Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Breezes Bahamas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Nassau Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 2, 2013

Wyndham Nassau Resort

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Breezes Bahamas  

West Bay Street | PO Box C, Nassau 13049, New Providence Island

"Review and feedback of Breezes Bahamas"
Posted by: Priscilla  on Jun 15, 2014
see all reviews

Breezes Bahamas Reviews
Breezes Bahamas Pictures and Information
Breezes Bahamas Nassau Bahamas

#1
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Breezes Bahamas Information


Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served buffet-style at our air-conditioned main dining room. Dinner is also served in casual elegance at Pastafari, our air-conditioned Italian 'RASTAurant' and Garden of Eden, where you'll experience a five course meal set in a tropical garden and seating for two.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Breezes Bahamas Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  8
Average
  1
Poor
  7
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (37)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (31)
Solo
11 - 20 of 37

"Fantastic"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  shannon  on Jul 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
446 people found this review helpful

Breezes is a great place to spend a vacation. The accommodations are not luxurious but they are more than adequate. The room smelled a little musty but we got used to it and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. The food was good but not 5 star. We were just happy that there was plenty of it and it was all included. The drinks flowed freely and the staff was fantastic. The best part of the trip was the entertainment. They had a staff of young people that were phenomenal. The could sing and dance and they organized games and activities all day. They were engaging and funny and involved the guests in everything. Funky D and the Summer Breeze band played every night and we stayed for each show. We loved him! All in all it was a great trip. For the amount of money we paid, we got everything we needed. You could stay at Sandals and have a little more luxury but you will pay twice as much.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not recommend, not as advertised, not suitable for the 14-18 age group"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Catriona Fraser  on Jan 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
437 people found this review helpful

No water skiing, no sign of a tennis pro, slow service, noisy all the time, shabby and in need of a massive upgrade

Your Arrival:
Could not go to rooms for another 2 hours, although changing rooms and showers were available

Rooms:
Shabby furnishings, scratched furniture, carpets coming off floor, inadequately soundproofed

Restaurants and Bars:
Cafeteria college style, also noisy, food OK. 2 restaurants with weird booking arrangements

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Water too cold to swim in pools, hot tub OK, grounds OK, they (and the hotel)all look much better in photos than in reality!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Advertised activities not all available, other activities on timed schedule, would have preferred to enjoy activities when we wanted, not when they wanted

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was our second trip and not much had changed."

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful

We were at the Superclubs resort for the second time in two years. I can't understand why there are complaints about this property.

Arrival:
We were at the Superclubs resort for the second time in two years. I can't understand why there are complaints about this property.

Check In: Check in was a "Breeze". We arrived at around 11:30am although checkin is not until 3:00pm. This was not a problem as they gave us our bracelets, checked our bags behind the counter and provided us with a changing room just off the lobby. We changed into our suits and headed for the pool. Around 3:00 our room was ready and we unpacked.

Rooms:
The rooms are similar to a chain motel. Clean, cool and everything worked. It has a safe and oversized tub. Unless you plan to spend your vacation in the room, it was very nice.

Main Facility:
This was our second trip and not much had changed. It was clean, bright and the staff was always picking up, cleaning and keeping things nice. It is a very well designed place with everything within a short walk.

Staff:
The staff did a good job, although most are not engauging which was fine with me. The bartenders did a good job and always remembered what you were drinking when you went for a refill.

Bars:
The bars opened on time and you could get a drink from 7:30am till 5:00am. The bars carried premium liquors, but the beer was either local or Miller lite. They make the drinks well and often, my favorite.

Food:
We ate mostly at the buffets which were super. They were open long hours and had a wide variety. All the food was tasty and we very much enjoyed it. I am not big into exotic dishes, but the steak was fine.

Entertainment:
The entertainment staff had all kinds of things to do during the day, from water volleyball, trapeeze flying, non-motorized water craft, rock climbing. If you didn't want to participate, you didn't have too. There were nightly shows including a comedian and the Hurricane Disco rocked till 5 am. The lobby area has pool, ping pong a health club and big screen tv.

Grounds:
The pool was clean and the staff was always cleaning the pool, grounds and the beach. The beach was fine and the water was super. There are beach vendors, but they are not pushy and will leave you alone.

General comments:
We have a great time when we go to Breezes. The staff is nice, the facility is in good repair and we just have a lot of fun. There is no real "personal" service such as room service or poolside waiters/waitresses. It is more of a self serve place which was fine with us. If you want someone to wait on you hand and foot, this is not the place. If you want a consistant facility where you can have loads of fun, go to Breezes!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thanks guys!!"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  CatherineOrilliaOntario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

Just came back from our 3rd visit to Breezes this year. There is a very good reason why we keep going back again and again to this hotel - it is the fantastic and fantabulous staff who always make our vacations special. Thanks guys!!
We had a room in the west wing. We found it to be very clean and with a comfortable mattress that I think was new because we had the same room earlier this year and I slept much better this time than I usually do. Did not hear noise at night at all.
The food at the buffet has definitely changed over the last while, and now has a variety of new items that are I would call "healthy living" foods. Of course that did not stop us from having roast turkey twice during the week. The Pastafari and Garden of Eden still had our favourite choices on their menus, plus some new items at Pastafari.
The weather was very hot and humid because of rain, though we also had some sunny periods as well. We spent our time having fun and meeting both old and new friends.
When you want a relaxing vacation that that does not cost a fortune, but does have decent food and drink, plus lots of fun, you can't beat Breezes. Go with an open mind and enjoy yourselves.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I don't expect to be pampered"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  JenCanada  on May 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

The arrival at the airport was quick and painless. A jump on the shuttle and off we went! The driver, Ken, shared lots of tips with us about things to do and interesting facts about the Bahamas. Upon arrival, the bellman took care of our luggage, we checked in effortlessly and off to the room we went. Seemed like we were off to a good start!

Rooms:
The room was fine. Nothing spectacular. The bathroom was very large, but the water pressure was lacking big time. Clean and comfortable, but nothing more than that. On our second day, we were not left any towels so had to go get some from the desk, and the third day she left her bathroom cleaning supplies in the bathroom. Most places I have stayed have made little things with the towels every day, so not getting any towels was a bit of a shock....ah well, in the grans scheme of thiings no big deal.

Arrival:
The arrival at the airport was quick and painless. A jump on the shuttle and off we went! The driver, Ken, shared lots of tips with us about things to do and interesting facts about the Bahamas. Upon arrival, the bellman took care of our luggage, we checked in effortlessly and off to the room we went. Seemed like we were off to a good start!

Rooms:
The room was fine. Nothing spectacular. The bathroom was very large, but the water pressure was lacking big time. Clean and comfortable, but nothing more than that. On our second day, we were not left any towels so had to go get some from the desk, and the third day she left her bathroom cleaning supplies in the bathroom. Most places I have stayed have made little things with the towels every day, so not getting any towels was a bit of a shock....ah well, in the grans scheme of thiings no big deal.

Restaurants and Bars:
We went for the day life, and found the food at the buffet to be very good - better than most of the resorts I have stayed on. There was something for almost everybody and we found it to be very tasty. They had a great salad bar. The drinks were terrible. The soda machines were often empty, forget about getting ice from the machine and the water was absolutely terrible - we tried, but we just could not drink it. We spent the majority of our money at the gift shop buying bottled water. I'm not a big alcohol drinker, so can't comment much on the variety, but the few drinks I did have were not very tasty. The coffee was awful. Getting a reservation at one of the 2 restaurants was quite a hastle. We were told that they start taking reservations at 11:00 for the next night. My friend was celebrating her 30th birthday so we tried to make reservations for a birthday dinner only to be told that because only one restaurant was open, they started at 10 that day and the restaurant is full. (You need reservations for both.) We went to MASO restaurant at the Wyndham up the street (delicious water, wine and food!) We did manage to get a reservation at the Italian estaurant for our last night, and it was very good. That's where they hide the drinkable wine and water BTW. The food and service was great. And that is about the only place that the service was great. The dinner hall is set up buffet style, and while the majority of the tables were empty a lot of the time, they had not been cleared and cleaned, and finding cutlery was a nightmare! Many staff members simply walked by the dirty tables and left them uncleared. Many times we sat for our entire meal, including dessert surrounded by dirty tables that were never cleared. Amazing. We would offer our unused cutlery and condiments to people walking by who had asked for knives and forks and didn't recieve them. My friend ordered a glass of wine at dinner, 25 min later she still didn't have it. Another staff member walked by the table and she asked her for a glass of red. There was no "yes", "no" - no acknowledgement whatsoever. About 10 min later, after she had all but given up on having a glass of wine, the lady returned to our area and put the glass of red down on the dirty table next to us - NOBODY WAS SITTING THERE! You think I'm kidding, but I am not! The beach grill was pretty good, but the soda machines were empty 90% of the times that we went there. We let them know, nicely that the diet pepsi was empty, and returned an hour later - Still empty. Unbelievable!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach area was large and quite beautiful. This was the best thing about the place. There are very few Tiki huts on the beach, and there was always a mad dash in the morning to get one of them, lest you would be frying in the unforgiving sun all day. Luckily, we were part of the early to bed; early to rise crew, so we got one most days. We spent the vast majority of our time on the beach, partly because we wanted to and partly because the pool area was crowded and small. One pool?? Really? I must have missed that! Everything was clean though, so can't really complain about it. What I will complain about is the constant harrassing of the salespeople on the beach. This is the first time I have stayed at a place where they allow multiple salespeole on the beach, constantly harrassing the people laying there. They started with the jet ski yelling at 8am and continued all day. Singling out people all day and asking them if they want to jet ski. I didn't 5 minutes ago, and still don't, thanks anyway. There were up to 4 women at a time walking back and forth selling jewelery, t shirts and offering hair braiding. They had a little table set up, so we could clearly go to them at any time, but all 4 of them individually approached us a min of 4 times each per day asking if we wanted to look at the ankle bracelets or get our hair braided. I'm going to tell you the same thing I told the jet ski guy - I wasn't interested 5 minutes ago, and remain not interested. The final huge complaint is that they allow people from a time share company to come to the resort, suck you into going to a time share presentation (by assuring you that it is not a time share presentation) where the sales people are rude, aggressive and seem to not understand the word "NO". Unless you are interested in investing on the spot, or are able to tolerate an inhuman amount of frustration for some tickets to Atlantis or something, just insist that you don't want to go. We regret going to it big time. I've also written a letter to that company. (Who would have though I'd start my letter writing campaigns in my early thirties??)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did a Dolphin Cay Adventure at Atlantis which was awesome. Dolphins are so smart and amazing.....Atlantis was quite beautiful but Holy Mother it is HUGE! I may think twice about staying there for the time it takes to get anythere! It was really nice though. We did a Snorkel and Booze Cruise, which was a nice little getaway. They take you from Cable Beach to pick up more passengers downtown and on Paradise Island and take you to a snorkeling place. The water was pretty rough that day, so most of us only stayed in for about 15-20 min. Then, they take us to a private beach for an hour where the only people on the beach are the people on the boat - and the Jet Ski guys.....at this point I was convinced that they were actually stalkers. They saw the boat coming in and circled the boat like sharks waiting to attack! Once the boat stopped and we got off the feeding frenzy began! Jet Skis - hey lady do you want to jet ski....never ending for the whole hour on a tiny beach where the only escape was to throw yourself into the water. All in all, it was 60 bucks, including drinks, a good BBQ lunch and an hour of snorkeling and on a beach, and dancing and singing the whole way back. I'd recommend doing this. Because apparently we are masochists, we walked to the straw market, where we were continually approached by what I can only assume were the Ying to the Yang on the beach - a lot of very pushy sales people....if you stop breathing down my neck and let me look, I may buy something.....they didn't, so neither did we. Walked away shaking our heads at ourselves - what were we thinking? There didn't seem to be a lot of activity on the resort. Nothing on the beach. They called it "beach games" but really is was next to the pool area. They played a game called ringtones a few times (think name that tune), had a few beach games here and there and an off with your head game - essentially a gladiator pit only on a wooden stage. Any other time I had been away, you were hard pressed to find an area where there weren't activities, and the staff were very lively and encouraging everyone to get involved. Here, the staff were more relaxed than the vacationers, and you really had to go out of your way to find out what was going on and where. Had the best massage of my life there courtesy of Shelley.

Other Comments:
When I go away, even though it is an all inclusive for R&R, I don't expect to be pampered. I'm very easygoing and self sufficient. I do, however, expect the same level of service as at a Wendy's for example. The staff in general did not seem motivated, and while nobody was rude at all, little things like "hello how is everything going", making sure a guest has a place to eat the meal they just put together from the buffet, bringing the glass of wine to a table with the people sitting at it and filling the soda machines when it is brought to your attention is important to me. I don't expect that the soda machines are checked - but when a guest lets you know that it is empty, change it! It was amazing how many staff members would walk past you without so much as a word. The maintenance guys were the friendliest and most outgoing people on the whole resort! I will not be going back there, and I would not recommend it. The Bahamas is a beautiful country, and I will return there, but I will be searching for somewhere else to stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were greeted with a Bahama Mama!"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  PaulOntario  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

November 20 - 27 We arrived in the Bahamas to wonderful weather, the airport is very nice, the transfer was quick and professional. When we arrived at the hotel, our room was not ready which is understandable since it was 10:30AM. They told us to check back at 3PM. Our bags were tucked away safe. We were greeted with a Bahama Mama!

Arrival:
We arrived in the Bahamas to wonderful weather, the airport is very nice, the transfer was quick and professional. When we arrived at the hotel, our room was not ready which is understandable since it was 10:30AM. They told us to check back at 3PM. Our bags were tucked away safe. We were greeted with a Bahama Mama!

Rooms:
The rooms in the small tower were being renovated while we were there. Our room looked fairly recently renovated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice. We were on the first floor so I believe our room was wheelchair accessable. The room is very basic with a 32" LCD TV Mounted on the wall, a dresser and a bed. Nothing special. It was clean.

Restaurants:
Three restaurants -
The Buffet was good, although it was the same thing every night it seemed. Food was good, nothing too exotic.
The Garden of Eden - The best restaurant in my opinion here. The atmosphere was great outdoors. The food was good. Try the Salmon, it was excellent.
Pastafari - A decent restaurant. The food once again was good. A little strange getting cheeze sticks like you would find out of a box, but cool nevertheless.
A picky eater will have no problems finding food to eat here.

Bars:
I was unimpressed with the bars with the exception of the Piano Bar which we unfortunately didnt use as much as we should have. The bars lacked a few things:

1. Service - You want a drink, get it yourself. I ask for Pina Colada, they point me to a slushy machine and there is a bottle of rum on the counter. Not a big deal.

2. Blenders - They didnt mix or make drinks as far as I saw. Ask for a Bahama Mama, it comes from a jug, ask for a daqurie it comes from a slushy machine. Ask for something requiring a mix and they look at your funny. The bars just werent all that fun compared to other resorts. It isnt bad, just different.

3. Bar staff who looked like they wanted to be there. The pool bar and main bar staff always had a look of "Why are you bothering me?"

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Pool is my biggest and only real legitimate complaint about the Hotel. No one could swim in the pool all week. The staff did a good job cleaning the pools every morning. The problem is by 6:30 the seaguls had moved in. The pool quickly obtained a film of seagul defication and feathers. The gulls swam and bathed in the pool, used it as their bathroom, and caused the biggest disappointment in the hotel as I really enjoy swimming on vacation.

The beach on the other hand is really nice. Sand is very fine. It is fun to play in the waves. The grounds were fairly well kept although I felt bad sometimes for the staff as keeping up with the bird poo was definitly a challenge I wouldnt want to take on.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activity staff was missing for the first few days, but after that they appeared and it was fun to be around them. The Circus school is quite difficult for a larger guy, but most people were quite successful on the trapeze and many had fun.

We love Scuba. We decided to do a two tank dive on the Tuesday. First dive was a ship wreck. Saw lots of Lion Fish. Beyond that, probably the worst dive we have ever done. Second dive was a shallow reef dive. This one was excellent, schools upon schools of fish. A nice dive.

We were considering swimming with the dolphins. Two options were given too us. $165 pp USD at some dolphin experience place or $190 pp USD at Atlanis. A group of 10 people with a total of 30 minutes shared in a pool for nearly $500CAD when the exchange is done. Not gonna happen. Kind of disappointing.

Other Comment:
Overall for the price we paid (under $900 pp) we cannot complain. Had we paid the usual rate for this hotel ($1200+)we would have been very disappointed. It is a very "American" holiday. Meaning the food is very American, the tours very American, the culture is more American than otherwise in my opinion. I like to take trips to places where I can imerse myself in the local culture and I found it difficult to do this here. The market was full of knock off designer handbags, watches, sunglasses instead of Bahamian crafts. If you want Bahamian stuff, go to the Festival Place. There is some neat stuff there and it is from what I can tell a unique place in the area as you are either in a really expensive jewelery store, looking at knockoff designer things, or yet another rack of bead necklaces the same as every other island in the caribbean or the local ontario flea market.

In conclusion:
The Bahamas was nice, the weather was nice, the people were nice. It is a very expensive place to go and we are glad we made the trip. Unfortunately we will not return to the Bahamas as it just didnt offer us what we are after in a vacation.

For others, it represents the perfect place to go. If you like food like you get at home. Stores, products, experiences like you get at home. and basically a vacation at home but warmer, go for it. Check to see if they have done anything about the seagull issue first.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a 10 day vacation at Breezes Bahamas. We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can. As regular guests it means we know more or less the whole staff and without exception they are all pleasant, friendly and helpful.
We arrived midweek and on Wednesdays there is usually a party for returning guests - when we went to the party we found many people we had met on our previous vacations. It was really nice to catch up with them all. In addition, the day before we left some old friends arrived and we had a lot of laughs and a super dinner together in the Garden of Eden.

Arrival:
Just returned from a 10 day vacation at Breezes Bahamas. We stay there regularly, in fact just as often as we can. As regular guests it means we know more or less the whole staff and without exception they are all pleasant, friendly and helpful.

We arrived midweek and on Wednesdays there is usually a party for returning guests - when we went to the party we found many people we had met on our previous vacations. It was really nice to catch up with them all. In addition, the day before we left some old friends arrived and we had a lot of laughs and a super dinner together in the Garden of Eden. In sharp contrast to our last vacation in September, when it was very hot and humid, November was quite a bit cooler especially in the early morning, but it became more comfortable as the day progressed. It did prevent us from going in the pool. However we had a lot of fun just hanging around, meeting yet more new and old friends, relaxing and participating in the daily entertainment with the crazy entertainment team.

I did remember to bring home daily activity sheets so if anyone wants to know what is on each day, just ask and I will list it. I hope to scan them and post them in the forum or our personal website about the Bahamas at http://www.geocities.com/regkit/

We did not take any excursions, though one day we went downtown and noticed there was definitely less people around, both on the streets and in the stores, the looming recession being the cause !

Rooms:
The renovations to the east wing rooms are nearly complete and we took a peek and they look very nice with tiled floors, new walk in showers, flat screen tv’s. My husband was really really impressed with them.

We had a room on the 2nd floor in the west wing, with a great bathroom, close enough to facilities but not too close, and we did not hear any noise at night from the entertainment. Talking about entertainment Funky D and the Summer Breeze Band are still serenading everyone. We had a fantastic time and even my husband - who can’t dance - danced a couple of times but in his stead I found a very tall handsome man who I borrowed from someone and he was very good and made me look like I knew what I was doing.

Food:
The three meals a day that we ate was much more than we eat at home but I somehow managed to limit my weight gain to only 2 lbs. Here is a little selection of what is available in the buffet and a la carte restaurants - I am actually taking it from my previous review from May 2008, but brought up to date.

Breakfast has excellent omelettes, fried eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, breakfast potatoes, waffles and syrup, a variety of breads, cereals, fruits, yoghourt, etc. plus some traditional local delicacies. Coffee is available at self serve machines, or served at your table, plus a variety of juices. I personally found the coffee tastier than it was in September. Lunch and dinner in the buffet offers a very large selection of salads, meat, vegetables, pasta, a variety of seafood and desserts. There is also a carvery, roast beef, roast turkey, roast pork, ham, etc. During a typical week there are theme nights, such as Bahamian, Oriental, Caribbean, Italian (Pizza, Lasagna, etc) and International.

The desserts are many. They range from ice cream from a machine - you select your own toppings - to a large selection of cakes and pies, our favourite being chocolate profiterols which are to die for and I am sure that they were what contributed to the extra 2 lbs.

The pool grill has burgers, cheeseburgers, fries, hot dogs, greek salad, conch fritters, fish and chips, jerk chicken and more. Between the two of us we have tried everything and never been disappointed.

At 4 p.m. in the Piano Bar there is a selection of sandwiches, cookies/cakes and tea/coffee. The Piano Bar is also a nice place to relax in the evening after dinner unless you are watching the entertainment upstairs.

The two a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit, and both provide a romantic ambiance.. The Garden of Eden adds a twist to traditional western food, with such items as Adam’s Rib (steak), Lucifers Catch (Salmon), etc. Pastafari has a good sized hors’ douvres table, plus an expanded menu since September that includes a larger selection of salads, pasta, seafood, steak, chicken and desserts.

Bars:
There are 4 bars. The main bar, pool bar, piano bar and the disco bar. The local beer is Kalik regular on tap, plus Kalik Light and Sands which is a relatively new Bahamian beer. Occasionally there are other beers but most of the time it is Kalik and Kalik Light. You will find a good range of alcohol available, from Absolut Vodka, Crown Royal, Johnny Walker Scotch, Gin, Rye, Brandy, Cognac and Courvoisier, etc.etc..

The white wine from Chile is a Chardonnay and the red is a Sauvignon/Merlot. For a champagne type, there is an Italian Spumante available. The a la carte restaurants may also have additional wines

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We came across old friends that greeted us"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on May 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

Just spent 8 days at Breezes Bahamas where we had a wonderful vacation.
Everything was just right, from the hot hot hot weather, the ocean breezes keeping us cool, and the friendly atmosphere at the hotel. We have stayed here so many times we have lost count, which means that we pretty much know all the staff and it feels like home.
From the very first day, when we arrived at the airport in Nassau, we came across old friends that greeted us and that made our vacation even better. When we got to the hotel we checked in swiftly and soon after our room was ready.

Arrival:
Just spent 8 days at Breezes Bahamas where we had a wonderful vacation.

Everything was just right, from the hot hot hot weather, the ocean breezes keeping us cool, and the friendly atmosphere at the hotel. We have stayed here so many times we have lost count, which means that we pretty much know all the staff and it feels like home.

From the very first day, when we arrived at the airport in Nassau, we came across old friends that greeted us and that made our vacation even better. When we got to the hotel we checked in swiftly and soon after our room was ready.

Room:
Our room was on the 2nd floor in the west wing with a view that looked out over the jacuzzi, pool and part of the beach. The location was perfect, not too far to anything. One evening we could hear the music from the main stage, however it was not intrusive and did not bother us. The bathrooms are renovated, with good sized glass doors to the walk-in showers, safety bars on the wall so you cannot slip, plus a seating area so you can scrub your feet, etc. The housekeeping was excellent and we returned every day to a pristine room.

Entertainment:
From aqua-aerobics to golf in the sand, dancing or bikini contests on the outside stage, playing bingo, tennis at the on-site courts, bicycle rides, sailing lessons, windsurfing lessons, trampoline, pool and beach volleyball, darts, dance classes. There is such a range of activities it is hard to list them all. Each day has a theme such as Sumo Sunday, Pyjama Tuesday, Oldies Wednesday, Carnival Friday and so on. You cannot be bored - and that is just the daytime!

If you need a workout after all that activity the hotel has a gym centre behind the large screen tv. You will also find pool tables and ping pong. Internet facilities are available off the lobby, to the right of the large screen t

Most evenings Funky D & Summer Breeze Band takes centre stage in the Main Lounge. Pool tables and table tennis tables are available for guests use. You can also find Karaoke, a Casino Night, Oldies and Talent shows. The Disco is on the lower level across from Pastafari. It has a comedy act twice a week, plus a pyjama party, sumo wrestling, etc. The Piano Lounge is next to the buffet and there is a resident piano player. Some guests like to congregate here, and perhaps sing along with the music.

Food:
From the very large selection in the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner we always found plenty of appetizing food.
Breakfast has excellent omelettes, eggs and bacon, boiled eggs, sausages, waffles and syrup, a variety of breads, cereals, fruits, yoghourt, etc. plus some traditional local delicacies. Coffee is available at self serve machines, or served at your table, as at a variety of juices.
Lunch and dinner both offer a very large selection of salads, meat, fish, vegetables, pasta, desserts. There is also a carvery, roast beef, roast turkey, roast pork, ham, etc. Twice a week they offer an a la carte service. You select what you want from a menu and it is served to you. During a typical week there are theme nights, such as Bahamian, Oriental, Caribbean, Italian (Pizza etc) and International.
The desserts are many. They range from ice cream to a large selection of cakes and pies, our favourite being chocolate profiterols.
The pool grill provides burgers, hot dogs, greek salad, conch fritters, fish and chips, jerk chicken (reputed to be better than that in Jamaica - and I agree). Between the two of us we have tried everything and never been disappointed.
At 4 p.m. in the Piano Bar there is a selection of sandwiches, cookies/cakes and tea/coffee.
The two a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit, and both provide a romantic ambiance.. The Garden of Eden adds a twist to traditional western food, with such items as Adam’s Rib (steak), Lucifers Catch (Salmon), etc. Pastafari has a good sized hors douvres table, plus the menu includes salads, pasta, seafood, steak, chicken and desserts.

Drinks:
There are 4 bars. The main bar, pool bar, piano bar and the disco bar. The local beer is Kalik, which is now on tap at all the bars. You may occasionally see other beers but Kalik is the main beer served. You will find a good range of alcohol available, from Absolut Vodka, Crown Royal, Scotch, Gin, Rye, Brandy and Cognac, plus many more.
The wine from Chile is either a Chardonnay (white) or a Sauvignon/Merlot (red). For a champagne type, there is an Italian Spumante available. The a la carte restaurants may also have additional wines.

Miscellaneous:
To get to downtown Nassau you take the #10 bus to the left of the hotel at a cost of $1 per person each way. Do not forget they drive on the left - so look both says when crossing a road. Once downtown there is lots to do, from the straw market, the Pirate’s Museum and Senor Frogs. Other attractions are the Ardastra Gardens & Zoo, Arawak Cay for local delicacies, Fort Charlotte. To get to Paradise Island you can walk through to the road behind the straw market, or any street on the left, and you will be on the harbour and see the ferries to take you to Paradise Island. It is $3 per person each way.
The Crystal Palace Casino is a few minutes away, perhaps 5 to 7 mins. During the day when you leave the hotel walk to the right. You can’t miss it. In the evenings a free shuttle is available to and from the hotel (except Mondays). It arrives just after the hour and returns promptly on the hour starting from 6 pm up to midnight. Breezes is the first drop off.
HAVE FUN !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rooms are very basic and loud from the hallway"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  SandraCanada  on May 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
213 people found this review helpful

Travelled to SuperClub Breezes at Cable Beach in Bahamas (May 1-8th, 2009) and it was a huge disappointment. I would not say at this hotel every again or recommend it to anyone. Maybe if you got the trip super cheap and it you are 20 looking for a place to drink all week and the quality of food/drinks/facility is not a priority and again if the trip was super, super cheap. I would not say that this hotel is a 4 star based on the condition of the facility.
Rooms are very basic and loud from the hallway (doors opening /closing and voices echo off the tile hallway floor) and hotel is very out dated. First floor main areas – piano bar, buffet area smells musty and is very dated and needs a lot of paint and redesigning. Food was very poor. Lived on the white rice all week – not what I planned on doing when I paid for my all inclusive trip. And eating at the outside areas was just a hassle since seagulls would just attack your food and poop all over the tables and chairs. This was when they weren’t swimming and pooping in the pool. Drinks were like Seven Eleven Slurpee with alcohol added. Could not get bottled water – went to the supermarket twice for water, pop and cheese and crackers to eat, again this was a all inclusive trip. Eating and purchasing food in the Bahamas is very expensive anywhere.
The Bahamas beach and water is beautiful. Not a lot to do on the island if you are not big into water related sports or laying on the beach however the weather was amazing. Went snorkelling with Captain Paul on the Ninja – this was breath taking. A great mini boat trip not far from the beach for $40 – well worth the trip. Low 80’s each day with a nice breeze. The local people are very nice and friendly. It is too bad that my trip to Rui Yucatan was cancelled due to the swine flu and I was redirected here. This was not the type of trip I agreed to pay for. This was my first time staying at a Breezes Resort and I would never select one again which is not what I thought this travel/resort company represented.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a great oceanfront room with a view"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Jul 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jul, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

Just came back from a week at Breezes where we had a terrific time relaxing and having fun. On check in we found we had a great oceanfront room with a view of the many colours of the ocean which was actually more green than blue.
As we vacation at Breezes several times a year we were greeted by staff everywhere we went (this happened even at the airport). The staff at Breezes are the secret to enjoying a holiday here as they are all so attentive and fun.
As we were there primarily for rest and relaxation we participated in lots of non-energetic beach games and even did aqua aerobics a couple of times. We sat in the sun, we swam in the pool, and ate and drank well - the food was excellent everwhere from the beach grill to Pastafari (didn't make it to the Garden of Eden).
The weather was very good. It did rain the day before we left, so we sat inside and chatted with other people, etc.. While it was raining I noticed that pool staff took an extra opportunity to clean the pools - that's good time management. All in all it was a great relaxing holiday - with the exception of the actual travelling - and we look forward to returning in the Fall.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube