Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Blau Marina Varadero Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Blau Marina Varadero Resort  

Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Not as advertised"
Posted by: Susan on May 24, 2015
see all reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Pictures and Information
Blau Marina Varadero Resort Varadero Cuba

#17
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 31 reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Information


Prime beach location, next to Marina Gaviota, genuine feeling of exclusiveness.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Reviews

Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 3.5 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  8
Average
  7
Poor
  6
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (3)
Leisure (17)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"Paradise"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Albert Helgber  on Jun 3, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3130 people found this review helpful

The lobby of this hotel is breathtaking...You see an beautiful sand dune and the....the beautiful turquoise ocean. The hotel is bran new, rooms are very nice. I know the hoteks of Varadero and I know the biggest problem in the hotels is the food, well you won't have that problem at the Marina Palace. The food is very good and there is a large choice. The staff is incredible, specially at the front desk. We loved it and will go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Attard Anthony  on Dec 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) MALTA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
867 people found this review helpful

it was the best hotel in cuba for me
very good

Room Number:
1411

Arrival:
27/11/2011

Rooms:
good

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Eccezionale"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cristiano  on Jan 20, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jan, 2009
452 people found this review helpful

Bellissimo resort, organizzazione impeccabile, molto accoglienti e simpatici. Resort da tornarci.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and confortable"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  giovanni rigo  on Aug 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
580 people found this review helpful

Very nice place to stay, pity for the kid-garden not adequate for our baby (2 years), as the low-season period not all the facilities were disponible

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful vacation"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  karen thornton  on Mar 11, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
2422 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful vacation! This hotel is still new and so clean and luxurious. We really loved the people (staff). People leave their stressful lives for a week or two and want to go somewhere where they can kick back and relax at a slower pace. It amazed us to see some people who were extremely uptight and demanding. Poor them and poor staff! Service was fine unless of course you have a drinking problem and require huge glasses of alcohol every 30 seconds.

We found the food to be delicious! Always a good variety to choose from. Some of the food tasted different but then we were in a different country so it was fun to be a little adventerous! Always good pasta, bread, seafood and grilled meat. It seemed to us that many people went with a superior attitude. Arriving with an attitude of "impress me" I was ashamed of some of my fellow Canadians and their treatment of staff.

The locals there have so little yet they love to talk about their country with such pride, very genuine and loving people. We could all take a cue from them. Amenities were great, beautiful rooms and beach. Wonderful natured people. We would definately go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We loved the Barcelo Marina Palace"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lauren Tyler  on Jun 5, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3093 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Barceló Marina Palace May 22-29, 2005. Rooms: We checked in late at night and were greeted at the lobby desk with a delightful welcome drink. Our ocean view junior suite was beautiful, large, and clean and we had a crib for our baby girl and cot for our 2 ½ year old son. We had asked for the ground floor and it was unavailable, to make up for it we were upgraded the next day to a fabulous ocean view suite-it was spotless-as this is a new hotel, it seemed that we were probably the first guests in this room. The suite had 1 ½ bathrooms and the master had separate shower, tub and separate toilet area all behind doors leading to the master bedroom, truly wonderful. Food: We had heard before hand not to expect too much from the food in Cuba. Therefore, it was not too much of a shock to find that most of the food was very bland, lacking flavour, spices. The bread was always fresh and delicious, baguettes, little rolls. The breakfast is very good, there is a station for eggs, omelettes, and crepes made fresh for you. Lunch grill is quite good, large selection, great if you like cold cuts and various unidentifiable items. Drinks: The drinks were great, the lobby bar offering the best pina coladas. Never a problem getting a drink and no shortage of cups as we had read in an earlier review. Staff/Service/Daycare: The staff was great, very courteous and friendly. The animators for dance classes, activities, volleyball are great. The staff at the daycare is wonderful: look for Oxana, Liuddy, and Mayeline. Weather: The weather was perfect the entire time we were there-in fact it was too hot….sunny and 32 degrees daily. Do not forget to bring plenty of sunscreen as you can burn easily and it is hard to find lotion there and it is very expensive there. Pool/Beach: The pool is great very shallow all around great to bask in the sun while relaxing. The Beach is uphill then flat (apparently hurricane protection) but beautiful after the climb, calm water, clean. When the second phase opens there will be another pool that is deeper. Overall: We had a fantastic time at Barceló Marina Palace. It is a perfect family resort and is very relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marcie Warford  on Jan 2, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1694 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Barcelo Marina Palace. Dec 21/08 This a beautiful place to stay. No problems at all with the hotel or the staff. Most staff speak 3 languages and are quite friendly. There was nightly entertainment as well as a disco. We were concerned about the food before we went but this concern was put to rest as there was a huge selection at the buffet and we found lots to eat. We tried 3 of the al a carte restuarants italian, spanish & cuban/seafood. All were fine. The beach was very nice as were the pools. We did a couple of tours one into Havana (great choice) as well as a catamaran tour (highly recommend). We also took the bus into Veradaro to explore the markets which is also a must. Don't be afraid to try the different food or drink.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buffet was wonderful"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Spunky  on Mar 1, 2008  >  6 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2008
313 people found this review helpful

March 17-24, 2008 On Air Canada Vacations. On time. Bus and Beer waiting. Bus was free.

Rooms::
Got the exact building and room we wanted.
First building after the lighthouse, 2nd floor, ocean view facing east. A little smokey from the last visitors; was cleaned and ready 20 minutes after telling the desk. Maid service was great. Towel art and all. We left gifts.
Remember the drink refill guy needs a separate note than your maid. Lots of drinks, water and beer all week.

Restaurants and Bars::
Buffet was wonderful. I'm adventurous with food and found the choices great.
Italian was good and Spanish OK. Missed the seafood one.
Noel was great at breakfast; waiting at our favorite table and set it up with juice and champagne while we got custom omelets.
Lobby bar was the best. Lighthouse bar is very handy. Bubba's are also currency there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach was cleaned every morning. Lots of Palapas and help getting a lounger.
We used the beach every day but the pool at the lighthouse was clean and the groundskeepers made sure there were freshly cut coconuts.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Went to the stage show on two nights. Good fun. 5CUC for the bus pass was nice but the weather was too nice and we only went down town one day for a couple of hours.

Other Comments::
Except for the odd bad review about food, this place is pretty much what other reviewers said. We traveled with some picky eaters who would have preferred to live on burgers and fries rather than try ANYTHING new.
We were prepared for the windy conditions (2 days) and the mosquitos (evenings when the wind was calm) but loved the long, clean beach walk to the Libertad at the end of the resort.
Met another couple and had drinks at their Libertad suite. Nice digs but a long way to travel back to the main buildings.
We would go back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Have travelled to Cuba some 12 times. First time at this resort and was pleasantly surprised."

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
850 people found this review helpful

Overall a pleasant experience, would certainly want to go back. For the $ paid, we were very satisfied.

Room Block:
11

Arrival:
Good friendly quick reception, bellboy took our bags within 3 minutes and drove us to our rooms.

Rooms:
The rooms were good, nice balcony and nice little seating area in mini-suites, very clean, bed was firm but the pillows were small. AC worked very well, and there was a ceiling fan over the bed. There was always lots of hot water and good pressure for showers.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was quite adequate overall, we always found something to eat. Breakfast was very good (but bring your own peanut butter if you want it!). The buffet included serving stations for eggs (omelets) and crepes. But juices were very weak, no fresh-squeezed here!

Lunches at the buffet were okay (good pizza) and dinners were pretty good. There was always a decent selection, and the thin-crust pizza (to which you could add anything) was always super. Grilled meats (especially the chicken) and fish at the buffet were very good, and there was always some roasted meat available. Other food was usually just okay, and usually luke-warm. Desserts were disappointing.

Spanish, Italian and Cuban restaurants were all very pleasant, with some music entertainment. It was nice to get away from the buffet atmosphere. Don't eat the steak (I have never had a tender steak in Cuba!)

Capuccino from the lobby bar was great. Beer just fine, but margaritas not good.

We did leave small tips at meals and occasionally at the bar, and found the servers very appreciative and attentive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

Beach was amazing, very wide, and the water was clear. A real Cuban beach. The pools were okay, sometimes sandy (not all showers around the pool were working, so people couldn't rinse off coming from the beach). These are shallow pools, super for kids.

Construction project across the street from the resort resulted in some noise, which you couldn't hear from the beach. There were lots of huts on the beach and plenty of shade and sun around the pools.

Lots of people spent in the lobby, and there was usually some form of live entertainment, and always a nice breeze.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We were looking for a quiet vacation, but were aware that there were activities available, although we did not partake.

Other Comments:
This is a large property - excellent for people who like a good walk on the beach.

This resort needs new chairs around the pool, some were pretty old and "saggy". A little paint would improve the look of the hotel.

No wifi available, and internet very very slow.

We did encounter some mosquitos, but had a couple of very breezy days which took care of that.



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Exceeded Our Expectations !! Very Good Hotel"

Blau Marina Varadero Resort
User Rating:  Blau Marina Varadero Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Dec 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
865 people found this review helpful

Overall We can honestly say that after reading about all the negative reviews about this good resort,we were stunned to find it was overall very good for 'Cuban standards'. It deserves it's four and a half star rating. Rememember the resort is 10 plus years old.however we found our room,the grounds and area very well maintained. A solid Four Stars !!!!!!!!!!

Room Number:
1405

Room Block:
Nolitours

Arrival:
Seamless,professional. Arrived in the AM and was quickly checked in by the very polite and professional english speaking staff. The bellman was right there to help us move without delay to our building and room block. It was a room bottom level behind the main pool. Quiet area in our opinion.

Rooms:
Very suprised! Excellent quality and conditiion. Well maintained,no obvious chip marks or damage. New paint quality. A beautiful lime green very spacious room with ling bed and extra twin bed for our daughter. 15/16 channel color tv,good central air conditioning. Lots of closet space and a big chest for storage. To close the sliding glass door simply use the top leftchain lock.
What I liked the most!!! The water in the bathtub/shower WAS ALWAYS HOT,HOT
in our two week holiday.Usually a bit of an oddity in Varadero.

Excellent quality sleep for us three. again very impressed at room. One call to service and our battery was quickly replaced when electronic safe did not work.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is important !! The TRUTH about the FOOD here !!!!!!

First the best for us was the italian a la carte. Good appetizer of soups,etc.
Second course of delicious pasta dishes or great homemade thin crust itilian pizza wood oven cooked in four choices and incredible size for each. You do not go hungry. Main course was good. either a medium thin entrecote steak with veggies,grilled chicken or three large grilled shrimp main.Pretty good tirimisu for dessert.
The BUFFET:
You must take your time and be creative. I found it got better and better
through the holiday. Gained five pounds.Especially good for the fresh cooking stations: Fish and Grill: Every night thick red snapper grilled with olive oil and fresh herbs on the BBQ.Grilled thick chicken breasts,or thin grilled steak.Pasta Station; Loved this!! Three kinds of pasta reheated hot with choice of great fresh toppings;Fresh tomatoes,suasage,bacon,onions,sweet peppers,green peppers,mushrooms cooked hot and fresh in a pan sauteed with oil olive each order. Also some nights three separate fresh herbs: cilantro,
dill etc. The' piece de resistence ' was the delicious imported Fresh italian parmesan cheese wheel from italy.Carve out any amount you want.
Also fresh thin crust pizza station. Tip: go to buffet and add 10/20 extra ingedients to be cooked to order for a deluxe fully topped pizza.
Also 20/30 tasty veggie options at salad bar.For us better than just salad crap. Also a carving station with alternating Delicious Roast pork,Roast Turkey and red whole snapper.make sure you ask for bigger portions if needed.
10/12 main buffet items a little limited but sometimes quite good.Great breads and rolls with toaster and butter.Fresh omlette/crepe station in morning.Only complaint: the fries were always cold. Otherwise 4/5.
Sausage/hamburger/hotdog grill BBQs behind main pool and beach both good.
Do not forget the a la carte 24 hour lighthouse restuarant for very good pizza,pastas,fish and small but tasty salad bar.Amazing sundried tomatoes !!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best widest beach in varadero. Also spaced out and quiet unlike all other resorts to the north which are packed.Shallow gradual sandy water to ocean. Quite warm. Somes days paradise and calm. Some days too rough to swim.

The three pools were absolutely GREAT,GREAT and more GREAT !!
The big activity lagoon pool was always fun. Excellent entertainment staff
in the afternoons. Really great genuine people. Many of us could learn off them since we are obnoxious,rude and too demanding.

Two great tranquil pools too with waterfalls,fountains and lack of crowds.
total nirvana. for us well maintained grounds,beautiful flowers and well maincured.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Great caring Kids club 'teachers' and kids playground.An excellent ,fast waterslide in main pool for excilirating kid and adult fun slides. #1 slide in varadero strip !!

Great evening shows with professional dance troup,amazing beautiful women and male dancers,singers,acrobats and magicians.

Main lobby nightly entertainment before main theatre show with music bands,cartoon characters,mimes,flamenco dancers etc. Every night for us.

Other Comments:
This is Cuba folks. Do NOT compare it to five star mayan riveria,mexico or jamaica.There you pay double and yes the food is better etc.but for the price/quality/cuba foods standards and quality this resort DOES rate
4 or 4.5 /5 for cuban standards.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube