Club Amigo Mayanabo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Club Amigo Mayanabo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Santa Lucia Hotels with Similar Ranking

Cubanacan Gran Club Santa Lucia

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Club Amigo Caracol

4.2 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 10, 2014

Club Amigo Mayanabo  

Playa Santa LucŪa, Nuevitas, CamagŁey, Cuba

"Simply great"
Posted by: Wayne on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Amigo Mayanabo Reviews
Club Amigo Mayanabo Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Mayanabo Playa Santa Lucia Cuba

#4
of 4 Hotels in Playa Santa Lucia

User rating 4.3

Based on 10 reviews

Club Amigo Mayanabo Information


The 3 star hotel, Club Amigo Mayanabo, is located in Santa Lucia. The hotel that especially appeals to families and people who enjoy scuba diving, is surrounded by lush vegetation and benefits from the coral reef off the coast with beautiful multicolored fish and old sunken ships. You can marvel at the pink flamingos that live at the nearby lagoon. The 225 rooms offer an ocean or garden view as well as facilities like air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Mayanabo Reviews

Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 4.3 of 5 10 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  3
Average
  2
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
Solo
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 10 of 10

"Simply great"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Nov 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
7 people found this review helpful

There are hotels that are worth visiting. Hotel Club Amigo Mayanabo is definitely one of the hotels that everyone should consider to visit. The first time I visit this hotel was two years ago, and I still come back. I already suggested this hotel to my friends and those who were there are more than satisfied with this hotel. The time I had at this place canít be described by words, only the ones who were there knows what Iím talking about. The first time I stayed at Club Amigo Mayanabo I was traveling with my family. In the room you can find two twin size beds, very big and comfortable. There is an air conditioner in the room, and the first time I tried to cool the room, I noticed that the air conditioner was not working. I immediately called the receptionist and he called an electrician which solved our problem very quickly. After that we had no problems with air conditioner. The telephone was working and we only used it if we want to order some snacks. There was satellite TV and the kids were watching cartoons every time we were in our room. The bathroom was very clean and we had hot water through the whole day, so taking a shower was not a problem at all. The balcony was big enough for us, and it had an amazing view over the hotel pool. The hotel pool was just outside the hotel, and it was full with warm and clear water. Another thing that was really fantastic, itís their food. The restaurant serves a great meal, and they are really improving since I was there for the first time. The coffee and snack bar, is something that the visitors should not avoid at all. You can try some Cuban coffee, or eat something sweet like chocolate. If you like to drink something, then I recommend you the bar where you can try some of their best cocktails. The beach was very close to the hotel, and it is very nice. We must thank the staff who works at Club Amigo Mayanabo, who made our journey even better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"amazing staff i met"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  diana  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
19 people found this review helpful

The staff was amazing at the Club Amigo Mayanabo Hotel; they were so nice right from the beginning, from when I arrived until I left. Check in was fast and efficient and didnít take much of my time. The place is located near the beach which makes the environment even cozier than I expected, I love beach front hotels, and they give a special kind of feeling to hotels. They gave me a very warm welcome and I appreciated it, the place is really homely. It was during my stay here for some days that I met some genuine Cuban friends who helped show me around with the help of the staff as well, these new friends made visiting Cuba worth it. I love the sea food restaurant that was opened recently, the dishes there was amazing and very delicious. It is an inexpensive resort for those who are looking for a place to spend their vacation, a place where you can still get quality service, clean rooms, nice and descent beds and good food for a not so expensive price. Let me seize this opportunity to give a shout out to the manager Muchado who took the time to answer all my questions and made sure we all present were treated like royalty. Here is a tip for those looking for a romantic getaway, you should opt for the rooms that are close to the ocean, there is less noise there and it is more romantic. Thanks for a wonderful stay

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another good holiday at Mayanabo"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  S E  on Mar 31, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
245 people found this review helpful

I visited this resort 3 times in 2011 and just returned from another 2 weeks there. It is consistently pleasant. Nothing fancy, but it is clean and the staff are wonderful - they genuinely remember people, and treat everyone like family. The good is not the greatest, but it is Cuba and you won't go hungry. The pool is the best of the 4 in Santa Lucia (thanks entirely to Osmani, who works tirelessly to keep it spotless). The waiters/waitresses, chefs and bartenders are consistently friendly and will treat you well. It seems that nothing is too much trouble for them. I will return again and again. The price is amazingly low - in fact, I would spend more money if I took a holiday at home. You can't go wrong with Mayanabo, unless you are seeking gourmet food and a 5-star hotel.

Room Number:
335

Room Block:
Block 3 - Upper Level

Arrival:
Quick and efficient. And while you are in line, Orlando is there with a tray of drinks to make the wait worth while. The bellhops are quick and friendly and everyone is smiling. The only drawback is the 1-1/2 hour bus ride from the airport, but it is worth while.

Rooms:
Nothing fancy, but spotlessly clean. Air conditioners and fridges are new and quiet and work very well. Hairdryer in the room works well. Beds are OK, but the pillows are very small - take your own, if you can.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food is typical Cuban - rice and beans with some meat (chicken, pork, fish and stewed beef). Bars are well tended - beer is cold and the drinks flow easily.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best pool in Santa Lucia - always clean and fresh and plenty of sun loungers. Beach does have seaweed (well, what do you expect in the sea???). At times, very windy at the beach. Plenty of sun loungers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There isn't much around - this is a place where you can relax. No shoppping to speak of. The town is walkable (5 minutes) but it is typical Cuban poor. But the people are SO friendly. The area is completely safe - as a single woman travelling alone, I felt no fear ever.

Other Comments:
This is my "home away from home". I love the resort and the people and as long as you keep your expectations in check, you will enjoy your holiday and make friends.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a Blast"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Jan 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
212 people found this review helpful

One of the finest vacation I have ever had first time in Cuba and i shall go back 2 to 3 times a year

Room Number:
154

Arrival:
Thursday January 19, 2012

Rooms:
very clean and met my expectations

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent and great service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great

Other Comments:
I have traveled extensively world wide and for this being my first visit to
Cuba...it brought back many memories of my birth place Zanzibar in East Africa.
I plan on visiting Cuba often and I had a great stay

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best value in Cuba"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  S E  on Jul 30, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
285 people found this review helpful

I went to this resort in April (2 weeks) and had a relaxing time. When I found myself suddenly with another week off in July, I decided to go again. After all, it was actually cheaper than staying home, since it was a last-minute, off-season deal. The hotel is old and tired, but spotlessly clean. The rooms are small, but again - cleaner than my own home! The food is not good, but it's Cuba ... get over it! Leave your gourmet taste buds at home and go for it. There is always enough to eat, even if it is rice and beans. A word of advice ... they have oxtail and veal on the same buffet, and ya gotta know it's the same beast! My rule of thumb, don't eat anything ground up or visually identifiable (chicken legs are OK, but don't go for chicken balls! You just never know what's in there). The red wine served with meals is actually pretty good. The wait staff are excellent - bringing you what you want before you even know you want it. The bell boys are amazing - no one works harder than Omar (he's either lugging your suitcases, or ensuring you have a clean towel any time you need one, or pouring your drink in the restaurant). The cleaning staff are amazing too - considering the age of the property, they keep it clean and neat. No one has a hand out for a tip every minute of the day - if you give one, they appreciate it. If you don't, you'll still get great service from them. Basically, if they have it, they will give it to you. Bring a little something to give the room staff every day (if you wait until the last day, it might be the one day they have off, and someone else reaps the benefits of their hard work.). I will return to Mayanabo - it's clean, it's safe, and you get what you need (maybe not everything you WANT, but you get what you need).

Room Number:
337

Room Block:
3rd Block

Arrival:
Pleasant staff. Bellboys at the ready. And the bar is right there if the lineup is long! May as well enjoy the wait!

Rooms:
Small, with lumpy pillows (bring your own). But clean, clean, clean! What I particularly liked was that the air conditioner was QUIET! No sleepless nights due to the noise. I like Block 3, since it's furthest from the night club. Never had a problem with noise.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant is large, so it can be noisy. But it is well laid-out and the wait staff actually recognize you when you arrive and have your drink of choice on the table for you by the time you return with your plate of food - before you have even asked for it! They remember you - they genuinely do! The bar staff are masters with juggling ice cubes and mixing drinks and smile and appreciate a peso here and there (not necessary for every drink, but do help them out periodically).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is a little messy with weeds, but it's the north coast and that's just how it is. There are ample chairs and shady areas. The bar is close. It's quiet and peaceful. The pool is large and seldom used to its full potential, so no chance of not being able to find a chair or a place to float in the clean water! The grounds are tired (they don't seem to water their plants often enough, which is a shame). But clean and tidy. The announcer can drive you insane during the day, when he insists on playing the kids games at the top of his voice - WITH a microphone! Best to go to the beach when that gets started, unless you want to hear him shout at the kids (in about 5 languages!). But I must admit, the kids do seem to like it. Just not my thing ...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The evening shows are good, as long as you avoid the first half - that's when they do the audience "silly bugger" games, which are loud and annoying. But the second half (around 10:00) are great - the dancers are very good.

Other Comments:
Keep your expectations in check - no gourmet food or luxury, but clean grounds, honest, hardworking people and fabulous weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to relax"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mamacita  on May 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
320 people found this review helpful

The comment about coffee is wrong and misleading. There was a shortage of coffee for a short time so the coffee bar had to be scaled back till the supplies came back. This only lasted a couple of weeks. I have been to Mayanabo many many times. It's a very relaxing place with good people.

The beach is long. There is sea grass that washes up because of the reef off shore but it is cleaned regularly.

The pool is large and there is never a shortage of chairs.

There is a pool/lobby bar, a coffee/snack bar, beach bar and a disco at night after the cabaret show. Often in low season you have to party off the resort sites at Mar Verde or Rumbos (Las Palmas).

It's a wonderful place to go for an inexpensive holiday and to make friends that last a life time. Great for relaxing, swimming and going on excursions. Lots to see and do, just go to your orientation meeting if it's your first time.

I have stayed in all 3 blocks. Block 3 is the newest renovation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value! Nice beach, food not the best."

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julia  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
359 people found this review helpful

The food is far inferior to Brisas farther up the beach-but the rooms are okay, there IS hot water, the toilet flushes, and really what counts is the weather and a great beach, no? The staff are friendly, and you can always wander down to the other hotels to visit their facilities, that's what I did every day. Mostly to eat at the Brisas-having stayed there a couple of months earlier, maybe they recognized me (though actually I don't think it matters that much-as long as you have a wristband of some sort). But the food was much better quality and selection-wise there. In fact one night we hit all 4 hotels in a row for dinner, just for fun...Don't feed the scrawny cats that hang around the hotels, they are there to keep rodents away. If guests feed them they will get lazy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Coffee between 10am-7pm"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marty  on Aug 16, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
442 people found this review helpful

I would advise coffee lovers to avoid this hotel. The manager has decided to save money by cutting off coffee between the hours of 10am to 7pm in the evening. This puts a new meaning to the word all inclusive..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  IRASEMA  on Jul 29, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jul, 2009
1072 people found this review helpful

I stayed here this summer, from July 8 to 16...it was a great stay, all the personell were very attentive, the entertainers, Virgen and Yimy where fabulous. The dance group were charming, thanks to Vivian, Gerardo, Carlos, Lestter, everyone... The hotel was really clean and well organized... I hope to come back in October...I hope that that says it all...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"hotel maianabo"

Club Amigo Mayanabo
User Rating:  Club Amigo Mayanabo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  beretta silvia  on Feb 8, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2009
400 people found this review helpful

ottimo lo consilio atutti personale stupendo otrovato il mio sposo che ora mi guida dal cielo ciao camillo hotel maianabo

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube