Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Sheraton Cable Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Nassau Hotels with Similar Ranking

Breezes Bahamas

3.8 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 15, 2014

Wyndham Nassau Resort

2.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2007

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort  

West Bay Street, | (formerly Radisson Cable Beach & Golf Resort), Nassau, New Providence Island

"October 2011"
Posted by: n/a on Jun 2, 2013
see all reviews

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Reviews
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Nassau Bahamas

#3
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 4.1

Based on 9 reviews

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Information


A warm Bahamian welcome awaits at Sheraton Cable Beach Resort, ideally situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of Nassau's most spectacular white-sand beach. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be treated to gracious Bahamian hospitality, thoughtful amenities, and an abundance of activities – from swimming and tennis to snorkeling, sailing, and exciting water sports.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Reviews

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 4.1 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  4
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 9 of 9

"October 2011"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  n/a  on Jun 2, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
90 people found this review helpful

+Room was clean and well maintained by hotel staff (towels bedding etc).

+Nice view of the resort and the sea from small balcony.

- Many of the restaurants/eateries were closed most of the time which meant we felt a bit like we were hunting for food on an evening. Just as well we didn't go all inclusive as there wouldn't have been much to choose from.

+Lots of excursions and trips to book onto in the reception area, well organised.

-Beach wasn't overcrowded, easy to relax (though this might be different depending on the time of year).

-Not much in the way of entertainment while we were there - but again perhaps this was due to it being a quiet time.

-Complimentary drinks on arrival would have been nice - but no such luck!

+Friendly porters

+No bites whatsoever during our stay.

+Free access to neighbouring hotel and its facilities (including eateries), the Wyndenham.


Room Number:
411

Arrival:
Neutral experience - not a particularly warm welcome and no welcome drinks but the porter was friendly and polite.

Rooms:
Decent, comfortable, clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Most of them were closed the whole time we were there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice beach, not overcrowded, nice long stretch, private and feels safe. Plenty of pools, nice and clean but most of them were cold. The pool at the bar was warm - hence everyone seemed to gravitate to that one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much at the time - but lots of excursions to book onto if you have lots of spending money. Went to an inhouse club at the Wyndenham - live band.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Stay Was Comfortable"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shelley  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
231 people found this review helpful

My husband & I just spent a week in Nassau staying at the Sheraton. Aside from the hotels at Atlantis on Paradise Island, I believe that this was likely the best hotel choice. The Sheraton was comfortable with lots of food choices and staff were very pleasant. The hotel is in need of a refurb. Our room carpet had been patched and the walls looked liked they had been repaired without being repainted. The entrance off the 1st floor to the beach area is awful though consisting of a hall that has a double opening cafe style door that is old and dirty. The hotel makes a decent attempt to keep activities going for the guests although alot of it consists of playing very loud music. The beach is lovely and the weather was very consistently hot. I'm quite fond of the Sheraton chain but the Cable Beach needs a facelift.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be returning in the future."

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Mar 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
270 people found this review helpful

I arrived in Bahamas on February 27, 2011 for 4 nights (all-inclusive).

I can easily say that this is one of the best hotels in Nassau, I found the place very clean and the staff very friendly (excellent customer service), for a large resort it is well-kept the rooms are clean and the landscape is picture-perfect. The beach is cleaned daily, it’s beautiful white sand and the ocean is crystal clear, they have 3 swimming pools and 2 hot tubs.

The food was good lots of different variety and at the outside restaurant (dolphin Grill) has awesome hamburgers.

Activities they had ping-pong table, floor checkers, beach soccer, volleyball and a awesome waterslide that they put in the ocean.

The fitness room has updated equipment and very clean.

I went to town to the local transit that cost me $1.25 US it was very enjoyable the locals are very friendly and I felt safe.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be returning in the future.

Room Number:
231

Arrival:
I arrived in Bahamas on February 27, 2011 for 4 nights (all-inclusive).

Rooms:
My rooms was clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good lots of different variety and at the outside restaurant (dolphin Grill) has awesome hamburgers.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities they had ping-pong table, floor checkers, beach soccer, volleyball and a awesome waterslide that they put in the ocean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The renovations made by the Sheraton are excellent."

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  RegKit08  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Sheraton for 3 nights because our hotel was overbooked for a few days - we knew the hotel as we had previously stayed when it was a Radisson. Another good point was the fact that the casino is right next door at the Wyndham.

The renovations made by the Sheraton are excellent. Though the room we were given provided about the worst view from the whole hotel, being mostly a dumping ground for broken concrete, the room itself was quiet and very very nice. Modern, tasteful decor with a Bahamian flair, very comfortable bed and pillows - strangely we almost felt like we were in Europe. I would have preferred a walk- in shower in the bathroom - just because we are used to that - but the rest of the bathroom was "trendy" and clean.

Did not eat there, but did notice the prices are astronomical and slightly outside of our comfort zone. A bottle of water in the room cost $3.50 US - WOW !! Would go back when we win the lottery.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is not one bad comment"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Oct 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2007 | Leisure | Family and Kids
255 people found this review helpful

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort was an all around great resort. Everything about it was magnificent! My family and I booked it the Monday before we left using changes.com and everything went perfectly went we got there. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and even the locals were all very kind. The beaches were beautiful and had plenty of activities to keep kids busy. The snorkeling right at the beach was wonderful! The resort is under renovation, but don’t let that change your mind. It is only part of the resort and there are still three pools that are open, including the swim up bar. They have daily games at the pool which are a lot of fun to join in on. We ate at the buffet at the resort for dinner one night and the food was marvelous. The chef was more than happy to cook up the fish that we caught on our deep-sea fishing excursion and prepared it wonderfully for us. The restaurants outside of the hotels were also very good to eat at. It is a great hotel for families with kids of all ages, but also a great hotel for couples. There is something for everyone to enjoy. There is not one bad comment I could say about this resort and it is definitely one I will stay at again!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ever hear of wristbands folks?"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  DougTorontoOntario  on Nov 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

This was my second visit back to this resort. My last visit was in 1998 with a company function. I have been to Caribbean many times with the majority of my stays being at 5-star or premium properties. My review is as follows:

Ever hear of wristbands folks?:
PROPERTY
The beach is excellent, the pool is large and not too cold. There is the usual beach bar with swim-up facility. Those are the good things. The property is very tired however and it is not uncommon to find tiles that have fallen off, scraped doors, chipped paint everywhere, and tired looking furniture. Our oceanview room did not have any mini-bar or fridge, there was rust in the bathtub, and the bed was plain worn out. People with back troubles will inherit more trouble when staying at this resort. The sliding door did not work correctly, nor would it lock. The lighting in the room was weak and this made it very difficult to read. The television had some satellite stations however it was very out of date. One small bottle of horrible tasting water (at room tempurature) was in our room each day. Locking safes are not included and you are charged an additional $3.00 per day - even with the all-inclusive option. The resort was recently painted "pink" and now looks "cheap". It used to be white and had a quality appearance.

RESTAURANTS/FOOD
The food at the resort is generally of high quality and I must say that other than a hamburger at the beach, all of it was prepared properly and it all tasted quite good. The buffet restaurant has a horrible smell to it and reminds me of a hospital cafeteria. The buffet restaurant is very limited in selection. The best restaurant is Avocados and it serves terrific steak and seafood. The Island serves traditional Bahamian food and sushi and was quite good also.
BARS

This was hugely disappointing and simply cannot go without comment. The attitude of the bar personnel was the worst I have ever experienced on any trip anywhere in the Caribbean - ever! The staff doesn't acknowledge that you are standing there, serve drinks in slow-motion, and then discuss daily issues with other staff members while you stand there! With twelve guests sitting at one bar I waited twenty minutes for one drink - with three people tending bar! The drinks are low quality and weak.

ALL-INCLUSIVE OPTION
Each time you order food or drink, you are presented with a bill that you must sign with the amount total noted. This slowed service at restaurants and bars tremendously. It is stupid because virtually everyone was on the all-inclusive option. Interestingly the slips even included gratuities, although you don't pay for them at checkout. Ever hear of wristbands folks?

CONCLUSION
Very expensive destination with lacklustre amenities and service - with good food. Unless you want to purchase a Rolex watch for duty-free, I truly do not see the value in the Bahamas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is nice and kept very clean"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  KimLawrenceKingstonOntarioCanada  on Mar 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

I haven’t seen too many recent reviews for the Radisson Cable Beach in Bahamas and thought I would send you one.

The beach is nice and kept very clean:
We just returned yesterday March 18th – we were there for 5 days on the all inclusive plan. This was our second time staying at this hotel, the first being in 2002. We traveled with our 12 year old son. This hotel is very family oriented as well as there are weddings everyday and spring breakers. There is something for everyone! I highly recommend the all inclusive plan – I heard people who were on the EP complaining that the prices are very high if you are paying. I overheard one lady say it was $12 for 2 coffees and muffins and another saying they paid $10 for a burger and fries for their 4 year old only for him to say he wasn’t hungry!

We booked our holiday through Sunquest vacations and flew from Toronto to Nassau by Skyservice Airlines. We haven’t flown Skyservice in quite a while and were pleased with the flight and the service. We generally use Air Canada for our flights. The flight attendants were very polite and the service was good.

We arrived in Nassau at 11:15 and very promptly put on the shuttle bus and arrived at the hotel, received our room booked our dinners for the week and were in the pool by 12:30. Having been there before, we knew to make dinner reservations for our entire stay as soon as we arrived in order to receive the restaurants and times we wanted. This was completed quickly and we were off to the pools.

We ate at all the restaurants. We liked them all. The food was excellent at them all except the Islands. My husband had a very tough steak and my ribs were quite fatty. The service wasn’t that great either. Amicis was very nice – it is a dressy restaurant and food is great. The Forge is fun – you grill at your table and they put you with other guests so you get to know some other people. Avocados was very good as well. The service was very good as well. The Beach Grill is excellent for burgers and hot dogs and fries and the buffet for breakfast and lunch was great as well.

The beach is nice and kept very clean. Lots of lounge chairs both at the pool and the beach and no need to reserve. The bars were full of spring breakers but all were very pleasant and polite and we didn’t have any problems with them at all.

Our room was on the 6th floor and had a fantastic full ocean view.

We frequently took the bus to town and at $1 per person is the only way to go. We also went swimming with the stingrays. We booked this through Majestic Tours right at the hotel and it was $40 per person. We really enjoyed it – a unique experience. We also took the water taxi over to the Atlantis and toured around Paradise Island.

I can’t speak for all the housekeeping staff but the lady we had was fantastic. Our room was kept spotless.

The weather was fantastic and we hated to come home. We will definitely go back to the Radisson Cable Beach and highly recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The room as only marginally better than the 3 star"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  MarcCanada  on Mar 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
248 people found this review helpful

My wife & I took a 4 night all-inclusive package to Bahamas, Nassau, Radisson Cable Beach Resort via Conquest Tours, Skyservice from Toronto March 9-13, 2003, which is right at March Break, I know.

Summary:
good food, bad attitude, disorganized, too expensive @$3,000 Cnd (for less $ we could have had a 5 star in DR for 7 nights). The all-inclusive wasn't worth it. Nassau has a lot of gasoline fumes. Nice temperature. Nice sky. Nice beach.

We booked via SellOffVacations.com, which has very good rates, comparatively. Departure went well at Pearson Airport other than the indifferent attitude at the Conquest desk. Flight on Skyservice was good. It was a mistake booking a 5:15pm departure - it was dark when we landed at 8:45. We passed through Customs in Nassau quickly, then things got a bit crazy. There was no Conquest rep as we left Customs. We ended up asking a different tour operator where to find them and they directed us outside where we became part of a baggage laden crowd milling behind 6 or 7 noisy busses all with engines on, spewing exhaust on the crowd. We found the rep and told her our hotel destination and she just motioned us towards the other end of the row of busses. We clambered around other visitors and their baggage and got to the end and as there were no signs (just bus noise and bus drivers shouting unintelligibly), we asked a bus driver which bus, and he pointed to an empty bay. Eventually we were motioned on to a bus. We got to the hotel. No one there directed us, but eventually we just carried our bags in and stood in line until 10:30 to check in. We were hungry, hot & thirsty and we were indifferently told the restaurants were closed. (Last year we went to Puerto Plata and the Hacienda Tropicale greeted the arrivals with trays of drinks and snacks and they got about 150 of us checked in within 30 minutes.) We managed to sneak in the back door of the buffet and get some food as they were winding down.

The room as only marginally better than the 3 star in Puerto Plata, but they had CBC on cable. We had breakfast and lunch at the Bimini buffet and the food was always great, even though the service was burly. You could also get lunch at the Dolphin Grill by the beach. If Conquest had an orientation, we were not informed of it, so we never found out how the restaurants worked - for dinner you had to book ahead, except that they were letting people book 3 days in advance, so the 4 night arrivals like us were stuck with 9 or 10 PM bookings for the whole stay. We figured we'd just use the buffet, but we found out the hard way that the buffet did not run every night for dinner.

To use the all-inclusive you have to show your card and then sign a chit every time. So there was always a wait for meals or for getting drinks at the bars. Weird thing - the Bahamian men all gave cheerful (if slow) service, but the women were slow and indifferent.

The beach was quite nice, but not much shade, so we sat by the nice pools mostly. It's about 200m of beach then broken by rocks and other hotels, but there's a beautiful long stretch of beach to the east along the other hotels (Marriott, Breezes and some others), but you have to walk across the other hotels areas to get there.

The bus into Nassau was frequent and only $1 US each way, if you don't mind the car fumes at the stops. We saw the famous straw market - t-shirts, woodcarvings, hats, bags, pot pipes and other tourist junk all of which you can find easily in Toronto. We asked directions to the Botanical Gardens and no one thought to tell us it was closed due to cleanup from last fall's hurricanes.

We enjoyed ourselves anyway, but my wife says Mayan Riviera (2 years ago) was much nicer. I won't go back to Nassau. Coffee lovers: bring your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We liked The Forge restaurant the best"

Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
User Rating:  Sheraton Cable Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  SoniaCanada  on Mar 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2003 | Leisure | Family and Kids
260 people found this review helpful

My husband and I took our two children (both under 5 yrs. old) for a 4 night all-inclusive stay at the Radisson Cable Beach Resort via Conquest Tours, Skyservice from Toronto on March 16, 2003. Overall, our vacation was very enjoyable.

Pleasantly surprised:
I was pleasantly surprised with Skyservice, especially how well they treated us while traveling with two small kids. The flight attendant was kind enough to ask a fellow passenger to move back a row so that the four of us could have the entire row of seats since the flight was not full both ways. The food was pretty decent in terms of economy class cuisine.

We landed in Nassau around 8:30 pm and we took a shuttle bus to the hotel. We highly recommend hiring a local porter to wheel your baggage as it certainly made our trek through customs and to the shuttle bus really easy and fast. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no door man and we had to carry our own bags into the lobby. It seemed that the front desk was not in a hurry to check people in as we had to wait in line for 30 minutes. Our room wasn’t posh but was quite clean and the view was great! I really liked that our room had a terrace overlooking the pools and ocean. The bathroom, however, was a bit cramped and very dimly lit. We got lucky and the Bimini Grill was still open at 9:30 pm and we were able to have a late buffet snack. Most restaurants close at 10pm but we found out that the Bimini Grill has after hours take out or late buffet.

We found the beach was ideal for small kids since the waves are calm and the sand is soft. The water is also shallow for a good distance out from the beach. We met some nice young families and my kids always found playmates. There are many pools to choose from and my kids really liked the one with a beach-like entry and water fall.

We liked The Forge restaurant the best because the filet mignon was about 3” thick and the service was great, but it can get pretty hot grilling right at your table. If you’re a Sushi connoisseur then you won’t be very impressed with The Islands restaurant. Amicci’s had pretty good Italian food and the anti-pasto table was authentic and tasty. We loved the frozen drinks and the bar staff was always friendly. It was a bit of a pain though to have to wait for and sign a bill every time you got a drink.

My husband tried the golf course and his only complaint was the mandatory cart rental of 35 USD per person, which is pretty pricey converted into CAD and he prefers to walk. The free shuttle bus was quick and air conditioned. The course was not very busy and if he wanted to play another round the pro-shop would have accommodated. Overall, he’s proud that he shot a 75.

On our departure, there was a lot of confusion with the shuttle buses to the airport because some of the guests weren’t aware of having to get transfer tickets issued at the piano lounge. Also, there weren’t enough buses so we kept getting moved aside amongst the bus fumes. Getting through the airport was much easier, especially considering we left the day the war started. Just have your passport ready to flash periodically.

In summary, we picked a good resort for our family vacation as we really had a great time and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube