Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Breezes Bahamas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Nassau Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort

4.1 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 2, 2013

Wyndham Nassau Resort

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Breezes Bahamas  

West Bay Street | PO Box C, Nassau 13049, New Providence Island

"Review and feedback of Breezes Bahamas"
Posted by: Priscilla  on Jun 15, 2014
see all reviews

Breezes Bahamas Reviews
Breezes Bahamas Pictures and Information
Breezes Bahamas Nassau Bahamas

#1
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Breezes Bahamas Information


Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served buffet-style at our air-conditioned main dining room. Dinner is also served in casual elegance at Pastafari, our air-conditioned Italian 'RASTAurant' and Garden of Eden, where you'll experience a five course meal set in a tropical garden and seating for two.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Bahamas Reviews

Breezes Bahamas Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  8
Average
  1
Poor
  7
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (37)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (31)
Solo
21 - 30 of 37

"Tabatha enthusiastically waved us down to the Garden of Eden"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  PhilAnnNovaScotia  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

Before we begin our review, the food, room and staff were great!
The Good
We arrived at Breezes Nassau on Jan. 15 and we had a fantastic time! We would recommend this resort to anyone. The people of Bahamas were the most welcoming and friendly people we have ever met. We have been to the Carribean nine times and we are people in our 50's. We arrived about 8 P.M. and picked up a drink of course and went to the basketball court and heard fantastic music from Tabatha Gernie and the Xpress Band who play at the resort every Monday night. We stood by the rail and Tabatha enthusiastically waved us down to the Garden of Eden. She personally sang to us for about an hour and we invited others down who were standing by the railing. In the main lobby there was karoke which was also entertaining; however, comparing the quality of Tabatha and her band, we have no idea why they would be in the Garden of Eden with ourselves and six other people. They are by far one of the best live bands shows that we have seen or heard. Other than Monday night, the nightly entertainment is known as Funky D and the Summer Breeze Band and we attended the main lobby every night to hear the band and dance to this fantastic band and entertainer. The lead singer did a tremendous job involving the crowd in the experience. The entertainment at Breezes Nassau far exceeded any other entertainment that we have experienced at any of the nine resorts that we have attended. If you enjoy music, go to Breezes!

The Bad and The Ugly
Within two hours of listening to the band, we experienced what we thought to be mosquito bites. The next morning I broke out in hives and boils on my legs "the ugly" with some on other parts of my body as well. Due to the severity of the bites, we attended the medical station at the resort. We learned of an outpatient clinic in Sandyport and my husdand and I were very pleased with the service that I received and the doctor prescribed an antibotic and a hydrocortisone shot. The severe itch was gone; however, the marks on my legs were "rather unappealing" to say the least. We spoke to another lady at the pool who had a less severe but similar reaction to the bug bites. Upon arrived back home on Jan. 22., I attended my doctor and was given a further cortisone cream and after 30 days since the bites, I still have slight marks on my legs,"the bad". I seem to have developed "hot flashes" (I am over menopause). We researched the CDC in Atlanta, Goergia and a fever appears to be one of the symptoms if one is bit by sand flies. We would like to hear from anyone who might have experienced these bits and/or any reactions. We do have concerns with the health issues of these bites and we would like to know of any additional information that anyone could share with us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another reason we keep coming back to Breezes is the food"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Nov 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Once we started getting real winter at home it was time for a return trip back to Breezes Bahamas. We decided to make up for the short 4 day trip last November, so we went for 8 days. Our flights were generally on-time and we arrived in Nassau in the early afternoon. Luckily the shuttle departed as soon as we were on board.

Arrival:
Once we started getting real winter at home it was time for a return trip back to Breezes Bahamas. We decided to make up for the short 4 day trip last November, so we went for 8 days. Our flights were generally on-time and we arrived in Nassau in the early afternoon. Luckily the shuttle departed as soon as we were on board.

On arrival at Breezes we were welcomed by our old friend James, who is one of the security guards. We got to the counter to check in - somehow we were still first in line. Check in seemed to go on forever - but we found out why when we arrived in our room. Some staff members were trying to delay us as they were still decorating our room with balloons and a special note on the bed welcoming us back. When we arrived to our room and saw this we started laughing almost hysterically - but we soon calmed down and went for a beer and some lunch.

We also want to thank the members of staff:
For the most part the weather was pretty good with highs in the 79 - 82 range. It rained a couple of nights while we were asleep and one day was a slightly cooler, however it was still warm enough to swim in the ocean and participate in pool aerobics, etc. We played several beach games such as beach golf and beach bowling, etc. One day I won the darts game - which really surprised me! I went to the mixology class which was fun. Reg also went on the bicycle tour a couple of times. While he was gone I chatted with the mechanic who was replacing the wheel guards on the bicycles and generally keeping them in good working order. He was a very interesting character, having lived in both Europe and the US besides the Bahamas. After that I went for a walk around by the tennis courts and along the beach, arriving at reception just in time to see the bike group arriving back at the hotel.

Another reason we keep coming back to Breezes is the food. Everything we ate at either the buffet, beach grill or the a la carte restaurants was excellent! >From conch fritters to roast turkey, steak, pasta and the never ending selection of salads and desserts. The ambiance of both Pastafari and the Garden of Eden make for even more pleasurable meals. We also enjoyed the accompanying wines from Chile.

The best part of our holiday was meeting people from places as far away as Brazil, Argentina, the UK and the US - and quite a large contingent of folks from Canada. We met up with a wedding party, some members of which we previously met through the TripAdvisor Forum - and later watched the wedding from a discreet distance. Hi to Shannon and Chris (the bride and groom), Jeff and Diane, Al, and also to Kris, Becky, Joanne and Gabe, Carol and Jay, and Luiz and Adriana. We really enjoyed meeting and having fun with you all.

We also want to thank the members of staff for making our holiday so much fun - from James, Douglas and Darren at the front steps - Terri, William, Reggie, George, Kim, Marline, Lakeisha, Makeda, Avernal, Tena, Jennipher, Joy, Pink (aka Casanova), Ria, Carleton, Snake, Delvon, Crystal, Jerry, plus Keno in the Garden of Eden and Charles in Pastafari. Our apologies if we have missed anyone.

Now we can start planning our next vacation - destination Breezes Bahamas

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel is in need of renovations"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  KimMichaelCanada  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Our flight was changed on Skyservice from 6:25am to arrive 9:25 am on the Thursday morning to 4:00 p.m. arriving 7:00 p.m. that night. This I felt was very inconsiderate of the tour operator when the trip is only 4 day. The trip felt really like 3 days and 3 nights but paid for 4 days. The flight was fine . However, I was warned by friends to take extra clothes in a carry on because both of them had their luggage lost on a flight to the Bahamas this last year. Our luggage was fine. In talking to other people on the flight coming back they had their luggage lost and one couple only got their luggage the day before we returned.

Arrival:
Our flight was changed on Skyservice from 6:25am to arrive 9:25 am on the Thursday morning to 4:00 p.m. arriving 7:00 p.m. that night. This I felt was very inconsiderate of the tour operator when the trip is only 4 day. The trip felt really like 3 days and 3 nights but paid for 4 days. The flight was fine . However, I was warned by friends to take extra clothes in a carry on because both of them had their luggage lost on a flight to the Bahamas this last year. Our luggage was fine. In talking to other people on the flight coming back they had their luggage lost and one couple only got their luggage the day before we returned.

We stayed at Breezes Resort and I must say this hotel did not live up to its brochure ads. or promotion from the Tour Operaters. The hotel is rated a 4 star, it should be a 2 or maybe a 3 star. If I had not experience the Breezes in Jamaica I would not have anything to compare- they are 4 star hotel. The night we arrived we were sent to a room, the door was ajar. When we reluctantly opened it there was a bucket on the floor that was catching water from the leaking ceiling. When we attempted to go back to the front desk to report the problem the elevator got stuck, took us to the 8th floor and stopped working. We could not contact anyone because the alarm in the elevator was broken. We managed to get out and had to walk down 8 flights of stairs with our luggage. As we were waiting to get another room we could over hear other guest complaining of things that were broken and in need of repair in there rooms and that their air conditioners were also not working.

Room:
When we finally arrived to our room it was clean and so was the bedding. The room had been given new furniture. We asked for a king bed and got two double beds. My husband is 6'3". We were going to ask for a room with a king bed but decided to stay because at least we had air conditioning and just pushed the two beds together. The bathroom was in bad need of repair. The floor was worn and broken, the bathroom counter was cracked and looked like it was put back together with glue. The drapes needed replacing. The carpet was worn but clean.

Food:
The food- there was plenty of food but they served the same buffet every day and the lunch and dinner buffet was the same for lunch and dinner. Most of the food was tasty although you had to be selective. The two restaurants, the food was very good but reservation are hard to get. You had to book by 9:00 am the day before and we booked at 9:10 and we were the last people to get reservations- (not really sure how that worked). We decided to out at other places to eat because we got tired of eating the same thing everyday, kind of a waste of money after paying for an all- inclusive.

Entertainment:
The entertainment was okay. The problem is that the design of the hotel is open concept and the lobby and entertainment area are not separated, therefore you can smoke where and when ever you like. This is great for smokers but if you are a non-smoker it is very difficult to tolerate. Due to this we did not enjoy or stay around much for any of the nightly entertainment because of the smoke consumption. People would be smoking all around us and it was very unpleasant and difficult to tolerate for the duration of the shows. Again we would leave the hotel and go to seek entertainment at other hotels because they had designated smoking areas. Thankfully there was no smoking in the hotel restaurants or dinning room.

Smokers:
We were also amazed about the lack of respect the some of the smokers has for other people, the Island's environment and the beach area.
Despite the hotels staffs efforts at keeping the beach area clean and the signage to request the same, people would but putting there cigarettes out in the sand and just leaving them there.

Pool & Staff:
The pool, hot tub, beach grill and bar provided very good service. The conch fritters were excellent.
The Staff and people of the Island- This I would give top marks. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating and attempted to be helpful as much as they could dealing with the complaints and with providing good service to the guest.

Conclusion:
The hotel is in need of renovations and should not be rated on the laurels of the other Breezes Resorts that are truly 4 star or better. I plan to return to the Bahamas as it is a quick get-a -way but I would not stay at Breezes nor recommend to other people until they have completed major renovations to bring it up to par with their other resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I slept better than at home"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
173 people found this review helpful

Returned last Thursday from a week at Breezes. This was the first time we had stayed there in September and the weather was much better than we had anticipated. Had steady rain for nearly half a day, and a few showers throughout the week. We did not get wet - except when we were in the pool !!

Arrival:
Returned last Thursday from a week at Breezes. This was the first time we had stayed there in September and the weather was much better than we had anticipated. Had steady rain for nearly half a day, and a few showers throughout the week. We did not get wet - except when we were in the pool !!
As we arrived in the evening our room was ready, so we just dumped our stuff and went for dinner in the buffet as we had remembered that roast turkey was on that night. It was really good - as was the food and drink for the rest of the week - and especially so in the 2 a la carte restaurants which we had no problem booking. We celebrated my husband’s birthday in Pastafari and were both surprised when a birthday cake was delivered to our table !! (Thanks Terri).

Bar Staff:
The bar staff were all helpful, attentive and fun. I was impressed when Reggie the barman in the main lobby bar recommended the best nightcap drink for me after the couple of glasses of champagne I had already drank (to say nothing of the beer through the day). The wrong drink could have given me a nasty headache the next morning, but on his recommendation I was just fine.

Room:
We had absolutely no issues with the room, the pool, the facilities and the hotel in general. We did not have an updated room, but one we had actually stayed in previously. It was immaculately clean, in an excellent location, handy to everything, but not noisy. I slept better than at home.

More ...:
We had lots of fun playing beach games - sometimes won - sometimes came last - and we accumulated quite a few of the tokens which we exchanged for a nice bag and a few other things. Don’t forget to go to the token exchange table (it is open twice a day) and change your tokens for souvenirs - they are a visible memory of your vacation. All the staff - not only those in entertainment - were friendly and helpful and made our holiday yet another memorable experience at Breezes.

One morning we took the #10 bus to downtown Nassau, made a few visits here and there and checked out the stores. We found an excellent deal for a bottle of French Brandy. They even wrapped the bottle in bubble wrap so we could put it in our checked luggage for the return trip - you cannot put it in carry on due to the regulations.

Talking about luggage we made sure everything was put where it should be - however we forgot to put the half-full toothpaste in the checked baggage as it was the last thing we used - and they took it from us. It is not their fault, they have a job to do.

Thanks:
Our thanks go to Terri - she is now on reception, to James on security (but not forgetting the evening security guy who is a great dancer - he and I took a few turns in the lobby), Reggie, Carrieanna and the bar staff, all the entertainment group (Pink and Scooby are new), lastly but not leastly the waiting staff in the restaurants, such as Tena who always remembers us from previous visits. We were sorry to leave and go home, but are sure to return yet again and enjoy the facilities and the staff at Breezes. It really is like having a home away from home.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The entertainment gang moved indoors"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on May 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Recently returned from another trip to Breezes Bahamas - we were there from May 13th to 20th. Luckily, we had no problems with our flights, they were all pretty much on time - though I had some reservations about whether our luggage would get there when we changed planes in Charlotte - but all was well and we had our luggage off the carousel in Nassau within minutes. Going outside, the shuttle bus driver to Breezes recognized us and almost as soon as we boarded we were on the way.

Arrival:
Recently returned from another trip to Breezes Bahamas - we were there from May 13th to 20th. Luckily, we had no problems with our flights, they were all pretty much on time - though I had some reservations about whether our luggage would get there when we changed planes in Charlotte - but all was well and we had our luggage off the carousel in Nassau within minutes. Going outside, the shuttle bus driver to Breezes recognized us and almost as soon as we boarded we were on the way.

Room:
As it was still only 12:00 noon we went and had lunch and on returning to the desk afterwards our room was ready. We were happily surprised when we were upgraded to an oceanfront room. The room was very large, with tile floors (though we saw rooms on that floor with blue carpet) and had been updated with dark wood furniture in the colonial style. The bathroom was renovated and everything was very clean. We also found a bottle of champagne and a cheese/fruit plate waiting for us which was a nice touch. It was also a very quiet room. With the exception of the night when they had the trapeze show we didn’t hear anything at all. (We were in our room packing anyway - and had a fantastic view of the show).

Food and Drink:
Every day we checked the menus by the buffet doors, and if it was not to our taste we went to the reservation desk in reception and saw Terri. She is the girl who books a la carte reservations. She is so friendly and a credit to Breezes. She always manages to accommodate the guests requirements - where she can. We needed to change a reservation one day as we found we had a conflict and wanted to go the next day instead. It was "no problem".
We ate in both a la carte restaurants, plus the buffet which is open for for 3 meals a day and at midnight too - and the beach grill. Plus there is afternoon tea set up in the piano bar at 4:00 pm every day. We did not go hungry!
Kalik and Kalik Light were both available. I didn’t see any other beer this time, we have seen Corona and Bud and Bud Light on previous visits. We did go to the piano bar in the evening this trip, and they may have had some US beers. The South African red and white is back - but we also had a really nice Chilean rose wine with lunch one day - plus the champagne was always available - it is also nice with a couple of maraschino cherries in it (the first one I had in the disco and after that always asked for the cherries). The bars carried top shelf liquor - what I saw was Johnny Walker (Red and Black), Absolute, Crown Royal, Captain Morgan, Bacardi (of course, as there is a plant on the island), Gilbeys, etc.etc.

Entertainment:
There is lots to do outside - from the trapeze, the climbing wall, juggling and trampoline clinics, beach and pool volleyball, aerobics, beach bowling, table tennis and regular tennis courts (you can get tennis, windsurfing and waterskiing lessons), horseshoes, marshmallow golf (don’t ask, but it is fun!), bingo, sexy bikini and other various contests, sumo wrestling and bouncy boxing, etc.etc.
Remember, when you participate in the games you can win tokens - which you can then exchange for souvenirs, etc. We made good use of some of our tokens and exchanged for a breezes bag and 3 pictures. We have a few left for next time!
Inside there is a big screen TV - that is fun in the evenings when you are rooting for your team - and pool tables, and ping-pong tables - plus the gym which is just behind the ping-pong tables. The staff put on great shows in the evenings. There is a kareoke night. There is also toga parties, pyjama parties and a comedy night - these are all in the disco. Do not forget Saturday night when there is a Junkanoo Band - not to be missed.
If you are looking for a quiet spot there are hammocks to swing in while relaxing with your loved one, a drink or a book - there are some in a small garden area behind the higher (west) wing, and also some both sides of the east wing.

Weather:
The weather was hot but not too humid, however one day it rained all day. It was no problem. The entertainment gang moved indoors.
They set up a bingo marathon - I didn’t win once but my husband won 3 times. (I only won when I played outside!). The pool tables and ping pong were also busy - as was the bar. I found a magazine from the rack by the computers and sat back with a Kalik. It was also great for meeting the other guests and we had some fun conversations with various people. We found, as usual, that the majority of the guests came either from Canada, the UK and USA - with a sprinkling of people from other countries.
Of course we will go back, and as often as possible. If I missed anything, or you have specific questions, let me know and I will try to answer them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our favourite spot is Breezes"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Apr 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
189 people found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to the Bahamas, and though we have stayed at several other hotels, our favourite spot is Breezes and in fact are due to go back again in mid-May - and counting down the days!!
We always enjoy our vacations there, in fact it is like going to our second home, starting right at arrival - even before we get to reception - because the security guys welcome us back!! In fact all the bartenders welcome us back too, especially Reggie as he and my husband have the same name. What a duo, always kidding around.
We don't worry about anything while we are there. We just enjoy what is being offered. Good food, good drinks, good entertainment and great staff. The only thing they cannot guarantee is the weather, but looking back over the years we have never had any serious weather conditions. We flew around a hurricane once, but once we arrived we never saw any rain at all. We must live a charmed life.
So, to all those who want to know, here is the real scoop on Breezes.

Firstly:
We are regular visitors to the Bahamas, and though we have stayed at several other hotels, our favourite spot is Breezes and in fact are due to go back again in mid-May - and counting down the days!!
We always enjoy our vacations there, in fact it is like going to our second home, starting right at arrival - even before we get to reception - because the security guys welcome us back!! In fact all the bartenders welcome us back too, especially Reggie as he and my husband have the same name. What a duo, always kidding around.
We don't worry about anything while we are there. We just enjoy what is being offered. Good food, good drinks, good entertainment and great staff. The only thing they cannot guarantee is the weather, but looking back over the years we have never had any serious weather conditions. We flew around a hurricane once, but once we arrived we never saw any rain at all. We must live a charmed life.
So, to all those who want to know, here is the real scoop on Breezes.

The rooms:
The ones we have stayed in (usually on a low floor) were spacious and clean, as were the bathrooms. The housekeeper has always been very obliging if we need something like more towels or tissues, etc. We have never needed to call reception to complain about anything in the rooms.

The food:
it is excellent! We always eat in both a-la-carte restaurants, plus the buffet and beach grill ,and we thoroughly enjoy all our meals. We can recommend steak in Eden and the smoked salmon bruschetta and the chicken in Pastafari. However, our favourite is the roast turkey in the buffet. There is such a great selection in the buffet of salads, breads, several entrees, vegeables and those desserts!! We always go for an ice cream sundae late at night.

Drinks:
We love Kalik - the Beer of the Bahamas - and there is a light version however sometimes there is also Budweiser and/or Corona. There is top shelf liquor, but as I don't drink that stuff I can't remember what they are, but you can find Crown Royal, Kahlua, Gilbeys Gin, Scotch, etc. Just don't drink the Blackberry Brandy as my name on the bottle LOL.

Pools/Jacuzzi:
Lots of fun, with pool volley ball, aerobics for those energetic enough to participate. The jacuzzi is a lot of fun and you meet people from all over.

Entertainment:
There is entertainment every night, from fire eaters, kareoke, singers, dancers, etc. Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night - the true music of the Bahamas, and if you have the energy go to the disco!!

Games:
You wanna play - there is lot of games such as basketball, volleyball (pool or beach), tennis, rock climbing, trapeze, etc. If you want gentler pursuits try beach bowling, beach golf, bingo or mixology classes. If you don't - enjoy watching or read your book or have a drink. If you want to totally relax, try a massage. It is your holiday, enjoy it!

More ...:
In addition, there is a liquor store, gift shop with clothing and a jewellery store on the main level.

You thought I was finished? No! The best part of Breezes is the staff!!!!! From security to housekeeping, the entertainment crew, the staff in the restaurants, they are the best! James (security), Swish, Craig, Reggie, Jennipher, Kenja, Delvin, Funky D and the photographer - and so many more. These are the people we go back to see and have fun with.

I could go on and on - but you have to see for yourself.

If anyone has specific questions, just post a reply - or directly to us at our email - above.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Jan 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

We had a fast flight from Toronto to Nassau - 2 hours and 20 minutes. Check in was quick too, and we found a bottle of champagne and a cheese and fruit plate awaiting for us in our room.

Arrival:
We had a fast flight from Toronto to Nassau - 2 hours and 20 minutes. Check in was quick too, and we found a bottle of champagne and a cheese and fruit plate awaiting for us in our room.

Rooms:
no change that I could see from our last visit in November 2005. I was chatting with the "rasta" guy who does painting and decorating at the hotel and he said some rooms in the higher levels of the west wing had new furniture, and eventually all will be completely updated, redecorated and have the new furniture - colonial style.

Food:
excellent! We ate in both a la carte restaurants, plus the buffet and beach grill and we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals, especially steak in Eden and the smoked salmon bruschetta in Pastafari - not to forget the roast turkey in the buffet one night

Drinks:
I only saw Kalik (plus the light version) myself but my husband said he saw Budweiser. In the past I have seen Corona. They have changed the house wine from the south african they had on previous visits so I switched to champagne - it went with everything!! You can find top shelf liquor here, especially at the inside bar.

Entertainment:
As we usually went to the casino after dinner we missed some of it, but what we saw was very good. A free shuttle to and from the casino goes on the hour from 7 to 12 midnight - the driver says he accepts tips, so if you win .... but don't let him know we told you. Don't miss the Junkanoo Jamboree on Saturday night - it is a total blast - and the true music of the Bahamas.

Beach Games:
there is lots to do on the beach. To my surprise I won a couple of games, such as beach golf and beach bowling. I had to concede defeat on some others because other people beat me LOL.

Weather:
very good. Saw a couple of rain drops one day, other than that it was about 80F every day, but it was breezy. We still got a tan.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I'd say if you're on a budget for an all inclusive resort"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Khanh05  on May 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

The main bad point of Breezes Bahamas (I'm not sure if this applies to all Breezes) was the "Specials" they have advertised. I booked our week long trip to Breezes Bahamas towards the end of January 2005. When visiting their website, they advertised that if you book by 1/31/2005 and travel by Mid June, you'd pay the same rate for any room (garden, oceanview, oceanfront, etc). When trying to pull up any of the room rates, they all gave the same rate, which was the rate of the cheapest room. The catch that they printed was it was subject to availability.

Arrival:
The main bad point of Breezes Bahamas (I'm not sure if this applies to all Breezes) was the "Specials" they have advertised. I booked our week long trip to Breezes Bahamas towards the end of January 2005. When visiting their website, they advertised that if you book by 1/31/2005 and travel by Mid June, you'd pay the same rate for any room (garden, oceanview, oceanfront, etc). When trying to pull up any of the room rates, they all gave the same rate, which was the rate of the cheapest room. The catch that they printed was it was subject to availability.

So, if picking a room (like oceanfront), the website seemed to query their database to see if room was available for the duration of the stay. If not, it gave a message that indicated to try another room or date. If it was availble, it allowed you to book that room. So, after searching through the calandar, I found a week that had an oceanfront room available for booking. I went ahead and booked the dates based on this fact, so I ended up choosing 4/10-4/17 to stay at Breezes Bahamas. I received a confirmation letter stating I had an oceanfront room for the week. Due to this special, we decided to try Breezes instead of going to Sandals, in which we have already stayed at another location and enjoyed ourselves.

Arrive on 4/10 at about noon, so after waiting in line in the lobby for about 20 minutes, we were given arm bands and told our stuff could be stored while we went to have a drink and relax til 3pm, when rooms would be available. Returned at 3pm, and once again stood in line for about 20 minutes, to finally get a room. Double checking to see if the room was an oceanfront, I was told that no, it was a garden room. I pulled out my confirmation sheet and asked why I am confirmed for an oceanfront room, and did not receive one. I was told that it was subject to availability, and they had none available for the week.

I then asked to speak to a supervisor, Darrall, and was told the same thing. They said I paid for a garden room, and that's what I was getting. I then asked what was the point of the "special" then, if I could book and get confirmed for a room, but not receive it when I arrive. They again told me my travel agent overbooked, and it wasn't their fault.

I then asked to speak to someone at Superclubs. They led me into the offices, and informed me that I'd have to pay for the call to Jamaica. I told them no I wasn't, because I'm trying to get my reservation straightened out. Finally, they dialed a number, which led me to an automated answering machine at Superclubs, and no one was available to take my call (since it was 4pm on a Sunday). So, my wife talked me into going with it and enjoying our vacation.

So, their specials are mainly meant to draw people to reserve rooms with them, promising whatever rooms they can find dates for. It's not until arrival that the guests are informed of what they mean by "availability".

Now, a quick review of the rest of the stay.

Check in:
When arriving at the lobby area, there are two or three people working the front desk. The lobby was always packed during the day with arrivals/departures trying to make it to the front desk. Lines were everywhere, and the wait was typically at least 20 minutes each time. It would have been more helpful if they created one line of inflow, rather than a free for all trying to get to an available person.

Room:
Our first room was a 2nd level room, facing the main entertainment area and pool/gardens. During the day and through the night, noise from these areas are clearly heard. We swapped to another room the second day, and requested one of the top three levels on the other side (facing away from the pool). We got one on the seventh floor, and it was much better. Now the only noise were from one room of spring breakers, who seemed to lock one guy out of the room every night. He would bang on the door of his room for half an hour trying to get in. Then, we received a call from him, most likely dialing random numbers on the seventh floor, trying to get his room.

Pool:
Pool was fine, still a bit chilly for April, when the sun wasn't beaming down. Towards 6pm, the crew that handled the pool area would rearrange the loungers and tables back to their original spot, even if you were sitting there.

Bars:
Bars were pretty slow in service, and didn't always seem to be first come first serve, if people got to know the bartenders. In the main bar near the entertainment area one night, we were standing on one side of the bar waiting for 5 minutes or so. My wife finally flagged a bartender down and asked if we could be helped soon. He said to walk to the other side of the bar and wait instead! She was furious.

Food:
Food was decent for buffet food. There was always something one could find each day, and some days were pretty good (and I'm picky on what I think is good food). Decent different variety each day. Service was slow at both the "reservations" restaurants, because it seemed there were two servers for the entire place each time.

Entertainment:
Entertainment was ok. There was the main entertainment area near the lobby, that had something going on each night. Piano bar was open each night for sing along, and a disco playing mainly hip hop was available each night.

Overall ratings:
I'd say if you're on a budget for an all inclusive resort, then Breezes Bahamas is decent for the money. Keep in mind it allows kids 16 and over to stay, and during March-April, sping breakers will be abundant.

In comparison to Sandals Halcyon in St. Lucia, I'd say Breezes is a 3, and Sandals was a 4.5. Would I go back to a Breezes in the future? Probably, but I'm not going to count on the "Specials" to lure me back there again. Would I go back to a Sandals (over a Breezes)? Definitely.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Superclubs Breezes was AWFUL"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  RosemaryCanada  on May 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
169 people found this review helpful

If you're 18 years old, want to drink all day, and compete in the "best fake orgasm" talent competition at night... then Superclubs Breezes in the Bahamas is the place for you. All others should avoid it like the plague.

To start with:
If you're 18 years old, want to drink all day, and compete in the "best fake orgasm" talent competition at night... then Superclubs Breezes in the Bahamas is the place for you. All others should avoid it like the plague.

Travel:
The best part of the whole trip! The flight down with Sky Service was fine. The plane took off on time, and the staff were very friendly. Typical charter flight with no leg room. However, the plane was clean, and the boxed snack they gave us was better than having to buy Pringles on Air Canada Tango flights.

Arrival:
Arrived on time. No difficulties with customs people. Got in a little bus with a really nice, funny driver who took us to the hotel. He also doubles as a real estate agent, and tried to sell us a vacation property on the way into town.
Check in was TERRIBLE. One person was working at the desk, and it took an hour to get our key. The lobby was extremely noisy, and when we arrived there was a "Best Fake Orgasm" competition going on in the main area just beyond the reception desk. No, I'm NOT joking!! A whole room full of "When Harry Met Sally" wannabes kept us colourfully entertained for a whole hour. After that, I really needed a drink.

Room:
We went up to our room, and it was damp and moldy. No kidding... MOLDY. Picture the kind of room you expect people to rent by the hour. Also, no mini-bar. No fridge. And a "balcony" that was literally 6 inches wide. Picture patio doors that slide open, and a waist-high railing to keep you from falling out of your room. We were eventually moved to a ground-floor room with a tile floor (not carpet) and nice high ceilings. Better, but the curtains wouldn't close all the way, and the sliding patio doors didn't lock reliably.

Decor:
The whole place was tile and vinyl. Literally, furniture you can throw up on. Tried in vain to find a nice quiet corner to have a drink. No such luck. Had to go down the road to the Ramada, which has a great, cozy lobby bar. We saw a fantastic local band there, and enjoyed the dance floor. I am not a quiet person, but the Breezes was just harsh, slick, and LOUD.

Grounds:
The pools were very nice, and the beach was clean. No troubles getting deck chairs. Service at the outdoor bars was mediocre at best. Fast if you wanted the blender drink the bartender had in his hand. Slow and sulky if they had to make you what you really wanted.

Food:
No real complaints. Typical buffet food. Nothing special. However, it looked like the hotel had sold meal plans to it's administrative staff. There were tons of people eating there who were clearly not staying at the resort.

Customer Relations:
A few days into our stay, I was called home for a family emergency. I tried to call home, and there were NO PAYPHONES in the hotel lobby (note: Bell Mobility does not have any cel phone coverage in Nassau). The less than friendly hotel staff directed me to the closest payphone... located outside on the median strip in between four lanes of traffic. I couldn't hear a thing, and made my way to the next closest payphones... in the lobby of the Ramada.

I returned to Breezes, and asked the staff at the front desk to help me contact the Sunquest Rep to see if I could get an earlier flight home. They didn't have a phone number for the Sunquest rep, and the Sunquest phone number I found in the phone book was out of service. Eventually, I made my way to the airport, and flew home to Toronto on American Airlines. Thanked my lucky starts for travel insurance that day.

Attractions:
The best thing about Breezes was the fact that it is only 15 minutes away from Atlantis, a truly spectacular resort with an incredible aquarium that must have been put together by a Hollywood set designer. Well worth the trip. You can take a boat over from the downtown waterfront for about @ $5 American per person. Fun, but the boat runs on Island time. We had to wait @ 1/2 an hour for the boat to fill up, while the skipper had a drink ashore. Still, lots of fun.

Overall:
Superclubs Breezes was AWFUL -- and I'm trying to be positive. If you've been to other Breezes resorts (like the one in Cuba which is wonderful) this is nowhere close to the same thing in terms of quality, style and hospitality. If you have the money, save yourself some grief and book at a better resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"As if we were long lost friends"

Breezes Bahamas
User Rating:  Breezes Bahamas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Jan 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
165 people found this review helpful

Returned on Thursday from a week's stay at Breezes Bahamas. We have been there several times before and things have not changed - we had a fabulous time!
It is just so nice being greeted at the entrance as if we were long lost friends. This happened a lot during the week as we met so many staff who remembered us, beginning with check in where we found that we were assigned a room exactly where we would want to be. On arrival at the room we were greeted by a chilled bottle of champagne.
We spent most of our time by the pool, playing beach games, with regular excursions to the bar and snack bar to keep up our strength. We dined well at all the restaurants. We even won a few bucks at the casino.
All in all a very satisfactory vacation, with plans for 2 weeks in November.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube