Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.5 based on 30 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 26, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#15
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"Not as advertised"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on May 24, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
46 people found this review helpful

We arrived on a Thursday Air Canada Vacations Checked in at 1;30 ish am found our room by ourselves,lucky for us we had a small flashlight. Where do I Begin ,no hot water or water pressure for 41/2 days ,dirty room , dirty sheets lack of towels and my personal favorite BEDBUGS ,they may have come from the old metal cot that took 2 days to be removed Our Air Canada rep spoke to hotel staff and our room was fumigated ,but the bugs persisted, our bed sheets were never changed,the housekeeper said there was a problem in the laundry, Our in room coffee pot did not work. the washroom (female) adjacent to the main buffet restaurant , had four stalls ,two of the toilets lacked toilet seats and the floors were always very wet. I ate fish 80% of the time as meats were not refrigerated and would sit in the open on trays, salad dressings were not refrigerated either. There were massive amounts of cigarette butts and plastic glasses littering a Beautiful beach. Most resorts rake the beached at night to remove debris, and a lot of the beach chairs were broken. On our last day we packed up our belonging sealed the plastic bags in our suitcases. for our trip home. This was our third trip to Cuba and will most likely be our Last

Room Number:
1016

Arrival:
Have someone help guests to there room if it is a late arrival Have more staff on to meet with arriving flights

Rooms:
Clean them, and not with dirty rag mops in dirty water,Clean sheets, clean floors, appliances that will function. Patio doors with working locks or at least a bar to make sure there is no unauthorized access. Make sure the hot water is working and with water pressure is there for your guests. Guests shouldn't have to complain to their Vacation Reps to be taken seriously by Resort staff. I wasn't expecting chocolates on my pillow, I was expecting basic ammenities I was not expecting bed bugs in our room,I was not expecting hotel staff to attribute the bites on my face and head and arms as sand fleas,I am not an Ostritch,

Restaurants and Bars:
The serving staff was excellent. the food was mot what one would expect from a 4 star resort Cleanliness, refrigeration keeping mayonnaise based sauces cold is a basic in food preparation, I ate fish I did not think that it was safe to eat meat or egg products . Sweet Potatoes are also known as Yams, not white potatoes in white sugar sauce. Orange juice is not a powdered fruit drink. Coffee /Tea should be served at all meals, not just at breakfast.
Sewage lagoons should not be placed, where guests have to traverse them, to arrive or leave at the main Buffett area, the odor in the air at 25degrees celcius is overwhelming and nauseating

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean the beaches ,they are not giant ashtrays, Pick up plastic cups or at least provide garbage cans/ashtrays.
Remove broken beach chairs, prove to you guests that you really care about their well being and want them to have a positive opinion of your hotel. Have one designated Adult pool where there is not excessive alcohol and swearing. I don't like playing lifeguard to strangers children'

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Pig with Lipstick"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steven  on Apr 5, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
56 people found this review helpful

The lack of clean linens and towels ruined it for us. Bring sheets, towels, pillow cases and febreeze if you stay here. Be warned: Food handling practices are third world, the pools have slime problems and the beach is a wader's beach, not a swimmer's beach.

On the upside, the bar and entertainment were good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome vacation!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  cathy  on Jan 4, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
69 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. When we arrived the view from the lobby was just gorgeous! We were greeted by very nice hotel staff and were taken care of promptly. The staff at this hotel were above average and never had a problem with getting their help. The beach was quite large and was never packed as this resort is on the tip of the peninsula. The suggestions I have would be take MOSQUITO spray as I was bitten quite a bit. Also if you like ketchup bring that as well.food is typical cuba food, but we didn't starve! we hung at mostly at pool 3 which I don't think many people knew about. we are partiers and brought a stereo with us and had that plugged in at the swim up bar. The bartender there was awesome! I am looking to rebook this February and cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gread deal"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Oct 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
82 people found this review helpful

Outstanding hotel and facilities. I have decided to go to Cuba for the first time in my life that I even have some experience with the other Caribbean countries nearby. I was there with my future wife and all I can say is- this place is absolutely amazing and I'm so thrilled by the condition of the hotel, the service and the price also. It is a bit hard to find all those things in one offer, and because this year we were lucky to get this after I consider me and my future wife so lucky.
Even from outside the hotel looks very nice and it provides you the feeling that this is going to be the ideal holiday from your dreams. Only few minutes after we arrived at the lobby, some of the personnel took our bags and show our room. The employees were very nice and helpful all the time, no matter if it is day or night, or which day of the week it is. The room was clean and big enough for two of us. The hygiene standards were also high, we could easily see that from the very beginning. There was hot water all the time and the air-conditioning was working great.
From the other facilities I must mention the pool, because that was the area that we spend a lot of time swimming, sunbathing and doing all the other things that we could imagine. It was nice to have such a great accommodation with great employees and with affordable price. That combination is hard to find, and we were happy to use it. It was that good that we expand our vacation for a new 4 nights at the hotel.
All in all it was pleasant memories and a lot of fun, because there is almost everything that you could possibly need at the hotel and in case you want to do some activities outside the hotel property, you could choose from various of options available. So my advice is to book a room and enjoy your flight with your friends or family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"needs to improve"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  lorraina  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
90 people found this review helpful

During my visit to this hotel, I think it was undergoing repairs because most of the a la carte restaurants were not open so it was rather disappointing but that does not mean that it is any less of a hotel. The hotel is located at the end of the street so it may be hard for you to go out in the evenings and nights because I don’t know how safe this place is. The rooms do not have ocean views because the beach is located across from the hotel. The beach is always crowded so you hardly find an umbrella or shade to stay under. The evening entertainment was great but not that good, I don’t know why but the hotel needs some energy, it is a great place but it is kind of dull and I don’t like such environment for my holiday. The staff was nice and tried to please the guests and made them feel comfortable and at home, it was a nice gesture. The price is good for what you are getting, the food was amazing and probably the best thing I liked about the hotel. The rooms are great, nice and clean and very comfortable just not with ocean view. I think that lots of locals come to this hotel mostly during the weekends and it kind of makes the place to become crowded. I may come back here again and I hope it becomes better and improved by them for a better review from me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star more like 3.5 or 4"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  SeA  on May 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
304 people found this review helpful

When we checked in at night we had to wait over 15 mins for our luggage finally it arrived and the guy insisted a tip we hadn't exchanged our Canadian to pesos yet so he assured he would return the change....never heard from him again!

We had to wait over 20 mins everyday for clean towels and the maid hardly changed our sheets we noticed she put the same sheets back on, and we dipped her daily everyday then it started to get a little better...staff were sketchy we met two guys from Toronto and the staff followed us around the pool asking us for their Lacoste slippers.

The food was another story !!!! We ended up having to pay the itallian el la carte lady 5 dollars everyday to let us in...it was the only restaurant that served normal food for picky eaters since I'm a vegetarian the first 3 days I lived off of bread and cucumbers...the fries were hard so I didn't eat.

The beach is amazing hands.

The entertained never did anything after the show or advertised the disco in the resort...us 4 grabbed people and made it fun, by the end of our vaca everyone knew us we made many new friends from Toronto Brampton Woodbridge and Hamilton.

We never left the resort, we met many sketchy men on the beach asking us to hang out with them at night, so that scared us off.

Over all we had fun, but it's more of a family or older ppl resort not reccomended for young adults, we kind of regret going there...but we made the best out of it...it's deff not a 5 star....

I stayed at melia varadero the yr before much better resort and food more to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Have travelled to Cuba some 12 times. First time at this resort and was pleasantly surprised."

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
320 people found this review helpful

Overall a pleasant experience, would certainly want to go back. For the $ paid, we were very satisfied.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Good friendly quick reception, bellboy took our bags within 3 minutes and drove us to our rooms.

Rooms:
The rooms were good, nice balcony and nice little seating area in mini-suites, very clean, bed was firm but the pillows were small. AC worked very well, and there was a ceiling fan over the bed. There was always lots of hot water and good pressure for showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was quite adequate overall, we always found something to eat. Breakfast was very good (but bring your own peanut butter if you want it!). The buffet included serving stations for eggs (omelets) and crepes. But juices were very weak, no fresh-squeezed here!

Lunches at the buffet were okay (good pizza) and dinners were pretty good. There was always a decent selection, and the thin-crust pizza (to which you could add anything) was always super. Grilled meats (especially the chicken) and fish at the buffet were very good, and there was always some roasted meat available. Other food was usually just okay, and usually luke-warm. Desserts were disappointing.

Spanish, Italian and Cuban restaurants were all very pleasant, with some music entertainment. It was nice to get away from the buffet atmosphere. Don't eat the steak (I have never had a tender steak in Cuba!)

Capuccino from the lobby bar was great. Beer just fine, but margaritas not good.

We did leave small tips at meals and occasionally at the bar, and found the servers very appreciative and attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach was amazing, very wide, and the water was clear. A real Cuban beach. The pools were okay, sometimes sandy (not all showers around the pool were working, so people couldn't rinse off coming from the beach). These are shallow pools, super for kids.

Construction project across the street from the resort resulted in some noise, which you couldn't hear from the beach. There were lots of huts on the beach and plenty of shade and sun around the pools.

Lots of people spent in the lobby, and there was usually some form of live entertainment, and always a nice breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were looking for a quiet vacation, but were aware that there were activities available, although we did not partake.

Other Comments:
This is a large property - excellent for people who like a good walk on the beach.

This resort needs new chairs around the pool, some were pretty old and "saggy". A little paint would improve the look of the hotel.

No wifi available, and internet very very slow.

We did encounter some mosquitos, but had a couple of very breezy days which took care of that.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Attard Anthony  on Dec 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) MALTA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
309 people found this review helpful

it was the best hotel in cuba for me
very good

Room Number:
1411

Arrival:
27/11/2011

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded Our Expectations !! Very Good Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Dec 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

Overall We can honestly say that after reading about all the negative reviews about this good resort,we were stunned to find it was overall very good for 'Cuban standards'. It deserves it's four and a half star rating. Rememember the resort is 10 plus years old.however we found our room,the grounds and area very well maintained. A solid Four Stars !!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
1405

Room Block:
Nolitours

Arrival:
Seamless,professional. Arrived in the AM and was quickly checked in by the very polite and professional english speaking staff. The bellman was right there to help us move without delay to our building and room block. It was a room bottom level behind the main pool. Quiet area in our opinion.

Rooms:
Very suprised! Excellent quality and conditiion. Well maintained,no obvious chip marks or damage. New paint quality. A beautiful lime green very spacious room with ling bed and extra twin bed for our daughter. 15/16 channel color tv,good central air conditioning. Lots of closet space and a big chest for storage. To close the sliding glass door simply use the top leftchain lock.
What I liked the most!!! The water in the bathtub/shower WAS ALWAYS HOT,HOT
in our two week holiday.Usually a bit of an oddity in Varadero.

Excellent quality sleep for us three. again very impressed at room. One call to service and our battery was quickly replaced when electronic safe did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is important !! The TRUTH about the FOOD here !!!!!!

First the best for us was the italian a la carte. Good appetizer of soups,etc.
Second course of delicious pasta dishes or great homemade thin crust itilian pizza wood oven cooked in four choices and incredible size for each. You do not go hungry. Main course was good. either a medium thin entrecote steak with veggies,grilled chicken or three large grilled shrimp main.Pretty good tirimisu for dessert.
The BUFFET:
You must take your time and be creative. I found it got better and better
through the holiday. Gained five pounds.Especially good for the fresh cooking stations: Fish and Grill: Every night thick red snapper grilled with olive oil and fresh herbs on the BBQ.Grilled thick chicken breasts,or thin grilled steak.Pasta Station; Loved this!! Three kinds of pasta reheated hot with choice of great fresh toppings;Fresh tomatoes,suasage,bacon,onions,sweet peppers,green peppers,mushrooms cooked hot and fresh in a pan sauteed with oil olive each order. Also some nights three separate fresh herbs: cilantro,
dill etc. The' piece de resistence ' was the delicious imported Fresh italian parmesan cheese wheel from italy.Carve out any amount you want.
Also fresh thin crust pizza station. Tip: go to buffet and add 10/20 extra ingedients to be cooked to order for a deluxe fully topped pizza.
Also 20/30 tasty veggie options at salad bar.For us better than just salad crap. Also a carving station with alternating Delicious Roast pork,Roast Turkey and red whole snapper.make sure you ask for bigger portions if needed.
10/12 main buffet items a little limited but sometimes quite good.Great breads and rolls with toaster and butter.Fresh omlette/crepe station in morning.Only complaint: the fries were always cold. Otherwise 4/5.
Sausage/hamburger/hotdog grill BBQs behind main pool and beach both good.
Do not forget the a la carte 24 hour lighthouse restuarant for very good pizza,pastas,fish and small but tasty salad bar.Amazing sundried tomatoes !!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best widest beach in varadero. Also spaced out and quiet unlike all other resorts to the north which are packed.Shallow gradual sandy water to ocean. Quite warm. Somes days paradise and calm. Some days too rough to swim.

The three pools were absolutely GREAT,GREAT and more GREAT !!
The big activity lagoon pool was always fun. Excellent entertainment staff
in the afternoons. Really great genuine people. Many of us could learn off them since we are obnoxious,rude and too demanding.

Two great tranquil pools too with waterfalls,fountains and lack of crowds.
total nirvana. for us well maintained grounds,beautiful flowers and well maincured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great caring Kids club 'teachers' and kids playground.An excellent ,fast waterslide in main pool for excilirating kid and adult fun slides. #1 slide in varadero strip !!

Great evening shows with professional dance troup,amazing beautiful women and male dancers,singers,acrobats and magicians.

Main lobby nightly entertainment before main theatre show with music bands,cartoon characters,mimes,flamenco dancers etc. Every night for us.

Other Comments:
This is Cuba folks. Do NOT compare it to five star mayan riveria,mexico or jamaica.There you pay double and yes the food is better etc.but for the price/quality/cuba foods standards and quality this resort DOES rate
4 or 4.5 /5 for cuban standards.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away! If you value your health and precious leisure time/money stay away!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Nov 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
361 people found this review helpful

Ok you get off the plane on to the bus off to the very last stop on the run and finally arrive full of optmism then set foot into the lobby of this dump, look at the wifes expression of disappointment and you know you've been had...and it just gets progressively worse. Heard about the Mosquitos? Well don't build on a swamp. That DDT laced fog they blast in the evening is just lovely.

Bedbugs? Yes. Rooms that have been wiped down with a moldy cloth? Yes. Bleach is available in Cuba, just not here...as is toilet paper in the broken washrooms at the bar.

Water view? Oh no sir that costs extra even though you have it in writing. Travel agency rep? Oh sick today, here tomorrow "maybe". Found the agent the next day and yes a transfer to another resort can be arranged for $$$$. Uh-huh.

Hungry? Walk on into the cafeteria buffet area and when the first thing to greet you is a heady blast of raw sewage smell you just know it's time to switch to "survivor" tactics. I'd heard a few warnings at the bar already.

Time to leave. Cab ride later and all is well in varadero, little jazz themed restaurant, some decent food a great beach and we have a vacation-rescue plan in place. Sorted.

Varadero=great but you'll get far better value in Mexico.
Havana=stunning, going back and doing it properly.

But whew that marina palace..wow it should be shut down, it's just so wrong in so many ways.

STAY AWAY disappointment and food poisoning live there!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lolol...abysmal and they know it. Nobody here gives a flying fig.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube