Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Reviews

Home page > Barbados > Barbados Hotel Index > Sam Lord's Castle and Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Barbados Hotels with Similar Ranking

Coconut Court Beach Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 1, 2009

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort  

West Indies, Barbados

"So sorry to hear of The Castle's demise"
Posted by: Robin on Nov 15, 2010
see all reviews

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Reviews
Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Pictures and Information
Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Barbados Barbados

#1
of 10 Hotels in Barbados

User rating 2.2

Based on 5 reviews

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Information


The Sam Lord's Castle Resort is situated on seventy-two acres, with a mile-long private beach, on the south-east coast-line where pristine beaches stretch for some 70 miles. The deep-sea fishing, golf, tennis, coastal snorkeling, diving expeditions, boogie-boarding and golf all entwine to bring you the Caribbean experience of a lifetime.

This Hotel has been closed.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Reviews

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 2.2 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (4)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"So sorry to hear of The Castle's demise"

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort
User Rating:  Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robin  on Nov 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
265 people found this review helpful

This is not actually a review, but more of a memorial. My ex-husband and I visited this wonderful place in 1990. It was the honeymoon we never had. What a beautiful place, and the people were wonderful. It was a fairy tale come true. It didn't save our marriage, but I have the most wonderful memories of the local people and the staff of the hotel. I still have the name of our cab driver, Albert, he invited us to his home, and took us to some wonderful places that most tourists didn't usually see. It made me cry to see the disrepair and the destruction of this place of my dreams.
Robin

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You've got to be kidding!!!"

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort
User Rating:  Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  kathy  on Feb 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Business | Family and Kids
265 people found this review helpful

This is not a resort any longer. We visited last week.It is in a state of severe decay (looks like about 15 to 20 years worth). Check out the U-Tube video. How can this actually still be up on the web as a destination????

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lN3tlFm6KyI

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is greatly overpriced"

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort
User Rating:  Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Mar 1, 2003  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

We vacationed at Sam Lord's Castle March 2003. Unfortunately I must report the resort is definitely in the need of some repairs/touchups. It is very sad because you can easily see that at one point it had been a beautiful place. The grounds are very large but very plain. There is so much potential being wasted. The rooms were okay, but again, needed some touchups. The food was very tasty and plentiful but the wait staff was at times less than attentive. The bartenders were never attentive or friendly which was quite a change from other resorts we have visited. The nightly entertainment was fantastic! The pools, all three, and the restrooms were kept clean. The activities/tour desk personnel were very friendly and helpful while the lobby personnel were not! The fitness room and tennis courts were a joke but better than nothing. One downfall was that you couldn't (or at least they strongly advised against it) swim at the beach as the current is to strong, which leads me to another disappointment. They advertise water sports included but fail to tell you that you have to take a van to a different beach 20 minutes away. On top of it, the van only goes 3 times a week and you leave in the a.m. & don't come back for 4 or 6 hours. A little to long for me to be stranded.

We booked through American Airlines which had the resort classified as a 3 star. I think that is fairly accurate, however, unless some money is put into the resort it will soon be a 2 star.

Bottom line....the resort was fine, we had a good time, but I think for what you get and the condition it is in, it is greatly overpriced.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach but that's about it."

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort
User Rating:  Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 1.5 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Jan 1, 2003  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2003 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
224 people found this review helpful

Don't go. We arrived on 1 January 2003 and demanded a move to another hotel the same day.

Despite a reported multi-million dollar refubishment, the place is in serious trouble. The rooms are a disgrace, the grounds are neglected and the castle itself should be knocked to the ground. You will also find the place empty because there are quite a few people leaving once they get there.

No doubt this has an effect on the staff as they are not receiving the tips which make up a large chunk of their income. This may be the reason where there seems to be such few of them left.

We ended up switching to Casuarina where we stayed in 2000. It's not All-Inclusive but it's a superior destination.

Sam Lords - nice beach but that's about it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't go to Sam Lord's Castle in Barbados"

Sam Lord's Castle and Resort
User Rating:  Sam Lord's Castle and Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kelly  on Nov 1, 2002  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2002 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

Just wanted to update you on Sam Lord's Castle in Barbados. First I would like to say I wish I had found your sit BEFORE I went to Barbados

My husband and I were at Sam Lords From November 15 - Nov 18, 2002 There were many things that happened while we were at Sam Lords (for only 3 days).

The rooms are run down but they advertise 3 pools with 3 poolside bars what they had in fact was one pool and no poolside bar or snacks They advertise 4 restaurants and in fact only had one restaurant. They had one bar. The air conditioner was working but not adequately enough to cool the room in either of the two rooms we were in. The second room we were moved to did not have hot water. My husband was hung up on when he called one time to inquire when we would receive hot water. They never offered to move us to a room with hot water and were obviously upset with us for reporting that we had no hot water and were expecting this to be resolved.

They advertise color cable TV. In fact they do have TV's in their rooms but they do not work. I did talk to one gentleman that reported that he did have a working TV and was able to view two stations.

They advertise alarm clocks and radios, there were none in either of the rooms we were in.

They one restaurant that was open did serve a nice dinner on Fri and Sun. Other than that everything was Buffet and was what Buffet is. Nothing to cheer about.

Some of the staff were rude most of that stemmed from the front office. Most of the rest of the staff were sociable as long as one was tipping.

The grounds were pretty if you overlooked things like the tennis courts that were not operational and had lawn furniture, etc., stacked all over them.

There were people begging for money at the on site gift shops. Off the resort I would have expected this but not on site. It was one of my reasons for choosing an all inclusive resort.

These were the highlights of our Barbados trip. I found the trip "deal" on an auction site one the web. My recommendation to anyone is not to go to Sam Lord's Castle in Barbados as no matter how good of a deal it looks like remember the old adage you get what you pay for. However we didn't even get that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube