Allegro Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Allegro Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Allegro Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"romantic spot to stay"
Posted by: peace on Jul 13, 2014
see all reviews

Allegro Varadero Reviews
Allegro Varadero Pictures and Information
Allegro Varadero Varadero Cuba

#16
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.8

Based on 30 reviews

Allegro Varadero Information


This hotel has recently re-opened after extensive renovation works.


Allegro Varadero all inclusive resort hosts a unique Cuban town, with villas as they were in Varadero back in 1920. Beautiful private beach, marine sports, wonderful entertainment, biggest gym in Varadero and much more...

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Allegro Varadero Reviews

Allegro Varadero Review: 2.8 of 5 30 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  11
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 30

"romantic spot to stay"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peace  on Jul 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
18 people found this review helpful

This hotel is an amazing place to go spend time with friends, family and just you relaxing at in an hotel with ocean view rooms and superior all inclusive plan better than most hotels I have been to. The time I went here, I saw a couple having a very romantic wedding and their honeymoon here afterwards and it was such an amazing event. The price is right for this place, it may not be all that on top but it is really great and they make use of what they have to provide the best to their customers and that was a good deal. The rooms here are incredible, imagine having to wake up to such an amazing view of the ocean, it was truly nice. The staff was incredible, the reception staff was very warm, the bartenders made sure to get you exactly what you ordered for and the entire staff of the hotel did their best and provided the best to the clients. The serving staff at the restaurants especially at the buffet was very friendly and I got talk to some of them and you could tell they enjoyed their jobs. The buffet options were much so food wasn’t boring during my stay at this hotel. The rooms were up to my taste and up to standard, the bathrooms are clean and the towels and all were replaced often. I enjoyed the swim up bar, nice staff there as well as the place I go to have fun with other guests.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a great experience."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Mar 11, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Group
134 people found this review helpful

The rooms were clean, comfortable and a place to shower and sleep. I spent most of my time at the amazing/beautiful beach and participating in the various activities. The food at the buffet was also very good. I went to a few a la cartes for the experience however this wasn't necessary. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Safety was important to me because I was travelling as part of a group of single women. I never once worried about my surroundings.

Arrival:
March 23 in the evening.

Rooms:
clean and well maintained

Restaurants and Bars:
Great food and drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Archery, mini putt, shows, disco, dance combo (sala)

Other Comments:
I plan to return next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never again- a run down dump."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry  on Mar 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
130 people found this review helpful

It was bad from the time we arrived at 1am. The main lobby had a very bad odour.Perhaps because because of the smoking? We were transported to our room in the "exclusive" beach club + area on the back of a flat bed pickup. All down hill from there. The lights in our stair wells never worked. The beach club Jacuzzi was out of order all week The two washrooms at the beach club pool were also blocked off all week long. It took two people to open the patio door. Our neighbors all had the same problem.The in-house money exchange was down the first three days.(computer problems)Food was the worst we have ever had in Cuba. If it was labelled, it probably wasn't labelled right. The beach club and beach bars both ran out of beer twice. When asked when there would be more I got "Don't know, maybe today"

The place is badly run down. One elevator is stuck between floors. Three missing panes of glass at the top of the main rotunda have been replaced with sheets of plywood propped in place.The list goes on and on. One person even got his room changed because there was a spring sticking out of the mattress! We had a mattress & box spring propped against the wall of our stair well for three days. The only saving grace was the great weather and good beach. Even the good weather deserted us for the final three days. This was our third trip to Cuba and will be our last.

Room Number:
6303

Arrival:
The back of a flat bed pickup truck at 1am? Not good!

Rooms:
The patio doors do not work. Old and worn out beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was the worst we have ever had. The ala cartes were as bad. No bottled water available at the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was good. The grounds require lots of work.The whole place just looks dirty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unfortunate experience..."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard MacLennan  on Apr 3, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
236 people found this review helpful

When we arrived at the Allegro it was late in the evening and we tired. Upon cheking in we were told the Allegro was over sold and we had rooms booked at another hotel. I have travelled enough to understand this happens and it was frustrating but not more than that...until it became quite obvious the front desk staff did not care. We were left waiting for over 2 hours for a cab which, we had been reasured, had been called more than once. I watched 2 other sets of guests experience the same issue and were also treated with a lack of respect that is disturbing. They too waited for ground transportation for an extremely long time. The front desk staff visited amoung themselves, were on the phones on personal calls and simply didn't care. We would not ever consider this property nor would we recomend it.

When we finally did arrive at Playa Caleta their front desk staff were excited and happy to see us. They treated us as welcome guests. I would HIGHLY recomend this property.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please do not go here!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
223 people found this review helpful

This is a 2.5 star resort at best. It may have been 4 star in its day 20 years ago but not even close now. I won't write a long list but anything you can think of other than the beach is a 2 star. They cater to Italian's and that's it. Do not vacation here.

Room Number:
4307

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
March 13 2012

Rooms:
Below Average

Restaurants and Bars:
Average

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Average

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Same as most resorts

Other Comments:
Over all bland resort with terrible food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful relaxing week"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Victoria  on Mar 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
234 people found this review helpful

The food was better than expected. The staff were both professional and friendly. A couple of glitches at the beginning but if you treat people the way you would like to be treated you get amazing results ( a little courtesy goes a long way) We will be going back for sure, loved it.

Room Number:
5105

Room Block:
main

Arrival:
We arrived early and couldn't get into our room right away. We brought Summer clothes in our carry-ons and changed and our lugage went into a secure area.

Rooms:
Our room was spotless, but didn't have a second bed as we had requested (two ladies) It took only ten minutes to get another one put into our large room. Virginia who cleaned our room daily did a great job and was such a nice person and her English was amazing as my Spanish is very poor.

Restaurants and Bars:
My friend is in hospitality and we both found that the staff in the bars and restaurants were both smartly dressed and knew what the were doing.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The gounds and all areas were kept very clean.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We enjpoyed everthing

Other Comments:
Most Caribbean countries two women alone would'nt want to leave their resort. We were able to travel by bus into town and spend a wonderful day browsing, eating and having a great time without being hasseled or feeling unsafe. It was wonderful. We both love Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not recommend this hotel to anyone."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  arlen  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
312 people found this review helpful

This hotel was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The bathrooms were nasty. The food was such a disappointment. There was very little variety. The service was not good. I only found 1 waitress to be helpful and the lady who cleaned our room was very nice. Other than that I complained about how the bathroom was dirty and the bad food. My whole family was disappointed.

Room Number:
4108

Rooms:
The bathrooms were dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were nice. The people serving the drinks were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very pretty as well as their pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful people, weather, and food, would come back!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  June  on Mar 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
357 people found this review helpful

The resort is old, but has lots of character. The rooms were not very clean, but we only there to shower and sleep anyway. There was a hiccup with the hot water for 24hrs, but we survived.Only 1 bellboy when we arrived made the trip to our room a lengthy wait, but it was late and we were tired.The staff was very polite,helpful and all round great! We didn't have any bugs, or fleas or any of that! The food was very good, lots of variety, meats served were beef, pork, chicken all very tasty. The fresh rolls at every meals were amazing.The bar tender at the beach bar (Mario) was fantastic!! What a good experience we had with the servers. We had lots of great weather, swimming, snorkeling, and sunning ourselves. A good vacation to relax, just what we needed. We will visit again.

Room Number:
6232

Room Block:
2 ??

Arrival:
Feb 28

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not book this resort!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kate  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
362 people found this review helpful

This hotel was rated a 4 star but showed more like a 2. It took us an hour and a half to get to our room as the front desk staff were rude and ignored us. The main lobby was nice but the rest of the grounds were dirty and old. all the trees and bush lining the beach were dead. The beach itself was beautiful but that was it. The front desk originally tried to put us in a room away from the main building but once we got to it we quickly refused as it smelled, the walls were stained and there were bugs all over the floor. Once we requested a room in the main building, we finally settled in a half decent room. I have traveled down south alot and this was by far the worst resort I was on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not recommended"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  NOYAN  on Feb 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) TURKEY
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
345 people found this review helpful

Although hotel listed as 4 star in my opinion it should be reduced to 2 star only. Very bad management. Not maintained over all. Inside and outside of the hotel is too dirty. Understood hotel owned by a Spanish group called Occidental which I believe they need to learn a lot for hotel management. Ministry of tourism affairs of the cuba should take care what is cooking at this hotel !!!

Arrival:
You should secure some half an hour time for check-in formalities due to un educated front dest staff. Definately they have no idea what they are doing ! In addition staff totally unpolite or better to say too rude.

Rooms:
Very dirty, not maintained. Several phone calls to house-keeping department to optain some shower towels but remained with empty hands. Understood hotel has no shower towels. Inorder to make an domestic phone call you should leave your room to switchboard operator room (later on understood this system is just to collect us$ 1.00).

Restaurants and Bars:
Open buffet system. At first looking seems many dishes available but at end you understood only few you can eat. Most of the foods are tasteless. Breakfast can be rated avarage but definately better than luch and/or dinner. Both pool bar and loby floor bar working unexpectly well as bar tenders and staff are working over their capacities.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A natural and very nice beach without facility ? Most of the chairs / chez-longs are broken. Just to have a beach towel you are visiting health club at pool side but reply is funny ! First you should go to reception desk (some 15 minutes walking and climbing 3 floors up) and to put us$ 15.00 deposit and you should come back here with receipt :))))

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube