Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island  

West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau | PO Box 39-CB-13005, 20317, New Providence Island

"Poor Customer Service and No Accountability"
Posted by: Casey on Sep 29, 2014
see all reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Pictures and Information
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Nassau Bahamas

#2
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.3

Based on 24 reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Information


Few resorts in the world can match the exceptional fine dining selection at Sandals Royal Bahamian's eight specialty restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.3 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (20)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 24

"Poor Customer Service and No Accountability"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Casey  on Sep 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
14 people found this review helpful

I'll make this quick. We booked our vacation with flight through Sandals. The Sandals agent completely screwed up our flight plan. We had to taxi between 2 airports and it was not necessary, and had to pay additional bag fees for our departure and return. Sandals refuses to compensate us for our unnecessary taxi trips and additional baggage fees. They also say they did nothing wrong. All calls are recorded, and they are liars.DO NOT TRUST Sandals with your vacation. There are plenty of other beach resorts to have a wonderful vacation. The included drinks and food are not worth the value you pay for inclusive with Sandals. After complaining to Sandals, they didn't say, we're sorry for our mistake. They said, we're sorry you feel that way. Sandals Resort employees are incompetent, liars, and they don't care if you have a wonderful 10 years anniversary or not! Don't risk it, trust your vacation plans to another resort.

Rooms:
Shower leaked into the bathroom, had to throw down half our towels to keep it dry. Sometimes our room was cleaned and with fresh towels, sometimes we had to call and ask. The air conditioner above the entry way was very loud and would wake us up over night with it's loud thuds!

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was very bland and cheap.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
looked great if you could see around the construction!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Couldn't do anything due to the weather!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise in the Bahamas"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Dec 21, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
220 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
5301

Room Block:
Building 5

Arrival:
We arrived in Exuma via Air Canada approximately 12 noon. Customs and luggage pick was a breeze and we were at the resort by 1pm. We were pleasantly surprised at how small the airport was. We booked our vacation package through Air Canada Vacations and the Sandals reps were waiting to transfer us from the airport and tag our luggage with our assigned room #. My husband and I, along with one other couple were transported in a van. It was a quick 10 minute drive to the resort without any stops! Perfect! We were greeted with a cold cloth and a glass of champagne and a friendly “welcome home”.

Rooms:
We were pleased to learn there were no wristbands. We were originally assigned a 2nd story room in Bldg 4 but requested a 3rd storey in order to have a better ocean view. They obliged but we had to wait about an hour before the room would be ready, so enjoyed a lunch at the Bahama Bay Buffet. We booked a Palm Bay Oceanview room and were very happy with Room 5301 in the middle of the resort with a lovely view of the Wedding Gazebo and clear view of the ocean in the background. The bellhop took us to our room, noting things as we made our walk to our building. Our luggage went in a different vehicle at the airport so was not in the room when we got there. I believe it went to the original room we were assigned, so we had to call a few times in order to get our luggage delivered. Not a big deal. It was maybe an hour. There were elevators in every building. We had a good selection of liquor in our room (which we never opened), as well as a good supply of soda pop, water, juice and beer in our fridge. This was replenished daily. We asked for our own bottle of Baileys (as we didn’t drink any of the liquor in the room) and they obliged with their own version “Rum Cream”, which was excellent. This was perfect with our morning coffee on the balcony.
Our suite was beautiful and looked exactly like all the pictures. It was an average size suite, with a lovely bathroom with double sinks, separate shower stall, and separate room with a toilet. There were bottles of shampoo, conditioner and bath gel, shower cap, soap and cotton balls. In addition to our king size bed, we had a desk area and TV/Dresser, coffee-maker, ice-bucket, as well as an alarm clock and iPod station, TV with a lot of English stations.
In “his” closet there was an upper shelf, small hanging rack for shirts with a few hangers and the bottom half was the combination safe. Beside it was “her” closet with a little more hanging room, umbrella, ironing board, and iron. Maid service was great. Turn-down service was great as well but very early (approx 6pm). Air-conditioning worked great and can be regulated for your own comfort. There is an extra blanket provided in the closet. The pillows are great and if they are not to your liking, a pillow menu is available. There is turn-down service provided in the evening. They also wipe down the shower, leave clean towels, take away dirty dishes and leave you the activity sheet for the next day.


Restaurants and Bars:
Café de Paris has an excellent variety of coffee/latte/cappuccinos, as well as a large variety of pastries if you’re looking for a snack (they open at 6:30am). They had 4 types of ice cream also available. If you are up before 6:30, there is always coffee available at the Il Cielo bar.
Dinos Pizzaria has 4 different types of pizza you can have made or just grab a slice at any time during the day.
Barefoot by the Sea is open for lunch and some dinners. They had a nice atmosphere and we had our best dinner there one night.
Drunken Duck Pub offers a great pub atmosphere and great pub food. The staff was excellent and always upbeat. The Games Room is adjacent if you’d like a game of snooker or pool.
Bahama Bay Buffet is open at 7am for breakfast with the usual breakfast type options. There is an omelet station for made to order omelets or eggs. There is a great selection of fresh fruit (strawberries, blackberries, blueberries were all awesome) as well as yogurt and cheese. They have different hot selections such as oatmeal, grits, potato hashbrowns, baked beans, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Of course there is also toast and buns. The buffet also offers lunch and supper options and these varied throughout the week. All were good with the best being the made to order pasta station.
A la Carte
The quality of food and the service was excellent at both Il Cielo and La Parisienne. Men are required to wear long pants, and full shoes. Women can get away with just about anything other than beachwear. There is a nice dessert café at Il Cielo that prepares your dessert in front of you. The Chocolate Lava Cake was to die for! Reservations are required for both these restaurants.
Bars
The service was great at all bars. The servers are all so very friendly! I had the best Mango Daiquiri at the main pool bar made with fresh mango! Yum!! We never waited longer than 5 minutes for service anywhere.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Resort is beautiful from the moment you drive through the security gate. It is a fairly compact resort and we found it very easy to get around and find things. We were centrally located (Bldg 5) and didn’t have to walk a long way to any of the restaurants – which could be a problem if you were wearing high heels. I did find the pathways were not lit up very well at night. They could use more lighting for sure. The grounds at Sandals are beautifully manicured and everything is kept very clean. The staff was always busy cutting down coconuts and broken palms etc, as the wind was VERY high all week.

The beach is beautiful with the turquoise water and soft white sand. There were plenty of chairs but a limited amount of palapas for shade. In my opinion, the palapas did not offer much sun protection, as they are small. They did have some cocoon-type canopies that were great for protection, but only a few of these. Since the resort was only at 38% capacity, it was not an issue to find a chair at the beach any time of day, but with full capacity, I could see it being a problem to get protection from the sun.
The main pool is large and has a swim up bar but it was really cold when we were there. We could barely get in and if we did, we didn’t stay in for long. They said it was heated, but it didn’t appear to be. There is a hot tub at one end and it was really hot. There are lots of chairs with umbrellas for shade as well as 16 white canopies that had curtains covering every side. These were great but were reserved early in the morning. Beach towels are readily available any time of day and they never once ran out. The “Quiet” pool is outlined with blue canopies (very pretty) and lots of umbrellas. This pool was heated to a great temperature and there is a bar located here as well. Again, there were plenty of chairs at any time of the day. There is a hot tub that is nicely tucked away as well with neat “beds” for lounging. The 3rd pool is located at the Red Lane Spa. It is small but very quaint and private. It is outlined with yellow canopies.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly Entertainment
We went to the courtyard area in front of the Drunken Duck Pub most evenings to listen to live bands. They had a chocolate buffet one night at 10 and it was great. They also had planned activities at the Junkanoo Lounge, but with only 38% capacity, most events were cancelled. The street party was really a nice touch. This was held supposed to be held at the beach but with the wind so high, it was re-located in the courtyard in the main entrance.
Shopping
There are shops outside the main lobby that carry many souvenirs. There is also a jewelry store, which I didn’t go into. There is also a nice selection of golf attire at the Pro Shop.
Spa/Gym/Sports
We were impressed with the Spa facility. They offer a wide range of services, but they were very expensive. They offered “specials” every day that were priced more reasonable. I had a sugar glow that was very nice. The Gym has a good variety of cardio machines as well as free weights, benches, universal equipment. They offer 7am Yoga classes at the Sandals Tower, but I don’t believe there were any going on the week I was there (not enough participants). There are 6 tennis courts as well as croquet, bocce ball, shuffleboard, as well as daily beach volleyball, water volleyball and daily fun games around the main pool.
Golf
This resort is a Golfer’s Paradise! They offer a one-hour golf course tour of the Emerald Reef Golf course, which is adjacent to the resort. This is a MUST for everyone whether you golf or not. The view from the back 9 holes is like no other course in the world. We participated in the couples scramble they offered on Thursday. It was 2-4pm and was conducted on the back 9. Lots of fun!! My husband also played two rounds himself (he brought his own clubs) and played 18 holes in under 2 ½ hours. He did have 1 free round (he had to pay only $40 for the cart rental) and went the second time and paid the full $175.

Other Comments:
Butler Service
We chose not to book a butler service room, as I had absolutely no desire to have a butler. I prefer to be independent and am so glad I made that decision. Many people like having someone wait on you and call you at all times, but others we spoke to said it was unnecessary and at times very annoying. Personal preference I guess.
Currency
You can pay for virtually everything in U.S. dollars. If you pay for something in US money, they will give you Bahamian dollars in change. We find it best to bring small bills for this reason. They do not take any cash in the gift shop as they do not carry a float. Everything is charged to your room. Spa charges are also charged to your room.
Weather and Bugs
We were there the end of November and we had temperatures of 80-85 in the day and down to 70-75 at night. It was really windy the entire week. This was nice during the day but it could be cool in the evenings. There were no bugs during our week.
Summary
The service was excellent. While shopping in the gift shop one day, I had someone ask me if there was anything that needed attention. I told her there was a lightbulb out in our bathroom as well as by the elevator in our building. By the time I went back to my room (2 hours later), both bulbs were replaced!!
With every resort, there are unhappy people. We witnessed extremely RUDE vacationers giving the staff a hard time about ridiculous things! Over the course of the week we were there, these people continually complained. I couldn’t imagine being such unhappy people on vacation and couldn’t begin to imagine how unhappy they must be when NOT on vacation. This is why I read all negative reviews with an open mind.
As an adult-only resort, Sandals Emerald Bay is the perfect choice for those who just want to re-connect and relax. At the same time, a full range of activities are also available to you. It is the perfect choice for a honeymoon or anniversary as there are many romantic areas to enjoy each other’s company. It is not a place to party, so if you prefer high energy nightlife, you may want to look elsewhere.
We found the food choices very good. We have travelled to many other 5 star all-inclusive resorts throughout Punta Cana, Varadero, Mayan Riviera, and this one ranks #1 as far as location and beach, but as far as other features, we prefer the Excellence chain. We don’t usually return to resorts so we can enjoy other places, but I would not hesitate to return to Sandals Emerald Bay and would highly recommend this resort.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/581951191DmMiam

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not go"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tony  on Dec 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

Do not go as the Manor House is out of action for some time so you will be unlikely to get the room you booked. The view is totally spoiled by the massive black construction site and the noise is intrusive.
Next year maybe!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't Even Bother going for Buttler Service it's a rip off..."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dominic  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

My GF and I Booked the vacation at the Royal Bahamian using the Suite and the Private Buttler Service, On the paper it look wonderful ! Private Transportation from the Airport to the hotel, Private Buttler to bring your drink on the beach and reserve your chair... Suite with we can order food from anywhere... Sound Great!!

Let me tell you what happened... First we got to the Sandals Desk at the airport, they seem to have No Knowledge that we had to get private transportation, we had to wait for an hour to get the private transportation... Once we got to the Hotel , Again they seem to have no knowledge we had a reservation! So it took a nice 2 hours before we could get our room... Then To make it short "Their Private Buttler Service" Consist of giving you a cell phone and you have to ring your buttler ... Funny part about it, they are never available so you have to leave a message and they call you back usually 45-1hr later... So Better Think Ahead if you where thinking about getting a drink on the beach!

So basically we haven't seen the buttler for the entire trip... So we ended up paying a 1000$ extra a person to basically get restaurant reservation!

And I Recommand to write them a review on their website! You might gonna end up with a free 2 days trip! Spend an other 5k$ to see that their supposedly improve themself and get a free 2 Days!!! (That's with talking with a manager ! If you speak with a customer service rep you probably end up with a continental breakfast for free next time you travel there....)

Very disppointed of the whole Sandals... On the other side All personnel where quite nice!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't waste your money!"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joseph  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
415 people found this review helpful

There were so many things wrong I can not begin to list them.

Your Arrival:
OK

Rooms:
They gave us the wrong rooms in the wrong building. What a scam. Supposed to have balcony and did not get one

Restaurants and Bars:
Could not even reserve a spot at the 2 that required 2 notices.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cold and spa water was even cold one day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Minimal

Other Comments:
THEY MUST BE TRYING TO SELL-NO MAINTENANCE PROGRAM. NO GROUT IN FLOOR TILE IN BATHROOMS.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very pleasant wonderful vacation with wonderful dining and beautiful property. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carolyn and Craig  on Feb 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
374 people found this review helpful

We are recently married (second marriage for both) couple in our 50's. We travel a fair bit to the Caribbean to escape the Canadian winters.Other SANDALS we have been to are the Royal Caribbean, Jamaica and Beaches Turks and Caicos.We have also stayed at DIVI SOUTHWINDS and ALMOND in Barbados. CLUB ST LUCIA in ST Lucia, JOLLY HARBOUR in Antigua, BREEZES in Curacao and LA CABANA in Aruba. We enjoy relaxing on the beach, sightseeing and dressing up for dinner. For us SANDALS is a cut above the other resorts we have stayed at.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival at the airport was handled well and customs,immigration and baggage were all handled efficiently.A shuttle transported us to the resort, a quick 20 minute drive or so. I was a bit surprised a cold drink of any sort was not offered at the SANDALS desk at the airport as had been done in Jamaica. Cold face cloths and Champagne were offered once we got to the resort.We had booked an OCEAN VIEW Concierge Honeymoon room and check in was not up to what we had expected or received in Jamaica. The Concierge staff were informative and friendly but our room was not ready and our check in took much longer than necessary and certainly longer than every other concierge guest. We waited in concierge approximately 1 hour before being taken to our room, really way to long for concierge service!

Rooms:
The room we were taken to after our wait although advertised as OCEAN VIEW was certainly not and our view was the top of Cassanova's restaurant. We expressed our displeasure to Antonio in the Concierge Dept and while he looked to sort out the problem we had lunch and toured the resort in our travelling clothes as we had no luggage. We were given another room, 1623 and it was much better with a panaromic view of the OCEAN. Others I have talked to including travel agents here in Ottawa tell me they to have experienced problems with what is being advertised as "OCEAN VIEW" Perhaps the key is "OCEAN FRONT" but you may want to look into this at time of booking and ensure what you are getting. Our room was quite large with a nice sitting area and balcony. Coffee,bottled water,juice,Champagne, beer and your choice of liquor was refilled daily. A nice assortment of bath products were also available.

Restaurants and Bars:
DINING at SANDALS restaurants is one of the reasons we choose SANDALS,and dining here at the Royal Bahamas is no exception.We had wonderful food and excpetional dining experiences in Baccarat and the Crystal Room. Armand the manager at Baccarat was very knowledgable and friendly. Kimonos was fun and Tiny the chef made us feel welcome! Never trust a skinny chef as he would say!
One night we had dinner at Gordons on the Pier and this also was a wonderful meal but a little breezy that particular night.
Cassanova's was not as good, a bit more hurried, the food quality not as good and the servers were not as attentive, caring or knowledgable. Resrvations were not required at all restaurants so experiencing them all was not a problem. The returning guest Managers dinner on Thursday night was fabulous, we had steak and lobster and is not to be missed. We are not snobs but the dress at the returning guest dinner was advertised as casual elegant yet some people wore jean shorts, cutoffs, tank tops and ball caps. If there are rules they should be enforced and we mentioned it to the General Manager, Mr Mutton this was unacceptable, He said they would reinforce the standard expected.
Lunch at SANDALS CAY on the island was also good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are well maintained and very pretty with lots of vegetation.We enjoyed the Roman columns at the quiet pool. The hot tubs were great and were situated throughout the property. There is a heated pool and hot tub in the Royal village that is open to everybody, very nice, private and relaxing.The best view is from the Fitness Room on the 6 th floor of the Manor building. SANDALS CAY was delightful, a nice beach, wonderful pool and hot tub and nice restaurant. Our preference was the beach on the far side of the island and although not clothing optional like the one at the Royal Caribbean you certainly could do that discreetly most days if you wanted as it was very quiet and private. Delightful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The spa on the island was wonderful and we experienced a magical couples massage from Tycine and Tamara.Listening to the ocean and hearing the birds while getting a massage was unbelievable.
The best man competition was fun and Theo the playmaker was great.
We took the combination tour and that was very good. It combined shopping in downtown Nassau with a tour of some of the local spots. We liked Fort Fincastle, the " marching" flamingoes at the zoo and a local lunch at Cafe Montague. The straw market is a lot of fun and there are some good deals to be had on knock off purses and straw bags. The number 10 bus at the front of SANDALS will get you downtown quickly and you get to see some of the sights as
well.

Other Comments:
Overall an excellent property and we would recommend it highly.The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Sandra in concierge, Kenja in entertainment and Terry the Operations Manager were excellent. A particular mention must go to Jayson the environmental manager who was outgoing and friendly, he made both my wife and I feel very welcome.Its well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sandals Tricks Military Families Out of Discount at Last Minute- Worst Honeymoon!"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Trish Heath  on Jan 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
407 people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon at the Royal Bahamian Sandals Resort and I am very disappointed with the customer service. Not only did we pay a lot of money for a honeymoon ocean-view concierge room, we were on our honeymoon, a once in a lifetime event. We definitely did not get what we expected, or paid for, and my complaints to the Director of Guest Services were not addressed in a way that I had hoped.

Service:
Our room, although beautiful, was not clean or stocked with basics such as a bathmat or face towels. There was a dirty ice bucket with smelly water that was left for us. We hoped that these were minor oversights that would not continue, but unfortunately this was not the case. One of the days while we were there, our room was never cleaned at all! I requested extra face towels three different times, to three different people, and never received them. When calling the concierge or for restaurant reservations, the phones would ring and ring, and no one would answer! I have never been to a resort that prides itself on service where they simply do not answer the phones! Although we had a concierge room that was supposed to be stocked with champagne, bottled water, soda, etc, some days it was stocked and some days it simply was not. When we called in the evening for bottled water on New Year's Day (after someone failed to stock our fridge), we had to wait 2 hours for them to bring us water that they should have already stocked. The following day, when they did not stock any champagne for the second time, we called the concierge and it took almost three hours and three phone calls to get the champagne. We were unable to watch the sunset on our balcony while drinking champagne because the service was so poor and unreliable.

In addition, and most upsetting of all, we never received any part of the included honeymoon package. Towards the end of our stay, I called the concierge to ask when they would be leaving flower petals and champagne and was told that the person that does that was not in, and that they would "see what they could do." I called back on our last night at the resort to see if they could provide us with at least our honeymoon champagne and flowers (we were leaving too early for the breakfast at that point) and was told that she would let her manager know. NOTHING happened. We booked a honeymoon concierge room for our honeymoon and never received any of the romantic honeymoon package details that Sandals boasts about. I was devastated.

We went to Guest Services, and we spoke with the Director of Guest Services and he told us that he would look into our complaints and get back to us. I checked our voicemail several times that day and did not receive a message from him. The following day, as we were getting ready to leave, we again spoke with him. He said that he had looked into things, had a meeting about it, and would "compensate us" for our poor service. We also had a problem receiving the military discount

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is a beautiful place to have a wedding"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  JennA+Travel  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | Solo
349 people found this review helpful

I was recently at the Sandals Resort in Nassau, Bahamas. I absolutely loved it. The people, both working at the resort and off, were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice. There are two large swim up pool bars as well as a nice beach, so it didn't seem very crowded at all. There was never a wait for a drink. It is a beautiful place to have a wedding. They had several each day that I was there. The wedding gazebo is right on the beach. The public bus was stops right in front of the resort and is only $1.00 per person, each way. I was in the Bahamas 14 years ago, and I was very pleasantly surprised with everything this time. It is very expensive. All-inclusive is the only way to go!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall, it was a great honeymoon."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  DianeDenverColorado  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
370 people found this review helpful

Arrival: September 21 - 28, 2009
We arrived late on a Friday night and were greeted by our Butler, he transported us to the hotel via a Rolls Royce, this was a wonderful treat. He had our keys, charge card, etc. already in our room...which was so pleasant.
Rooms:
We stayed in the Royal Villas, what a wonderful room. There was a suite which provided extra room to relax and a nice secluded patio.
Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good. It was also easy to change reservations that our butler (Melissa/Shenequaw) made for us. There was a great variety to choose from as well. The only drawback was the breakfast, I wish there were a few more breakfast choices.
Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was beautiful and clean. There were plenty of umbrellas as well. The pool was very clean and the staff walked around and asked if we needed anything to drink. They were so friendly and outgoing.
Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not go on any tours, but my husband went diving everyday. The only drawback here was that there was no diving on Sunday's.
Other Comments:
Overall, it was a great honeymoon. The all inclusive vacation makes things so easy and relaxing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our dive experience was a pleasure."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  WayneUnitedStates  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2009
369 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian from 9-19-09 to 9-26-09. Before you read on, some information about us so you can judge the validity of this review. First, we travel a lot and are always unbiased when we do decide to write a review. Secondly, we are in our early 40's and have done enough traveling to recognize the good from the bad. Lastly, we're experienced divers who can accurately assess the scenery and the dive operation.

Arrival:
My wife and I stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian from 9-19-09 to 9-26-09. Before you read on, some information about us so you can judge the validity of this review. First, we travel a lot and are always unbiased when we do decide to write a review. Secondly, we are in our early 40's and have done enough traveling to recognize the good from the bad. Lastly, we're experienced divers who can accurately assess the scenery and the dive operation.

Our experience:
Up front, I'll say that our 8 night stay Royal Bahamian was fantastic! This was our second trip to The Bahamas (first to Sandals RB) in the last few years. Our experience has been that the Bahamians are some of the nicest in the Caribbean and this trip was no exception. We upgraded our room to receive butler service and highly recommend you do the same if possible. Melissa and Shanequewa were wonderful! They were never overbearing, but always there if we needed or wanted anything.

Food & service:
In general, the service at the resort was very high on the grounds and in the restaurants. Not once did we walk by any employee during our stay who failed to say 'Hello' with a big smile as they passed. The service in the restaurants was very good during our stay as was the service at the pools and on the beach. There were always servers asking us if we needed anything from a drink to fresh towels. I've read many reviews on Sandals Resorts and the one common thread across all is the food. We've found that Sandals will always give you a great vacation (we've been to 5 of their properties) but the food is probably 4 out 5 stars. Again, it's good, but if you want 5 Star, be prepared to add $$$ to your vacation destination wherever it is you choose to go.

The grounds:
The grounds were maintained very well I'd put the resort condition up against just about any other Caribbean property we've seen. The gardens, lawns and beaches were in impeccable condition. This resort is probably 12 years old, but maintained very well.

Scuba diving:
Our dive experience was a pleasure. I did 12 dives during my stay and every one was handled professionally (and I watch the operators carefully). Ryan and Donathan on the dive boat took great care to make sure the less experienced divers were safe and had a nice time. They were also quick to realize the more experienced divers and although had control of the group, allowed the experienced divers a little latitude to explore. Some who read this may not understand, but if you're those guys and have a group of 12 to 15 divers (half I would consider inexperienced) you almost have to tailor to the diver with the lowest skill level. If you've got a lot of dives and years under your belt and are used to heading out on your own, be forewarned of the situation.

Conclusion:
Again, we had a great time at Royal Bahamian and certainly got our money's worth out of it! We would rate them a solid A- based on our travel experience and plan to return sometime in the future!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube