Paradise Island Harbor Resort Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Paradise Island Harbor Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

Club Med Columbus Isle

4.0 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2007

Atlantis Royal Towers

2.8 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 26, 2014

Paradise Island Harbor Resort  

Harbour Rd, Nassau | (formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Paradise Island), 6249, New Providence Island

"Good Value for Price Paid"
Posted by: Debbie and Pat  on May 6, 2013
see all reviews

Paradise Island Harbor Resort Reviews
Paradise Island Harbor Resort Pictures and Information
Paradise Island Harbor Resort Bahamas Bahamas

#3
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 3.1

Based on 11 reviews

Paradise Island Harbor Resort Information


Select from two restaurants, a lobby bar, and an outdoor pool bar that will satisfy the most demanding appetites. Indulge in a romantic dinner at The Harbourview Restaurant, featuring Bahamian steak and seafood.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradise Island Harbor Resort Reviews

Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 3.1 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"Good Value for Price Paid"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie and Pat  on May 6, 2013  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

Booked this hotel at a sale price, felt we got good value for what we paid. Hotel is small. We had a balcony room which was quite nice and spacious. Needs updating, but was clean. Note only Harbourfront rooms have a balcony, the other rooms do not.

It's not on the ocean, it's overlooks the harbour, but there is a pool and a small man-made beach area. They do have a small area blocked off for swimming, but it is an industrial harbour, so didn't really go in there. There is a public beach a 10 minute walk away if you want to go in the ocean. It was very rough, though, and apparently there is a rip tide.

We found food and service to be good. Food was always hot, and there seemed to be quite a variety of things, and it changed from day to day. There was a buffet restaurant as well as an a la carte, and you could also order food at the bar. We ate most of our meals at the buffet, and ate at the a la carte twice. No complaints at all about the food.

Only about a 5 to 10 minute walk to Atlantis, and close to a plaza that had a small grocery store, liquor store, souvenirs, etc.

This hotel has recently been sold, and we were told it will be closing in April 2014 for 6 months while they expand and renovate and will re-open as a 5 star hotel.

Room Number:
914

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good price, good location and truly a 2 star"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynda  on Mar 24, 2013  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Business | Family and Kids
109 people found this review helpful

First off you should know that we travel alot,choosing between 5 to 2 star resorts depending on the occasion. This resort is truly a 2 star. Don't expect more. The food was great the location awesome and service depends on the tips you give. Once you realize the tip situation things are good. As for rooms, they need to be revamped but are kept clean and cozy. Management is nice and very helpful. The beach,not a beach. But a 5 minute walk to an awesome beach. Atlantis, awesome. Short walk to a ferry in to town. My kids loved their trip and so did I. If you need pampering they offer manicures,massages and it was very nice. If you need high class amenities this resort is not for you. If you are frugal and want rest,relaxation good times and great memories then try it out.

Rooms:
Run down.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food good drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach not much to look at.
Pool need repair but was nice and warm

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Sandy toes beach excursions was very nice
Scooba diving the boys have experienced better in Mexico.
Ferry to town nice,safe for kids
Atlantis was great
Beach 5 minute walk very good
Their is a little lagoon on the way to the beach we spent every day taking popcorn and bread to feed turtles and fish.

Other Comments:
I pick resorts based on location,occasion and price. This was a nice family vacation keeping in mind we spent most of our time on excursions. Having said that, high end amenities were not needed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic, Fun, Friendly"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rhonda  on Mar 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
198 people found this review helpful

We had an awesome time. The staff was friendly especially: Alfred, Leo, Jane(housekeeping wait above and beyond), Shaun, Ricardo, and many others. The food was awesome. They had a different theme every night. We even had a super bowl party! The pool bar was awesome. The staff would even go onto the beach to deliver your drinks to you. The entertainment was a lot of fun. The limbo guy was super incredible. Everyone was open and friendly. Great time on paid excursions. Relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Block:
6th floor

Arrival:
The only downfall was the long check in line. One of us stayed in line while the other went to get some drinks.

Rooms:
Exactly what you see in the pictures. Clean, quiet and comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Staff was so friendly and helpful. Food was awesome. Pool bar could be a little congested. Need a system of order here on one side and pick up on the other.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the only complaint was that other tourist would not put their garbage away. There are plenty of garbage cans around just laziness. Although that happened the beach area and pool area would be clean the next day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Beach Volleyball, Bingo, dances, super bowl party, pool volleyball, bike riding,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exactly what we expected"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lia  on Feb 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
242 people found this review helpful

the people are very friendly. Great place for family to hang out and and get some r&r. Close to all outings. Sarah at the front desk was very nice. just be cautious of the taxi prices, we noticed prices were less from our resort compared to getting a taxi from the atlantis they charged more! silly fact but compared to other places south these toilets really flush.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  kim  on Feb 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
256 people found this review helpful

First of all happy that I do not beleive all I read ! There where 8 of us and we all had a great time. The hotel is older and they had some elevator problems. Yet the rooms where clean everyday, ther is a bit of a smell because there is no windows to open so you have to run the air conditioner even on low just to circulate the air and keep it fresh. The food was awsome there was always something to eat. The preperation of food and use of spices is not what we where used to but then again that is part of the adventure in travel. To try DIFFERENT things not what you get at home. LOL ! The bar food was really good if philly cheese,chicken wings ,onion rings, fries,chicken burgers,conch fritters,plus much more is not your idea of good bar food then all the more for me cause it was great ! At times the waitress was a little slow but come on she is serving like 20 or more other people so get over the waite of 10 sometimes 15 min. The location was great we where able to walk all over the island and take taxi or farrie over to Nassau. The people where amazing so nice and they talked to you cause they wanted to not becuase it is there job. All of them are very fluent in english, not once did anyone pertend not to understand us. One great trip and would go again any time. Stayed 7days it was great. The inclosed beach area at the resort is not that great many people leaving garbage laying around that ended up in the water at the bottom so snorkeling was not that good. Yet cabbage beach was only 10 min walk and was great so who cares. Again had a great time will go again. Shout outs to Big Ale, Micheal,Shawn Connery LOL ! Angela,Janet, and all the rest of the staff you are all great keep up the good work.

Room Number:
709

Arrival:
The arrival was verry good. My sister booked us all in and had our papper work so we registered as a group and did not have a very long waite. The receptionist was very quick and we where all checked in in about 20 min we wher a group of 8.

Rooms:
Rooms are a little run down the building is old so expected. No windows that opened but got fresh air by using the air conditioning on low.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only one al a carte and it was realy good. We had a two course meal there and it was well made and very tasteful. The buffet food was great, the same kinds of food every night but made differently. Like fish every night one night it was Snapper, then it was Grouper, then another fish made in curry, and then made in a stew. So the same but different it was great. Got to remember it is Bhamas and they are trying to treat you to THERE fav foods. Always had spice in food even in mac and cheese dish. And yes we liked it. LOL

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was okay, The water murkey and lots of cups at the bottom also both beach and pools where cold. We still swam and got sunburns, Cabbage beach was 10 min walk and is a great beach had lots of fun there. Can not possibly control weather and unfortunatly it was windy and cold most of our trip. I would still go back.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the resort we played and watched different games. It was fun ! Did a couple of payed day trips and had fun on that did the speed boat snorkling all day trip. Was a little disapointed in the reef but was realy excited that there where sharks like 10 min and a sand bar away from us that was new for all of us. Injoyed the submersible. And took a few rides around Nassau the people realy like Anna Nicole Smith. Straw market and bars where fun. Lots to see lots to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't shy aware because of a bad review"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Feb 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
196 people found this review helpful

First we can say that this is a 3** star resort. Our expectations were not a four or a five star resort.
The price for the vacation was a good deal ( all Inclusive).
The food was good and the service was great....
The hotel is clean and yes some repairs needed but, by far it is not a dump.
The beds are comfy and rooms clean.
The entertainment was good and the pool, bar and beach are Awesome!
The best thing of all is the location, location , location within 8 minute walking distance to Atlantis within 5 minutes walking distance to the fairy boat to go shopping or to the fish fry in Nassau.
If you are looking for an affordable family or couple vacation that saves you money in your pocket this is the vacation for you.

Rooms:
Rooms are great, upgraded to oceanfront for $30 US dollars a night. Well worth it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food and service were great.... always enough and it was not cold. All Inclusive is the way to go never an empty glass.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is awesome. Small private protected beach with a boardwalk around it, so take a stroll and see fish on the other side. If you are looking for a larger beach cabbage beach is a 10 minute walk around the corner and you can also visit a beautiful garden park on the way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
themed night shows daily, all day activities & games. Outside the resort take an 8 minute walk to Atlantis, shopping, and casino's and outdoor bars and patio's

Other Comments:
Go with the expectations of a very clean 3*** star hotel not a 4 or 5 star. The price for the accommodations/ Inclusive is the best on the Island without breaking your wallet, but still allows you all the same advantages and experiences to enjoy a fun and safe vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Valued Holiday"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carole  on Nov 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
244 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I booked the package online. After we had booked, we read terrible reviews about the hotel so we were a little skeptical.
When we got there, we found out that none of the reviews were remotely accurate. The hotel was lovely and clean. The staff were very friendly, really nice actually. We got checked into our room very quickly and the room itself was nicer than we had expected. We knew from the website that one of the restaurants was closed but the daily buffet was great. They changed the theme of the buffet daily and again, it was nicer than we had expected. Lots of choice and freshly made.
It is a 5 minute walk to Atlantis if you want to change it up a bit.
And for sure you have to check out the "fish fry" for some conch salad. A 10 minute cab drive. You can also get it under the bridge, just ask the taxi driver.
The weather was perfect, we had a great trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most horrific all inclusive resort i have stayed at in the bahamas"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sohail  on Aug 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
266 people found this review helpful

Arrival 7:30pm on August 2nd,2011

First of all:After arrival check-into our room and noticed that the hotel didn't give us the exact room we had asked for, which was an ocean front room. The room they had given us had an trailer truck instead of a ocean front view.

Second of all: The hotel had many unhelpful employees because every time we had an issue with something it took them about 1-2 hours to come up to the room and fix it for you. Also you have to call the front desk about 1,000 time until they send someone up to help you out. My family and I had many problems with this all inclusive resort, first of all their rooms are very unorganized with rust on their fridge, their internet cable is broken, their safe wasn't working properly, and every time we wanted to turn the television on it wouldn't turn on.

Secondly: They charge you $10.00 per day for the use of the internet.

Thirdly: The hotel was about 20 minutes walk to the beach without a taxi just walking there in extremely hot and humid weather.

Lastly, when ever you called the front desk and asked for something; it would take them forever to bring it up to your room.
Also their rooms, lobby, bar,and restaurant smelled awful.


I believe that this hotel is good for people who don't have enough money to spend on a expensive hotel like Atlantis, and RIU where you would get extremely good and valuable service for the same amount of money you would spend to stay at Paradise Island all inclusive resort.All I'm saying is the next time you would want to stay in Nassau Bahamas just consider staying at the other two hotels I talked about in the above paragraph.

Room Number:
815

Room Block:
815

Arrival:
Tuesday August 2nd to Saturday August 6th

Rooms:
815

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They really don't care"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  JoAnnLINew York  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
284 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 4th
I've been vacationing in the Caribbean for the past 20 yrs and never have I seen a more horrific resort. Do not even consider this place it's a real dump.
Rooms:
Rooms were dirty and smelly
Restaurants and Bars: If you want to call it a restaurant,It was a couple of tables with sternos,very poor quality of food,the bar had disgusting choices and I don't know the policy on alcohol, but there must have been a couple of hundred kids and they were allowed to drink.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was not kept up with. Kids were vomitting in the pool and the staff really didn't care to address that issue of even cleaning the pool.
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We check out the very next day.
Other Comments:
I spoke with other guest and they were surprised and disgusted with this resort.The staff attitude is quite apparent that they really don't care and it reflexes very clear on the service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The rooms totally need upgraded"

Paradise Island Harbor Resort
User Rating:  Paradise Island Harbor Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  USA06  on Jul 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

The Island Harbour Resort is no place to stay from the end of May to the middle of July unless you like vacationing with eighteen year olds, who stay drunk and obnoxious about twenty-one hours of the day. The food at the resort is fine for the price you pay and the service was quite good. The rooms totally need upgraded and the beach at the hotel is nothing to speak of. For my wife and I we'll spend the extra money next time and stay at the RIU or Atlantis.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube