine - you select your own toppings - to a large selection of cakes and pies, our favourite being chocolate profiterols which are to die for and I am sure that they were what contributed to the extra 2 lbs.

The pool grill has burgers, cheeseburgers, fries, hot dogs, greek salad, conch fritters, fish and chips, jerk chicken and more. Between the two of us we have tried everything and never been disappointed.

At 4 p.m. in the Piano Bar there is a selection of sandwiches, cookies/cakes and tea/coffee. The Piano Bar is also a nice place to relax in the evening after dinner unless you are watching the entertainment upstairs.

The two a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit, and both provide a romantic ambiance.. The Garden of Eden adds a twist to traditional western food, with such items as Adam’s Rib (steak), Lucifers Catch (Salmon), etc. Pastafari has a good sized hors’ douvres table, plus an expanded menu since September that includes a larger selection of salads, pasta, seafood, steak, chicken and desserts.

Bars:
There are 4 bars. The main bar, pool bar, piano bar and the disco bar. The local beer is Kalik regular on tap, plus Kalik Light and Sands which is a relatively new Bahamian beer. Occasionally there are other beers but most of the time it is Kalik and Kalik Light. You will find a good range of alcohol available, from Absolut Vodka, Crown Royal, Johnny Walker Scotch, Gin, Rye, Brandy, Cognac and Courvoisier, etc.etc..

The white wine from Chile is a Chardonnay and the red is a Sauvignon/Merlot. For a champagne type, there is an Italian Spumante available. The a la carte restaurants may also have additional wines

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We came across old friends that greeted us"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on May 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

Just spent 8 days at Breezes Bahamas where we had a wonderful vacation.
Everything was just right, from the hot hot hot weather, the ocean breezes keeping us cool, and the friendly atmosphere at the hotel. We have stayed here so many times we have lost count, which means that we pretty much know all the staff and it feels like home.
From the very first day, when we arrived at the airport in Nassau, we came across old friends that greeted us and that made our vacation even better. When we got to the hotel we checked in swiftly and soon after our room was ready.

Arrival:
Just spent 8 days at Breezes Bahamas where we had a wonderful vacation.

Everything was just right, from the hot hot hot weather, the ocean breezes keeping us cool, and the friendly atmosphere at the hotel. We have stayed here so many times we have lost count, which means that we pretty much know all the staff and it feels like home.

From the very first day, when we arrived at the airport in Nassau, we came across old friends that greeted us and that made our vacation even better. When we got to the hotel we checked in swiftly and soon after our room was ready.

Room:
Our room was on the 2nd floor in the west wing with a view that looked out over the jacuzzi, pool and part of the beach. The location was perfect, not too far to anything. One evening we could hear the music from the main stage, however it was not intrusive and did not bother us. The bathrooms are renovated, with good sized glass doors to the walk-in showers, safety bars on the wall so you cannot slip, plus a seating area so you can scrub your feet, etc. The housekeeping was excellent and we returned every day to a pristine room.

Entertainment:
From aqua-aerobics to golf in the sand, dancing or bikini contests on the outside stage, playing bingo, tennis at the on-site courts, bicycle rides, sailing lessons, windsurfing lessons, trampoline, pool and beach volleyball, darts, dance classes. There is such a range of activities it is hard to list them all. Each day has a theme such as Sumo Sunday, Pyjama Tuesday, Oldies Wednesday, Carnival Friday and so on. You cannot be bored - and that is just the daytime!

If you need a workout after all that activity the hotel has a gym centre behind the large screen tv. You will also find pool tables and ping pong. Internet facilities are available off the lobby, to the right of the large screen t

Most evenings Funky D & Summer Breeze Band takes centre stage in the Main Lounge. Pool tables and table tennis tables are available for guests use. You can also find Karaoke, a Casino Night, Oldies and Talent shows. The Disco is on the lower level across from Pastafari. It has a comedy act twice a week, plus a pyjama party, sumo wrestling, etc. The Piano Lounge is next to the buffet and there is a resident piano player. Some guests like to congregate here, and perhaps sing along with the music.

Food:
From the very large selection in the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner we always found plenty of appetizing food.
Breakfast has excellent omelettes, eggs and bacon, boiled eggs, sausages, waffles and syrup, a variety of breads, cereals, fruits, yoghourt, etc. plus some traditional local delicacies. Coffee is available at self serve machines, or served at your table, as at a variety of juices.
Lunch and dinner both offer a very large selection of salads, meat, fish, vegetables, pasta, desserts. There is also a carvery, roast beef, roast turkey, roast pork, ham, etc. Twice a week they offer an a la carte service. You select what you want from a menu and it is served to you. During a typical week there are theme nights, such as Bahamian, Oriental, Caribbean, Italian (Pizza etc) and International.
The desserts are many. They range from ice cream to a large selection of cakes and pies, our favourite being chocolate profiterols.
The pool grill provides burgers, hot dogs, greek salad, conch fritters, fish and chips, jerk chicken (reputed to be better than that in Jamaica - and I agree). Between the two of us we have tried everything and never been disappointed.
At 4 p.m. in the Piano Bar there is a selection of sandwiches, cookies/cakes and tea/coffee.
The two a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit, and both provide a romantic ambiance.. The Garden of Eden adds a twist to traditional western food, with such items as Adam’s Rib (steak), Lucifers Catch (Salmon), etc. Pastafari has a good sized hors douvres table, plus the menu includes salads, pasta, seafood, steak, chicken and desserts.

Drinks:
There are 4 bars. The main bar, pool bar, piano bar and the disco bar. The local beer is Kalik, which is now on tap at all the bars. You may occasionally see other beers but Kalik is the main beer served. You will find a good range of alcohol available, from Absolut Vodka, Crown Royal, Scotch, Gin, Rye, Brandy and Cognac, plus many more.
The wine from Chile is either a Chardonnay (white) or a Sauvignon/Merlot (red). For a champagne type, there is an Italian Spumante available. The a la carte restaurants may also have additional wines.

Miscellaneous:
To get to downtown Nassau you take the #10 bus to the left of the hotel at a cost of $1 per person each way. Do not forget they drive on the left - so look both says when crossing a road. Once downtown there is lots to do, from the straw market, the Pirate’s Museum and Senor Frogs. Other attractions are the Ardastra Gardens & Zoo, Arawak Cay for local delicacies, Fort Charlotte. To get to Paradise Island you can walk through to the road behind the straw market, or any street on the left, and you will be on the harbour and see the ferries to take you to Paradise Island. It is $3 per person each way.
The Crystal Palace Casino is a few minutes away, perhaps 5 to 7 mins. During the day when you leave the hotel walk to the right. You can’t miss it. In the evenings a free shuttle is available to and from the hotel (except Mondays). It arrives just after the hour and returns promptly on the hour starting from 6 pm up to midnight. Breezes is the first drop off.
HAVE FUN !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another reason we keep coming back to Breezes is the food"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Nov 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
291 people found this review helpful

Once we started getting real winter at home it was time for a return trip back to Breezes Bahamas. We decided to make up for the short 4 day trip last November, so we went for 8 days. Our flights were generally on-time and we arrived in Nassau in the early afternoon. Luckily the shuttle departed as soon as we were on board.

Arrival:
Once we started getting real winter at home it was time for a return trip back to Breezes Bahamas. We decided to make up for the short 4 day trip last November, so we went for 8 days. Our flights were generally on-time and we arrived in Nassau in the early afternoon. Luckily the shuttle departed as soon as we were on board.

On arrival at Breezes we were welcomed by our old friend James, who is one of the security guards. We got to the counter to check in - somehow we were still first in line. Check in seemed to go on forever - but we found out why when we arrived in our room. Some staff members were trying to delay us as they were still decorating our room with balloons and a special note on the bed welcoming us back. When we arrived to our room and saw this we started laughing almost hysterically - but we soon calmed down and went for a beer and some lunch.

We also want to thank the members of staff:
For the most part the weather was pretty good with highs in the 79 - 82 range. It rained a couple of nights while we were asleep and one day was a slightly cooler, however it was still warm enough to swim in the ocean and participate in pool aerobics, etc. We played several beach games such as beach golf and beach bowling, etc. One day I won the darts game - which really surprised me! I went to the mixology class which was fun. Reg also went on the bicycle tour a couple of times. While he was gone I chatted with the mechanic who was replacing the wheel guards on the bicycles and generally keeping them in good working order. He was a very interesting character, having lived in both Europe and the US besides the Bahamas. After that I went for a walk around by the tennis courts and along the beach, arriving at reception just in time to see the bike group arriving back at the hotel.

Another reason we keep coming back to Breezes is the food. Everything we ate at either the buffet, beach grill or the a la carte restaurants was excellent! >From conch fritters to roast turkey, steak, pasta and the never ending selection of salads and desserts. The ambiance of both Pastafari and the Garden of Eden make for even more pleasurable meals. We also enjoyed the accompanying wines from Chile.

The best part of our holiday was meeting people from places as far away as Brazil, Argentina, the UK and the US - and quite a large contingent of folks from Canada. We met up with a wedding party, some members of which we previously met through the TripAdvisor Forum - and later watched the wedding from a discreet distance. Hi to Shannon and Chris (the bride and groom), Jeff and Diane, Al, and also to Kris, Becky, Joanne and Gabe, Carol and Jay, and Luiz and Adriana. We really enjoyed meeting and having fun with you all.

We also want to thank the members of staff for making our holiday so much fun - from James, Douglas and Darren at the front steps - Terri, William, Reggie, George, Kim, Marline, Lakeisha, Makeda, Avernal, Tena, Jennipher, Joy, Pink (aka Casanova), Ria, Carleton, Snake, Delvon, Crystal, Jerry, plus Keno in the Garden of Eden and Charles in Pastafari. Our apologies if we have missed anyone.

Now we can start planning our next vacation - destination Breezes Bahamas

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entertainment gang moved indoors"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on May 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
286 people found this review helpful

Recently returned from another trip to Breezes Bahamas - we were there from May 13th to 20th. Luckily, we had no problems with our flights, they were all pretty much on time - though I had some reservations about whether our luggage would get there when we changed planes in Charlotte - but all was well and we had our luggage off the carousel in Nassau within minutes. Going outside, the shuttle bus driver to Breezes recognized us and almost as soon as we boarded we were on the way.

Arrival:
Recently returned from another trip to Breezes Bahamas - we were there from May 13th to 20th. Luckily, we had no problems with our flights, they were all pretty much on time - though I had some reservations about whether our luggage would get there when we changed planes in Charlotte - but all was well and we had our luggage off the carousel in Nassau within minutes. Going outside, the shuttle bus driver to Breezes recognized us and almost as soon as we boarded we were on the way.

Room:
As it was still only 12:00 noon we went and had lunch and on returning to the desk afterwards our room was ready. We were happily surprised when we were upgraded to an oceanfront room. The room was very large, with tile floors (though we saw rooms on that floor with blue carpet) and had been updated with dark wood furniture in the colonial style. The bathroom was renovated and everything was very clean. We also found a bottle of champagne and a cheese/fruit plate waiting for us which was a nice touch. It was also a very quiet room. With the exception of the night when they had the trapeze show we didn’t hear anything at all. (We were in our room packing anyway - and had a fantastic view of the show).

Food and Drink:
Every day we checked the menus by the buffet doors, and if it was not to our taste we went to the reservation desk in reception and saw Terri. She is the girl who books a la carte reservations. She is so friendly and a credit to Breezes. She always manages to accommodate the guests requirements - where she can. We needed to change a reservation one day as we found we had a conflict and wanted to go the next day instead. It was "no problem".
We ate in both a la carte restaurants, plus the buffet which is open for for 3 meals a day and at midnight too - and the beach grill. Plus there is afternoon tea set up in the piano bar at 4:00 pm every day. We did not go hungry!
Kalik and Kalik Light were both available. I didn’t see any other beer this time, we have seen Corona and Bud and Bud Light on previous visits. We did go to the piano bar in the evening this trip, and they may have had some US beers. The South African red and white is back - but we also had a really nice Chilean rose wine with lunch one day - plus the champagne was always available - it is also nice with a couple of maraschino cherries in it (the first one I had in the disco and after that always asked for the cherries). The bars carried top shelf liquor - what I saw was Johnny Walker (Red and Black), Absolute, Crown Royal, Captain Morgan, Bacardi (of course, as there is a plant on the island), Gilbeys, etc.etc.

Entertainment:
There is lots to do outside - from the trapeze, the climbing wall, juggling and trampoline clinics, beach and pool volleyball, aerobics, beach bowling, table tennis and regular tennis courts (you can get tennis, windsurfing and waterskiing lessons), horseshoes, marshmallow golf (don’t ask, but it is fun!), bingo, sexy bikini and other various contests, sumo wrestling and bouncy boxing, etc.etc.
Remember, when you participate in the games you can win tokens - which you can then exchange for souvenirs, etc. We made good use of some of our tokens and exchanged for a breezes bag and 3 pictures. We have a few left for next time!
Inside there is a big screen TV - that is fun in the evenings when you are rooting for your team - and pool tables, and ping-pong tables - plus the gym which is just behind the ping-pong tables. The staff put on great shows in the evenings. There is a kareoke night. There is also toga parties, pyjama parties and a comedy night - these are all in the disco. Do not forget Saturday night when there is a Junkanoo Band - not to be missed.
If you are looking for a quiet spot there are hammocks to swing in while relaxing with your loved one, a drink or a book - there are some in a small garden area behind the higher (west) wing, and also some both sides of the east wing.

Weather:
The weather was hot but not too humid, however one day it rained all day. It was no problem. The entertainment gang moved indoors.
They set up a bingo marathon - I didn’t win once but my husband won 3 times. (I only won when I played outside!). The pool tables and ping pong were also busy - as was the bar. I found a magazine from the rack by the computers and sat back with a Kalik. It was also great for meeting the other guests and we had some fun conversations with various people. We found, as usual, that the majority of the guests came either from Canada, the UK and USA - with a sprinkling of people from other countries.
Of course we will go back, and as often as possible. If I missed anything, or you have specific questions, let me know and I will try to answer them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I slept better than at home"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

Returned last Thursday from a week at Breezes. This was the first time we had stayed there in September and the weather was much better than we had anticipated. Had steady rain for nearly half a day, and a few showers throughout the week. We did not get wet - except when we were in the pool !!

Arrival:
Returned last Thursday from a week at Breezes. This was the first time we had stayed there in September and the weather was much better than we had anticipated. Had steady rain for nearly half a day, and a few showers throughout the week. We did not get wet - except when we were in the pool !!
As we arrived in the evening our room was ready, so we just dumped our stuff and went for dinner in the buffet as we had remembered that roast turkey was on that night. It was really good - as was the food and drink for the rest of the week - and especially so in the 2 a la carte restaurants which we had no problem booking. We celebrated my husband’s birthday in Pastafari and were both surprised when a birthday cake was delivered to our table !! (Thanks Terri).

Bar Staff:
The bar staff were all helpful, attentive and fun. I was impressed when Reggie the barman in the main lobby bar recommended the best nightcap drink for me after the couple of glasses of champagne I had already drank (to say nothing of the beer through the day). The wrong drink could have given me a nasty headache the next morning, but on his recommendation I was just fine.

Room:
We had absolutely no issues with the room, the pool, the facilities and the hotel in general. We did not have an updated room, but one we had actually stayed in previously. It was immaculately clean, in an excellent location, handy to everything, but not noisy. I slept better than at home.

More ...:
We had lots of fun playing beach games - sometimes won - sometimes came last - and we accumulated quite a few of the tokens which we exchanged for a nice bag and a few other things. Don’t forget to go to the token exchange table (it is open twice a day) and change your tokens for souvenirs - they are a visible memory of your vacation. All the staff - not only those in entertainment - were friendly and helpful and made our holiday yet another memorable experience at Breezes.

One morning we took the #10 bus to downtown Nassau, made a few visits here and there and checked out the stores. We found an excellent deal for a bottle of French Brandy. They even wrapped the bottle in bubble wrap so we could put it in our checked luggage for the return trip - you cannot put it in carry on due to the regulations.

Talking about luggage we made sure everything was put where it should be - however we forgot to put the half-full toothpaste in the checked baggage as it was the last thing we used - and they took it from us. It is not their fault, they have a job to do.

Thanks:
Our thanks go to Terri - she is now on reception, to James on security (but not forgetting the evening security guy who is a great dancer - he and I took a few turns in the lobby), Reggie, Carrieanna and the bar staff, all the entertainment group (Pink and Scooby are new), lastly but not leastly the waiting staff in the restaurants, such as Tena who always remembers us from previous visits. We were sorry to leave and go home, but are sure to return yet again and enjoy the facilities and the staff at Breezes. It really is like having a home away from home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our favourite spot is Breezes"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
296 people found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to the Bahamas, and though we have stayed at several other hotels, our favourite spot is Breezes and in fact are due to go back again in mid-May - and counting down the days!!
We always enjoy our vacations there, in fact it is like going to our second home, starting right at arrival - even before we get to reception - because the security guys welcome us back!! In fact all the bartenders welcome us back too, especially Reggie as he and my husband have the same name. What a duo, always kidding around.
We don't worry about anything while we are there. We just enjoy what is being offered. Good food, good drinks, good entertainment and great staff. The only thing they cannot guarantee is the weather, but looking back over the years we have never had any serious weather conditions. We flew around a hurricane once, but once we arrived we never saw any rain at all. We must live a charmed life.
So, to all those who want to know, here is the real scoop on Breezes.

Firstly:
We are regular visitors to the Bahamas, and though we have stayed at several other hotels, our favourite spot is Breezes and in fact are due to go back again in mid-May - and counting down the days!!
We always enjoy our vacations there, in fact it is like going to our second home, starting right at arrival - even before we get to reception - because the security guys welcome us back!! In fact all the bartenders welcome us back too, especially Reggie as he and my husband have the same name. What a duo, always kidding around.
We don't worry about anything while we are there. We just enjoy what is being offered. Good food, good drinks, good entertainment and great staff. The only thing they cannot guarantee is the weather, but looking back over the years we have never had any serious weather conditions. We flew around a hurricane once, but once we arrived we never saw any rain at all. We must live a charmed life.
So, to all those who want to know, here is the real scoop on Breezes.

The rooms:
The ones we have stayed in (usually on a low floor) were spacious and clean, as were the bathrooms. The housekeeper has always been very obliging if we need something like more towels or tissues, etc. We have never needed to call reception to complain about anything in the rooms.

The food:
it is excellent! We always eat in both a-la-carte restaurants, plus the buffet and beach grill ,and we thoroughly enjoy all our meals. We can recommend steak in Eden and the smoked salmon bruschetta and the chicken in Pastafari. However, our favourite is the roast turkey in the buffet. There is such a great selection in the buffet of salads, breads, several entrees, vegeables and those desserts!! We always go for an ice cream sundae late at night.

Drinks:
We love Kalik - the Beer of the Bahamas - and there is a light version however sometimes there is also Budweiser and/or Corona. There is top shelf liquor, but as I don't drink that stuff I can't remember what they are, but you can find Crown Royal, Kahlua, Gilbeys Gin, Scotch, etc. Just don't drink the Blackberry Brandy as my name on the bottle LOL.

Pools/Jacuzzi:
Lots of fun, with pool volley ball, aerobics for those energetic enough to participate. The jacuzzi is a lot of fun and you meet people from all over.

Entertainment:
There is entertainment every night, from fire eaters, kareoke, singers, dancers, etc. Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night - the true music of the Bahamas, and if you have the energy go to the disco!!

Games:
You wanna play - there is lot of games such as basketball, volleyball (pool or beach), tennis, rock climbing, trapeze, etc. If you want gentler pursuits try beach bowling, beach golf, bingo or mixology classes. If you don't - enjoy watching or read your book or have a drink. If you want to totally relax, try a massage. It is your holiday, enjoy it!

More ...:
In addition, there is a liquor store, gift shop with clothing and a jewellery store on the main level.

You thought I was finished? No! The best part of Breezes is the staff!!!!! From security to housekeeping, the entertainment crew, the staff in the restaurants, they are the best! James (security), Swish, Craig, Reggie, Jennipher, Kenja, Delvin, Funky D and the photographer - and so many more. These are the people we go back to see and have fun with.

I could go on and on - but you have to see for yourself.

If anyone has specific questions, just post a reply - or directly to us at our email - above.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Jan 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
281 people found this review helpful

We had a fast flight from Toronto to Nassau - 2 hours and 20 minutes. Check in was quick too, and we found a bottle of champagne and a cheese and fruit plate awaiting for us in our room.

Arrival:
We had a fast flight from Toronto to Nassau - 2 hours and 20 minutes. Check in was quick too, and we found a bottle of champagne and a cheese and fruit plate awaiting for us in our room.

Rooms:
no change that I could see from our last visit in November 2005. I was chatting with the "rasta" guy who does painting and decorating at the hotel and he said some rooms in the higher levels of the west wing had new furniture, and eventually all will be completely updated, redecorated and have the new furniture - colonial style.

Food:
excellent! We ate in both a la carte restaurants, plus the buffet and beach grill and we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals, especially steak in Eden and the smoked salmon bruschetta in Pastafari - not to forget the roast turkey in the buffet one night

Drinks:
I only saw Kalik (plus the light version) myself but my husband said he saw Budweiser. In the past I have seen Corona. They have changed the house wine from the south african they had on previous visits so I switched to champagne - it went with everything!! You can find top shelf liquor here, especially at the inside bar.

Entertainment:
As we usually went to the casino after dinner we missed some of it, but what we saw was very good. A free shuttle to and from the casino goes on the hour from 7 to 12 midnight - the driver says he accepts tips, so if you win .... but don't let him know we told you. Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night - it is a total blast - and the true music of the Bahamas.

Beach Games:
there is lots to do on the beach. To my surprise I won a couple of games, such as beach golf and beach bowling. I had to concede defeat on some others because other people beat me LOL.

Weather:
very good. Saw a couple of rain drops one day, other than that it was about 80F every day, but it was breezy. We still got a tan.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube