Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Largo > Cayo Largo Hotel Index > Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Largo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Club Cayo Largo

5.0 based on 96 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2017

Sol Pelícano

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)  

Cayo Largo del Sur, Archipiélago de Los Canarreos
(Cayo Largo Maps)

"Never to return"
Posted by: Nancy  on Feb 17, 2015
see all reviews

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Reviews
Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Pictures and Information
Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Cayo Largo Cuba

#2
of 5 Hotels in Cayo Largo

User rating 4.0

Based on 23 reviews

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Information


All Inclusive Resort on a paradise island, with beautiful architecture, high level of comfort and easy access to 24 km of fantastic beaches along the Caribbean Sea.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Reviews

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 4.0 of 5 23 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  6
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (16)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 23

"We had a great time"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Benjamin Bickford  on May 19, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
2922 people found this review helpful

This was second time to cuba. Last year we stayed at sandals in varadero. It can not compare to sandals, but it was a very nice resort for the money. Food was good, the booze was more domestic than international which was a disappointment if you wantedsome brand names it was an extra cost same as the wine. But it wasn't a major problem. The weather was great very hot and lots of sun which is why we were here. We took the sunset cruise which stop on igauna island and stopped for some snokeling (excellent) and a lobster supper included. The room was nice not extra special but clean. We met alot of great people down there which made our holidays very special. I'm not sure if I would go back. I shouldn't compare it either. it' was a nice resort the same.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is paradise"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Abigail Nelson  on May 23, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2005
2924 people found this review helpful

We were in Cayo Largo from may 7th to may 15th. We had a great time. This is a great place to relax, and enjoy the beach. We also took the excursion on a catamaran from 1h30 to 8 h30, that was great. We visited Cayo Rico, which is the Iguana island, we were only 20 people on the boat, we had a great time. The beach are fabulous, expecially Playa Paraiso and Playa Sirena. We rented a Jeep and had fun to ride along the beach and visited the other hotel, we really loced it and we can't wit to go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Murphie's law"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  frank and christiane  on Feb 2, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
1249 people found this review helpful

well..this started with the landing( the plane - we felt like sardines) out of the movies great pilot for the little space to land on!!!!!!!wow! next the check in, this was not bad.We got a loft two floors with 2 washrooms, great deal.... so first day in ...(I'm a plumber by trade) i noticed a drip from the ceiling so i told the front desk..but to my surprise they told me "it's ok, don't worry", so i didn't and my wife and i got a bit of food ( amazing burgers and pizza)went back to the room......oh! like in hell!!! we noticed water out side our room. i opened the door and it looked like real hell. so, i ran up to the 2nd floor to find our suitcase on our bed (great, but who put it there?) the ceiling was on the floor, then i stopped and said to my wife " i think we are not lucky"... so , we went to the front desk and to my surprise they already had a new room for us and started to move our stuff in.. so i went to see the room. the room had ocean view, so i went out on the balcony (and yes i needed a drink)the hotel manager walked in and asked me "what could we do to make you happy" i started to laugh and said " you have go to be joking" well this was just to much for the first day.....but the hotel was great with us........gave us excellent service and a few gifts( really over and above what was needed)... the place is out of this earth..... like all of Cuba the people are kind and all that . this hotel is for lovers and every others that want to been left alone... paradise.....miles of empty beaches.......... i can't find one bad or even sub par thing from the Barcelo hotel we where there Feb 2007 we are going back in 2008...the same place... also we travel 3-4 time every year...........Cayo Largo the Barcelo hotel will be the sure stop for us.. i love the style of this place and so will you..........you will love it also.......

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best !!!"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andre Marchildon  on Apr 4, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008
3234 people found this review helpful

Went there feb. 7 to 14 2008. this was my 4th trip to Cuba: 2 times to Santa Lucia, once to Varadero, and then Cayo Largo. All I can say is that Cayo Largo is a paradise on earth, its the best ive seen so far in Cuba, and the Barcelo..........INCREDIBLY FANTSTIC. Please chat with Yanelis, Maceo and Danny at the snack bar beside the pool. They are so nice and friendly.....and love to talk whatever....ahahahahahahaha

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing place"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chrissy and Frank  on Jul 19, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2008
1889 people found this review helpful

The place is paradise on earth.

You can do what every you want, people do there own thing...not like other resorts.

We met people from all walks of life and enjoyed there company. Most of the beach is deserted ( miles of sand) so we got nude and it was cool..

We where reborn again, found that we can do what ever and it was fun..

The hotel is great( we traveled to places, Mexico, Jamaica, Dominican Rep. etc. and stayed in 5 star and plus..) this is not Cancun ( thank god) but a real honest place to enjoy down time at it's best... so good that we are going back for 2 weeks July 27,2008 we will see you there

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Un endroit de rêve pour se reconnecter avec la Vie"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  René Pérusse  on Jan 25, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
461 people found this review helpful

Un simple mot pour vous dire toute l'affaection que je porte à ce pays et à cet hôtel ou je fus reçu comme un roi. Si vous aimez la vie et les gens, vous y trouverez un personeel continuellement à votre écoute, une cuisine digne des meilleurs restautant de Montréal et surtout un caractère familial inoubliable. On s'y sent comme dans SA FAMILLE. Merci Cuba, Merci Barcelo CAyo Largo et tout son personnel(je ne nomme personne de peur d'en oublier, Vous êtes toujours dans mon coeur!) Merci d'être, vous m'avez permis de renaître.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best in the Caribbean"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robert Cossette  on Aug 28, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
1338 people found this review helpful

Heading back for the 11th time on Novmber 16th, 2009 for we are sure, another great and well tanned :) holiday. It will be our first time under the new owner Grand Caribe Playa Blanca, but we expect the same if not better than the last 10 visits to the Barcelo (same place, different name. We last went for 2 weeks in April 2009 and everything was puuuurfect. For a number one and relaxing to the max vacation, this is the best in the Caribbean. See you soon again and again...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you want to relax this is a place to go"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
452 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
CUBANA Airline...what can I say, the best from all the airlines going from Toronto to Cuba. Unfortunately departure time from Toronto sucks..8.15 pm.

Rooms:
Clean, spacius, everything you need, free safe, balcony in every room. Get the bungalow if you can, it is biger and has corner balcony.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet has lost to chose from, other restaurants (3 in total) have some great food. Bars never crowded, you can drink until you drop dead if you wish:)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
If you have seen nicer beach than Cayo Largo beaches let me know. Beach in front of Playa Blanca is very clean, white sand, no seawheat, no stones...in one world..PARADISE

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Enrertaiment staf works hard, good dancers, funny shows, house band plays very good latin music.

Other Comments:
All you need in this resort is the sunny weather. Buy you ticket and pray:) I have not seen a drop of rain for the whole week but I'm always lucky.
If you want to have a nice clean room, good food and the best beach in the Caraiben go to Cayo Largo Playa Blanca.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Much more than expected"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Apr 23, 2010  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
505 people found this review helpful

We booked this resort back in October when Air Canada Vacations didn't have a rating, description or Star rating. Sounded like a Barcelo we had checked out before and the price was good so we checked it out and booked for 2 weeks 13-27 March.

Our flight from Fredericton to Montreal was good. A small Jazz turboprop plane. We checked our luggage, 100 pounds each was allowed, through to Cayo Largo and stayed in the security section once in Montreal. A short wait and then a full AirBus to Cuba. Traveling the night before Daylight Savings we arrived just after dusk.

Your Arrival:
It's a small airport so a little jammed when a couple of hundred people are there. Aduna and security were quick and nurses were on hand to check for ill passengers. A few mosquitoes but not bad. A very quick bus ride to the resort.

Check in was a little slow but as others have remarked, go and get a drink and have a look around while others stand in line. The luggage is secure and attended and is delivered quickly.

Rooms:
We booked a bungalow room, typical Cuban decor, super clean and quite large. We were oceanside and the views were terrific. Corner decks having a 270 degree view is nicer than other resorts. All 2nd floor oceanfront bungalows had some ocean view.
The room had a small fridge, a good TV with 4 or so English stations including CTV from Alberta. A nice desk, king size bed and a couple of nice rocking chairs as well as deck furniture. A large dressing area, safe that opened with our room card, lots of closet and drawer/trunk space and a big bathroom with plenty of hot water at any hour of the day. Central air was quiet and not on all the time.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet is enclosed and air conditioned; capable of seating 300 guests it's a huge room that has the food areas at one end and 3 room divisions for seating. Double cotton tablecloths, heavy cutlery and good china and glassware plus super service. Breakfast omelette stations and smoothie bar. Plenty of choices and the best grapefruit ever.
Dinner had carving stations, flambe desert bar lots of variety and themed nights where the staff dressed in special outfits and hats. As mentioned by all, the service was top notch. There aren't a lot of resources on Cayo largo but the staff do their best to make everything special.
The Ranchon restaurant sits at the top of the main beach,seats about 100, has blinds for wind screens and offers great service. By day it's the beach restaurant and at night it is an a la carte.
The Opalino restaurant seat about 200, is open air and has a late breakfast at 10:30, then a BBQ lunch from noon to 3:30 or so. At night it is an a la carte and has very good service. Rafael is a great waiter.
Bars at the Ranchon and Opalino have a good selection and the usual frozen mixes. The Opalino had the very best frozen lemonade. The 24 hr bar, Daiquairi, had the best coffee and espresso and the best frozen Pina Coladas; lots of drink choices and Cristal on tap and by the can. Alexis, Boris, Roberto and the gang are pro's in every way. Start your day with a double espresso and finish your evenings at the "Show", all served from this bar.
The other bar is a small beachside hut to the left of the main beach. Right at the end of the boardwalk starting between bldgs 28 and 29. This is where the lifeguards hang out and Maceau runs it with a big smile and a song. Basic Bucanaro and fruit punches here so bring your Bubba.
There's also a special hut that's used for repeat visitor a la cartes and special occasions. We were treated to a lovely romantic meal to celebrate our anniversary, complete with a floral arrangement and candles, our own waiter and visits by Eddour and Livan from management. Did we feel special? Sure did!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What can we say about Cayo Largo beaches? Just believe the hype about white powdery sand spits that go on for miles and miles; it's all true. So is the fact that some of the beaches can disappear overnight, then reappear 2 days later.
We had great weather but the main beach had been eroded the week before so we picked a cloudy day and visited the "Big" beaches Sirena and Paraiso. Wow! But the hotel beach was back in a day or two and went in and out for two weeks. Playa Blanca had the better hotel beach and those "backup" beaches are gorgeous.
The almost 6' deep upper pool was nice and you could get a palapa all day there or at the crescent, 4', lower pool. Plenty of chairs, no wars. Both are seawater pools and very clean. Lots of activities all day but the loud speakers aren't cranked too high.
Grounds are mature with beautiful plantings and the most amazing "Shaving Brush Tree". All are patrolled by birds, cats and the odd iguana including a big guy who lives under bldg 28 and likes boiled eggs. There's a medical/gym/hairdresser building, tennis courts, B-Ball hoops and an archery range too. Walkways are even and mostly safe except some smooth tiles. Like all over the south, they are slippery when wet .. especially when wearing those cheap sneakers with hard plastic soles.
While we were there the waterfalls and the fountains were restored and are beautiful. Gardeners constantly worked their plots and handed fresh cut blooms to morning walkers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We had planned to go to Havana for a couple of days but the weather was so nice we didn't. Took a tour of the village by Rosie and a fellow animation team member, saw the Turtle Hatchery and wandered around the Marina and shops. Did a private trip a few days later and had a whole 24 passenger bus and Carlos to ourselves for 10CUC; stopped and took photos for other resorts and checked out the lobbies. Took the Choo choo train twice to the big beaches and had a blast. The ride is pretty rough but if you imagine an amusement ride through all the other resorts that take 30 minutes and is free, what the heck.
There are small 4WD jeeps for rent, scooters and plenty of taxis and mini vans. Everything is so close, the taxis are only 2-3CUC's/person.

Other Comments:
Sirena beach is huge and there are lots of palapas and chairs. Bar service is a wandering waiter who will bring the best pina coladas on earth for 3CUC. Paraiso is my favorite of the two because it isn't as commercial and the beach-combing is better.
The resort Tienda has plenty of choices, rum, cigars and cold cans of beer and pop for excursions. The airport stores have about the same inventory but the hotel prices were better.
As said before, the staff is fantastic and the management work very hard at making this place shine. Besides the website that the staff manage http://www.playablanca.cu they also run a Facebook page and do their best to answer questions quickly.
I could go on for ever .. oops maybe I did.

We booked a 3.5* and got much more than we paid for.
We'll be back.

Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/prolab/CayoLargo?authkey=Gv1sRgCLTUkYaJm5rjdg#

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Enjoyable Stay"

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)
User Rating:  Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Robert Payne  on Nov 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010
651 people found this review helpful

My wife and I travelled to Cayo Largo del Sur twice. Once in November of 2006 and again in April of 2008. The beaches were recovering from Hurricane Michele during 2006 so there were areas of the pure white beaches which were very small. However the beaches had begun to reappear during our second trip. The hotel was in great shape. We stayed in the bungalows during our first trip and then the main hotel section during our second trip. The beds are fine although lower to the ground than I am used to. The rooms are very clean and the grounds are always cleaned up daily. The gardens are beautiful. The restaurants are adequate and you will not starve. The food is basic but nutritional and they do try very hard to please. The staff are their biggest asset. Make friends with the waiters and the bar tenders and the week will be a great success. (Ours certainly was) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Both times we utilized the Catamarin snorkle trip and worth every Peso. The day is a great time for sailing, sight seeing and snorkling at the reef. Be advised that the nature of this archipelago is that it is away from civilization. Therefore it is not "party central" There are no major shopping centres. There also are no major discotheques and bars on the island. In other words, what the resort offers is what you get. For me though that is satisfactory.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube