Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Costa Rica > Costa Rica Hotel Index > Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Costa Rica Hotels with Similar Ranking

Copacabana Hotel & Suites

5.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 14, 2011

Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

4.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Langosta Beach

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 2, 2011

Barcelo Tambor Beach

4.2 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 13, 2011

Capitan Suizo

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2005

Playa Negra Hotel

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2009

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort  

P.O. Box:12169-1000, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica

"STAY AT THE HOTEL OR RENT AN OWNER UNIT,BUT DO NOT BUY A TIMESHARE -RIPOFF!"
Posted by: mark  on Mar 12, 2010
see all reviews

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Reviews
Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Costa Rica Costa Rica

#8
of 28 Hotels in Costa Rica

User rating 4.8

Based on 4 reviews

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Information


At Villas Sol, every one of our guests is a VIP. Treat yourself to a vacation without having to worry about cooking, entertaining the kids, or things to do while you’re out on vacation. Let us cater to your every need.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Reviews

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 4.8 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (1)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 4

"STAY AT THE HOTEL OR RENT AN OWNER UNIT,BUT DO NOT BUY A TIMESHARE -RIPOFF!"

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  mark  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
388 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villas sol about a 2 years ago,and ended up buying into their timeshare which was partnered with RCI exchange. We were told of the fantastic travel deals that would be ours when we became an 'owner' at this '5star Gold Crown resort'. The BIGGEST SCAM I have seen in my 50 years.So many horror stories ,I don't even know where to start,but the bottom line is ,we lost well over $10,000 with these thieves,never got a single vacation or trip or cruise or anything else they promised.And the cost of suing them from the US is not worth the risk and attorneys fees. Email me @ premiergroup@clear.net for more information.

Other Comments:
DO NOT PURCHASE A TIMESHARE ,THIEVES,LIARS,CON ARTISTS,CROOKS,I HAVE NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT THESE 'PEOPLE' !!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is clean and quite nice"

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  George  on Feb 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
395 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb. 2009 We arrived at our resort the second week of February.

Rooms: The rooms were clean and spacious with a ghood view of the harbour.

Restaurants and Bars: The staff was very attentive and the food was quite good and varied.

Beach/Pools/Grounds: The beach is clean and quite nice. The pools are lovely with a bar readily available.

Other Comments: We participated in the Vacation Package seminar. This was a big mistake. As the Sales team was not truthful in their presentation. Of course we did not learn of their misrepresentation until after we signed up. My advice is to stay clear of this area or you will be riped off. We have participated in a number resort sales promotions and thought we were reasonably astute. But got taken. So be vary cautious and give careful consideration before you sign on the dotted line.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy Costa Rica."

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  kahy  on Jan 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2006
383 people found this review helpful

Food here was very flavorful, not too hot and spicy. Lots of flavor though, nothing bland about it. No it is not a five star resort with two buffets and five a la cartes. But the food at the buffet was always a bit above average. The soups were always excellent. Fruit was great pineapple in particular. If you ever do get tired of the food great inexpensive chicken, pizza, escargot and cold beer etc at Pizza Love on the beach. Also for something different at night Ginger’s closed Monday evenings, kind of an Asian influence appetizer menu, very unique in this tropical setting. Rooms are plain but quite nice considering it is a three star hotel. All I saw were clean. Villas seemed to be not as maintained as the hotel rooms. New pool area is gorgeous, although they do need more deck chairs at both the pool and also at the beach. People here were extremely welcoming. Very honestly glad you came to visit their country. We were lucky enough to be in the country when it was time for their festivals, which include bull riding. We follow the rodeo here in Canada. So for us it was a great opportunity. We went to a neighboring town, can't remember name of it. Went to the bull riding. Every single person we recognized from the hotel came over and said hello and introduced us to their spouses and children. The tour driver we used for one tour we took through Mike Mills made us feel exceptionally welcome at this event. I am quite sure we were the only tourists at this event, and only felt very welcomed by all the people there. Bottom line food is good, rooms are OK, but the staff there makes the stay there great. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy Costa Rica. Just keep in mind it is rated as a three star, personally I would give it a solid four as for what they lack in fanciness they make up for in their welcoming attitude. Lots to do in the area, we used a guy named Micheal Mills to book all of tours through. Definitely one of our better choices. Unique, personal approach to your trip and his company will pick you up right at the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleased with our choice"

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Apr 1, 2006  >  8 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2006
396 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort 4/22 – 4/29/06. It was our second stay at this resort – our previous stay was in December 2004. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before my visit, and overall, I was very pleased with our choice. We stayed in the hotel section under ‘all inclusive’ plan, which also includes any/all drinks.. The views from all rooms overlook the Pacific and are great. The room was basic 3 star. The bed was reasonably comfortable, the floors are all tile, and the room was cleaned each day. The only complaint I had, and many other people had was the room air conditioning – it simply was inadequate for the heat during April – high temperatures were often in the mid to high 90’s. The rooms all use a common water system, which I do not think is adequately sized. The cooling fan in the room ran the entire time we were at the resort. It would have been helpful if the rooms at least had a ceiling fan. Note that we did not have this issue during our stay in December 2004 when the temperature is cooler. Grounds were well maintained. Service at the resort is excellent – everyone seemed to be trying hard to please. Food overall was very good – as buffets go. Along with the normal buffet, there was a waffle/omelet station each morning. The evening meals had 3 meat selections, a soup, vegetables, a salad bar, and a basic dessert table along with a specialty station with some type of cook to order feature. We did not eat lunch at the resort – we were out every day. The resort sits on the side of a hill overlooking the Pacific. The walk to the beach is difficult, but there is an open courtesy vehicle running frequently to the beach from early morning to fairly late at night. The beach – Playa Hermosa is OK – the sand is dark, and very hot during the day!. The waves were never dangerous, and the water temperature was around 82. We drove about 2 hrs south to Tamarindo for a day visit, and the beach there is much better. We booked our trip as a package thru Vacation Express online. In talking with other people at the resort, we could have saved a few $ if we had booked using faredeals.com to book the same Vacation Express package – strange they were cheaper than Vacation Express directly. We did not eat at any of the Playa Hermosa area local restaurants, and we did not eat at the Villas Sol sit down restaurant. Villas Sol has some free things available, including a 2 hr boat ride. I believe the boat ride is only on Sundays and Tuesdays. You are able to to book these only on the day of the excursion - book down by the main pool (they have a nice pool area) starting at 8am, first come first served. I agree with taking a stack of $1’s to tip with – the service is always good, but they do seem to appreciate a few bucks now and then for a tip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Try Costa Rica; you will love it!"

Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort
User Rating:  Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on May 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: May, 2006
419 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Villas Sol for 2 weeks and have nothing but good things to say about the entire holiday. Our only complaint was that we found it be a bit too hot in the afternoon and that is really a ridiculous thing to complain about, isn't it. Each couple had their own villa and we found ours to be quite accommodating, although there were no shades on the windows and I think if there had been, the air conditioner would not have to run overtime . The Villa was very well stocked for people not using the all inclusive but our package included everything. We loved the food at the restaurant and did go to the A La Carte restaurant twice , and found the meals quite delicious. As others have mentioned what was served at the buffet. I wont go onto detail; other than to say it was all very good; lots of choices and we didn't get sick once while we were there . That in itself is a great piece of news as we have travelled throughout the southern area and have had a few bouts of "tourista " in the odd country.

We took several tours while there , all which were arranged before we left Canada through Michael Mills and Allegro Tours. The tours included Miravalle Falls , Monteverde Cloud Forest, Palo Verde River and a Snorkelling tour. Each one of the tours was really great and we did learn a great deal of information from Carlos,our guide . We were so pleased that we had arranged the tours with this company as they used a smaller touring van, with great airconditioning and a very good driver at the wheel . They always picked us up at the hotel and were never late . The Snorkelling tour was super , although we did not see a lot of fish, but the ride itself was supurb in a classic old sailboat with Captain John at the helm. We sailed to a secluded bay where we hit the water for an hour and then had a very tasty lunch . Once we were out in the open water again, the sail were unfurled and we had a jolly old time hitting the waves. On the Miravalle Falls tour , we learned the art of Zip lining and although a bit dubious at first, I can say I thoroughly loved it once that first zip line was conquered . ( and I am a "young senior" ) It was a holiday that was as educational as it was enjoyable . The Tico's are warm and friendly people and it was a pleasure to meet them. The accomodations were just fine, the food was great , the tours were excellent and I would say it was a trip worth a million words, all of which I can't put into this review. Try Costa Rica; you will love it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube