Allegro Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Allegro Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Allegro Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"romantic spot to stay"
Posted by: peace on Jul 13, 2014
see all reviews

Allegro Varadero Reviews
Allegro Varadero Pictures and Information
Allegro Varadero Varadero Cuba

#16
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.8

Based on 30 reviews

Allegro Varadero Information


This hotel has recently re-opened after extensive renovation works.


Allegro Varadero all inclusive resort hosts a unique Cuban town, with villas as they were in Varadero back in 1920. Beautiful private beach, marine sports, wonderful entertainment, biggest gym in Varadero and much more...

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Allegro Varadero Reviews

Allegro Varadero Review: 2.8 of 5 30 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  11
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
11 - 20 of 30

"Do not even think of booking this dump!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
319 people found this review helpful

Great location, nice beach ...and thats where it stops. The food was not very good, although the fresh bread each day was good, and that is what we survived on. The staff appeared to try but are not supported by the management. Noisy, dusty and dirty and just too many issues to even write up here. We do not go on vacation and expect to attempting to have problems solved each day.
With a lot of work this resort might qualify for a 2 star rating

Do yourselves a service by NOT booking here. Plently of other resorts to chose from.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lots of potential to be realized"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ian  on Jan 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
280 people found this review helpful

The location is great - the resort has a nice long and wide beach with lava rock outcroppings at each end as book marks. The food was actually pretty good - the roast pig especially. The service improved over the course of our stay but started from a seemingly indifferent base. The lobby bar is small but the service was very good. The patio-pool bar was annoyingly taken over by different bunches of inconsiderate youthful louts who partied noisely at the expense of others' enjoyment. I am embarrassed to say these rowdies are becoming the Canadian youth tourist norm in Cuba. Oh, please Mexico, get safe again so these clods can return and wear their baseball caps in your restaurants and drink themselves into obnoxious oblivion there. Management needs to be able to cut these inconsiderate oafs by cutting them off from the bar once they get out of control, and throw them out of the hotel if they persist in imposing their reckless noise on others.

OK, back to the hotel. It is earnestly trying to be better and one day, perhaps soon, with current management Allegro may turn the corner. We did had some perfect moments of Caribbean relaxation on the beach. The beds were comfortable and the rooms and hotel were kept clean. However, unless we hear hings have improved rowdy youth wise, we won't be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We would not recommend this resort nor go there again."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aleksandra  on Jan 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
270 people found this review helpful

Official ratings of hotels like this one at four stars do not help anyone. The service here was lousy, staff were half-interested and the noise at night from roudy, half-civilized clientelle was terrible. We felt we had been placed in an out dated hotel from the fifties, in a strategically located West-East
showdown, as the Russian 'tourists' were occupying the beach on their terms. A drinking hole at night, with Canadians in their twenties at loose to drink and getting drunk and roudy every night.

The room was very well maintained and clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Too bad vacation doesn't consist of sitting in your room, as everything else in the shared space was of poor quality.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Old World Charm but needs TLC"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynne  on Jul 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
202 people found this review helpful

The hotel is clearly very old, but there's a lot of character. Most of the people working there were helpful with the exception of one particular lady at the front desk and some of the staff who didn't seem to understand English. It was our first time going to Cuba and it was a learning experience. The weather wasn't as warm as we would have liked, but we had a couple good beach days. The beach was cleaned regularly but was often littered in the morning with Portuguese man-o-war. There was always lots to do around the resort. By the end of the week we had figured out the best way to get good service was tip, tip, tip.

Arrival:
Our flight arrived on time and we got to the hotel around 2 PM and were told we could not check in until 4 pm. 10 CUC's got us into our room right away. The security personnel at the airport were incredibly rude, but we did'nt let that spoil our experience.

Rooms:
Our room was very spacious and had a huge balcony facing the ocean. There was a seperate walk in closet and the bathroom had a few "age" problems but was more than adequate. Myself & fellow travellers found there was a lot of mildew - more in some rooms than others. The bar fridge was stocked with water, but it didn't work and we were never able to get a replacement which was disappointing as we would have enjoyed having a cold beer on the lovely balcony. The rooms were kept clean with fresh towels every day and we always left a tip or gift for our maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
Once you got used to the blandness of the food, there was always something to eat. I would not recommend the a la carte restaurants. After 2 dining experiences we always headed back to the buffet for something good to eat. Part way through the week the hotel ran out of butter and wine never to reappear. This can either be upsetting or you can look at it that this is a Cuban experience. If everything was the same as where you come from you may as well stay at home. These people do the best they can with their limited resources and when you show appreciation for their efforts, you are treated with respect. I celebrated my birthday there and they went all out to make it special without being asked.
The bars were always stocked but sometimes the lineups could be frustrating - 20 minutes at busy times. The pool bar made the best cappuccino's and the piano bar made a special coffee - Cafe Bonbon that was to die for! Mojito's were also exceptional, but avoid the martini's - not their speciality. Get to this bar as soon as it opens to get a good seat. We didn't find this bar for a couple days, but very nice ambiance.
The buffet always had plenty of choices - lots of fresh fruit. The pastries all look amazing, but they all taste the same - kinda funny. Their ice cream is excellent. We took our Bubba Mugs everywhere with us - highly recommended. Their cheap plastic cups, just don't cut it.Also good idea to take your own hot sauce, salt & pepper or other seasonings if you can't handle the blandness.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - kept clean, but jelly fish were often on the beach in the morning. The bar was only open a few times. You had to get to the beach early to get chairs.

Pools were crowded with people sunbathing and not too many in the pool. No problem finding a place to sit, but lineups at the bar

Grounds were kept very clean although at night there were a lot of lights along the pathways that were burned out and it was a pretty good hike to the Disco.We were able to tip a gardener into getting us a coconut and peeling the pulp out for us - very sweet treat and he seemed genuinely pleased to do this for us

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Day trip to Havana - There was a miscommunication between our Cuban travel agent and the bus line and we missed our ride, so we didn't get to go to Havana and that was disappointing. However, we went to Varadero instead and had a great time exploring the markets, the rum store and cigar store

Catamaran trip - Well worth the money. Kinda touristy, but lots of fun. Great lunch at Cayo Blanco. Beautiful beach! The guys on the Cat made it so much fun

Got a full massage - b'day gift from my sisters - Very professional and verrrry thorough.

Had fun at the disco and pretty well missed every evening show.

Other Comments:
Find your guest services person right away - they sit near the front desk. Ask them lots of questions. Find the concierge too. They have lots of info, but you have to ask for it. They know surprisingly little outside of the hotel.

My brother-in-law became ill while we were there and had to be rushed to the local hospital. Can't say enough good things about the quality of care he rec'd and the low cost for all that was done.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Well maintained lush spacious grounds and beautiful flora/fauna"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Jun 1, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
223 people found this review helpful

Very seasoned cuban traveller. I rate this resort as 4 star in most categories
but in LOW season only 2 star for food variety,quality and avaliability.

Your Arrival:
Professional english speaking courteous front reception staff.Fast room checkin and excellent service from Richard.No complaints here.

Rooms:
cuban 4 star older resort quality room is accurate. Clean,bedseats changed daily.Maid service consistently good.central A/C No bugs.No mushy odours.
New electronic safe.Colour TV with 15/20 channels.Comfortable bed and lounge
bed great for younger child. Quiet.Nice granite bathroom with bathtub,plenty of Hot water.Great water pressure better then most hotels in cuba.Separate
toliet with excellent flush pressure.Small balcony.
Hallway in main building older and 3 star feel.Only complaint door did not shut properly and you had to lift up and force to close.

Restaurants and Bars:
Here is the heart of the problem. I was expecting that the main buffet restuarant be open every night for dinner.It was closed all week.Only open for
breakfast which is 3 star variety and food. Even for low season this should
not close for dinner or lunch.

Only beach restuarant and snack bar open for lunch buffet.Very limited and repititious.Beach grill one 0nly cannot handle lunch crowd rush of 100 +
people and many walked away with no meats or waited 30+ minutes.Food buffet
I would rate 2 stars worse than many cuban 2 star resorts which are better.

We ate a la cartes every night which are ok but very repetitive with the same
choices nightly. Quality 3 stars. Thin cuts of steak,chicken or pork not up to
cuban 4 star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice well maintained pools.three separate areas.No complaints here.Two cold water jacuzzi's.Comfortable padded lounge chairs.

Beautiful spacious well maintained grounds. Lots of flowers and srubs.Forested
walking trails and lots of excerise capacity. A series of attractive goldfish ponds. Overall 5/5 here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very good nightly entertainment with quality dancers,singers and comedians.
Shows every night even low season.Support the staff they deserve it.

Also karaoke,live bands and music. Well done. Truly 4 star plus.

Other Comments:
Most categories are four star.However low season food issues have to be addressed since people pay similar prices in may as march/april and expect
good food quality and avaliabilty.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"VERY dissapointed in this Hotel"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gayla  on May 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
The arrival at the hotel went very smooth. We got our bands, keys, and luggage to our room in about 15 minutes. The lobby and main floors very nice.

Rooms:
Absolutely awful. We were in the main building because of low occupancy on the fourth floor. The room was crawling with tiny red ants. In the drawers, everywhere. The floor had not been swept or mopped from the previous guests or once while we were there. The AC was basically just a fan, the fridge didn't work No screens on the patio doors, so the mosquitos feasted on us every night. Sheets were stained but clean I think?

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were good, although we only got to see the one because all the other ones were closed. No, 24 hr. snack bar like they said. The buffets
were basically the same every day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, pools and grounds were nice, and pretty clean thanks to a very friendly groundskeeper name Raymond.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The tennis court is in terrible shape, no choice really in the entertainment
because they only ran 1 show a night.

Other Comments:
You can't buy ice there to have in your room so you have to constantly go down to the bar and ask for it. They don't have internet either, like they said in the brochure. So we had to drive to the plaza and spend 30 pesos (approx. $32.00 for 15 minutes to let my sons know we arrived safe. Most of the elevators didn't work, and the ones that did didn't work right. There are cracks and chips on the tileing going to your rooms so watch your step.

We had a Good time in Cuba but it was not because of this so called 4 star hotel, (maybe a 2). We definately WILL NOT be staying at this hotel if we go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"MUY NORMAL"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Alvaro Chaverri  on May 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Costa Rica
Visited on: May, 2010
478 people found this review helpful

De las tres comidas siempre la mejor fue la cena porque los snacks no estaban muy bien. La habitación es cómoda y tiene buenos servicios (coffee maker, refrigeradora..etc), pero no ponen información al cliente sobre las actividades y las reglas del hotel. Ciertos sectores como el Piano Bar es excelente, muy bien decorado y amplio; asimismo los jardines son muy lindos. Si deben arreglar las fallas que tienen con los ascensores.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not go here!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 22, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
162 people found this review helpful

This is by no means a 4 star resort as suggested by the brouchure. At best it would be a 2 star. We did not pick the resort but rather were there for a wedding. Our stay started with me tripping on the step of the bus as we arrived at the resort. There was no safety strip and the carpet was a dark colour. I stepped half on and half off the step and severly twisted my foot. I thought it was broken and managed to make my way to the lobby where I almost passed out. I sent my son to get some water while my husband checked us in but he couldn't find anyone around to point him in the right direction. Another guest noticed my distress and offered to get some water. She had to go to the store to purchase it. Luckily it was only a sprain but very painful.

Your Arrival:
As we arrived my husband went to the desk to check us in. We arrived at approx 1:00 pm but the room would not be ready until 4:00 pm. I sat in the lobby while my husband and kids went for lunch and to get me some ice for my foot. While I waited for them the bride & groom came through the lobby and noticed me. I explained what had happened and she went to the desk to ask that they get us in a room asap. They told us 30 minutes. We left the lobby at 3:30 to join some other guests that had arrived a few days earlier. We came back a couple of hours later and our room was ready but it was at the furthest point from the main building that you could get and up one flight of stairs. When we got to the room I asked my husband where the passports were and he remembered that when he had originally checked in she said she had to keep them until the room was ready. Why?? We went to the lobby to get them and there they were in a tray on the top of the desk within reach of anyone and everyone. There were many there. We told them we needed a different room because of my injury but were told we would have to come back at 10 the next morning. After hearing some horror stories about the rooms from other guests we decided not to move.

Rooms:
The room was not bad although it was a long walk to the main building. We had a two room suite as we had 2 kids with us but the air conditioning did not work in one room. We did not always have the correct number of towels but that was not a huge problem.
My son & his girlfriend had no water pressure in their shower and the room was infested with ants. They requested a new room and were given one.

Restaurants and Bars:
The first morning we went to the buffet and found that the food was not bad but when we tried to put two tables together when my son and his girlfriend joined us we were told that we could not do that. She wanted us to move to a large round table but it was dirty and we had to wait while she found someone to clean it. Made no sense at all. After not getting the coffee and tea we had ordered and having to ask for silverware and napkins my husband told them that they should be more concerned with service than someone putting two tables together. From that point on that section of the buffet was closed. They did not have enough staff to man both sections. In the evening there would be line up waiting to get in as they had one section closed. There was never any cutlery or napkins on the tables and often they were dirty as were the dishes. The worst part was the mould in the dining room. Large areas of black mould all over the ceiling and black dots on the walls. Pretty disgusting. There was water dripping from the ceiling one day while we were there. We had a small amount of mould in our bathroom but our friends had to change their room because of the amount of mould in theirs. I came home with a very sore throat and when I went to emergency upon our return it was suggested that my problem was allergy to possibly the mould.
The a la carte restaurants had a dress code of long pants, long sleeved shirts and closed in shoes for men. We made a reservation at the steak house and when we got there they would not let us in because my son had shorts and sandals on. We explained that he was a kid but the attendant said "no,he is a man". We left after expessing our thoughts on the policy and never made any further reservations because later on another guest came up to us and told us the we didn't miss anything. She had observed the incident but wanted to let us know that the food was terrrible and thought even her salad was rotten. If this had been a nice 5 star or even a 4 star as stated I would have accepted the dress code but we were on vacation and were not prepared to dress up. Most places have a dress code of long pants which usually they do not enforce but this was a bit much! The beer was usually flat and warm. Once I saw them fill my mug with beer from the overflow jug below the tap. I guess they didn't want to waste any! They often ran out of beer at the various bars.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were neglected and there was never anyone doing any gardening or grounds keeping. The beach was very small but clean. The pools were fine. The biggest problem there was the smell of sewage that would waft up from certain spots, especially around the outside bar area near the main pool.
The public washrooms were pretty but but the men's at the main pool bar was so bad that the smell at the entrance was enough to make you sick.

Other Comments:
The resort is very old and not very well maintained. It is very sprawling. They do not have enough staff and what they did have was not helpful or friendly. Usually when you check in you are given cards for beach towels. With the commotion of my situation my husband didn't notice that he wasn't given any. We didn't think about it until we were on the beach the first day so the next day we went to the desk to ask about towels and were told we had to purchase the ticket for 15 pesos each and when we left we would get our money back. We had to exchange our money at the bank but the bank was closed all day due to technical problems so therefore we could not get towels. We reported the air conditioning not working on two occasions but it was never fixed.
We have been travelling for over 20 years and have been to many different countries and resorts but this is by far the worst we have seen. We are very aware that we are not in Canada when we travel but when I pay for a 4 star I expect a 4 star even if it is by Cuban standards. This resort does not deserve a 4 star rating and has a long way to go to get even close. I would not recommend anyone go there even if it is really cheap.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of the Rip Currents"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbiewilkins@mattawahealth.com  on Apr 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
169 people found this review helpful

We lost our friend to a rip current the day after we arrived. He dove in to rescue his son that had simply been jumping in the waves close to shore and then was pulled out to sea. The beach was not officially open (it was just after breakfast), so no flags were up and boats,etc were still locked up.

Please be careful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Allegro Varadero: Don't Listen To The Bad Reviews, Food Is Very Good!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeffrey  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
122 people found this review helpful

This was our 6th trip to Cuba since our first in 2005 to Tryp Cayo Coco, we've traveled to Cayo Coco twice, Cayo Guillermo once, Manzanillo de Cuba once, Varadero once and to the D.R. once, but prefer Cuba and it's people. So now back to Varadero, to the Allegro. This resort has gone through many managment hands in the last 5 or 6 years and recently has changed to the Occidental Allegro in the last 6 months and there seems to be a genuiene effort to make things better and to spruce up this huge resort to bring it up to the 4 star status it deserves.

Your Arrival:
Having only flown Sunwing once before (Montreal to Manzanillo de Cuba) I was looking forward to a good flight with lots of room, West Jet our favorite airline with Sunwing a close second. Well not sure if Atlantic Canada gets older planes or my memory is getting bad but this plane was anything but comfortable. Seemed to be an older plane, there was ashtrays built into the armrests, so that may be a sign. Flight was the roughest I've ever encountered, the seat belt light was on for 4 hours of a 4 1/2 hour flight, but that's life eh?
Check in went smoothly and we had a room immediatley, although I believe others had to wait an hour or two as our arrival time was before the stipulated check out time of noon.
The bellboy grabbed our bags and wisked us off on the golf kart to the Cayo Largo section of the resort, although far from the main area of the resort this was definatley an upgrade to the main building.

Rooms:
We arrived at room 6314 and found a very nice an spacious third floor room, not dericly on the ocean but with an ocean view. It was clean and came with a king sized bed so all was good. The room was fitted with an ironing board and iron, a small mini fridge with a large bottle of water, a coffee maker, a safe and the usual things found in a cuban resort room. Although there was no dresser to store your cloths, we have gotten used to this being hit and miss in Cuba. We found the room quite warm and stufy on our arrival and the bellboy turned the A/C on and it blew air so we though give it a few minutes and it will cool down. We dropped our bags and went exploring this huge resort, (they say it's 2 kms in size, not sure if that's 2 square kms or two kms long, but it's huge!)
We returned to a warm and stuffy room, and dropped down to the desk to see if someone could have a look, they said they would send someone up, it was almost 4 and nowing Cuba I didn't expect to see anyone til morning.
We went through the night with the patio door open and found this ok, but couldn't do this during the day as your patio is easily accessable from the main stairs or another room.
We checked again with the desk and they said they would send someone, but it seemed like they knew nothing of our previous concern.
Day tow is almost over and no A/C, now I'm getting a little miffed, we meet the tech this time and he says the third floor has no A/C, there is only 4 rooms on the third floor, but all are occupied, and patio doors are open on all. We go back down to the desk, a long walk, and ask for a new room, they say they will send a tech, we say there have been techs and it's the whole floor. We want a new room. they insist on sending a tech as they have no free rooms. We head off frustrated but it's not gonna ruin my vacation that's for sure. In the moring we call the desk after figuring out the crazy way to reach them on the resort phone. They said no problem they have a new room for us, great! The bellboy reachs our room and we load up and head down closer to the pool at the Cayo Largo section, back up to the third floor and wow a realy nice room and right on the ocean. We step in and bam, no air, he turns the switch and nothing, no way, we walk past the bathroom and I look in to see the ceiling on the floor. ARRGGHHH!
The Bellboy calls the desk and they say all they have is a room in the main building with an ocen view, at this point I'd taken a view of the street.
So off we go on the golf cart again and up to the 4th floor and walk in to toom 4318, slightly smaller, with no ironing board or iron, but that's OK, the A/C works! All is good and although we would have rathered be in the Cayo Largo Section, we are fine with this as we didn't book the Cayo Largo section and had just lucked out on that.

Restaurants and Bars:
Allego Varadero has 1 buffet, and 3 a la cartes, International, Steak House, and Italian. There is also 3 snack bars that are open from 12-6 everyday, one between the main building and the Cayo Largo section, one at the Cayo Largo Pool and one at the Cayo Coco section, at their pool.
There is 6 bars, La Habana beside the main pool (which I never seen closed, the others hard varying hours), the Cohiba Bar, which house a baby grand piano being played every night, and was huge with little pocket rooms and comfy couches and chairs, get there early in the evening to get a seat, and the fancy drinks, like irish coffee and other special drinks and 15 year Havana club is available for extra $$. Cayo Coco, and Cayo Largo Pools each have a swim up bar, there is a beach bar and one at the snack bar between the Cayo Largo and the main building. All seemed to serve different drinks and those that were the same were made different, so find which one you like and keep going back. The snack bar had slushy drinks but closed ar 6 so get your bubba Keg filled early and get it in your fridge if you want an evening cool drink.
We sampled all A la carts and found all to be very good and nothing like the buffet food.
The buffet was a surprise as past reviews on another site were quite hard on the buffet. Knowing Cuba and their struggle sometimes to get variety we didn't expect a lot, but were surprised to get a lot.
For lunch and supper there is a pasta station where you can get premade or have them fry up a dish for you, then a large aray of premade dishes, of rice potato and other meat and fish. then a carving station, we saw beef, lamb, meat loaf, chicken and turkey over our stay, then there was the grill section, usually 3-4 different choices, of either beef, pork, chicken or fish, and hotdogs and burgers at lunch as well.
Not sure what other people eat at home, but to me that's a good variaty.
Breakfast was your normal fare of two egg staions making basic eggs or omlets, as well as premade eggs and other dishes, bacon, sauge seemed available everyday. With your normal toast, cereal, yogurt, and lots of fresh fruit.
No worries about the food here, they even had a special area for the kids, with burgers, fries and chicken nuggets.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is secluded from the rest of Varaderos beach by a large coral outcroup on each end. The sand is a bit darker than the average white beach, and had a good mix of shells and coral, but overal is a very nice beach, lots of loungers and a good number of umbrellas, thay have staff who will drag you a lounger to where ever you want it and whipe it clean for you, tip this guy a pesso or two as he's out in the sun all day and trying his best.
There are three pools, one main pool just off the side of the main building, nothing special a very larg squarish pool, but nice and clean with lots of loungers around. They had a guy who would drag an extra one out of storage if you needed it and offered cushions for the lounger if you wanted them, like the beach guy show him your gratitiude for his hard work in the sun. The cayo largo and the cayo coco section each have thier own smaller pools, visually nicer than the main pool and each with a cold jacuzzi off to the side and their own bar.
This resort is huge if you get to walk the whole thing you will see this for sure. Gardeners are everywhere keeping it clean and attending to the grounds and greenery. All the trees and plants are marked with a small sign saying the speciaes, we found this a nice touch. They have a long system of fish ponds linked up in fron tof the main building with a version of coy in them, most are orange in color and some are quite big, maybe 12 inches or so. There is also a white heron type bird who has taken up residence and if your patient youl see him dive in for his own version of a cuban buffet.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities seemed light on the first few days with only Aqua Aerobics and dancing being offered the first half of the week. The last two days seen way more going on from orginised water polo to mini putt. They need to work on having the animation crew more involved with the guests and doing more around this huge resort, I never saw the archery being offered once while we were there, and they have a nice range.
We finally, after many years of trying to get on the catamaran tour, got our catamaran excursion. We have tryed previously over the years only to be cancelled by the weather at leat 4 times.
We enjoyed this trip, on the cat, and got to visit the dolphins in the huge concrete enclosure out in the ocean, way better for the dolphins then the set up in town. It is made so water flows through and even fish mingle with the dolphins and it's huge so they have louds of room.
Then off to Cayo Blanco for a lobster lounch and some beach time, The lobster was OK, being from Nova Scotia we are slightly pickier about our seafood. We would have rathered plain lobster grilled with some garlic, but this was a large tail in a tomato based sauce, good but not great.
Then we sailed back to port, with lost of singing and dancing by all.
The bar was open from start to finish, and the drinks were good.
We set into town twice during the week and wandered around and checked out the many open air markets. We took the double decker bus both times as it was most economical with $5 all day, hop on hop off.
We didn't get to Jesone park, or try any restaraunts, so no reviews of this trip. We did Jesone park two years ago and recomend anyone looking for a quite walk or a really good pina coloda to wander through there.
The nightly shows were very well done, although we were surprised that there was only 1 audience partispation show in the 7 shows we saw, not that this is a bad thing, but it makes for some good laughs.
The dancers were first rate and they even had many different singers who were quite good.
All in all worth staying up for.

Other Comments:
The Allegro Varadero is a huge resort with equally huge potential.
They have a good management team who seem to be around day and night to be making sure the progress of stepping back up to the 4 star level is happening.
At the moment this resort is a strong 3.5 star. With many little issues holding it back from being a 4 or more star. For a resort that saw life first start back in 1977 it's in amazing shape, but give it a year or two if the shine and glitz factor are important to you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube