Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island  

West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau | PO Box 39-CB-13005, 20317, New Providence Island

"Poor Customer Service and No Accountability"
Posted by: Casey on Sep 29, 2014
see all reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Pictures and Information
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Nassau Bahamas

#2
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.3

Based on 24 reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Information


Few resorts in the world can match the exceptional fine dining selection at Sandals Royal Bahamian's eight specialty restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.3 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (23)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (20)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 24

"The ads made this place look great but are very deceiving"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Apr 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
61 people found this review helpful

My Friend and I went to the Bahamas in the first of April 2003 and stayed at the Sandals Royal Bahamian for seven days. Our goal was to simply relax, have some fun and be in an all adult atmosphere.

Arrival:
We encountered very little problems upon arriving at the airport. The Sandals rep was readily available and we were shown to the bus to take us to the Royal Bahamian.

Check in:
We were ushered into this area and met by a resort rep and given our paperwork to fill out. This process took over 30 minutes to complete due to the amount of people who arrived at the same time. We were offered only champagne which is great if you like champagne. A nice cold beer or refreshing drink would have been nice. Other resorts we have visited have offer selections of the guest choice. Upon getting the paperwork filled out and handed over to the rep, we were told that our room was not ready and that lunch was being served. We ate lunch at the Royal Cafe. What lousy food, meat was burnt and fries were soggy. Went to get salad from the fruit and salad bar but no plates. It took quite a length of time to get the plates. Upon finishing lunch we went back to the check in area to learn that our room was still not ready. It took nearly 3 hours before we were shown to our room.

Our Room:
The room was fairly nice with a balcony and ocean view for which we had upgraded from just the deluxe. We were told the bags would be right up but only one bag arrives. We didn't understand how this could be as we were the only two left to get our rooms. 45 minutes later it finally shows up. The second day we got up to take a shower, no water. Call the desk and were told they would check on it. It took a while before the water came on spiting. The room cleanup was very slow and you didn't always get a full set of towels.

The Beach:
The beach in this section of the Bahamas (Cable Beach) was very disappointing, it’s small and was usually covered in seaweed. They did have a clean up crew but it wasn’t until about noon that they were finished. There is not much beach to walk on, you can only walk about 5 minutes in one direction before you have to stop and turn around. We were checked out the private island which had a beach not much better than the resort although it was bigger. Most of the ocean floor was covered in rocks and stones, but they did not seem to have the same problem with seaweed. There is only one snack restaurant on the island, plus a small pool with a side Jacuzzi. Do not go there expecting some lush tropical retreat, it’s a decent change of scenery but not much else.

The Food:
The food was nothing special. The Spices has the best food of all the dining areas. It offered buffet style breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Ristorante Casanova offered Italian cuisine and other choices which was very good but rather small portions. The Baccarat Restaurant offered French cuisine and had very good food but service was slow. The Kimonos offered Japanese cuisine with several couples located around the grill while your chef cooked and entertained you. The food was pretty good but not totally Japanese. The Crystal Room had a variety of food offering but the food was lousy, took a long time to arrive for the amount of people they were serving and the room was hot and you had to dress to top things off. The Cricketers is suppose to be a genuine English Pub, haw, if the English saw this they would disown it. The food was over cooked and took for ever to get both service wise and cooking it. The Crystal Room and Baccarat both require reservations and my suggestion to you is to book your reservations for the restaurants that require it ASAP, otherwise be prepared to eat dinner at 9 PM or worse yet not get in at all. The Cafe Goombay on the island offered hot dogs, hamburgers, and fries which were the best I had during our stay at the Royal Bahamian.

The Spa:
My friend had 2 sessions at the spa which she really enjoyed. This was provided since we had upgraded our accommodations

Pools:
There are two moderately sized pools on the resort both with swim up bars. The pool closest to the front of the building had 2 heated Jacuzzi just off to the sides. As with most resort pools they were both pretty cold, which is fine when the whether is blistering hot, but we encountered a fair bit of cooler weather. The pools themselves were basic and well maintained but nothing to write home about. There wasn't enough lawn chairs for everyone so if you didn't stake your claim to one first thing in the morning you were out of luck. Each pool had a pool bar and they had a bar in the main building but it never opened before 8 PM. If you wanted to get a drink and just sit outside and or inside the building you had to travel around the pool to the pool bar for a drink. This was ridiculous I thought.

Staff:
Overall I was quite pleased with the staff we encountered, most seemed to be in a decent mood and easy to get along with.

Overall Impression:
This was a relatively expensive trip and not much bang for your buck. We could have got more for our bucks in the Bahamas or Jamaica. Most of the grounds are well maintained and clean and the staff are nice but it’s just that everything things just don't flow. You had to keep thinking where you were to reach something. The food wasn't up to standards. The ads made this place look great but are very deceiving. It a place for young people getting married. You get to see at least 4 weddings a day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ChrissyKirkLancasterPA  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | With Group
66 people found this review helpful

We (7 couples) just came home from a great trip with Sandals! This was our experience and suggestions:

No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs:
We (7 couples) just came home from a great trip with Sandals! This was our experience and suggestions:

We booked thru Liberty Travel (Lancaster, PA-$2600 per couple 4 nights, 5 days airfare included). Three couples were signature guest members(getting a $375 discount) and the other four couples were first timers. I, myself emailed Sandals regarding our stay (and upgrades for signature guests) and kept in touch with emails. I received an email from sandals signature guest and Martin Crossland regarding our requests.

We left 3/20/03 at 6:00am with some anxiety regarding the war but arrived in time and safe (with USAir) at 10:30am. Transfer and champagne check in were smooth and welcomed. We were all informed we were staying in the villas! This was a pleasant surprise for all. For return guests we expected an upgrade but not that kind of one. We were to be in the Manor block. What great villas with private pools and some hot tubs with full concierege service and 24 hr room service. We were treated great! The staff would not accept tips when offered.

We felt the food was good. No one went away hungry or Lost Weight! I enjoyed Bacarat for dinner (with Chris for a waiter) the best, while my friends enjoyed Casanova's so much they returned twice, with a salute to Pepsi, she was great! The Crystal room, Kimonos (shakira) and Spices (dwayne) was enjoyed by all. When munchies where in order, 24 hr room service and Crickiters Pub was appreciated. The Royal Cafe was fine and had no problems. My only complaint was Baccarat for breakfast took way too long with hardly anyone there and that you NEED to make reservations as soon as you get there or you will not get in to the restaurant or it will be very late!

No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs. We also jet skied, snorkeled and went to straw market (bus 10). We were told to avoid the island because of sand fleas. Some of us took that advice while others went. Those who went did not get bitten, ate, had some fun and informed us that it was a little run down. Check out the fitness center....as stated before, even if you don't exercise the view is awesome!

We had massages on the pier with Shelly and someone else (unfortunately) whose name I do not remember and they were awesome! 50 minute swedish massage! I have had several massages with many from the Hershey Spa and this was so much better! With having a great massage and the sounds of the waves, oceans it was sooooooo nice! Recommended! It started out with just 2 of us and then ended up with almost the whole group getting them over the stay.

We would definitely go back to Sandals! We are a group in our 30's (married with children-lol) and had a blast. The guys said the beer wasn't always cold. But I think they just drank it faster than they could stock it! They even had beer delivered in cases, to our rooms which had stocked mini-bars (rum, vodka, all soda's, champagne, wine (red & white), beer, water and all juices. It was by far the best mini-bar ever! Melvin was great for that!

We (hubby & I) have been to the Bahamas (Radison) twice, St. Thomas 3 times, Sandals in Antigua, Mexico-Cozumel and Puerto Vallarta , St. Johns and Italy and I truly felt this was just a fantastic vacation! I only tell you about our previous travels to let the readers know that we have been places and to feel assured that you cannot go wrong for going to Sandals in the Bahamas! I would classify us has regular travelers.....We do not stay or expect services like the Ritz nor could we afford to! We also do not stay at low level or fly by night places! We stay at clean, dependable named resorts, with a good reputation........that is what we expect and pay for and that is what we receive. If you have any other questions, feel free to email me at victory-3@verizon.net.

Go there have a great time ! We already want to book for next year!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We are going to become Sandals Signature members"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ChuckRochesterNew York  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
73 people found this review helpful

My name is Chuck, my wife Debbie and I went to Sandals Royal Bahamian for our 20th wedding anniversary. We spent six nights from April 26 - May 3, 2003. We live in Rochester (Upstate) New York and we have never been to the Caribbean. We decided on the Sandals Royal Bahamian after a month of research. I dont do ANYTHING without researching and this trip was no exception.

Review:
My name is Chuck, my wife Debbie and I went to Sandals Royal Bahamian for our 20th wedding anniversary. We spent six nights from April 26 - May 3, 2003. We live in Rochester (Upstate) New York and we have never been to the Caribbean. We decided on the Sandals Royal Bahamian after a month of research. I dont do ANYTHING without researching and this trip was no exception. We have 2 kids and although we love them to death, this was our vacation and we wanted to go somewhere that was adults only. We like to visit outside the resort so we wanted a place we would feel comfortable. We heard that the Bahamas were the place to go as the people were some of the friendliest on the earth. We were not disappointed. Knowing we were going to be traveling in peak season and couldn't count on an upgrade, we booked in a suite (Royal Honeymoon Oceanview Suite) in the Windsor building. Although the room did not take my breath away, it was a very nice room. There was ample space and furniture, the bed was large and comfortable, and the balcony had a nice view. Before we booked we did a lot of research and as others have said, we seen good and bad reviews for this resort. From what I could tell, there were just some reviews that looked like they were written by competitors and we simply could not believe some were true. I can tell you that we are glad we booked at the Sandals Royal Bahamian. It was the best vacation we have ever gone on, even with poor weather. I cant tell you how great it was to be at a resort without wining kids running all over the place, and the bars everywhere...I was in heaven. We took a day trip to the Atlantis and there were little kids running and screaming all over the place, and I seen the price for the lunch buffet was $40 per person!! thank goodness we didn't go there. That is another great thing about Sandals, after your there, you dont pay extra for anything! no tipping either, you get a drink whenever, and eat and just get up and leave, no waiting for the bill. It was AWESOME!! We met several other couples while we were there. Some of them we still talk with and I think we will be friends for life. We hope to meet some of them again on a future vacation. We loved all the resturants! The only one we didn't go to was Cafe Gumbay. No reason other than we never made it. We did go to the island for a few days and it was superb. Very relaxing and less people. We had our anniversary dinner at the Crystal Room and the food and service was fantastic. The Casanova was great too! The only complaint I had was at Kimonos it was kinda hot, I get hot easily and that's not the restaurants fault, but it did get a little warm.....no biggie, I still liked it. The staff was all that we expected and more. Darrell (bartender) became our best buddy! If any of you go and see Darrell, tell him Chuck and Debbie said Hi!! He was the best.... We also had a fantastic time at the Piano Bar, a must if you go. I dont know what else to say, we absolutely loved our trip to the Sandals Royal Bahamian! We are going to become Sandals Signature members, were hooked!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort was extremely disappointing"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  StaceyMesaAZ  on Sep 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
78 people found this review helpful

On September 2, 2003, my husband and I arrived at the Sandals Royal Bahamian resort, what was indicated as "the Caribbean's Most Impressive Resort" on the Sandals website. We stayed eight days, seven nights and I would not indicate that any portion of our stay at your resort was impressive.
The resort was extremely disappointing and is far overpriced for what you actually get. We saved up for this Caribbean vacation and we would never recommend that anyone visit a Sandals resort after our experience that definitely was not "perfect in every way."

TRANSPORTATION:
We booked what was indicated on your website as the Royal Honeymoon Oceanview Suite. On the website, there is a mention of a Rolls Royce VIP Airport Service when guests stay three nights or longer in a qualifying suite. This "qualifying suite" is not clarified on the site and obviously is misrepresented, as when we arrived at the airport and checked in at the Sandals desk, we discovered that the "VIP treatment" we would be receiving was an old bus that was not even owned by Sandals. We sat on this bus for at least 45 minutes since we had to wait for several other couples to board the bus for this "VIP treatment."

When I recently looked at your site again, I noticed on the main page of the website that it states that "Our inclusions are designed to take the worries out of your vacation. That's why we include airport transfers in air-conditioned buses, all tips, gratuities and all hotel and government taxes." This is rather interesting, as on the way to the resort and upon departure, we were told that the drivers gladly accept tips; this is even on signs hanging in the buses!

CHECK-IN & LUGGAGE SERVICE:
Upon check-in at the resort, we sat on a couch that was ripped and dirty. After check-in, someone took us to the Windsor building, where our first (of three!) room was located. We were taken to the floor of our room and when the elevator doors opened on our floor, the person pointed down the hallway to where we were to go, as he was escorting another guest to their room.

Upon arrival in our room, I assumed that our luggage would be inside the room or would arrive shortly thereafter, especially since the website indicates "Our exclusive Suite Concierge Service will pamper you with VIP check-in, special luggage handling." I was not aware that this "special luggage handling" really meant that we were to call three times and ask where our luggage was at and that our luggage would arrive three hours after we arrived in our room. We were hungry and just wanted to take a shower and relax, but instead became restless and irritated as we waited and waited for our luggage.

OUR ROOM:
Room #1 - 1334 (Windsor) As soon as we had stepped foot in the Windsor building, we should have known that something was wrong because even the lobby had a strange smell when we walked up to our room. After entering our room, we noticed that the walls, bathtub, floors, etc. were all dirty and everything in the room smelled of mold. There was even obvious evidence of mold on the walls where the paint was peeling off.

You could not sit down on any of the furniture without smelling the mold and the awful smell had even sunken into the pillows we were to sleep on, all of the bed linens, as well as the robes in the rooms. We took towels and slept on those to try to help with some of the smell on the pillows, but that didn't even help. We couldn't even hang our clothes in the closet because it smelled so bad, so we left our suitcases packed, but open and all of our clothes and other items ended up smelling just like the room.

We tried leaving our towels and swim suits in the room to dry, but determined that there was too much moisture in the room and that nothing would dry, so we had to place all wet items on the balcony. The moisture in the room was so bad that it even ruined some of the reading materials that we brought to enjoy on our vacation.

And out on our balcony, I assumed we would have a nice ocean view, after all, we were staying in the Royal Honeymoon Oceanview Suite. Instead of a big ocean view, we had to lean over the balcony to see the ocean and our view consisted of the tenant's facility and parking lot, where they often played loud music.

Also on the website when I booked this trip, we assumed we would receive room service with our "Suite," as it states that "An extensive and sophisticated in-room menu serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, appetizers and late night snacks is available for guests staying in qualifying suites." When we looked around our room, all we saw was a continental breakfast menu.

After a second un-restful night in the room, we could not take it any more. We decided to complain about our room because there is no way that was the room that we paid for, indicated as a "perfect private palace" and "the finest rooms and suites in the Caribbean" on the website. When we complained, the check-in attendant seemed like she didn't hear anything, in fact, she told us that we were actually given an "upgraded" room from the one that we supposedly paid for. She told us that we were upgraded to a "junior suite" and that the room we paid for was smaller, had a smaller bathtub and was a "level 5," whereas the room we were given was the "nicest" room, at a "level 9." If this was in fact a "free upgrade," why would they not have mentioned this to us upon check-in? If they were, in fact, giving us a "nicer" room for free, why wouldn't they have told us this? This whole thing seemed rather suspicious.

Also, when we asked about the room service, we were told that we booked a "room," not a "suite." Clearly, on the website, we selected the Royal Honeymoon Oceanview Suite. I paid more for this room, thinking we would get the room service and all we received was stale bagels and old fruit for breakfast.

We stated that we wanted to see the room we paid for since we were not staying in this room another night. Once again, I mentioned all of the things wrong with the room, as well as the bad view; and finally the desk attendant picked up her phone and asked for a room with a better view. Of all of the things wrong with the room, it was just the view that she felt she could fix. Then, we were instructed to come back in three hours so we could see the new room, but never did she apologize for the awful room that we were initially given.

I thought that "At Sandals, there are no compromises and no surprises. The best of everything is included at one up-front price"? At least that's what is indicated on your website.

Room #2 - 519 (Manor):
When we came back three hours later, we were told that the new room was not ready yet. The person at the check-in desk asked a staff member to go look at the room to see if it was ready and he indicated that it was. So, he took us to see the room that we supposedly "paid for."
This room smelled a little musty, but was definitely an improvement on the overwhelming mold smell of room #1. The view was better, but this room still did overlook a construction site. At least the ocean was clearly visible. We took this room and were instructed to go and pack and call the bellhop to pick up our luggage. We never really unpacked, so we were quickly out of the old room and decided to wheel all four of our bags all the way across the resort by ourselves since our initial luggage service was so bad.
After we entered the room, the phone rang and we were told that the room was not ready. We said that the room seemed "ready," but then we were told that they had to paint the ceiling. This was rather strange. So, the check-in person met us at this room and told us to go to room 619, as that would be our new room. So, we lugged our bags up to room 619.

Room #3 - 619 (Manor):
This new room had a similar smell and view as room #2, but was still an improvement upon room #1. So, we started unpacking and got changed so we could try to enjoy what was left of our day. While I was changing, another couple used a key they were given and actually entered our room. They seemed rather embarrassed and confused and told us they were told this was their room, so we immediately called down to the front desk to find out who's room this really was. It turns out the check-in desk made a mistake and told us, then this other couple that this room was each of ours. The check-in desk straightened out the confusion and gave this other couple another room. Not only is this an invasion of privacy that this other couple was allowed to walk right into our room, but it is also a breach in the security of the hotel.
When we later tried to get back in our room again, to our dismay, our keys wouldn't work. It turns out that since this other couple used their key in the door, this voided out our keys and the check-in desk attendant had to reset our keys again so they would work for our room.
And the air conditioning definitely left something to desire. The room was either hot or cold. You couldn't even adjust the temperature on the thermostat! Also, at all times of the day, there were dogs barking outside the resort - it seems as if this happened each time we tried to rest!

DINING:
As a "pampered guest" the website indicated I would "dine on dazzling delicacies" and would experience "ultra-gourmet dining." First, we were told that we needed to make reservations for three of the restaurants. We thought we would just make the reservations for our 2nd, 3rd, and 4th nights, then would make another reservation at any of the restaurants that we really enjoyed. Instead, we were able to get in The Crystal Room on our 2nd night, then we were on the waiting list for Café Goombay on our 4th night, and didn't have reservations at Baccarat until our 6th night! In the FAQ's on the website, it even references dinner reservations and says that "You may make reservations for each day of your vacation," yet we were not able to make some of our reservations until our 6th night at the resort.

During our stay, we did have the opportunity to dine at all of the restaurants and would definitely not say that "Sandals Royal Bahamian is an incomparable passport of excellent taste for the world's most discerning palates." The food was average, to say the least. In fact, I got sick from the food on my 2nd day there and my husband got sick from the food on our 5th day there! And I was extremely disappointed with the limited selection of entrees available at the restaurants. There wasn't even lobster on any of the menus and this is something I expected while staying at a resort termed as a "monument to regal elegance" with "sensational haute cuisine."

DINING (CONT'D):
A few of the restaurants, namely, Spices and Royal Café, often had birds in the seating areas or even on the tables. The servers never seemed to try to shew them away. This was rather disgusting. We were very disappointed with the speed - or lack thereof - of the service overall. A few of the restaurants that required reservations actually gave you a new drink after you were finished with your last one, but overall drink service was extremely slow at the restaurants. For some reason, I believe that the lack of tips most likely does have something to do with the speed of the food and drink service received, which should not be the case at an "all-inclusive" resort.

In regard to the times the restaurants were open, we were very disappointed that not all restaurants were open for long periods of time. If we wanted a late night snack or drinks, we always ended up at Cricketers Pub, which was probably the place with the slowest service out of all of the restaurants.

We were also very surprised that we were offered a wine list of bottles of wine we could purchase. We purchased what we thought was an "all-inclusive" vacation where "everything's included." So, why would we have to purchase beverages? Especially because certain types of alcohol were not listed on the website in the "What's not included in the all-inclusive package?" area. My husband also stated that the overall quality of the liquor that was included was lower than what he expected, since the "top-shelf" brands were not available.

WATER ACTIVITIES:
Prior to leaving for vacation, my husband and I read the information on scuba diving on your website and knew that we wanted to scuba dive while at the resort. So, we went to the doctor (per the instructions on the form) and made sure to have our Medical Statement Participant Record filled out and ready for when the instructor asked for them. On our first morning at the resort, we called for reservations for scuba diving, as this was what we were instructed to do. To our surprise, they told us that we would not be able to go because it was booked for the entire week! We later found out that scuba diving isn't even available on Sundays! If phone or fax-in reservations would have been available, I would have done this before we left so we could go scuba diving, as this was a big disappointment for us. The website even states "Guests must arrange this [Scuba Diving] upon arrival at the Water Sports Center for the following day," so we never thought we just wouldn't get to go over our eight days at the resort.

While on the phone with the water sports reservation desk, I asked about snorkling and was shocked that we even needed reservations for snorkling! We weren't even able to go until our 4th day there because that was booked up too. And when we went snorkling, we couldn't believe that we could only use the equipment during the time that the ferry took us to the spot to go snorkling and that we couldn't just take it and use it ourselves in the water offshore or across on the offshore island.

POOLS & POOL BARS:
In regard to what is listed on the website in amenities, it lists "2 swim-up pools," "7 pools & 6 whirlpools." Then, on the fact sheet that we were given upon arrival, it actually stated that there were "3 swimming pools, 3 mini-pools, scuba pool, 6 whirlpools." Based upon the initial information from the website, we imagined a vast array of large pools that we could frequent. Instead, we really only had access to two main pools on the main island and these were always extremely crowded and dirty (the pool itself, as well as having plastic Dixie cups, straws, and cigarette butts all over the place - sometimes even in the pool!). In fact, there were a few nights that the main pool closed for some reason, so it wasn't even useable. In regard to the whirlpools, they were often either uncomfortable, as they were either scorching hot or cool/lukewarm in temperature.

The pool bars were very disappointing as well. Since there was no drink service to us poolside, we all had to wait in lines at the pool bars. And while standing or sitting downwind of the bars, you pretty much lost your appetite for a drink after smelling how bad the area smelled (potentially another mold issue).

POOLS & POOL BARS (CONT'D):
On occasion, my husband and I wanted to take a swim or sit in the whirlpool in the evening and the pool bars weren't even open after the sun went down!

Regarding the pool towels, I don't see how you can even call those towels "beach towels." They were thin and raglike pieces of cloth that barely absorbed any water. Since the website stated that "beach towels are provided by the resort," we didn't bring any beach towels and definitely regretted that. And when we did turn our towels in during the day to get our evening towels before 5 p.m. each night (since that is when the towel area closed), our maids took the clean ones from our room! They never took our used ones, but did manage to take the clean ones we were going to use.

NIGHTLIFE:
Due to our slow luggage service on the first night, we missed what we found out was the only show (Ooh La La) during our entire stay. We expected more shows and entertainment from a resort claiming "Sandals Royal Bahamian satisfies your desires to be endlessly entertained. Whether it's sharing intimate conversations at seven bars or applauding the nightly shows at the impressive Royal Theatre, the pleasure of choice is already yours." We expected more than boring contests (in fact, they were begging people to participate!) and the same band every night at the Royal Theatre. The only other entertainment was the Piano Bar, but you can only listen to the same songs so many nights before becoming tired of it.

THE BEACH:
The beachfront was definitely smaller than I expected. We tried taking a moonlit stroll one evening and the beachfront is practically just a few steps, then you turnaround and come back. And the offshore island is stated as having "2 beaches," per the fact sheet we received, but one of the beaches was really where we docked and shouldn't have been considered a "beach."

THE PRIVATE OFFSHORE ISLAND:
We visited this "private" island on one of our first days and were instructed to stay on the "Sandals side" of the island because the cruise lines use the other half. This is very misleading, as your website specifically states that "Within minutes of the shoreline lies our magnificent offshore island." If this is really the Sandals' island, why are cruise lines using half of it? And on the Sandals side, the pool was filthy, as if it had not been cleaned in days.

Conclusion:
The Sandals website states that "At Sandals you get more than you ever dreamed of…not only in quantity, but in quality." This was definitely not the case at the Royal Bahamian resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had been warned by the travel agent"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ShannonCanada  on Jul 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
77 people found this review helpful

My husband and I travel frequently and while we're pretty easygoing, we can definitely tell quality from non-quality. Those who truly want to relax, have no fear: This resort is awesome.
Our travel agent at Tripcentral.ca (Rachel) was stellar. She was thorough, always returned our calls, and even helped us get the dates we wanted even though it was technically sold out. I would return to Tripcentral anytime.

Arrival:
There was a massive lineup at the Customs entry area at the airport, but we survived. We proceeded to the Sandals desk at the arrivals section and they directed us to the bus. We waited for about 10 minutes for them to fill the bus, and they did accept tips. But the driver was friendly and gave us a narrative as we drove to the resort which we really enjoyed.
Once he pulled into the resort, they unloaded all our bags off the bus. One guest started to take his bags, but the bellman admonished him (all friendly like) and said they'd be taken care of. They walked us to the lobby where we all were seated on plush couches and given champagne. They came to us and asked us for a credit card for incidentals, then brought all our information back to us as we relaxed. (Later in our trip we went to Atlantis for a day, and saw that people checking in there had to wait in line, hot, sweaty, etc. It was just like the rat race we were trying to escape, and we really appreciated the service level at Sandals all the more for having seen that.) They then walked us over to the Windsor block and showed us to our room.

Room:
I had been warned by the travel agent that the "oceanview honeymoon concierge" had somewhat of a limited ocean view. She was not incorrect. The Windsor building is perpindicular to the beach, so while the balconies are tilted in the direction of the ocean, you still only get a partial ocean view. Looking straight out the window, you saw the roof of the buildings on the compound, which was rather disappointing. Personally I felt they should have at least planted gardens or something on the roofs to make the view nicer. My husband was more disappointed than I was, so he called down and asked for a room further down the block towards the ocean. We did get moved two days later, and the view was better. Still, I think they probably shouldn't sell these rooms as oceanview.

The room was very nice. It was a standard upscale hotel room - large, with a seating area, big bed, big TV for our purposes that got lots of stations including Canadian ones (CBC and CTV). We spent one morning laying in bed watching movie after movie on HBO - hey, it's vacation! The room also had a fully stocked bar with juice, water, beer, red and white wine, champagne, and full bottles of gin, rum and vodka. There was a safe in the closet which was very secure as you programmed it with your own code. The bathroom was nice, big tub and good water pressure. Only downside was they inexplicably kept taking our hand towels and not replacing them.

Staff:
The staff were super friendly. The speed of service is definitely on Caribbean "slow down" time zone, but after a day or so you're in that time zone too, so it worked. The bartenders at the pool bars were probably the slowest. The only bump we hit was on our day to check out. We asked for a courtesy room to change in at a specific time. When we went to get in to the room, the key didn't work. When we went back to check, they were snippy with us for waiting so long to try to get in to the room - however, we'd asked for it for that time, so we weren't quite sure what the problem was.

Beach:
Wide and sandy with plenty of loungers and beautiful crisp clear water. Can't say enough good about it. The only suggestion I would make would be to have more umbrellas available - we were there at the hottest time of the year and couldn't stand laying in the direct sun for more than a few minutes, so the umbrella chairs were at a premium.

Pools:
There were two main pools - the Windsor pool and the Manor pool. Both were massive and both had swim up pool bars. The Windsor pool was more of the party pool - that's where the pool volleyball, basketball, aquacise took place. As well, there were bands beside this pool on several afternoons. The Manor pool was quieter - just background music. It was very nice to have a choice of pool ambience in that respect, depending on what mood you were in. There were also several smaller pools on the grounds in the garden, away from the beach. These were hardly ever used and totally beautiful and peaceful.

Restaurants:
Each restaurant was unique - they made you feel like you were in a completely different world each time you walked in someplace new. I really appreciated that because I was afraid we'd get bored with being at the same resort all week.

Casanova - italian, and our favourite. Very good italian food - the spaghetti blew me away. Cafe Goombay - probably our least favourite. Caribbean food, but just not our style. Kimonos - the atmosphere was good, the food was OK. It was japanese, but we weren't crazy about it. Crystal Room - fantastic prime rib. The room is like a ballroom in a fancy hotel. The wait staff were kind of slow, but the food was very good. Baccarat - our best experience. Fantastic dinner, wonderful ambience, lovely bright restaurant. Spices - Standard buffet fare, we ate here only once or twice. Cafe Grill - we ate here several times as it was open at the funny hours when we would get out of bed. Lovely selection and good food.

Spa:
I only went to the spa once, for a massage. It was wonderful, although a bit pricey. If you've been to a spa at home, this is probably somewhere around the same level of service.

Activities:
Snorkeling - book it in advance, especially if the resort is chock full. It's a quick trip because the reef is not far from the resort, so you're only gone for around 2 hours or less. Saw lots and lots of cool fish, including a barracuda named Bob.

Scuba Lesson:
my husband took the morning scuba course and then went on the dive the next day. He enjoyed trying it out, but felt he saw more fish snorkeling.

Evening entertainment:
the weekly show put on by the playmakers was so awful it was funny. Poor people, they were reallly trying but it was dreadful. There was a comedy show later in the week, and it was awesome.

Overall we tremendously enjoyed this vacation and would recommend Sandals to anyone

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in all this 4 day escape from reality was perfect."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ValeriaBrettTorontoONCanada  on Nov 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
93 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to Sandals this past weekend to celebrate his 30th birthday. I have been to Bahamas numerous times before and have stayed at many different resorts, this was the first time going to Sandals and we loved every moment of it. It was very nice being at a couples only resort, nice atmosphere.

Arrival:
Arrived at the airport, got on the bus, and it was only a short drive to the resort which was nice. Upon arrival we were seated in a nice area and served champagne and a brief introduction to the hotel. In less than 10 minutes we were in our room, and our bags were there waiting for us.

Room:
Our room was nice and clean. We were surprised that there wasn't a fridge in our room, but they did supply water for us daily. Some rooms have fridges, and some don't, but it wasn't a big deal. The view wasn't anything spectacular but who spends time in their room looking out the window anyway? There was a safe in our room with a lock for our passports and such.

Staff:
Very courteous. No problems with anyone at all. At breakfast they would carry our plate to the table for us, very nice touch. Bartenders were fun and friendly.

Beach:
We enjoy really long walks on the beach, which was limited here as the beach is smaller than most resorts, but it also very secluded and you don't have people hounding to "braid your hair" every ten feet. The beach was clean and the water was just beautiful. That blue that you see in pictures....just awesome.

Pools:
There were two main pools both with swim up bars. The water was a little cold, but refreshing. Very clean too.

Restaurants:
We aren't the type to make reservations while we are on vacation as we are on schedules everyday at the office, so we didn't have the opportunity to have dinner at any of the restaurants that required reservations which was fine by us. We had dinner one night at the Japanese restaurant which was great. Lots of fun.

Private Island:
Sandals has their own private island which has a boat leaving every hour, we went there 2 days in a row - the first day just for a couple of hours and the other after we went snorkeling. The private beach was awesome, it had a bar, restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi. We had such a great time there.

Activities:
Everyday they had different activities, beach volleyball, horseshoes, trivia etc. we participated in a few and really had fun.

Downtown:
Heading downtown to the straw market / Bay Street is only a $1 bus ride away. The bus picks you up and drops you off right at the front of the resort, quick and convenient.

Conclusion:
All in all this 4 day escape from reality was perfect. We didn't have ONE complaint and wouldn't have changed a thing.
We would highly recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic! The food never stopped coming!"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  CorinaFrankTorontoCanada  on Dec 1, 2004  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2004 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
75 people found this review helpful

My boyfriend (38) and I (28) spent a week at the Sandals in Nassau from Dec.12 to Dec. 19. It was not very busy and the weather was not very good – that has been our “luck” this year. The resort is fantastic and the service is excellent – it is not the laid-back attitude you may get on other Caribbean islands. The service here was fast and friendly – and that without tips (since they are not allowed to take any- we tried to give them a few dollars anyway). The vacationers are mostly Americans, Canadians and a few Europeans.

Room:
The main lobby did not seem anything fantastic and neither did our first room. We were first in the Manor building and we spent about 45 minutes going from one room to another as we couldn’t seem to find a real “deluxe” room. We are not picky, but when you spend the extra money to go to a Sandals resort you don’t just want a regular hotel room with the view of the back of the property. We did not take the first room #217 as it had a view of the bushes in the back. We took #617 which still faced the far side of the property with a partial view of the water. At night we heard a whole bunch of dogs howling. The shower was all marble, but old with lots of mold on the grout and mildew on the taps – gross! They also had problems with the hot water and there was a big hole under the sink – must be updated fast! We tipped the lady at the front, but that’s all she could do!

The next day another very friendly lady at the front desk by the name of Kim, gave us a room in the Windsor. The room was much bigger, the view was much better – we could see the pool, the grounds and the ocean. Overall, if you go, book a room at the Windsor. The room had a fully stocked mini fridge, liquor bottles, wine and champagne. We barely drank any as everywhere you go you are surrounded by free drinks. The bathroom was nice and clean.

Food and Restaurants:
Fantastic! The food never stopped coming! The a-la-carte restaurants were simply great, especially the French Le Baccarat. All restaurants were good. The service is good and the selection is excellent. There is food 24-7 if you wish. The Pub is open all night and their breakfast starts at 4.00 am! By the way, they do have ice cream if you ask for some!

Entertainment:
The resort was not busy at all (35% occupancy) and the entertainment team was very bad. There is an amphitheatre which was always empty. They tried to have a few shows and disco nights in there, but no one showed up. There were activities scheduled during the day, but nobody participated. The team is not aggressive at all. The only entertainment was the nightly “Sing-Along” in the piano bar at the Manor. They had live singers and you can sing along with them. After two nights, that was getting boring. We went over to Atlantis to check out the Casino and the grounds - $20 cab ride. Tip: we went at night, that way you can go in without having to pay for a tour. During the day, you must pay for a tour and I am not sure you can use the facilities. You can go for dinner, there is a club (we did not go), bars, shopping, you can check out the aquarium, etc. It is very impressive. There is also a casino at Crystal Palace, but that’s only in case you are desperate for gambling. Overall, the entertainment was bad, and we watched TV a few times since our weather was not good either.

Water Sports:
Since our weather was not good, we did not get to do much; we went sailing, but there were other free non-motorized sports as well as sea-dos which were about $60 for half hour.

The island:
The island is beautiful and the beach is much bigger. However, there are lots of sand flies and mosquitoes and I didn’t even realize how many bites I had until they started itching. I had to go to the drugstore to get some cortisone. Bring some stuff with you on the island or spray yourself before. They did not bite my boyfriend at all.

Beach and Pools:
The beach is beautiful, but very, very small. A lot of people just lay by the pools, and you cannot go for a run or a walk on the beach. The pools are beautiful, but we never used them. However, the brochures say that there are 7 pools and we finally found all of them by the end of our trip. There are a few smaller ones by the villa section in the back and one on the island. We used the whirlpool, since it was chilly, and it completely discolored my bathing suit – I had a dark blue cotton bikini and came out with a light purple one. They re-imbursed me for it, no problem.

Shopping:
For $1 we took the bus downtown and bought some souvenirs at the Straw Market. There is good shopping and lots of high-end stuff if you have money to spend. For us, it’s quite a bit since everything is in American dollars. We found everyone to be very friendly and well-educated. We spoke with many Bahamians and they were all very well-spoken and helpful. There is also a smaller straw market across from the Radisson which is a 15-minute walk.

Charges:
If you have to make phone calls, please be aware that every time you dial out, you get charged $7.50 just for the connection, regardless whether or not you get an answer on the other end.

Conclusion:
This was my first time in the Bahamas and I would love to go again. My boyfriend had been here before around the same time and said the weather was not great then either. Make sure you go when it’s warmer temperatures, otherwise, there is not an awful lot to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort seemed to forget about it's honeymooning couples"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Jan 1, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
91 people found this review helpful

My husband and I (both of us 32) visitied the Royal Bahamian for our honeymoon in January 2005.

Arrival:
Our flight from Toronto was only about 2.5 hours long which was a pleasant surprise - we caught a nice tailwind on the way down. Once we landed in the Bahamas, the runway was really far from the terminal and my husband thought perhaps there was a mistake and they were driving us back to Toronto :) Once we got into the terminal, our bags came out quite quickly, they didn't waste any time in getting the baggage off the plane which was nice. Once we had our luggage, we cleared customs which was a joke (as it usually is compared to Canada or the USA). They didn't check our bags and didn't even look at us (just our passports), stamped us and away we went. Once we were done at customs, it was not clear where we were supposed to go, so we went outside and people there directed us back inside to a Sandals Rep behind a desk who took our names are put tags on our luggage with "ROOM 1301" on them. The Sandals Rep told us that we had a private driver - we chose the room with Rolls Royce and Butler service - but that he wasn't sure where the driver was and that he hoped he hadn't left. He asked us why we were late and I told him that we weren't late, in fact, we were there half an hour before we were supposed to be. Needless to say, the driver was found pretty quickly and we were ushered outside to our waiting Rolls. We were only about 10-15 minutes from the airport and were driven to Sandals at break-neck speed, and once there, we were told to sit down (in the lobby) where it was clear everyone (who worked there) was very confused about what to do with us. Eventually, someone came over and offered us some champagne and a cool, damp cloth. We were asked to complete some paperwork and provide our credit card number, and then we sat. And sat. Finally, our "Butler" came over to see us and to escort us to our room....but that our room wasn't quite ready, so he would show us to a restaurant where we could have a bite to eat. 30 minutes later, our butler came back to show us to our room, on the way there, he advised us that he had "taken the liberty of upgrading you". We thought that was nice, and after a short walk, were shown to our room.

Room:
At first appearance, the room was nice. We had a large sitting area with an extensive bar, a fridge full of juice, pop, wine, champagne. There were snacks and fresh fruit on the counter, a small fresh flower arrangement on the table and some very nice furnishings. Our bedroom was quite large, with a king sized four poster bed, large washroom and vanity area. All this seemed very nice at first glance, but after spending some time in the room and really taking a look at our furnishings it was clear that everything was very old and not very well kept. The chairs at the table were beautifully upholstered, but two of the four chairs had bleach stains splashed across them; the sofa was very dirty and had cigarette burns in it. The coffee table was made from particle board and previous guests had placed wet items on it and as a result, the table was bubbled and lifting all around the perimeter. The area rug was thread-bare in spots and the curtains were quite faded. The worst part of the room was the shower/tub area. There was mold growing in the grout and the tub was very high off the ground and was a massive step down to get out of - if you were short, this would be a big problem. There was a smell emminating from our washroom that we couldn't figure out what it was, so we just kept our bathroom door closed for our stay.

Staff:
Our butler(s) were the people we had most of our dealings with - they were very agreeable and called us each day to find out if there was anything we needed - and generally there wasn't. They made our dinner reservations for us each night - but weren't very forthcoming with where we were to be going that evening and at which time, so we generally had to call them each day to find this information out. I have seen many people write in their reviews that Bahamian people were some of the nicest they had met - I suggest that these people haven't done a lot of travelling in the Caribbean. I have been to more than a dozen islands and to be frank, while Bahamian's weren't 'unfriendly', they were certainly not the friendliest I have met (try Jamaica!)

Food and Restaurants:
We were marginally disappointed with the restaurants, but compared to other all inclusive resorts we've stayed at, it was definitely a step up. The food was certainly not "gourmet, cooked by a world-class chef" as the Sandals website touts! The room service was not very good...but I can't say much about the other restaurants, they are what they are...all inclusive resort fare. The saving grace for the Royal Bahamian is that there were plenty of restaurant's to choose from. The only real memorable experience was the restaurant in the off-shore island. We went there for lunch, and it was just nasty! There were flies everywhere, the cooking area was filthy and the food tasted horribly (not to mention under-cooked).

Entertainment:
We didn't partake in the entertainment very much. The cocktail bar in the main building was great at night when there was a piano player there, but it was VERY loud and should not be attended if you're expecting a nice quiet evening. The disco was a lot of fun too....

Water Sports:
We experienced 25+ mile an hour winds while there, so we weren't able to take advantage of any of the water sports available. In saying that however, one of the main reasons we chose this Sandals resort is because the scuba diving is free of charge - this info is splashed across all their brochures, and their webiste. Not quite....you have to pay for their "lessons". The biggest issue we had is that we had to fill out a medical questionnaire - no problem there. They asked if we took any prescribed medication. I take medicine for acid reflux (which is available over-the-counter, but I get it prescribed as my health insurance pays for it that way). My husband was just finishing up a prescription lotion for a tiny area on his arm (about the size of a dime) where he experienced a skin allergy. Because of this, we each had to go visit their doctor to the tune of $50 each so he could tell us that we're fine to go scuba diving!! This combined with the fact that, even though the site says that scuba diving is unlimited, the instructor told us we'd get out once, MAYBE twice....we decided against the scuba. The total cost would have been about $300USD each by the time we were done!

The island:
We only made it to the off-shore island once because the resort stopped running the boat to and from because of the high winds. We had dinner scheduled there three times, but each time it was cancelled due to weather (which isn't Sandals fault obviously). The one time we did get out there, it was quite nice...but not exactly a "private" island. We are distinctly told not to go past the area which was roped off because that half of the island was for the cruise ships that come in. "Private" island indeed!

Beach and Pools:
The pools were quite lovely and so was the beach, but the beach was VERY small.

Shopping:
As previously mentioned, I have travelled extensively in the islands, and compared to most other places I've been, the shopping in the Bahamas stunk! Everything was VERY over priced and every store seemed to carry the exact same cheesy things. I think this was the one area of the trip I was most disappointed with.

NIGHTLIFE:
Apart from the resort itself, we did not experience any nightlife within Nassau.

To wrap it up:
To wrap it up....we left feeling as though the resort really mis-represented itself. The resort claims to be the number one spot for honeymooning couples, but on our third day there....a big convention showed up (no couples!) and the resort seemed to forget about it's honeymooning couples and focused on the (mostly) drunken, partying conventioners. We paid an extraordinary amount of money to visit this resort (about 7K for one week) and left knowing we had been ripped off. Some of the other guests that we spoke with who had been to other Sandals resorts said the Royal Bahamian was shabby in comparison. Given that feedback, we will likely attempt another Sandals resort, but definitely not the Royal Bahamian.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"While we were at the resort. No hurricanes though!"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  HarryAngelaCanada  on May 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
79 people found this review helpful

May 29th - June 5th, 2005 - we did not know that the start of hurricane season commenced during our honeymoon. To note, it was more overcast during our stay, and it rained for a bit on two days, while we were at the resort. No hurricanes though!

Flight:
We booked through Sunquest. Our flight was with Canjet and left Toronto to Nassau direct. It was a short flight, approximately 3 hours. Arrived at 1:30pm. Should have brought a book though, as there were no t.v.'s or the like on the plane. The one flight attendant was a funny guy though, and helped to make it not so tedious. We had a bus pick us up at the airport, along with other people going to Sandals, as well as other resorts. It took about 15 minutes to get to the hotel. If you expect a limo or swanky car to come and get you, than you had better book a third tier room or something better to get this, as this is the only way you will ride in one as we learned.

Check-In:
This was fairly smooth. We, along with five other couples were brought to the piano lounge to sit while they prepared things for us. We were given champagne in flute glasses to sip on. Nice touch. We completed the paperwork at this time and then were directed outside and told to look around and grab something to eat and then come back in 15 minutes to complete check in. At that time we were given bags with some supplies (ie. shampoo, lotion, conditioner, aloe) and given the cards to our rooms. Orientation was offered the next morning at 10am.

Room: #503 - Manor Building:
This was a nice room with a king size four poster bed. The view was great, as it overlooked the ocean, sunset, pier, beach and pool. The only thing with this room was that it did not have a balcony, like other rooms. It had an in-room safe (no extra charge), a CD player, vcr, and other ammenities in it, but no room fridge. The hotel has a library of movies to choose from, but they all seem a bit dated. Bring your own. The water pressure in the shower was great. The manor building seemed to be on the quiet side of the resort. Activities in the day, and night time events tended to occur by the Windsor building.

Resort:
Sandals is a very nice resort. Maybe not as chi chi as it looks on the webpages we saw, but still quite good. There are two main pool areas, located beside the Manor and Windsor buildings. Other smaller ones are located at the back part of the resort by the smaller villas. It is fairly well-kept. The water is very blue, the sand is quite soft, and the temperature averaged about 30c. Staff was very courteous and was ready to please us. You can't go anywhere without someone asking you how you are doing. The private island isn't so private, given that half of it is owned and operated for cruise ship guests who dock at Paradise Island. They have a lot more out there for them (sea does, volleyball courts, activity people who appear quite enthusiastic about getting people involved in activities), than what Sandals offers on it's side (pool, restaurant, hottub, bar and hammocks).

There were activities at the resort, and every day we were given a "Royal Horn", which outlines the days events and what is going on for the day, so we could plan what we wanted to do for the day. They mainly had volleyball (pool & beach), bingo, tournaments for pool & ping pong, and other games. All of these activities were located by the Windsor pool area. In the evenings, they had things like the Honeymooners Game Show, a magic show, comedy show, burlesque type show, limbo/fire dancing show, and salsa night. We did not go to all of these though. The mosquitos get bad at night for some people. Even with bus spray, I counted 17 bug bites on one leg at one point during our vacation.

You have access to the gym (located in the Manor building on the top floor), kayakes,a water bike, sail boats, snorkeling, and scuba diving through Sahdals. Sea dos are offered but are not operated through Sandals. There is also a spa, that has many different packages to cater to people. We saw quite a few people out getting dual massages on the far pier. According to the price list, this treatment was over $400.

Destination weddings were big at the resort. We saw over 40 weddings at the resort in a one week period. It was almost like an assembly line (one day we saw 5 weddings going on), and we are glad we did not go this route. The services seemed nice though from what we saw, but we felt that such an experience for us would be less special. The majority of the people at the resort were honeymooners, so we could all pretty much identify with one another.

Restaurants:
There were a number of restaurants to choose from. Three required reservations. We were able to book dinner in all three. We did so right after we checked in. People who waited to do so until the next day, were not able to get into a couple of the restaurants and had to be put on a waiting list.

- Spices - we had breakfast at this restaurant for the entire week. It was good. Buffet style with all the traditional fixings. It's located closest to the Manor Building.
- Cafe Grill - we ate here a lot for lunch, and once for dinner. Burgers, crack conch, jerk chicken quasedilla and the three cheese dip were good. It overlooks the Manor pool.
-Kimonos - we had dinner here and the food was great. If you want a romantic dinner, don't go here though, as it is more of a social place. You are matched up with 10 people at a table where you get your own chef who makes the food in front of you. The food station is in the middle of the table. You start of with appetizers, then the chef arrives and prepares the seafood, then vegetables, chicken and beef. It is quite filling and we enjoyed it.
- The Cricketer - this is an English style pub setting and it was fairly hopeless for us and a few other couples who went there. The service was not very good and the food was mediocer.
- Goombay Cafe - had lunch there. It is located on the private island. We cancelled our dinner reservations there, as we were afraid of the mosquitos and being eaten alive out there. Lunch consisted of burgers and fries.
- Crystal Ballroom - very nice place. You have to dress up for this place. We booked two nights here. The food was great and service was amazing. The filet mignon was great.
- Baccarat - This was the most difficult place to get reservations for. It was nice setting and the food was very good. You have to dress up for this place too.

Tour: Paradise Island Resort:
We took the tour for $30. This provided a bus drive to and back from the resort. It was good to see this place and all the marine life in it. We took an entire roll of film there. It was good to see it in one day. We and others felt that we would rather stay at our own resort which is all-inclusive, rather than stay at this resort. The food was way too much money.

Overall, it was a good honeymoon for us and we are glad that we went.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want an ocean view!"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  SheriUSA  on Jun 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
94 people found this review helpful

Hello, I would like to send you a review for the Sandals Royal Bahamian All Inclusive Resort. My husband and I were married June 25th and went there on our honeymoon. Everything else about the resort was terrible! Sandals is not a 5 star resort!! Do not send any one to Sandal for their honeymoon. It was a dump. My husband, Darrin, and I enjoyed the time we got to spend with each other but that was about it.

Arrival, room & robbery:
Hello, I would like to send you a review for the Sandals Royal Bahamian All Inclusive Resort. My husband and I were married June 25th and went there on our honeymoon. Everything else about the resort was terrible! Sandals is not a 5 star resort!! Do not send any one to Sandal for their honeymoon. It was a dump. My husband, Darrin, and I enjoyed the time we got to spend with each other but that was about it. We arrived at the resort and had to wait 4 hours for our room. We finally got our room and it was above the back of some buildings, it did not have an ocean view or anything which we had reserved and paid for. Our luggage wasn’t in our room so we couldn’t change into our swimsuits or do anything else. I called down 3 times for our luggage, 4 hours later, right before Darrin was getting disgusted enough to go down and get it himself, they were finally at our door with our luggage. It was strange how when we arrived at Sandals from the airport/customs the locks were on our luggage but when it was brought to our room the locks were gone. I also called down to complain about the location of our room. I paid for an ocean view... I want an ocean view! They moved us from 1515 to 1506. They couldn't move us until the next day though. Both rooms stunk really badly of mold and mildew but they said they were booked solid and could not move us again. The furniture in both our rooms had stains on it and the material was ripped on the chairs. The tables were all scratched up and the pictures were broken. The bedspread was torn and threaded. The thermostat was also broken. You could set it on 70 but it would not turn off. It would make the temperature 51 in the room if you did not turn it off all together. We would have to turn it on for a while and then get up periodically and turn it off and then back on if we would get hot and the off when we got cold again. We called and complained but they did nothing, not even an apology or an extra blanket. We would take turns getting up and turning the a/c on and off during the night. The screen was torn on the glass door so we could open that up for air because the mosquitoes would eat us alive! When you would go to take a shower the water would randomly switch from hot to cold. I checked about if it would do it just when you would flush… nope… there wasn’t any method to the madness it was just hot one minute and cold the next. The main door was broken. You had to force the door shut with the complete weight of your body. I’m sure our neighbors were thrilled when we came and left. The alcohol bottles in the “fully stocked bars” in the rooms were watered down severely. I’m not a drinker but thought the gin that was in the room might help the clogged drain. Since the front desk said it would go down on its own I decided out of curiosity to try pouring a little gin down the drain to see if that would help. It didn’t but I noticed the smell didn’t smell like alcohol so I marked the bottle. The next day it was back at the bar filled back to the top. I opened it and tasted it the next day… I’m not a drinker and know I wouldn’t be able to drink anything straight not alone gin. The safes in the rooms are a joke too. You can go into any room and reset the code and get whatever is in the safe out of the safe. It does not protect your valuables from anyone, house keeping… anyone from stealing your passport, birth certificate… money… what have you.

Restaurants and more:
The restaurants were mass produced buffets and did not have a large variety of choices. There were two restaurants that Darrin and I did like which were the Japanese and the Crystal room but we both got sick from the Crystal room and spent our last night in our room. The food in every restaurant tasted as if it was from a frozen dinner. The English pub only serves 4 types of beer but had ads for 15. The freshly squeezed orange juice comes from cans. The resort staff was rude and unapologetic for any mistakes or issues…The managerial staff could care less if we were happy. Trying to eat lunch or dinner at the "private" Cay Island is a joke too unless YOU want to be the main course for the mosquitoes. It doesn't matter what time of day you go... they are terrible little needles sticking you. The resort will sell you a 7 ounce bottle of repellant for $40 though from their Royal Tings gift shop. They do not have any netting or protection from the bugs so you get all the extra protein you need included with your food. At the end of the week I received our check out form that was supposed to have a survey attached that gave us a chance to win a free weekend back to their resort (not that I would want that… I just wanted to express my complaints!). I had to go to 3 different people to get the survey, even then it did not have any way for me to identify myself, my room or any way for them to contact me. Darrin got angry several times because we would be told one thing and then go to do it and be told that we couldn't do it. For example, Saturday morning before we left the Bahamas we did the Dolphin encounter tour. We had to check out before we left for the tour at 7:30 that morning. I didn't want to take our legal documents with us on the tour and asked if there was a place they could be locked up. The front desk reception people told Darrin and I Friday evening that we could use one of the lockers at the spa to lock our stuff up. Saturday morning when we went to the spa to lock our stuff up they said that the lockers were for guests using the spas services only. We didn't have time to argue we had to leave for the tour bus so we had to take our documents/tickets with us and risk getting them stolen or damaged.

Darrin and I wasted a lot of money:
There were things that were "included" in the "all-inclusive" resort that were additional deposit fees required which you did not receive back. We did not enjoy sandals water sports or activities. We tried Sandals snorkeling, they took us out for 10 minutes and told us the water was too rough and pulled us back in. WE tried Sandals snorkeling twice and they used the same exact lines both times. The water was fine…clear not choppy at all. They did that to every couple we spoke to about Sandals snorkeling. We had to pay extra to go off site to do snorkeling with the Flying Cloud. Darrin and I went to Atlantis and walked around through the aquariums, to the Wyndham and played the slot machines for a couple hours (I'd never done that), and down to the straw market and bought some stuff to bring back with us for everyone. Over all... I feel like Darrin and I wasted a lot of money on a resort that was suppose to be a 5 star resort but was maybe a 2 star. We met 7 other couples on Thursday evening during the Japanese dinner where they have to seat us all together and everyone else felt they had been ripped off as well. We would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube