Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015

Melia Las Dunas

3.7 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2017

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.6 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2015

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

3.6 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 23, 2016

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)  

Cayo Santa María, Caibarién, Villa Clara, Cuba

"Hot week at the HUSA"
Posted by: Claire on Jan 1, 2014
see all reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews
Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Pictures and Information
Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.3

Based on 24 reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Information


The 5 star Husa Cayo Santa María Resort, located in the province of Villa Clara province, sits on the sea front of one of the Cuba's most stunning beaches which stretches for 2.6 km with turquoise waters and fine white sand.



Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.3 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  12
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (26)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"Can't believe this place is still in business-Shame on Air Canada Vacations for selling this!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Apr 15, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
468 people found this review helpful

I have been reading reviews of this place and can't beleive people are still going there. I guess their not reading Debbies Carribean or Tripadvisor.

I've been to Cuba many times and was never impressed with their service, food, or hotels, but Barcelo Cayo Santa Maria should just be closed down.

You can read my previous report on this place and see what I mean.

I sent Barcelo a complaint about this place, and they seemed to be interested in what I had to say, and did respond quickly, however after corresponding with them, I noticed that the same form letter had been sent to many other people who complained. It seems they are prepared to deal with problems by emailing these responses to customers over and over, but not fixing anything. I'm not sure how much control the Barcelo corporation has in Cuba, but I told them that this place is dragging down their reputation. They offered me a better room if I came back. Not till hell freezes over!

Forget Air Canada Vacations. When you contact them they send you an automated response that tells you they might get back to you in 6-8 weeks. Also they forgot to credit my Aeroplan mileage, and I had to wait 8 weeks to get that back after a half dozen phone calls. No wonder the Pilots are pissed.

All in all this place doesn't deserve a 2 star rating, and should be dropped from Canadian tours, as they are misleading everyone.

Arrival:
Arrival was as expected. Total confusion, no one spoke english, but not a problem. Gave me some crappy drink that made me sick.

Rooms:
The rooms seemed o.k at first but we soon found out that things were askew! Maids are totaly lame. I wouldn't hire them to clean a gas station. No towels, soap, shampoo, and more important Toilet Papaer. I had to keep a roll in my luggage and lock it up for emergency. The towels were another story. Every day we would have some kind of towel animal on our bed. That was our towel allotment. Soap of any kind was like gold. T.V. was falling apart, the sliding door wouldn't lock and the maid left the door to our room open on three occasions. Forget about complaining.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was absolutely the worst food I have ever eaten. Don't know why? They seemed to have good amounts of it, they just destroyed it. Funny tasting sauces, pasta, pizza, and meat was another story..I think they were serving Donkey.. The fish was wierd. I asked the cook what it was, and he told me they get it from China of all places. I guess so, it's communist.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was beautiful, except so cold that you couldn't go in it. It was February and the week before we arrived I understood that it was cool, but for gods sake, Solar heating is free!! A siple solar heater would have fixed this problem..I don't think they cared as the beach was so nice.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activites were a joke. A bunch of lazy staff that didn't want to do anything except sit in a chair and talk to other staff. Got bounced around from one place to anohter,told things were cancelled, or just weren't available. Then the staff had the gall to ask us to get them food and drinks!

Other Comments:
The management at this hotel do not care about anything, and seem to be strugging just to survive day to day. Front desk staff were idiots. Some guy needed to take his son to a doctor, and asked if they could get him one. They told him that there was no doctor available at the hotel but you could take a taxi to a clinic, but they would have to pay cash before anything would be done. Who the hell carries that kind of cash to Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barcelo SUCKS!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Mar 10, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
484 people found this review helpful

We heard some bad things before we went but tried not to believe them. Big mistake. The resort was beautiful, rooms were clean, large and pretty good, and the beach was phenomenal. Thats about it. Everything else was total crap. The food was the worst we have had in Cuba. Been to Cuba 6 times, but after this will not go back again. The staff did not speak any english, and seemed to be unaware of common practices, like cleaning, cooking,and service. Breakfast was very dissapointing. One cook with a 9" frying pan trying to cook eggs with 20-25 people in line. You would wait at least 30 minutes for your eggs. Same thing with the crepes. The bacon was cooked without separating the strips, and thrown into a vat of grease 1" deep. Fruit was horrible, papaya was the only thing edible.












Arrival:
90 minute drive on tourbus, was a good drive through 2 towns, and a broken down causeway.

Rooms:
Rooms were fine, it was the maids that were unbelievable. The first day we got towels, toilet paper, and shampoo. That was it.. The next day no towels, soap, or shampoo. The tour rep told us to hide everything so they would replace it, but that didn't work. I had to hunt down the maid, drag her to our room and demand she provide us with soap, towels, shampoo, and toilet paper. They wouldn't change the toilet papper unless it was totally used.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at the buffets were just as bad. Over or undercooked chicken, steak, or fish, but never right. You also had to wait 10 minutes while the cook made one piece at a time. Deserts were the same neopolitan flavours every day and night, also the cheapest ice cream I've had.

Went to three of the ala cartes hoping to get better food. Not the case, just less food cooked equally bad. It was not that they did not have the food to cook, they just ruined it. Cuba has never had a good reputation for good food, but this place takes it to another level. Nothing was consistent.

The hotel boasts of 24-hour grill restaurant, but we tried to get a lousy coffee at 8am in the morning and they said it was not open yet.

The bars were another joke. The bartenders were so spoiled by tipping that they wouldn't serve you if you did'nt tip every time. Drinks were so small you had to order 5 or 6 at a time to get a decent drink. A lot of people were using huge BUBA mugs which took forever to fill up. Lines at the bar were huge, and it just caused people to order more drinks at a time, causing slower service, and longer lines.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was beautiful but we didn't understand why there was no one in it. After testing with our foot we knew why. The water was (65 deg)and so cold that the guy cleaning it had to wear hip waiters.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My wife wanted to do the strech class, but we had to walk to three different locations because every sports staff person told us to go somewhere else. After finally tracking one of them down, the girl said that there was no class today, and could we go to the bar and get her a capucino!

Other Comments:
It appears that Barcelo hotels need to deal with the management at this hotel, and train their staff about cooking proceedures, customer service, and common courtesy.

Never again..Barcelo

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"buyer beware cancel quick don't go!!!!!!!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  victoria  on Dec 19, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

This hotel is half closed and trying to stay afloat. Take 4 1/2 stars and close half now you have 2.25 .Twenty four hour snacks in the lobby bar are ham sandwiches sitting all night on a table (no ice) or even one night just bread slices. One buffet, one a la cart, one pool.Long dock to the beach with rock steps. Melia is next door 3 of them and really the better deal. Don't get stuck like we did.I begged Hola sun to move us or send us home. They couldn't seem to find the REP all of a sudden.Pool view room was forest we couldn't tell if it was day or night and we were VIP. I have been several times to cuba never expected a lot never had a bad time or wrote a review but this everyone should know....... everynight entertainment A FLUTE PLAYER.......

Room Number:
2447,2818......etc

Room Block:
2 nd floor 1 st floor

Arrival:
arrived on dec 11 left on the 18th...we were vip When confronted with the obvious the hotel is empty and closing they started offering breakfast in our room several special dinners we just wanted out....and our money back

Rooms:
several empty blocks full of leaves and garbage furniture all stacked up

Restaurants and Bars:
one pool one a la cart one buffet fish fish fish you could see the mold on the cheese dried up on the slice where they cut it pasta and eggs

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach dirty windy no snorkeling there... atlantic side far from the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
dead as a door nail flute player everynight must be the bosses daughter needed a job eat and go to bed and pray for the week to past by fast

Other Comments:
this place is half closed buy anything else go anywhere else enjoy your holidays I worked to hard and payed way to much for this......

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel -- worst food ever!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on Mar 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
473 people found this review helpful

Everything was as expected. Nice and clean facility and rooms. The staff are friendly. However, bring some money so you can dine elsewhere. The a la cartes were awful and worse than the buffet. In the mexican restaurant i ordered fajitas. it was dried pork on a cold tortilla. It was served without sour cream, cheese, salsa or anything. I knew then i was going to lose weight.

The food is what i believe was served throughout the Holocaust. The entire cooking staff, General Manager and servers need to learn a new trade. The resort must hire qualified chefs and prep people. The food was the worst ever.

Also, the pool was vacant most days because the music was so loud it actually hurt. I go to concerts and clubs frequently and these clowns think louder is better. when only three teenagers want to dance with some guy yelling into a microphone they should ask themsleves what the other 900 people would enjoy.

But most important the food is the worst. To me Barcello Cayo Santa Maria deserves a ZERO rating. The food cancels out any positive score.

Room Number:
904

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
Okay, but they need more people to guide you to your rooms.

Rooms:
Clean and adequate. We were have an upper floor. We were on the ground.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar good
Restaurants are worse than the holocaust.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Too Loud

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A big ripoff "

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Dec 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
269 people found this review helpful

This was a trip we will never forget we got taken from the time of arrival till we left the resort . We booked a ground floor pool view junior suite we got moved twice both times we were placed in the jungle as you will see from the pictures posted ,we found out after a few hours that half the resort was closed and there were no pool view rooms they were in the side of the resort that was closed .
Only half of the buffet was open the food was very bad no selection chicken thighs ,very thin pork chops ,and fish soaking in oil, a few pasta salads and some cold cuts and cheese, it was very clear after a few days the food was being recycled and the menu never changed for 6 days ,breakfast ,lunch , and supper were the same every day .
The alacarte was just as bad people were standing up and walking out without finishing , we went to 2 alacartes before giving up the first was tenderloin it was murdered and cut into small peices ,which really was a good thing because you couldnt chew it anyway.
The next was seafood night if you wanted lobster tail it was 25$ at an all inclusive resort we had the shrimp it was cocktail shrimp compressed into a pattie shells tails guts legs and all we couldnt eat it and people were just stnding up and walking out .
The rooms are 2 star at the most we were 2 days with no toilet paper and 2 days without soap (other than a bar of soap left behind by the people there before us) that soap stayed in the room til we asked to have it removed .
The water bottles were being refilled at the tap and placed back in the fridge .
If you dont tip you wont get service so take along an extra couple of hundred if you plan to get a drink .
Dont bother going to the hollasun rep she cant do anything for you and if you call home to your travel agent like we did the rep dissapears so dose the page in the hollasun book at the lobby with her name on it and they will tell your agent they have nobody there working for them by that name.
It becomes quite clear within a few days your getting riped off .
there is no town 10 mins from the resort its a village buit by the resort no body lives there its just to grab more of your money .
There is no spa , no exersise room, and no disco at the resort they are all in the town built by the resort , you have to pay to take the resort bus to the town pay for your drinks at the disco pay pay pay then pay the bus to take you back.
The 24 hour snacks at the lobby bar was dry bread for 2 days and dry bread with a cheese slice ,or a slice of ham they are left out in the open i seen birds eating off them (but never seen people eating them ).
The pool and pool bar was closed at 5pm .
The beach and beach bar was closed at 5 pm we were told because of the tide .There is no toilet paper at the beach washroom .
This resort is an all around disapointment its along way from being the 4 stars advertised and will never see the 5 star rating

Room Number:
2818 and 2447

Room Block:
28 and 24

Arrival:
dec 11 2011 till dec 18 2011 2 hour bus ride you can buy beer on the bus on the way to the resort but on the way back to the airport there is no drinks on the bus and no washroom so make sure you go befor you leave and dont drink.

Rooms:
2 star at best. paint peeling off walls bed is hard as a rock and you have to beg for toilet paper and soap.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food just sucked we ordered chicken breast and fries at the grill we got a chicken leg on a plate with some fries 1 plate 1 leg for 2 of us .
People walked out on the alacarte you couldnt eat the food and the wine was as good as you could get in a screw top bottle .
Check out my picture of the 24 hour snacks at the lobby bar.I posted them on travel adviser.ca

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good if you like jungle the pool was good but its a 10 min walk from the bar to the washroom and theres no toilet paper .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was no water sports for the first 6 days of our trip and its 2 hours to the village were there very limited shops if any unless you want to pay to go to the resort village which is just another way to grab more money.

Other Comments:
The beach is ok once you get there but theres no snorkleing at all the resort is a 2 star at best and the staff make it quite clear that tipping is not a city in china.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Barcelo Santa Maria Food Turn-Off"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Mar 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
451 people found this review helpful

I have to agree completely with the assessement "Richard" gave on his March 10th 2012 review about the food at this resort. There was a good variety but the staff had no idea about food preparation and most went to waste. A crime considering the best of Cuba's meats are sent to resorts and not the general population.

Over-all the resort was nice - beautiful beach, comfortable rooms, great drinks.

I will go back to Cuba again but stay at another resort.

Room Number:
904

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
Good - we were given our wrist bands, room keys and hotel info as we were getting on our hotel transfer bus at the airport so did not have to wait in any lines at reception. Please note - we did have Prestige Class so not sure if this treatment was valid for other guests. We did have to wander around a bit in the dark to locate our room.

Rooms:
Good - comfortable. We initially requested upper floor room when booking with our travel agent but were given a ground floor room upon our arrival. The receptionist explained we would have to pay an additional cost to be moved to the upper floor. It wasn't a priority for us and the room we were given was comfortable so we ended up staying there for the duration of the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars - good.
Food - extremely disappointing. Had nothing to do with the fact this was Cuba and food isn't what we are used to. It was because the staff at this hotel ruined it. We ate at two other establishments during our stay, a restaurant at the Pueblo La Estrella (small town near resorts) and also, at a hotel in Santa Maria during an excursion and the food was good, so I know there was no excuse for the awful food we were served at Barcelo. I was expecting salads and fruit but there was no green salad to be had and the fruit,well what can I say, of what was offered, the banana's were way past their best and if you got to the buffet early enough, you could get a slice of fresh pineapple. I'll say no more....you get the picture.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Used the pool once during our stay for a quick dip. We don't like loud music and a DJ who likes to hear the sound of his own voice blaring from the speakers all afternoon so stayed at the beach all week. Really enjoyed the beach - it was wonderful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The excursion to Santa Clara and Remedios was well worth it. A full day out to see the real Cuba - away from the resorts. Especially enjoyed the Che museum and masoleum. Our tour guide was very passionate about her country so was able to provide a great commentary of the area and Cuba in general.

Other Comments:
Felt very safe in Cuba.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a big Disappointment!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Glen  on Apr 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
469 people found this review helpful

What a disappointment this resort was!

Check-In:
We checked in 4:30AM, check-in went very smoothly. There wasn't much help finding our room. They did provide a map that was easy to follow.

Room:
We were in building #27, 2nd floor with ocean view. the room was clean and everything worked as it should have.

Buffet Restuarant:
The food offered at the Buffet Restaurant was sub standard, even by Cuban Standards! There was very little change each day. Most offerings were just a guess as to what they actually were.
I normally hit the wall at resorts on the 5th day, I hit the wall on the 2nd. I just couln't see anything worth eating.
I think it is fair to say that we all expect to see fresh fruit at caribbean resorts. At this resort most fruit came from cans!

Staff:
The staff at this resort were the worse I have ever seen. They just didn't seem to care. There was almost no organization amongst the staff working their sections at the restaurant. The bar staff for the most part were unfreindly and some were even rude.

Pool & Beach:
The pool area is very nice except there is almost no shade areas available. Trips to the beach to secure a hut at 5:00AM was not always successful. I was never able to get a hut close it was always some distance away.

Room Number:
2753

Room Block:
27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappointment, believe the reviews"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Feb 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | With friend
234 people found this review helpful

Beautiful beaches nice ground decent staff
Poor poor hotel. No organization to nightly entertainment could not attend for whole trip just loud noise
Nothing overly planned out. Kids dancing on a large stage

Cleaning was 5 min ,make bed ,sweep over floors , take tips
Food -no flavor chicken or beef blah blah
Room service. 3 hrs to get 2 beer the should of been done each day
Not unless you called looking for it

Choose Melia or iberostar for sure

Arrival:
Said it all, dirty torn up cushions not welcoming at all

Rooms:
Dirty poor room cleaning

Restaurants and Bars:
Blah blah blah. No flavor at all

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful just like flour

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great beach snorkels, scuba , hobie cats all included
No pool activities

Other Comments:
Avoid this one

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had fun - many positive points!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francine  on Feb 10, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
281 people found this review helpful

Met up with other singles & had a great time. Beach is beautiful. You can enjoy rides on the hobie cats daily. Nightly Entertainment was top-notch. You had to be choosy with the food at the buffet - often it took imagination to find something good - soups, bread, rice & desserts were the best - meats were never good. one big drawback - couldn't connect to hotmail or facebook - it cost $6. for 30 min. on the computer but you may as well throw your $ away because you couldn't connect. To make a 50 sec. phone call it cost over $2. so I really felt isolated. long drive from the airport but luckily it was daytime so could see stuff. rooms were very nice, kept clean, frig stocked daily, lots of towels, soap, shampoo, hot water, toilet paper.
Staff were all wonderful!! I would go back - no problem - bring some snacks & peanut butter though, as food is very plain & not often served hot!!

Room Number:
1057

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Quick

Rooms:
Described above - great!1- no complaints at all

Restaurants and Bars:
None of the a la cartes ( you could book 3) were good at all - just as well eating at the buffet.. I tired French,Italian ( no lasgna, really no pasta just an appetizer - there was pizza) & seafood.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach! they would even bring you drinks. Water amazing!! Couldn't see anything snorkeling though it was too windy & cold the first 3 days to swim or be on the beach but after that, every day was gorgeous & hot!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment great.

Other Comments:
Tell your family you won't be able to contact them - get them to call you!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall good first trip to Cuba"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Mar 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
493 people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Cuba and I really enjoyed the overall experience. I went with 3 other friends, 2 of which have been to Cuba a couple times before. We got a really good deal on this resort which is why we booked here.

Service is decent. They are really busy and working long shifts sometimes as well. I think the language barrier may come off as people thinking they are being rude. I'd say 95% of the staff were amazing.

The town next door was built for the tourists and has a few restaurants and vendors. You can take a taxi for 1 peso, the train on wheels for free (and goes every couple of minutes) or you can walk. It's 10 minutes maybe and a straight line. Don't forget to go to the Curros stand and visit the sweet lady who will fill a cup for you of Curros for 1 peso. There is always music and sometimes dancers come out of no where and teach you the cha cha.

All in all I wouldn't say this place is a 4 or 5 star at all but I had fun, got some sun has a couple cocktails and just plain relaxed and enjoyed myself because that's what a vacation is for. If you go with the thought that you'll be treated like royality because it's a "5 star" you'll be disapointed. It's a Cuban 5-star, not a 5-star in North America. Pay attention on the drive to and from the airport then see where these amazing people come from and then think about where you stayed. It's a 5 star to them. If you want The Ritz then go to The Ritz is all I can say.

And lastly, just because it's all-inclusive doesn't mean you shouldn't tip. Same rules apply in North America, if you don't tip you might not get good service. One of our fav servers worked three 16 hour days in a week and 8 hours the rest of the time - and doesn't deserve to be treated like dirt which was al I saw all week from a lot of the guests. It disgusted me to say the least, and took everything in me not to lose it.

Room Number:
2978

Arrival:
The time it takes to get to the resort from Santa Clara is indeed 1.5 hours. Our guide was Louie with Hola Sun who was really nice and gave us some info along the way about what we were passing. The tour bus was new, comfortable, had a bathroom and was air conditioned. Once at the resort we were checked in very quickly and our luggage made it to our room 10 minutes after we walked through the door. Some people took their own luggage, but since it was late we opted to have it taken for us.

The next morning we had an orientation with the Hola Sun rep, Diana, who told us all we needed to know. Throughout the week I saw her numerous times as well.

Rooms:
The maids did a great job cleaning our room and if you want clean towels just put your old one in the tub. They don't speak English very well so don't expect a huge interaction with them. We left gifts every morning which mad Ania's day. The who stocks your fridge is hilarious. If you don't drink what's there then you won't get more. I just took what I didn't drink and put it in my suitcase and then I got a stocked fridge the next morning.

The tub did leak a couple times, but if you put a face cloth in the corner your fine. The cut out for the tub is too big for the actual tub that's all.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lobby/bar is where we would usually hang out. All the male servers are great and and a couple of the female ones were sweet. There is one however who just oozes mean. I don't have one nice thing to say about her.

The food isn't great I'll be honest. I tried to fill up on carbs at the buffet so I could get by. There is a good selection, but it just really wasn't very appealing. To be quite frank though, I didn't come for the food. The a la carte we went to was Mexican...it wasn't Mexican. We had French lined up, but decided to skip it. At the Grill after 10pm the menu is actually really good and the food was really tasty. The service can be slow after the entertainment gets out so have patience.



Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and pool bar were amazing. Loved it! The beach is beautiful, had plenty of chairs and lots of space. It was a red flag day for most of the trip so we couldn't do any water sports, but I was content with the sun and ocean all the same.

The resort itself is beautiful. The grounds are immaculate, lots of flowers and has a sort of tiny town feeling. The gardeners were so adorable and friendly. If you don't like to walk then this is not the place for you. Someone mentioned that it is hard to find your way around...this is true. We found the pool at the "attached" resort before our own, but once you get the hang of it, you're good. We chose a landmark to help up out because the signage sometimes isn't the greatest.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked a catamaran tour with our Hola Sun rep while there which turned out to be the best $99 I ever spent. You left at 8am and returned at 3pm. What you get is a drive to the Cayo Santa Maria Marina, snorkel time, explore a virgin island, sail to the Dolphinarium where you play with the dolphin for a little bit then end with a lobster dinner. It's not a Florida dolphin show, but it was really fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube