Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca  

Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Think Twice Before Booking"
Posted by: Melanie  on Mar 20, 2016
see all reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 3.6

Based on 48 reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Information


A friendly resort positioned just a few steps from the beautiful Guardalavaca beach, this hotel offers very good value with a wide range of different room types and recreational activities for the whole family.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.6 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  10
Average
  11
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (34)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (6)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 48

"Extremelly bad experience"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Benito Leyva Ruiz  on Apr 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
356 people found this review helpful

It was a very bad experience, starting for the reception supervisor that could even do her job: the confirmation number I received online was different that the one in the Hotel and the supervisor didn't check with Cuba Travel Network. She told me it wasn’t responsibility of the Hotel to call and verify my reservation, it was my problem. I had to spend my own money to call Habana and very my reservation. I lost two hours of my vacations and I never received an apology not even a compensation for the bad service and bad aptitude of the people working in there. I purchased tow single rooms and one triple. MY family sleeping on the triple room told me next morning that they sleeped on the floor because the triple room was double (only two beds) again I recalled for the bad service and not even and apollogy. But that is not all. On the thematic restaurant name El Fuerte people didn’t want to do their job: they sat my family in separate tables because was too much work to put together to tables for us to seats as a family and enjoy a good time. We left the restaurant without eating. At the buffet I had to call a waiter more than twice for water or beverage service and they made us wait long time before taking the order. In general, the experience was extremely bad: the service and the quality of the food. We are extremely disappointed with the Hotel and specially the people working in there.

Room Number:
4021

Arrival:
Arpil 19th 2012

Rooms:
4021,4003,4017
I stayed in room 4027 but I didnt buy my vacations with Cuba Travel Network

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad bad bad!!!!!"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Harman  on Sep 18, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

As my title says this is the worse hotel I've ever stayed in. Day I reached lock of my room wouldn't work and they will not change the room. I had to wait until that lock was fixed. Choice of any alcohol drinks are next to nothing and around 10 pm 24 hr bar has nothing to drink. The day of departure my flight was at 9 pm and I had to check out at 12:00. So I was sitting in the lobby for 6 hrs. So please do ur self a favour and don't book this hotel. 👎🏿👎🏿👎🏿👎🏿👎🏿

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jean  on Aug 26, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
350 people found this review helpful

Two years ago, my wife and I visited Holquin, Cuba for a vacation, after speaking to with the receptionist a the Club Amigo who told us we could register at the front desk, if we chose to. We returned to Holquin and spoke to a travel agent, who also told us that we could get a Villa at Club Amigo for good price. We returned to Club Amigo a few days later to register for a week. We arrived at the reception desk and the vacation from hell started, what followed was how Cubans treat tourist, rip off, bad accommodation with bed bugs, food that can kill you and make you to sick to enjoy your vacation, medical doctors that overcharge and provide poor treatment. When you pay with cash, get a receipt from the cash register, read it, unless you do this you will be scammed and over charged by who ever you deal with, this is the custom in Cuba. Club Amigo no different. (Read below)

Room Number:
28

Arrival:
Two years ago, my wife and I visited Holquin, Cuba for a vacation, after speaking to with the receptionist a the Club Amigo who told us we could register at the front desk, if we chose to. We returned to Holquin and spoke to a travel agent, who also told us that we could get a Villa at Club Amigo for good price. We returned to Club Amigo a few days later to register for a week. We arrived at the reception desk and the vacation from hell started, what followed was how Cubans treat tourist, rip off, bad accommodation with bed bugs, food that can kill you and make you to sick to enjoy your vacation, medical doctors that overcharge and provide poor treatment. When you pay with cash, get a receipt from the cash register, read it, unless you do this you will be scammed and over charged by who ever you deal with, this is the custom in Cuba. Club Amigo no different. (Read below)

Rooms:
Rip off over charging at reception desk, we were charged the room rate for a Villa and we were given a dirty Standard room. In addition, we had to pay an early arrival fee of $50, for the all inclusive meals (we were two hour early at the desk and didn‘t eat). After complaining about the room, we were transferred to a new room the next day, a somewhat cleaner room (?). In a two days I had insect bites, about 20, all over my body. These were from bed bugs I found out later what it was. Another problem was that the room maids left the room door ajar each time that we returned to our room this would mean that any passer by could enter the room and take what they wanted. We were traveling with money. Closing the door and locking it was too much trouble for room maids. Some people complained abought room mates stealing thier money we now know better, (Read below)

Restaurants and Bars:
Food that can kill you. On the second day I eat some fish, something taisted bad, but the people I was with did not seem to complain, going with the flow, a big mistake. Next day I was sick with Cholera like flu symptoms, diarrhoea very sick. Even with the Dukarol vaccine we had taken before we left in Canada, it did not do help to prevent the terrible illness. Then we had to pay the resident Doctor bill $200 for treatment, we felt no better. The Doctor was only concerned about when we would be leaving the hotel. And protecting Club Amigos reputation. We paid for ointment for the “Sandfly bites.” The PR person gave us a free meal voucher for the Breezes resort, we were too sick to eat.
Going to the airport we had to take a cab, because the Club Amigo reception would not help us get a seat on the bus. Vacation from hell.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Non existant

Other Comments:
A rip off scam

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terriable & Disgusting"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Krissy  on Oct 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
249 people found this review helpful

I was absoutly disgusted with my stay here. The food was terriable, the resort was run down and the amptoshpere was appaling.

I have never in my life seen so much prostitution. Men and women coming from other countries to sleep with the locals. This is how it works, they pick up some local chickita and pay for them to stay at the resort with them for a night/couple days etc. There is not just one instance of this, this is practically how the resort makes there cash.

It is like going to a brathal, I would not suggest anyone with any morals stay at this resort or this part of the island. I will probaly never return to Cuba because of all of the local prostitution that is brought onto the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Think Twice Before Booking"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie  on Mar 20, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2016 | Leisure | With Group
165 people found this review helpful

Pros:
- Beach
- Grounds
- Staff
- Security at their posts

Cons:
- Rooms (standard, especially. Not as pictured when booking)
- Huge resort, lots of walking
- Age of property
- Cleanliness

I visited Club Amigo Atlantico with 3 other people for our March Break. We weren’t expecting anything fancy, as we knew it was a 3-star when booking. However, when looking through the photos on Sunquest and anywhere else, we were extremely disappointed with the first room we were given (Standard) upon our arrival. The room can be compared to a military bunker (or worse). It wasn’t clean, it smelled of mould and it was extremely old. I believe these are the first buildings. Some standards look great on the outside (new paint job). It simply wasn’t sanitary and I don’t know how this hotel can place anyone in these rooms. We then asked for another room and were put in their tropical section, which was better and cleaner. Still not like the photos online. Unfortunately, the resort charges (per day) for any room changes as it is considered an upgrade. We then upgraded again and ended up in the villas (#9, to be exact). Now this room was what they showed in the photos. Beautiful room (compared to what else they give travellers).

The food was pretty good, all things considered. Yes, it’s bland, but they please every palate this way. Add some salt & pepper, bring your own spice and make it enjoyable for you. They offer à la carte options (Mediterranean, Italian, Cuban, Seafood), which all have great options. However, those who chose Italian weren’t very impressed. I do recommend the Cuban; it was really good. We also did Mediterranean and if it wasn’t for my overcooked and dried out chicken, it was delicious.

The property is HUGE. Our villa, which is the last of the villas, is connected to Brisas (another resort) and was a hike to get anywhere. The beach is beautiful (it’s Cuba, after all) and although locals have access to it, it’s peaceful and enjoyable. The grounds (trees, plants, nature) are beautiful. However, tourists are rude and don’t seem to know how to use a garbage. Staff only clean in the morning, so when you’re taking an evening stroll, the beauty is ruined from all the plastic cups and other garbage left behind.

If we had to choose a destination in Holguin, Cuba, Club Amigo Atlantico would not be on our list. Although we had a lovely vacation after changing rooms, we were extremely disappointed with the amount we had initially paid for this hotel (only to get a dirty room). We ended up having to pay an extra $300 approximately, to get the room we expected to get (the one shown in photos). We would have booked elsewhere had the photos properly reflected what we would receive as a room.

Room Number:
202 & 203

Room Block:
Standard

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This hotel was the bottom of the barrel"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  nelly  on Mar 21, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) SEYCHELLES
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

The flight was great as I expected.

Rooms:
When we got there they placed our family of five in a room small enough to house only one person comfortably. When the door opened for the first time all you smell is mold. My daghter slept with tree mold spots on her blanket we dicovered in the morning. There was no fridge no hot water and no clean air to breathe, we had to place our socks in the air conditioning unit in order for it to work, what a joke, things had to change fast. We then transfered to a small suite which was like the Hilton hotel compared to where we came from.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was all crap. Drinks were the routine tropical drinks. They have no concept how to cook food at all. Burgers and everyhing else was deep fryed. No fruit or vegetables that week we were there, perhaps the delivery truck got hijacked by some desperate locals, who knows.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was nice when the locals werent stealling the tourists cameras. The pools all catered to old people and they have no music at all, I suggest that you bring along a radio of some sort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
What activities? You had to creae your own.

Other Comments:
Save your money. This hotel was the bottom of the barrel. I wouldn't go back even if it was FREE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Club Amigo not recommended - no security"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ricard  on Apr 13, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
267 people found this review helpful

Will Not return

Just returned from Club Amigo,my wife and
friends visiting.Have been going to Club
Amigo for years. What we always liked was
the great service,staff and overall friendly
atmosphere.Sorry its gone,still many fantastic
staff work there but the place has become a
haven for drunks especially the 24 hour bar.
The week from April 5-12th there were about
6 bar fights,chairs being thrown around,assaults
and nothing was done.My friend's wife,5 year old
daughter,and her 2 young nieces witnessed a guy
sucker punch a harmless drunk in the lineup,knocking
him to the floor,he was out for 10 minutes,requiring
8 stiches,the previous night my friend and I witnessed
2 fights,one guy kicking another guy in the head
numerous times till I and other concerned tourists
intervened to prevent further damage.With all this
going on Club Amigo security sat back,watched,did
not intervene,diffuse or call the police,also
the bartenders at Club Amigo sat back behind the
bar laughing.I brought this up to one of the security
about all this violence,assaults,he laughed then pushed
me aside.There was absolutely no consequences,no
tourists were kicked out nor police called,it appears
security will not intervene even if tourists are fighting
but if Cuban tourists were doing this I'm told they
would arrested and kicked out,so really the Cubans
are discrimminated,in fact the week we all spent at Club
Amigo the Cubans were fantastic enjoying themselves with
their families.The trouble mainly are the over abundance
of tourists from Canada who show no respect for Cuban
workers,oftem being rude,crude and disrespectful not
realizing if they were in Canada and acting like idiots
they would be arrested.For some reason toursists think
when they are at Club Amigo they get drunk,assault,make
rude comments to females.I spoke to many tourists who
have been coming to Club Amigo for years and after
witnessing all the violence,realizing there is no security
they also will not be returning to this once great place.
If you are visiting with family ,children I would highly
not recommend this hotel as they will not intervene if
you are attacked,assaulted or being harrased by other
patrons.After my friends wife and children witnessing
this hotel with crazy drunks and no protection I will
never return.This review is not based on just a
disgrunted tourist who did not like the food,service
or such but rather a saftey concern for anyone who
is concerned for family safety.Also this is more a
reflection the unwillingness for Club Amigo management
to address safety for its patrons and when tourists are
being harrassed,threatened or assaulted to kick the
drunks out,call the police

Room Number:
1003

Room Block:
Villa

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be warned"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Val  on Dec 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
423 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this resort 3 times previously and it was awesome But not this time . We were given a room with no place for suitcases a broken tv on a table at the side of the head of one bed so you had to sit at the foot of the bed to see the tv. The room was stinky with mold and urine and the bedding was dirty. We complained and were told for a fee we could upgrade. Everyone on our flight was faced with the same issue and we all paid extra to upgrade. We had a fridge in our room previously Not this time we had to pay extra for that as well. I could not believe how much this resort had deteriorated in 2 years we were there in Jan 2010 then got this in 2012 All these extras cut into our available cash and our Visa and Mastercard were not accepted there.Our Sunwing rep said he was going to fix it upi but he was gone 2 days later In 15 days we had 4 different reps all of whom promised to FIX it but then left.The buffet frequently ran out of milk tea and coffee and orange juice was only available twice in 15 days. The food was typically Cuban and most days was plentiful. I would not go back there because of the rooms. The section where they originally put us was condemned from a Hurricane when we were there in 2010 and it looks like they just let it dry and reopened it mold and all

Arrival:
They said we had no reservation when we tried to check in the bus with the rep had already left. Then they found us a room

Rooms:
The first room was disgusting filthy with dry urine stains all over the toilet seat. Mold all along the bottom of the walls and dirty bedding.

Restaurants and Bars:
For the most part these wer good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
also good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A parte il mare il resto tutto uno schifo"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vincenzo  on Feb 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

Questo hotel è uno schifo bisogna stare attenti a non essere derubati quando puliscono le stanze è capitato a mio cognato con un paio di scarpe e non hanno neanche chiesto scusa è vergognoso.Non parliamo del mangiare perchè fa' veramente pena.C'erano anche scarafaggi in camera,non vorrei spaventarvi ma vi conviene andare in un altro hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" good value "

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Mar 15, 2016  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Business | Solo
152 people found this review helpful

good beach
good food
good weather
good scooters
good bank on site for all size of bills
BUT BUT BUT
the barrack rooms need major air conditioning and renovations
the control i could never make it work
- the maid are way over agressive and pushy
- the reception staff 80% were rude so i was rude back
- they should call this resort in reb hotel frenchy
90 % french
- the hotel airport problems transporting bikes in a box
set- up so you may need to hire a taxi - this is wrong
never happens at other cuban airports
- also, air transat what a joke charges 27.00 to transport the bike from the airport to the hotel another joke money grab!!!
dont drink the tap water - i get the runes every time
- good value

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good beach

Other Comments:
keep the american away there will be no room for canadians
next winter

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube