Catalina Apartotel Reviews

Home page > Costa Rica > Costa Rica Hotel Index > Catalina Apartotel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Costa Rica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Clarita's Beach Hotel

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2007

Apart Hotel Roma

4.5 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 6, 2010

Caravan Tours

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2008

Allegro Papagayo by Occidental

3.7 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 22, 2011

El Cocal Hotel & Casino

3.5 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2006

Tranquillity Hill Boutique Hotel

2.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 13, 2013

Catalina Apartotel  

HOTEL CATALINA, BEACHFRONT, PLAYA JACO.

"The place feels more like a B&B than a hotel"
Posted by: Ted from Sacramento, California on Feb 1, 2006
see all reviews

Catalina Apartotel Reviews
Catalina Apartotel Pictures and Information
Catalina Apartotel Costa Rica Costa Rica

#16
of 28 Hotels in Costa Rica

User rating 5.0

Based on 1 reviews

Catalina Apartotel Information


We have clean fresh rooms. Half the rooms are set back from the beach for tranquility, the other half are 20 - 40 paces from the beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Catalina Apartotel Reviews

Catalina Apartotel Review: 5.0 of 5 1 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business
Leisure
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 1 of 1

"The place feels more like a B&B than a hotel"

Catalina Apartotel
User Rating:  Catalina Apartotel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ted from Sacramento, California  on Feb 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2006
271 people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Catalina Apartotel for a week in early February. It was everything everyone says it is: simple, quiet, clean, and friendly.

Rooms: Almost Spartan. Beds, chest, a couple of stools, and a small kitchen. The beds were comfortable. A chair would have been nice. (There were two chairs on the patio but none in the room.) The bathroom was small and the shower was so-so, but I have never stayed in a cleaner room. The maid service is amazing. An overhead fan is plenty to keep cool at night. The upstairs rooms have AC but we did not need it.

Management: Naomi and her mother, Sandra, are the most wonderful of hosts. The place feels more like a B&B than a hotel. (Dino, the dog, and Kitty, the cat, also go out of their way to make you feel wanted.) After experiencing their hospitality, I have no trouble believing that half their visitors are repeat customers. We would certainly stay there again.

The Beach: Just across the narrow dirt road that fronts the hotel is a big, wide, flat beach. The sand is dark, coarse, and sticky. It is much better for long walks than for lying on. The beach is so flat that the distance from high to low tide is about 100 meters. There is some surfing on the beach but it isnt very good. The break tends to be up and over with very little forward drive. Needless to say, the water is nice and warm.

Food: There are lots of great places to eat in Jaco, a fifteen minute walk along the beach. In the immediate vicinity are a wonderful creperie (50 meters down the beach), a great little pizza shop (5 minute walk), and a typical Costa Rican soda (same distance). You can get a decent meal at any of them for $3 or $4. There is also a small grocery near the pizza shop.

Tours: We did the Canopy zip-line tour that is about 10 minutes walk from the Catalina. Great fun! Thirteen platforms with 12 cables. The price was a bit much at $55. We also went to Carara National Reserve with a guide but the animals were smarter than we were and spent a very hot afternoon snoozing out of sight. We took an all day tour to Manual Antonio National Park. It is a beautiful place but one that is being loved to death. The place is overcrowded with about 100 hotels built right on its edge. Sad but beautiful. This one cost $64. There is also a lot of horseback riding in the area and fishing trips for those so inclined.

I would recommend the Catalina to anyone who prefers quiet and simple to big and luxurious.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube