Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015

Melia Las Dunas

3.7 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed May 6, 2017

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.6 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2015

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

3.6 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 23, 2016

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)  

Cayo Santa María, Caibarién, Villa Clara, Cuba

"Hot week at the HUSA"
Posted by: Claire on Jan 1, 2014
see all reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews
Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Pictures and Information
Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#3
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.3

Based on 24 reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Information


The 5 star Husa Cayo Santa María Resort, located in the province of Villa Clara province, sits on the sea front of one of the Cuba's most stunning beaches which stretches for 2.6 km with turquoise waters and fine white sand.



Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Reviews

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.3 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  12
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (26)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
11 - 20 of 24

"Had fun - many positive points!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francine  on Feb 10, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
281 people found this review helpful

Met up with other singles & had a great time. Beach is beautiful. You can enjoy rides on the hobie cats daily. Nightly Entertainment was top-notch. You had to be choosy with the food at the buffet - often it took imagination to find something good - soups, bread, rice & desserts were the best - meats were never good. one big drawback - couldn't connect to hotmail or facebook - it cost $6. for 30 min. on the computer but you may as well throw your $ away because you couldn't connect. To make a 50 sec. phone call it cost over $2. so I really felt isolated. long drive from the airport but luckily it was daytime so could see stuff. rooms were very nice, kept clean, frig stocked daily, lots of towels, soap, shampoo, hot water, toilet paper.
Staff were all wonderful!! I would go back - no problem - bring some snacks & peanut butter though, as food is very plain & not often served hot!!

Room Number:
1057

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Quick

Rooms:
Described above - great!1- no complaints at all

Restaurants and Bars:
None of the a la cartes ( you could book 3) were good at all - just as well eating at the buffet.. I tired French,Italian ( no lasgna, really no pasta just an appetizer - there was pizza) & seafood.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach! they would even bring you drinks. Water amazing!! Couldn't see anything snorkeling though it was too windy & cold the first 3 days to swim or be on the beach but after that, every day was gorgeous & hot!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment great.

Other Comments:
Tell your family you won't be able to contact them - get them to call you!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big disappointment, believe the reviews"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia  on Feb 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Business | With friend
234 people found this review helpful

Beautiful beaches nice ground decent staff
Poor poor hotel. No organization to nightly entertainment could not attend for whole trip just loud noise
Nothing overly planned out. Kids dancing on a large stage

Cleaning was 5 min ,make bed ,sweep over floors , take tips
Food -no flavor chicken or beef blah blah
Room service. 3 hrs to get 2 beer the should of been done each day
Not unless you called looking for it

Choose Melia or iberostar for sure

Arrival:
Said it all, dirty torn up cushions not welcoming at all

Rooms:
Dirty poor room cleaning

Restaurants and Bars:
Blah blah blah. No flavor at all

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful just like flour

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great beach snorkels, scuba , hobie cats all included
No pool activities

Other Comments:
Avoid this one

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A big ripoff "

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Allan  on Dec 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
269 people found this review helpful

This was a trip we will never forget we got taken from the time of arrival till we left the resort . We booked a ground floor pool view junior suite we got moved twice both times we were placed in the jungle as you will see from the pictures posted ,we found out after a few hours that half the resort was closed and there were no pool view rooms they were in the side of the resort that was closed .
Only half of the buffet was open the food was very bad no selection chicken thighs ,very thin pork chops ,and fish soaking in oil, a few pasta salads and some cold cuts and cheese, it was very clear after a few days the food was being recycled and the menu never changed for 6 days ,breakfast ,lunch , and supper were the same every day .
The alacarte was just as bad people were standing up and walking out without finishing , we went to 2 alacartes before giving up the first was tenderloin it was murdered and cut into small peices ,which really was a good thing because you couldnt chew it anyway.
The next was seafood night if you wanted lobster tail it was 25$ at an all inclusive resort we had the shrimp it was cocktail shrimp compressed into a pattie shells tails guts legs and all we couldnt eat it and people were just stnding up and walking out .
The rooms are 2 star at the most we were 2 days with no toilet paper and 2 days without soap (other than a bar of soap left behind by the people there before us) that soap stayed in the room til we asked to have it removed .
The water bottles were being refilled at the tap and placed back in the fridge .
If you dont tip you wont get service so take along an extra couple of hundred if you plan to get a drink .
Dont bother going to the hollasun rep she cant do anything for you and if you call home to your travel agent like we did the rep dissapears so dose the page in the hollasun book at the lobby with her name on it and they will tell your agent they have nobody there working for them by that name.
It becomes quite clear within a few days your getting riped off .
there is no town 10 mins from the resort its a village buit by the resort no body lives there its just to grab more of your money .
There is no spa , no exersise room, and no disco at the resort they are all in the town built by the resort , you have to pay to take the resort bus to the town pay for your drinks at the disco pay pay pay then pay the bus to take you back.
The 24 hour snacks at the lobby bar was dry bread for 2 days and dry bread with a cheese slice ,or a slice of ham they are left out in the open i seen birds eating off them (but never seen people eating them ).
The pool and pool bar was closed at 5pm .
The beach and beach bar was closed at 5 pm we were told because of the tide .There is no toilet paper at the beach washroom .
This resort is an all around disapointment its along way from being the 4 stars advertised and will never see the 5 star rating

Room Number:
2818 and 2447

Room Block:
28 and 24

Arrival:
dec 11 2011 till dec 18 2011 2 hour bus ride you can buy beer on the bus on the way to the resort but on the way back to the airport there is no drinks on the bus and no washroom so make sure you go befor you leave and dont drink.

Rooms:
2 star at best. paint peeling off walls bed is hard as a rock and you have to beg for toilet paper and soap.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food just sucked we ordered chicken breast and fries at the grill we got a chicken leg on a plate with some fries 1 plate 1 leg for 2 of us .
People walked out on the alacarte you couldnt eat the food and the wine was as good as you could get in a screw top bottle .
Check out my picture of the 24 hour snacks at the lobby bar.I posted them on travel adviser.ca

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good if you like jungle the pool was good but its a 10 min walk from the bar to the washroom and theres no toilet paper .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was no water sports for the first 6 days of our trip and its 2 hours to the village were there very limited shops if any unless you want to pay to go to the resort village which is just another way to grab more money.

Other Comments:
The beach is ok once you get there but theres no snorkleing at all the resort is a 2 star at best and the staff make it quite clear that tipping is not a city in china.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"buyer beware cancel quick don't go!!!!!!!!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  victoria  on Dec 19, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

This hotel is half closed and trying to stay afloat. Take 4 1/2 stars and close half now you have 2.25 .Twenty four hour snacks in the lobby bar are ham sandwiches sitting all night on a table (no ice) or even one night just bread slices. One buffet, one a la cart, one pool.Long dock to the beach with rock steps. Melia is next door 3 of them and really the better deal. Don't get stuck like we did.I begged Hola sun to move us or send us home. They couldn't seem to find the REP all of a sudden.Pool view room was forest we couldn't tell if it was day or night and we were VIP. I have been several times to cuba never expected a lot never had a bad time or wrote a review but this everyone should know....... everynight entertainment A FLUTE PLAYER.......

Room Number:
2447,2818......etc

Room Block:
2 nd floor 1 st floor

Arrival:
arrived on dec 11 left on the 18th...we were vip When confronted with the obvious the hotel is empty and closing they started offering breakfast in our room several special dinners we just wanted out....and our money back

Rooms:
several empty blocks full of leaves and garbage furniture all stacked up

Restaurants and Bars:
one pool one a la cart one buffet fish fish fish you could see the mold on the cheese dried up on the slice where they cut it pasta and eggs

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach dirty windy no snorkeling there... atlantic side far from the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
dead as a door nail flute player everynight must be the bosses daughter needed a job eat and go to bed and pray for the week to past by fast

Other Comments:
this place is half closed buy anything else go anywhere else enjoy your holidays I worked to hard and payed way to much for this......

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place, but in need of serious customer service and hygene lessons!"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  charlotte  on Aug 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
238 people found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying that my family and I (Husband and 2 kids ages 11, and 8) have travelled to Cuba five times now. We are used to the bland(ish) food, the poverty, the mosquitos etc etc. We go to Cuba with no unrealistic expectations. Despite the drawbacks, we have always found the people proud, hard-working, happy, and willing to chat and share their stories. Not so this time. This "five star" resort was a Three - at BEST.

The grounds are amazing and the grounds-keepers were the cheeriest and most hard-working of the bunch. The beach is absolutely to die for. It truly is spectacular. It is nice and shallow for miles out, so if you are traveling with kids, it is PERFECT! Water is crystal clear. If you go, you can take a bun or bananas and feed the fish almost right out of your hand! It's just one kind of little white fish though, the odd needle nose, and watch out, baracudas swim close to the shore!

The beach is maintained nicely, but there is a lack of shades, and those there are all in a row along the back of the beach, side by side to your neighbour. No privacy. It's like tanning in row housing. You also need to get up early to get shelter, and you WILL need shelter if you are there when it is very hot - no matter how much you like sun or heat!

The room was clean. HOWEVER - the 2 double beds were not. We arrived to find a huge 'king sized' bed, and one single. Great for 2 perhaps, but where do we put a husband, and wife, and a boy aged 8 and a girl aged 11? We asked for a cot - but none were available. (??) Had I known this, I would not have gone to this resort.

My main issue with this particular hotel was the bathroom areas, the staff, and the line-ups.

The bathrooms were occasionally clean, but mostly DISGUSTING. Under-stocked, filthy, and the bathrooms by the pool were not cleaned or checked all day and STANK. Even in the lobby when we were leaving was gross. In one bathroom there was no soap, but 4 maids standing around outside chatting. I asked for more handsoap, and they looked at me like I was crazy and told me "no, manana". Really? I can wash my hands TOMORROW?? I know what you are thinking as we are the same... as, as long as there is sun and a pool and ok food, who cares? But trust me, after a week of dodging someone's crap and piss on the floor, you start to get a bit disgusted and really, really want to wash your hands...thoroughly.

Staff here were the rudest I have ever encountered in Cuba. Every year we gho, we take clothes, toys, shoes etc for the hotel staff. This year we had a hard time finding anyone we wanted to give stuff to! The lobby bartenders barely look at you. They ignored my kids completely for drinks. The wait staff stand around chatting, and even the hard-working ones aren't exactly the best.

Overall? Great beach, lovely grounds. Crap staff. Needs some SERIOUS new management.

Room Number:
2035

Room Block:
20

Rooms:
clean - large enough.

Restaurants and Bars:
looooong line-ups for everything.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
One entire side of the resort was closed for the season. If you want a private pool, take a few beers over and enjoy a pool to yourself!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very relaxing, quiet and magnificent beach, great for families, friendly staff, clean, food okay"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marina  on Aug 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
239 people found this review helpful

We had a great vacation. One of the most beautiful clean beaches we have ever seen.. Staff very friendly especially when tipping extra you get even better service and attention (free rum in our room). Quiet great for families with small children very safe. Bring your own coffee mug or drinking cup for refilling drinks. Coffe at the buffet not drinkable but capuccinos at the bar are very good. Food was good should try the paying reataurants and a la carte for a nice change.
Dont forget the bug spray ( Off brand not effective). Make sure the cleaning staff keeps door and windows closed while cleaning room otherwise mosquitos will get in. If travelling with children request a king size bed and extra small bed for one child.
Disappointed because no internet service and must use pay phone in hotel to call Canada. $2.05 per minute, cell phones dn not work only texting possible
Overall 8 out of 10

Room Block:
unit 32

Rooms:
Spacious nice view , clean and comfortable

Restaurants and Bars:
Puebla la Estrella good paying restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Did not use much too hot but very nice for children

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tai chi, aerobics and meringue classes alot of fun.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Beaches but that's all folks"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tony  on Aug 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
265 people found this review helpful

This resort is very nice but i am not sure that i would come back to this resort in the future. The staff personal were very nice and very polite. There was only one a la cart restaurant open during our vacation in mid July/11. The moat around the lobby was closed as well for repairs. The beaches were one of the best beaches in the world for sure. The causeway to get to this resort was very long and quite frightening during our arrival since there was a tropical lightening storm for most of our journey.The causeway has major ongoing reconstruction due to hurricanes in the past so there was a lot of detour signs through-out. The resort was located about 1hr and 45min. from the airport.This was indeed a very long trip and i would not advise it to anyone in the future. The only draw backs that we experienced was the infestation of mosquito"s at sundown. We could not attend any shows during the evening due to this problem, we couldn't even walk around after sundown due to the mosquito's. This resort has dense bush in all the surroundings which brings out all the mosquito's.The resort tried to spray the area with chemicals but that didn't help at all,so bring a lot of repellent if you decide to go to this resort.I suggest that the resort start clearing a lot of this dense areas all around the resort and replace with tropical trees and gardens.We also noticed that the bed linens were not changed at all during our 7 seven day stay and the shower curtain was rather dirty. The other draw back was the flies going all over the food everywhere,this is very unsanitary for sure.The food itself wasn't the best as well so be ready for a different experience than were used to back in Canada.The air conditioner could not be adjusted on a thermostat, so its either on or off. The ceiling fan was also very noisy so we couldn't leave that on during the night.Like i said before very nice resort with fantastic beaches but this resort should be graded as a three(3) and nothing more.The Barcelo chain needs to improve the quality at this resort for sure.

Room Number:
2569

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
JUly 18/11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice resort but not sure if i would stay here again"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  mitchell  on Jul 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
238 people found this review helpful

We arrived at resort just after noon and our rooms were ready.beer guy greeted us as we arrived at our room which was nice.
the beach was absolutely awesome.had no problem finding shade seats at all times of the day at pool and beach.
sunscreen is hard to find so make sure you take lots.
food was good not as much of a choice as i have seen at other barcelo resorts but in all very tasty.
there is a little plaza near by that we visited everyday vary nice but we found that a lot of it to be closed awesome spot to go to at night or day if there were some sort of entertainment.this was a bit disappointing but checking out the venders was still fun.
the plaza has a very bad lack of toilet paper in washrooms so if you go there carry some in your pocket as back-up lol
aside from beach and pool found not much to do but overall had a good time would visit cuba again but probably not barcelo unless at changes alot
we stayed at caribe and tropical side was not completed yet should open in november maybe this will liven up things a bit.
also take a travel mug with you the pool and beach bars ran out of cups on a daily basis.a few little things here and there but overall a very clean and beautiful resort with a super staff

Room Number:
3571

Room Block:
bungalo 35

Arrival:
very smooth arrival bus ride seemed long but got room keys right away which was very nice

Rooms:
very clean and well kept everyday

Restaurants and Bars:
two buffet restaurants same food every day but it was very good
ran out of a lot of stuff daily but there was lots of other things to choose from
found that most pork cooked for you on the grill not always cooked all the way through this is something to watch for

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
awesome clean and very well kept very impressive
on the boardwalk going to beach noticed a lot of people tossed there cups on the ground wasn't impressed with that too much but that is visitors not the resort

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not much to do other than swim off resort areas closed alot and the pool activities board showed a full day of activities that never really happened as scheduled but when they did do stuff it was entertaining

Other Comments:
did the deep sea fishing it was very nice the books show a price of 260.00 this is for the boat with a minimum of four people not per person for four hours very much worth the money

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very relaxing holiday"

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Randy  on Jul 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our 2 weeks at the new Barcelo Cayo Santa Maria Caribe Tropical resort. Overall the weather was primarily sunny. Having stayed at nearby Santa Maria resorts many times recently,we were prepared for the possible conditions at the Barcelo. The staff as usual was very pleasant. In particular, waiters Madelysis & Carlos were very pleasant and on top of their areas. The morning cooking staff workers Barbara and Addel were eager to please. It was good to see Humberto again in charge of the main bar. But when it came to the best pool bartender, you had to be waited on by Rafael at the CSM Barcelo Colonial resort ..... by far the most pleasant Barcelo worker on Santa Maria! We enjoyed the a la carte dinners at the Italian, Mediterranean and Gormet dinning rooms.
Of course the mosquitoes were bad especially at sun down. If you don't bring bug killer and long slacks, you are really going to be a tasty treat.

The rooms are new and fully equipped and nicely furnished. The gardens are well cared for by the many gardeners and exhibit a variety of tropical plants. This year we were there during the white/yellow butterfly mating season. Hundreds of butterflies were on the move. Quite the sight! The Barcelo property is huge. It extends for kilometers in all directions. Although the hotel was only 35% full, there were always lineups at the grill areas for lunch and supper. Much of the resort is closed off during the low season.There are definitely shortages of beach palapas and shady areas at the pool. Nonetheless, this is one of the cleanest and sandiest beaches in all of Cuba. Most of the tourists were from Ontario, Quebec and Britain. There were many children at the resort in July.

Room Number:
3273

Room Block:
bungalow 32

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This week was amazing and fun."

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)
User Rating:  Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda Guido and family and friends  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

There is nothing to complain about this resort. The staff all around the resort were helpful courteous and most kind. From the night we arrived until the night we left it was a blast. Definitly would return. The beach is gorgeous pool clean great amusment all day long from dancing to playing sports you can be kept busy every minute of the day. The shows at night were very entertaining as well.

Room Block:
39

Arrival:
We arrived at 2:00am April 26th 2011. Staff was pleasent even at this time.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and kept clean mini bar alwys filled

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent service in everyway no complaints

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach is gorgeous and you can walk forever. Pool was clean alwys. Would be nice to have some shade available.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were fun and constant. Weel organized and staff very friendly.

Other Comments:
I would recommend this resort to anyone that loves to have fun and enjoy a beautiful beach. And friendy staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube