Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca  

Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Think Twice Before Booking"
Posted by: Melanie  on Mar 20, 2016
see all reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 3.6

Based on 48 reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Information


A friendly resort positioned just a few steps from the beautiful Guardalavaca beach, this hotel offers very good value with a wide range of different room types and recreational activities for the whole family.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.6 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  10
Average
  11
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (34)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (6)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 48

"Espectacular e inolvidable"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  luis tellez  on Dec 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
318 people found this review helpful

Esta muy cerca del mar,aun en la madrugada ofrecen una variedad de comidas ,el show espectacular y recuerdo con gran aprecio al senor pancho,nuestro bartender exelente,ya conoce y memoriza a las personas por solo decirle su nombre te dice tal trago ,estoy pensando volver a ir y pasar unas lindas vacaciones.

Room Number:
203

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
septiembre ,cuando llegue habia una delegacion de canada,pero ellos se pusieron muy rapidos y todos enfilados esperamos poco tiempo,yo habia llegado en un vuelo de la havana y tome un taxi por lo que estaba muy cansado ,pero al ratito todo fue amenizandoce y la pase muy bien.

Rooms:
he viajado mucho y he visto de todo en cuanto a habitaciones se trata,me toco una habitacion con balcon se veia la piscina ,y el mar se te antojaba,el tiempo en la habitacion era poco ,la camarera siempre hacia la recamara como a las 11am pero yo levantaba temprano a esa hora yo estaba en la playa,el bano muy limpio y con cambio diario de toallas fue un buen servicio

Restaurants and Bars:
en el lobby habia un bar muy bonito,con musica variada,mas en las noches me gustaba tomar una copa allli sentado con mi amigo ,luego en la piscina habia un desayuo regular ,no puedo decir que 5 estrellas pero lo comun aca en hollywod ,la maravillosa atencion de pancho,el personal del hotel era muy amable,todo muy bien calculado y el buffe estupendo,habia variedad de bebidas,tomaba un vino con mi cena y la pase muy bien .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
es lo que mas recomiendo para ustedes,la piscina y la playa ,el sol maravilloso,el agua transparente,como compre un paquete todo incluido tome el servicio de una biscicleta acuatica,te lo dan por una hora solamente pues hay mas turistas en espera,pero fue bonito .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremelly bad experience"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Benito Leyva Ruiz  on Apr 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
356 people found this review helpful

It was a very bad experience, starting for the reception supervisor that could even do her job: the confirmation number I received online was different that the one in the Hotel and the supervisor didn't check with Cuba Travel Network. She told me it wasn’t responsibility of the Hotel to call and verify my reservation, it was my problem. I had to spend my own money to call Habana and very my reservation. I lost two hours of my vacations and I never received an apology not even a compensation for the bad service and bad aptitude of the people working in there. I purchased tow single rooms and one triple. MY family sleeping on the triple room told me next morning that they sleeped on the floor because the triple room was double (only two beds) again I recalled for the bad service and not even and apollogy. But that is not all. On the thematic restaurant name El Fuerte people didn’t want to do their job: they sat my family in separate tables because was too much work to put together to tables for us to seats as a family and enjoy a good time. We left the restaurant without eating. At the buffet I had to call a waiter more than twice for water or beverage service and they made us wait long time before taking the order. In general, the experience was extremely bad: the service and the quality of the food. We are extremely disappointed with the Hotel and specially the people working in there.

Room Number:
4021

Arrival:
Arpil 19th 2012

Rooms:
4021,4003,4017
I stayed in room 4027 but I didnt buy my vacations with Cuba Travel Network

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice hotel club"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rafaela EXPOSITO HERRERA  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

I select this hotel for a weekend with my cuban family.
Ambiance was really good, the rooms clean and comfortable, nice view to the swimming pool.
The food and drinks are top quality for an all included package.

I can only recommend this hotel club.

Room Number:
1077

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Viva Cuba"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ulhas  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
324 people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful holiday - with-in the resort the bunglow section was neat and tidy also the staff very friendly. Food was OK however will recommand the restaurant Benny More.

Room Number:
75

Arrival:
Mar 09 - 12

Rooms:
Recommand the Bunglows

Restaurants and Bars:
REcommand Benny More

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"6 times and will be back"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul gordon  on Feb 20, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
337 people found this review helpful

Had a great vacation
26 times to cuba
17 times amigos sister hotel brisas- which is next door to amigo
amigo is more economical in these poor ontario economical times last few years.
will not book with nolitours or air transat again if dont get my 35.00 returned to me- i have brought over 12 bikes down to give to poor families and put them on the large bus at holguin airport never a problem- until 9.00pm feb 9th- when the woman from nolitour say" you are not putting that bike on the bus- you have to rent a taxi for the 70 km hike- i told her i was going to give it to a poor family up the mountain- she did not care- so i had to risk my money, suitcase and bike- with a 26 year stranger who could have pulled over and i would have lost everything- this is unacceptable from nolitoours- when i paid for the transfer to the hotel in my package.
i checked witht he sunwing rep at the hotel- and they have no problem allowing the bike on the bus.
my family has spent 40.000.00 travelling to cuba in the last 7 years.
the driver dropped me off at the wrong section of the hotel- so i had to drag the heavy bike box acroos the hotel at 10.00pm
i liked the guadalvaca barracks section- first time staying there- it is older but i like the large pool- and the bars are less busy- the main hotel section is swamped with french and italian guests- smoking constantly
had not been to cuba in 2 years- and i have poor families i support with gifts- so it was very nice to see them- i brought them
used
backpacks
running shoes
toothpast and brush
umbrellas
scope
socks
touques
facecloths
bicycle tubes and used tires- which everbody needs
flashlights
took them out for valentine supper up the mountain- all six of us 30.00
i am one of the 10% who spend more time off the resort than on it
cuba is safe- very low crime
and cubans love and respect all canadians who respect them
senor dinero abrazo
wasaga beach, ontario

Rooms:
clean
tell the maid not to remove anything until you check out
i had a keychainlock unit walk off
and 3 yrs ago xmas lights

Restaurants and Bars:
good service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
11.00am
vollyball near scooter rentals
loads of fun

Other Comments:
try and take the free train 0 or buggy to give gifts and money
to poor families off the resort
the staff and maids get regular pesos and gifts all the time

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A parte il mare il resto tutto uno schifo"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vincenzo  on Feb 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

Questo hotel è uno schifo bisogna stare attenti a non essere derubati quando puliscono le stanze è capitato a mio cognato con un paio di scarpe e non hanno neanche chiesto scusa è vergognoso.Non parliamo del mangiare perchè fa' veramente pena.C'erano anche scarafaggi in camera,non vorrei spaventarvi ma vi conviene andare in un altro hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good chance"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marai José Morales  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
339 people found this review helpful

Nice place for relax.good staff.confortable bedroom and bath.I´ll return in some other time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed our stay..."

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Apr 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
351 people found this review helpful

Perfect place for a mother and son as it felt very safe and with 2 separate beds in the room it was just perfect. Food was better than we were expecting especially in the main hotel restaurant buffet. In most hotels the best food is usually at the a la carts but not at this hotel! My son who is 21 especially liked the Pasta Bar where the pasta is made in front of you with the ingredients of your choice. We meet some really nice workers especially Markus, George. I danced and played bingo daily. It was real nice to have a room facing the Ocean although we had to pay for the upgrade it was well worth it and the room was a little larger as well than the first room that we checked into on the street side in the Tropical area of the hotel. The pool bar made the best fancy drinks as they had the blender to make the drinks with. I really enjoyed having the market by the side of the hotel as this is were I purchased most of my souvenirs for home. There is no need to shop outside this market as this market offers a wide selection of souvenirs and frankly I did not see much that was different when I went to Holguin on a shopping tour.

Room Block:
Tropical

Arrival:
March 16-23/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful time and so relaxing...people unbelievable."

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cathy  on Apr 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
348 people found this review helpful

This is the first time i have ever visited Cuba and let me tell you it was more than I was expecting. i have never been so relaxed in all my life, no worries, no stress, just lots of relaxation. The people make the place. it may not be a 5 star hotel but it was well worth the money. you could do a lot of things or you could do nothing but sit by the beach or the pool. it was the best thing i have ever done. the staff were fantastic. i will definitely go again and again. i can't say enough about this vacation. it was clean everwhere not just the rooms but the grounds also. the entertainment was fantastic. i was able to watch a ballet, singing groups and much more.

Room Number:
106

Room Block:
Guadalavara

Arrival:
arrival was great. of course the first day there is a write off because you are tired and there is a lot going on around you.

Rooms:
the rooms where not what i had expected but then again if you are looking for a 5 star hotel...then you should go there. the rooms are old but they are very clean and that is all i cared about because let's face it...how much time are you going to spend there....just to sleep

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great. Enjoyed every mouthful of it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the best beaches and the pools were fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3rd time and going back in April"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Apr 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
353 people found this review helpful

This was my third time at Club Amigo and I am going back because of the Cuban people, and the surroundings. I can't say the hotel is the best I have stayed at. I don't care for the food, but always find something to eat, club Amigo now has Ketchup, salad dressings, HP sauce etc. the rooms are small, but never had any real problems, I always stayed in the Hotel, but this time I will stay in the Bungalos. I love to mingle with the people and have always felt very safe and welcome there. As for the prostitution, I don't know that I saw any. I have went to the local beach parties, and yes you will get hit on but I just say no thanks and have had no problems! This is a 3 star resort in a very poor country, if you want the best of eveything I suggest you spend the money and go else where, if you want a great beach, sun and relaxation and to meet some great people, this may be the place for you!

Arrival:
Never had a problem at the airport or at check-in. Actually very first time travelling with my young son I left my purse with all my money, passports etc on the bus, and it was returned to me with everything still there. How many counties would that happen in?

Rooms:
Small, clean, my parents room smelled of mold, but the service desk was more then willing to move them. The air conditioner always worked, blow-dryer etc. T.V's sometimes aren't great, but I don't watch t.v much on vacation anyways. Cleaning staff never stop, always had clean towels, toilet paper etc. Facecloths are not availible.

I will put it this way we are campers, I sleep on a air mattress in the middle of a bush, this is amazing to me, my bed is made daily, everything is tidied up and washrooms are clean. The give their all to keep us happy and if their is a problem I talk to the staff with respect, and they do what they can to correct the issue.

Restaurants and Bars:
Well, food id not my favorite thing about Cuba, edible, bland, not a ton of variety, but always find something to eat.

Breakfast, omelets are good, bread, yogurt, cereal etc
Lunch, burgers, poutine, french fries hotdogs, grilled cheese or the daily buffets.
Supper, pig roasts, turkey, pasta, beef, salads, soup etc.

Icecream is awsome, cakes, pudding etc for dessert

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Love it, love the beach, palm trees, flea market next door, flowers etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Kayaking, paddle boats, Catermaran(not my thing salt water burns the eyes) but my son loves it! Pool volleyball, beach volleyball, afternoon bingo for a bottle of rum. Love taking the horse and carriage to small villiages to hand out used clothing and gifts...love the locals, very kind and very happy for anything we can give!

Other Comments:
I have travelled to Europe, Mexico, States and though alot of Canada, Cuba is to me my favorite. I appreciate the simple life the Cubans live, I come home wondering why we have let things get so complicated. Go and enjoy, learn about their culture, and go with a open mind...but realize they are unable to maintain their hotels to our standards here, they just aren't able to get the products need to keep things the way we do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube