Sandy Bay Beach Club Reviews

Home page > Barbados > Barbados Hotel Index > Sandy Bay Beach Club reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Barbados Hotels with Similar Ranking

Divi Southwinds Resort

4.5 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2011

Almond Casuarina Beach Resort

4.5 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

Worthing Court Apartment Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 4, 2010

Silver Point Villa Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 1, 2009

Silver Sands Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2008

Amaryllis Beach Resort

3.3 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2008

Sandy Bay Beach Club  

(Formerly Sandy Beach Island Resort), Worthing, Barbados

"Sandy Bay Beach Resort"
Posted by: Esmeralda on May 26, 2010
see all reviews

Sandy Bay Beach Club Reviews
Sandy Bay Beach Club Pictures and Information
Sandy Bay Beach Club Barbados Barbados

#3
of 10 Hotels in Barbados

User rating 3.2

Based on 3 reviews

Sandy Bay Beach Club Information


Sandy Bay Beach Club is an All Inclusive ocean-front property nestled in a lush tropical setting on what is maybe the best beach in Barbados. Located on the beautiful south coast of Barbados,

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sandy Bay Beach Club Reviews

Sandy Bay Beach Club Review: 3.2 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
1 - 3 of 3

"Sandy Bay Beach Resort"

Sandy Bay Beach Club
User Rating:  Sandy Bay Beach Club Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Esmeralda  on May 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
297 people found this review helpful

Many years ago, Sandy Bay Beach Hotel was a friendly meeting place. Once reconstruction started, the ambiance was gone. As far as I know, the Hotel has closed.
There was talk of turning it into a Health Resort. I will know more when I return to Barbados in December.

Rooms:
Closed

Restaurants and Bars:
Closed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Closed

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
What was a lovely beach has eroded

* Note Editor: This hotel is still up and running. Maybe you are confused with another resort

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOW!"

Sandy Bay Beach Club
User Rating:  Sandy Bay Beach Club Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Dec 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2006 | Leisure | With Group
235 people found this review helpful

If I could describe in one word our 1 week stay at Sandy Bay is: WOW! We were 13 of us left on Christmas day from Toronto; we had an amazing time, beautiful weather, beach, pool, and the people were just amazing.

I am a frequent traveler and have been to a lot of 5 star hotels but you would not get the service, love and warmth from the staff. Sandy Bay staff adds so much to our vacation; they were just amazing. The staff was so friendly, kind and would do anything to accommodate you. For those of you who complain about service with a smile why don't you try smiling first? The only complaint I do have is all the people traveling and expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel like you get in the US, well reality check, you're in another country, tropical Island, so stop expecting to much and you'll enjoy yourself. Isn't that part of traveling, being away from home and forget about home, work etc...Sure, the staff is slow, in no hurry, but hey, you're on vacation and in the Island! We should take some tips....less stress

The food was awesome, if you get sick, it's not the food

Thanks to the staff and management for making our vacation one of the best. Cheers!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a great resort for those not looking for luxury."

Sandy Bay Beach Club
User Rating:  Sandy Bay Beach Club Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Edward  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

We landed at BGI airport and took at cab to the resort (cost 15USD or 30 BBD). Most restaurants and or service providers accept either USD or Barbados dollars. The conversion ratio is approximately 1USD=2 BBD.

The resorts lobby is a small rectangular building with the receptionist, a check-in agent, a small convenience store, washrooms and an activity booking center. As soon as we arrived, we proceeded to the check-in agent and within 15 minutes had all the paperwork completed.

Notes:
If you want to use the in-room safe, you have to prepay for the service in the lobby (5 BBD per day.) Make sure you keep your payment receipt as this is not computerized and they may challenge you at check-out. They will give you a little dongle that you have to plug into a cable in the safe. If the safe’s display is blank, make sure the power supply is plugged in.

We had a standard room but you can choose to rent a 2 bedroom room or one with an ocean view (Ocean view can be bought at the resort for 10BBD per day per person if available). The rooms are old and resemble a Motel 8 type room but were clean. Even if you request a queen bed, it is basically 2 singles put side by side.

Food:
Main buffet
A la carte (requires reservation) Snack bar (open from noon to 10pm)

Main Buffet
Although this is a 3 star resort, I can honestly say that this place had the best food I have ever eaten at any resort. Each meal was better than the previous one. They offer a decent red/white wine. The only negative is the “service without a smile”.

A la carte
This too was a great restaurant. We had a choice of salad, soup (tomato and corn), main meal (chicken or steak) and desert (coconut ice-cream or banana split). Again you have a choice of red/white/rose wine.

Snack bar
The snack bar offers hamburgers and hotdogs at all times. These are precooked and are not the most appetizing. During lunch and supper hours, you can ask them to make you a steak or chicken sandwich.

Bar:
The resort has 1 bar close to the beach between the restaurants. The bar opens at 10AM and stays open until 10PM. The bar is well stocked and the bar tenders are fairly knowledgeable. The only negative is the service delay. Often the bar was manned with 1 person and there were 5-10 customers waiting (I once had to wait 24 minutes to get my drinks so bring a big glass).

Beach:
The beach was amazing. The water is crystal clear and the sand is white like flour. No seaweed, no rocks and nice delightful waves. The water temperature was a pleasant 25-28 degrees.

The sun here is scorching hot and it you want a sun-umbrella get ready to pay. The local activity center rents umbrella’s for 5 BBD per day. It may be more economic to buy one and bring it with you.

The beach is public and locals do use it often. You will find at least 2 sales booths plus a couple of passing merchants selling everything from clothes to Aloe. You will also notice that there are a lot of parked boats in the swimming area (at one time there were as many as 8 parked). It was a little annoying when local tour operators parked their boats 10 feet from the short in the middle of the swimming area trying to get customers. A couple almost hit swimmers when they were passing by.

If you want resort provided beach towels, you have to get towel cards from the reception. The hotel requires a credit card guarantee in case the towels are not returned (they destroy the credit card slip at check-out). You handover the cards to the activities center and they will give you towels. You may change your towels as often as you want and trade them in for towel cards before check-out.

Entertainment:
The resort does not have any entertainment beyond loud music played at the restaurants. If you want to explore the nightlife, walk out of the resort, cross the street and then go right. You will pass a police station then you will see an area on your right called “St-Laurent GAP”. This is a small strip with bars and restaurants. It is a 6 minute walk.

Scuba:
Scuba diving at the resort is very expensive (120USD per dive). You could get better rates dealing with the PADI dive center at St-Laurent GAP.

Conclusion:
This is a great resort for those not looking for luxury. It offers clean rooms, great food and a wonderful beach. If you want a calm/no-wave beach then choose a resort on the west side of the island. Shop around as prices for this resort will vary greatly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube