Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 27, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"needs to improve"
Posted by: lorraina on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#19
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 27 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 27 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (16)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 27

"needs to improve"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  lorraina  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
9 people found this review helpful

During my visit to this hotel, I think it was undergoing repairs because most of the a la carte restaurants were not open so it was rather disappointing but that does not mean that it is any less of a hotel. The hotel is located at the end of the street so it may be hard for you to go out in the evenings and nights because I don’t know how safe this place is. The rooms do not have ocean views because the beach is located across from the hotel. The beach is always crowded so you hardly find an umbrella or shade to stay under. The evening entertainment was great but not that good, I don’t know why but the hotel needs some energy, it is a great place but it is kind of dull and I don’t like such environment for my holiday. The staff was nice and tried to please the guests and made them feel comfortable and at home, it was a nice gesture. The price is good for what you are getting, the food was amazing and probably the best thing I liked about the hotel. The rooms are great, nice and clean and very comfortable just not with ocean view. I think that lots of locals come to this hotel mostly during the weekends and it kind of makes the place to become crowded. I may come back here again and I hope it becomes better and improved by them for a better review from me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star more like 3.5 or 4"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  SeA  on May 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
216 people found this review helpful

When we checked in at night we had to wait over 15 mins for our luggage finally it arrived and the guy insisted a tip we hadn't exchanged our Canadian to pesos yet so he assured he would return the change....never heard from him again!

We had to wait over 20 mins everyday for clean towels and the maid hardly changed our sheets we noticed she put the same sheets back on, and we dipped her daily everyday then it started to get a little better...staff were sketchy we met two guys from Toronto and the staff followed us around the pool asking us for their Lacoste slippers.

The food was another story !!!! We ended up having to pay the itallian el la carte lady 5 dollars everyday to let us in...it was the only restaurant that served normal food for picky eaters since I'm a vegetarian the first 3 days I lived off of bread and cucumbers...the fries were hard so I didn't eat.

The beach is amazing hands.

The entertained never did anything after the show or advertised the disco in the resort...us 4 grabbed people and made it fun, by the end of our vaca everyone knew us we made many new friends from Toronto Brampton Woodbridge and Hamilton.

We never left the resort, we met many sketchy men on the beach asking us to hang out with them at night, so that scared us off.

Over all we had fun, but it's more of a family or older ppl resort not reccomended for young adults, we kind of regret going there...but we made the best out of it...it's deff not a 5 star....

I stayed at melia varadero the yr before much better resort and food more to do.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Have travelled to Cuba some 12 times. First time at this resort and was pleasantly surprised."

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
238 people found this review helpful

Overall a pleasant experience, would certainly want to go back. For the $ paid, we were very satisfied.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Good friendly quick reception, bellboy took our bags within 3 minutes and drove us to our rooms.

Rooms:
The rooms were good, nice balcony and nice little seating area in mini-suites, very clean, bed was firm but the pillows were small. AC worked very well, and there was a ceiling fan over the bed. There was always lots of hot water and good pressure for showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was quite adequate overall, we always found something to eat. Breakfast was very good (but bring your own peanut butter if you want it!). The buffet included serving stations for eggs (omelets) and crepes. But juices were very weak, no fresh-squeezed here!

Lunches at the buffet were okay (good pizza) and dinners were pretty good. There was always a decent selection, and the thin-crust pizza (to which you could add anything) was always super. Grilled meats (especially the chicken) and fish at the buffet were very good, and there was always some roasted meat available. Other food was usually just okay, and usually luke-warm. Desserts were disappointing.

Spanish, Italian and Cuban restaurants were all very pleasant, with some music entertainment. It was nice to get away from the buffet atmosphere. Don't eat the steak (I have never had a tender steak in Cuba!)

Capuccino from the lobby bar was great. Beer just fine, but margaritas not good.

We did leave small tips at meals and occasionally at the bar, and found the servers very appreciative and attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach was amazing, very wide, and the water was clear. A real Cuban beach. The pools were okay, sometimes sandy (not all showers around the pool were working, so people couldn't rinse off coming from the beach). These are shallow pools, super for kids.

Construction project across the street from the resort resulted in some noise, which you couldn't hear from the beach. There were lots of huts on the beach and plenty of shade and sun around the pools.

Lots of people spent in the lobby, and there was usually some form of live entertainment, and always a nice breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were looking for a quiet vacation, but were aware that there were activities available, although we did not partake.

Other Comments:
This is a large property - excellent for people who like a good walk on the beach.

This resort needs new chairs around the pool, some were pretty old and "saggy". A little paint would improve the look of the hotel.

No wifi available, and internet very very slow.

We did encounter some mosquitos, but had a couple of very breezy days which took care of that.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Attard Anthony  on Dec 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) MALTA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
231 people found this review helpful

it was the best hotel in cuba for me
very good

Room Number:
1411

Arrival:
27/11/2011

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded Our Expectations !! Very Good Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Dec 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
260 people found this review helpful

Overall We can honestly say that after reading about all the negative reviews about this good resort,we were stunned to find it was overall very good for 'Cuban standards'. It deserves it's four and a half star rating. Rememember the resort is 10 plus years old.however we found our room,the grounds and area very well maintained. A solid Four Stars !!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
1405

Room Block:
Nolitours

Arrival:
Seamless,professional. Arrived in the AM and was quickly checked in by the very polite and professional english speaking staff. The bellman was right there to help us move without delay to our building and room block. It was a room bottom level behind the main pool. Quiet area in our opinion.

Rooms:
Very suprised! Excellent quality and conditiion. Well maintained,no obvious chip marks or damage. New paint quality. A beautiful lime green very spacious room with ling bed and extra twin bed for our daughter. 15/16 channel color tv,good central air conditioning. Lots of closet space and a big chest for storage. To close the sliding glass door simply use the top leftchain lock.
What I liked the most!!! The water in the bathtub/shower WAS ALWAYS HOT,HOT
in our two week holiday.Usually a bit of an oddity in Varadero.

Excellent quality sleep for us three. again very impressed at room. One call to service and our battery was quickly replaced when electronic safe did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is important !! The TRUTH about the FOOD here !!!!!!

First the best for us was the italian a la carte. Good appetizer of soups,etc.
Second course of delicious pasta dishes or great homemade thin crust itilian pizza wood oven cooked in four choices and incredible size for each. You do not go hungry. Main course was good. either a medium thin entrecote steak with veggies,grilled chicken or three large grilled shrimp main.Pretty good tirimisu for dessert.
The BUFFET:
You must take your time and be creative. I found it got better and better
through the holiday. Gained five pounds.Especially good for the fresh cooking stations: Fish and Grill: Every night thick red snapper grilled with olive oil and fresh herbs on the BBQ.Grilled thick chicken breasts,or thin grilled steak.Pasta Station; Loved this!! Three kinds of pasta reheated hot with choice of great fresh toppings;Fresh tomatoes,suasage,bacon,onions,sweet peppers,green peppers,mushrooms cooked hot and fresh in a pan sauteed with oil olive each order. Also some nights three separate fresh herbs: cilantro,
dill etc. The' piece de resistence ' was the delicious imported Fresh italian parmesan cheese wheel from italy.Carve out any amount you want.
Also fresh thin crust pizza station. Tip: go to buffet and add 10/20 extra ingedients to be cooked to order for a deluxe fully topped pizza.
Also 20/30 tasty veggie options at salad bar.For us better than just salad crap. Also a carving station with alternating Delicious Roast pork,Roast Turkey and red whole snapper.make sure you ask for bigger portions if needed.
10/12 main buffet items a little limited but sometimes quite good.Great breads and rolls with toaster and butter.Fresh omlette/crepe station in morning.Only complaint: the fries were always cold. Otherwise 4/5.
Sausage/hamburger/hotdog grill BBQs behind main pool and beach both good.
Do not forget the a la carte 24 hour lighthouse restuarant for very good pizza,pastas,fish and small but tasty salad bar.Amazing sundried tomatoes !!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best widest beach in varadero. Also spaced out and quiet unlike all other resorts to the north which are packed.Shallow gradual sandy water to ocean. Quite warm. Somes days paradise and calm. Some days too rough to swim.

The three pools were absolutely GREAT,GREAT and more GREAT !!
The big activity lagoon pool was always fun. Excellent entertainment staff
in the afternoons. Really great genuine people. Many of us could learn off them since we are obnoxious,rude and too demanding.

Two great tranquil pools too with waterfalls,fountains and lack of crowds.
total nirvana. for us well maintained grounds,beautiful flowers and well maincured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great caring Kids club 'teachers' and kids playground.An excellent ,fast waterslide in main pool for excilirating kid and adult fun slides. #1 slide in varadero strip !!

Great evening shows with professional dance troup,amazing beautiful women and male dancers,singers,acrobats and magicians.

Main lobby nightly entertainment before main theatre show with music bands,cartoon characters,mimes,flamenco dancers etc. Every night for us.

Other Comments:
This is Cuba folks. Do NOT compare it to five star mayan riveria,mexico or jamaica.There you pay double and yes the food is better etc.but for the price/quality/cuba foods standards and quality this resort DOES rate
4 or 4.5 /5 for cuban standards.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away! If you value your health and precious leisure time/money stay away!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Nov 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
279 people found this review helpful

Ok you get off the plane on to the bus off to the very last stop on the run and finally arrive full of optmism then set foot into the lobby of this dump, look at the wifes expression of disappointment and you know you've been had...and it just gets progressively worse. Heard about the Mosquitos? Well don't build on a swamp. That DDT laced fog they blast in the evening is just lovely.

Bedbugs? Yes. Rooms that have been wiped down with a moldy cloth? Yes. Bleach is available in Cuba, just not here...as is toilet paper in the broken washrooms at the bar.

Water view? Oh no sir that costs extra even though you have it in writing. Travel agency rep? Oh sick today, here tomorrow "maybe". Found the agent the next day and yes a transfer to another resort can be arranged for $$$$. Uh-huh.

Hungry? Walk on into the cafeteria buffet area and when the first thing to greet you is a heady blast of raw sewage smell you just know it's time to switch to "survivor" tactics. I'd heard a few warnings at the bar already.

Time to leave. Cab ride later and all is well in varadero, little jazz themed restaurant, some decent food a great beach and we have a vacation-rescue plan in place. Sorted.

Varadero=great but you'll get far better value in Mexico.
Havana=stunning, going back and doing it properly.

But whew that marina palace..wow it should be shut down, it's just so wrong in so many ways.

STAY AWAY disappointment and food poisoning live there!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lolol...abysmal and they know it. Nobody here gives a flying fig.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and confortable"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  giovanni rigo  on Aug 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
306 people found this review helpful

Very nice place to stay, pity for the kid-garden not adequate for our baby (2 years), as the low-season period not all the facilities were disponible

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Still Great!!"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Josh  on Jul 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
351 people found this review helpful

BMP Review

This past March my mother, brother, and grandmother and I went to the Barcelo Marina Palace for an all-inclusive vacation with a Nolitours package. This was my second time at the resort and my mother’s third time visiting this same resort. My mother and brother and I have been to Cuba many times but it was my Grandmothers first visit to Cuba. Each time I travel to Cuba a make a point to review the resort I stay at because there are so many negative reviews out there. I think that my reviews provide a nice even view of the resort and the area. I am not super demanding but I do expect a certain level of comfort and I am super observant. The following is my review of the BMP in early 2011.

Trip Central – Our service with Trip Central was great. We normally choose to go with a local agent but everyone was discouraging us from going to this resort because of bugs. The Trip Central Agent stated that it was up to us but did warn us of the bug issue (not really an issue, but I will get to that later). So we booked. The price went up the day we booked but she called Nolitours and got them to give us the day befores price.

Nolitours – Nolitours was good. The only issue that I have with Nolitours and Air Transat is that from Halifax they use Canjet and the planes are so small with so many people jammed in. Typical charter though. The tour rep in Varadero and the BMP is great, really friendly French guy that will bend over backward to make you enjoy your trip or if something goes wrong.

Canjet – Seats are tiny, service is okay, food is just barely okay, it makes for a long 4 hour flight.

Varadero Airport – When we arrived there were a few other flights from Montreal and other places arriving, they had been delayed. The airport was crazy busy. People everywhere, waiting hours for luggage. Varadero airport is not normally like that however. Border stuff is super easy and you just get your luggage and go out to the awaiting buses. BMP is a big enough resort that your bus will likely take you directly to the BMP not stop at a million resorts on the way. The bus drivers and the Cubanacan hosts are very nice and make the bus ride seem shorter.



Arrival:
Arrival/Lobby – To arrive at the hotel in the day time is wonderful. You drive up to the covered lobby area only to see the white sand and crystal clear blue water beyond. One of the most memorable things of this resort is the arrival in the daytime. Check in is quick and painless and a golf cart will be awaiting to take you to your room.

Rooms:
Room – Our room was ocean view and it was wonderful. My mom and grandmother shared a room and my brother and I shared a room. There are no room with two bed in this hotel, to my knowledge, however the bed is large enough that my brother and I could share an bed and not bother each other through the night. Our fridge was restocked each day and I left a note saying that we would like more water and pop and left a peso and our request was granted every day. The room was nice and clean, they are seeing a little bit of age, mildew and the like, the climate is very hard on them, and they are very nice despite this. Our rooms were close to the pool, lobby, beach, and buffet restaurant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food – The food at this resort is good. Not the best, but good. It gets a little bit repetitive. I can always find something to eat. If you like fruit, bread, cheese, and things like that you will be fine they are always on the buffet. There is pizza and meats and pastas as well. The ice cream is the best!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach – The beach at this resort is the best part. It is long and large. You will never fight for space on the beach at the BMP. There are also almost always palapas and chairs available. Not usually a need to get up early to reserve a spot. The water is nice and warm and there is usually a breeze to keep the hot Caribbean sun from frying you. (It will still fry you)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursions – Go on the trip to Havana you will not regret it. Have a mojito at the bar where Hemmingway wrote (and drank). Excursions are great for the price charged. Another great one is the river boat tour and snorkelling.

Other Comments:
Service – Serivce at this resort has really improved over the years, everywhere but the buffet. The lobby staff, bar staff, pool staff, beach staff, and cleaning staff are all wonderful. Flowers for the ladies almost every time we went out. One issue I found was the buffet, it was hit or miss in the service department. I found sometimes the staff in the buffet area were not attentive nor did they even really want you to sit in their section. Other that the buffet service was superb and has gotten better of the years since my last visit.

Weather – This trip was in March, however I have been in February, and mom has been in April as well. All times are great for weather. In February you might get some cool nights and in April the rain begins to be a problem sometimes. Okay so the warning that was given to us was that the bugs were out of control at this resort. Each time we have been to this resort that bugs have NOT been an issue nor were they this time. The time that mom was there in April it rained a few days and the bugs came out after that. So perhaps if it rains the bugs may be an issue. But they are NOT if it doesn’t rain.

Past Review – As I mentioned I have been t this resort before and I wrote a review of the resort on my previous visit. I sent this review to the hotel manager and he said that he very much appreciated my feedback and I really felt like he did. So they do listen and it shows in the improvements since my last visit.

Final Thoughts – This resort if wonderful. I recommend it just as much now as I did in 2007 when I first visited. The service has improved over the years and there still are some improvements to go. Overall I would very much recommend this resort.

Feel free to contact me with questions - jmack_2001@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not bad except for mosquitoes and the dampness of rooms"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  maria  on May 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
442 people found this review helpful

There was a pond right in front of the resort (not the entrance) which attracted mosquitoes. Some people had to see the doctor to get medication for mosquito bites. We all looked spotty and couldn't stay out for long. There was also the smell and feeling of dampness (no I did not experience it anywhere else). The staff was polite and kind. The meal wasn't that good. Coffee was heavenly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Adequate but not great"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eugene  on Apr 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
414 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Varadero, but the first stay at the Marina Palace. I can confirm almost everything the next immediately following reveiwer has written. The resort and facilities are very nice - like most of the those on the Varadero hotel strip - but the organisation and some of the service leaves much to be desired. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful, but the Reception Desk and the Gift Shop staff can do with some PR training. Food is plentiful and varied but most "hot" buffet dishes were almost cold because they were not covered up.

Your Arrival:
Arrived about midnight after 1-3/4 hour bus trip from the airport. (several stops en route to drop off guests at other hotels.)After check-in were told to "wait for porter" without explanation that our room was in a building about 1/2 km away. Waited 20 minutes. Were not issued with a map of the place which we later found was available.

Rooms:
Very luxurious and clean. Unfortunately facing the road where local busses turn around and revv-up early in the morning. Friendly and efficient maid-service.

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly staff, good variety of food especially at the main buffet restaurant. But at both of the á la carte restaurants the meat was tough and inedible. Alternatives were offered but not used.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Main beach clean, others so-so. Pools were fine. In all locations there were insufficient chaises and umbrellas. It was a first-come-firs-served situation. People "reserved" a place even if they were then absent for long periods.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Poorly advertised and often no location indicated. Show was excellent even if music a bit too loud for our taste

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube