Allegro Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Allegro Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Allegro Varadero  

Carretera Las Américas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"romantic spot to stay"
Posted by: peace on Jul 13, 2014
see all reviews

Allegro Varadero Reviews
Allegro Varadero Pictures and Information
Allegro Varadero Varadero Cuba

#16
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.8

Based on 30 reviews

Allegro Varadero Information


This hotel has recently re-opened after extensive renovation works.


Allegro Varadero all inclusive resort hosts a unique Cuban town, with villas as they were in Varadero back in 1920. Beautiful private beach, marine sports, wonderful entertainment, biggest gym in Varadero and much more...

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Allegro Varadero Reviews

Allegro Varadero Review: 2.8 of 5 30 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  7
Average
  4
Poor
  11
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
21 - 29 of 30

"Over all a Great Vacation"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leah  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
136 people found this review helpful

The weather was nothing less than amazing. We were blessed with sunshine every day of our stay with temps of 28 to 36 degrees C.

The only complaints would be the little plastic cups that they served the drinks in and the fact that certain drinks were not available as they ran out later in the day. MAKE SURE YOU TAKE A TRAVEL MUG.

To sum it up if you go to the Allegro Varadero and don't enjoy yourself, Then it would be your own fault..... Loosen up ..... You only live once ..... Enjoy Life!!!!

This is our honest opinion on the Allegro Varadero.

Your Arrival:
We stayed at the Allegro Varadero from Mar 29/10 to April 6/10.
We Arrived mid afternoon. Staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful very short wait then we were on our way driven to our room in the Cayo Largo section of the resort by Louis [great guy].

Rooms:
We were escorted to our absolutly gorgeous room on the corner, second floor of the second building from the beach room # 6220. We had a King size bed, coffee maker, fridge, Dresser, two large closets [safe in each one], large clean full bath with private toilet and then there was a balcony with a view of the ocean that wrapped around the side of the building streching nearly 40 feet from end to end.Our room was cleaned daily by Daylin who was without a doubt the best maid either of us could have ever hoped for. And for those who complained that they did not get proper supplies, I tell you all, We recieved everything we asked for and more. A friendly note and a good tip goes a long way.

Restaurants and Bars:
Now for the FOOD, I don't have any idea what people were complaining about. The food was not bland, very good actually. We always found a good variety of food and enjoyed most of it. We found the food to be very much like we are used to in Canada.
We ate at only one A la carte which was the Palma Real. The food was ok, The service was great. We had most meals at the buffet restaurant the best advise here is be early this is a huge resort with many people and the Quality and variety gets less & less the later you arrive. We ate in the same section each meal and received super service from our waitress. Also for lunches the BBQ at the beach bar was always very good. We were not real impressed with the pizza but there was lots of other good food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We had our own pool with bar and a Jacuzzi in our section.
Felix our best Bartender was always willing to do what he could to make our days filled with drink, music and chit chat.
There was another bartender who worked with him who was not friendly, But we simply avoided her when possible.
The BEACH "WOW!!" the beach Breathtaking to say the least. Very beautiful. Cleaned everyday with a tractor and manually raked. The sand is very white and very fine, a few shells but it is a beach after all.
Two evenigs during our stay the beach became the sight of BEACH PARTYS, live music, dancing and even a limbo contest. With a bar set up right on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:

Our evenings consisted of taking in the nightly shows that for the most part were entertaining and well performed.
Then we would be off to the disco for more drinks, Dancing and watching the peformances of the less than sober partiers as they let loose after a day in the Sun.

We did one excursion which was the Jeep safari Amazingly Great Time!!!! Well worth the money. Our tour guide Victor lead us through the tourist free areas of Varadero. With stops for Speed boat drive up a beautiful river, Snorkeling over a Coral reef, A tour of a old coffee plantaion including lunch and horse back riding [Thank you Peter for the tour and history lesson] and then to the cave for a swim in the underground lake.
The double decker bus trip is a must. Great way to see Varadero resort area and go down town to enjoy a few hours of shopping, entertainment and dining. If you like old cars as we do this is a dream come true beautiful classic cars everywhere.

Other Comments:
The staff for the most part were very friendly and willing to help, there were a few, as everywhere else in the world, that were not so nice but we didn't let that bother us. The staff worked very hard and there was not always enough staff to accommodate the volume of guests expecting service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Has Not Reached 4* Level \Yet"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  carol ann  on Mar 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

Traveled to this resort when it was a Bahia Principe back in 2004. After several different owners and seeing that the Occidental Chain had taken over I thought that it would be at least a 4* as advertised... It certainly has a long way to go before it can attain that status. So much neglect has resulted in broken doors, floors, rust on bathtubs and fixtures. Balconies with holes.....Public washrooms with insuffient lighting so bad that you needed a flashlight to see into the stalls.. We were there last 2 weeks of February. Started to notice an improvement in food towards the end of our stay. Ran out of both types of wine for 5 out of 14 days of our stay as well as the rest of the time only able to offer one or the other. Very sad......Beach however is outstanding . The property is beautiful outside. They need to fix the solar lights down the path at nightime which lead to the a l a carte restaurants. Was thoroughly disappointed in this resort. Was hoping for so much more.....

Other Comments:
Would return if only all repairs have been done. Hope they actually do them as it would be outstanding.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Love the beach... will not eat"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paddy  on Mar 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
146 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrived at noon, room was ready at 3pm.

Rooms:
Large room large bath
Very little hot water
Queen bed came equiped with... fleas/ticks
saw maybe two cockroaches
nice balcony view from 4th floor ocean view
little loud from the bar and the lobby late at night

27" TV... who cares

Restaurants and Bars:
As long as you don't like variety or flavour you will be okay.

Go for the fresh omlets at the buffet

Dinner... bring ketchup (lots)

ala carte... same thing as the buffet , but someone serves it to you.
_______________________________________________________________________

Bars not bad

from 5:30 t'ill 1AM go to the Cohiba Bar... live music eithe piano or guitar. Best drinks & specialty coffees.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We walked from the 1920 resort to the Blau resort and all the beaches looked great. You could get just as good a beach at any resort on the coast.

Pools were clean the swim up bars were at the the 2 pools on either end of the resort. the wesern pool was better b/c you could watch the ocean from the pool bar. And they serve lunch.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went to Havana and did the dinner and a show tour. WELL WORTH IT., but you can do this at any resort.

Other Comments:
Do yourself a favour... book another resort this one say 4* actually 3* at best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy Excelente!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Mar 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
103 people found this review helpful

My friend and I are both 25 year old women and we had an awesome time here. The main building is quite nice inside, the rooms are clean and you have either a garden or ocean view, the food is FINE unless you are an incredibly pickey eater and the staff is fantastic.
If you want to go on vacation for good food and beautiful INDOORS then go somewhere else! If you want to go somewhere for beautiful beaches, hot weather, wonderful people and a week long party - then go to Varadero.

I'll start with the food. My friend and I ate at the buffet 6 of the 7 nights we were there for dinner. There is not a lot of variety - but they offered plenty of fresh vegatables, fruits and pastas every night. They also had pretty decent fish. I myself am a picky eater, but I definitely never went hungry on this trip. There is also a snack bar that offers sandwiches, hot dogs and hamburgers throughout the day - definitely not gourmet - but quite edible. Cuba doesn't have the same things we do - so if you go there with the impression that you are going to eat like you eat at restaurants in Toronto, then you might be disappointed.

Drinks! 24 hr unlimited drinks. They do offer a wide variety of rum based beverages as well as beer. The mojitos are great.

Staff! They are great for the most part. The large majority of the staff is fantastic. They are all so friendly and so much fun!

BEACH! The beach is absolutely gorgeous, of course! The entertainers will play volleyball with you if you feel so inclined :) There is a beach bar as well, so you don't have to walk back and forth to the main bar.

Rooms. We had a garden view room, and like I said, it is clean and we really didn't spend much time in there other than to sleep and get ready. I did not spot a single bug in the whole place. The maid came in every morning with fresh towels and cleaned our room. Our hair dryer did not work for the first three days we were there. We reminded the front desk twice and they were finally able to get it fixed. Honestly, no big deal to me, out hair was a little crazy for the first couple of days - but who cares?!
Entertainment! There was a show every evening - although I must admit we only watched a bit of two as we were busy getting ready for our night :) THe entertainers do their job well. One night they had an animal show which was pretty cool. THe other night we watched they put on a magic show which was also quite entertaining. The disco is definitely a good time if you are young and want to party. I was surprised with how good the music was. I thought it would all be Cuban music - but they played some hip hop and pop music as well (top 40 mostly). We had a great time there every night. The disco does close at 2am - but not to worry! Just walk back to the 24hr bar :)
All in all - I would definitely recommend this resort if you're looking for fun in the sun

Your Arrival:
Feb 26 2010 - Mar 5 2010

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not impressed. Would not recommend this resort or return to it."

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Feb 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
106 people found this review helpful

This is not a 4 star resort. Choose another resort altogether, reguardless of its rating. You would pay less somewhere else, say a 2 or 3 star for what you get here. I've only stayed at 4 stars...Florida, California, Dominican Rep., and this one doesn't come close.

Your Arrival:
We arrived on Feb. 4, 2010 about noon. Girls at the front desk told us our room would not be ready for about three hours. Had to put luggage in room which was supposed to be locked for security reasons, but wasn't. Changed in there to go to the beach and had lunch at the buffet rest. We found most of the staff could speak & understand english well enough to communicate, but smiles were few and far between. Overheard another guests conversation with a staff member a few days later. She was very upset that that her room wasn't ready when they arrived at 6am, this was about 4:30pm and she didn't have a room yet!

Rooms:
Our room was in the main building, 5405 just around the corner from the elevator. Large room with lg. bathroom and walk-in closet. You could feel the springs in the mattress. @27" tv mounted on the wall across from the bed, with a remote that was not the same brand, hence didn't work. Ants in the bathroom,along with the same piece cardboard box behind the bathroom door ment for the garbage pail that never was removed. Poor complimentary soap/shampoo supplies. Take some of your own "Cottonelle" toilet paper, just in case you get "the runs", theirs is awfull. No facecloths ever, 3 towels daily, sometimes you got a bath mat, depended on the mood of the maid I guess, even though gifts were left daily for her. Coffee maker didn't work, was replaced with another one that also didn't work. Didn't matter I guess cause they never left coffee, mugs or supplies to make it anyway. You can catch the beautiful sunrise though from the balcony...cause more than likely you'll be awake by the slamming of doors, chatter/hollering of other guests on the main floor cause the noise just echoes up the centre of hotel, along with the noise from the elevator. Oh, and because the room is at the front of the building, you also hear every single bus at all hours of the day dropping off/picking up guests. Other guests I spoke with stayed in the villas east of the main building and said they were ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet is very repeditive, boring, unappitising. Bacon is practically raw, scrambled eggs wattery. Roast beef over done. Lots of fresh fruit though. The food is located at the entrance with open doors...flies. Poor set-up for the food, had trouble getting to the seating area sometimes. There is no signs on any of the food as to what it is, take your chance to try and guess. Coffee-don't take the last mouthfull! You'll get more enjoyment trying to get the grit out of your mouth as you ammuse yourself with the 1/4" "mud" at the bottom of your cup! The Steakhouse alacarte rest. was a complete joke. Very unorganized. Arrived 10 mins. early for our reservation, was not permitted in. The "steak" resembled a piece of peameal bacon in size and thickness...chewy. International rest. better. Didn't get to the Italian rest. as we were "too indisposed" with diareaha by our last day.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Never had enough lounge chairs for the pool or beach. If you got to either location after 10am, you were out of luck for the whole day as guests "saved" them while they took off for lunch etc. Very inconciderate. Pool was very large and clean. I think there might have been two ashtrays for the entire pool area. The beach was allright. Nothing to rave about. It was dragged twice I think. Dead jelly fish left on the beach all day on two days. The grounds needed attention, dead leaves/plants everywhere. Sidewalks were swept/mopped regularly though. Two local dogs roamed freely, one must of had pups stashed away somewhere, perhaps under the roped off wooden delapitated deck by the pool area. Red flags posted at the beach on two of our days (no swimming allowed) yellow flags on two days (go in only up to your waist) No good snorkling at the beach :(

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were some activities going on that we seen, only by chance if we were walking by. Didn't see any sort of notification to what was happening, where or when. We only attended one evening event. A syncronized swimming event that was really quite good, as we were generally in bed early due to the fact that we were up about 6am each day with a crappy nights sleep. Took the double-decker bus to town twice. You could ride all day for $5.cuc per person, unlimited stops and pickups. The first trip though we were crammed at the door of the bus and windshield. We had to shift our bodies to avoid being hit by the opening door at each stop.

Other Comments:
Service in the main buffet was mediocre, unless you sat in "Annie's" section. Service at the front desk was the same. But you could possibly brush up on your Spanish as you listen to the staff chat as you wait to be served. We did receive excellent sevice by the nurse at the "Nursery" though, as I was inflicted with diareaha, stomach pains on day six of our stay. Housekeeping was poor, had to ask the front desk to send up toilet paper, towels and water on two days. Never had anything other than your one bottle of water per day left in the frige as you were supposed to get. You could use the ONE AND ONLY computer for internet use though to keep in touch with family...once you waited in line for your turn. Cost was $10. cuc per hour. All outdoor music is Spanish, which is ok, but concidering 3/4 of the guests were english, some english would have been nice. Perhaps it would have enlightened your mood more. I assume ALL of the guest villas west of the main building were under repair, it was like a ghost town...not even workers were sighted. I think there was supposed to be a swim-up bar somewhere...perhaps at the construction site. The resort was not full to capacity...rooms should have been available upon arrival. We did speak with other guests that were also sick from the resort, and many other guests that had the same review as ours about the resort. Poor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Book another resort!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Betty-Ann  on Feb 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
104 people found this review helpful

The Allegro has no supplies....
The building is broken down and needs repair.
2/3's of the resort is closed.
Only one bathroom serves for the one buffet, bar, lobby, and beach.
Just book another resort...this one is not a 4 star, not even close to a 3.
Very dissappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michele Brannon-Hamilton  on Nov 27, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2007
2080 people found this review helpful

Playa Varadero 1920 is a great place to take your whole family. I went with my husband, 2 kids and my sister's family.

We enjoyed the beautiful beach and found plenty to do each day. We played tennis, went for long walks, swam in 2 different pools and ate far too much!

The hotel rooms were spotless and spatious. It was like having a mini apartment.

We can't wait to go back.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I loved Playa Varadero 1920!"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura Hatt  on Mar 31, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
1832 people found this review helpful

I loved Playa Varadero 1920! It was practically paradise! My apartment was great. My family and I had our own terrace, beds, and washroom! The maid was wonderful. The rooms were spotless! For example, the first day she made up a boat! Next, when you woke up, you could go straight to the buffet, which fed you everything you could desire, then you could relax and listen to the waves if you wished, on Playa Veradero's very extensive beach. Or, later in the afternoon, you could go for an exciting pedal boat ride, in which you could see the reef! Or, you could take a wonderful Cadamaran ride, which is a giant boat with 2 hulls. It had nets that you could stretch out on over the water, or you could enjoy their useful bar. Later, you could swim with some dolphins, or go norkeling! Then, we visited a beautiful beach. Then, you can slowly cruise back to the hotel.

You could go horseback riding, or, every night, view live entertainment. My faily and I went numerous nights, and my personal favourite show was the magic show! Since Playa Veradero is extremely family friendly, there is also a mini-disco most nights, and everyday there is a mini-club, where you can go on expeditions through spooky caves, or pet cute kittens, or just go swimming at the beach!

For the adults, there is also tours, and imformation sheets in your hotel room.

Hotel Playa Veradero 1920 is one of the greatest hotels I have ever visited, and I personally think that it deserved 5 stars, at least!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Playa Varadero, excellent"

Allegro Varadero
User Rating:  Allegro Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  caussade  on Nov 27, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2005
2065 people found this review helpful

Playa Varadero Hotel is excellent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube