RIU Paradise Island Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > RIU Paradise Island reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bahamas Hotels with Similar Ranking

RIU Paradise Island  

Casino Dr, 6307, New Providence Island

"Unbelievable"
Posted by: elizabeth  on May 3, 2011
see all reviews

RIU Paradise Island Reviews
RIU Paradise Island Pictures and Information
RIU Paradise Island Bahamas Bahamas

#1
of 7 Hotels in Bahamas

User rating 3.7

Based on 22 reviews

RIU Paradise Island Information


Situated on a 3-mile-long, white sandy beach, Riu Paradise Island has a prime location next to the Atlantis Casino.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

RIU Paradise Island Reviews

RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.7 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (22)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 22

"Unbelievable"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  elizabeth  on May 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
293 people found this review helpful

Just got back from riu palace bahamas and it was great. the service was fantastic. the staff made you feel like family. they actually knew what you liked and always made you feel welcome. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Number:
1011

Arrival:
april 26- may2 2011

Restaurants and Bars:
fantastic

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
wonderful and clean

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had fun! Would stay again.."

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rosa  on Apr 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
347 people found this review helpful

Came back from a 4 night stay at the Riu Palace. The purpose of the trip was just to relax and rest on the beach for a few days after a very long winter. I found the beach AMAZING. White sand and crystal clear blue water. No seaweed, no moss, the occasional schools of fish. I didn't mind the fish, but did find it annoying when people would feed them to bring them closer. Always able to get lounge chairs on the beach and Riu had staff there to carry them and place them where you wanted them. I found it interesting a lot of Atlantis people came down to the Riu end of the beach because it was by far more beautiful and cleaner than Atlantis's beach area.

Room Number:
826

Arrival:
Arrival was a bit early for check-in. Bellboy kept the suitcases, we got our wrist bands and went in to the buffet grill for lunch which we ate on the outside patio. After that I went back to the desk and they gave me my keys and off we went up to the room.

Rooms:
Flat screen tv, minibar, fair sized balcony with ocean view and 2 chairs and a little table. Huge comfy bed and 2 arm chairs with a table. Lots of drawer space and closet space. Bathroom was large and with a double sink. The liquor dispenser full size bottles of top shelf liquor surprised me. You don't normally get that full size in your room and they refilled them daily. That was fun. Maid was really nice and helpful to us.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was great, lots of food choices and theme nights. I enjoyed Mexican night the best.

Bars had menus and made all types of drinks wit top shelf liquor. Tip for the bar, bring a togo cup. Keeps your drink cold at the beach and they fill the cup up full. Saves time from going to the bar often since they use plastic cups. A lot of people had thermal cups. You can even pour beer from your room fridge in the cup and just ask for some ice and off to the beach you go. Sports bar had a snack fridge if you wanted something to grab late night and there was always room service at all hours.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was a tad small, but it didn't seem over crowded to a crazy degree. I think most people enjoyed hanging at the beach. I did go into it one day and didn't find it cold at all. I think the sun heats it a lot.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Atlantis nightly to use the casino. It's a really quick walk, it's right next door into the Beach tower main entrance.

Went into town by taxi to buy souvenirs on Bay street which are where the cruise ships dock and the markets are. It's busy down there and it was fun. I went into Senor Frogs which had a large crowd and got a drink. There's the straw market, Harley Davidson, Hard Rock and the normal "island" jewelry stores like Diamonds International and Colombian Emeralds. There's also a few high end stores like Gucci, Fendi, I think I also saw a Coach.

Other Comments:
Had fun for a quick weekend getaway, good All-Inclusive for The Bahamas especially if you want to just relax, eat all you want and drink all you want. Less of the hassle and expenses of Atlantis and if you want to use the water park you can just buy a day pass or get one free if you go to Atlantis's 1 hour timeshare meeting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bahamaian Retreat"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bryan  on Feb 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
315 people found this review helpful

An honest review by seasoned travelers,
We were six adults all looking forward to an escape from the cold Alberta winter. The Riu provided just the escape we were looking for. Although the weather the week we went was not the best it was by far still better then the -40 we were having back home.
As you may have read before the pool is on the small side but it was not a problem as it never was over filled and we prefer spending the bulk of the day at the beach. Being from a land locked Canadian province we prefer to look out onto the beautiful waters of the Bahamas. Sitting soaking up the sun, sand and surf. We can sit by a pool most any time.
This being our 10th all inclusive escape we found that the Riu is a great choice, the food was the best we have had, the beach was very nice and the ocean was beautiful, a bit on the cool side but maybe thats just us as many people were really enjoying the water. We like to walk on the beach and it goes on forever, unfortunatly we were only able to walk to our right due to the beach in front of the Atlantis being closed off for safty reasons. No worry with getting there early to reserve chairs, there was always a staff member getting chairs out for you and placeing them where ever you wanted to sit. The alcohol was good and plentiful, all top shelf products, which was a nice treat to have. The liquor dispensor in your room is also a wonderful thing, with the mini bar being refilled daily. Yes they put your drink into a mini plastic cup if you don't bring your own insulated drink cup, hint bring your own mug.
The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and the king size bed was wonderful.
Service was as to be expected, the staff was always friendly and accomodating. We did find that because they have a "better" quality of life compared to the Cuban's or Dominicans that your tip didn't seem as important. We decided to tip every 2-3 drink and the service was still the same with or with out tipping.
We walked to the straw market, approx 45 mins front the resort, took the water taxi back 3/person and also took a taxi to the straw market and back 4/person each way. Many items for sale at the straw market. I would suggest getting there early prior to the crusie ship traffic, better flow and pricing.
Being right next to the Atlantis was alright, it's about a 2 min walk from the front door of the Riu thru the parking lot take a right and your at the Atlantis. The Atlantis is like a vegas hotel, walk about, tour the casino, go to the marina etc all free and interesting.
All in all you can not go wrong with going to the Riu, some say it's not a palace quality, maybe this is true. But it is a great choice to enjoy a worry free week, filled with sun, sand, surf and fun with friends.
When we go back to the Bahama's we will pick the Riu again without hesitation. Top quality food, alcohol, rooms and service at a resonable price equals 6 happy Canadians.

Other Comments:
If I had one complaint, and I am not sure what the Riu could do about it, it would be with the sea gull population at the pool resturant. They are relentless preditors, waiting to attack in full force on any food left unattended even for the slightest of moment. As we all know what goes in must also come out, so don't spend to much time looking up at them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No air conditioning on purpose"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Aug 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
363 people found this review helpful

Beautiful hotel, awsome food, friendly people. They are very cheap with air conditioning. Every place in hoted was so hot you couldn't breath. I'm 5ft. 4in. 130-135 lbs. ,rarley sweat, but I was constantly burning up. Had to get up at night and change clothing (soaked from sweat). All guests in same situation. Later found out guests three weeks prior went through same thing.
we paid for a 5 star all inclusive hotel. You don't get what you paid for. And one more thing FYI of course the spa costs extra as it should and guess what? AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!!!Only cool place we found in the hotel. Imagine that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pool and Jacuzzi freezing cold not heated"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Becky  on Feb 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
347 people found this review helpful

Just got back and first time ever out of US. Good to get away but very dissappointed at ice cold pool and no Jacuzzi = Could go into Spa and use but they were both broken. Could not get Room Bar to work, but always at other bars though. Would have loved to use the swim up bar but cold, and weather was 70's, rain a whole day and people on beach very pushy (vendors)

Your Arrival:
Took motel shuttle and it took hour through streets of towns, dirty and littered. Airports very nice and timely.

Rooms:
nice rooms, service was little lacking with coffee refills and shower refills, toilet broke, door hard to open but nice

Restaurants and Bars:
very good food everywhere, sometimes staff were more into each other than guests, social hour

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cold, Cold, beach very nice except for vendors hounding for sales, grounds kept nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
so,so

Other Comments:
Jacuzzi attached to pool, was not heated, dissappointed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a pretty good deal for the money"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  SharonTorontoCanada  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
337 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 11, 2009 - Aug 16, 2009
My husband and I went for five nights. It was overall not a bad experience - this was our first time in the Bahamas.
Rooms:
When we arrived they had just completed cleaning our room. However, the smell of the bed indicated that the linen and pillows were not fresh. The bath was a great disappointment for me as it was not very clean.
Restaurants and Bars:
The buffets were great. The food was plentiful and tasty. You could always get something fresh to eat throughout the day. I did not utilize the bar much except for a couple fruit drinks and wine.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We did not use the pool but the beach is awesome! That was definitely the highlight of our stay. Nothing special about the grounds lots of birds that keep pecking at your food if you eat out on the deck.
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Except for a couple night of really bad Karaokes there was not much activities.
Other Comments:
Compared to the Atlantis and other hotels in the vicinity, it was a pretty good deal for the money. However, they need to pay closer attention to housekeeping and ensure that the rooms are kept in better condition.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They expect tips all the time."

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  DenyCanada  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 12 to July 26,2009
Myself and my wife along with my brother and his wife stayed at the Riu Paradise island for two weeks. The problems that we had were expired water,pop and empty liqure bottles in the rooms. Other problems were mold in the bathrooms with rust along the sink and cracked sinks which leaked also elevators broke down and we were forced to take services elevators.Mold in the swimming pool and another problem was the bartenders didn't look at you if you didn't give them a tip. When it rained the lobby was full of towels because the roof would leek. My wife's sandals were stolen.They also were saying that they were closing down at the end of July for 4 months to renovate i heared they are still booking. I stayed at other Riu hotels I will never go here again. Don't get married there it is a disaster.
Restaurants and Bars:
Ok other than they expect tips all the time.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches are nice. Pool in terrible shape with mold
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No good
Other Comments:
Don't go here until they renovate, apparently they will be amazing when complete.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The pool was closed 2 days during our trip"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  KristiHoustonTX  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
318 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 26 - May 30
We arrived on Tuesday May 26 a little early, so our room was not ready yet. No problem, we ate at the buffet and had a few drinks while we waited. Of course, took in the view of the beach. This was the only day I actually enjoyed my stay at the RIU.

Rooms:
We were very upset with our room. First, our refrigerator in our room did not work. For an all-inclusive resort that offers a minibar, this was upsetting. All of our drinks were hot and we did not have any bottled water. Our sink in our bathroom would not drain either. We called several times to complain about these items and we never did get either fixed. Also, our balcony door would not close all the way, so we had to keep our A/C down at 60 degrees just to keep our room somewhat cool. It rained every afternoon and since the balcony door would not close, our carpet was wet.
Restaurants and Bars:
Surprisely, the buffet was the best way to go when we wanted a meal. The restaurants only accepted you by reservation only and the steakhouse and japanese restaurant were only "ok."
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was closed 2 days during our trip. It was disgusting! The water in the pool was very cloudy and dirty and we never saw one maintenance person out there cleaning. Also, the website stated that there were 2 pools at this resort . . .there is only one! The pool bar was only open from 10:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Completely unacceptable for an all-inclusive resort.
Other Comments:
We experienced heavy rain several afternoons that we were there and the lobby of the hotel was soaked. It was like a maze getting through the lobby because the ceiling was leaking and they had "wet floor" signs everywhere. For parents bringing their kids to this resort, I would not recommend staying on the beach too long. The Bahamian solicitors were annoying, loud and very flavorful with their choice of language. I am surprised the RIU allows them on their beachfront.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was excellent wherever we ate"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob08  on May 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

We spent 7 days at the Riu Paradise Island in May 08 and loved every day! The beach was great! (however can be real wavy some days)-but it didn't stop me from enjoying the clear blue water.) when the red flags are out, stay out! the waves will kick yer butt.

Arrival:
We spent 7 days at the Riu Paradise Island in May 08 and loved every day! The beach was great! (however can be real wavy some days)-but it didn't stop me from enjoying the clear blue water.) when the red flags are out, stay out! the waves will kick yer butt.
Nice white sand and blue water. Best beach in the Bahamas! There a jet skis to rent there, you can talk them down to $80 for the hr.

Food:
The food was excellent wherever we ate. The steak is very good and the buffet had plenty of decent food every day! Specialty restaurants were all great! book all of them for different atmospheres. Excellent food! and service is worth tips. Try the Kalik beer on tap (even in the buffet) it's quite good! The food is way better than Cuba, DR or Mexico. Lunchtime, the pizza is great! eat on the outside tables and risk being attacked by the gulls :-)
This isn't the Atlantis folks! you want to spend $1,300 for three days and spend $300-$400 for dinner everyday? why would you?

Drinks:
If you want a reasonable vacation on the nicest beach in the Bahamas, with great drinks, great food and fun times, the Riu is it! The drinks will be made as strong as you want them. They use Smirnoff vodka and other premium brands. If you just want a drink from the smoothy machines, they are weak. You want more booze in them just ask. Tipping goes a long way also. We brought insulated mugs, get 2 cold bud cans and pour into them to take to the breach. Stays colder longer.

Activities:
Take a ferry or taxi into Nassau and enjoy the straw market and main street, great deals there. Best deals on booze is in town at the duty free shops. Don't buy at the airport! Clothes shopping? do in town at the nice shops. Cheaper than even the straw market. Banana Cay is the best prices for T's, clothing etc, anywhere. You can buy a beer in a bag at the duty free's and walk the streets with it legally. Kalik "strong" is a great tasting beer and packs a punch at 7% The ferry ride is only $3 each way and is great. You go right past all the cruise ships and houses along the shore owned by the lucky ones.
We have been to Cuba, Mexico, Dominican and now the Bahamas....we will not be going back to the first 3, it's Bahamas, baby from now on and the Riu is the best bang for your buck right next door to Snobworld Atlantis Bahamas. Go there in the daytime and you'll see it's Disney world- bratty kids everywhere! You want to go check out the Atlantis and all it's underwater aquarium greatness? go after 6PM It's FREE as the ticket takers go home. Look for The Dig and go below the water, is very cool down there! and the casino's great too! we came out ahead playing Keno slots, almost paid for our vacation :-) The marina is great also, huge yachts seeing how the rich and famous live. The shops there are real pricey tho! The grounds of the resort are also very nice, high class all the way. To get to the casino, just walk out the front doors of the Riu, down the driveway and into the Atlantis Beach Towers, follow the signs....only about a 5 min walk

Rooms:
Back to the Riu,The rooms are dated yes, that's a given. (They are doing a revamp this summer or in 09.) How much time do you spend in your room anyways???? Ours was always clean and nice, no problems. They have 4-40oz bottles in your room, Vodka,Rum.Gin and Brandy. It's DR liquor, not the highest quality but it's ok. A tip every couple of days to the fridge stocker got me extra Buds in the fridge and extra soda's. You want an odd numbered room for a pool/ocean view, preferably. They other side had some duct work to be viewed as well as the ocean, but it is quieter up on the higher floors. We never had a problem waiting for the elevators? 2 minutes tops. The lobby is very nice as is the bar there. They make the best drinks. Nightime bartenders make a drink called a Tsunami (151 Rum) be careful. LOL They are also open all night if you want a drink coming back from the casino. There are many tours available if you want them.

Conclusion:
Enjoy the Riu! and don't believe the bad reviews, it's a great resort! 7 days was not enough for us! we want to go back real soon! remember it's your vacation and it's what YOU make it! Have FUN!!!

any info needed? feel free to ask moontan101@hotmail.com

Photos: http://s47.photobucket.com/albums/f155/badboyzracin/Bahamas%20May%202008/?albumview=slideshow&start=60

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach had beautiful white sand and the water was clean and clear"

RIU Paradise Island
User Rating:  RIU Paradise Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  William08  on Jan 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

Contrary to many of the negative reports, the Riu Paradise Island provided a wonderful setting for a relaxing vacation.
Check in: Our room was not ready at 3:45 PM so we were told to go and have a bite to eat or have a drink and check back. When I checked back later the room was ready. Very friendly staff a front desk.

Hotel:
The hotel is 15 stories. Just one building. The pool is situated so that by 3 pm the pool area is beginning to be shaded by neighboring hotel. In the morning it takes til about 10 AM for the sun to hit the pool area. So for the sun lover, it is take a walk on the beach to catch the early rays.
The workers were busy painting while we were there. The outside area by the restaurants were being painted.

Lobby:
The lobby was beautiful. Crystal Chandeliers and the dark woods that the Riuís are known for. Always clean.

Elevators:
This I will agree, they were a bit slow and made some weird noises.

Bars:
There were several bars on the property. And usually more than one seemed to be open. There was a bar at the pool but none down by the beach.

Beach:
There were lounge chairs on the beach but no shade from trees, if you wanted an umbrella on the beach; it was $25 per day. I believe this was offered by a private vendor. When they said $25 we went back up the stairs to the pool area. Note there are stairs down to the beach area or a winding ramp for handicapped people.
The beach had beautiful white sand and the water was clean and clear. The most beautiful turquoise color. Waves were a bit rough when we were there so not many ventured in the water.

Meals:
Good variety on the buffet. They were always very quick to clean the tables so there were always tables available. The one thing is that the food was never really hot, it always seemed lukewarm by the time you got to your table. Even the coffee was always a lukewarm temperature.
The gourmet restaurant, Sir Alexanderís offered excellent food. Dress code allowed men to wear dress shorts.
The steakhouse served as the noon lunch buffet, there was no snack bar at the pool or by the beach.
One of the very annoying things was the reservation system for the restaurants. Sign up was between 5 pm and 6 pm. The line started forming in the lobby at 4:30PM You could only reserve for the next day, so that meant coming back more than one day if that is how you choose to dine. Very poor planning. Early AM reservations when you go to breakfast would be preferable

Rooms:
Digital safe in closet, no additional charge. Our room (501) was huge and very clean. Abundant drawer space and plenty of hangers. The bed was comfortable. The mini bar had a gallon of water in it and was replenished every other day. The bathroom offered ample space and everything was in working condition. Note that you had to think about the shower ahead of time and turn the hot water on as it took quite some time to get hot water. We had a small balcony and there was a partial ocean view. The odd number rooms overlooked the pool. The bathroom had a handheld hair dryer on the counter top. They also provided the foil packs of shampoo and bath gel. We were always provided with washcloths.

Activities:
Pretty much non existent. They said they were going to play bingo at a certain time and then nothing. There were no pool activities at all. The pool was so cold you would never have been able to stand it anyway.
The nighttime shows were pretty good. They had various trivia contests prior to the show starting.
There just didnít seem to be a big activities staff as at other Riuís. The music at the pool was not loud as some have written. The one day they did try some activities, they didnít start til well into the afternoon when guest were already heading to their rooms to prepare for the dinner hour.

Airport:
Arrival went smooth, luggage arrived about the same time we got to baggage claim, showed the personnel our paperwork and we were on the way to the taxi. $32 to the hotel. About a 40 min ride because of the heavy traffic on Bay Street.
When we left the Bahamas we went through American Customs there so we did not have to when we arrived in U.S

Other:
There is a water taxi available to take you back and forth from Paradise Island to Nassau. It docks right by the Straw Market. They say it runs every 30 minute, but they forget to tell you it really doesnít leave until the boat is full, and believe me they want if full!. $6.00 round trip. The main shopping area is Bay Street, but there are many shops down the side streets.
Atlantis is definitely a must see. No problems with anyone checking us, we just walked everywhere on the property.
Weather was very comfortable-low 80ís No rain the entire week

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube