Barcelo Langosta Beach Reviews

Home page > Costa Rica > Costa Rica Hotel Index > Barcelo Langosta Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Costa Rica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Copacabana Hotel & Suites

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 14, 2011

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort

4.8 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 12, 2010

Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Tambor Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 13, 2011

Capitan Suizo

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2005

Playa Negra Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2009

Barcelo Langosta Beach  

UR GUANACASTE - EL ROBLEDAL - LA URUCA, 458-1150, Costa Rica

"Air Canada Vacations NOT the tour company they used to be!"
Posted by: val  on Sep 2, 2011
see all reviews

Barcelo Langosta Beach Reviews
Barcelo Langosta Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Langosta Beach Costa Rica Costa Rica

#6
of 28 Hotels in Costa Rica

User rating 4.3

Based on 7 reviews

Barcelo Langosta Beach Information


A tropical heaven awaits you at the Barceló Langosta Beach in Tamarindo , Costa Rica . Situated on dazzling Playa Langosta, the crystal waters of Barceló Langosta Beach offer guests a sanctuary to renew their souls while delighting in the natural surroundings at our hotel.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Langosta Beach Reviews

Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.3 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
With friend
1 - 7 of 7

"Air Canada Vacations NOT the tour company they used to be!"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  val  on Sep 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
263 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barcelo Langosta in Tamarindo and for the first 4 days prior to our accident we had a wonderful time. The resort is a bit smaller and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was quite good (buffet style) with one a la carte. The buffet was so good we ate there all of the time. Later in the afternoons occaisionally monkeys would work their way into trees around the resort and provide entertainment. The resort is about a 10-15min walk via the road to the town of Tamarindo. Taxis are about $5. Costa Rica is so beautiful and lots to do. The excursions to the rainforest are mostly all day tours with lots to see along the way (monkeys, tucans, sort of ring-tailed raccoons, flora, fauna and much, much more).

We purchased an all day tour from the air canada vacations representative at our hotel to go to the Arenal volcano area, do zip lining, hot springs and an evening meal at the base of the volcano. The zip line was in the rain forest and with drenching rains our equipment got wet, my braking glove failed and I slammed into the end and ripped open my lower leg on some piece of metal. Just prior to this a man in our group also slammed into the end, but seemed uninjured so we continued. With no medical supplies at any platform, I was eventually air lifted to San Jose hospital and spent 3 days there before returning to the hotel. I cannot thank the doctors & staff at the Clinica Biblica Hospital enough for the great surgery they performed on my leg and the care the staff gave me. I have full use of my leg which was a concern at the time. The tour company supported us until we returned to Canada.

After returning to Canada we notified air canada vacations customer relations of the accident. Finally after 4 months “customer relations” quoted us “Although we attempt our best to deal with the most reputable suppliers, we are not responsible for their acts and omissions” and therefore would give us no compensation. Legally I guess they have no obligation, but you would think morally they would want a positive customer experience and provide some sort of assistance. We did sign a waiver at the base of the hill before ziplining, however, they assured us it was completely safe. They said there was a secondary brake to stop us if our braking glove failed…NOT true. I am now left with a disfigured leg as a reminder.

air canada vacations is NOT the elite tour company it used to be. For one, our room was not as favourable as people who were with Nolitours. And two, to not even refund our excursion money can only lead me to believe they must be going thru some sort of cashflow problem or are just plain “merciless”.

Snowshoo.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time in Costa Rica - had a great vacation"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maryka  on Aug 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
256 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
9202

Arrival:
We stayed at Barcelo Langosta from Feb. 14 through 28, 2011. My husband and I travelled with another couple. We all loved our vacation. We have stayed at all-inclusives in Punta Cana, Puerto Plata and Bayahibe in Dominican Republic and in Cayo Coco and Varadero, Cuba, but this was our first trip to Costa Rica.

The resort is small enough that it is never crowded. Lots of loungers available around the pool and on the beach – the beach ones were much less comfortable. Other than the chairs, we loved sitting on the beach under the trees, watching the local surfers and the birds – pelicans, frigate birds and some kind of black vultures who ate the scraps the local fishermen left. There was also plenty of wildlife on the resort – several big iguanas who would pose for photos each morning, coatis (local raccoons) and 10 – 15 howler monkeys in the trees around the pool a few times each week.

Staff at the front desk were not very friendly or helpful and seemed to have virtually no English speaking ability. I only mention this because other staff we encountered – wait staff, maids – had fairly good English. It seems odd that the resort would place the people with the least English ability in the positions that require the most customer service. I did notice that when we attempted to use our sparse Spanish, the front desk staff became much friendlier (and their English improved!) All other staff were extremely friendly, and any greeting we offered - Hola; Buenos Dias - was received with a huge smile and a cheerful response.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 9202 – very close to everything like the pool and buffet. Our room faced the ocean, although we didn’t get much of an ocean view since they do not trim the foliage. We often saw monkeys and birds in the trees outside our room. The room was kept relatively clean – not dirty but not spotless, especially the floor. Hot water was plentiful and water pressure good. There was an adequate supply of towels daily. The bed was very comfortable. There is no charge for the in-room safe.

This resort is quite eco-friendly. There are recycling bins around the resort, you let them know when you want your towels changed, and the drinks at the bars are served in reusable plastic cups instead of disposable ones. We brought our own insulated mugs, which they were happy to refill. There were ice machines and water coolers in the hallways and at the bars.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was small but the selection was good. The food was always well prepared and kept at the proper temperature. We visited the grill station in the far corner every day to see what they had to offer – eggs cooked to order for breakfast (and if you found the bacon a little underdone at the buffet they would cook it more for you), freshly grilled pork, beef and/or chicken at lunch and dinner, and often a carvery of some sort – ham, roast beef, ribs, chicken. There was an abundance of beautiful fresh fruit at every meal – bananas, pineapple, mango, papaya, oranges, grapefruit, etc. Also a plentiful salad bar and very good ice cream at lunch and dinner.

There is only one a-la-carte restaurant, but it is very pleasant – quiet, good food beautifully presented, and great service. You are only permitted one visit to the a-la-carte per week, which is a shame. There is a live band performing at the pool bar from 1:00 to 3:00 every afternoon and at the lobby bar in the evenings.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is great for sitting and watching the wildlife and the surfers, but is not a swimming beach – too rocky and rough. It is also great for walking. If you turn to the right when facing the ocean you can walk to the town of Tamarindo. It takes about 40 minutes (at a slow stroll) and it can be a very hot trip. We walked to town and then took a taxi back to the hotel for $5 US.

The weather was outstanding. It was 25 to 30 degrees during the day and almost always sunny. There was one brief shower during the day during our two weeks there, and occasionally it would rain overnight.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
One downside was the distance from this resort to the major attractions such as Monte Verde or Arenal volcano. The bus trip to get there is 4 to 4 1/2 hours each way. We didn’t want to spend 9 hours on a bus so did not get to see those. I did go zip-lining at a location that was less than an hour’s bus ride from the resort. $45 per person and well worth it. They take photos and videos of the guests during the zip-pining and you can buy a DVD when you are done, which makes a great souvenir. We also went on a half-day tour/boat ride in Palo Verde National Park - $65 per person – and on the Blue Dolphin Sunset snorkelling trip (I forget the price of that one). I would recommend any or all of these excursions. We purchased all trips for the TAM Travel desk off the main lobby. Service was great. On the other hand, our Noli Tours rep (Daniel) was pretty much useless. He tried hard to sell us on their excursions, but couldn’t provide any information about them other than the price, and he was very rarely available.

Other Comments:
Internet service is quite expensive. You can use their internet cafe for $10 US for one hour of service, or can purchase wireless service by the day - $10 for a day, $25 for 3 days. However, the wireless service seemed to never be available until late morning, and the signal was only available in the lobby or around the pool – not in the rooms.

Overall the resort met and exceeded our expectations. We would certainly recommend the Barcelo Langosta, but likely won’t return because we want to see other areas of this beautiful country.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mucho Gusta"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
351 people found this review helpful

We travelled with 12 in our group, and there was no problem sittng together for meals etc. This is a smaller resort, so less people. Which is great for getting a lounge chair by the pool.

Your Arrival:
We flew out of Toronto straight to Liberia non-stop with Sun-Wing. The first thing you notice is the heat when you get off the plane. It was great to get off the plane. The bus ride to the resort was good with a stop at a little store for beer. The streets and roads are a little narrower than what we are used to, which makes it exciting for some.

Rooms:
We had a room facing the ocean, awesome for sunsets and coffee in the morning.
The room it self was very roomy with a king size bed and big washroom. No complaints on the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was good the whole stay, lots of sea food, chicken and beef. Great variety every meal. The al-a-cart was very classy, you are only allowed one free visit there during you stay. Other wise, you have to pay. It seems that only some guests are told that when checking in. I guess it depends who is working behind the counter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was okay during the first part of the week, but later on the water was becoming more green. They said it was the high mineral content in the water. But I wonder if someone goofed up with the chemicals. There is a kiidie pool and a big jacuzzi type pool but water was no hotter than the others.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the all day excursion with CAT tours. Well worth it. Ziplines,horseback
riding,mud baths. Bring you own drinks for the bus ride because they don't provide anything while travelling.
Sunset catamaran was excellent well worth it.

Other Comments:
While you are there watch out for the raccons. yeah, racoons. They are everywhere. In the morning, the garbage cans will be tipped over with garbage spread all over. Too bad they can't trap them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Penny  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
340 people found this review helpful

We can't say enough about the beauty of this property....a real garden of Eden
Staff were friendly and eager to please and so proud of their Country.

Your Arrival:
Even though our plane was 3 hours late and we arrived after midnight, check in was friendly and efficient.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and spacious. Bar fridge full of comp soda and water...ample towels and a big seashell full of extra toiletries.

Restaurants and Bars:
Only 1 main buffet on property but food was plentiful, varied and always so fresh.
Pool bar had small buffet of snack things and those famous chicken wings as well as coffee and tea service and even breads and pastries.
We had a lovely meal at the a'la carte restaurant. Food was prepared with care and service was friendly and relaxed but made one feel very pampered.
Bar servers were friendly and courteous...happy just to give out glasses of ice on request.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Only 1 large pool which was the centre of everything on the resort. Lots of lounges in sun or shade and lots of room to move them to suit. Grounds were beautifully kept....added bonus was all the wildlife wandering the grounds and even by the pool....iguanas, raccoons, monkeys, aramdillos, lizards and resident cats who were fed by many.
Beach was definitely a surfers beach so unless you are an excellent ocean swimmer stick to the pool for serious swimming....lots of fun at the edge of the ocean nevertheless. There are sun lounges you can drag out to the beach and some shade under trees farther back but no palapas out here as tide comes up the beach too far a couple times a day. Beach volleyball held before tide gets too high each day. If you really want to ocean swim, just walk about 20 minutes up the beach toward Tamarindo and there is a lovely sand beach there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities around the pool during the day led by a very enthusiastic young animation team.
The same team does a program for kids in the theatre at night and then an adult show afterward.

Other Comments:
While the "adult" portion of the evening show might have been enjoyable by some, that was the only thing we absolutely did not like at the resort. There was no real entertainment. Just the same young animation staff with very loud music and games....got old real fast!
There is so much local talent, the resort should look at hiring some musicians or entertainers from the local area, at least a couple of times per week. Overall though, this was a wonderful resort and one we will definitely return to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most Enjoyable"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donna  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
345 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday at the Barcelo Playa Langosta. We were greeted by an efficient front desk clerk and check-in was a breeze. We had a room in the 9000 block closest to the pool. It was a quiet, clean, comfortable room. The staff were all very friendly from the gardeners to the bartenders. "Pura Vida" was a common greeting by all. The food was very good, probably the best we have had at an all-inclusive. Rondulfo is the supervisor of the restaurant and bars and does a great job of making visitors feel welcome. The pool and grounds are clean and well groomed. We did not use the Spa or gym.

Your Arrival:
Arrived at the hotel and got our room immediately.

Rooms:
We had a king sized bed that was very comfortable. The room was cleaned each day and the small fridge restocked with pop and bottled water. There were no face clothes, but that is common in hotels in Costa Rica and Cuba. I always bring my own. The maid was able to restock fresh towels each morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was very good! Varied and appetizing food at every meal. They had
a nice variety of foods including some typical of Costa Rica. They also had familiar food for the less daring. They often had a cook making individual servings to your taste eg. tacos, eggs, pasta. We ate at the a la carte once. One visit is included in the all-inclusive price. It was very good.
The poolside snackbar was great. It had typical fattening fries, chicken and pizza, but also had fresh fruit and salad fixin's. The bartenders were very efficient and friendly. They often remembered exactly what you were drinking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was easily accessed by the pool. Nice sandy beach, but a bit rocky just in front of the hotel. Body surfing can be done just to the left of the hotel. The pool was very clean. There were lots of lounge chairs that were either new or close to. There were also a fair number of chairs under palapas near the bar. It was nice to have some shade.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on three outings that we purchased from Frank at the activity desk near the pool. The snorkeling trip was very enjoyable. It was a family business and the teen children were our guides. It felt like a family outing and was worth every penny. The other that I really enjoyed was kayaking up the estuary that is just to the South of the hotel. It was a cheap outing and I appreciated having the guide along.(Martin) The estuary winds about and is possible to get lost. There were also poolside activities that we enjoyed, mainly the Bingo.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this hotel and would love to return to it. We had a very nice holiday and met some special people there. I am trying to learn Spanish and the staff were very good about letting me practice with them. I am a firm believer in trying to learn at least a few words of greeting in the native language. Many of the staff speak mainly Spanish, and that is as it should be.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Family Vacation Ever"

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lexi  on Jan 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
355 people found this review helpful

We spent December 23-30 at the Barcelo Langosta Beach property in Costa Rica (my wife, I and our three children – 19, 17, 15). We are all agreed it was one if not the best holiday we have ever taken, and we typically take at least one holiday trip a year. The magement and staff of the Langosta hotel were uniformly great. The rooms were great value, very comfortable and quiet, we slept well. Maid service was excellent. The food was excellent and varied and the band in the afternoon and evening was first rate. Good selection of drinks of all types and cheerful, efficient servers. Great pool and incredible beach with very few people yet an easy walk into town. Lots of lounge chairs around the pool so no need to get up early to reserve, and if you lose a towel it is replaced at no cost. It does not get any better, and I travel a lot on business (e.g., I am a Star Alliance Gold and have been for over 20 years). I really cannot find anything negative to say about the hotel or our stay.

Your Arrival:
Easy and friendly check-in, rooms ready and waiting. Just in time for a great dinner.

Rooms:
Rooms had everything you would need, were spacious, clean and quiet.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent food of good quality and variety. Good selection of liquors and simple as well as mixed drinks. Wonderful, friendly serving staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful grounds, we say monkeys, an igauna, an armadillo and Northern racoons in the evening looking for food in the most unusual places - cute and not dangerous

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Kayaking up the estuary with a staff member. Lindsey of Igauna Surf in the hut by the pool provides good service and prices for tours. We did the local estuary and snorkeling tours and loved them and rented a surfboard from her. Less positive about the turtle tour - we did see a leatherback turtle on the beach, but at 0200 and this tour is run by the govt so disorganized, be warned. Did not do longer tours, some of which involved hours of driving - check on the length of any tours you book.

Other Comments:
Beach vendors just outside the resort are expensive, buy in town or even at the airport - better quality and lower prices.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The nightly entertainment to be perfectly honest it "Sucked""

Barcelo Langosta Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Langosta Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry from Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
294 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 15 Jan-22 Jan 09
Traveled via Air Canada nice flight but had to pay for meals.
Customs was a breeze Met at airport by air condtioned bus.. Check in at resort very smooth & quick. Staff at main desk very helpful.

Rooms: Very nice, stayed in 9100 block Near to main building, bar & pool.
Had a ground floor room..Howler monkeys outside..wife took lots of pictures

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants & bars very clean food was good & varied. Chicken at pool bar was superb. Had dinner at new Restaurant (payed) service & meal were top notch. Service at all locations was great..all employees very friendly & helpful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Again all were very clean & well maintained...beach was swept in the evening Seemed there was always someone cleaning & straightening up around the pool area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on canopy tour...what a blast. the first hop was a bit frightening for me but all the rest I really enjoyed. My wife even took one hop upside down.
Well worth the money. Rented a car with GPS one day & toured the area saw lots of interesting things. Went on River boat tour, saw lots of wildlife.

Other Comments:
All in all I'd rate this resort at 3.5-4 stars..bear in mind the resort was only about 1/3 full... The recession has taken its toll on tourism here also.
Tamarindo has a lot of construction but it too has slowed down. My wife & I had learned a bit of spanish before going & the staff helped us learn quite bit more...now I can order drinks & find the bathroom quite easily LOL A lot of money has been spent on this resort recently & it really shows...the new auditorium , Spa, & new restaurant are really quite something. We didn't get into the newest block of rooms but from all accounts they are very nice too. The only thing we found fault with was the nightly entertainment to be perfectly honest it "Sucked" They have a great stage & auditorium as I mentioned. & it is being wasted. We showed up for one show at the appointed hour of 9:15 & at 9:45 nobody had showed up so we left. We'd go back to Costa Rica in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube