Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Largo > Cayo Largo Hotel Index > Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Largo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Club Cayo Largo

4.8 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Sol Pelícano

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)  

Cayo Largo del Sur, Archipiélago de Los Canarreos
(Cayo Largo Maps)

"good surrounding"
Posted by: clement on Aug 1, 2014
see all reviews

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Reviews
Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Pictures and Information
Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Cayo Largo Cuba

#1
of 5 Hotels in Cayo Largo

User rating 4.3

Based on 21 reviews

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Information


All Inclusive Resort on a paradise island, with beautiful architecture, high level of comfort and easy access to 24 km of fantastic beaches along the Caribbean Sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Reviews

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.3 of 5 21 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (14)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 21

"good surrounding"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  clement  on Aug 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

Playa Blanca is a hotel you go to when you are looking for the best and amazing beach life where you and your family can go have a nice time at. It is a sandy beach where you will always find sand in between your toes and a vibrant nightlife in the city. The bubbling surrounding and features of this hotel is not disturbing the peaceful and serene nature of the beach resort. There are shops and small buildings close to the resort where you can go and have snacks when you want. The hotel is right on the beach, there is never a dull moment and you will always find people having fun or just laying around the beach or swimming r performing one water sports or the other. The beach is the most amazing thing about this hotel. In the fishing village of Playa Blanca, you will find lots of people to make friends with that will mae you enjoy the place even more. The rooms at this hotel seem really nice, they are well maintained and cleaned. The beds and comfortable and the rooms have the most important equipments that will make you comfortable, more like home away from home. The staff happen to be very pleasant and respectful in their dealing with guests, they take their job and the satisfaction of their guests to very seriously. I recommend this resort to you and to friends that want a nice beach front hotel that is quiet and lot of fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved it!"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dado  on Jun 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
14 people found this review helpful

Our stay at Playa Blanca in Cayo Largo was amazing. We had great time enjoying paradise and resting. I forgot about my work, emails, cell phones and all bills that come in the mail. I think I was born again and this vacation is one of the best I had so far. Amazing beauty that you can't believe until you see it. We will definitely go again!

Arrival:
Arrival was not the best as we all arrived at the same time but people at the reception did their best to accommodate all of us very fast.

Rooms:
Rooms were nice and clean daily. Nothing fancy but we loved it!

Restaurants and Bars:
There is a few restaurants that you can stay and enjoy your food. We tried 2 la carte one close to the beach and other one that is during the day snack bar close to swimming pool and we enjoyed having dinner there but personally I would stick with buffet. We did not go to Cuba to enjoy food but beautiful nature and paradise.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is the most beautiful in the world. Half of the hotel doesn't have beach while other half has the best beach in the world. I do not swim in swimming pool but it looked nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is bus that take you for free form Playa Blanca hotel to Playa Sirena. Did I say FREE? Yes it is free and I guess it is because hotel wants to make you special as half of the beach in front of the hotel is gone. Should you go to Playa Sirena? Yes you should we went 3 times and we loved it!

Other Comments:
Don't forget to go to Playa Sirena and Playa Paraiso. You can simply walk from Playa Sirena to Playa Paraiso in 20 min and you will experience paradise on the Earth!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"amazing time at playa blanca cayo largo"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on May 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
18 people found this review helpful

We had amazing time and great weather at Playa Blanca Cayo Largo. Our stay was 7 days and we had cold weather in Canada but as soon as we landed in Cayo Largo we forgot about storm back home. Hotel Playa Blanca is very nice hotel that used to be Barceló chain so it was build nice. Food was good and we had always something to eat and our stay was perfect.

Arrival:
We had to wait around 30min to get our room as there was many tourists that arrived at same time as us but it was not issue for us.

Rooms:
Clean and nice big size rooms. Maid cleaned room daily and we were happy!

Restaurants and Bars:
The best bar is the one close to the stage where is show at night. Great coffee and super mixed drinks for whole family. Restaurants are good and we went 2 times to la carte and man times to buffer. Food was good and fresh!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful but only accessible from one side of he hotel. Swimming pool is great for volleyball and play with other tourists.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Trip to playa sirena is must. There is bus that give you ride for free to marina where you take ferry ride to playa sirena. If I say paradise I am not lying. It is a paradise!

Other Comments:
We will go back to this resort and Cayo Largo to have stress free vacation and enjoy grey time in Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Largo - Playa Blanca March 2014"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Willie  on Apr 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
31 people found this review helpful

We returned 2 weeks ago from yet another wonderful vacation at Playa Blanca. This was our 5th visit to "our" island.

Cayo Largo is a place where you go if you want to restore mind and soul. The uniqueness of the island does something to you. It's not only the suroundings, the 10 star beach, the ocean that makes the difference, it's the people you meet too that makes a difference between a good vacation and an unforgettable experience.

My review of Playa Blanca is biased. I'm not afraid to say that :) I toured the island by jeep one year and visited every resort. Sure, Sol Cayo Largo is impressive. It's huge and may have more offerings but in the afternoon when I got back to Playa Blanca I felt like I was coming home. It's just something about the rustic that appeals to me.

Food always seems to be a hot topic. The food is not gourment however it's good Cuban food. I had some of the best roasted turkey, the lobster is to die for. Sometimes they might run out of a certain food. Move on! There's lots of other variety!

My main reason I go to Playa Blanca is the beach. The first couple of days had high winds and the beach took a beating. Red Flag meant you went knee deep in the water and you will get knocked over by a wave. Then the winds died down and 10 star beach came back. Days are spent bobbing up and down the gentle waves and occasionally body surf the bigger waves that come by.

Life is a beach...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"SUPERBE"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  nathalie  on Sep 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
86 people found this review helpful

J'ai adoré cet hotel. Les gens étaient sympathiques, et bien que l'on soit dans une saison tranquille, il n'y avait pas de relachement au niveau de la propreté et du service. Nous n'avons manqué de rien ! J'y retourne dans 2 semaines, et j'ai très hâte d'y être.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I can't believe we're going back again!"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Jan 4, 2013  >  5 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
129 people found this review helpful

Arrived at CYO, cleared Aduana and were on the bus in a half hour. Arrived at Playa Blanca in a few minutes and were checked in and into our requested room in minutes. Everyone was nice and welcoming, upgrades were evident everywhere. Buildings were repainted and remodelled at the west end and there was a new path to the beach.
We met close to 50 Repeat Guests and had to have two "Repeat "Gala Feasts to accommodate all. Pools were fun for rinsing off but the liners were on their last legs and were replaced shortly after we left. Rented a scooter for a few days, no problems, and rode all over the island. The village had a couple of new vendors but was just as cosy as ever. I wandered through the Villas Marinera beach club hoping it might be available to us and sure enough it will be this year. A cold beer at the Marina and watching the hundreds of big fish never gets old.
We spent almost all of our days along the Playa Blanca-Capricho beach where the new Villas are being built. I'd hoped they'd be ready by our next visit but maybe not yet. The naturist section was at the far end which was fine because the palapas were 25 meters from the sea. 3 days after arriving the sea went back to that Bondi-Blue colour. There had been an algae bloom in the Caribbean and foam had blown in changing the sea colour and delighting Europeans with the collagen and skin rejuvenating properties that they scooped up and lathered up.
Food was better than expected again. The omelette, pizza and carving stations at the buffet were more than enough, the lunch BBQ chicken, pork and fish were as good as ever and the Ranchon service at lunch and dinner was pretty well perfect with visiting well mannered cats and iguanas for nature lovers. A good idea is to buy your coffee, rum and such as you find it. Price is the same pretty well all over the island but if you wait, you might miss out. Duty-Free doesn't mean a price difference for Cuban goods.
The buses had a continuous run around the island with regular stops at all the resorts so taxis (not many) aren't needed. Take the bus from the airport. Get to the hotel in 7 minutes and go have a snack and a drink while others stand in line. Your luggage is super-safe because the porters watch that area and there is no other traffic. What a safe place.
Suites are two stories and have room for a family group of 4-6. There are a couple of rooms with an extra wing for families with small children. The bungalow rooms are huge and have wrap around decks and the main building rooms had great AC.
Staff is fantastic, no, ...... Perfecto!!
Congratulations to management for the upgrades and updates we watched on Facebook all summer and fall. We will be back. In fact we are booking in a day or two.
Hint: The VIP Lounge at CYO is worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A true bargain, with the exception of the beach"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  L & M  on Jan 16, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
191 people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent one week at his hotel. The rooms were average, our housekeeper ensured the room was kept very clean, she was awesome. The bathrooms are in need of some major work, considering the rest of the room and outside of the buildings are kept so clean, we were surprised at the poor condition of the bathroom. We had no issues with hot water or pressure, however, the tubs are full of mold, so no baths here especially if you have small children!! The staff at the main bar were very nice and the drinks (a good variety) were very good. Coffee to die for! We had no complaints in respect to the food in the main buffet, there was always a good choice at breakfast, and dinner. We usually had lunch at the restaurant right by the swimming pool, where you could have barbecued chicken, hot dogs and then a variety of soup and salads. Please be advised that the beach here is not for children or seniors, it's practically non-existant. You can walk down a steep staircase and then along some huge rocks and find a spot to place a towel or a chair, but it's very narrow and difficult. Their is a small train that picks you up in the lobby everyday and will bring you to two of the most beautiful beaches we have seen on our many visits to Cuba. They are approximately 25 mins. away. Be prepared, bring some large ziploc bags with you so you can pack a lunch from the buffet and bring drinks that you can purchase at the hotels little store or fill your water bottle before leaving for the beach. Once you get to the beach, there isn't much to purchase in the way of food, but you certainly will enjoy them. The waves at this time of year were extremely strong, we loved it, but many people were having a hard time just trying to get into the ocean. The price we paid was a true deal and we would without a doubt return for another week. There is absoultely nothing to do at this resort and that is exactly the type of holiday we were looking for. I don't think a two week holiday would be suitable as one could become very bored.

Room Number:
4716

Arrival:
We travelled with Air Transat and would highly recommend them. The flight was perfect, food provided at no charge as well as a movie. Once you've landed, be prepared for a long wait to get through customs. It took approximately 1.5 hours. Unfortunately, there were not enough buses and we waited a long time to get to the hotel. Once we arrived, check in was a breeze and we were well looked after by very courteous staff. Internet is available at this hotel, but it is extremely slow so be prepared to be patient.

Rooms:
Well maintained, except bathrooms need major overhaul.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were awesome. The bartenders extremely polite and provided the guests with a great selection.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is a salt water, and kept very clean. Water is very cold, but just the way we like it. As mentioned above, beach is non-existent at the resort. You must leave on a daily basis to see two of the most beautiful beaches in Cuba.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very little, hence why this resort is so relaxing. A night show where the staff try their best to entertain you - typically the same as many other all inclusives in Cuba. Entertain staff are extremely friendly and polite.

Other Comments:
Hotel would be suitable for those travelling with a disability. Their are wheelchair ramps and I believe you could request to stay on the first floor of the main hotel, vs. the 8 plex we stayed in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible vacation"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Yvette  on Jan 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
225 people found this review helpful

First of all I would like to say that the staff was very nice. Our room was cleaned and well maintained everyday.
Buffet: Only open for breakfest and dinner only. For lunch we could only eat at the snack bar, where there was flies all over the meat.
Also there was no burger, hotdogs or pizza for 4 days. What are you suppose to eat for lunch besides fries. For 2 days no red wine, we had to buy our own bottle.

Beach: oh boy where do I start. To get to the beach you must hop on rocks to get there and then you must go down a hill. To clean the beach, they dig a hole and sweep the dirt in there, then they cover it up with the sand. Always very windy. What kind of 4 star is this? And a tiny tiny bar at the beach with few selection. Best part, if you want the "good" part of the beach you must travel 45 mins on a very bumpy road, not pleasant. Remember that going there your food is not included, meanning you must pay!

The Resort: water fountain were not working and dirty.

The shows: Started at 10pm
New Year Eves we went to bed by 11pm, it was dreadful, no music no nothing.
Thank god for the staff because the resort was crap.

Rooms:
Smelled a little, it was ok.

Restaurants and Bars:
A la carte restaurant you eat what they bring you. You dont pick.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A joke

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good place to stay in Cayo Largo."

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Robert  on Mar 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
369 people found this review helpful

Clean hotel, good food, good staff, close to beautifull beaches.

Room Number:
207

Arrival:
23/2/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fine Hotel"

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  MARGARET  on Feb 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
324 people found this review helpful

ottimo hotel a Cayo Largo visto che lo standar non è europeo , super All inclusive praticamente nesun problema di approvigionamento, molto pulito , camere spaziose, personale disponibile e molto gentile.
molto bella la sua spiaggia bianchissima, il punto di forza poi è l'animazione, sono bravissimi non insistenti, e fanno degli spettacoli serali di veramente di qualità.

Arrival:
dall Havana il 20.11.2010

Rooms:
camera standar semplice ma pulita e spaziosa

Restaurants and Bars:
l'unico neo negativo l'aria cliamtizzata del ristorante principale troppo alta, non riesci quasi a cenare dal freddo!!
ottimo ristorante alla spiaggia sia ocme locations che come qualità dei pranzi.
la cena a base di gamberi e aragosta, nella media.
ottimo ristorante alla piscina per i pranzi

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube