Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca  

Playa Guardalavaca, Banes, Holguin

"Think Twice Before Booking"
Posted by: Melanie  on Mar 20, 2016
see all reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Pictures and Information
Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Guardalavaca Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Guardalavaca

User rating 3.6

Based on 48 reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Information


A friendly resort positioned just a few steps from the beautiful Guardalavaca beach, this hotel offers very good value with a wide range of different room types and recreational activities for the whole family.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Reviews

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.6 of 5 48 reviews
Excellent
  18
Very good
  10
Average
  11
Poor
  0
Terrible
  9
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (34)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (6)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
21 - 30 of 48

"Perfect stay"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  ca  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
343 people found this review helpful

I am extremely happy that I ignored Prissy's comments and trusted the others.This place is perfect.excellent food.excellent service.clean quiet(at night)..While I was there, there were more than 500 people there.Vast majority over 55 years old, and several families..All very happy and enjoying.several restaurants and pools. Went sailing, etc. All included.Only negatives are that there is ONLY 220V electricity, no balconies, and safety deposit box is not free (only 1CUC per day ) There is so much to do here, or you can do nothing Go ahead...Go there

Room Number:
1055

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel guarda la vaca la mejor experiencia de mi vida"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  jose caban  on Mar 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
263 people found this review helpful

Este hotel esta completo y se lo recomiendo
a todo el mundo es lo mas maravilloso que e visitado

Room Number:
1085

Arrival:
03/04/2011

Rooms:
Excelente

Restaurants and Bars:
Excelente

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excelente

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Cuban Experience and it was fantastic"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Manno  on Mar 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband, 9 year old son and my parents week of 2/8 - 2/15. Contrary to past reviews I must say this was a great resort. Upon arrival at the airport we took a shuttle to the hotel (approx 1 hour ride). We had great service upon arrival. Make sure to leave a peso or 2 at the reception desk. They do a great job and very rare they will recieve a tip. We were escorted to our hotel, we stayed in the bungalow section and was part of the Cameleon Club. The advanatage of booking with Nolitours (Cameleon Club) is you get the choice of 3 a la carte restaurant , 1 bbq night and 1 cuban food night. We enjoyed the supper at Benny's. For an additional 10 pesos more you can have the lobster dinner which is to die for. You can always find something to eat at the buffets. My son who is 9 years old is a very fussy eater and surprised me, he was able to find something to eat during our vacation.
Make sure to bring a large travel cup, the bar tenders have no problems filling your drinks up for you. There is always something available to drink.
The beach is beauitful. I have been to several beaches and this by far is the best one yet.
The bungalow section was a great choice. The rooms were cleaned every day. We left 1 peso every day for the maid. She did a fabulous job and we always had a pleasant surprise when we got back from our day out at the beach / pool. She would make something with the towels every day on our bed.
To get your money exchange (cash only) would be in the bungalow section. There was a short line-up. At the hotel Atlantico you could expect to wait for 45 min - 1 hour.
My son went to the kidzone for 2 days of vacation. They brought him to the zoo and another day they went horseback riding. He really enjoyed that.
Make sure to bring some extra clothing, hygeiene product etc when you go. The Cubans can really us these items. I left some of my clothing, crocks and hygeine product and gave them to the people who worked at the kidzone. I also left some of my son's clothing. They would rather take clothing than mpney.
We were fortunate to visit a home while we were there. During our bicycle ride a local woman invited us into her home and made coffee for us. They have very little but they sure give a lot.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. I have never been to a 5 star hotel but my parents stayed at a 5 start resport in Punta Cana and they enjoyed this vacation over Punta Cana.
We have already booked for next year at the same resort but for 2 weeks.

Room Number:
327

Room Block:
Bungalow Section

Arrival:
There was a bit of a line-up but what can you expect when a bus load arrives. The front desk clerks were very friendly.

Rooms:
Spacious and clean. The maid cleaned the room every day. A/C worked. No fridge but they can be rented at a fee if they have any available.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints. I recommend Benny's and make sure to have the lobster for 10 pesos more. It was scrumptious. The drinks were plentiful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the most beautiful beach I have been to by far. The pools / grounds were very clean.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Winter holiday."

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  melvyn  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
297 people found this review helpful

Well we had a fortnight in club amigo and could not fault it the room was clean and tidy with fridge maids came twice a day to make the bed and in the evening left chocs on the bed which was a nice touch,numerous restaurants and a la carte even one snack/bar open 24/7,4 swimming pools nice beach and close to a village we will go back again

Room Number:
5215

Room Block:
villa

Arrival:
went smooth

Rooms:
spotless

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Once experienced never forgotten"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laurence  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
282 people found this review helpful

I came with no expectations other than to enjoy the sun and chill out! What I got was an experience of a lifetime! The Cuban people just blew my mind! Boy could we learn many things from these truely beautiful human beings! Icame away totally humiliated (but in the nicest possible way!)What is with us so called Westernised materialistic snobs??? Oh! the food is this and that- the room was this and that etc. etc. I did just a very basic research and what I learned and then experienced taught me just how resilient we are as a species in the face of adversity. It was a pleasure and an honour to share such a fantastic country and culture and God Willing I will be granted the opportunity to return.

Room Number:
2007

Room Block:
The barricks!

Arrival:
Could,nt get over being able to smoke inside! Took me back years when we had some real cival rights! Oh yes, if you do,nt like standing in line maybe this is,nt the place for you but being Irish I had the time and opportunity to talk to so many people and make friends!

Rooms:
OK not five star I will admit but then I,m not either. Everthing worked;was spotlessly clean and the little trick with the towels was to die for! Our housemaid kept a low profile but when she was needed was there ready and willing to help us.

Restaurants and Bars:
Missed out on most of the a la carte meals as I was on a liguid diet for the first six days!!!However, the allocation system for same is kinda chaotic and for a first timer like myself??? OK OK so I,m thick!Enough said!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The bay itself and the grounds are immaculatly maintained. If there is a problem it,s us tourists just throwing things at our a****s!The pool bar run by Alex as one big good humoured fun fest and over any 24 hour period there was something to enjoy - trust me on this I was in serious sleep depravation most of the time but did,nt want to miss a minute!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Booked most of the trips and then proceeded to miss out on them!Seriously, those I did get to were great fun and the reps really wanted us all to have a great time.Next time plan to use the beach more and associated activities.

Other Comments:
I do,nt really come from a tipping culture or background - yes I,m working class(are,nt we all at heart?)but I found giving to the Cuban people to being a strangely uplifting and rewarding experience.I did take some colouring pencils rubbers sharpeners notebooks as gifts for the children and these were warmly received. Do try to take some things with you, it may not seem like much to you but my God is the God of small steps and miracles!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great spot"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Jan 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
298 people found this review helpful

Have lost track of the number of times I have been at Club Amigo but its in the double digits by now and this time we will likely be staying two weeks.

When I see reviews from the likes of Krissy (Prissy?) I have to wonder where she gets this attitude and what gives her the right to insult our Cuban friends. Perhaps she felt they were competition for her. That review is as accurate as her spelling.

I can sum up Club Amigo in two sentences. If you pay for a three star resort and go there expecting a five star you will be disappointed. If you go there expecting a three star, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Rooms:
The extra cost for the bungalows and the villas is money well spent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacaciones de Verano."

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Delio Torres  on Nov 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2010
491 people found this review helpful

Estube en el hotel en el mes de agosto del 2010 con mi familia,debo decir que el personal de servicio fue fantastico y aunque no habia mucha variedad en la comida del buffet si estaba muy bien elavorada.En los restaurantes especializados sin mucha variedad pero ok .La limpieza del hotel en general impecable,eso si la recreacion nocturna por debajo de las espectativas.Esperaba mas.Pero en general la estancia fue placentera.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terriable & Disgusting"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Krissy  on Oct 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
248 people found this review helpful

I was absoutly disgusted with my stay here. The food was terriable, the resort was run down and the amptoshpere was appaling.

I have never in my life seen so much prostitution. Men and women coming from other countries to sleep with the locals. This is how it works, they pick up some local chickita and pay for them to stay at the resort with them for a night/couple days etc. There is not just one instance of this, this is practically how the resort makes there cash.

It is like going to a brathal, I would not suggest anyone with any morals stay at this resort or this part of the island. I will probaly never return to Cuba because of all of the local prostitution that is brought onto the resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The "bumps and bruises" of the hotel are overlooked by those not expecting fancy amenities"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lee  on Jun 17, 2010  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
274 people found this review helpful

This is our 15th visit to Cuba, but our first to Holguin. We are low-maintenance travellers who have very reasonable expectations, especially of a 3 star hotel.

We got a very good last minute price of $208 for the week and we felt that we got good value for what we paid. However, this is an older hotel in need of alot of updating and repairs.

Your Arrival:
We arrived late at night and the room we were given was mouldy. We were very tired, so didn't bother to unpack and just pulled the covers over our heads so we wouldn't have to breathe the mould. When we reported this to our Hola Sun representative, Susanna, at 8 a.m, she immediately went to the front desk to request another room for us "for health reasons". She kept on the staff all day. Finally, at 5 p.m. we were moved and were able to unpack and settle in. Be prepared to be persistent with frequent returns to the front desk if you need to change rooms.

Other Comments:
We found some very wonderful staff here which is why Canadians return again and again to Cuba. Any problems we had were handled professionally by Liuba or Barbara at the guest relations desk inside the front door by the gift shop. The front desk have less decision making power, so we learned to ask elsewhere. There is a new manager here, Carlos, who is very friendly and very visible at the hotel. He is receptive to constructive criticism and is slowly trying to make improvements.

Food:
The food in the main buffet was mediocre but we tried to remind ourseves that some Cubans don't have food on a regular basis, so we were grateful we could have what we wanted when we wanted it. We ate at 2 of the a la cartes - Benny More (Villa section) and La Vega (Bungalows section) which were a nice change from the buffet.

Voucher:
We were also able to get a voucher to eat at Brisas Guardalavaca (about a 10 minute walk) in their buffet dining room. It was a nicer atmosphere and there was a greater variety of food with better quality than Club Amigo.

Bars:
Cappucino and espresso are available at all of the bars and snack bars, but we found other non-alcoholic drinks to be very limited in variety (cola, orange and sprite and some overly sweet fruit drinks). We drank the regular water and had no problems.

Gym:
The gym is not air-conditioned as advertised in some of the travel brochures. We tried to use it very early one morning, but it was stifling hot in there. There are no stair-steppers as advertised, but free weights and a stationary bike are available.

Crystal clear water:
There is a nice section of reef out front of the hotel that is marked by orange buoys. The coral is beautiful, but there were very few fish and nothing large at all. Perhaps this is because the locals fish here on a daily basis. The water was crystal clear.

Pools:
There are 4 pools onsite, all of which are good size. Usually you can find a quiet spot if you want to get away from the music and people.

Returning guests:
The majority of the guests here were Canadians (alot of French Canadians and some English speaking), a fair number of Brits and a few Europeans. On the weekends, there are alot of Cuban guests who stay here as a "reward" by the government, so it can get very busy and noisy.

There are alot of repeat guests here (one man we met has made over 80 visits), so obviously the "bumps and bruises" of the hotel are overlooked by those not expecting fancy amenities.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect vacation"

Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
User Rating:  Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tammy  on Mar 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
261 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrival was on time , flew with CanJet & it was OK . Usual cramped quarters but a means to an end . Check in was fine , room was fine , no problems , everything worked , dropped our bags , changed & headed right off to the beach :)

Rooms:
We stayed in the Bungalows , spotless clean , A/C worked ,TV worked & the bathroom was spotless & funtioning , even had a very deep bathtub as well as shower, also a hair dryer in the bathroom .

Restaurants and Bars:
All the Restaurants & Bars were great not very long lines , & Buffets always had a variety to choose from , never went hungry , although the fruit was limited & beef was almost non existent . That said they roasted pigs & chickens almost everyday on outdoor spits .Pasta bar was Good & the ice cream was deilicious , loved the Vanilla nutmeg Mmmmmmmmmm . The drinks were fine , plentiful & the cappucinos, coffee & expresso was Yummy !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The most Beautiful Beach ! Soft white sand plenty of shells to pick . The color of the water was gorgeous turquoise blues . Nice for a walk or spread your towel right on the sand . Plenty of loungers never had to play the chair game . Pools were Lovely , some almost deserted , so you had peace & quiet if you chose . The grounds are very clean , plenty of gardens, flowers, shrubs , even a few rose gardens

Other Comments:
The Staff @ this hotel are wonderful , always helpful & attentive , with or with out a tip .Security are always around unobtrusive but available .
We really had no complaints about anything , room, food , people . The 1 lil thing I'd like to mention is the *smell* that wafted thru the Hotel main lobby , broken septic line maybe? I dont know, but it was not pleasant to lounge in the lobby bar or walk thru the sewage smell to go eat @ the upstairs buffet. Hopefully this will be remedied .
We will more than likely repeat @ this hotel next year

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube