Arenas Doradas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Arenas Doradas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Arenas Doradas  

Autopista Varadero Km 17, Varadero, Matanzas, CUBA
(Varadero Maps)

"2 weeks of Heaven"
Posted by: Sue  on Nov 2, 2015
see all reviews

Arenas Doradas Reviews
Arenas Doradas Pictures and Information
Arenas Doradas Varadero Cuba

#29
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.7

Based on 18 reviews

Arenas Doradas Information


Picturesque beachfront resort backed by the “Marina Chapelin”, and ideally positioned in colourful gardens which open out onto the beach known as “Playa Los Taínos”, considered to be one of the best in Cuba.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Arenas Doradas Reviews

Arenas Doradas Review: 3.7 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 18

"Run the other way!!!!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
618 people found this review helpful

This resort is a worn out, old resort that hasn't seem 3 stars since 1990. The lobby is nice but after that, everything is old, worn out, broken down and simply decades past it's sell by date.

Room Number:
215

Room Block:
Villa 2

Arrival:
It was fine, but the milk run of hotels the bus took before we got theremade a long day even longer. Even after we got there, we had to wait for 2+ hours to get into our rooms, even though they knew for weeks that we were coming that day, and that is simply a lack of staff.

Rooms:
Simply put, everything was worn out, broken, missing, leaking, mouldy or dirty. I will assume the staff did the best they could, but the place is simply old and worn out and needs to be rebuilt if they expect to get repeaat visitors.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food here is simply embarrassing. The buffet is little better then dogfood and the ala-carts were little better. 2 in our party got food poisioning and suffice to say the poor food handling was to clearly to blame. We had one good meal in 7 days and cheap or not, that is simply not good enough.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
They were fine, but the same as you would expect at any resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we took a few excusions, but the artificially high exchange rate made them a rip off not ot be repeated

Other Comments:
We might come back to Cuba, but never, EVER to this place. It is 10+ years past it's "best by" date and needs major updates to the food prep, rooms, commom areas and infrastructure.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pesima eleccion"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  yane  on Sep 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
387 people found this review helpful

Pesima administracion, pesimo hotel, pesima comida, pesima estancia, pesima atencion, pesimo mantenimiento....un 4 estrellas convertido en un 2. (estancia de 5 noches con 6 habitaciones en agosto 2012)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good staff, blahh food"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alan  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
597 people found this review helpful

Booked two rooms for a week. Both rooms were okay, especially considering the price. Everything is fairly basic, but they kept our rooms clean .

GOOD: Quiet, uncrowded, staff try hard.

NOT so GOOD: They really need to get it together as far as food prep goes. Calamarmi cooked entire just don't taste the way they should..hint remove innards! Limited repetoire that was very bland and soon uninteresting.

Room Number:
918

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
It was dark, we were tired , but we did manage to find our rooms.

Rooms:
Unexciting, but kept clean

Restaurants and Bars:
Hit or miss (more miss)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the big plus, beautiful white sand and no crowds.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice beach great weather!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on Jan 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
483 people found this review helpful

4 star this resort is not! Maybe a 3! First the good points, nicley laid out! Convient to everything within the resort. Little shops were handy to browse through. Beach was beautiful but a little narrow compared to further up the coast. Pool bar was opened unlike other resorts! Rooms were nothing special but clean. Now for the bad, thier is no mini-bar (unless you count the ONE bottle of water upon arrival)thier are no bikes no Archery (they had pellets guns for target practice like at the fairs but it was only opened once) no games room! The food is really bad!! Even the alacarte!! The drinks are boring no good blender drinks with fresh fruit to be found anywhere! The staff are rather rude even with tipping make you feel like your a burden to them. Over-all I was not impressed with Cuba and will probably never return I will go to Jamiaca any day!!

Room Number:
916

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's |Cuba"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura Lee  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
628 people found this review helpful

Flew with Cubana airlines, awesome flight there and back. We were a party of six. Rooms need updating but very clean,hair dryer is a joke lol a vacuum hose??,for all the ladies with hair straightners, use the plug that the fridge is plugged into as it does not run on 220 volts...worked perfect. Maid Nancy was excellent she even spoke english,stayed in 522 balcony view not so great. The food well is a whole other story let's just say it sucked badly....the beach bbq area was the best place to eat well if you want to live off pork and chicken but it tasted very good. The a la cartes are a complete joke, 4 menu items....do not bother booking them. We went to Pizza Nova 2km up the road the food there is the best and tastes like our food, we had lasagna and pizza AWESOME...well worth the extra money. Six of us ate there for 72 cuc.. The entertainment was another joke all they do is dance nothing else. The beach is beautiful. We went on the jeep tour the highlight of that trip was the cave absolutley amazing. The best tour to do there is the Catamaran and dolphin swim.

Second time to cuba all in all was nice to relax and enjoy the sun.But they really need to learn how to cook!!!! And on that note I will not go back for awhile. This hotel is way better than the Allegro or AKA Oasis Varedaro 1920

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Christine Wiley  on Mar 24, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
1837 people found this review helpful

We had the best time and the people working at the Arenas are so friendly. The rooms are basic but very clean and the food was excellent. We would go back anytime.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Nice!!!!!!!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ED  on May 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
422 people found this review helpful

Overall a very positive experience,where the resort lacked the workers more than made up for it

Your Arrival:
Skyservice could`nt do any more for us, Flight was great..

Rooms:
Our room (1023} is in one of many two story buldings scattered over the resort.It is half down to the beach and very close to the pool.Room was old and need some sprucing up . Bathroom looked like it had been renovated a short while ago.The two lights could used much bigger bulbs than the 9 watt bulbs. T.V. good several english stations{satelite} Beds were VERY HARD and did`nt have much support but oh wellThe A/C quit 3day into the vac. but I called main desk and it was fixed in a few hrs.

Restaurants and Bars:
the resort has 4 restaurants besides the buffet, tried them all but liked the buffet best.Need to make a resev. the day before you want to go. Beach Bar was great as it is but a few feet from glorious white ,soft sand and Miles of beach with beautiful blue water beyond as far as the eyes can see.The front bar seems to be the "hangout " spot

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is unreal. one word "BEAUTIFUL" The weather was very windy during our stay so we 4 days of RED FLAGS { DANGEROUS water conditions].
The pool is quite large and walkable all over. There was always lots of chairs available. The grounds are maintained quite nice in the entire resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every night they had a theme night which a show would be based on. Somewhat lacking but the preformers gave it their all.

Other Comments:
When going Cuba remember that the Cubans appreciated anything that is given to them as they have VERY LITTLE. Take children clothes, and school supplies. REMEMBER anything that would prob. make its way to a garage sale is welcomed.I tipped our cleaning lady and we never ran out of Toilet paper/towels. Take your own facecloths as they don`t have any.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great relaxing vacation!"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  katie  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
477 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Our arrival was not too great. We checked in around 11pm and were given a room with no a/c, balcony and bathroom door did not lock, no shower curtains and the beds were not made. We went back to the reception and within minutes we had a new room. I don't remember her name, but the reception staff are very friendly, speak English and you don't have to wait forever to get what you need.

Rooms:
The rooms are very basic but very clean. GREAT water pressure and the toilets actually flush well. Very little light in the rooms, but you just have to open up your curtains for the sunlight to come in. I found the beds and pillows to be really comfortable...I always had a good night sleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet restaurant is great. They have the best bread there!!!! They have a omelet and pasta station, which are great...very tasty. Some food is a bit repetitive but it never lacks flavour. We didn't try any a la carte because you have to book it only at 11am for dinner the following night, and you can only book one at a time. By 11 we were in the pool so we didn't bother, the buffet was more then enough.
Bars were great too. The drinks were good and not too strong. The bartenders are friendly...but a bit flirty so be careful. My friend was talking to one bartender and out of no where he just stuck his tonuge in her ear....not too sure what to say about that lol

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was nice and refreshing. Very big with a small wadding pool. The pool bar there is great.
Grounds are nice, clean and neat. There are always men out working on it to keep it looking beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
n/a

Other Comments:
Great vacation. Friendly staff, great food and drinks. The workers tend to be a little more flirty then we liked and we were freaked out a bit, as well as the security. Two girls travelling alone so they assumed we wanted some fun maybe? just be careful.
Bring a beach towel. There was one day that we didn't have one and other days where we had to use the same one day after day because their laundry machine wasn't working. You have to pay $10 pesos at check in per towel which you get back when you check out. Don't use the public bathrooms, they smell like a bear cave. DISGUSTING, that and half of the time they don't have toilet seats. Better to go to your room and use it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful trip"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  terry  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
635 people found this review helpful

We were a bit nervous after reading some reviews, seemed to be more bad than good but once we got there, i don't know who would give this place a bad review. The resort was very clean, the maid did a wonderful job each day on our room, even mopped the patio daily. I was nervous that we got a ground floor room due to bugs but the room was very big, not a bug to be found. The lady at the coffee bar made the best spanish coffee, highly recommend the cold one! Food in the buffet was pretty good, large selection. Food in the a la carte, okay. It was my husband's birthday and at the italian restaurant they provided a birthday cake, sang happy birthday and had champagne for us. The only complaint was at the late sitting, not much choice on the menu, all the popular items were gone. Nightly entertainment was great except for one night they had guests do the entertainment, not fussy about that. Beach was gorgeous. Each game you played for the adults gave you a chance to win a bottle of rum, my husband won one!! The bbq grill was excellent, no shortage of shrimp. Big lobby including shopping. I would definitely recommend this resort. People need to remember, you are going to cuba, not a five star in florida.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable in CUBA"

Arenas Doradas
User Rating:  Arenas Doradas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wende Boddy  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
1957 people found this review helpful

We had a great time, good beach, good bars good resturants , laid back and relazed , staff were really good helpful, pleasant polite, made us feel at home . No one pestered you to buy stuff on the beach , plenty of activity if you wanted, good entertainment. out of 6 night 4 were above average, great piano player in the hotel lobby most evenings.Loved their bread and terrific breakfast grill.Some good buys at the Airports.
Only other shop was the gift shop in the hotel which was Not overpriced, would I go back , Yes in a heart beat . Next time I would take one of the trips, this time was a chill out holiday could not tear myself away from the lovely white warm sand. W & D from Mississaga Canada.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube