Capitan Suizo Reviews

Home page > Costa Rica > Costa Rica Hotel Index > Capitan Suizo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Costa Rica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Copacabana Hotel & Suites

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 14, 2011

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 12, 2010

Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Langosta Beach

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 2, 2011

Barcelo Tambor Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 13, 2011

Playa Negra Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2009

Capitan Suizo  

Playa Tamarindo | 2 miles from the local Airport in Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5159, Costa Rica

"Everyone was friendly and the rooms were very clean."
Posted by: John and family of 4 from Wilmington, NC on Aug 1, 2005
see all reviews

Capitan Suizo Reviews
Capitan Suizo Pictures and Information
Capitan Suizo Costa Rica Costa Rica

#12
of 28 Hotels in Costa Rica

User rating 4.0

Based on 2 reviews

Capitan Suizo Information


At the open-air restaurant and bar, savory meals and refreshing drinks are served in this informal, inviting ambiance.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Capitan Suizo Reviews

Capitan Suizo Review: 4.0 of 5 2 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business
Leisure
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 2 of 2

"We were greeted very warmly by the staff."

Capitan Suizo
User Rating:  Capitan Suizo Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Maldonado's from Texas  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2005
270 people found this review helpful

Flying into Liberia, Costa Rica is the best route to go not only in location to resort but also getting in/out of customs. It was a breeze. Resort is located about an hour from airport. Tamarindo Beach is a small surfer town. April may not be the best month to visit as the heat was almost unbearable. On the up side, no mosquitoes.

We were greeted very warmly by the staff. We chose to stay in a bungalow. They are quite large in size, excellent patio areas and although it has an inside bath & shower, we chose to use our outside shower all week. The pool here is really large and resort is located right on beach.

Rosa (Tour Desk) is extremely efficient and a nice lady. Four months before visiting we had already scheduled our sport fishing tour since this is prime fishing area. Capulla is who we went through - chartered a 36 ft. Topaz. Caught fish right away - including a big 4 ft long Dorado who put up quite a fight. Staff was very accomodating and filleted the fish and packed on ice. German chef at resort did fabulous job of preparing it for us for dinner.

Canopy Tour - we went to the newest one that opened about 30 min. outside town - Cartahena Canopy. I tried to chicken out once we climbed the first tree but the guide said I would regret it and he was certainly right. As we zipped from tree to tree - I never wanted the tour to end. This is a must!

High Tide is who we went through for an ATV tour. You'll want to do this as well to see some of the country side. You end up on a bluff overlooking the whole area. Rigo, the guide, was a real sweet kid.

The resort restaurant serves good food. However we had a difficult time finding lunch options outside the resort that we liked. The day before we left we walked down the dirt road by the hotel, headed back toward town and on the right side of the road is a place with a Taco Stop sign. Wish we'd found it earlier - their tacos (nothing like in US) were fabulous.

This is important - due to the remote location of this town - they don't have access to malls as we do here in the US. Three months before our trip I shipped 2 large boxes of childrens clothes and toys. The shipping cost was outrageous, it took almost 3 months to get through customs and someone from the resort had to drive a distance to get them. I would encourage any of you who can afford this to please bring a 2nd suit case filled with new items for the kids. The resort staff couldn't stress how much this was appreciated as the kids have so little there and we are so blessed. Now, go get a pencil and write this down: Jorge Espinoza is the awesome guy they have in reservations. You can't meet him without liking him immediately. He will go out of his way to make sure all your reservations and transportation are taken care of before you arrive. We took a special gift bag for him filled with different items from our area with logo on it. I also included a box of Lindt Lindor Truffles - white chocolate balls. You can find these in the special candy section in Wal-Mart or possibly your grocery store. Grab as many of those as you can afford to carry on with you (they would melt if you pack in suit case) and take to him. He couldn't get over how good they were and it would be a nice gesture. When you get back and do your review - please keep this going so he's stocked with those. Tell everyone the Maldonado's from Texas send their regards and have a nice trip yourself. Oh! one more thing - we've never traveled anywhere else that we felt so safe and the local people were so friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everyone was friendly and the rooms were very clean."

Capitan Suizo
User Rating:  Capitan Suizo Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  John and family of 4 from Wilmington, NC  on Aug 1, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2005
242 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Capitan Suizo for 5 days during our 9 day visit to Costa Rica. We did find the hotel to be a garden setting with a large pool and short walk to the beach. Everyone was friendly and the rooms were very clean. There is internet service, but only one terminal, so its hit or miss getting air time. The second level rooms have a nice balcony, but do not have air conditioning or a TV. We found this to be a real problem for us as it gets very hot and humid in the afternoon and evenings plus not having a TV can create some boring moments, especially with kids. The first floor units do have AC, so I would demand one of them if you want to stay there. The ceiling fans just don't cut it. We also had a few bug visits, but nothing that shocked us, as we came with warnings about that. The walk into Tamarindo is about 15 minutes over dirt roads. There are some good restaurants (Geicko's, Happy Days, Taco Stop). The town itself is not really for a family vacation. It is full of dirty, muddy roads with little to do. The Beach at Capitan Suizo is not good at all for snorkeling and there are a lot of rocks just below the water surface. Be sure to locate them at low tide for your safety. We found a lovely beach at Playa Conchal for both snorkeling and swimming. We also chartered a boat for 5 hours for $250 which was a highlight as we love to snorkel. We also did a horseback ride trip, prepared by a local by the name of Mario (your hotel staff will know of him), which was terrific. I would not go back to this hotel due to location (wanted snorkeling beach...go to Conchal), Town (not for family) and lack of AC. I would rate it 2 star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube