Arenas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Arenas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Arenas Doradas  

Autopista Varadero Km 17, Varadero, Matanzas, CUBA
(Varadero Maps)

"Worried at first but AMAZING!!!!!"
Posted by: Tanya  on Aug 14, 2013
see all reviews

Arenas Doradas Reviews
Arenas Doradas Pictures and Information
Arenas Doradas Varadero Cuba

#32
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.6

Based on 16 reviews

Arenas Doradas Information


Picturesque beachfront resort backed by the “Marina Chapelin”, and ideally positioned in colourful gardens which open out onto the beach known as “Playa Los Taínos”, considered to be one of the best in Cuba.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Arenas Doradas Reviews

Arenas Doradas Review: 3.6 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
1 - 10 of 16

"Worried at first but AMAZING!!!!!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya  on Aug 14, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
73 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying we stayed here from 23 Dec - 30 Dec 12. Upon arrival you will notice that the lobby is dated. Don't let that turn you off, the staff here were amazing and friendly. I am not sure why others had negative things to say, I can only assume they were getting the same attitude back that they were giving to the staff.
If you are rude and obnoxious they will ignore you and you deserve to be ignored. They treated us great and were lots of fun. Daniel was always quick with a smile and a laugh along with his coworker (who's name I can't pronounce)
This resort is one that could easily surpass others that we have been too, with a little updating and added infusion of cash to update programs. They have all the potential in the world.

Room Block:
400

Rooms:
Rooms: The rooms are basic, nothing fancy. The hair dryer is something i have never seen before, I would suggest brining your own. There is no alarm clock or mini bar in the room. They are a little dated, but ours was constantly clean and tidy thanks to Jacqueline, she was a curteous and thoughtful employee. IT'S A ROOM, you shouldn't be in it anyway, unless you are sleeping or chainging. You are on vacation!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: It's Cuba. I always found something to eat and never went hungry. We only ate at thee buffet and the beach restaurant. We did frequent the snack bar frequently. For a 3.5 it had table service at both the sncak bar and the beach restaurant all day long.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds: AMAZING, I enjoy small resorts and I loved the layout of Arenas Doradas. They keep everything clean and neat. It was a truly relaxing environment. I really enjoyed it.
Pool: Yes there are tiles missing. GET OVER IT. To replace them they would need to close the pool and this would cause complaints. It was cold but refreshing and we enjoyed spending time at the swim up bar. The swim up bar staff - AWESOME.
Never had a problem getting 6 chairs together on the beach or at the pool!! Beach is amazing, can't complain about it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Animation: Julia and Everett are absolutely wonderful people, they really added to our holidays with laughs and fun. This was the first time that I have left a resort and truly felt like I was leaving friends behind. They are dedicated and truly enjoy what they are doing. They are warm and friendly and love to laugh and have fun with the guests. On another note, I think that the owners need to invest more in their animation program. They need more people and need more props for the wonderful staff they already have. More diversity in the evening shows would be a welcome change also. Maybe a coreographer that could assist with new and interesting shows. However the Mr Arenas Doradas show was hilarious.

Other Comments:
We enjoyed this resort so much that we have booked a girls trip there for September. We are excited to go back to see the friends we made last time.
One last note - your trip is what you make it, Be nice and kind to the staff and they will do anything for you. Get involved and you are gauranteed to have an amazing time at this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pesima eleccion"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  yane  on Sep 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
126 people found this review helpful

Pesima administracion, pesimo hotel, pesima comida, pesima estancia, pesima atencion, pesimo mantenimiento....un 4 estrellas convertido en un 2. (estancia de 5 noches con 6 habitaciones en agosto 2012)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Have been staying at this resort for four consecutive years"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  barlo  on Feb 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
239 people found this review helpful

People have to remember that they are in Cuba one of the poorest countries in the world. the staff are the nicest friendliest people Ihave ever met in the hospitality buisness, I have 35 years in the biz myself . rooms are a little tired but with only a few hours in between check in check out you would be tired too. CANT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS RESORT. Will be back for many more years to come. The CUBAN PEOPLE ARE THE GREATEST.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay was great"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Feb 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
201 people found this review helpful

Nightly show was awesome, food was okay, stayed away from meat, workers were friendly, Excursions were awesome, store in resort that sold cigars and misc. had sold a tin container of 20 cigars and when opened at home 6 cigars were missing out of package, the package was behind a glass cubboard which only staff could open, was very dissapointed when family opened this gift.

Room Number:
728

Room Block:
700

Arrival:
Jan. 30th 2012

Rooms:
728 paid for 3 to stay and only offered 1 a cot

Restaurants and Bars:
okay

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
staff were friendly except for bar in the lounge some workers were not friendly

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good staff, blahh food"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alan  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
337 people found this review helpful

Booked two rooms for a week. Both rooms were okay, especially considering the price. Everything is fairly basic, but they kept our rooms clean .

GOOD: Quiet, uncrowded, staff try hard.

NOT so GOOD: They really need to get it together as far as food prep goes. Calamarmi cooked entire just don't taste the way they should..hint remove innards! Limited repetoire that was very bland and soon uninteresting.

Room Number:
918

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
It was dark, we were tired , but we did manage to find our rooms.

Rooms:
Unexciting, but kept clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Hit or miss (more miss)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the big plus, beautiful white sand and no crowds.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful trip"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
374 people found this review helpful

We were a bit nervous after reading some reviews, seemed to be more bad than good but once we got there, i don't know who would give this place a bad review. The resort was very clean, the maid did a wonderful job each day on our room, even mopped the patio daily. I was nervous that we got a ground floor room due to bugs but the room was very big, not a bug to be found. The lady at the coffee bar made the best spanish coffee, highly recommend the cold one! Food in the buffet was pretty good, large selection. Food in the a la carte, okay. It was my husband's birthday and at the italian restaurant they provided a birthday cake, sang happy birthday and had champagne for us. The only complaint was at the late sitting, not much choice on the menu, all the popular items were gone. Nightly entertainment was great except for one night they had guests do the entertainment, not fussy about that. Beach was gorgeous. Each game you played for the adults gave you a chance to win a bottle of rum, my husband won one!! The bbq grill was excellent, no shortage of shrimp. Big lobby including shopping. I would definitely recommend this resort. People need to remember, you are going to cuba, not a five star in florida.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's |Cuba"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura Lee  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
358 people found this review helpful

Flew with Cubana airlines, awesome flight there and back. We were a party of six. Rooms need updating but very clean,hair dryer is a joke lol a vacuum hose??,for all the ladies with hair straightners, use the plug that the fridge is plugged into as it does not run on 220 volts...worked perfect. Maid Nancy was excellent she even spoke english,stayed in 522 balcony view not so great. The food well is a whole other story let's just say it sucked badly....the beach bbq area was the best place to eat well if you want to live off pork and chicken but it tasted very good. The a la cartes are a complete joke, 4 menu items....do not bother booking them. We went to Pizza Nova 2km up the road the food there is the best and tastes like our food, we had lasagna and pizza AWESOME...well worth the extra money. Six of us ate there for 72 cuc.. The entertainment was another joke all they do is dance nothing else. The beach is beautiful. We went on the jeep tour the highlight of that trip was the cave absolutley amazing. The best tour to do there is the Catamaran and dolphin swim.

Second time to cuba all in all was nice to relax and enjoy the sun.But they really need to learn how to cook!!!! And on that note I will not go back for awhile. This hotel is way better than the Allegro or AKA Oasis Varedaro 1920

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Run the other way!!!!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
344 people found this review helpful

This resort is a worn out, old resort that hasn't seem 3 stars since 1990. The lobby is nice but after that, everything is old, worn out, broken down and simply decades past it's sell by date.

Room Number:
215

Room Block:
Villa 2

Arrival:
It was fine, but the milk run of hotels the bus took before we got theremade a long day even longer. Even after we got there, we had to wait for 2+ hours to get into our rooms, even though they knew for weeks that we were coming that day, and that is simply a lack of staff.

Rooms:
Simply put, everything was worn out, broken, missing, leaking, mouldy or dirty. I will assume the staff did the best they could, but the place is simply old and worn out and needs to be rebuilt if they expect to get repeaat visitors.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here is simply embarrassing. The buffet is little better then dogfood and the ala-carts were little better. 2 in our party got food poisioning and suffice to say the poor food handling was to clearly to blame. We had one good meal in 7 days and cheap or not, that is simply not good enough.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were fine, but the same as you would expect at any resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we took a few excusions, but the artificially high exchange rate made them a rip off not ot be repeated

Other Comments:
We might come back to Cuba, but never, EVER to this place. It is 10+ years past it's "best by" date and needs major updates to the food prep, rooms, commom areas and infrastructure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach great weather!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
334 people found this review helpful

4 star this resort is not! Maybe a 3! First the good points, nicley laid out! Convient to everything within the resort. Little shops were handy to browse through. Beach was beautiful but a little narrow compared to further up the coast. Pool bar was opened unlike other resorts! Rooms were nothing special but clean. Now for the bad, thier is no mini-bar (unless you count the ONE bottle of water upon arrival)thier are no bikes no Archery (they had pellets guns for target practice like at the fairs but it was only opened once) no games room! The food is really bad!! Even the alacarte!! The drinks are boring no good blender drinks with fresh fruit to be found anywhere! The staff are rather rude even with tipping make you feel like your a burden to them. Over-all I was not impressed with Cuba and will probably never return I will go to Jamiaca any day!!

Room Number:
916

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great relaxing vacation!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  katie  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
372 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Our arrival was not too great. We checked in around 11pm and were given a room with no a/c, balcony and bathroom door did not lock, no shower curtains and the beds were not made. We went back to the reception and within minutes we had a new room. I don't remember her name, but the reception staff are very friendly, speak English and you don't have to wait forever to get what you need.

Rooms:
The rooms are very basic but very clean. GREAT water pressure and the toilets actually flush well. Very little light in the rooms, but you just have to open up your curtains for the sunlight to come in. I found the beds and pillows to be really comfortable...I always had a good night sleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant is great. They have the best bread there!!!! They have a omelet and pasta station, which are great...very tasty. Some food is a bit repetitive but it never lacks flavour. We didn't try any a la carte because you have to book it only at 11am for dinner the following night, and you can only book one at a time. By 11 we were in the pool so we didn't bother, the buffet was more then enough.
Bars were great too. The drinks were good and not too strong. The bartenders are friendly...but a bit flirty so be careful. My friend was talking to one bartender and out of no where he just stuck his tonuge in her ear....not too sure what to say about that lol

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was nice and refreshing. Very big with a small wadding pool. The pool bar there is great.
Grounds are nice, clean and neat. There are always men out working on it to keep it looking beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
n/a

Other Comments:
Great vacation. Friendly staff, great food and drinks. The workers tend to be a little more flirty then we liked and we were freaked out a bit, as well as the security. Two girls travelling alone so they assumed we wanted some fun maybe? just be careful.
Bring a beach towel. There was one day that we didn't have one and other days where we had to use the same one day after day because their laundry machine wasn't working. You have to pay $10 pesos at check in per towel which you get back when you check out. Don't use the public bathrooms, they smell like a bear cave. DISGUSTING, that and half of the time they don't have toilet seats. Better to go to your room and use it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube