Allegro Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Allegro Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Allegro Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"romantic spot to stay"
Posted by: peace on Jul 13, 2014
see all reviews

Allegro Varadero Reviews
Allegro Varadero Pictures and Information
Allegro Varadero Varadero Cuba

#16
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.8

Based on 30 reviews

Allegro Varadero Information


This hotel has recently re-opened after extensive renovation works.


Allegro Varadero all inclusive resort hosts a unique Cuban town, with villas as they were in Varadero back in 1920. Beautiful private beach, marine sports, wonderful entertainment, biggest gym in Varadero and much more...

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Allegro Varadero Reviews

Allegro Varadero Review: 2.8 of 5 30 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  11
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
1 - 10 of 30

"Never again- a run down dump."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry  on Mar 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
128 people found this review helpful

It was bad from the time we arrived at 1am. The main lobby had a very bad odour.Perhaps because because of the smoking? We were transported to our room in the "exclusive" beach club + area on the back of a flat bed pickup. All down hill from there. The lights in our stair wells never worked. The beach club Jacuzzi was out of order all week The two washrooms at the beach club pool were also blocked off all week long. It took two people to open the patio door. Our neighbors all had the same problem.The in-house money exchange was down the first three days.(computer problems)Food was the worst we have ever had in Cuba. If it was labelled, it probably wasn't labelled right. The beach club and beach bars both ran out of beer twice. When asked when there would be more I got "Don't know, maybe today"

The place is badly run down. One elevator is stuck between floors. Three missing panes of glass at the top of the main rotunda have been replaced with sheets of plywood propped in place.The list goes on and on. One person even got his room changed because there was a spring sticking out of the mattress! We had a mattress & box spring propped against the wall of our stair well for three days. The only saving grace was the great weather and good beach. Even the good weather deserted us for the final three days. This was our third trip to Cuba and will be our last.

Room Number:
6303

Arrival:
The back of a flat bed pickup truck at 1am? Not good!

Rooms:
The patio doors do not work. Old and worn out beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was the worst we have ever had. The ala cartes were as bad. No bottled water available at the bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was good. The grounds require lots of work.The whole place just looks dirty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not even think of booking this dump!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
320 people found this review helpful

Great location, nice beach ...and thats where it stops. The food was not very good, although the fresh bread each day was good, and that is what we survived on. The staff appeared to try but are not supported by the management. Noisy, dusty and dirty and just too many issues to even write up here. We do not go on vacation and expect to attempting to have problems solved each day.
With a lot of work this resort might qualify for a 2 star rating

Do yourselves a service by NOT booking here. Plently of other resorts to chose from.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not recommended"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  NOYAN  on Feb 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) TURKEY
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
343 people found this review helpful

Although hotel listed as 4 star in my opinion it should be reduced to 2 star only. Very bad management. Not maintained over all. Inside and outside of the hotel is too dirty. Understood hotel owned by a Spanish group called Occidental which I believe they need to learn a lot for hotel management. Ministry of tourism affairs of the cuba should take care what is cooking at this hotel !!!

Arrival:
You should secure some half an hour time for check-in formalities due to un educated front dest staff. Definately they have no idea what they are doing ! In addition staff totally unpolite or better to say too rude.

Rooms:
Very dirty, not maintained. Several phone calls to house-keeping department to optain some shower towels but remained with empty hands. Understood hotel has no shower towels. Inorder to make an domestic phone call you should leave your room to switchboard operator room (later on understood this system is just to collect us$ 1.00).

Restaurants and Bars:
Open buffet system. At first looking seems many dishes available but at end you understood only few you can eat. Most of the foods are tasteless. Breakfast can be rated avarage but definately better than luch and/or dinner. Both pool bar and loby floor bar working unexpectly well as bar tenders and staff are working over their capacities.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A natural and very nice beach without facility ? Most of the chairs / chez-longs are broken. Just to have a beach towel you are visiting health club at pool side but reply is funny ! First you should go to reception desk (some 15 minutes walking and climbing 3 floors up) and to put us$ 15.00 deposit and you should come back here with receipt :))))

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unfortunate experience..."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard MacLennan  on Apr 3, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

When we arrived at the Allegro it was late in the evening and we tired. Upon cheking in we were told the Allegro was over sold and we had rooms booked at another hotel. I have travelled enough to understand this happens and it was frustrating but not more than that...until it became quite obvious the front desk staff did not care. We were left waiting for over 2 hours for a cab which, we had been reasured, had been called more than once. I watched 2 other sets of guests experience the same issue and were also treated with a lack of respect that is disturbing. They too waited for ground transportation for an extremely long time. The front desk staff visited amoung themselves, were on the phones on personal calls and simply didn't care. We would not ever consider this property nor would we recomend it.

When we finally did arrive at Playa Caleta their front desk staff were excited and happy to see us. They treated us as welcome guests. I would HIGHLY recomend this property.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would not recommend this resort nor go there again."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aleksandra  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

Official ratings of hotels like this one at four stars do not help anyone. The service here was lousy, staff were half-interested and the noise at night from roudy, half-civilized clientelle was terrible. We felt we had been placed in an out dated hotel from the fifties, in a strategically located West-East
showdown, as the Russian 'tourists' were occupying the beach on their terms. A drinking hole at night, with Canadians in their twenties at loose to drink and getting drunk and roudy every night.

The room was very well maintained and clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Too bad vacation doesn't consist of sitting in your room, as everything else in the shared space was of poor quality.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not recommend this hotel to anyone."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  arlen  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
307 people found this review helpful

This hotel was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The bathrooms were nasty. The food was such a disappointment. There was very little variety. The service was not good. I only found 1 waitress to be helpful and the lady who cleaned our room was very nice. Other than that I complained about how the bathroom was dirty and the bad food. My whole family was disappointed.

Room Number:
4108

Rooms:
The bathrooms were dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were nice. The people serving the drinks were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was very pretty as well as their pool.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Book another resort!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty-Ann  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
104 people found this review helpful

The Allegro has no supplies....
The building is broken down and needs repair.
2/3's of the resort is closed.
Only one bathroom serves for the one buffet, bar, lobby, and beach.
Just book another resort...this one is not a 4 star, not even close to a 3.
Very dissappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please do not go here!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
219 people found this review helpful

This is a 2.5 star resort at best. It may have been 4 star in its day 20 years ago but not even close now. I won't write a long list but anything you can think of other than the beach is a 2 star. They cater to Italian's and that's it. Do not vacation here.

Room Number:
4307

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
March 13 2012

Rooms:
Below Average

Restaurants and Bars:
Average

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Average

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Same as most resorts

Other Comments:
Over all bland resort with terrible food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"VERY dissapointed in this Hotel"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gayla  on May 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
193 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
The arrival at the hotel went very smooth. We got our bands, keys, and luggage to our room in about 15 minutes. The lobby and main floors very nice.

Rooms:
Absolutely awful. We were in the main building because of low occupancy on the fourth floor. The room was crawling with tiny red ants. In the drawers, everywhere. The floor had not been swept or mopped from the previous guests or once while we were there. The AC was basically just a fan, the fridge didn't work No screens on the patio doors, so the mosquitos feasted on us every night. Sheets were stained but clean I think?

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were good, although we only got to see the one because all the other ones were closed. No, 24 hr. snack bar like they said. The buffets
were basically the same every day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pools and grounds were nice, and pretty clean thanks to a very friendly groundskeeper name Raymond.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The tennis court is in terrible shape, no choice really in the entertainment
because they only ran 1 show a night.

Other Comments:
You can't buy ice there to have in your room so you have to constantly go down to the bar and ask for it. They don't have internet either, like they said in the brochure. So we had to drive to the plaza and spend 30 pesos (approx. $32.00 for 15 minutes to let my sons know we arrived safe. Most of the elevators didn't work, and the ones that did didn't work right. There are cracks and chips on the tileing going to your rooms so watch your step.

We had a Good time in Cuba but it was not because of this so called 4 star hotel, (maybe a 2). We definately WILL NOT be staying at this hotel if we go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not book this resort!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kate  on Mar 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
359 people found this review helpful

This hotel was rated a 4 star but showed more like a 2. It took us an hour and a half to get to our room as the front desk staff were rude and ignored us. The main lobby was nice but the rest of the grounds were dirty and old. all the trees and bush lining the beach were dead. The beach itself was beautiful but that was it. The front desk originally tried to put us in a room away from the main building but once we got to it we quickly refused as it smelled, the walls were stained and there were bugs all over the floor. Once we requested a room in the main building, we finally settled in a half decent room. I have traveled down south alot and this was by far the worst resort I was on.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube