Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Home page > Bahamas > Bahamas Hotel Index > Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island  

West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau | PO Box 39-CB-13005, 20317, New Providence Island

"Paradise in the Bahamas"
Posted by: Anne  on Dec 21, 2011
see all reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Pictures and Information
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Nassau Bahamas

#2
of 8 Hotels in Nassau

User rating 3.4

Based on 23 reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Information


Few resorts in the world can match the exceptional fine dining selection at Sandals Royal Bahamian's eight specialty restaurants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Reviews

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.4 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (22)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
21 - 23 of 23

"No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs."

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ChrissyKirkLancasterPA  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | With Group
64 people found this review helpful

We (7 couples) just came home from a great trip with Sandals! This was our experience and suggestions:

No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs:
We (7 couples) just came home from a great trip with Sandals! This was our experience and suggestions:

We booked thru Liberty Travel (Lancaster, PA-$2600 per couple 4 nights, 5 days airfare included). Three couples were signature guest members(getting a $375 discount) and the other four couples were first timers. I, myself emailed Sandals regarding our stay (and upgrades for signature guests) and kept in touch with emails. I received an email from sandals signature guest and Martin Crossland regarding our requests.

We left 3/20/03 at 6:00am with some anxiety regarding the war but arrived in time and safe (with USAir) at 10:30am. Transfer and champagne check in were smooth and welcomed. We were all informed we were staying in the villas! This was a pleasant surprise for all. For return guests we expected an upgrade but not that kind of one. We were to be in the Manor block. What great villas with private pools and some hot tubs with full concierege service and 24 hr room service. We were treated great! The staff would not accept tips when offered.

We felt the food was good. No one went away hungry or Lost Weight! I enjoyed Bacarat for dinner (with Chris for a waiter) the best, while my friends enjoyed Casanova's so much they returned twice, with a salute to Pepsi, she was great! The Crystal room, Kimonos (shakira) and Spices (dwayne) was enjoyed by all. When munchies where in order, 24 hr room service and Crickiters Pub was appreciated. The Royal Cafe was fine and had no problems. My only complaint was Baccarat for breakfast took way too long with hardly anyone there and that you NEED to make reservations as soon as you get there or you will not get in to the restaurant or it will be very late!

No problem with the pools, chairs, beach or hot tubs. We also jet skied, snorkeled and went to straw market (bus 10). We were told to avoid the island because of sand fleas. Some of us took that advice while others went. Those who went did not get bitten, ate, had some fun and informed us that it was a little run down. Check out the fitness center....as stated before, even if you don't exercise the view is awesome!

We had massages on the pier with Shelly and someone else (unfortunately) whose name I do not remember and they were awesome! 50 minute swedish massage! I have had several massages with many from the Hershey Spa and this was so much better! With having a great massage and the sounds of the waves, oceans it was sooooooo nice! Recommended! It started out with just 2 of us and then ended up with almost the whole group getting them over the stay.

We would definitely go back to Sandals! We are a group in our 30's (married with children-lol) and had a blast. The guys said the beer wasn't always cold. But I think they just drank it faster than they could stock it! They even had beer delivered in cases, to our rooms which had stocked mini-bars (rum, vodka, all soda's, champagne, wine (red & white), beer, water and all juices. It was by far the best mini-bar ever! Melvin was great for that!

We (hubby & I) have been to the Bahamas (Radison) twice, St. Thomas 3 times, Sandals in Antigua, Mexico-Cozumel and Puerto Vallarta , St. Johns and Italy and I truly felt this was just a fantastic vacation! I only tell you about our previous travels to let the readers know that we have been places and to feel assured that you cannot go wrong for going to Sandals in the Bahamas! I would classify us has regular travelers.....We do not stay or expect services like the Ritz nor could we afford to! We also do not stay at low level or fly by night places! We stay at clean, dependable named resorts, with a good reputation........that is what we expect and pay for and that is what we receive. If you have any other questions, feel free to email me at victory-3@verizon.net.

Go there have a great time ! We already want to book for next year!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We are going to become Sandals Signature members"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ChuckRochesterNew York  on May 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
70 people found this review helpful

My name is Chuck, my wife Debbie and I went to Sandals Royal Bahamian for our 20th wedding anniversary. We spent six nights from April 26 - May 3, 2003. We live in Rochester (Upstate) New York and we have never been to the Caribbean. We decided on the Sandals Royal Bahamian after a month of research. I dont do ANYTHING without researching and this trip was no exception.

Review:
My name is Chuck, my wife Debbie and I went to Sandals Royal Bahamian for our 20th wedding anniversary. We spent six nights from April 26 - May 3, 2003. We live in Rochester (Upstate) New York and we have never been to the Caribbean. We decided on the Sandals Royal Bahamian after a month of research. I dont do ANYTHING without researching and this trip was no exception. We have 2 kids and although we love them to death, this was our vacation and we wanted to go somewhere that was adults only. We like to visit outside the resort so we wanted a place we would feel comfortable. We heard that the Bahamas were the place to go as the people were some of the friendliest on the earth. We were not disappointed. Knowing we were going to be traveling in peak season and couldn't count on an upgrade, we booked in a suite (Royal Honeymoon Oceanview Suite) in the Windsor building. Although the room did not take my breath away, it was a very nice room. There was ample space and furniture, the bed was large and comfortable, and the balcony had a nice view. Before we booked we did a lot of research and as others have said, we seen good and bad reviews for this resort. From what I could tell, there were just some reviews that looked like they were written by competitors and we simply could not believe some were true. I can tell you that we are glad we booked at the Sandals Royal Bahamian. It was the best vacation we have ever gone on, even with poor weather. I cant tell you how great it was to be at a resort without wining kids running all over the place, and the bars everywhere...I was in heaven. We took a day trip to the Atlantis and there were little kids running and screaming all over the place, and I seen the price for the lunch buffet was $40 per person!! thank goodness we didn't go there. That is another great thing about Sandals, after your there, you dont pay extra for anything! no tipping either, you get a drink whenever, and eat and just get up and leave, no waiting for the bill. It was AWESOME!! We met several other couples while we were there. Some of them we still talk with and I think we will be friends for life. We hope to meet some of them again on a future vacation. We loved all the resturants! The only one we didn't go to was Cafe Gumbay. No reason other than we never made it. We did go to the island for a few days and it was superb. Very relaxing and less people. We had our anniversary dinner at the Crystal Room and the food and service was fantastic. The Casanova was great too! The only complaint I had was at Kimonos it was kinda hot, I get hot easily and that's not the restaurants fault, but it did get a little warm.....no biggie, I still liked it. The staff was all that we expected and more. Darrell (bartender) became our best buddy! If any of you go and see Darrell, tell him Chuck and Debbie said Hi!! He was the best.... We also had a fantastic time at the Piano Bar, a must if you go. I dont know what else to say, we absolutely loved our trip to the Sandals Royal Bahamian! We are going to become Sandals Signature members, were hooked!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The ads made this place look great but are very deceiving"

Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
User Rating:  Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  N-N  on Apr 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
59 people found this review helpful

My Friend and I went to the Bahamas in the first of April 2003 and stayed at the Sandals Royal Bahamian for seven days. Our goal was to simply relax, have some fun and be in an all adult atmosphere.

Arrival:
We encountered very little problems upon arriving at the airport. The Sandals rep was readily available and we were shown to the bus to take us to the Royal Bahamian.

Check in:
We were ushered into this area and met by a resort rep and given our paperwork to fill out. This process took over 30 minutes to complete due to the amount of people who arrived at the same time. We were offered only champagne which is great if you like champagne. A nice cold beer or refreshing drink would have been nice. Other resorts we have visited have offer selections of the guest choice. Upon getting the paperwork filled out and handed over to the rep, we were told that our room was not ready and that lunch was being served. We ate lunch at the Royal Cafe. What lousy food, meat was burnt and fries were soggy. Went to get salad from the fruit and salad bar but no plates. It took quite a length of time to get the plates. Upon finishing lunch we went back to the check in area to learn that our room was still not ready. It took nearly 3 hours before we were shown to our room.

Our Room:
The room was fairly nice with a balcony and ocean view for which we had upgraded from just the deluxe. We were told the bags would be right up but only one bag arrives. We didn't understand how this could be as we were the only two left to get our rooms. 45 minutes later it finally shows up. The second day we got up to take a shower, no water. Call the desk and were told they would check on it. It took a while before the water came on spiting. The room cleanup was very slow and you didn't always get a full set of towels.

The Beach:
The beach in this section of the Bahamas (Cable Beach) was very disappointing, itís small and was usually covered in seaweed. They did have a clean up crew but it wasnít until about noon that they were finished. There is not much beach to walk on, you can only walk about 5 minutes in one direction before you have to stop and turn around. We were checked out the private island which had a beach not much better than the resort although it was bigger. Most of the ocean floor was covered in rocks and stones, but they did not seem to have the same problem with seaweed. There is only one snack restaurant on the island, plus a small pool with a side Jacuzzi. Do not go there expecting some lush tropical retreat, itís a decent change of scenery but not much else.

The Food:
The food was nothing special. The Spices has the best food of all the dining areas. It offered buffet style breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Ristorante Casanova offered Italian cuisine and other choices which was very good but rather small portions. The Baccarat Restaurant offered French cuisine and had very good food but service was slow. The Kimonos offered Japanese cuisine with several couples located around the grill while your chef cooked and entertained you. The food was pretty good but not totally Japanese. The Crystal Room had a variety of food offering but the food was lousy, took a long time to arrive for the amount of people they were serving and the room was hot and you had to dress to top things off. The Cricketers is suppose to be a genuine English Pub, haw, if the English saw this they would disown it. The food was over cooked and took for ever to get both service wise and cooking it. The Crystal Room and Baccarat both require reservations and my suggestion to you is to book your reservations for the restaurants that require it ASAP, otherwise be prepared to eat dinner at 9 PM or worse yet not get in at all. The Cafe Goombay on the island offered hot dogs, hamburgers, and fries which were the best I had during our stay at the Royal Bahamian.

The Spa:
My friend had 2 sessions at the spa which she really enjoyed. This was provided since we had upgraded our accommodations

Pools:
There are two moderately sized pools on the resort both with swim up bars. The pool closest to the front of the building had 2 heated Jacuzzi just off to the sides. As with most resort pools they were both pretty cold, which is fine when the whether is blistering hot, but we encountered a fair bit of cooler weather. The pools themselves were basic and well maintained but nothing to write home about. There wasn't enough lawn chairs for everyone so if you didn't stake your claim to one first thing in the morning you were out of luck. Each pool had a pool bar and they had a bar in the main building but it never opened before 8 PM. If you wanted to get a drink and just sit outside and or inside the building you had to travel around the pool to the pool bar for a drink. This was ridiculous I thought.

Staff:
Overall I was quite pleased with the staff we encountered, most seemed to be in a decent mood and easy to get along with.

Overall Impression:
This was a relatively expensive trip and not much bang for your buck. We could have got more for our bucks in the Bahamas or Jamaica. Most of the grounds are well maintained and clean and the staff are nice but itís just that everything things just don't flow. You had to keep thinking where you were to reach something. The food wasn't up to standards. The ads made this place look great but are very deceiving. It a place for young people getting married. You get to see at least 4 weddings a day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube