Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca  

Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Simply astonishing "
Posted by: Kevin on Nov 2, 2014
see all reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 3.7

Based on 43 reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Information


A friendly resort positioned just a few steps from the beautiful Guardalavaca beach, this hotel offers very good value with a wide range of different room types and recreational activities for the whole family.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.7 of 5 43 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  10
Average
  10
Poor
  0
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (30)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (13)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 43

"Simply astonishing "

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kevin  on Nov 2, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
5 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best hotels people can find in Cuba. This hotel is a full package, what am I trying to say is that; what you see is what you get. When I arrived at this hotel I was amazed by the view of it. Never seen anything similar to this. I was counting on a perfect vacation, and thanks to this place I enjoyed my stay in Cuba. When my travel agent told me about Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca, I was a little bit skeptical, and I thought that he only tries to sell me the idea to travel to this place. But now I know that he was right. I will definitely visit this hotel again and I already recommended Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca to my friends. The room where I stayed it was astonishing. There was a king size bed, big and comfortable. In the room you can find air conditioner which is working perfectly so you will never have problems cooling the room. Right in front of the bed there is a satellite TV, with so many channels I didnít have time to watch them all. And anytime you want to take a shower, you can do it. There is a cold and hot water anytime you like. The staff employed at this hotel is fantastic. They will do anything to make your journey even better. There is a minibar in the room, which is refilled every two days. What was very interesting is that there was a safety deposit box, so you donít have to worry about your passport or your money. When it comes to the money, there is a money exchange office in the hotel, so you donít have to travel to the bank if you want to exchange money. The pool was very nice, full with clear and warm water, but I really liked the beach. The sand and the sea were unforgettable experiences. Another thing that is great about this place, is the restaurant and the bar. Restaurant contains international wide cuisine, and at the bar you can try some their best cocktails. Nevertheless, donít forget to have some Cuban rum. Itís the best rum in the world.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"huge resort"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  crystal  on Aug 16, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
15 people found this review helpful

It is a huge resort with lots of space in the compound to walk around and it is clean. It has a beautiful beach and it is worth the try because it is one of the cheapest in the country. The fact that I went to this hotel was due to my friend who had visited this place and gave it a thumbs up so I was convinced that I wonít be disappointed when I visit myself and that was how I came to this place. The food here was just fine in my opinion but for the money that you pay, I think one should expect anything fancy but it was plain and good. The a la carte restaurants are pretty nice; you should try and have meals from them. The good thing about this hotel is that throughout the resort, you will always find a bar; drinks are everywhere and the bar tenders make it easy as they smile at you and they also remember faces. You should bring your cups when you come so they can fill it because the cups they give there are all really small. There were many activities that were available for guests who are interested but the only one I really went for was the Spanish lessons and it was worth it. The rooms are clean and the bathroom also was clean just that the door wasnít working so well. The location is great because everything is of walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"And friendly resort"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynda  on Dec 7, 2013  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
58 people found this review helpful

This resort is well priced and satisfied our family vacation needs. Relaxation, safety and fun under the Cuban sun. We paid 500 @ person so we knew what to expect. The staff was very nice.

Room Block:
Beach front

Arrival:
Smooth no problems.

Rooms:
We had booked rooms in the older section, they are old,smelly and small. After one night in those rooms, we upgraded to our ocean views. Much better! Clean and spacious.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was not the greatest, I've had better in Cuba. Pool bar was fine,very nice bartenders! Thanks to Alberto and Noel for feeding us beer and constantly chatting with us like friends! Those guys work hard to please their clients. Lots of fruits, pineapple, mangos, banana,papaya. The desert was good. And the pasta as well. Breakfast was fine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Great beach clear water. This being the off season, all of the restaurants,pools and bars in the older section were closed. The grounds are nicely kept and always cleaned.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do on and off. Holguin is a nice place to explore. Lots of local restaurants offering great cuban food! We took a horse and buggy ride with Tony. Great man. He brought us to a local restaurant and picked us up later. Cuba is such a nice safe place to visit.

Other Comments:
It's a nice three star resort. Great Price,great service. To bad food was not so great.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean  on Aug 26, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
87 people found this review helpful

Two years ago, my wife and I visited Holquin, Cuba for a vacation, after speaking to with the receptionist a the Club Amigo who told us we could register at the front desk, if we chose to. We returned to Holquin and spoke to a travel agent, who also told us that we could get a Villa at Club Amigo for good price. We returned to Club Amigo a few days later to register for a week. We arrived at the reception desk and the vacation from hell started, what followed was how Cubans treat tourist, rip off, bad accommodation with bed bugs, food that can kill you and make you to sick to enjoy your vacation, medical doctors that overcharge and provide poor treatment. When you pay with cash, get a receipt from the cash register, read it, unless you do this you will be scammed and over charged by who ever you deal with, this is the custom in Cuba. Club Amigo no different. (Read below)

Room Number:
28

Arrival:
Two years ago, my wife and I visited Holquin, Cuba for a vacation, after speaking to with the receptionist a the Club Amigo who told us we could register at the front desk, if we chose to. We returned to Holquin and spoke to a travel agent, who also told us that we could get a Villa at Club Amigo for good price. We returned to Club Amigo a few days later to register for a week. We arrived at the reception desk and the vacation from hell started, what followed was how Cubans treat tourist, rip off, bad accommodation with bed bugs, food that can kill you and make you to sick to enjoy your vacation, medical doctors that overcharge and provide poor treatment. When you pay with cash, get a receipt from the cash register, read it, unless you do this you will be scammed and over charged by who ever you deal with, this is the custom in Cuba. Club Amigo no different. (Read below)

Rooms:
Rip off over charging at reception desk, we were charged the room rate for a Villa and we were given a dirty Standard room. In addition, we had to pay an early arrival fee of $50, for the all inclusive meals (we were two hour early at the desk and didnĎt eat). After complaining about the room, we were transferred to a new room the next day, a somewhat cleaner room (?). In a two days I had insect bites, about 20, all over my body. These were from bed bugs I found out later what it was. Another problem was that the room maids left the room door ajar each time that we returned to our room this would mean that any passer by could enter the room and take what they wanted. We were traveling with money. Closing the door and locking it was too much trouble for room maids. Some people complained abought room mates stealing thier money we now know better, (Read below)

Restaurants and Bars:
Food that can kill you. On the second day I eat some fish, something taisted bad, but the people I was with did not seem to complain, going with the flow, a big mistake. Next day I was sick with Cholera like flu symptoms, diarrhoea very sick. Even with the Dukarol vaccine we had taken before we left in Canada, it did not do help to prevent the terrible illness. Then we had to pay the resident Doctor bill $200 for treatment, we felt no better. The Doctor was only concerned about when we would be leaving the hotel. And protecting Club Amigos reputation. We paid for ointment for the ďSandfly bites.Ē The PR person gave us a free meal voucher for the Breezes resort, we were too sick to eat.
Going to the airport we had to take a cab, because the Club Amigo reception would not help us get a seat on the bus. Vacation from hell.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Non existant

Other Comments:
A rip off scam

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be warned"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Val  on Dec 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
142 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this resort 3 times previously and it was awesome But not this time . We were given a room with no place for suitcases a broken tv on a table at the side of the head of one bed so you had to sit at the foot of the bed to see the tv. The room was stinky with mold and urine and the bedding was dirty. We complained and were told for a fee we could upgrade. Everyone on our flight was faced with the same issue and we all paid extra to upgrade. We had a fridge in our room previously Not this time we had to pay extra for that as well. I could not believe how much this resort had deteriorated in 2 years we were there in Jan 2010 then got this in 2012 All these extras cut into our available cash and our Visa and Mastercard were not accepted there.Our Sunwing rep said he was going to fix it upi but he was gone 2 days later In 15 days we had 4 different reps all of whom promised to FIX it but then left.The buffet frequently ran out of milk tea and coffee and orange juice was only available twice in 15 days. The food was typically Cuban and most days was plentiful. I would not go back there because of the rooms. The section where they originally put us was condemned from a Hurricane when we were there in 2010 and it looks like they just let it dry and reopened it mold and all

Arrival:
They said we had no reservation when we tried to check in the bus with the rep had already left. Then they found us a room

Rooms:
The first room was disgusting filthy with dry urine stains all over the toilet seat. Mold all along the bottom of the walls and dirty bedding.

Restaurants and Bars:
For the most part these wer good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
also good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Espectacular e inolvidable"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  luis tellez  on Dec 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
135 people found this review helpful

Esta muy cerca del mar,aun en la madrugada ofrecen una variedad de comidas ,el show espectacular y recuerdo con gran aprecio al senor pancho,nuestro bartender exelente,ya conoce y memoriza a las personas por solo decirle su nombre te dice tal trago ,estoy pensando volver a ir y pasar unas lindas vacaciones.

Room Number:
203

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
septiembre ,cuando llegue habia una delegacion de canada,pero ellos se pusieron muy rapidos y todos enfilados esperamos poco tiempo,yo habia llegado en un vuelo de la havana y tome un taxi por lo que estaba muy cansado ,pero al ratito todo fue amenizandoce y la pase muy bien.

Rooms:
he viajado mucho y he visto de todo en cuanto a habitaciones se trata,me toco una habitacion con balcon se veia la piscina ,y el mar se te antojaba,el tiempo en la habitacion era poco ,la camarera siempre hacia la recamara como a las 11am pero yo levantaba temprano a esa hora yo estaba en la playa,el bano muy limpio y con cambio diario de toallas fue un buen servicio

Restaurants and Bars:
en el lobby habia un bar muy bonito,con musica variada,mas en las noches me gustaba tomar una copa allli sentado con mi amigo ,luego en la piscina habia un desayuo regular ,no puedo decir que 5 estrellas pero lo comun aca en hollywod ,la maravillosa atencion de pancho,el personal del hotel era muy amable,todo muy bien calculado y el buffe estupendo,habia variedad de bebidas,tomaba un vino con mi cena y la pase muy bien .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
es lo que mas recomiendo para ustedes,la piscina y la playa ,el sol maravilloso,el agua transparente,como compre un paquete todo incluido tome el servicio de una biscicleta acuatica,te lo dan por una hora solamente pues hay mas turistas en espera,pero fue bonito .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremelly bad experience"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benito Leyva Ruiz  on Apr 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
178 people found this review helpful

It was a very bad experience, starting for the reception supervisor that could even do her job: the confirmation number I received online was different that the one in the Hotel and the supervisor didn't check with Cuba Travel Network. She told me it wasnít responsibility of the Hotel to call and verify my reservation, it was my problem. I had to spend my own money to call Habana and very my reservation. I lost two hours of my vacations and I never received an apology not even a compensation for the bad service and bad aptitude of the people working in there. I purchased tow single rooms and one triple. MY family sleeping on the triple room told me next morning that they sleeped on the floor because the triple room was double (only two beds) again I recalled for the bad service and not even and apollogy. But that is not all. On the thematic restaurant name El Fuerte people didnít want to do their job: they sat my family in separate tables because was too much work to put together to tables for us to seats as a family and enjoy a good time. We left the restaurant without eating. At the buffet I had to call a waiter more than twice for water or beverage service and they made us wait long time before taking the order. In general, the experience was extremely bad: the service and the quality of the food. We are extremely disappointed with the Hotel and specially the people working in there.

Room Number:
4021

Arrival:
Arpil 19th 2012

Rooms:
4021,4003,4017
I stayed in room 4027 but I didnt buy my vacations with Cuba Travel Network

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice hotel club"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rafaela EXPOSITO HERRERA  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

I select this hotel for a weekend with my cuban family.
Ambiance was really good, the rooms clean and comfortable, nice view to the swimming pool.
The food and drinks are top quality for an all included package.

I can only recommend this hotel club.

Room Number:
1077

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Viva Cuba"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ulhas  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful holiday - with-in the resort the bunglow section was neat and tidy also the staff very friendly. Food was OK however will recommand the restaurant Benny More.

Room Number:
75

Arrival:
Mar 09 - 12

Rooms:
Recommand the Bunglows

Restaurants and Bars:
REcommand Benny More

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"6 times and will be back"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Feb 20, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
213 people found this review helpful

Had a great vacation
26 times to cuba
17 times amigos sister hotel brisas- which is next door to amigo
amigo is more economical in these poor ontario economical times last few years.
will not book with nolitours or air transat again if dont get my 35.00 returned to me- i have brought over 12 bikes down to give to poor families and put them on the large bus at holguin airport never a problem- until 9.00pm feb 9th- when the woman from nolitour say" you are not putting that bike on the bus- you have to rent a taxi for the 70 km hike- i told her i was going to give it to a poor family up the mountain- she did not care- so i had to risk my money, suitcase and bike- with a 26 year stranger who could have pulled over and i would have lost everything- this is unacceptable from nolitoours- when i paid for the transfer to the hotel in my package.
i checked witht he sunwing rep at the hotel- and they have no problem allowing the bike on the bus.
my family has spent 40.000.00 travelling to cuba in the last 7 years.
the driver dropped me off at the wrong section of the hotel- so i had to drag the heavy bike box acroos the hotel at 10.00pm
i liked the guadalvaca barracks section- first time staying there- it is older but i like the large pool- and the bars are less busy- the main hotel section is swamped with french and italian guests- smoking constantly
had not been to cuba in 2 years- and i have poor families i support with gifts- so it was very nice to see them- i brought them
used
backpacks
running shoes
toothpast and brush
umbrellas
scope
socks
touques
facecloths
bicycle tubes and used tires- which everbody needs
flashlights
took them out for valentine supper up the mountain- all six of us 30.00
i am one of the 10% who spend more time off the resort than on it
cuba is safe- very low crime
and cubans love and respect all canadians who respect them
senor dinero abrazo
wasaga beach, ontario

Rooms:
clean
tell the maid not to remove anything until you check out
i had a keychainlock unit walk off
and 3 yrs ago xmas lights

Restaurants and Bars:
good service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
11.00am
vollyball near scooter rentals
loads of fun

Other Comments:
try and take the free train 0 or buggy to give gifts and money
to poor families off the resort
the staff and maids get regular pesos and gifts all the time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube