RIU Paradise Island Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > RIU Paradise Island reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

RIU Paradise Island  

Casino Dr, 6307, New Providence Island

"IF YOU NEED 2 BEDS or 1 KING ... DO NOT STAY HERE.. Management lied to us.. Horrible experience.. Staff was nice but the management is horrible"
Posted by: Mark on Apr 6, 2015
see all reviews

RIU Paradise Island Reviews
RIU Paradise Island Pictures and Information
RIU Paradise Island Bahamas Bahamas

#1
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 3.4

Based on 24 reviews

RIU Paradise Island Information


Situated on a 3-mile-long, white sandy beach, Riu Paradise Island has a prime location next to the Atlantis Casino.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Paradise Island Reviews

RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.4 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"IF YOU NEED 2 BEDS or 1 KING ... DO NOT STAY HERE.. Management lied to us.. Horrible experience.. Staff was nice but the management is horrible"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Apr 6, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Wedding | Family and Kids
40 people found this review helpful

I am a middle aged man who took his 82 year old mother to Nassau to my cousins wedding. I booked through a travel agent because I had two stipulations-DIRECT FLIGHT & the room had to have TWO SEPERATE BEDS. Our paperwork arrived, it said "TWO BEDS REQUESTED". When I got the key I confirmed there were two beds. The girl at the front counter said "Sorry sir, one king bed only." I advised I was travelling with my mother and I needed two beds. She told me to go around the corner and speak to the Sunwing rep. I explained the situation to the Sunwing rep. He said "sorry but that's what you paid for & there is no guarantee." Even after I showed him the paperwork, he said "Just because you asked for two beds doesn't mean you're going to get it." I asked for the manager who was rude and said "THE HOTEL IS FULL AND I CAN'T HELP YOU ANYWAY" My mother was furious and went to the front desk. I tried to contact my Sell off vacation rep.

After an hour of battling the manager said "IF YOU PAY FOR AN UPGRADE OF $45.00 a day, I can UPGRADE YOU."..... LIE #1.... I said "excuse me but I thought you said an hour ago the hotel was full?" .... I couldn't believe what I just heard.

She decided to squeeze a bed into the room. I was not going to stress over this anymore and waited to hear from my travel agent. The second day my mother ended up spending the day in bed sick. The room staff was great and checked in on her throughout the day. 1 day lost because of this crap.

When we arrived at the room, they squeezed a mattress and box spring in the middle of the room and piled furniture in the middle of the room. It was a mess. I tried the best I could to reorganize it to a safe room.

When I returned home,I contacted RIU hotels in Mexico who basically sent me a letter saying "you were upgraded by 5 levels". WHAT? we had a room that looked over a parking lot. No view of the beach what so ever. The hotel manager told us "This is what we paid for". SO WHAT IS IT? AN UPGRADE OR DID WE GET WHAT WE ORDERED? NOBODY TOLD ME?. I can only assume that RIU Paradise management told this to Head office during their inquiry? If we had a level 5 room, I would hate to see a Level 1? Yes, the room was okay but is was small and had a parking lot view looking inland so I don't know how that is a level 5 and we had no balcony.

I met a woman who was furious. In 2014 and was given a king bed. She wanted 2 queen beds. She said to management she was returning in 2015 with her daughter and needed to make sure she had 2 queen beds. They told her "WHEN YOU BOOK IN 2015, DOWNGRADE YOUR ROOM BY ONE LEVEL. THE TOP LEVEL DOESN'T HAVE 2 BEDS. WHEN YOU DOWNGRADE ONE LEVEL, YOU CAN GET 2 BEDS.". She did and guess what happned? 1 king bed and refusal for 2 queen beds. She told me a male was yelling at the front desk because he requested a king bed and got 2 queen beds.WHAT A JOKE.
BOTTOM LINE: THEY DON'T

Room Number:
1100

Rooms:
If you want a beach view, do not take any room with the lowest numbers. The higher the number on the floor the closer you are to the beach.... ie: Room 1200 has no beach view and looks over a parking lot looking inland. No balcony either. Room 1220 is looking right over the beach

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is good. Bar staff is goode

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
1 pool. Beach is down some stairs from the pool area

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not Happy Rude "

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy  on Dec 26, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
42 people found this review helpful

Front desk are the rudest ...Wouldn't let us call for a taxi .Said we have to give them hundred dollars to do so ...The beds are connected so your sleeping with your kids one small bed that is suppose to sleep four ..The shower gets so hot it burns you then freezes you out ..You can't relax on their beach due to all they people trying to sell u things drugs cigars necklace jet skies esc ..We definitely won't be returning

Room Number:
604

Arrival:
Dec 23rd

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unbelievable"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  elizabeth  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
362 people found this review helpful

Just got back from riu palace bahamas and it was great. the service was fantastic. the staff made you feel like family. they actually knew what you liked and always made you feel welcome. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Number:
1011

Arrival:
april 26- may2 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
fantastic

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wonderful and clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had fun! Would stay again.."

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosa  on Apr 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
410 people found this review helpful

Came back from a 4 night stay at the Riu Palace. The purpose of the trip was just to relax and rest on the beach for a few days after a very long winter. I found the beach AMAZING. White sand and crystal clear blue water. No seaweed, no moss, the occasional schools of fish. I didn't mind the fish, but did find it annoying when people would feed them to bring them closer. Always able to get lounge chairs on the beach and Riu had staff there to carry them and place them where you wanted them. I found it interesting a lot of Atlantis people came down to the Riu end of the beach because it was by far more beautiful and cleaner than Atlantis's beach area.

Room Number:
826

Arrival:
Arrival was a bit early for check-in. Bellboy kept the suitcases, we got our wrist bands and went in to the buffet grill for lunch which we ate on the outside patio. After that I went back to the desk and they gave me my keys and off we went up to the room.

Rooms:
Flat screen tv, minibar, fair sized balcony with ocean view and 2 chairs and a little table. Huge comfy bed and 2 arm chairs with a table. Lots of drawer space and closet space. Bathroom was large and with a double sink. The liquor dispenser full size bottles of top shelf liquor surprised me. You don't normally get that full size in your room and they refilled them daily. That was fun. Maid was really nice and helpful to us.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was great, lots of food choices and theme nights. I enjoyed Mexican night the best.

Bars had menus and made all types of drinks wit top shelf liquor. Tip for the bar, bring a togo cup. Keeps your drink cold at the beach and they fill the cup up full. Saves time from going to the bar often since they use plastic cups. A lot of people had thermal cups. You can even pour beer from your room fridge in the cup and just ask for some ice and off to the beach you go. Sports bar had a snack fridge if you wanted something to grab late night and there was always room service at all hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was a tad small, but it didn't seem over crowded to a crazy degree. I think most people enjoyed hanging at the beach. I did go into it one day and didn't find it cold at all. I think the sun heats it a lot.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Atlantis nightly to use the casino. It's a really quick walk, it's right next door into the Beach tower main entrance.

Went into town by taxi to buy souvenirs on Bay street which are where the cruise ships dock and the markets are. It's busy down there and it was fun. I went into Senor Frogs which had a large crowd and got a drink. There's the straw market, Harley Davidson, Hard Rock and the normal "island" jewelry stores like Diamonds International and Colombian Emeralds. There's also a few high end stores like Gucci, Fendi, I think I also saw a Coach.

Other Comments:
Had fun for a quick weekend getaway, good All-Inclusive for The Bahamas especially if you want to just relax, eat all you want and drink all you want. Less of the hassle and expenses of Atlantis and if you want to use the water park you can just buy a day pass or get one free if you go to Atlantis's 1 hour timeshare meeting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bahamaian Retreat"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Feb 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
392 people found this review helpful

An honest review by seasoned travelers,
We were six adults all looking forward to an escape from the cold Alberta winter. The Riu provided just the escape we were looking for. Although the weather the week we went was not the best it was by far still better then the -40 we were having back home.
As you may have read before the pool is on the small side but it was not a problem as it never was over filled and we prefer spending the bulk of the day at the beach. Being from a land locked Canadian province we prefer to look out onto the beautiful waters of the Bahamas. Sitting soaking up the sun, sand and surf. We can sit by a pool most any time.
This being our 10th all inclusive escape we found that the Riu is a great choice, the food was the best we have had, the beach was very nice and the ocean was beautiful, a bit on the cool side but maybe thats just us as many people were really enjoying the water. We like to walk on the beach and it goes on forever, unfortunatly we were only able to walk to our right due to the beach in front of the Atlantis being closed off for safty reasons. No worry with getting there early to reserve chairs, there was always a staff member getting chairs out for you and placeing them where ever you wanted to sit. The alcohol was good and plentiful, all top shelf products, which was a nice treat to have. The liquor dispensor in your room is also a wonderful thing, with the mini bar being refilled daily. Yes they put your drink into a mini plastic cup if you don't bring your own insulated drink cup, hint bring your own mug.
The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and the king size bed was wonderful.
Service was as to be expected, the staff was always friendly and accomodating. We did find that because they have a "better" quality of life compared to the Cuban's or Dominicans that your tip didn't seem as important. We decided to tip every 2-3 drink and the service was still the same with or with out tipping.
We walked to the straw market, approx 45 mins front the resort, took the water taxi back 3/person and also took a taxi to the straw market and back 4/person each way. Many items for sale at the straw market. I would suggest getting there early prior to the crusie ship traffic, better flow and pricing.
Being right next to the Atlantis was alright, it's about a 2 min walk from the front door of the Riu thru the parking lot take a right and your at the Atlantis. The Atlantis is like a vegas hotel, walk about, tour the casino, go to the marina etc all free and interesting.
All in all you can not go wrong with going to the Riu, some say it's not a palace quality, maybe this is true. But it is a great choice to enjoy a worry free week, filled with sun, sand, surf and fun with friends.
When we go back to the Bahama's we will pick the Riu again without hesitation. Top quality food, alcohol, rooms and service at a resonable price equals 6 happy Canadians.

Other Comments:
If I had one complaint, and I am not sure what the Riu could do about it, it would be with the sea gull population at the pool resturant. They are relentless preditors, waiting to attack in full force on any food left unattended even for the slightest of moment. As we all know what goes in must also come out, so don't spend to much time looking up at them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No air conditioning on purpose"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Aug 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
444 people found this review helpful

Beautiful hotel, awsome food, friendly people. They are very cheap with air conditioning. Every place in hoted was so hot you couldn't breath. I'm 5ft. 4in. 130-135 lbs. ,rarley sweat, but I was constantly burning up. Had to get up at night and change clothing (soaked from sweat). All guests in same situation. Later found out guests three weeks prior went through same thing.
we paid for a 5 star all inclusive hotel. You don't get what you paid for. And one more thing FYI of course the spa costs extra as it should and guess what? AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!!!Only cool place we found in the hotel. Imagine that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pool and Jacuzzi freezing cold not heated"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Feb 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
421 people found this review helpful

Just got back and first time ever out of US. Good to get away but very dissappointed at ice cold pool and no Jacuzzi = Could go into Spa and use but they were both broken. Could not get Room Bar to work, but always at other bars though. Would have loved to use the swim up bar but cold, and weather was 70's, rain a whole day and people on beach very pushy (vendors)

Your Arrival:
Took motel shuttle and it took hour through streets of towns, dirty and littered. Airports very nice and timely.

Rooms:
nice rooms, service was little lacking with coffee refills and shower refills, toilet broke, door hard to open but nice

Restaurants and Bars:
very good food everywhere, sometimes staff were more into each other than guests, social hour

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cold, Cold, beach very nice except for vendors hounding for sales, grounds kept nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
so,so

Other Comments:
Jacuzzi attached to pool, was not heated, dissappointed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a pretty good deal for the money"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  SharonTorontoCanada  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
412 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 11, 2009 - Aug 16, 2009
My husband and I went for five nights. It was overall not a bad experience - this was our first time in the Bahamas.
Rooms:
When we arrived they had just completed cleaning our room. However, the smell of the bed indicated that the linen and pillows were not fresh. The bath was a great disappointment for me as it was not very clean.
Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were great. The food was plentiful and tasty. You could always get something fresh to eat throughout the day. I did not utilize the bar much except for a couple fruit drinks and wine.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We did not use the pool but the beach is awesome! That was definitely the highlight of our stay. Nothing special about the grounds lots of birds that keep pecking at your food if you eat out on the deck.
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Except for a couple night of really bad Karaokes there was not much activities.
Other Comments:
Compared to the Atlantis and other hotels in the vicinity, it was a pretty good deal for the money. However, they need to pay closer attention to housekeeping and ensure that the rooms are kept in better condition.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They expect tips all the time."

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  DenyCanada  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
403 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 12 to July 26,2009
Myself and my wife along with my brother and his wife stayed at the Riu Paradise island for two weeks. The problems that we had were expired water,pop and empty liqure bottles in the rooms. Other problems were mold in the bathrooms with rust along the sink and cracked sinks which leaked also elevators broke down and we were forced to take services elevators.Mold in the swimming pool and another problem was the bartenders didn't look at you if you didn't give them a tip. When it rained the lobby was full of towels because the roof would leek. My wife's sandals were stolen.They also were saying that they were closing down at the end of July for 4 months to renovate i heared they are still booking. I stayed at other Riu hotels I will never go here again. Don't get married there it is a disaster.
Restaurants and Bars:
Ok other than they expect tips all the time.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches are nice. Pool in terrible shape with mold
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No good
Other Comments:
Don't go here until they renovate, apparently they will be amazing when complete.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The pool was closed 2 days during our trip"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  KristiHoustonTX  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
391 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 26 - May 30
We arrived on Tuesday May 26 a little early, so our room was not ready yet. No problem, we ate at the buffet and had a few drinks while we waited. Of course, took in the view of the beach. This was the only day I actually enjoyed my stay at the RIU.

Rooms:
We were very upset with our room. First, our refrigerator in our room did not work. For an all-inclusive resort that offers a minibar, this was upsetting. All of our drinks were hot and we did not have any bottled water. Our sink in our bathroom would not drain either. We called several times to complain about these items and we never did get either fixed. Also, our balcony door would not close all the way, so we had to keep our A/C down at 60 degrees just to keep our room somewhat cool. It rained every afternoon and since the balcony door would not close, our carpet was wet.
Restaurants and Bars:
Surprisely, the buffet was the best way to go when we wanted a meal. The restaurants only accepted you by reservation only and the steakhouse and japanese restaurant were only "ok."
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was closed 2 days during our trip. It was disgusting! The water in the pool was very cloudy and dirty and we never saw one maintenance person out there cleaning. Also, the website stated that there were 2 pools at this resort . . .there is only one! The pool bar was only open from 10:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Completely unacceptable for an all-inclusive resort.
Other Comments:
We experienced heavy rain several afternoons that we were there and the lobby of the hotel was soaked. It was like a maze getting through the lobby because the ceiling was leaking and they had "wet floor" signs everywhere. For parents bringing their kids to this resort, I would not recommend staying on the beach too long. The Bahamian solicitors were annoying, loud and very flavorful with their choice of language. I am surprised the RIU allows them on their beachfront.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube