Club Med Columbus Isle Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Club Med Columbus Isle reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Paradise Island Harbor Resort

3.1 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2013

Atlantis Royal Towers

2.8 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 26, 2014

Club Med Columbus Isle  

Cockburn Town, San Salvador, Bahamas

"From the minute you get off the plane resort staff treat you special"
Posted by: NicoleAngelicaCanada on Jan 1, 2007
see all reviews

Club Med Columbus Isle Reviews
Club Med Columbus Isle Pictures and Information
Club Med Columbus Isle Bahamas Bahamas

#4
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 4.0

Based on 7 reviews

Club Med Columbus Isle Information


This exclusive Village, decorated with custom-designed furniture and an international collection of exotic artifacts, offers a unique and truly elegant style.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Med Columbus Isle Reviews

Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 4.0 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 7 of 7

"From the minute you get off the plane resort staff treat you special"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  NicoleAngelicaCanada  on Jan 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
298 people found this review helpful

Flight: My sister in law and I went to this resort January 7-14 2007. We flew out of Toronto via West Jet. Flight time is three and a half hours.
There were only 30 people on this flight, and 24 of them were going to Turks and Caicos, so the flight was very comfortable. San Salvador is one of the 700 Bahamas Islands and this is where Club Med Columbus Isle is located. The resort is literally walking distance from the airport, which is a landing strip and a small building for processing passengers.

Flight:
My sister in law and I went to this resort January 7-14 2007. We flew out of Toronto via West Jet. Flight time is three and a half hours. There were only 30 people on this flight, and 24 of them were going to Turks and Caicos, so the flight was very comfortable. San Salvador is one of the 700 Bahamas Islands and this is where Club Med Columbus Isle is located. The resort is literally walking distance from the airport, which is a landing strip and a small building for processing passengers.

Arrival:
From the minute you get off the plane resort staff treat you special. Your bracelets are put on and your room keys are given out when they meet you at the airport. You are driven by small bus to the front lobby where you receive a fruit punch and staff welcome. Your bags are delivered to your room within minutes of arrival.

Property:
This property is beautiful. There are mature trees and flowers all around the property, it was built in 1992 so the vegetation is full. There are approx. 200 rooms in this resort, all two storey bungalows. They are arranged so that they all face either the beach or courtyards filled with flowers and palms. There are no bad views from any of the rooms as far as I could see. The villas are brightly colored in blue, yellow and pink. Each one has either balcony or terrace. Our room was 525, a ground floor with garden view. It had two very comfortable double beds, TV, shower, safe, coffee maker, hair dryer. We could see the ocean and it was close to the beach although not beachfront. The decor is all an asian theme which was very nice.

Pool:
The pool is small, but an appropriate size for the number of rooms. We were hardly there, we spent our days at the ocean.

Beach:
one word: fabulous. The water is a colour of green that you will never forget, the sand is soft and white like sugar, the beach stretches for about 2 miles, and the water is warm and shallow.

Buffet:
I am always amazed to see how people complain about the food selection at these resorts. The selection at the buffet was unlimited, every night they had a different dinner theme, and there is literally something offered for every taste. They have an omelette station and every evening they had a station of some description where you could order up food made fresh as well as the regular buffet stuff. I have never seen so many different types of bread offered, and the house wine, which was very good and is included was readily available. In the morning they had carafes of coffee right on your table.

Berimbao:
is a brazilian restaurant which not only had great food, they had a unique way of serving. When you come in you get your salad buffet style. Then when you are ready they begin bringing the meat. It is all BBQ'd and they serve it to you off long spits. There was a salty but delicious sausage, filet mignon, chicken and pork. They kept the meat coming until you told them to stop.

Watlins:
is a seafood restaurant and the service and food there was truly divine. I can say no more.

Beach Bar:
since we literally lived on the beach for the week we spent a lot of time here. Try the Havana Specials or the Pina Coladas, very refreshing. Many days we had lunch at the beach snack bar which is open from 12-6:30. They had everything from burgers, to nachos, to chicken wraps and the food was good.

Cappucino Bar:
was where we got delicious coffees in the morning. They also serve fruit smoothies and if you miss breakfast they have a continental buffet set up.

Excursions:
There are not many, this island is very isolated, if you like to shop or do the mall thing, do not go to this resort! We took the lagoon tour which is a tour of the unique breeding grounds for fish. It was amazing. We also did the jet ski tour of the island which is a great tour for thrill enthusiasts. You stop at two cays, one has an iguana population that is the only one of its kind in the world, the other is a breeding site for birds. You can also rent bicycles for $15 per person for three hours, and explore the island, it is quite safe and we had a blast.

Staff:
Very friendly, unlike some resorts that rely on the local population, this Club Med has employees from Canada, France and all over the world. The maids and grounds staff are local bahamians and are very friendly.

Activities:
Wide range including water aerobics, sailing lessons, snorkelling daily, dive pkgs, dance lessons etc. We took a couple of sailing lessons on the hobie cat and really enjoyed it.

Negatives:
Really the only negative is that while we were the the resort was nearly 90% french guests, so the staff really catered to them from a language aspect. It was a bit disconcerting at first to have the staff greet you in french before english, but we got used to it. It made for some awkwardness at dinner as well, as we were seated some nights with people who spoke virtually no english, fortunately I speak some french so was able to make small talk. A couple of the nightly shows were also all in french, however the resort did offer an alternative activity for its english speaking guests that night. The entertainment was very amateurish, they tried hard, but don't expecte Vegas quality.

To conclude:
This is a fabulous place, I would go back in a heartbeat, but do not go if you seek excitement as it is literally the only place on the island and very laid back. This is the type of holiday we needed so my sister in law and I really enjoyed it. There were kids there and they seemed to have fun, but there is no kids club or activities. Teens could be kept occupied with the sailing and snorkelling. We rate this resort a 5 for services, accommodations and food, and a 3 for location if you want action, and a 5 if you seek seclusion.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Drinks served on beach throughout day by G.O.'s"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  DavidLisaToronto  on Mar 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

After much debate on where to go our travel agent strongly recommended Columbus Isle as the ideal spot to get some sun, relax and have fun. She was right.

Beach:
Very private. Never a problem finding a place to sit in the sun or shade. Drinks served on beach throughout day by G.O.'s. Beautiful beach and enjoyed swimming in the ocean which is unusual since the movie Jaws changed my desire to ever swim in the ocean again. We never sat by the pool because the beach and ocean were the place to be. Good stretch of beach and very nice to walk. Seemed that children enjoyed collecting shells (not a lot) off the beach.

Atmosphere:
Very relaxing. Enough going on and enough people around but not too busy. You can be a part of the Club Med activities or be left along to do your own thing. Surprised by the number of French speaking people which added to the experience making it more unique. Never had any complications communicating with anyone in English.

Activities:
We took it easy and did not do too many activities. Sailing was great and never a problem to get a boat. Same with Kayaks The spa was good for a resort but you need to book immediately when you arrive. Best activity....enjoying the beach and water.

Food & Beverage:
Buffet changes all the time. A lot of choices every night. The food was much better then what I expected and because of that I left impressed. Tired the Brazilian restaurant - it is a unique experience worth trying but would not say I was overly impressed by it as I expected more. Did not get to try the seafood restaurant. Restaurants are not open every night and you need to book a reservation first thing in the morning on the day they are open. You pretty well have to be at the reception desk by 8am to be sure you get a reservation. All that being said - we also were very happy eating the buffet meals every night. Bars served strong drinks. Make sure you enjoy a sunset drink at the Beacon Bar.

Staff:
Very friendly and warm people. Always smiling. Know when to leave you alone and when to carry on a conversation.

Rooms:
We stayed in an oceanview room. Very nice and great view of the ocean. We were in room 340 that included a view of beach volleyball and sailing centre and it was located half way between the sea centre/massage area/restaurants/disco and the reception area/pool/beach bar/buffet area/lounge. Comfortable beds. Floors are tiled and they often were slippery.

Conclusion:
This was our first experience with Club Med and with any resort/all inclusive vacation. It was a good one and there is no question in the future we will be looking at further stays at other Club Med resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All I have to say is that we found paradise?"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  MaxMontrealQuebec  on Dec 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
292 people found this review helpful

Where to start? We are a couple from montreal. 28 and 23 years old. All I have to say is that we found paradise? This resort is perfect in every way. We were there from December 30th to january 13th. We got married on january 9th. We will never forget this day. Club med took car of everything for our mariage. They tought of all little details there could be. Nothing was left forgotten. We were a group of 20 and they took really good care of us, amazing. The Chief of the village is such a great guy. Always there for you and really entertaining. All his assistant ( Say Hi to Nico and Steve for us) are the best, we felt like we were at home with these guys. I couls continue on and on about the people, but it would be to long, since we met lots of nice people there, starting with the Go and restaurant people.

Arrival:
Where to start? We are a couple from montreal. 28 and 23 years old. All I have to say is that we found paradise? This resort is perfect in every way. We were there from December 30th to january 13th. We got married on january 9th. We will never forget this day. Club med took car of everything for our mariage. They tought of all little details there could be. Nothing was left forgotten. We were a group of 20 and they took really good care of us, amazing. The Chief of the village is such a great guy. Always there for you and really entertaining. All his assistant ( Say Hi to Nico and Steve for us) are the best, we felt like we were at home with these guys. I couls continue on and on about the people, but it would be to long, since we met lots of nice people there, starting with the Go and restaurant people.

Beach:
WOW! a long and nice white beach, only club med is there, so it's all ours. the water is cristal blue, with all sorts of shades in it....HMMMM im missing it already. around 6pm you will have the most impressive sunset ever seen, it is quite amazing. At the beach bar you have Frank that sings and plays guitar for the guests. Wow he made us feel so good....and relaxed.

Restaurant:
There is the main restaurant where the buffet is every day, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is excellent (5 star restaurant). The is 2 other restaurant there (seafood and brezilian) We tried the brezilian, really good. But if you are not able to reserve, the buffet as a different theme every day, it's never the same cuisine.

Activities:
There is plenty to do. Kayaks, katamarans, etc. We did the kayaks, also the jet skis (3 hours tour of the island) Trust me it's worth the money, what an experience to live. Also we rented bikes to go in the city. So you can see how they live and discover the secrets of san salvador (such nice people). Also we did the blue lagoon tour (with Jay) Wow, if you want to relax this is the tour.

Accomodations:
The rooms are really nice, well kept. There is 3 restaurant (2 a la carte and 1 buffet). there is 1 beach bar, 1 snack bar (beside the beach bar). the lounge at night with the bar and dance floor. Also 1 disco stating at 11pm.

Conclusion:
All we have to say is that resort is a small paradise waiting to be discovered. There is lots of great people there and we miss them alot since we left. We will always have a lce in our hearts for them and what they brought to us. THANK YOU! feel free to write me an e-mail for any questions. mrchiefs2005@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is also a poker night."

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fred05  on Nov 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

I just return from 2 weeks ( nov 2005 ) in Club med Columbus island in Bahamas. The club is very nice and very clean.

Wheather :
We had 2 days of rain but they arrange poker table so we have something to do. For the rest of the time it was almost always sunny with some clouds. The temperature was very hot, 30 and more in the day and 24 and more at night. But they told us that it was usually colder than that for that time of the year.

Wheather:
We had 2 days of rain but they arrange poker table so we have something to do. For the rest of the time it was almost always sunny with some clouds. The temperature was very hot, 30 and more in the day and 24 and more at night. But they told us that it was usually colder than that for that time of the year.

Activity:
There is a lot of activity: scuba, snorkeling, tennis, beach volleyball, soccer, sailing, windsurfing, fitness, danse lesson, archery, Bounce ball. We arrived oct 30 and we were told that there is no water-ski in the winter season. The winter season start oct 30 $#%@#$%@. I was disappointed because I thought it would be open. If you look on the web site there is water ski. If you look in the WINTER brochure there is water ski. There is not a lot of people in the activity since most of the people go there just to relax.

Crazy sign:
Crazy sign are kept to a minimum and there is not much participation from the GM. There was a day with no crazy sign because none of the GM came to the pool. ( I was in snorkeling ). At night there is usually 1 or 2 before the show and 1 or 2 after the show. Allooooooooooooooo is it club med

Animation:
There is no animation team and no “fou du village”. I was told that people just want to relax. Allooooooooooooooo is it club med

Scuba:
I did two very nice dive. It was some of the best dive of my life. I saw nice coral, a lot a fish, merou, mureine, rays, gray shark, nurse shark, big angel fish, crabs, barracuda. Name it, it was there. The snorkeling is nice but you can not start from the beach. You really need to take the boat.

Food:
It is club med. Very good bread and cake. There was always something good in the buffet. Your only concern is what should you choose there is so many thing to taste.

Room:
Very clean, big bed, TV, phone, air blower, ironing, refrigerator.

Party:
The disco is not always open. When it is close you can still go to the lounge to dance or to drink. Good thing there is GO to put a good ambiance at the disco. There is also a poker night. There is one bar outside of the club ask the go if they plan to go.

Show:
There is some night with no show. The shows are very nice. The dancer are very good. Mamdoo, Yvany, Anick, Michelle, Nara, Judith, karine, Marie-Eve, Audrey. The best one is the Jannet and Michael Jackson show. But Yvany and Mamdoo are leaving the club. I think we saw the last show when we were there. The GM show was also nice.

Ambiance:
The staff is very good. Always smily, nice, interesting and professional. The beginning of November is the turn over for the GO. The new Go were shyer and we saw the best one leave.

Conclusion:
We had a very nice trip. We met a lot of fun people, GO and GM.

If you have more question superfred at rolmfg point com All the picture are on superfred Canada 3w point superfred point ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff can all speak a number of languages"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob04  on Jun 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jun, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
278 people found this review helpful

My wife and I try to go south a few times a year - we've mainly spent time on larger resorts and this was our first smaller resort. I must say we were quite pleased. This resort almost had a boutique feel to it.

Rooms:
Clean, functional, if not somewhat spartan. But who goes south to spend time in their rooms? The A/C worked well, there was a coffee maker, and all rooms have a view of the beach.

Grounds:
The grounds have a "natural feel" to them. If you've been to any of the large Spanish chains - such as a Riu - you get the feeling you are in a well manicured garden. The Club Med has a natural feel - they've spent time and money creating a tropical paradise but it doesn't feel formal.

Beach:
The beach slopes reasonably slowly and the water is the clearest I've ever seen. The sand reminds you of course bread crumbs. Seemingly the majority of the beach is made up of dead coral which accounts for its odd but soft white texture. There is very little shade on the beach - be warned!

Food:
If you are a meat and potatoes person - you probably won't be happy. Every night has a different theme for dinner. In the week we were there the themes rotated as follows - "Taste of the Caribbean", Mediterranean, French, TexMex, Asian, Italian, & the "Gala" night. We found all the food well prepared, quite tasty, and of good quality. Typically there was at least a couple of meat dishes (beef, lamb, pork), a couple of poultry dishes (chicken, duck, goose), and a couple of fish dishes (mostly local fresh fish). There was always pasta, rice, roasted and stewed vegetables, and an extended salad bar. Breakfast and lunch was typical resort fair - but while the selection was typical we found the quality very good. Worth mentioning is the selection of baked goods. The selections of breads/rolls was fabulous (usually 10 different selections at most meals) as well as excellent deserts/pastries.

Staff:
Helpful and friendly - although they are reserved and you had to engage them. If you asked for help - you got it. If you didn't ask - then you were left alone. Personally I like this but some may find it odd compared to many resorts whose staff are more "in your face". Check in was the smoothest I've ever seen at any resort - big hats off to Club Med!

Nightlife:
Minimal - a disco that opened at 11pm (if memory serves me). The nightly floor show started at 9pm. We saw a mix of musicians and dancers. We didn't see each night's entertainment but what we did see was good.

General Comments:
Club Med rates their resorts based on a few things - tranquility, family, activity, etc... This resort is one of their highest rated tranquility resorts. It is a VERY relaxed and quiet resort. There is a good mix of guests - European & North American. Sometimes the cultures clash (especially over when it is suitable to be topless) but it mostly works. You are definitely at an advantage if you can speak French (as a lot of the staff is from France/Switzerland/Canada). The staff can all speak a number of languages but obviously are most comfortable in their native tongue. Anyone looking for an active and exciting vacation - this is the wrong place. But if you want a place that is extremely relaxed and quiet then you may well consider this property. I know my wife and I enjoyed it quite a bit and will be back to Columbus Isle in the near future. We also collected some of our pictures - they may be helpful:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Take the package that includes the night dive"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandi03  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
275 people found this review helpful

Columbus Isle is a key of the Bahamas for those of you wondering. My 12 yr old son and I, left from JFK at 8am Easter Sunday, and arrived at Columbus Isle at about 11:30am. We were welcomed by the staff at the airport (about 2 people), and were quickly ushered into Club Med Mini Vans and driven the 1 minute commute to Club Med..Yes 1 minute, it was at the end of the runway!!!
The resort was quite nice, nothing like other Club Med's I've been to. The rooms were well decorated, clean, not dorm room at all. The food was quite good, and the service pleasant. The best part of the vacation was the diving. This is where the resort excelled. The boats were new, clean, state of the art. The scuba equipment was well taken care of, and the reefs were amazing. There were caves and wrecks to explore, and pleanty of surprises. Definately take the package that includes the night dive.
The night life was almost non existent, but we definately made do, especially my 12 year old, who made friends with other kids, and they had their own fun at the ping-pong table.
Hope this helps

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were in for quite a shock when we went poolside"

Club Med Columbus Isle
User Rating:  Club Med Columbus Isle Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  KennethUSA  on Feb 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
301 people found this review helpful

RE: Club Med San Salvador Island “NOT AS ADVERTISED”
What a miserable vacation it turned out to be.
The beach is lovely, and the facilities are very good, the food barely passed for mediocre, and the atmosphere was just awful! This was our third Club Med, the last two in Mexico, and we will never go to another Club Med again.

This was a huge disappointment.:
RE: Club Med San Salvador Island “NOT AS ADVERTISED”
What a miserable vacation it turned out to be.
The beach is lovely, and the facilities are very good, the food barely passed for mediocre, and the atmosphere was just awful! This was our third Club Med, the last two in Mexico, and we will never go to another Club Med again.
We have two kids, 8 & 9 yrs old, and they did not get much use out of the Kids Clubs in the Mexico resorts, so it was no necessary we go to a Village with a Kid’s Club. The marketing material, along with representations made by their agents said that kids are welcome and Columbus Isle would be just great for families. To avoid the Christmas travel crowds, we pulled the kids from school for a week in February (both kids are great students).
We were in for quite a shock when we went poolside; a good half of the women were topless. (While this may appeal to many people, it is not the kind of thing for kids from where we come from.) My wife was totally humiliated. I did complain while I was there, asked about getting off the island (not easy), and was shrugged off. Upon our return home I learned that nude bathing is against Club Med policy, (even the GO’s were going topless), as well as it is against the laws of the Bahamas.
I really don’t care what they do at the Village; just don’t promote it for kids. They had plenty of opportunity to warn us (or the travel agent). Their response concerning my complaint ha been very unsatisfactory.
The food. While the food in the Mexican Villages was excellent, the food at Columbus Isle varied fro standard buffet mush to inedible. A person in the buffet line in front of me had to kill a bug crawling out of a dish. Then the server tried to put the platter back! Some of the fish dishes were above average, and the bread was decent, but we did not put on any extra weight because the meals were so great.
If you like fresh air, forget it! The theater (where it is clearly posted “No Smoking” was a fog. In fact we had to walk out of shows because our eyes and throats were burning because of the thick cigarette smoke. But the smoking is everywhere. It may be a cultural thing with the large French contingent, but at meals, the pool, even in the ocean plumes of smoke always seemed to be in one’s face.
The bar bracelets are a good idea, but during popular times you had a good wait to get you drinks. They said they were short a bartender. Oh well.
This was a huge disappointment. In the future we will not be going to Club Med.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube